Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 57)

Christine Noonan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Namely - Customize-able and Awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is currently used as our HR system for all employees. Employees use Namely to view their historical pay data (including bonuses). Managers and executives use the personnel data in Namely to run reports. Before Namely, we weren't able to keep all of our employees (since the beginning of The Motley Fool) under one system. Now we can run reports and gather data since our company was founded. We also use Namely Payroll for two of our entities. The pay stubs are much easier to read than our old system and payroll itself is much easier to process.
  • Namely can be customized very easily. We are able to track any data point that we would like and report on it.
  • I love how as an admin, I'm able to log in as other employees and make sure they have access to the right data. I can also create reports for employees that they will always have access to and can run whenever they need to.
  • Namely also looks pretty. The site looks clean. It's easy to navigate. Employees enjoy logging in and utilizing Namely.
  • Currently, we are only able to enter three earnings codes in Namely payroll. We've discussed this with Namely and it is on their list of items to fix in the future.
  • We would like to be able to change a few of the hard coded items on the main page of Namely. For example, we would want to change "Anniversaries" to "Fooliversaries."
  • I'd love to see access to paystubs be part of the mobile app.
Namely is always a great option because Namely is so customizable. We've been able to customize the HR portal to capture the exact data we need (besides the standard fields) such as allergies, license plate information, and past employee information. We've customized pay stubs to better explain deductions. We've customized the benefits portal to have the exact language we need, for each benefit. We've customized the onboarding tool so that it just takes one click and a few pieces of information to start the onboarding process for employees in other states and other countries. Namely is perfect for the HR team that wants to play a more active role in their data management.
Read Christine Noonan's full review
Santiago Carrillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2018

Namely is doing things right!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely as an HRIS, Payroll Company and Benefits Administrator. It is used across the company as all employees access it for their onboarding, HR information, performance reviews, PTO requests and so forth. Namely helps small to medium sized companies provide a great experience and journey to employees.
  • Ease-of-use thanks to well developed software
  • Digital onboarding that works
  • Performance reviews that work
  • Payroll and HRIS integration is a work in progress
I can't think of a scenario where Namely would not provide a useful set of tools to handle employee related processes.
Read Santiago Carrillo's full review
Jennifer Adams, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, CCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

Great All-in-One HR Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely to complete all payroll, benefits administration, and workforce management analysis. It is primarily managed by the HR Team, but we have fully implemented it across the organization for employee and manager self-service. We have been able to increase our transparency via the communication tools and employees now have access to their own data.
  • Easy to use payroll process. You don't have to be a payroll expert to run a successful payroll.
  • One of the best benefits administration systems I've come across. Provides transparency of cost for the employee and the employer.
  • The news feed is great for sharing across the organization what is going on.
  • They need to enhance their time off system. It is very simplistic in nature. If you don't have a tier based time off rewards system you should be fine, otherwise you will run into challenges.
  • There is some dual keying between the HCM and Payroll products. There is a plan to integrate this, but for now it does open you up for errors.
Namely is a great solution for flexible organizations that are small to mid-sized. This is not a traditional HR system, so the team in charge would need to be comfortable with creativity and different ways to use the product.
Read Jennifer Adams, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, CCP's full review
Tiffany Bennett, Ph.D. | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

All-in-one HRIS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our entire organization - it helps consolidate all of our HR/payroll/benefits for employees.
  • Their interface is top notch - no disjointed modules.
  • They're constantly improving - we get a quarterly update on new features and they listen to feedback (and they're pretty good to start!)
  • Customer service is top notch - if we run into an issue - my problem is always solved in a timely manner.
  • The performance management module is great (and has lots of options for customization) - but the interface for setting it up could improve (still - very usable).
I think Namely is perfect for smaller businesses (under 100). I can't speak to larger organizations - but we've had so many fewer issues with payroll and benefits since switching to them (and we were with a large provider previously).
Read Tiffany Bennett, Ph.D.'s full review
Colleen Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2017

