TrustRadius
Monetate is a website optimization and personalization product. The company offers a strong product tailored to the needs of e-commerce and retailers. Customers are mostly enterprise brands.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/EN/2t/7AALPRLAT012.JPEGMonetate loverMonetate is being used across the marketing department throughout all brands. The system is mainly used for testing customer struggles and to help improve site KPIs. Along with Marketing trading banners and campaigns. Through the use of Monetate, we are able to personalize customer journeys with behavior targeting and data-sets.,Monetate cookie provides behavior's targets, and allows the business to provide a more relevant journey. The system is very user-friendly, meaning training someone new is quick and effective. Monetate support is always very helpful, and the account managers are keen to keep it up to date.,A Monetate app would be great, as the mobile site is extremely hard to use. Matching the business product feed with the Monetate data has proven to be difficult. Targeting a whole categories PDP is very hard to do with Monetate, unless you have time to find the whole categories of product codes. Providing more Monetate training.,8,A positive impact on bounce rates. A positive impact on Conversion rates. Positive support for online growth.,8,8,8Easy tool for a beginner in the industryMonetate is being used to display promotional content across the site through personalization to different user segments. It is also used to create tests that will optimize the user journey, both blanket tests and more segment-based testing, with future plans to use the individual fit tests.,Easy to use. Tests are easily customizable within the tool, through the html, css, and js boxes. An excellent support system, either through Monetate support or through our contact with the account managers.,The analytics is known to be 5% invalid when compared to GA, especially monetary measurements. Provide more in-depth analysis for tests. The AI tool should be able to better recognize smaller differences.,9,Good increase in conversion rate on specific tests. Good increase on "add to bag" for specific tests. Good decrease of our bounce rate.,10,10,9Would Highly Recommend!We use Monetate to test out optimization efforts across our 2 websites. We also use Monetate for banners to support our promotions. Finally, we use it to hotfix minor issues across the site, by modifying html or css. This is a very easy to use tool that gives a quick, easy solution without the need for the dev team to jump in.,Adding promotional banners under the top nav across the site Testing and measuring a/b efforts like PDP revisions or similar updates hiding elements that may be hindering the customer experience as a hotfix,documentation could be updated more regularly Training information and videos are very basic The overall organization can be improved,10,We are able to optimize our site. Through our testing efforts, we were able to lift both conversion rate and average order value simply by moving the layout of our pages around.,10,9,,10,Good tool for creating promotions, adding badges to the products and create a lis of relevant itemsI worked with Monetate as part of the Marketing team. The tool was used by our department only. It allowed to set up customized, location-based banners for the home page informing visitors about changes in the local stores addresses and other changes; to create special promotions and perform A/B testings of their wording; to create and insert sale budges; to add lists of recommended products.,It has great customer segmentation capability It allows to use html, css, and javascript to create promotions It has good analytical tools It is intuitive even for a novice,Sometimes it is hard to find what you are looking for (for example, how to export data) The way of specifying pages on which promotion should be displayed could be improved It is hard to organize promotions,9,Increases insight into promotions effect Increased customer satisfaction via improving their knowledge about stores changed hours and locations More precisely targeted marketing,9,9,5,9,5,Specifying a target audience Specifying products to add badges to Scheduling promotions,Specifying pages where the promotion or badges should appear,9Great tool - easy to use and powerful outcomesWe use Monetate across our 6 websites to personalise and test content/functionality/aesthetics/UX. It has helped us understand what customers respond best to and how to offer the best user experience per the different individuals/segments we can target. It has also helped us when a quick fix is needed and our IT solutions aren't able to turn around with immediate effect.,Supportive account team to help us use Monetate to the best of its capabilities Intuitive to use and learn Has a vast array of functionality options to maximise possibilities to test/personalise,Monetate-built actions are often locked down so the client user cannot amend to be bespoke for their needs. Therefore any changes wanted require a new Monetate dev ticket. This can be time consuming,9,We have seen positive growth in our two biggest KPIs - Conversion and AOV,9,9,7,9,10
Unspecified
Monetate
113 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Monetate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Monetate
113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 75 of 113 Monetate ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chloe O'Brien profile photo
May 25, 2019

User Review: "Monetate lover"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to:
Targeting specific customers within Monetate, such as Google shopping customers or customers previously bought dresses etc. Completing homepage testing for personalized journeys through the AI testing tool.

Less suited to:
The Monetates analytics page is not very helpful, and it would be great to have more results. Testing sequencing within Monetate has also proven difficult.
Read Chloe O'Brien's full review
Ellen Evans profile photo
April 25, 2019

Monetate Review: "Would Highly Recommend!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is best used for its intended purpose, A/B testing and personalization. You should be familiar with HTML and CSS to use this product. I like that you can set up custom KPIs for testing efforts when conversion rate might not be your best indicator of performance. Overall a good testing tool.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
Irina Danilova profile photo
January 15, 2019

Monetate Review: "Good tool for creating promotions, adding badges to the products and create a lis of relevant items"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is a great tool when you need to run a promotion and analyze it's performance. It is also very good (although a bit time consuming) in building lists of related products or displaying information that is location-specific.
Read Irina Danilova's full review
Sheryl Newell profile photo
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great tool - easy to use and powerful outcomes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Agile and powerful tool. We have a great working relationship with account team. They listen to requirements and work as best they can to meet them. Monetate can be restrictive but recognise most of the same level other personalisation / testing tools are at this stage in the market. New functionality is released regularly to keep up with market trends
Read Sheryl Newell's full review
Laura Neil profile photo
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Easy to use, Effective and Great Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend Monetate to a business that wants to get set up with testing and personalisation quickly, with the knowledge that they can get the support they need to learn the tool but don't need to be web developers to use it.

