Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Ease of Use: Users consistently praise the platform for its elegant and user-friendly design, which enhances productivity across various …
Continue reading

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review

8 out of 10
June 22, 2024
We use the Optimizely Web Experimentation software to facilitate our A/B testing on the front end of our website. This allows us to freely …
Continue reading

Not value for money

5 out of 10
April 24, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering …
Continue reading

Good platform

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue …
Continue reading

Data has no opinions

8 out of 10
April 16, 2024
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features
  • a/b experiment testing (105)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard visitor segmentation (97)
    8.9
    89%
  • Test significance (96)
    8.5
    85%
  • Preview mode (94)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review from a Director of Partnerships
08:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

46 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle Marketing?

Oracle CX Marketing (formerly Oracle Marketing Cloud) is a solution designed to enable marketers to plan and execute automated marketing campaigns via email, display search, video advertising, and mobile while delivering a personalized customer experience for their prospects.

What is Instapage?

Instapage, from AirSlate since the October 2023 acquisition, offers post-click automation to help digital advertisers create more relevant and impactful advertising, unifying the post-click stage of the advertising funnel. Instapage helps marketers to maximize conversions by creating,…

Return to navigation

Features

Testing and Experimentation

These features enable companies to plan, set up, and execute different types of tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, split URL tests).

8
Avg 8.3

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

A set of tools used for website optimization experiments (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, funnel, split URL, multivariate tests) that can help users segment their audience in to different groups for the purpose of exposing specific audiences to tests or personalization efforts.

8.7
Avg 8.7

Results and Analysis

Tools that allow users to evaluate the results of website optimization tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, and split URL tests), or view visitor interaction with webpages and specific site elements.

8.3
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers marketers to conduct fast experiments and personalization campaigns without relying heavily on technical resources. Marketers can test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, deliver personalized customer experiences, and do it all from edge networks.

Optimizely provides a single workspace for experimentation collaborators to have control and visibility across their experiments — from setting up experiment components to interpreting test results — ultimately to improve velocity and collaboration, and elevate performance.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

  • Supported: a/b experiment testing
  • Supported: Split URL testing
  • Supported: Multivariate testing
  • Supported: Multi-page/funnel testing
  • Supported: Cross-browser testing
  • Supported: Mobile app testing
  • Supported: Test significance
  • Supported: Visual / WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Advanced code editor
  • Supported: Preview mode
  • Supported: Test duration calculator
  • Supported: Experiment scheduler
  • Supported: Experiment workflow and approval
  • Supported: Dynamic experiment activation
  • Supported: Client-side tests
  • Supported: Server-side tests
  • Supported: Mutually exclusive tests

Audience Segmentation & Targeting Features

  • Supported: Standard visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Behavioral visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Traffic allocation control
  • Supported: Website personalization

Results and Analysis Features

  • Supported: Form fill analysis
  • Supported: Goal tracking
  • Supported: Test reporting
  • Supported: Results segmentation
  • Supported: CSV export

Platform Integration Features Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Web analytics integration
  • Supported: Content Management System Integration
  • Supported: Integration with CRM or DMP software

Optimizely Web Experimentation Screenshots

Screenshot of the visual editor, used to make changes to the appearance and layout of a website.Screenshot of the results dashboard that displays experiment results.Screenshot of the integrations page, where integrations can be enabled.Screenshot of Advanced Audience Targeting: Custom Real-Time Segments provide customers with the ability to create rapidly-updating segments which can be used as audiences for testing or personalization. These segments can be based on profile data, omni-channel behaviors, and AI-based observations.Screenshot of AI Content Suggestions: AI-powered suggestions in the Visual Editor accelerate ideation.Screenshot of Extensions for Edge: reusable elements minimize developer dependency when launching multiple tests with the same element.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Optimizely Web Experimentation Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

AB Tasty, VWO, and Adobe Target are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate Traffic allocation control highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(520)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Ease of Use: Users consistently praise the platform for its elegant and user-friendly design, which enhances productivity across various tasks such as A/B testing.

