TrustRadius
MicroStrategy Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions. MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions: - MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence - MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics - MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analyticshttps://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qq/iH/PZORMI8Q2P14.PNGIntensive and reliable toolMicrostrategy Analytics is widely used in the company across all departments. Different level of access can be provided to different level of responsible persons. It is a very easy tool to get access of past data with different reports and presenting it with the help of variety of dashboard and VIs. Data collection and analysis is an essential function of it.,Data collection/data access- The tool uses different attributes and metrics to generate data for you in a required format with required filters. Data Visualization- The tool has great function of creating Dashboards which are specially useful for higher management to review it. Data Analytics- With great amount of functions, it does most of the excel work within itself. Eliminates excel in most of the fronts.,Better user interface- The only thing that comes out is there is a high scope of modifying user interface. Currently it is not as good as Tableau in terms of user interface.,8,salesforce and Tableau,8,9,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, WebEx Meetings, SAS Advanced AnalyticsMicrostrategy , very good but..We are trying to use it across all the organization as the only tool where you can find all the data of the company, making all kind of dashboards for managers and final users. We've also made "live" dashboard showing the status of the company. The major problem is to make end users move from Excel to MS. The company leaves all this effort to the IT Team and does not make this a strategic decision.,Easy of use Has improved a lot the visualization of data Fast,For use it take a lot of time to prepare the correct data. I don't know it there is some MicroSrategy magic solution to make it faster Better comunication with client Improve dashboards, losing with competitors,9,,8,7MicroStrategy ReviewIt is being used across our health center in every department, from admin to ops to clinics. We are trying to use it with our scheduling program's data feed to solve TAT issues, staffing issues, and tracking issues. We've implemented several new policies around appointment cancellations due to findings in Microstrategy data. We also take in a feed from our EMR system for patient data research.,I think the dashboards are quite helpful to visualize on the spot data. Creation of facts and attributes is simple - I have no programming experience and was still able to create and modify these items. Scheduling reports to be run on a daily, weekly, or hourly basis is simple. It provides updated data on a timed basis with no need to go back into the program.,The graph options are not as robust as an Excel user might want. The metadata layer can sometimes be slower, and it takes a long time for reports to run. Viewing the data feed entered can be cumbersome at times, in terms of validation with reports.,8,Tableau Online,5,6,Tableau OnlineMicroStrategy - excellent tool in the right handsWe use MicroStrategy to provide a business intelligence solution for our clients. We use it to create reports and dashboards that our clients can use to analyze their business.,Customized dashboards between the desktop and web applications. Shared objects which allows reusability in a number of different reports.,Web tool still doesn't have all the customization possible in the developer application. Rigid star scheme requirements creates complications in unstructured data. I would love to see out of the box "what-if" scenario functionality.,7,7,8Integrated and efficient analytics solutionMicrostrategy is extensively used within my organization and other retail and finance clients I have worked with. MSTR is an efficient tool with numerous analytical, reporting and visualization features all clubbed in one - helps deliver grid reports, dashboards and mobile reports. We have used this for dynamic sourced reports and self analytics as well widely.,Integrated solution for delivering different types of reports through multiple mediums like web, mobile or distribution services. Unique Schema and public objects concept saves development costs by allowing reusable components and maintenance across. Having end to end MSTR implemented eliminates the need to look at different tools for in memory and visualization.,Version control and parallel development limitation- I understand it somehow conflicts the architecture specialities but point to be thought over. Visual Insights capabilities to compete with Tableau like reports. MSTR services and technical support teams response time - not always a concern but can definitely be improved.,8,Good returns considering integrated objects and reports for multiple mediums Not sure but cost of development seemed a little higher which is also an outcome of lack of good development vendors or resources. Not a concern over MSTR as a tool. Deployment to mobile or distribute sharing is an advantage as object oriented architecture reduces rework and maintenance steps.,OBIE, Tableau Desktop and IBM Cognos,Oracle BI Foundation Suite
Windows, Mac
MicroStrategy Analytics
195 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore

MicroStrategy Reviews

MicroStrategy
195 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 24 of 195 MicroStrategy ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
January 21, 2018

MicroStrategy Review: "Intensive and reliable tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy Analytics is widely used in the company across all departments. Different level of access can be provided to different level of responsible persons. It is a very easy tool to get access of past data with different reports and presenting it with the help of variety of dashboard and VIs. Data collection and analysis is an essential function of it.
Read Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM's full review
October 25, 2017

