MindManager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
214 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (101-113 of 113)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Mark Warrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2014

Must-Have Tool for Anyone Writing Technical Documentation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PROS:

I have been using MindManager for about 5 years. Overall, I think it's a great product and I use it daily. As an IT Business Analyst, one of my jobs is to map out current processes and to-be processes in a way that's understandable both by non-technical stakeholders and programmers. MindManager is simple, fast and efficient. When it comes to brainstorming, it's awesome.

CONS:

The application is memory intensive and large maps will take a while to load. The PDFs, Flash exports and Word exports are horrible. Hopefully MindJet will one day get those right.

  • Awesome for brain storming - much faster than flow charts, white boards or hand written notes.
  • Great tool for technical documentation. The ability to move things around within the "map" and interlink topics makes it much more useful than a standard specification doc. And you can export it in the usual software requirements specifications format.
  • Embedding screen shots and attaching notes to the topics is simple and quick
  • The HTML exports work well for publishing MindManager maps.
  • Needs better HTML and PDF export options. The PDFs are totally useless.
  • Needs better memory management.
  • A paired down version of the product that perhaps didn't include all the bells and whistles most people won't use could decrease the cost and entice more people to buy it.
  • The online file storage is not easy to use and not something I would direct fellow employees or clients to use.
It's not good for flow charts, but it's very good for technical documentation.
Read Mark Warrick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

MindManager is a big help for my Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is currently being used by my team and one other within the IT structure. We use it for many reasons, recently to formulate ideas which help in the development of technical white papers and to gather thoughts and ideas in the development of a team SharePoint site.
  • We use MindManager for gathering thoughts or brain storming. It is particularly good at this and allowing ideas to be shuffled around as needed.
  • I used MindManger in the creation of a technical white paper. It allowed me to add categorized topics and thoughts as I researched the paper.
  • I have used MinManager to capture and categorize business requirements during the initial phases of projects I was working on. And using the icons, I was able to check when they were validated, and what percentage of work completed.
  • The latest version allows for some data modeling capabilities, however they are not up to the level we currently use in Visio.
  • I wish it was easier to create separate groups that could be built upon, instead of one main group and smaller other groups.
  • I wish the linking between groups could be improved. You can add lines between the different topics, however it gets quite messy quickly. Maybe if alternative hierarchy structures could be created between topics, and allow the switching between layouts.


Well suited

  • Brain storming
  • Gathering thoughts and ideas

Less appropriate

  • Data modeling
  • Alternative hierarchy structures
Read this authenticated review
John Michael Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2014

Need to provide some visual POP to your vision, roadmap, responsibilities or tutorial? You need MindManager!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started using MindManager to visualize the various functions and steps I take for my own responsibilities, whether to document out the steps in progressive order to assist in training others to support my tasks, or simply giving myself a visual guide to the affect certain functions had on process or personnel. In short order it became a standard practice that I would use MindManager to capture scope or vision of meetings and objectives drawn out on a whiteboard. It helps to consolidate my department's visions or goals for expression to other peers within my company.
  • Visually provides clarity and "pop" to any function or process or structure that needs sharing
  • Allows the ability to quickly visualize any overarching or cross functional impacts of a project or task
  • MindManager quickly displaced my use of Visio or FreeMind to address Org Charts or other brainstorming sessions that needed some flare and clarity
  • Printing options could be streamlined and broadened. It is the only area that could use some improvements.
Do you need to visualize a process or map out a project roadmap? MindManager is the only option. When trying to convey complex structure or vision to a team that does not have same amount of intimate knowledge then using the visual opportunity provided by MindManager increases the audiences ability to grasp your concept.
Read John Michael Smith's full review
Belinda Weinbrecht | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2014

Marketing Technology design at your finger tips

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across our organization to create diagrams for business processes, system designs, and organizational infrastructures. It provides a consistent platform that everyone recognizes and understands.
  • Ease of use: that makes it attractive to the non-technical people
  • Depth of features: that makes it a tool of choice across a variety of departments (ie. it is not just something that R&D or IT can use)
  • Integration with other corporate tools: like Outlook and Sharepoint
  • Ability to resize the entire map
  • Ability to select a group of nodes to highlight
Integration with Microsoft products is a huge plus.
Read Belinda Weinbrecht's full review
Michael Hibbs, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2014