Reporting: The robust reporting capabilities, multi-account support, and advanced settings have been highlighted to be key strengths provided by the tool by reviewers who value detailed results engine provided by the platform.

Streamlining: Additionally, users commend the intuitive WYSIWYG editor for simplifying editing processes and aiding in thorough live and post-test analysis to streamline experimentation workflows. The ease of experiment setup with metrics tracking features further adds to the platform's appeal and has provided a quick streamlining experience.

Slow User Interface: Users have reported that the user interface can be sluggish, impacting their overall experience negatively. Some find the platform's navigation confusing, leading to inefficiencies. The WYSIWYG editor is described as clunky, hindering quick and effective changes, affecting user productivity.

Steep Learning Curve: Non-technical users may face usability barriers on the platform, needing improvements for easier use without technical expertise. Having a longer learning curve period hinders by spending more time getting to know the product rather than getting work done.

Limitations: Additionally, users desire more a la carte feature availability rather than being restricted by tier-locked features.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use the Optimizely Web Experimentation software to facilitate our A/B testing on the front end of our website. This allows us to freely be creative with different front end user designs, and use data to back up any results to consistently improve the user experience across our website.
  • It offers the ability to work with many metrics, enabling us to receive the data and knowledge we really want from each individual test
  • It allows seeing full versions of each test before releasing, making it easy to review
  • It is a straightforward and easy to use, with a very logic, step by step process
  • The UI part of the software can sometimes load slowly
  • Although the step by step is logical, it can be long winded and take a while to set-up each individual experiment
  • Would benefit from the addition of dashboards for easier viewable data
Its useful in allowing us to test front end changes, on both smaller and larger scales without the need for full developer resource. It means that we can test changes that we want to make prior to adding them into a dev queue which can be time consuming and we can be confident in the data that backs up the changes that do make it into the dev queue, therefore improving the UX.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At our company, we utilize Optimizely Web Experimentation primarily to conduct A/B testing and multivariate testing on our coupons and deals website. This tool helps us in optimizing web pages to enhance user experience and engagement. The key business problem addressed by Optimizely is the need to understand user behavior and preferences, which directly impacts conversion rates and overall site performance. Our use case encompasses experimenting with various website elements such as layout, content placement, and promotional offers to identify the most effective configurations that drive user interaction and sales. This strategic use of Optimizely enables us to make data-driven decisions that improve the site’s usability and effectiveness in attracting and retaining customers.
  • AB Testing and Multivariate Testing.
  • User Interface and Ease of Use.
  • Personalization and Targeting.
  • Pricing
  • Full Stack and Web Pricing.
  • Integrations with other tools.
Where Optimizely Shines: Best for Large-Scale Operations: Optimizely is exceptionally well-suited for large enterprises with complex, multi-faceted A/B and multivariate testing needs. Its comprehensive functionality is perfect for conducting extensive experiments across various websites and products. Data-Driven Companies: For organizations heavily reliant on data-driven strategies, Optimizely's advanced analytics and detailed reporting are invaluable. It's ideal for businesses that require an in-depth understanding of user behavior to enhance user experiences and optimize conversion rates. E-commerce Personalization: E-commerce platforms aiming to personalize content and offers will find Optimizely's personalization features highly beneficial. This can significantly boost user engagement and sales. Where Optimizely May Not Be the Best Fit: Cost-Prohibitive for Small Businesses/Startups: The high cost of Optimizely can be a barrier for small businesses or startups. These entities might find the platform's advanced features excessive for their basic A/B testing needs, given their limited budgets. Overkill for Simple Testing Needs: For websites requiring only basic A/B testing, Optimizely's extensive suite of features may be unnecessary. More straightforward and budget-friendly tools could serve their purposes more effectively. Not Ideal for Short-Term Projects: For businesses planning short-term experiments or one-time projects, the investment in Optimizely might not offer adequate returns. Simpler, less expensive platforms could be more appropriate for such limited engagements. Conclusion:Optimizely is a powerful tool for web experimentation, but its suitability varies greatly with the scale and nature of the business. It offers significant advantages for large-scale, data-centric enterprises, while smaller businesses or those with simpler requirements might find it less appropriate due to its high cost.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The example I would always go back to is if we're trying to optimize a purchase funnel, for example, and see where people are following off, where Optimizely comes in would be creating experiments within that purchase flow or user journey. And then Heap would be able to help create buckets or cohorts of people for us to optimize it for people who came in from paid search versus people who came in from email. So being able to create experiments with Optimizely and then using Heap to essentially increase my ability to run more experiments, I think is really where I use the product and the marriage between my company's product and Optimizely.
  • Being able to run multiple experiments for various experiences, whether that's features, web, et cetera - and then being able to create buckets of folks who have done those things and bring them back into my product at Heap. And then sending our vet data over to Optimizely to create more audiences of people and really run that flywheel, so to speak, of experimentation, optimization, and implementation. So it allows me to run more experiments at scale.