I would also say that in the case of wanting to set up very specific experiments, Monetate is very useful as the targeting can be quite complex and there is the ability to integrate with other applications as well as set up custom targets.
Read Laura Neil's full review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

"Monetate Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is a great way of targeting the customers you want to complete a specific conversion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great Decision for Marketing Team!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I've used different testing systems, and Monetate is simple-to-use. I've been able to train interns who'd previously had little experience, too.
More complicated tests require web dev. I'd like to be able to "safely" shift and style elements in a WYSIWYG interface, but the interface provides most of what I want.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 14, 2019

"Monetate Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is an excellent testing platform to test your ideas onto the site and see how it's working before you actually make a permanent change, and to experiment with various ideas at the same time to see which one works the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

User Review: "Monetate - Digital Magic Tape!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A simple A/B test is Monetate's bread and butter. Providing you have a developer with the technical ability to acheive what you want, you can easily manipulate page layouts, insert content , remove content to achieve a test.

Whilst the majority fit works well as a low risk way of showing that a test will work, it does not give you learning or insight as to why something does or does not work.
Read this authenticated review
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
September 12, 2018

Monetate Review: "Very powerful testing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If your business is online and you have pages your visitors will interact with, Monetate can be a huge asset. You can test virtually anything! But if you don't have much capital to use, Monetate will be an expensive investment that you won't see ROI on for at least a few months. If your site is simple and more informational (i.e., no offer pages, informational-only site, etc.), Monetate will still work for you but it'll be really hard to determine ROI and make your money back.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great if you're looking to create content that's targeted to specific people or places. We have done this before on occasion and have targeted different images based on customer history with us. We have also used this many times in testing between new and returning customers. Monetate is also great for creating quick website experience changes and seeing how they affect users.
Read this authenticated review
Reid Mirre, CPM profile photo
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Early Impressed Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have not implemented a live personalization yet, so this rating is based solely on pre-sales, integration, and a handful of calls. So far, it seems promising, but I cannot share our success when we have not had the opportunity to prove it. Monetate has a strong pre-sales process and will work with you every step of the way to installation. The dashboard is intuitive and it seems promising, but I can't say if it works yet.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
Erik Ickes profile photo
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "We're new users but mostly happy with it so far."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great for straightforward swapping and moving of elements and has a nice set of pre-built experiences that make it ready right out of the box. There is also very little setup involved.

We haven't found it that effective for converting for revenue in our market but we are not in a traditional e-commerce business. A normal retail site would see bigger benefits that we do.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - 4 Stars!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is well suited for personalizing onsite content. We are currently replacing content with brand affinities, category affinities, new vs. returning customers and it's doing very well. We have found it super difficult setting up personalized email campaigns. We believe that email is a new thing Monetate is new to. There are not as many targeting options as there are in Onsite Content, it's hard to measure the success of the personalized content, we still have out-standing questions on email click zones, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Very Solid Testing Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're looking for a product for conducting multiple tests on your site, even multi-variable, Monetate is perfect. Majority fit enables you to test without worrying about missing out on sales because you're showing too many of the losing test. It's also ideal for making quick last-second code changes. Just pick an element that you want to change, and you usually can with even just a basic knowledge of coding. If I had to identify a less ideal application, it's as a personalized product recommendation tool. At least in the version we have, Monetate is not great at identifying additional products that a particular visitor is likely to want to purchase.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

User Review: "The State of Monetate"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

+Its A/B tests are the best I've seen.
+Its insertable product carousels are good if you don't have any other source for such things. However they only display basic groups like a given category or best sellers, which leave them inferior to AI learning recommendations such as Sales Force's Einstein.
+Badging is easy to use if it needs to be handled by someone non-technical. "Just paste the SKUs in this text box" is pretty easy to understand.
-Its general analytics outside of comparing test groups are severely lacking, falling far behind even the basic level of Google Analytics, for example. (Though GA's A/B testing feature is garbage, so having both is a good complement.)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great Platform & Easy to Use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is well suited if you need a quick fix/change to your website. Also if you want to test different aspects of your site it is super simple to set up a test and see the results come through. It will show when your test has reached significance and different metrics for that test.
Read this authenticated review

About Monetate

Monetate is an ecommerce personalization software for consumer-facing brands. It is used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers according to the vendor. Monetate enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to work seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Videos (3)

Watch Personalization Today: Everyone loves ice cream, but not everyone loves chocolate. Stop giving your customers the same flavor. This video is great for an introduction on the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Introducing the Engine: It's not magic, but it feels a bit like science fiction. The Monetate Personalization Engine is your ticket to more ROI with less effort. Fabulous as a next touch once appetites have been whet with the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Why Do We Need Machine Learning: Your customers are a multiverse of unique characteristics. Don't get caught in the infinite vacuum of scaling to all of their needs. A great touch to get people understanding the advantage that comes from a machine learning approach. Excellent follow up to "Introducing the Engine".

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, SAP Hybris, Intershop Commerce Suite, Tealium AudienceStream, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, IBM WebSphere Commerce, NeuStar PageAdvisor

Monetate Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English