TrustRadius
Monetate is a website optimization and personalization product. The company offers a strong product tailored to the needs of e-commerce and retailers. Customers are mostly enterprise brands.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/EN/2t/7AALPRLAT012.JPEGVery powerful testing toolWe use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.,You can test virtually ANYTHING on your website. Once you know what you're doing, it is really easy to upload assets and really customize the details of your test. If you have multiple websites, you can keep all of your website tests separate - for example, we manage two separate brands, both which have 3 environments we can set up tests in: development, staging, and production environments. So, we can easily manage 6 separate test groups and store the various content in the proper section, very easily. The design is really clean and easy to navigate. It is easy to organize and filter your experiments, you can tag them to make filtering a lot easier (especially when you have a bunch of experiments running at the same time), and the simple function of duplicating an experiment makes minor changes to a grand experiment SO much quicker. The Monetate Inspector tool (I could be using the wrong word, sorry!) also allows you to far more easily identify the unique ID of an experiment so you can find it in Monetate and make any desired changes rather than sifting one by one through your various experiments trying to figure out which one you mean to edit.,The learning curve is a little steep, especially if you're unfamiliar with HTML/CSS. The tool is so powerful but can be overwhelming at first. The intro instructional videos/content is helpful but it doesn't cover everything. We needed to partner with an optimization company to better understand the tool and get started. Setting up an experiment for the first time isn't simple when you're a marketer who is inexperienced with any sort of web development or even just HTML/CSS. While you can easily select the area you want to create a test with, you don't have a way to easily manipulate that section without the use of HTML/CSS. The first optimization company Monetate recommended us to was horrible - it really was awful working with them. We had dedicated (paid for!) hours that got wasted after the company wasted our time in each meeting (when we did have one - they often needed to reschedule) and they barely knew what our company even did despite multiple meetings. Those hours, despite the awful experience, were never fulfilled, never reimbursed, never carried over to the new (and far better) company. This left a bad taste in my mouth. While I really like this product and it does everything we need, this awful experience and lack of ownership on their end was highly disappointing. We are moving forward though - and happy with our results.,9,We are really starting to understand our audience and what they prefer on our website. One example is on our product display pages, we learned that our visitors convert about 35% more when content is laid out in one fashion versus another. Another example is our promotional banners perform better when it takes up the width of the page versus the margins pulled in more. At first, Monetate was a negative ROI - we were paying for a service we weren't getting, and not understanding the full power of the program. With the new optimization firm however, we are now really able to churn out more tests, have a clean and direct test plan, and finally seeing tangible results. As an aside, Monetate has helped us just save time and money on creating our promotional banners now so we don't have to get with our development team each time we want to put one up. Even without running a test, it has let us add content to our site when we need to (as we already have the experiments set up as we need it to and we can quickly duplicate it) without our developers getting in there to make those short-lived changes.,10,10,10,10,10Great testing platformMonetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.,Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers. Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help. Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.,Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster. A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.,8,Monetate has shown us how our new site features have either helped customer experience or created a negative impact. One issue we've run into with Monetate is site speed. Too many tests or experiences going on at once will slow down the website noticeably. Monetate has made it faster and easier for us to launch our ideas without having to go through IT for changes.,8,9,9,9,9Game changer for Marketers.The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.,Display marketing messages Provide data A/B testing,Custom customer segments Training videos Suppport chat,10,Greater email capture for long term growth Higher margins on acquisition customer by not giving away the farm,10,5,7Early Impressed ImpressionsMonetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.,Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use. Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors. They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.,In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system. Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.) I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.,8,I have no hard numbers yet, as I noted. The impact has not yet been seen either way.,8,7,,,8We're new users but mostly happy with it so far.We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.,Easy to use interface. Seamless for the end user. SEO is not affected. Personalized site means greater retention and interest.,Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site. We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.,8,We have seen some engagement with our local workshop enrollment but can not measure because most orders are done by PO or phone for those. Not enough direct conversion experiences set up yet to tell if there is a positive impact at this point but it certainly won't hurt engagement!,8,5,4,
Unspecified
Monetate
96 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Monetate Reviews