Line up your People Tech problems and Namely will mow them down.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely for both our for-profit and non-profit organizations. From the beginning, Namely erased most of our organizational "pain points". After just two years, we use Namely as our go-to people forum. We share news, goals, events. We pay our people. We have a window into our company strategy and operating plan because Namely makes it easy for us to share our vision, mission, values and strategies with our employees. Namely has become our single version of truth for employees.
  • Company, team and individual goals with measurable details can be shared, tracked, measured and celebrated - with ease.
  • Performance reviews, recognition, celebrating wins, remembering key employee events - Namely makes it so easy.
  • The news feed, photo org charts, customizable fields for things like allergies, commuting preferences, food preferences, etc., makes it easy for us to personalize events, treats and gifts.
  • CUSTOMER. SERVICE. Well-kept secret.
  • CEO is deeply committed to the small to mid-sized company experience. And he's an innovator.
  • Constantly improving and evolving the product features based on what we users suggest. Serious commitment to fixing what's wrong with tired providers like ADP.
  • Weird as it seems, their invoices are confusing. Head scratcher.
  • Wish we could get all of the product features we know are coming today.
Namely quickly becomes your go-to place for all communication. It's easy to use, easy to find, and easy to make a contribution. If you've been struggling with a dinosaur for payroll, benefits, and HRIS, you will LOVE Namely! It's simple, fresh, well-supported, progressive and communicative. If your employees would rather be moving your business forward than figuring out how to do the most mundane management tasks, Namely is for you.
Read Colleen Clark's full review
Cayleigh Doyle | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2017

Namely is an awesome HRIS and employee engagement platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Namely as our HRIS, Payroll, Performance Management, Time and Attendance and Benefits Administration across our entire USA company. We had no HRIS system and were unhappy with our benefits administration system at the time. Now with Namely, all of our people operations are in one system. It makes it easy as employers and it is easy for the employees to have access to the information they need. We chose Namely because we liked the easy to use look and feel, our onboarding process is much more automated and our benefits enrollment is now automated with our payroll and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • Customer Service
  • Continuous improvement and development into the software
  • Easy to use on both employer and employee side
  • Customization - with profile fields, workflows, etc.
  • Onboarding - kick of tasks lists to different employees when a new hire is added
  • Integration with background check vendors
  • Integration with applicant tracking system
Namely is a great tool. We like that it fits our culture as a company!
Read Cayleigh Doyle's full review
Asha Mungara, JD, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2017

Robust Integrated Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees use Namely to access their paystubs and tax information, benefits enrollment and information, find company news and announcements, update their personal information, request PTO, etc. Managers use Namely to request raises, change departments, titles, etc., as well as find HR forms and track, approve and deny PTO requests for their team, etc.
  • PTO Tracking - the app and website make it simple for employees to request PTO and for managers to approve and track their team's vacation time.
  • Reporting - every field in Namely is reportable - which is great. We're able to track which techs have certification, for example.
  • Newsfeed - when you're close to 400 people across ten locations - it's great to have a "virtual" headquarters for all your employees to share and view information.
  • Onboarding - I wish that they would incorporate offer letters and that task lists were kicked off automatically after an employee was onboarded. I also wish background checks were fully integrated within Namely.
  • Benefits view - currently employees can view their benefits in a separate section within Namely - but it would be nice if it was in their profile. I also wish the app would autopopulate their member ID numbers and group numbers so they would always have the information on the phone.
Quite bluntly, there isn't a more robust solution out there for the price for mid-size businesses. There are some good solutions for companies that don't need a custom HRIS but Namely is really built for companies that will scale up.
Read Asha Mungara, JD, PHR's full review
Matthew P Rausch | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