  • It's tough because for me it would be more logistical things where I would love to see more active co-selling of opportunities where if the Optimizely sales team or their pre-sales team has an opportunity where they know they're looking for a product analytics tool, engage with us early and we can be co-selling it together essentially.
  • I do know that for example, obviously it's tough because that's a competitor, but I do know that Google Analytics 4 integration is a thing that people ask for. So I think maybe working on that if only to showcase how bad GA4 is and why they should move over to a product like a Heap, I think.
I think that probably a less appropriate scenario would be just a simple segmentation play where it's just like, show me people who opened an email versus who didn't. I think this is overkill for something simple like that. But then on the other hand, if you literally want to run an experiment of "Did I move this button?" or "Am I showing this page versus that page?" that's much more appropriate for what Optimizely is able to do.
Jason Tabert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for our Marketing experimentation and optimization program focusing on landing page and funnel optimizations. Client-side experimentation lets maintain a high-velocity experimentation program with less dev overhead and faster time to market. When we discover winning variations we use the tool to serve them as part of always-on personalization campaigns.
  • Easy to set up and get started but offers a full suite of features and tools
  • Built-in integrations with your tech stack
  • Powerful reporting and analysis built-in
  • Raw export of experiment data to internal data warehouse for deeper analysis
  • Excellent technical support
  • Powerful suite of tools that goes beyond just experimentation (CDP, DMP, CMS, etc.)
  • Better program management features
  • Complexity of experiments can be limited when only using WYSIWYG editor
  • Would like more pre-built widgets or reusable components for easy iterations and evergreen campaigns
  • Lacks built-in revenue impact quantification tools
Optimizely Web Experimentation can be simple to set up and get started but has a huge set of incredibly powerful features that you can grow into as your experimentation program matures. Built-in integrations with popular tools in your marketing tech stack allow you to enhance your capabilities as well as enhance the power of your other tools and platforms. The platform is incredibly flexible and supports easy WYSIWYG editing all the way to very complex multi-page experiments. Client-side experimentation lets marketers test and iterate quickly with less reliance on development release cycles and build high-velocity experimentation programs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are ramping up an experimentation program, our initial efforts have targeted lower impact changes to content and design. Our marketing organization is going through a web redesign and the goal was to use Optimizely Web Experimentation to help guide this process. We are now shifting towards leveraging Optimizely Web Experimentation as a personalization tool, to focus in on key clients and leads in our industry.
  • UX is user friendly. It was easy to jump in and start playing around within the platform to learn how to use it.
  • Flexibility. We are in the early stages of building out a program but I can see the opportunity for setting up experiments using a variety of tactics, implementations, and custom metrics. Using the 'wysiwyg' change interface is an easy way to get started. Having the option for JS will be awesome once we are at full steam.
  • Implementation. The single snippet approach makes it easy to get started.
  • Guidance on implementation within strict data privacy strategies
  • Visual cues and distinction in the platform (also on the CMS too) - Everything is white and tends to look the same. I (personally) find it hard to retrace my steps or find an area I am looking for
  • Built-in demo/tutorial prompt when starting different types of experiments. For example, I was setting up a redirect experiment following documentation on Optimizely's support site and could have used an interactive, in-platform demo to go along with it.
Absolute necessity for B2C ecommerce companies, especially those with high volume of sales. B2B application may vary based on industry. For companies with long sales cycles, it may not be as useful as other martech tools within the Optimizely ecosystem.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for content testing (images and/or copy), recommendation algorithm tests for product carousels, and feature testing (net new features that we develop and want to validate & calculate revenue incrementality before launching). With the first two: we want to test along the customer journey to understand what pieces of content or product assortments provide the best benefit to her on site. We also use audience segmenting to be able to target the right users (coming from X marketing channel, mobile-only users, or logged-in users) to be able to refine our testing.
  • Extensions - allows the company to tailor the tool to unlock certain capabilities
  • Developer-friendly, with GA and other integrations
  • Intuitive results page that can be shared out
  • Hard to use extensions without some knowledge of HTML/CSS
  • Inconsistent user counts between GA & Optimizely when it comes to calculating MAUs, hard to be able to forecast budget and overages when our source of truth (GA) differs from our testing platform (Optimizely)
  • Impressions model doesn't support scaling personalization experiences - hard to run a serious data driven testing program when you have to cut tests short before 14 days (ideal length to get to any statistical read) in order to save on impressions
Optimizely Web Experimentation is well suited for a team that tests across multiple facets of testing – full tech developed features, pieces of content or recommendations, landing page optimization. However - if a team only does limited testing, and only in the content testing area, other tools may integrate better IF they are not using Optimizely's CMS (and if they have a CMS that easily supports testing - like Adobe AEM x Adobe Target). However - as testing scales - Optimizely Web Experimentation will start to make more and more sense.
