TrustRadius
Monetate is a website optimization and personalization product. The company offers a strong product tailored to the needs of e-commerce and retailers. Customers are mostly enterprise brands.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/EN/2t/7AALPRLAT012.JPEGVery powerful testing toolWe use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.,You can test virtually ANYTHING on your website. Once you know what you're doing, it is really easy to upload assets and really customize the details of your test. If you have multiple websites, you can keep all of your website tests separate - for example, we manage two separate brands, both which have 3 environments we can set up tests in: development, staging, and production environments. So, we can easily manage 6 separate test groups and store the various content in the proper section, very easily. The design is really clean and easy to navigate. It is easy to organize and filter your experiments, you can tag them to make filtering a lot easier (especially when you have a bunch of experiments running at the same time), and the simple function of duplicating an experiment makes minor changes to a grand experiment SO much quicker. The Monetate Inspector tool (I could be using the wrong word, sorry!) also allows you to far more easily identify the unique ID of an experiment so you can find it in Monetate and make any desired changes rather than sifting one by one through your various experiments trying to figure out which one you mean to edit.,The learning curve is a little steep, especially if you're unfamiliar with HTML/CSS. The tool is so powerful but can be overwhelming at first. The intro instructional videos/content is helpful but it doesn't cover everything. We needed to partner with an optimization company to better understand the tool and get started. Setting up an experiment for the first time isn't simple when you're a marketer who is inexperienced with any sort of web development or even just HTML/CSS. While you can easily select the area you want to create a test with, you don't have a way to easily manipulate that section without the use of HTML/CSS. The first optimization company Monetate recommended us to was horrible - it really was awful working with them. We had dedicated (paid for!) hours that got wasted after the company wasted our time in each meeting (when we did have one - they often needed to reschedule) and they barely knew what our company even did despite multiple meetings. Those hours, despite the awful experience, were never fulfilled, never reimbursed, never carried over to the new (and far better) company. This left a bad taste in my mouth. While I really like this product and it does everything we need, this awful experience and lack of ownership on their end was highly disappointing. We are moving forward though - and happy with our results.,9,We are really starting to understand our audience and what they prefer on our website. One example is on our product display pages, we learned that our visitors convert about 35% more when content is laid out in one fashion versus another. Another example is our promotional banners perform better when it takes up the width of the page versus the margins pulled in more. At first, Monetate was a negative ROI - we were paying for a service we weren't getting, and not understanding the full power of the program. With the new optimization firm however, we are now really able to churn out more tests, have a clean and direct test plan, and finally seeing tangible results. As an aside, Monetate has helped us just save time and money on creating our promotional banners now so we don't have to get with our development team each time we want to put one up. Even without running a test, it has let us add content to our site when we need to (as we already have the experiments set up as we need it to and we can quickly duplicate it) without our developers getting in there to make those short-lived changes.,10,10,10,10,10Great testing platformMonetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.,Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers. Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help. Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.,Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster. A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.,8,Monetate has shown us how our new site features have either helped customer experience or created a negative impact. One issue we've run into with Monetate is site speed. Too many tests or experiences going on at once will slow down the website noticeably. Monetate has made it faster and easier for us to launch our ideas without having to go through IT for changes.,8,9,9,9,9Game changer for Marketers.The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.,Display marketing messages Provide data A/B testing,Custom customer segments Training videos Suppport chat,10,Greater email capture for long term growth Higher margins on acquisition customer by not giving away the farm,10,5,7Early Impressed ImpressionsMonetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.,Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use. Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors. They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.,In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system. Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.) I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.,8,I have no hard numbers yet, as I noted. The impact has not yet been seen either way.,8,7,,,8We're new users but mostly happy with it so far.We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.,Easy to use interface. Seamless for the end user. SEO is not affected. Personalized site means greater retention and interest.,Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site. We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.,8,We have seen some engagement with our local workshop enrollment but can not measure because most orders are done by PO or phone for those. Not enough direct conversion experiences set up yet to tell if there is a positive impact at this point but it certainly won't hurt engagement!,8,5,4,
Unspecified
Monetate
96 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Monetate Reviews

Monetate
96 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 59 of 96 Monetate ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 59)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
September 12, 2018

Monetate Review: "Very powerful testing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.
Read this authenticated review
Nick Ashton profile photo
August 21, 2017

Monetate Review: "Game changer for Marketers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.
Read Nick Ashton's full review
Reid Mirre, CPM profile photo
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Early Impressed Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
Erik Ickes profile photo
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "We're new users but mostly happy with it so far."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - 4 Stars!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is being used by one department, the internet marketing department. We currently utilize the Open-time Email, Product Recs, and Onsite Content. With Monetate we are able to achieve a more personalized experience for visitors based on browsing behavior, purchase behavior, geo-targeting, weather forecast, etc. We are also able to target new vs. returning visitors, device type, and so many other options we haven't even explored yet. None of which we were able to do on our current platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

User Review: "Monetate is the best in the industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate for A/B testing, personalization, product recommendations, and for patching on our website. Monetate helps us to get to lift analysis for testing quicker, through standard A/B testing and optimization based on goal metrics. With short selling seasons, Monetate helps up to see results quicker which gets us to making decisions faster and implementing new technologies faster.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Very Solid Testing Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have several users in the Ecommerce department who use Monetate daily to address muliple areas of need. On the marketing side, the email modules gives us the flexibility to message customers differently based on their location and past interactions with our site. We update promotional messaging both on site and in emails (even after they have been received by customers) or include countdown timers to increase urgency. We test extensively using both A/B and majority fit testing. Where Montate has perhaps proved most valuable is a means of updating HTML on the fly without having to involve developers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