Monetate
96 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 62 of 96 Monetate ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 62)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
September 12, 2018

Monetate Review: "Very powerful testing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If your business is online and you have pages your visitors will interact with, Monetate can be a huge asset. You can test virtually anything! But if you don't have much capital to use, Monetate will be an expensive investment that you won't see ROI on for at least a few months. If your site is simple and more informational (i.e., no offer pages, informational-only site, etc.), Monetate will still work for you but it'll be really hard to determine ROI and make your money back.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great if you're looking to create content that's targeted to specific people or places. We have done this before on occasion and have targeted different images based on customer history with us. We have also used this many times in testing between new and returning customers. Monetate is also great for creating quick website experience changes and seeing how they affect users.
Read this authenticated review
Nick Ashton profile photo
August 21, 2017

Monetate Review: "Game changer for Marketers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For marketing teams to target customers by channel - email specific sales, acquisition messaging for customers coming from various sources. Testing different email capture messages.
Read Nick Ashton's full review
Reid Mirre, CPM profile photo
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Early Impressed Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have not implemented a live personalization yet, so this rating is based solely on pre-sales, integration, and a handful of calls. So far, it seems promising, but I cannot share our success when we have not had the opportunity to prove it. Monetate has a strong pre-sales process and will work with you every step of the way to installation. The dashboard is intuitive and it seems promising, but I can't say if it works yet.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
Erik Ickes profile photo
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "We're new users but mostly happy with it so far."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great for straightforward swapping and moving of elements and has a nice set of pre-built experiences that make it ready right out of the box. There is also very little setup involved.

We haven't found it that effective for converting for revenue in our market but we are not in a traditional e-commerce business. A normal retail site would see bigger benefits that we do.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - 4 Stars!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is well suited for personalizing onsite content. We are currently replacing content with brand affinities, category affinities, new vs. returning customers and it's doing very well. We have found it super difficult setting up personalized email campaigns. We believe that email is a new thing Monetate is new to. There are not as many targeting options as there are in Onsite Content, it's hard to measure the success of the personalized content, we still have out-standing questions on email click zones, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

User Review: "Monetate is the best in the industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Very Solid Testing Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're looking for a product for conducting multiple tests on your site, even multi-variable, Monetate is perfect. Majority fit enables you to test without worrying about missing out on sales because you're showing too many of the losing test. It's also ideal for making quick last-second code changes. Just pick an element that you want to change, and you usually can with even just a basic knowledge of coding. If I had to identify a less ideal application, it's as a personalized product recommendation tool. At least in the version we have, Monetate is not great at identifying additional products that a particular visitor is likely to want to purchase.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

User Review: "The State of Monetate"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

+Its A/B tests are the best I've seen.
+Its insertable product carousels are good if you don't have any other source for such things. However they only display basic groups like a given category or best sellers, which leave them inferior to AI learning recommendations such as Sales Force's Einstein.
+Badging is easy to use if it needs to be handled by someone non-technical. "Just paste the SKUs in this text box" is pretty easy to understand.
-Its general analytics outside of comparing test groups are severely lacking, falling far behind even the basic level of Google Analytics, for example. (Though GA's A/B testing feature is garbage, so having both is a good complement.)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great Platform & Easy to Use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is well suited if you need a quick fix/change to your website. Also if you want to test different aspects of your site it is super simple to set up a test and see the results come through. It will show when your test has reached significance and different metrics for that test.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "A Great Tool for Business Users When IT is Slow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great for setting up promotional callouts on our website. It's very strong for A/B testing and putting "band-aids" on our site, but more laborious when using it for personalization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 22, 2017

