NetBase Reviews

141 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 110)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Real-time monitoring benefits your company and your clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real-time monitoring of unique issue insights
  • The comprehensive pull of social media conversations
  • The product is very traditional and could be more user-friendly.
  • Ease of use for those trying to learn the product would be beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
Becky McKeown | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2016

A strong passion for NetBase

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Competitive analysis.
  • Analyzing brand health on a day-to-day basis.
  • Customer support--especially educating my manager and I on all of the new features.
  • NetBase is constantly finding ways to make the platform work smarter for us.
  • Understanding how to use the various dashboard templates that are available to us.
Read Becky McKeown's full review
Meghan Xandra Seidner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2016

Loving NetBase!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Demographics are HUGE. You can analyze topics by people, where they live, and who they are. That way you can delve into cultural nuances.
  • Being able to see patterns in how people react to news, campaigns, and and brand changes.
  • Sentiment. Always sentiment. This helps us to figure out what people really feel. Netbase even accounts for sarcasm and can analyze emojis.
  • Very good interaction with customers.
  • Sometimes sentiment analysis slips up. It can count something as negative when it is really positive, because it analyzes the sentence and not the paragraph.
  • Neutral sentiment. A lot of the time, a topic can be 80% neutral, which makes analyzation difficult.
  • Customer service - when you run out of hours, you can no longer get help, which is frustrating.
Read Meghan Xandra Seidner's full review
Tara Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2016

Netbase: social listening that provides actionable data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The dashboard is incredibly easy to navigate but also the visuals are great for demonstrating the benefit of Netbase and the data it provides.
  • Natural Language Processing is a huge benefit of Netbase because it means that we have faith in the analysis which is being completed on a large volume of text.
  • Being able to easily adapt and modify what you are analyzing or researching, especially when the output often needs to be turned around quickly.
  • The number of logins is an issue as it would be great to have Netbase used more widely across the agency but with only a couple of logins that is an issue.
  • Related to the above point is that users are logged out when there is no activity or someone else tries to login with the same details.
Read Tara Watkins's full review
Maritza Moreno | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2016

Quickly dive into conversation insights!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are able to quickly build queries in Boolean or assisted format and quickly dive into conversation insights.
  • It has a very intuitive user interface compared to other software competitors, such as Crimson Hexagon and Brandwatch
  • Great for quickly finding insights without having to spend a lot of time trying to find the themes/topics yourself.
  • This tool is best suited to find audience and conversation insights, but needs a little more work on the measurement piece, since we can't obtain engagements, followers, and other metrics in the Excel download for reporting other metrics to our clients, such as reach.
Read Maritza Moreno's full review
Ted Tagalakis | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2016

NetBase | Feature rich and deep insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of reporting, conversation analysis, easy to build dashboards that give quick glimpses of the conversation/topic and allow you to drill down as needed.
  • Accurate sentiment driven triggered alerts let you keep your pulse on the conversation.
  • Topic setup is easy. Topics are easy to set up and advanced Boolean search functionality enables the use of wildcards to enhance topics.
  • Data access is outstanding. With 27 months of historical data built in and access to firehose data for social media platforms, data acquisition is second to none.
  • The product is awesome and its really hard to find a weakness as the product development team is kicking out enhancements almost on a monthly basis.
Read Ted Tagalakis's full review
Becca James | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2016

A review from the Creator of the Insights & Strategy Department

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are able to provide an all-inclusive brand analysis. The objective of this report is to understand how the brand is performing overall. Some of the questions that are answered within the report are: what are consumers discussing, how are they talking about the product/service, are conversations primarily positive, where are conversations occurring and what type of content is being shared?
  • We love starting a new business pitch by offering a competitor analysis. Our goal is to provide a nice overview of their top competitors. It seeks to answer how does the brand stack up to its competitors, the key attributes, what brand is winning/losing and identify where the gaps are and the potential opportunities.
  • We enjoy the education it provides both internal teams as well as the client, especially the landscape analyses. We like to understand how the industry is performing overall and where our clients stand. Aspects that we deem important are: when, where, who and what conversation is occurring in the industry over the course of 1 year, what helps drive people to convert, what main components of the product/service encourage or deter continued conversion as well as provide insights around what people enjoy (or hate) about the product/service.
  • I'd like to see a better creation of audiences; a greater taxonomy of classifiers to better create personas for our campaigns. Example of segmenting the audience: moms, millennials, sports enthusiasts, home buyers.
  • I'd like to understand instantly what causes a spike in engagement - it is tedious to sift through posts to understand what caused the spike and be able to accurately explain that to the client.
  • I'd like the system to tell me what the audience cares about i.e. which apps, music, so that we understand how to create content that will resonate with them.
  • More pre-made categories/themes and dashboards to help accurately cover topics.
  • Sentiment is often off and filtering doesn't work well when the term or client has a mainstream name such as Internet Marketing Inc. without losing data.
Read Becca James's full review
Cassidy Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2016