Drew Seman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage Optimizely Web Experimentation across dozens of clients -- ranging from direct-to-consumer subscription services to B2B SAAS. Our clients choose to work with us because we can push experimentation platforms to the limit -- from personalization to in-product experiences to offline metric tracking. Optimizely consistently allows us to build high-fidelity customer experiences more rapidly than any other platform. They then couple that development ease with nuanced performance tracking clients can trust. When we put it all together, this is what allows us to build strong, engaged cultures of experimentation with our clients.
  • Speed to launch across all test complexity levels.
  • Clear, Robust reporting that builds trust.
  • Continue ability to reduce site flicker.
The only time we don't recommend is if a site is too low traffic for paying for Optimizely to ever be cost-effective, but the company wants to toe dip into experimentation.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to test different changes we to our webpages we think will help users understand our product and navigate to the check out process and ultimately make a purchase. We have three brands (across three websites) that we often change the order of information blocks, test new headlines or wording, or swap images to see if they will contribute to a higher conversion rate.
  • allowing users to quickly change the order of content blocks on existing site
  • organize current tests in a list for the team to view
  • Defining pages that are frequently tested for faster work flow
  • affecting the cms when the code is slightly more complicated on the back end
  • the login/verification process every time is a little annoying
  • would like to track the data visually all together in a snapshot of all experiments done on one page over time
If you have a website that is designed well with a cms in place and there is a structured marketing team, Optimizely Web Experimentation is a good tool to use. It offers a place for non engineers to make quick changes that can be captured in one place. The data that is collected in one place is easy for marketing teams to review and make decisions moving forward. It is less appropriate if your current website is not built in a clean manner because the tool is interacting with the code. It gets messy and will require engineer assistance to recode options to test if your back end isn't optimized.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage Optimizely across all our Product Management and Marketing teams. We use it for a range of tasks. The types of tests we run include homepage/landing page optimization, as well as improvements to the user experience further down the 'funnel' (including things like our checkout flow). We typically run A/B tests with it (where we have a variant version of a page compete against our original/control version), although we do occasionally run more sophisticated multivariate tests.
  • The user interface is relatively straightforward, making adopting across the company easier.
  • Customer Support is very responsive.
  • Optimizely X Web integrates with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics) relatively smoothly.
  • Integration with Web Analytics is relatively smooth, although they recently had to change how to connect to Google Analytics 4.
  • Events can be hard to configure, depending on what kinds of tests you're running.
  • It's not the best solution when you're dealing with users who log in and out of a platform frequently, especially across devices. Sometimes the user IDs get confused and you end up with people seeing a control AND variant version (across different experiences).
It's arguably the optimization best tool on the market, but it is also probably the most expensive! If you're a young company/startup, you might want to consider other tools first before 'graduating' to a tool like Optimizely. Conversely, if you're a well-established company and you have the budget, then this is the tool for you.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B tests and for any urgent fixes that are required on the site when we don't want to wait for our normal CMS content push which is usually overnight. We can easily make front-end changes with Optimizely that update within minutes so if there is an incorrect image, spelling error, etc. we can hide it. We also use Optimizely to push changes at 100% until we are able to build them into our website, for example, keeping a test winner turned on while we wait for dev resources.
  • Quickly update your website
  • Fairly easy to use
  • Setting up custom metrics can be confusing
  • Only one way to track statistical significance of a test through the platform
It's well suited for A/B testing, pushing experiment winners to 100%, and last-minute adjustments on the website when your CMS isn't able to make changes ASAP
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Optimizely for all of our AB tests. This helps us validate new features and minor styling changes and gives us insight into our roadmap. It even allows us to make changes to the site without requiring developer support. We make sure everything is AB tested before launching, and Optimizely is a key part of making that happen.
  • AB Testing.
  • Data Analysis.
  • Web Editor.
  • User Interface.
  • Multi-project management.
  • Dynamic Website Set-up.
Optimizely is well suited for on-site AB testing and experimentation. If you want to see how a change will impact your metrics, Optimizely can make that happen. It is not useful for feature flagging or product rollout and can be a bit tricky when trying to AB test a net new feature.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is the key tool we utilise for our onsite optimisation and personalisation programs. It is used across multiple divisions of our company. We utilise it to allow us to quickly test new concepts or hypothesis online. It has enabled us with a much faster speed to market and minimises the risk by making improvements onsite.
  • Integrates well with our digital marketing stack
  • Easy to use
  • Provides detailed reporting out of the box
  • It is expensive in comparison to some of its competitors
  • Full stack component can be hard to get up and running
Optimizely is a very powerful tool for onsite A/B and multivariate testing. It also provides very good audience identification and selection to allow running of multiple tests concurrently. In addition it has good personalisation capabilities which has allowed us to start proving the concept and value of of onsite personalisation quickly and easily.
February 28, 2023