Great price, great support team.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used across the entire organization for PTO management, performance reviews, "shout outs", light organizational development, viewing paystubs and W-2s (we use Namely payroll as well), headcount and salary reporting, the onboarding add-on, benefits portal, and API integrations to internal reporting categorized by billable/non-billable and salaried/nonexempt folks on our teams.
  • The onboarding piece is probably the strongest. Our new hires are able to enter their HRIS framework profile data, as well as read and sign electronically for our handbook, COBRA statement, NDA, and security/privacy policies.
  • Easy to look at...we've used some products in the past that didn't have a good user experience, which leads to non-usage for my technically proficient team.
  • The shout-outs on the main page are great, as folks can clearly see anniversaries and birthdays and comment accordingly.
  • The integration from Namely HR to Namely Payroll is lacking. There is no PTO nor salary update feeds between the products.
  • The reviews aren't intuitive for usage for peers and managers. It would be easier if there were clear links for these employees to click as opposed to looking for the appropriate screen to provide feedback.
  • The API isn't the easiest to use, and there are some components lacking that require development.
Namely is an affordable HRIS and payroll system (we use both). The integrations may be lacking, but to have two different brands for these products would add only more difficulties into the mix. Folks can clearly see their paystub links on the main page, which then takes them to a different screen for paystub and W-2 viewing. The 1095 and 1094 programs are very helpful to use (not cheap, though), and the support team guides you through them at all hours of the day or night to make sure they are timely. I really appreciate that. The onboarding feature is our favorite right now, as it eliminates 30-40 pages of paper for each person we bring on board meltmedia.
Read Matthew P Rausch's full review
Asher Primrose | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2017

Excellent HRIS and Performance Management Tools for small to mid-sized companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used as our HRIS and performance management system across the organization.
  • Easy to set up
  • Intuitive navigation
  • User-friendly
  • Highly configurable
  • I'd like to see reported issues addressed more quickly.
I think Namely is well suited for companies that [have] 10-500 [employees].
Read Asher Primrose's full review
Mary Lanier-Evans, PHR, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2017

Why Namely?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Namely as our HR system for our global organization and the payroll system for our US based employees. Namely encourages employees to engage with each other by providing a social aspect to the homepage, similar to LinkedIn or Facebook. As a global organization, this allows employees to congratulate peers for anniversaries, birthdays or to welcome a new hire. We also utilize the benefit administration piece of Namely and feedback from our employees was that it was the easiest enrollment they ever completed.
  • Employee engagement
  • Benefit enrollment
  • Onboarding
  • No integrated applicant tracking system
  • Direct deposit and tax information is not employee self-service driven
Namely is a system designed for small to mid-size organizations currently. As they continue to increase functionality, the system will work for most size organizations.
Read Mary Lanier-Evans, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Ashley Crill, M.S. | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2017

Namely is a great HRIS and engagement platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used throughout our company. It allows employees to have access to what they need through the mobile app and helps with engagement and communication across the company. The company news feed is also a great way for employees to recognize their peers who are going above and beyond.
  • Customization: You can customize profile feeds, workflows, and forms to fit your company's specific needs.
  • Easy to use: Very user friendly, not difficult for the administrators to figure out. Intuitive.
  • More integrations with background check vendors, Everify.
  • Better integration with PTO and Payroll (PTO should flow over and not have to manually be entered).
We love Namely! We aren't a corporate company so the customization allows us to tailor the system to our unique culture.
Read Ashley Crill, M.S.'s full review
Shane Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2016

Namely the NEW POWERHOUSE on the block...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Namely for our entire organization. We are using both the HRIS and payroll function. We are in the process of implementing the benefit administration feature. We have been able to get away from the traditional time clocks and use Namely at each employees workstation to clock in and out. We are also 100% digital with performance evaluations. Our employees love the look and feel of Namely. The platform is very user friendly and easy to navigate.
  • I love being able to add profile fields to create custom reports. This is a very powerful function that allows me to produce top notch reports for our board of directors.
  • Workflows allowed us to do away with several paper processes and turn them into a streamlined automated process. (i.e. address updates, etc...)
  • Employees like being able to access their profile and pay stubs from home. Employees may also request time off from home.
  • The electronic on-boarding makes life easy.
  • Namely could add a function for alerts when licenses or certificates are about to expire.
  • I would like to see a partnership with an online learning management system.
  • I would like to see a file system similar to Microsoft's OneDrive.
  • A place for online collaboration like SharePoint would be great.
  • Streamline the Time Off to be a two way conversation between payroll and HR
One of the items that sold us on Namely was being able to customize fields and reports. The reporting feature in Namely is outstanding. The customer service is superb. The easiest thing to do is request a demo and then compare Namely to others and see who is more flexible in meeting your needs. Namely won out for us. Namely is not the next big thing, Namely is the BIG THING!!!
Read Shane Miller's full review
Mike Cilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2016

Namely has made HR Tech accessible and FUN!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Namely has made HR Tech accessible and FUN!


