MindManager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
252 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (126-135 of 135)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
August 15, 2014
Belinda Weinbrecht | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across our organization to create diagrams for business processes, system designs, and organizational infrastructures. It provides a consistent platform that everyone recognizes and understands.
  • Ease of use: that makes it attractive to the non-technical people
  • Depth of features: that makes it a tool of choice across a variety of departments (ie. it is not just something that R&D or IT can use)
  • Integration with other corporate tools: like Outlook and Sharepoint
  • Ability to resize the entire map
  • Ability to select a group of nodes to highlight
Integration with Microsoft products is a huge plus.
Read Belinda Weinbrecht's full review
August 14, 2014
Michael Hibbs, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager was used to create a decision tree as a training tool for the off-hour Customer Service Representatives based in the US. This allowed the employees to ease through "what-if" next steps to assist customers in getting world class service. The software is very straight forward, completely customizable, and easy for non-conputer savvy people to understand.
  • Flow charts can be very confusing and complex. MindJet MindManager offers a way to minimize the confusion that helps drive the user through a simple path to a solution.
  • MindJet MindManager is easy to use. There is no need to spend additional money for a training class to get started.
  • It would be nice if MindJet MindManager allowed you to paste pictures within the balloons.
  • It would be nice if you could use MindJet MindManager for Organization Charts using photos of the employee.
Read Michael Hibbs, MBA's full review
August 06, 2014
Anthony Ehara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is an excellent tool. It is particularly useful within organizations and projects that span cross-functionally. I use it primarily as my primary dashboard in tracking contacts, roles, projects within the program and processes that would otherwise not suit other documentation formats. I truly enjoy having a tool where I can dump my brain and organize my ideas.
  • Great at performance and easy to use application.
  • Practical macros and usability.
  • Publishing is easy.
  • There are a few issues from my experience on a Mac with format for saving mindmaps.
  • Cloud integration could be simpler.
  • Not designed for advanced/finalized publishing of documentation - ex. to communicate to executives.
MindManager is a fantastic product to help organize your thoughts and understanding. As an IT analyst I deal with complex systems and integration in a large enterprise organization. I am required to track and remember minute processes and contacts in order to accomplish my day to day work. I use MindManager as reference as it provides a one stop dashboard for my projects.
Read Anthony Ehara's full review
July 30, 2014
Graham Kist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used MindJet for a few purposes. First is process mapping. We were using both Visio and IBM Blueworks and found these were better tools for that. We also used MindJet for org structure diagrams. It worked better for this purpose, however, we found that Visio could also be used. Finally, we used MindJet for project management. This worked fairly well, but it competed with Microsoft Project, a program that most of our project managers were already familiar with.
  • Integrated - you can link websites and other documents to your mindmap, allowing a lot more potential content
  • Lots of add ons allow color coding, % complete, resources etc. These are also all easy to use
  • Flexible, you can play around with a large "white board" and still look professional
  • It ocupies a middle ground, it doesn't quite do project planning like Project, nor process mapping like visio
  • Shapes are easy to add, but if you have a lot of shapes, the map gets hard to read
  • People are not as familiar with it as of MS Office suite programs
How flexible do you need the tool to be? If you want an all-in-one solution without paying for numerous other programs, this is your best bet. If you dont need specific process modeling or project management, and onely want to learn one tool for a larger organization, MindJet is a good alternative.
Read Graham Kist's full review
March 06, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager has allowed our department to systematically address design issues to improve product robustness. It streamlines root cause analysis and visually outlines all of the topics for all involved.
  • Flow Chart Abilities
  • Keyboard Shortcuts
  • Import/Export
  • Intuitiveness. If someone does not use MindJet all the time (in the "driver's seat") then initial navigation of the software can take some time.
This software is really key for root cause analysis. The ability to create and modify flow charts, flag items and determine what features are critical to a design really streamline the whole process.
Read this authenticated review
August 23, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManger is used selectively by some members of my department as a vehicle for quick note taking during meetings, and also for mapping the areas we need to work on for each project. We have been able to map resources, tasks, project risks, and requirements for each of our projects. I believe it is also being used by other departments in my organization.
  • Quick brain dump
  • Categorizing thoughts and ideas
  • Capturing quick topics during meetings
  • Sometimes spacing between subtopics is tight
  • It can be hard to arrange topics on other areas of the page
  • Should add functionality for duplicating entries so retyping can be avoided
I would ask what methodology is being used to take notes during meetings. If you are just trying to capture topics MindJet MindManger would be great, but not so much if you are trying to capture comments and exchanges between individuals during meetings. I would also ask what methodology is being used to present project overviews.
Read this authenticated review
August 01, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to capture ideas during brainstorming activities and to organize topics for presentations. It is also used as a high level planning tool in conjunction with MS Project.
  • Using keyboard shortcuts it is easy to construct a map
  • Easy to share with others, even those who do not have MindManager on their computer
  • Access to large number of map templates
  • Offer easier to use or insert graphics
  • More free-form lines and topics. Make it easier to stray from the templates on topic placement
Does it integrate with existing office products? It is appropriate for brainstorming and quick idea maps.
Does most things well. Would be nice to make features like adding information to topics easier from the keyboard.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindJet MindManager was an effective tool in organizing research ideas for a specific publication. Each member of the team was able to contribute and the software allowed us to keep track of the progress and when each of the components were finished. It is a great and dynamic organization tool that can be applied to almost any setting.
  • Organizes ideas well
  • Improves communication between lab members
  • Effectively increase productivity and efficiency or organization
  • Learning curve could be better
  • Different versions for different fields
MindJet MindManager is mostly suited for a larger organization where it might be difficult to keep track of different aspects of a particular project. It is very flexible but price will be an issue as well.
Read this authenticated review
August 05, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager personally and it is not used in my organization widely. However, it is very helpful for organizing research ideas as well as for qualitative research in some cases.
  • Organizing meetings -- you can use MindManager as a way to organize meeting discussions as they happen
  • Organizing manuscripts -- instead of an outline, you can use a mindmap
  • Organizing yourself -- use mindmaps to tease out ideas for your personal projects
  • User interface -- some areas are a little clunky
Most colleagues in the health care research setting would benefit from using MindManager to organize their thoughts.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is only used by individuals at Infor, rather than a departmental or even corporate wide deployment. I use it mainly to help me capture ideas, manage projects or to develop outlines of papers I am writing. I love the fact that I can attach notes to the mind map and export the mind map into Microsoft Word, where it generates an entire document including formatting based on the structure of the mind map.
  • Structuring project tasks for simple projects
  • Capturing ideas in innovation management and ideation
  • Developing an outline of a more complex paper
  • License management support is not as responsive as it should be
  • New versions tend to be buggy
  • Most of the additional templates turn out to be not so useful once you use them
The product is very simple to use and there is practically no training required. I would like to see improvements around the notes that can be attached to the structure of the MindMap as I use the solution a lot to write more complex documents. I wish it would work more like a text editor and expose a larger text field including more formatting options.
Read this authenticated review