User Review: "The State of Monetate"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is being used for E-commerce [website] which could be considered just one department, but on the other hand is all it could be used for (our buyers or photographers certainly couldn't get anything out of it.) The primary problem it addresses for us is easy execution of A/B tests of changes to the website. It provides other tools such as analytics and recommendation carousels, but those are otherwise available as-good or better; its A/B testing is top-notch though.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great Platform & Easy to Use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use monetate in our ecommerce department. We have 2 main users who work hand in hand to improve our website and test different experiences and creative across our site. It addresses multiple business problems, from checkout to search, to product recommendations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "A Great Tool for Business Users When IT is Slow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We primarily use Monetate to A/B test experiences on our website and to implement HTML/CSS/image updates that we would need our development agency to do. It allows us to get changes to the website very quickly. We are also starting to use it for personalization purposes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 22, 2017

User Review: "Personalization with Monetate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate to personalize and test experiences for different customers. It is being used by our E-commerce department Monetate addresses the different behaviors we can expect from our customer database.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2017

Monetate Review: "Room for Improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used in the e-commerce department for the customer experience team. It addresses customer experience issues within our direct to consumer website.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 15, 2017

"Monetate Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is used by a marketing department, specifically by a web marketing team. We use Monetate to test our design strategies via its testing platform and by checking its live analytics and results from it. Depending on the result, we will then make a decision to permanently implement the design onto the site itself or to drop the idea if it fails.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

Monetate Review: "User friendly, flexible, marketing tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is being used across our Marketing department to enhance the customer experience. It is being used for targeting customers with specific promotion messaging, testing offers / creative / functionality, and lightbox messaging. It allows us to target specific customers with relevant messaging to optimize orders, traffic and revenue.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

Review: "Monetate has been a great UX resource for our team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate at my company to A/B test different experiences on our sites. Monetate allows us to back up our UX with data. Monetate proved most helpful while testing our checkout. We have multiple sites at my company, and we were able to use Monetate to flip the site tests on one by one.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

User Review: "New to Monetate but great so far!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use monetate for quick bug fixes as well as for A/B testing and their new intelligent delivery system. They are instrumental for helping us offer a personalized experience for our consumers as well as executing special promotions. It is currently only used by the e-commerce department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 31, 2017

Monetate Review: "Solid tool but problematic for those outside of ecommerce space"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is being used by the marketing department to test landing pages, e-commerce flows, introduce and test new experiences on our websites, and serve layer ads. Development resources are tight, so Monetate allows us to iterate on our current e-commerce and site experiences and only push those experiences through to development once they've proved valuable.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate mainly to customize user experiences, feature promotions and test different UX elements. Secondarily, it is extremely helpful as a quick deployment tool, circumventing the development process for quick fixes and adjustments. The tool is used by the Tech and Marketing teams, but we communicate possible visual changes to the website to other departments, such as Customer Services.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 26, 2017

Monetate Review: "Excellent at the basics, but very expensive."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate primarily to conduct A/B testing across several departments. It's incredibly useful in this regard as well as to make on-the-fly changes to our site that would otherwise require lots of time and additional expense.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

Monetate Review: "Easy to use for starting an A/B testing program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's used by one department to A/B test the website in order to optimize the customer experience and conversion rate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - easy to use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Marketing owns the relationship with monetate. Other teams like site merchandising and buying submit requests to Monetate to put up monetate banners on our site. It allows us add things in real time, geo-target, and personalize using customer data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

Review: "Monetate will help you grow your business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • Monetate is used across all our brands and through 3 digital devices (mobile, tablet, desktop).
  • The company uses Monetate every day. Through promotions, A/B Testing, and custom display by area.
  • Monetate helps the company grow with their use of personalization.
Read this authenticated review
Parker Block profile photo
September 11, 2015

"Monetate Review from Director of E-Commerce"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monetate is being used by the e-commerce teams for two sites which I manage. It enables us to improve conversion and average order value by testing creative and promotional messaging, target messaging to consumers based on behavior and demographic segment, and cross-sell merchandise. Monetate also enables the teams to make quick changes to the site and avoid the time consuming ordeal of submitting tickets to developers and waiting for response and resolution.
Read Parker Block's full review
Laura Santoki profile photo
September 01, 2015

Review: "Why we selected Monetate as our testing and targeting vendor."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Monetate for onsite testing and personalization - from very simple a/b content tests to very advanced functionality tests. Occasionally we use it to push content or features quickly when our IT group is backlogged. It is a very robust and yet simple tool for us.
Read Laura Santoki's full review

About Monetate

Monetate is a leading personalization software for consumer-facing brands, used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers. It enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to work seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Videos (3)

Watch Personalization Today: Everyone loves ice cream, but not everyone loves chocolate. Stop giving your customers the same flavor. This video is great for an introduction on the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Introducing the Engine: It's not magic, but it feels a bit like science fiction. The Monetate Personalization Engine is your ticket to more ROI with less effort. Fabulous as a next touch once appetites have been whet with the concept of 1-to-1 personalization.

Watch Why Do We Need Machine Learning: Your customers are a multiverse of unique characteristics. Don't get caught in the infinite vacuum of scaling to all of their needs. A great touch to get people understanding the advantage that comes from a machine learning approach. Excellent follow up to "Introducing the Engine".

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, SAP Hybris, Intershop Commerce Suite, Tealium AudienceStream, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, IBM WebSphere Commerce, NeuStar PageAdvisor

Monetate Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English