Great tool for Social Listening

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Crosstab Analysis: Allows for easily seeing how your brand compares to your competitors
  • Dashboard: You can create client ready reports that can be sent out automatically
  • Word Clouds: Netbase offers many different word cloud options like keyword, hashtag, and emoji specific word clouds
  • Time Analysis: Being able to drill posts down to only see posts from specific days or times
  • Customization: Word clouds have set color themes, wish there was more variety
  • Historical Data: You are limited to how far back you can go
Read Cassidy Wilson's full review
Marisol Pelaez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2016

A strong, easy tool to keep your finger on the pulse of your brand's social media efforts!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly query writing
  • Firehose can be turned on and off
  • Overlapping of topics and themes makes for in-depth analysis
  • Sentiment analysis cannot detect sarcasm or bots sometimes
  • Limited historical data, especially for Instagram
  • No Image Recognition
Read Marisol Pelaez's full review
Kyle Randolph | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2016

Netbase - A Swiss-Army-Knife Solution for Social Monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy and flexible query writing.
  • Flexility in data sources. Firehouse can be turned on for extra granularity in analysis.
  • Dashboards with scheduled email summaries allow for automated monitoring, simplifying repetitive asks.
  • Limited historial data.
  • Lacks visualization flexibility of other listening tools (ability to change colors, limited chart types, etc).
  • UI can be somewhat unintuitive and inconsistent. Some options that are up front in some scenarios are hidden behind menus in others.
Read Kyle Randolph's full review
Simon Quinton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2015

Third generation Social Listening tool that really works and gets you instant insights!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The great thing about NetBase is the ease of use, once you have learnt the tool, to gain instant, viable insights for a range of social listening and channel/content performance activities.
  • The ability to fully customise and alter the 'widgets' used in dashboards puts NetBase at the front of the social listening tools pack to me. The team at NetBase is also super eager to help and is constantly tweaking and improving the tool, unlike many others in this space
  • The dashboards serve as a one-stop shop for the user to gleam real insight into social conversation and what is driving (or not in some cases!) the conversation, be it via a timeline, hashtag cloud, influencer list etc.
  • I would say that really the only drawbacks I have found over time are sometimes the slowness of a dashboard to update, however I must stress this is usually due to the number of widgets open and data being processed than the tool being 'slow'.
  • Anytime I have had an issue with a topic not updating or making sense the support team is there to help and often come up with a solution very quickly.
Read Simon Quinton's full review
Scott Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2015

Netbase's language processing technology makes it a winner for social media intelligence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Natural Language Processing: If the point of social media analysis is to understand large volumes of text that you can't read yourself, then the automated analysis is key to this. Netbase is the best that we have seen in the market, and this is the cornerstone of the product for us.
  • Dashboard design: Past tools we have used have involved pulling data from the tool, analysing and charting in (typically) Excel, then putting together into a Powerpoint presentation to share with clients & colleagues. Netbase's dashboard tools enable reports to be templated and generated as PDFs. Cutting out large chunks of manual administrative work means that more reports can be delivered more frequently with no added time/cost at our and.
  • Customer support - although we are UK-based and the Netbase support staff are primarily US-based, we have found their support staff to be fast, responsive and very helpful.
  • Dashboards can only currently be exported as PDFs. It would be helpful to have a more read/writable format (eg. PPT) that enables us to combine Netbase's outputs with other sources, or to make them more consistent with our own branding (colours, fonts etc.)
  • The business model revolves around a limited number of login seats. I would like to be able to roll out the tool to make it available/accessible to more people in the business, but the pricing model makes this impractical/uneconomical.
  • Logging out users after a period of inactivity can be frustrating when multitasking/task switching and unsaved work is lost.
  • While Netbase's focus on language processing is its key strength, additional functionality around social analysis (eg. people who follow a brand account, users who talk about X are also likely to talk about Y) is somewhat limited.
Read Scott Thompson's full review
Cameron Sprenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2016

NetBase And Social Listening

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great for in-depth analysis of the Twitter-space, especially as it comes to text analysis.
  • The Firehose scale provides mountains of valuable data that can be manipulated and/or exported for further analysis.
  • Comparing the share-of-voice various brands have compared to each other, especially as it relates to online social presence.
  • The Decahose sampling is far from pointless, but it isn't as effective if the user's objective is to gather specific data. The obvious workaround is to use the Firehose feed.
  • I would like to see a more intricate listing of sources when analyzing topics.
  • This may not be possible due to restraints with Twitter Data, but when analyzing specific hashtags, it would be absolutely invaluable if we could segment mentions based on Twitter clicks (where users click the hashtag) versus Twitter search (when a hashtag/topic is searched, NOT clicked on).
Read Cameron Sprenger's full review
Allan Dunlap | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2016