Optimizely Review

Katie Goh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is the platform of choice for product rollout and product development. We work closely with the sales department to improve the digital experience for prospective clients. With analytics and digital UX tools, we identify potential UX issues or missed opportunities, hypothesize a solution, and then build the proposed solution in Optimizely. We use Optimizely to build and present experiments, and then decide whether to push to production through statistical review.
  • General business users can build experiments without coding.
  • Use of API.
  • It is important to remember that complex features and product rollouts require considerable effort.
  • Large scale experimentation management. Being able to look at the project at a high level of detail is a convenient methodology.
  • A snippet from Optimizely increases the loading time of a page.
It's great if you want to test something quickly with a third-party script on your page. Quick visual fixes are also great when deployments are not possible. However, it's not great when you want to measure site performance.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We've been using Optimizely for the last 2-3 years as part of our overall experimentation setup, and we're running around 50 experiments / year using it
  • Ability to set up and update / conclude experiments without any engineering support
  • Managing experiments and controlled rollouts by easily assigning feature flags and setting the percentage of traffic / users to be assigned to each variation
  • Integrating with the rest of our tech stack so new experiments set up in Optimizely are immediately pushed to our CMS and data analytics tools
  • Forcing users to select a success metric for each new experiment before being able to set it live is redundant as we don't rely on Optimizely to analyze the experiment results
  • The pricing for the product is not ideal for our company, as we pay for a large set of features that we don't use (like experiment analytics), but we don't have the option to only pay for the features we need
Optimizely is great for running experiments and for having a relatively self-serve approach to setting up new experiments, but it doesn't cover all feature-flag related use cases that our team has so it might not be best suited for that for some teams at least
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used to increase conversion in our shopping funnel. The users are mainly the product department -- we build the tests, run them, and relay the results to the rest of the Exec team. Ideas can come from anywhere in the organization.
  • It provides an interface to create tests easily.
  • It sends out webinars and best practice emails.
  • It might be our integration with GA, but it's hard to trust the results at times.
  • Traffic allocation-- this might be our implementation, but the users are never 100% on an A/B test.
Optimizely is well suited for testing changes that you may not believe will influence a guests' decision. It's less appropriate for complete funnel changes and overlapping tests.
October 22, 2019