MindJet MindManager bring a fresh new look to the classic flow chart

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager was used to create a decision tree as a training tool for the off-hour Customer Service Representatives based in the US. This allowed the employees to ease through "what-if" next steps to assist customers in getting world class service. The software is very straight forward, completely customizable, and easy for non-conputer savvy people to understand.
  • Flow charts can be very confusing and complex. MindJet MindManager offers a way to minimize the confusion that helps drive the user through a simple path to a solution.
  • MindJet MindManager is easy to use. There is no need to spend additional money for a training class to get started.
  • It would be nice if MindJet MindManager allowed you to paste pictures within the balloons.
  • It would be nice if you could use MindJet MindManager for Organization Charts using photos of the employee.
Read Michael Hibbs, MBA's full review
Anthony Ehara | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2014

Get it you will not regret it. Have tried many other competing products

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is an excellent tool. It is particularly useful within organizations and projects that span cross-functionally. I use it primarily as my primary dashboard in tracking contacts, roles, projects within the program and processes that would otherwise not suit other documentation formats. I truly enjoy having a tool where I can dump my brain and organize my ideas.
  • Great at performance and easy to use application.
  • Practical macros and usability.
  • Publishing is easy.
  • There are a few issues from my experience on a Mac with format for saving mindmaps.
  • Cloud integration could be simpler.
  • Not designed for advanced/finalized publishing of documentation - ex. to communicate to executives.
MindManager is a fantastic product to help organize your thoughts and understanding. As an IT analyst I deal with complex systems and integration in a large enterprise organization. I am required to track and remember minute processes and contacts in order to accomplish my day to day work. I use MindManager as reference as it provides a one stop dashboard for my projects.
Read Anthony Ehara's full review
Graham Kist | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2014

Flexibility at the cost of specificity

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used MindJet for a few purposes. First is process mapping. We were using both Visio and IBM Blueworks and found these were better tools for that. We also used MindJet for org structure diagrams. It worked better for this purpose, however, we found that Visio could also be used. Finally, we used MindJet for project management. This worked fairly well, but it competed with Microsoft Project, a program that most of our project managers were already familiar with.
  • Integrated - you can link websites and other documents to your mindmap, allowing a lot more potential content
  • Lots of add ons allow color coding, % complete, resources etc. These are also all easy to use
  • Flexible, you can play around with a large "white board" and still look professional
  • It ocupies a middle ground, it doesn't quite do project planning like Project, nor process mapping like visio
  • Shapes are easy to add, but if you have a lot of shapes, the map gets hard to read
  • People are not as familiar with it as of MS Office suite programs
How flexible do you need the tool to be? If you want an all-in-one solution without paying for numerous other programs, this is your best bet. If you dont need specific process modeling or project management, and onely want to learn one tool for a larger organization, MindJet is a good alternative.
Read Graham Kist's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2015

MindJet MindManager Pro 7 (March 6, 2015)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager has allowed our department to systematically address design issues to improve product robustness. It streamlines root cause analysis and visually outlines all of the topics for all involved.
  • Flow Chart Abilities
  • Keyboard Shortcuts
  • Import/Export
  • Intuitiveness. If someone does not use MindJet all the time (in the "driver's seat") then initial navigation of the software can take some time.
This software is really key for root cause analysis. The ability to create and modify flow charts, flag items and determine what features are critical to a design really streamline the whole process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2014

Quick to Learn and Easy to Use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManger is used selectively by some members of my department as a vehicle for quick note taking during meetings, and also for mapping the areas we need to work on for each project. We have been able to map resources, tasks, project risks, and requirements for each of our projects. I believe it is also being used by other departments in my organization.
  • Quick brain dump
  • Categorizing thoughts and ideas
  • Capturing quick topics during meetings
  • Sometimes spacing between subtopics is tight
  • It can be hard to arrange topics on other areas of the page
  • Should add functionality for duplicating entries so retyping can be avoided
I would ask what methodology is being used to take notes during meetings. If you are just trying to capture topics MindJet MindManger would be great, but not so much if you are trying to capture comments and exchanges between individuals during meetings. I would also ask what methodology is being used to present project overviews.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2014