My favorite feature of Namely is easily the design and functionality. The "social-media...esque" feel of Namely makes it very easy to use, and our people (who are primarily Millennials) engage with it. We use several different applications on a daily basis, so having yet another tech tool for HR meant that we wanted to make it as friendly and accessible as possible for our team. Companies spend so much on technology that never gets used, and Namely combats this perfectly with its smooth UI/UX. Finally, it's also very powerful, i.e., meaning that it doesn't lose functionality nor reporting capabilities due to it's ease of use. Namely to HR is akin to Tesla to Automotive!


Our company has grown substantially in the last year, and we wanted to set up a solid HRIS foundation to support future growth. Namely has allowed us to keep all HR data centralized and secure, while also automating our performance review cycle. Namely truly supports my role as an HR Department of ONE! So I might be pretty biased ;)

  • Namely provides an easy-to-use platform for HRIS that increases engagement for users. They totally understand what I believe many people feel is frustrating about enterprise-level HRIS/HRM systems, and completely combat those aspects.
  • Namely balances the soft and beautiful UI with very robust and powerful reporting and functionality. If you need to run any report, you can customize to extreme levels of detail.
  • Namely integrates all tactical HR processes in one platform! They have a solid payroll bureau, benefits admin, and a performance management tool that allows features and benefits which are typically only found in stand-alone solutions.
  • Finally, Namely has insanely great customer service! A very Zappos-esque approach to service delivery, all the way from initial pre-sales to implementation, to daily use and maintenance.
  • Honestly, I don't have any feedback regarding problems with Namely. Implementation is a big project with any SaaS, so it was still tough with Namely, however the Client Service Delivery team was AMAZING!!!!! Namely's customer service is like Zappos - I can just email my Account Manager on the fly and ask any number of questions, and he gets back to me almost immediately without fail.
In my opinion, Namely destroys the market for HRIS in SMB - however I think there are scenarios where they are also in a position to replace enterprise-level solutions, especially in situations where an organization has separate (and sometimes disparate) platforms for performance management, payroll and time keeping, and benefits admin.
Read Mike Cilla's full review
Catherine Soto | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2017

All HR and Staffing Firms need this....

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Namely for our internal employees. We have multiple branches nationwide and it is a wonderful tool for communication. It not only assists with time keeping, org charts, etc. It eliminates the number of emails HR may receive regarding benefits, time off requests, the amount of time still remaining, etc. It is very user-friendly and easy to navigate.
  • Excellent tool for professionals to communicate with an organization.
  • User-friendly.
  • The design and look of the application is very eye-catching.
  • Time.
  • It would be helpful to see on a monthly calendar what days your team has requested days off to avoid any further request issues.
I like being able to see in a snapshot of everyone's anniversaries, birthdays, etc. I also like being able to congratulate someone on some exciting news that may not be in my office. I really like the layout and the convenience of being able to see an org chart and being able to connect with my co-workers outside of email. I also enjoy being able to post pictures and being able to see the fun festivities in other branches.
Read Catherine Soto's full review
Brittney Braganza | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2016

All in one and one for all!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Namely for its HR functions and benefit piece. It's a great tool that everyone can use and benefit from.
  • Work flows can be implemented within Namely. This helps keep the approval process smooth and minimizes back and forth emailing.
  • Performance reviews range from self assessments, peer and 360. It's great having different options when it comes to performance reviews and the functionality is easy to use.
  • Namely's customer service is certainly one of their best attributes. They are always there to help and guide you. If there is something you need, want or have trouble with, they are on it!
  • Their benefit wizard has really saved us a lot of time and energy. Colleagues love it too because it's easy to use and beats doing all the paperwork!
  • Roles and Permissions are not very intuitive and can be difficult to understand when trying to set up.
  • The organizational chart doesn't clearly map out the entire company in a way that makes it easy to read and understand (not visually appealing).
  • It would be nice for them to increase the functionality of reporting and data tracking.
Namely is great because it is scalable. No matter how large or small your company is, Namely can be the HRIS for you!
Read Brittney Braganza's full review
Ariel Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2016