What is MindManager?

MindManager aims to bring clarity and structure to plans, projects, and processes.

With it, the vendor says users can transform scattered ideas and information into dynamic visual mind maps, flowcharts, concept maps, matrices and other diagrams. They state users can also take control of their work, synthesize vast amounts of data, collaborate and communicate more effectively, and boost productivity to gain a competitive edge.

MindManager is presented as a suite of intuitive visualization products that helps individuals and teams think more clearly, make better decisions, and get on the path to personal and organizational success.

MindManager Features

Additional Features
Has featureInformation Visualization
Has featureBrainstorming
Has featureProblem Solving
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureKnowledge Management
Has featureProcess Design & Documentation
Has featureProject Management
Has featureStrategic Planning
Has featureTask Management
Has featureWorkflow Management

MindManager Screenshots

MindManager Video

MindManager Downloadables

MindManager Integrations

Zapier, MS SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, MS Outlook, MS Word, MS Excel

MindManager Competitors

Xmind, iMindMap, iThoughts

MindManager Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
One-Time Cost$349per perpetual license
Annual Subscription$169per year
OrganizationsContact sales team

MindManager Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MindManager Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Chinese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MindManager?

MindManager is a mind mapping and project management tool that aims to boost users’ productivity. It is designed to facilitate a wide range of project types, and includes cross-platform functionality and 3rd party integrations.

What is MindManager's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Performance and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses MindManager?

The most common users of MindManager are Enterprises from the Higher Education industry.