MongoDB Reviews

332 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 12, 2018
Jon Kern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

For my time and money, I would start off almost every project using MongoDB -- even if I knew it might not be the ultimate final DBMS.

Why? Because, in the early stages of product development, I am rapidly iterating on the domain, and other parts of the app. Sometimes changing my mind on major pieces of the architecture as we prototype early solutions.

MongoDB works as freely and as quickly as I do. SQL databases do not. They get in the way, slow me down, tick me off.

However, not all apps are well-suited for NOSQL. So if there are performance needs or other reasons that may point to SQL, then at some point I migrate.

Controversial, I can imagine. But I could explain it over a beer. Or three.
Read Jon Kern's full review
February 13, 2018
Fernando Malave | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

Performance: MongoDB offers great performance when inserting data much greater than other traditional database systems. However, this advantage involves sacrificing characteristics of relational database systems such as the processing of transactions.

Replication: MongoDB supports the type of master-slave replication. This replication system is simple to understand.

Storage: MongoDB can be used with a file system, taking advantage of the capacity that MongoDB has for load balancing and data replication using multiple servers for file storage.
Read Fernando Malave's full review
February 09, 2018
Sonaj Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

Its file system, indexing to improve search and optimaizatio.i liked its BSON features because of all binary-encoded serialization. its create internally index and map document properties. BSON format is a use of the _id field as pk. it also supports ad-hoc queries by indexing and using a unique query language. It is schema-less as I mention in pros option.
Read Sonaj Gupta's full review
January 30, 2018
Daniele Graziani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB Stitch has revolutionized our stack. We can now incorporate so many backend features directly into Stitch that it has been a real pleasure working with the technology. We still use Node.js, but Stitch really reduces development effort.

Change Streams and $jsonSchema are welcome additions. Before, we used to tail the oplog and use the validator introduced in 3.2. Now we have better solutions. Thanks MongoDB!
Read Daniele Graziani's full review
June 07, 2017
Jeff Sherard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB's support, documentation, education, monitoring and backup capabilities are outstanding. MongoDB has invested heavily in 'operations' and built in the capabilities up front; unlike some other NoSQL databases - where you have to write your own utilities and search google extensively just to keep them running.
Read Jeff Sherard's full review
September 12, 2017
Michael Höller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

I love the stability and ease of setting up. In an previous project we ran a replica set in a mini IoT device for the automotive industry. There is not complete self healing, but in this environment we have not had one outage in three months of constant usage in a test car.
Read Michael Höller's full review
September 21, 2017
Apnesh Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

It is very flexible, attractive and appropriate to our market. MongoDB has the best features of key/ values stores, document databases and relational databases in one. It is schema-less helps with faster turnaround in development.

Please add a trigger function to future versions, which will make the product more powerful in the database market.
Read Apnesh Sharma's full review
May 18, 2017
Eddy Wong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

Mongo is document oriented, meaning that it's easy to store entities that contain other entities and makes the retrieval of such entities a breeze. This solves 85% of the problems that you face when creating a run of the mill website.

Mongo is super easy to get started with. You can install it, cut and paste JSON data, query it and instantly you are productive.
Read Eddy Wong's full review
May 11, 2017
Niraj Adhikary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

Open source development - please keep it up. In today's world, we need more products like this. This is a great example after Java and MySQL. Share more things with the community because they are the true leaders in the development world. We cannot hide code from hackers by any means, so rather make it open and take the advantage of the community.
Read Niraj Adhikary's full review
August 02, 2017
Adrián Rivelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

I think there are no miracles technically speaking, I mean, the advantage of the horizontal scale out is probably related with the disadvantage of there being no joins and transactions. We couldn't get one without the other. I really like (and use) javascript as program language, I think it helps solve complex situations. TTL indexes help a lot to automatically remove oldest documents. I think one important weakness is on mmapv1 storage engine with a lot of movements of data (inserts and delete), this storage engine take some space on disc on insert and don't release on delete. Some times it needs a lot of maintenance effort.
Read Adrián Rivelli's full review
February 09, 2017
Arnold Daniels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB has a great community as well as professional support. You typically are not left hanging. The integration for different programming languages is great. Creating client libraries is typically not left to the community, but implemented by MongoDB them selves. Querying using JSON feels more logical to novice users than things like SQL queries or map-reduce.
Read Arnold Daniels's full review
May 03, 2016
Tom Maiaroto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB's aggregation framework and map/reduce features have been particularly effective in solving many analytics and reporting needs without having to resort to more sophisticated tools. This ultimately saves people a lot of time and money when compared to implementing more complex map/reduce solutions like Hadoop.

