Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) Reviews

213 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 26, 2021
Carol Aleman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Through
[Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)] I have got rid of the improperly-signed and even unsigned container
workloads. This tool is easy to configure and easily I can tag the workloads
for execution on appropriate node types. Further through this application, it is
very convenient for me to use specialized hardware in bare metal which includes
FPGAs and GPUs, that offer great machine learning and helps in scientific
computing.
Read Carol Aleman's full review
March 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is heavily used to containerized the projects and upload it to kubernetes. It is helpful when developing microservices. Due to Dockers isolation and portability feature, it is easy to deploy run and get a microservice up in no time. Docker is being used across the whole organization. Docker address following business problems: building independent microservices, isolation and easy potability.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2019
Matt James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Docker in a test environment to deploy and monitor all of our servers/firewalls/switches/etc. throughout our company. We have a single server instance that houses all the containers and images. My department, the technology services department, is the only department that uses this and as it is still only being tested only one user is using/deploying/managing it—me. But it allows me to have a glance at each location to see if there are any issues that could potentially take down a site.
Read Matt James's full review
July 13, 2019
David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is used by our company to build our server deployment files and to run tests. This allows us to have confidence that our deployments will work correctly in our pull request tests. Developers can also be confident that the build will run the same every time no matter where the code is being run.
Read David Tanner's full review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Swarm to deploy internal applications in a managed cluster. These applications are mission-critical and used across all departments in the organization. Swarm solves the problem of scaling and load balancing traffic and resources during peak business hours. It allows fast and simple automated deployment which drastically reduces the time spent on this task by developers.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is everywhere, there just isn't a server on an application which is not present in Docker. It forms the integral part of the whole infra for us. The beauty of Docker comes from its amazing quality of being robust, easy to start and very easy to blow it off completely. It's the most powerful tool which just does magic for us.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is used by most of our teams as part of their development and deployment practice. For development, it enables engineers to build applications in the same environment without worrying about local configuration issues. Nearly all of our CI/CD and infrastructure runs in Docker containers as well, which makes debugging production issues (especially around deployment) as simple as pulling down the right image and poking at it locally.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Docker for WordPress development. It has replaced Vagrant on our development systems. We like the tighter integration with Windows Hyper-V and the performance is better than VirtualBox-based solutions. We are able to jump-start many projects with the Docker Compose files people contribute and publish on GitHub. Using Docker Compose we are able to create reliable, consistent, development scaffolding.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2018
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Reducing deployment friction is the chief benefit. The advent of the Cloud allowed us to break away from physical servers and rapidly develop our products and services. Docker adds a Saturn 5 rocket to that. It allows developers to easily build very complex application on their local machines much the same way VMs did, but with a fraction of the resources VMs take because of their reduced footprint. This in turn allows sharing prebuilt "containers" with a community be it within an organisation or global in a matter of seconds. Additionally, the days of configuration drift are solved because we all have a common "language" for sharing configurations regardless of the tools used to build them.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
November 09, 2018
Ben Lachman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Docker as part of a rapid deployment project that allows a service to be easily deployed directly onto VMs automatically during staging and production. It makes the management of the VM a parallel task to the deploy process. Traditionally the provision of a VM would be intertwined with the deploy process and containerization allows for these things to be decoupled.
Read Ben Lachman's full review
March 23, 2018
Vlad VARNA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Swarm for our analytics gathering service. Using swarm allows for quick workload scaling and using less hardware than was needed before.
Read Vlad VARNA's full review
March 03, 2018
Brian Dentino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is used across our whole engineering organization. It is used to simplify packaging and deployment of the apps and services we develop. Using docker allows us to match our development environment more closely to production and run polyglot applications without worrying about cross-cutting software dependencies and server configuration.
Read Brian Dentino's full review
June 19, 2018
Nic Raboy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is being used as a quick way for organizations to deploy Couchbase as a container, both independently and in an orchestrated environment. Because of how easy Docker containers are to create and destroy, it makes developer and operations work incredibly easy for prototyping in a consistent environment using the Docker runtime.
Read Nic Raboy's full review
June 13, 2017
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Docker as the backbone of our hosted app infrastructure. Every element of our application is broken down into a microservice; these miniature services are then built into Docker containers and deployed directly to AWS cloud. Docker lets us deterministically build, distribute, and deploy all of our services without any ambiguity as to what's being deployed and why.
Read Eric Mann's full review
March 24, 2017
Jesse Bye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are just beginning to use Docker for some specialized microservices within our existing server infrastructure. Specifically, we use it to run a Selenium Grid for automated web-based testing. We are considering broader adoption of Docker within areas such as Java application deployment, local development environments, and continuous integration. Docker primarily helps us maintain environmental consistency (having the same environment from local development to deployment in the cloud).
Read Jesse Bye's full review
March 06, 2017
Adam Eivy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is transforming our confidence in build and release as well as developer onboarding. Docker containerization finally is fulfilling the promise that Chef never did, giving us environmental consistency across developers, build, various environments and production. We've been eliminating deployment time errors by encapsulating the entire operating system, language core components, security patches, etc., into the application build time. This has reduced the complexity of getting developers up and running. No longer do developers and operations have to understand the full workings of the dependencies within an application in order to run and deploy it--instead, we only need to know how to get Docker running and deployed to get our applications up and running. This allows us to have truly ephemeral environments and dependency management and eases autoscaling.
Read Adam Eivy's full review
February 15, 2017
Claudio Fernando Maciel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Docker to provide us fast containerization of our Continuous Deployment and Integration pipelines. Once our code is good for shipping, we trigger a test pipeline which will in turn compile all its dockerfiles, upload them to hub.docker.com if needed and then upload/install an updated version of the system and its environments at DigitalOcean via Docker drivers and swarm. Our developers as well as our production servers use it as well, being our stack composed of a total of 4 different nodes, a MongoDB container; an elasticsearch container; a nodejs container and our discovery service container, comprising Consul key-value database to store all data from our slave nodes. It's solely maintained by our development team, but the system built within is widely used by our staff as well as the company's clients, spread throughout the world.
Read Claudio Fernando Maciel's full review
April 19, 2017
Anudeep Palanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Recently at Monsanto, there is a big push towards a DevOps model and micro-services. As our first step towards moving to the cloud, we started using docker to spin up new databases for various micro-services. When moving towards micro-services, we need a simple and consistent way to spin up database instances that do not affect each other. We needed consistency because we want the instances to be same across different environments.
Read Anudeep Palanki's full review
April 04, 2017
Tom Paulus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker allows us to provision identical instances across our various systems (testing, staging, production, etc.). Docker has also allowed us to drastically reduce our spin up time for new instances, as all of the components that we commonly use have been converted into Docker Files.