"Microstrategy , very good but.."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are trying to use it across all the organization as the only tool where you can find all the data of the company, making all kind of dashboards for managers and final users. We've also made "live" dashboard showing the status of the company.
The major problem is to make end users move from Excel to MS. The company leaves all this effort to the IT Team and does not make this a strategic decision.
Read Gonzalo Segarra's full review
October 18, 2017

"MicroStrategy Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across our health center in every department, from admin to ops to clinics. We are trying to use it with our scheduling program's data feed to solve TAT issues, staffing issues, and tracking issues. We've implemented several new policies around appointment cancellations due to findings in Microstrategy data. We also take in a feed from our EMR system for patient data research.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2017

"MicroStrategy - excellent tool in the right hands"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MicroStrategy to provide a business intelligence solution for our clients. We use it to create reports and dashboards that our clients can use to analyze their business.
Read Brandon Fitzpatrick's full review
October 17, 2016

MicroStrategy: "Integrated and efficient analytics solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy is extensively used within my organization and other retail and finance clients I have worked with.
MSTR is an efficient tool with numerous analytical, reporting and visualization features all clubbed in one - helps deliver grid reports, dashboards and mobile reports. We have used this for dynamic sourced reports and self analytics as well widely.
Read Vineet Rai's full review
September 16, 2016

MicroStrategy Review: "MSTR good for a structured environment"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MSTR is being used by approximately three departments w/in Casey's. We plan on having MSTR be an enterprise-wide solution
Read Mark Szymula's full review
July 29, 2016

MicroStrategy Review: "Simplifying reporting needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy is currently being used by several different departments within the organization. It makes our reporting easier, where it provides the flexibility to automate much of it, as well as provide an easy to use interface for non sql savvy employees. It solves many of our reporting needs
Read ★Alex Khamudis's full review
June 11, 2016

"MicroStrategy - Why, When & Where ??"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy is used as a reporting solution in my work environment. Microstrategy is used to interact on Hadoop, Microsoft SQL Server Tables, and SSAS MDX Cubes. Microstrategy's Visual Insight is used as a self service tool replacing Pivot tables & graph building in Excel.
Read Abanish Mishra's full review
April 28, 2016

MicroStrategy Review: "Comprehensive enterprise BI Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MicroStrategy Analytics is used by our organization to create highly interactive dashboards and reports with cutting edge visualizations. Currently, the front end and dashboards are being developed by only a single department but reports and dashboards are consumed across the organization and even clients.
The main advantage of MicroStrategy Analytics is that it can be accessed online through a web browser which eliminates the need to carry heavy Excel files. Also, the reports and dashboards are updated in real time which was not possible with Excel based dashboards.
Read Tapan Jain's full review
June 27, 2016

MicroStrategy Review: "Enterprise BI Solution - Not an Analytics solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy is used in one of our banking clients. It's used by different areas, some use it for alerts. Others use it as a dashboard solution or for ad-hoc reporting.
Read Pablo Tempone's full review
March 01, 2016

"MicroStrategy Reviewed from the Trenches"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MicroStrategy is currently being used throughout the organization to address various ad-hoc requests.
Read Randy Kirschner's full review
August 17, 2015

"MicroStrategy 10 - the best in BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're building a new data warehouse and reporting system. MicroStrategy will be at the forefront of our strategy, providing a robust, multi-language, multi-tenant architecture for our customers and internally. It replaces our Excel, CSV based reporting company-wide.
Read Mario Ferrer's full review
April 08, 2015

"Ground level perspective of MicroStrategy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MicroStrategy Analytics in many departments, the span of support goes from Business users to IT support. This tool is intended to be the "one stop shop" for all reporting needs. We are able to connect many different data sources which tend to be common in large companies. The current implementation met our needs in the past and we are adapting to use it better and more efficiently for future needs. I believe when configured correctly, this product can meet all requirements for our department and all other departments.
Read Paul Campbell's full review
April 29, 2015

"Microstrategy is 'great enough' for business."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microstrategy is our primary BI delivery environment and is being used for the entire organization. We have a unique business case in that our organization is the BI department for hundreds of other organizations; however, attributes, metrics, and nomenclature are different although using the same data set. In addition, our data sets are 10s to 100s of millions of rows of data. Microstrategy scales for large datasets and has just enough flexibility to address these problems.
Read Wm. Dexter Jones's full review
June 10, 2015