NetBase Goes Above and Beyond to Get the Job Done

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Depth of research - NetBase digs deep into every aspect of chatter around the web. From social sites to online forums, NetBase comes back with a plethora of chatter.
  • Organization - NetBase makes it easy to organize the topics you are researching. I can always find the report I am looking for without any trouble.
  • Customer Service - NetBase has great employees that are always checking in to keep me up to date on the product!
  • Sifting through initial results - Researching a topic returns an overload of information. While it's great to have all this info, it can be tricky to find the most meaningful. It would be great if NetBase could find a way to streamline results.
Read Allan Dunlap's full review
Alyssa Miron | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2016

Great Tool!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitor social conversations
  • Provide sentiment around conversations
  • Monitor social conversations around events and campaigns
  • Get better at determining what's good/bad/neutral sentiment
  • Easier/Friendlier UX
  • Have a person available to chat via IM directly from the site when using it
Read Alyssa Miron's full review
Monica Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2015

Useful tool with room for improvement

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The new interface is very easy to navigate
  • The new interface allows for quick, beautiful reports we can provide our clients
  • Great at getting content from Twitter
  • Great customer assistance
  • Sentiment when analyzing data in Spanish could improve precision.
  • During the analysis, excluding words should be a feature added, to get better results without having to go back to the topic area.
  • An option of the dashboard templates should be a click-all-and-add, to make it easier to add several topics into one dashboard.
  • More platforms need to be included in analysis, as Twitter is not the main platform for all consumers.
  • Include analysis feature of the consumer comments on Facebook and YouTube.
Read Monica Rivera's full review
Melissa Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

NetBase: the customizeable experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We love NetBase because it is completely customizeable. In the healthcare space, we need to present data differently than other consumer goods. NetBase allows us to present data how we want to, change the "sentiment" of words, customize the word clouds to our needs, etc.
  • We have very different needs in the healthcare space than other consumer products. Sometimes we are looking for patient insights on a very rare disease, sometime it may be brand perceptions, sometimes it may be activity surrounding an "awareness day," etc. This requires us reading many of the actual posts. Unlike other services, NetBase allows us to read many of the posts, and also helps us organize the posts so we can read them easily and efficiently.
  • NetBase customer service has always been very responsive and helpful. I can count on them to answer my questions in a thorough and timely manner.
  • NetBase has implemented many changes recently, but did not keep us informed. A newsletter or something like that would help.
  • I noticed a couple of problems with the data, but I was told they were due to "glitches" which was not very helpful.
  • We find a lot of repeats of the same exact posts, which seems odd and skews the data.
Read Melissa Schwartz's full review
Alisa Abrams | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

A good, solid option for the price - especially for agencies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Engagement management. We could not have learned the ins and outs of the tool without the ongoing help and guidance of our account rep. Compared to other social tools where users are essentially on their own, NetBase allows us to get to the data we need without being hung up in figuring out HOW to get to the data.
  • Innovation. It seems the product team is constantly working to evolve and enhance the tool - often in ways our team hasn't yet thought of.
  • Sentiment. While this is probably the biggest challenge of any social listening tool, I'm often wishing that more of the social conversation I'm analyzing could be assigned a sentiment.
  • Training the tool. I believe some tools in the competitive landscape tout that their algorithms are able to "get smarter" over time as manual sentiment assignments are made. In other words, the tool learns the commonly used phrases and their corresponding sentiment over time so that it becomes more accurate and less manual classification is needed.
Read Alisa Abrams's full review
Scott Reitzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

No tool does it all, but NetBase does a lot very well.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword identification. The NLP is very good at pulling out keywords that are relevant to the ones already applied. This is important as it allows the user to easily tune the topic.
  • Usability. Once the user is familiar with the product, the dashboard is easily navigable and the analyst can quickly move from section to section.
  • Although this is a touchy subject among social analysts, I believe that the NetBase NLP is one of the best sentiment analysis systems available at the moment. While no tool will be completely accurate, against our hand coded tests, the NetBase NLP has shown a very low margin of error.
  • Although the dashboard is easy to navigate, sometimes it feels like its too segmented. There is no one view where the user can get a completely customizable view of the reports, unless you build a dashboard. It would be nice to be able to do this for individual topics.
  • The news gathering section of the dashboard is probably the greatest place for improvement in my opinion. This section is not very user friendly at all and it's very difficult to pull metrics on quality news stories.
  • It would be nice if the charts were more customizable. Sometimes having to completely redo the charts outside of NetBase slows us down. It would be nice if you could edit and formate the charts with say, a company theme and be able to export them directly for use.
Read Scott Reitzel's full review
Andrew Dolby | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