Absolutely Love Namely!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The appeal to switching to Namely for our company was that it housed everything we needed on its platform that we had previously been using spreadsheets, Google Sheets, apps and calendars for. With Namely it is easily accessible and very easy to use.
  • Namely is incredibly easy to use, it's very intuitive, and has a great interface.
  • Paperless onboarding!
  • The support team has been wonderful and is very responsive to any questions or issues that may arise.
  • Would love for them to offer 401K brokerage.
  • Would like to see some case studies for how other companies have done certain configurations to the platform. This may be something that will come with time.
Namely is a great HR solution that helps with team engagement. If your company is needing a way to house goaling, time off, payroll, benefits and onboarding in one place, this is the way to go! It is also easy and fun to use, and having easy access with the Namely app makes it even more convenient.
Read Ariel Lopez's full review
Lauren Lippello | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2016

Modern HR Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows companies of all sizes to use one HR system that integrates HR data management, payroll processing, and benefits seamlessly and without having to log in to multiple software platforms. Namely has been an amazing tool that our executives, managers, and employees alike, feel comfortable using and it allows them to be engaged with employees across the organization. This software has elevated our business, we went from a fully manual system to complete automation in a very short amount of time. The product continues to develop, so the possibilities for improvement to our processes are endless!
  • Extremely high level of professionalism and standards in customer support and service.
  • Namely uses customer insights to improve their product and they take suggestions seriously.
  • Seamless integration of all HR systems in one platform.
  • Increase functionality of reporting.
  • Change how to review access roles and make security parameters more clear.
  • Increase mobility of the company organizational chart.
I think that Namely was built to be used by companies of all sizes and industries, the platform is customizable to fit your organization's needs and it allows you to select what modules you want to implement. We started with just HR management and realized that implementing the Payroll module would add a ton of benefit to our employees and it would make it easier for our HR professionals.
Read Lauren Lippello's full review
Kevin Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2016

Great Product. Could Use More Focus on Implementation.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Namely for HR and payroll purposes. We were looking for a solution that would standardize our HR processes, do away with the manual nature in which we have worked in the past and also move away from ADP for payroll purposes. We have been happy with the system thus far.
  • Managing PTO and time off.
  • Performance reviews and goals setting.
  • Managing employee information.
  • More functional events calendar.
  • Improvements to implementation process.
I think Namely is the perfect solution for a smaller company like us.
Read Kevin Johnson's full review
Erin Carr | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2016

Namely Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used as our HRIS. It is easy to find everything and log information for employees, like salary, birthday, start date, etc. It helps us store information electronically rather than manually. Namely is used organization wide, and was really easy to implement. There were a few kinks with the payroll aspect, but our representative from Namely helped us smooth those out quickly.
  • Payroll
  • Time off calendar
  • Organization
  • Create a social events calendar
  • easier way to create annual reviews. there are two ways and one is kind of confusing to use and the other one is too simplistic- they have helped me try to use the more difficult one, but i have yet to test it out.
Read Erin Carr's full review
Cara Hoover | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2016