MindManager effective for business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to capture ideas during brainstorming activities and to organize topics for presentations. It is also used as a high level planning tool in conjunction with MS Project.
  • Using keyboard shortcuts it is easy to construct a map
  • Easy to share with others, even those who do not have MindManager on their computer
  • Access to large number of map templates
  • Offer easier to use or insert graphics
  • More free-form lines and topics. Make it easier to stray from the templates on topic placement
Does it integrate with existing office products? It is appropriate for brainstorming and quick idea maps.
Does most things well. Would be nice to make features like adding information to topics easier from the keyboard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2014

MindJet MindManager - organize your mind at a price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager was an effective tool in organizing research ideas for a specific publication. Each member of the team was able to contribute and the software allowed us to keep track of the progress and when each of the components were finished. It is a great and dynamic organization tool that can be applied to almost any setting.
  • Organizes ideas well
  • Improves communication between lab members
  • Effectively increase productivity and efficiency or organization
  • Learning curve could be better
  • Different versions for different fields
MindJet MindManager is mostly suited for a larger organization where it might be difficult to keep track of different aspects of a particular project. It is very flexible but price will be an issue as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2014

Mind Manager Can Organize Scattered Brainstorming

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager personally and it is not used in my organization widely. However, it is very helpful for organizing research ideas as well as for qualitative research in some cases.
  • Organizing meetings -- you can use MindManager as a way to organize meeting discussions as they happen
  • Organizing manuscripts -- instead of an outline, you can use a mindmap
  • Organizing yourself -- use mindmaps to tease out ideas for your personal projects
  • User interface -- some areas are a little clunky
Most colleagues in the health care research setting would benefit from using MindManager to organize their thoughts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2014

MindManager - Great Tool for Information Workers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is only used by individuals at Infor, rather than a departmental or even corporate wide deployment. I use it mainly to help me capture ideas, manage projects or to develop outlines of papers I am writing. I love the fact that I can attach notes to the mind map and export the mind map into Microsoft Word, where it generates an entire document including formatting based on the structure of the mind map.
  • Structuring project tasks for simple projects
  • Capturing ideas in innovation management and ideation
  • Developing an outline of a more complex paper
  • License management support is not as responsive as it should be
  • New versions tend to be buggy
  • Most of the additional templates turn out to be not so useful once you use them
The product is very simple to use and there is practically no training required. I would like to see improvements around the notes that can be attached to the structure of the MindMap as I use the solution a lot to write more complex documents. I wish it would work more like a text editor and expose a larger text field including more formatting options.
Read this authenticated review

About MindManager

MindManager helps individuals, teams and enterprises do the right work, faster and better, by simplifying the way they capture, process and share information. Transforming unstructured ideas and data into dynamic visual maps, MindManager says it gives people a clearer understanding of and greater control over their time, work and world.

The vendor says that MindManager’s flexible, intuitive design supports freeform thinking, fluid organization and holistic understanding; its cross-platform functionality and third-party integrations enable a more streamlined, seamless work experience. Millions of users across thousands of global organizations brainstorm ideas creatively, plan and execute projects efficiently, communicate knowledge effectively, and drive more positive, profitable business outcomes with MindManager.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

- Creativity & Problem Solving
- Boosting Productivity
- Information & Knowledge Management
- Task & Project Management
- Business Planning
- Process Management
- And much more

MindManager Features

Additional Features
Has featureInformation Visualization
Has featureInformation Management
Has featureInformation Capturing
Has featureInformation Presentation
Has featureKnowledge Management

MindManager Screenshots

MindManager Video

Uncover possibilities, unite teams and unleash productivity with MindManager 2019. Empower yourself or your team with the most robust, customizable visualization software available, FREE for 30 days at www.mindmanager.com/MyFreeTrial

MindManager Downloadables

MindManager Integrations

Zapier, MS SharePoint, MS Outlook

MindManager Competitors

Xmind, iMindMap, iThoughts

MindManager Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MindManager Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MindManager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Chinese