User Review: "Personalization with Monetate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great to utilize to discover/address different customer behaviors on site. However, it can be difficult to utilize if you don't have the resources and are not well versed in coding.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2017

Monetate Review: "Room for Improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is well suited for a larger testing and optimization team that has internal web development support. For lean teams without much expertise, it might not be the best option. It takes 2-4 weeks for Monetate to set up actions, so it is not the best vendor for agile groups working at a fast pace.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 15, 2017

"Monetate Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is an excellent testing platform to test your ideas onto the site and see how it's working before you actually make a permanent change, and to experiment with various ideas at the same time to see which one works the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

Monetate Review: "User friendly, flexible, marketing tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great for smaller teams in that you have help from Monetate (tech, strategy, etc) and it's very intuitive, so you don't have to be a rocket scientist to use the tool or code things. Once our tech team sets it up, we're good to go using it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

Review: "Monetate has been a great UX resource for our team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It allows you to base UX off of data rather than just a gut feeling. They display the data in a way that is easy to read and understand.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

User Review: "New to Monetate but great so far!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Montetate is well suited for businesses big and small.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 31, 2017

Monetate Review: "Solid tool but problematic for those outside of ecommerce space"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a more simple website with a shopping cart and for a user who doesn't need a lot of services, this is a good tool. The user interface is intuitive and with some effort, someone can become pretty self-sufficient with the tool. The tool would be especially useful for those who are in the e-commerce space.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is great if you have a good idea of testing cases and your team is able to implement it, which can be challenging. It is also very helpful for Tech teams as a quick deployment / testing / bug fix tool. Monetate is as useful as your team gets involved with the idea of testing different interface elements in order to provide the best experience possible to your users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 26, 2017

Monetate Review: "Excellent at the basics, but very expensive."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Monetate is very good at many things, especially the basic A/B and multivariate testing. But there are still some issues with the more advanced features, like the 1-to-1 personalization. For the cost I expect it to be a more polished product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Easy to use for starting an A/B testing program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A/B testing topical changes to the website is very easy, however, it doesn't execute as well on slower internet connections. The analytics could be improved in terms of action tracking as well as selecting time frames for metric results, and sometimes changing the time frame change whether the test reaches significance, but it's not clear why that is the case when I have downloaded the raw data results.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - easy to use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Easy to understand the tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

Review: "Monetate will help you grow your business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Personalization, targeting, display promotion and A/B testing. Data sheets are easy to read.
Read this authenticated review
Parker Block profile photo
September 11, 2015

"Monetate Review from Director of E-Commerce"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A tool such as Monetate can impact the businesses most if it is able to leverage multiple sources of first and third party data. I would discuss in the evaluation process the best ways for integrating and leveraging those data sources in a way that is scalable. If your team does not yet have a culture of testing, it is worth discussing what organization is required to leverage the tool.
Read Parker Block's full review
Laura Santoki profile photo
September 01, 2015

Review: "Why we selected Monetate as our testing and targeting vendor."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are huge Monetate supporters. I feel like it's the best website testing solution available.
Read Laura Santoki's full review

About Monetate

Monetate is a leading personalization software for consumer-facing brands, used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers. It enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to work seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Videos (3)

Watch Personalization Today: Everyone loves ice cream, but not everyone loves chocolate. Stop giving your customers the same flavor. This video is great for an introduction on the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Introducing the Engine: It's not magic, but it feels a bit like science fiction. The Monetate Personalization Engine is your ticket to more ROI with less effort. Fabulous as a next touch once appetites have been whet with the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Why Do We Need Machine Learning: Your customers are a multiverse of unique characteristics. Don't get caught in the infinite vacuum of scaling to all of their needs. A great touch to get people understanding the advantage that comes from a machine learning approach. Excellent follow up to "Introducing the Engine".

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, SAP Hybris, Intershop Commerce Suite, Tealium AudienceStream, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, IBM WebSphere Commerce, NeuStar PageAdvisor

Monetate Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English