Netting out on Netbase

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Netbase allows you to tune queries very well, allowing you to make real-time tweaks to get the most out of your search.
  • Netbase has decent visualization.
  • Netbase compiles comprehensive social data that feels complete.
  • I would love to see more visualization options to make client reporting easier and more robust.
  • I would like to see adoption of some basic social analytic tools that would allow me to make Netbase my go to for all social analytics.
  • More visual platform support.
Read Andrew Dolby's full review
Sarah Flagg | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

Netbase: Not Just Another Pretty Social Media Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use: it was easy for everyone in the team to analyze a topic with the tools on the left.
  • Customer service: Kelsee is always available if we have a question and has set things up for us when we're on a time crunch
  • The interface is pretty fast: unlike our previous program (Radian 6), we don't have to wait hours until our content loads.
  • I wish someone would have sat next to us to set up topics. I really struggled learning how they work, and a side-by-side session would have helped
  • I'd love to be able to delete irrelevant posts on the post themselves or in the stream. Instead we have to filter out Exclude terms
  • I'd also love to be able to customize the colors to a client's brand standards.
Read Sarah Flagg's full review
Caitlin Bishop | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2015

NetBase Review from an avid user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The analyze dashboard is very easy and intuitive, you can click into things that interest you and immediately see what's driving them.
  • You can see the most popular sounds bites that generated more conversation and the most influential authors in the conversation, helps inform the content we make.
  • You can't filter the conversation based on audience which has been the biggest request we haven't been able to address with the tool.
  • Filtering for spam can take up a lot of time depending on your topic, for example, if you're looking to get information on NY & Co. (the brand) you will likely spend several hours filtering. There are some tools I've seen that make sorting easier, but will still leave you sorting for a while.
Read Caitlin Bishop's full review
Brian St. Onge | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2015

NetBase - Worth The Price Of Admission

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to pull from multiple sources, basically anything you can find on Google is used within the analysis. Being able to pull from all parts of the internet is obviously important - ensuring you are picking up conversations from multiple views.
  • Reporting - easy to use dashboards, with certain set views (e.g. word clouds). The ability to quickly filter down on results and/or remove attributes not relevant to your particular needs.
  • The cross-tab functionality provides an easy way to view a data set, narrowing or refining a search quickly without having to create new queries each time you want to make an edit.
  • A savable query. Initially was not available (you had to know what you filtered each time and re-create). Having the ability to save and come back to a query is super important for ongoing analysis.
  • I wish there was Boolean logic of the query available to better demonstrate to our clients (internally and externally) what we had to do to arrive at the findings we are reporting. There are times that this becomes very complicated to explain and we need to create a document showing this logic ourselves.
  • Ideally we would have access to private Facebook posts or private Tweets. These are not currently included and private posts could provide a different view of data on certain analysis.
Read Brian St. Onge's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Boolean keyword searches (71)
7.0
Filtering out noise/spam (80)
7.0
Sentiment analysis (82)
8.0
Broad channel coverage (82)
9.0
Content planning and scheduling (21)
9.0
Audience targeting (30)
8.0
Content optimization (25)
8.0
Workflow management (23)
9.0
Automated routing and prioritization (18)
8.0
Customer interaction histories (24)
8.0
Bulk actions (24)
9.0
Lead generation (24)
9.0
Content marketing (34)
8.0
Paid media management (20)
9.0
Campaigns and promotions (27)
7.5
Twitter (74)
8.5
Facebook (65)
8.5
LinkedIn (43)
8.5
Google+ (43)
8.5
Instagram (57)
8.5
Pinterest (39)
8.0
YouTube (57)
8.5
Campaign success analytics (62)
9.0
Real-time tracking (75)
9.0
Competitor analysis (76)
8.0
Role-based user permissions & privileges (58)
9.0
Mobile access (25)
7.0

About NetBase

NetBase is a social media analytics platform that analyzes real-time and historical information on the internet. It uses proprietary Natural Language Processing along with machine learning to extract true meaning and sentiment from online conversations. Use cases include brand management, campaign tracking, crisis management, customer care, competitive intelligence, category analysis, and product innovation.

NetBase Features

Has featureReal-time Data Updates
Has featureCustomizable Dashboards
Has featureTriggered Alerts
Has feature27 Months of Historical Data
Has featureReports Automatically Emailed to You
Has featureEasy Non-boolean Topic Builder

NetBase Screenshots

NetBase Competitors

NetBase Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

NetBase Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
0%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

NetBase Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

NetBase Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: 42 languages