Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Reviews

79 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 07, 2015
Jonathan Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
As an implementer, Experis continues to recommend/support EPiServer as a viable CMS platform and we do not have a direct renewal scenario with EPiServer ourselves. That said, we do have indirect ability to influence existing customers (as a trusted adviser) on their annual renewal; and, there are no existing clients/scenarios in which we would recommend them leaving the EPiServer platform.
Read Jonathan Graham's full review
September 30, 2015
Ayman Idrees | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We intend to renew our license with Ektron because we are currently satisfied with Ektron's features and have made a significant investment in deploying and integrating it with our systems. Also, Ektron has made a strong commitment to developing it's CMS product and in upgrading between version 8.0 to 8.5 we have attained many additional features and added stability and bugfixes. Ektron's roadmap also includes exciting new functionality on all fronts including Workarea GUI, Search services and Framework API.
Read Ayman Idrees's full review
September 30, 2015
Bart Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
After eight years of use, the Ektron system still works well for our organization. The issues noted elsewhere in this review have been manageable, so-far. In any decision to switch to a different CMS, we would need to factor in the significant cost of conversion of multiple websites, and the re-integration with e-commerce systems. Ektron has rewarded our loyalty by keeping licensing renewal costs very low in comparison to other systems.
Read Bart Johnson's full review
July 07, 2015
Chris Osterhout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
EPiServer has a price point that is strongly competitive with a vast amount of onboard features. Because of this, it is easy to achieve a quick ROI and rationalize the continued use of the EPiServer product.
Read Chris Osterhout's full review
March 19, 2015
Kim Tran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
It works great and we have already made significant financial investment in it, so we are planning to keep on using it.
Read Kim Tran's full review
March 04, 2014
Patrick Poer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We will continue to service the product and our clients that have Ektron for the foreseeable. Ektron has established a firm place in the market and can drive tremendous value over the long term when it's properly fit and implemented into an organization. Ektron is investing in it's API and user interface and integration capabilities and we believe it will continue to be competitive as the market grows and matures.
Read Patrick Poer's full review
February 19, 2014
Chris Chodnicki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Most WCM implementations can be expensive to replace especially if they have customizations and integration. They become embedded at times within the organization. We find that evaluations occur when the organizations go through a re-structuring or re-design. Typically this occurs every 2-3 years. Cost, feature sets and ease of implementation will factor into staying with Ektron. Other factors are the company health, support structure and direct relationship.
Read Chris Chodnicki's full review
April 07, 2014
Marlon Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
My familiarity with the product is the primary reason for my decision. As well, EpiServer can only improve over time. I think the few issues that I had with it can be addressed over time. From my perspective, one can already build pages within EpiServer just as fast as you can within WordPress. There are always ways to further perfect that part of EpiServer's efficiency, and if that happens, EpiServer can shine even more.
Read Marlon Fowler's full review
February 25, 2014
Jenn Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Amazing customer support; the company stays atop industry changes; the platform is very user-friendly; covers a huge range of functionality.
Read Jenn Murray's full review
February 21, 2014
Travis Cotton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Given the opportunity to use the product again I most certainly would. I was very comfortable with the architecture and felt the product was a good fit.
Read Travis Cotton's full review
November 16, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We've integrated Ektron into both our intranet and internet. Unless theres some massive issues which come across in our current version, or future versions, we'll be sticking with Ektron for a while.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Ektron provides everything we need
to empower content creators and deliver a dynamic online experience to
site visitors that helps us achieve our goals
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Since I work on the implementation side of things, and do not directly own licensing for Ektron CMS, I have to base this rating off of how I think it will be received or presented to customers looking to start a new site deployment. I try to remain CMS agnostic, though my specialty is with the .NET and Microsoft stack. Because of the experience I have working with Ektron, I tend to be more forgiving with the shortcomings as I am familiar with how to work around them or past them from experience. Being familiar with the community available also helps, as you become familiar with the best approaches to find solutions to your issues. Each product has it's ups and downs and all of them are only going to be as good as the company or development team implementing them can make them. This is EXTREMELY important to remember when choosing a CMS, as it can make or break your expensive investment.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
The main reason would be because EPiServer is a great product and there aren't many other content management systems that are worth the effort it takes to re-implement an entire website on a new platform. EPiServer also seems to have a more modern approach to the features they offer and the overall design of the workarea so it's very likely that they will continue to improve in the future.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

6
Our website is currently under review. Will we still need the complexity of such a CMS? Not sure
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Ektron is a great implementation if you are a professional .Net shop.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
For a robust CMS, Ektron is pretty user friendly. Once you are familiar with the Administrative backend, you can view the content, dms (pdf, word, xls, images) objects, users groups, reports and configuration setting. Essentially, you can personalize and control the content you want to present and the audience you want to present it to. Ektron also works with a number of AMS' - so you can customize any products and events you would like to display.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
It has a good .NET integration level, and Web Services availability makes it a good choice for smaller sites that are not very dynamic but still need content management features. Based on future releases descriptions, it will keep improving its MVC integration, which we expect will make Ekton performance improve.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Very likely
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
It has become a little pricey these days to renew the licenses.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (26)
7.7
API (24)
5.2
Internationalization / multi-language (22)
6.3
WYSIWYG editor (27)
6.9
Code quality / cleanliness (27)
5.4
Admin section (26)
5.9
Page templates (23)
3.7
Library of website themes (8)
2.1
Mobile optimization / responsive design (23)
4.6
Publishing workflow (24)
6.9
Form generator (17)
5.0
Content taxonomy (25)
6.0
SEO support (27)
5.1
Bulk management (21)
6.5
Availability / breadth of extensions (22)
4.2
Community / comment management (18)
4.6

What is Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud)?

The Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud CMS, integrating and superseding features from the former Ektron CMS) is a web content management system and digital marketing suite. It enables editors to drag-and-drop content to quickly create new digital experiences that are automatically responsive.

The vendor's value proposition is that the Optimizely Episerver Content Cloud enables users to easily manage content and marketing campaigns in one screen. This solution also enables users to personalize content according to personas, segments or individual users.

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Features

Web Content Creation Features

Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling

Web Content Management Features

Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics

Platform & Infrastructure Features

Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language

Security Features

Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities

CMS programming language or framework Features

Has feature.NET
Additional Features
Has featureIntelligent autocomplete - suggests common search terms and promotes search terms that give higher conversion rates without manual involvement
Has featureAdvanced language technology and behavioral tracking - finds all content in any source: pages, blocks, products, people and documents – to deliver very relevant search results
Has featureSophisticated faceting - lets the visitor drill down into search results quickly and intuitively

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Screenshots

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Videos (3)

Watch Lindblad Expeditions: Brining the expedition experience to your fingertips

Watch Janome: Growing a digital community of sewists one stitch at a time

Watch See the solution in 40 seconds

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Downloadables

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Integrations

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Competitors

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
62%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
38%

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Role-based user permissions highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud)?

The most common users of Optimizely Content Cloud (formerly Episerver Content Cloud) are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.