The revolutionized HR process!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used in our organization to log our employee's paid time off, store employee documents, employee payroll processing, and employee performance reviews. We use Namely across our entire organization; we use it primary to house all of our Human Resource data and we have replaced our manual paper processes and made them electronic through Namely's platform.
  • Paid time off tracking in Namely has been a huge benefit to our company. We are now able to request and approve our time off days, as well as see how many time off days we have available, all in an easy-to-use portal.
  • Namely's performance reviews have made employee reviews very easy and efficient. We use a peer review version where the employee and manager both answer questions and then review each other's answers at the end.
  • Namely does a good job of displaying employee information. When new employees are hired, they are able to click through Namely and view detailed descriptions of each current employee with profile pictures to become more familiar with the company.
  • Customer Support at Namely is outstanding. Our account manager is very helpful and available to answer any questions quickly and thoroughly. Any time we have an issue, our account manager answers in record time and guides us through the resolution process.
  • Organization chart [that is] easier to maintain and a better visual.
  • Implement a social events calendar.
Namely is great tool for any company in need of a structured and fun HR experience. Namely is very easy to implement and navigate. Customer support at Namely is supreme; as an employer you are capable of having a trustworthy partner who's willing to help at all times. Namely revolutionized the way we onboard employees from a long manual process to a fast automated procedure!
Read Cara Hoover's full review
Laura Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2015

NamelyHR - what a lifesaver!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used company wide for the Core HRIS, payroll and benefits management.

Prior to using Namely, we had ZERO automation in the HR part of our business. Now that we've implemented the tool, so many of the things that I used to handle manually are now flowing automatically through the system and I don't even have to think about them. We also had no way of exposing to our employees things as simple as their benefits elections and PTO balances. I get so fewer questions now, because they can get it all themselves.
  • Employee changes workflow engine allows employees to make changes on their own and they flow directly to payroll. This removes all manual work from HR's perspective.
  • Benefits open enrollment process is all automated and updated elections flow directly to payroll. Such a timesaver at the end of the year!
  • PTO tracking is easy to use by employees, their managers, and HR.
  • The one piece of the onboarding process that could be automated (right now it's manual in Namely) is the tax forms for new employees and their direct deposit information. Those still have to be completed on paper and submitted manually.
  • The home feed could be a little more interactive, like being able to tag employees in posts, having emails sent to employees when someone's replied to a post, etc etc.
I think Namely is a great fit for many different types of companies looking to automate their HR, payroll, benefits, performance and goal management processes. The only thing I would suggest is to inquire about the reporting that your company requires to see if Namely can support that. There may also be some complexities in your payroll processing that you would want to make sure that Namely can support.
Read Laura Patterson's full review
Laura Leatherman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2016

All-In-One Solution! No more running around

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Namely to streamline our on-boarding process. When I first started we had 20 employees, so manual forms, Google docs and lists weren't a big deal. By the time we finally decided to purchase Namely, we were 60-70 employees and the Google docs had become completely unmanageable. Important details were getting lost and it was impossible to continue to track. We started with only Namely's HRIS to manage on-boarding and have since expanded to use Benefits Administration and Payroll services. We are also working on getting the performance management piece up and running.
  • Employee Feed - love this so everyone can stay up to date on everything.
  • Time Off - We used to have time off requests sent to managers via Google calendar. It got a little crazy when trying to look at the managers' calendars because they became littered with "OOO" events that they weren't actually attending! Namely has also made it much easier to track time off instead of trying to estimate/email and see how much time had been taken.
  • On-boarding - LOVE on-boarding. This makes it so much better for employees to input all of their information in one place and not have to worry about downloading attachments and scanning/emailing it back. Namely also is more secure than the email chains with important personal data.
  • E-signatures - We used to have a hard time getting new hires to fill out forms (chasing them down) and then having to manually scan them in and add them to profiles. Now, it is all done through the on-boarding template and it is great!
  • Offer Letter E-Signature - There is no way to have offer letters done through Namely and e-signed. (Although, we are SUPER HAPPY they added the ability to e-sign tax forms such as the I-9 and W-4!)
  • Roles & Permissions: the interface for roles and permissions isn't especially user friendly. Although, it can be figured out, I wish it were simpler to use and understand. I have had to email support multiple times to figure out the exact configuration to allow what I need.
  • There isn't the best integration with Namely Payroll and HRIS. There is still a bit of manual work for the payroll administrator. I hope they will make this connection a bit more seamless to eliminate even more manual entry.
It is especially well suited if you are looking for an all in one solution. We have transferred all of our services (benefits administration, brokerage, payroll, and HRIS) to Namely and are very pleased with having one system central to it all. This has been great in helping us create a more seamless on-boarding process as well as helping employees lives after a hire to change information, check pay stubs, etc...