Additionally, because of the great community behind Docker, many of the components that we use (MySQL, Tomcat, etc.) already have Docker files for them, many of which are awesome, and are easily adaptable (if necessary) to best suit the needs of our department.
Read Tom Paulus's full review
February 27, 2017
Brad Magyar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is being used primarily to host a MySQL database that runs a production website. It has been very stable and easy to work with, and we like the security that containerization affords.
Read Brad Magyar's full review
May 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Instead of using VMs for our testing environments in our automated pipelines, we use Docker containers to simplify and increase the efficiency of our testing. We needed a testing environment that worked both for Windows and Linux, so Docker was the best choice for our scenario. It is being used on a team-by-team basis.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2016
Linju Jose | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use docker in our CI builds from creating a custom Linux image to deploying our latest code from docker registry
Read Linju Jose's full review
August 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Docker mainly for testing purposes. To avoid issues with local environments while testing our site, we use Docker images. This has many benefits: you can easily add/remove configurations and extras. For example on PHP you can try different images with different versions of PHP. Trying to achieve this on your localhost (for example with XAMPP or something more friendly) is very time-consuming.

I should say I know Docker is meant for something more pro and I'm a light user; I don't push a Docker image completely to a server, but for testing purposes it has been extremely useful. You can use CLI for changing things, you can create different databases, alter them and load them again, etc.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Docker is being used across our organization for product development and deployment. We switched to docker in order to replace a custom build and deploy the solution. We have used it as part of our build and deploy system to make the process more flexible and decentralized. It has made it much easier to build out new data centers and is part of our internationalization strategy.
Read this authenticated review

What is Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)?

Mirantis Container Cloud, on the Mirantis Cloud Platform is based on the former Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019, aims to let users ship code faster. Container Cloud gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)?

Mirantis Container Cloud, on the Mirantis Cloud Platform is based on the former Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019, aims to let users ship code faster. Container Cloud gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

How much does Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) cost?

Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) starts at $14.

What are Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)'s top competitors?

Proxmox VE, VMware ESXi, and Hyper-V are common alternatives for Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise).

What is Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)?

The most common users of Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.