Of course this will depend on how much data is processed and how it is organized, but it does a great job with many common use cases which would typically lead one to a more expensive solution.

Custom functions can be created within MongoDB for use with map/reduce jobs as well. So there's a great deal of flexibility.

Even if a user knows they will ultimately seek out other solutions down the line, MongoDB can help prototype solutions and create MVPs.
Read Tom Maiaroto's full review
April 05, 2016
Joshua Austill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

The main strength of MongoDB to me is the lack of a schema and the ability to map to objects via serialization. These have made development go very quickly and smoothly so far for me. I don't have much to say about ineffective aspects, so far it has worked very well for me as long as I follow the principles it was designed around.
Read Joshua Austill's full review
March 23, 2016
Michael Grayson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

JSON Support is very effective and has allowed for developer productivity to be greatly increased.

Operations are another very effective part of MongoDB, the simple operations process allows it to be integrated in to your current processes quite easily and without hassle.

MongoDB Training is another very effective part of MongoDB. The free online training and the consultant led in-house classes are very in depth and can bring someone up to speed very quickly on MongoDB.

Read Michael Grayson's full review
June 03, 2016
Amitendu Panja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB seems good for storing transactions like middleware transactions. All related data can be stored under a single structure hence can improve read performance. Due to limited experience in MongoDB, this would be feedback from our implementations. It provides useful for a small tool to handle data such as JSON objects. It was the ideal choice as Mongo stores data in the same form as JSON e.g. key value pairs hence no additional processing is required to store or retrieve the data. It is rendered when trying to compare to different messages. Relational databases store meta-data of the columns of a table but since it's schema less we can't find out what kind data is stored with out parsing the data in MongoDB.
Read Amitendu Panja's full review
May 26, 2016
Fareed Abolhassani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

One of the strengths of MongoDB is being schema-less. Basically if you currently have a flexible schema and need a way to support it, MongoDB is a decent pick for it since it can support document storage. It also allows you to model data and easily cope with changes without having any headaches.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
April 20, 2016
Kamesh Ganesan, FLMI, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

1. Sharding and Load-Balancing
2. Speed - MongoDB queries are much faster especially since the data is typically all in once place and can be retrieved in a single lookup.
3. Flexibility of schema design and it doesn't require a unified data structure across all objects, so when it is not possible to ensure that the data will all be structured consistently
Read Kamesh Ganesan, FLMI, PMP's full review
March 29, 2016
Dror Asaf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

The encryption feature provided by MongoDB allows encryption of on premise deployment with ease, without any fears regarding the content of the database.

Another excellent feature is the on premise operation manager in order to monitor and diagnose issues that occur during production on the customer premise.
Read Dror Asaf's full review
December 08, 2015
Rekha Joshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

It provides web scale performance and works great for most part, and is top document NoSQL store. The availability is a concern as it is kind of master-slave with primary/secondary and leader election. The writes performance/batch was a worry with journaling and the performance hit. Some of the workload performance could be improved.
Read Rekha Joshi's full review
September 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB is incredibly effective at scaling, both horizontally and vertically. It is truly able to handle large amounts of data efficiently and easily.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

MongoDB is great if you don't know what kind of data you are shoving into it. But, this lends itself to bad design practices by developers. If you need to have irrational data, or just need to insert any data you get and worry about it later, MongoDB is great.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Standout Features of MongoDB

It is schemaless which has proved out to be most effective when it comes to the storage metadata of products like on an online product selling vendor. It's free to use. We have to pay for the use of other databases.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (29)
9.3
Availability (29)
9.0
Concurrency (29)
8.6
Security (29)
8.2
Scalability (29)
9.3
Data model flexibility (29)
9.2
Deployment model flexibility (29)
9.2

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format BSON), making the integration of data in certain types of applications easier and faster.

According to the vendor, organizations from cutting-edge startups to the largest companies use MongoDB to create applications never before possible at a fraction of the cost of legacy databases. The vendor says MongoDB is the fastest-growing database ecosystem, with over 10 million downloads, thousands of customers, and over 1,000 technology and service partners.

MongoDB Features

Has featureComprehensive monitoring for full-performance visibility
Has featureAutomated database management for 10-20x more efficient ops
Has featureFully-managed backup for your peace of mind

MongoDB Screenshots

MongoDB Video

Visit https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK_m2976Yvbx-TyDLw7n1WA to watch MongoDB video.

MongoDB Integrations

MongoDB Competitors

Couchbase, Apache Cassandra, Oracle Database (legacy)

MongoDB Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MongoDB Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MongoDB's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance and Scalability highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses MongoDB?

The most common users of MongoDB are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.