"Why we work with MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a reseller and we implement it for our customers in big data for internal, SaaS and OEM environments.
Read Golan Nahum's full review
March 18, 2015

MicroStrategy Review: "Go Self Service Business Intelligence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is currently used by the finance department. It is used for web produced dashboards. We have plans to go mobile soon.
Read Olivier Sanzot's full review
February 26, 2014

MicroStrategy Review: "Fine for reporting, not for ad hoc analytics"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I led a strategy & analytics team at Dell that provided data-driven and actionable recommendations to senior executives. We needed an agile environment for rapid ad hoc analytics on large data sets that combined data from the warehouse with other data sets (market data, 3rd party lists, data from enterprise systems not yet flowing into the warehouse, prior analytics, etc.). MicroStrategy was selected by IT to address these business needs. Unfortunately, MicroStrategy tured out to not be the right tool for the job due to a combination of capability gaps and the constraints imposed by our own IT governance processes.
Read Eli Chan's full review
July 09, 2014

"A partner's view of MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We support users implement MSTR analytics and actively engage with them to discover the art of the possible.
Read Andrew Smith's full review
July 09, 2014

MicroStrategy Review: "Business Analytics Can Improve Quality of Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am setting up an account management team for the organization. Microstrategy is at the heart of the system and has produced some great results so far.
Read Salim G. Ansari's full review
July 08, 2014

"Analyzing the Analytics- MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Analytics is used throughout the business, from report and dashboard consumers to analysts using advanced data mining functionality. It allows us to produce consistent reporting, in a timely fashion and automate the distribution to a large customer base.
Read Laura Lewis's full review
June 23, 2016

"MicroStrategy is a great product for medium to large size companies."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MicroStrategy Analytics is currently being used by Accounting, Finance, and Audit. It is being used to pull policy level detail reports, month end summary reporting for making entries to the general ledger, and MTD as well as YTD/ITD reporting with various views to support month end variance analysis. It is also used to perform SOX audit testing on an annual basis.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2016

MicroStrategy Review: "A full single sourced, enterprise BI Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MicroStrategy Analytics is being used as a full BI enterprise solution. We use MicroStrategy's full set of products, sourcing from an array of database technologies, but mostly from Microsoft SQL Server, Hadoop, Spark, and Storm. MicroStrategy Analytics solves the business problem of company wide data silos. In conjunction with an enterprise data warehouse, we can create a single source solution.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2016

"MicroStrategy - sexy reporting, if you can afford it.."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We created a new tool from scratch for our clients to be able to view their spend across all regions. MicroStrategy Analytics was brought on to help power the analytics portion of the tool.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2014

MicroStrategy Review: "Disruptive Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it for prototyping, demoing to customers, analyzing functionality, implementing it, and advising customers in how to implement and use it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (17)
6.8
Customizable dashboards (16)
7.0
Report Formatting Templates (17)
6.4
Drill-down analysis (16)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (17)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (11)
6.6
Report sharing and collaboration (16)
8.5
Publish to Web (16)
8.0
Publish to PDF (16)
8.1
Report Versioning (13)
7.2
Report Delivery Scheduling (16)
7.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (1)
7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (14)
7.7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (14)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (13)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (13)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (13)
9.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (2)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (14)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (9)
8.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (14)
7.4
REST API (1)
8
Javascript API (2)
6.5
iFrames (1)
8
Java API (1)
8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (1)
8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
7.5

About MicroStrategy

The MicroStrategy platform differs somewhat from competing platforms in that it does not include a data warehouse.

The platform integrates with a wide range of third-party data warehouses however. MicroStrategy also built a free discovery/visualization tool called MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop, which is not completely integrated with the rest of the platform. MicroStrategy has strong mobile and cloud capabilities which are differentiators for the platform. MicroStrategy's cloud offerings are unique in that they host the software in their own data centers and allow customers to keep their data on-premise to alleviate security concerns. Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions.

MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions:

  • MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analytics

MicroStrategy Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Desktop$600per named user
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Web$600per named user
Web$300,000per CPU core
Mobile$600per named user
Mobile$300,000per CPU core

MicroStrategy Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No