Read Laura Leatherman's full review
Delia Muresan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2015

Just getting started

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely was just introduced in our company and we are in the testing and customizing phase.

The first reaction to Namely was: wow, the tool is very visual! and there are various features which you can use in your organization like: setting up the org chart, a very visual performance management, customized workflows. I am keen to going live with Namely as it will get people in an HR tool which looks familiar and suitable for the generation we currently have in our office: the Millennials.

One more tip: Namely backstage is very cool!!! It is very engaging!
  • Org chart: - visual, easy to maintain and update
  • Performance management: - you can define it in the best way it suits your organization
  • Could introduce a concept of gamification - just like Namely Backstage which is so cool!
Suitable for companies where the age average is around 30 years.
Read Delia Muresan's full review
Heather Neisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2015

Great, modern software that is a game changer for HR

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Namely. We implemented it to replace a number of smaller softwares we were using. For us, the business problem we are solving is time savings for all aspects of HR. Payroll admin, PTO, performance reviews, historical information on employees, reporting (insane reporting!) and soon-to-be benefits. It's all right there. It's also evident that the company is on the up-swing - incredible growth, a new round of funding, and innovative marketing and communication.

  • Namely has found a way to integrate a number of key resources for employees into a format that is great for a small-and-growing company. While large enterprise software offers all the bells and whistles, that's not what every company needs.
  • Namely's high-touch client success team is also a huge asset, especially when handling payroll.
  • The only thing I could say as a con or a dislike is that they haven't built an ATS and a learning portal! I know, I know they're just getting started. Seriously hard to find anything that I dislike about this great software.
This software is amazing for a small to mid-size business. It is perfect as we scale and grow our business. I could see how there would be limitations for an enterprise business. Data integration, support team, and ongoing support rank high on my list of things to look for and Namely hit them all.
Read Heather Neisen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2018

Namely, not a bad HRIS

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used as our HRIS. It is replacing paycheck records and keeping all our employee information in one place.
  • Easy to request PTO
  • Allows you to see your benefits and deductions in one place
  • Platform attempts to be a Facebook for work but fails. No one uses Namely, only if they need to request PTO.
  • It's not a must have, simply an HRIS system that does the basic things ADP does. But I was not really impressed, it seems like ADP, but they just changed the colors and added a homepage.
  • Does not have anything special or like "Wow." Does not have any extra capabilities or features then any other HRIS platform.
I like the overview of all your benefits in one place. Simple to see your deductions.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (49)
6.4
Employment history (56)
6.7
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (53)
6.1
Organizational charting (54)
6.1
Organization and location management (51)
6.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (26)
3.3
Pay calculation (44)
5.7
Support for external payroll vendors (19)
4.2
Benefit plan administration (43)
6.9
Direct deposit files (47)
7.2
Salary revision and increment management (40)
6.9
Reimbursement management (21)
5.2
Approval workflow (50)
7.4
Balance details (46)
6.9
Annual carry-forward and encashment (38)
7.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (53)
7.3
Update personal information (56)
7.2
View company policy documentation (50)
7.3
Employee recognition (43)
7.3
View job history (53)
7.4
Tracking of all physical assets (26)
5.5
Report builder (42)
4.5
Pre-built reports (42)
4.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (26)
2.6
New hire portal (39)
5.9
Manager tracking tools (32)
5.9
Corporate goal setting (36)
4.3
Individual goal setting (37)
4.3
Line-of sight-visibility (26)
2.7
Performance tracking (36)
3.7
Performance plans (40)
5.6
Performance improvement plans (27)
4.5
Review status tracking (41)
4.7
Review reminders (41)
5.3
Multiple review frequency (34)
4.4
Candidate search (7)
5.4

About Namely

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Does not have featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Does not have featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Does not have featurePublish to Social Media
Does not have featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Does not have featureApplicant Tracking
Does not have featureNotifications and Alerts

Namely Screenshots

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English