Optimizely Grows With Us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is used across several teams at our organization. Our team, marketing operations, implement the set-up and targeting of experiments, while also managing the tool and vendor relationship. We are also involved in the implementation of the tool across our properties. The actual experiment design is typically handled by another team within the company. At a high level, we use Optimizely for mostly A/B testing of landing page elements to increase conversions or user engagement.
  • Account Service - We have had an exceptional experience with our account team.
  • Advanced targeting capabilities - There have been several instances where we have questioned how we are going to segment and target a specific set of users, and thus far Optimizely has always been able to deliver upon our targeting goals.
  • Resources for learning - We've found there to be a considerable amount of documentation on Optimizely's capabilities which has enabled us to look into specific topics on our own.
  • None at the moment.
Optimizely is great for A/B and multivariate testing - it's a very user-friendly experimentation platform that allows us to accomplish our testing goals without using IT resources. We've even used it to roll changes out at 100% (in the short term) until IT priorities allow for the changes to be made to a landing page.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Some of our clients use Optimizely regularly. It's used for A/B testing primarily but usually only for UX teams. Marketing and Analytics teams often do not use Optimizely but are responsible for implementation, as it's primarily leveraged by designers or front end client team members for testing various on-site element changes.
  • Lots of documentation and support articles
  • Optimizely X for server-side experiments is nice, especially with GDPR and ITP etc.
  • Constant updates to the technology
  • Can be overly complex
  • Not the best for personalization
  • Not a lot of auto-integrations with other products like Google Analytics and advertising channels
For a client that has a large experimentation and UX team, with robust and clear processes this can work. As well as a strong technical team for implementation.

For more lean organizations or ones that are just starting and building out their experimentation teams, other tools like Google Optimize may be more fitting or appropriate.
October 04, 2019

Optimizely Web

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is used by a select few teams to quickly test both new product features, as well as tweaks to existing product features. It allows us to optimize customer conversion and retention through iterative changes to the product. Ultimate, Optimizely allows us to obtain valuable information about our product, so that we can continue to improve the customer experience.
  • Easy to use for less technically inclined individuals
  • Ability to target very specific audiences
  • Ability to change traffic allocation of an experiment at any time
  • Limited flexibility for developers (Optimizely Web)
  • Certain usages can result in performance degradation and/or page flickering, which is detrimental to the user experience
  • Lack of support for persistent / longer running experiments in Optimizely Web
Optimizely Web is well suited for individuals or organizations that are interested in improving conversion. A prime example is on a marketing page, where the ultimate goal is to get the user to sign up. Optimizely allows even individuals with less technical knowledge of the product to implement and test changes that can have a large impact on conversion. Optimizely Web is less appropriate for improving retention as long running experiments can be tricky to run. Optimizely Full Stack aims to address this issue and provides a much richer experience for engineers and developers.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is being used to A/B test experiments on our website. It addresses the issue of guessing or making intuition-based decisions about which copy/layout/etc. leads to increases in various conversion metrics.
  • Optimizely did a good job of defining a developer interface for the business problem at hand.
  • Running multiple experiments is done well by Optimizely.
  • Audience targeting.
  • The full stack Python SDK made a synchronous request to Optimizely for every call just to activate users. This was too much for a critical piece of our functionality.
  • I found the environments concept a little clunky.
  • Does not fee like a unified product across web/full stack.
I have not had experience working with other A/B testing platforms or solutions, so I would be hesitant to give a strong recommendation one way or the other until I became more informed myself.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is being used primarily by our Digital Marketing org for testing the success of new features and components on Salesforce.com.
  • Tech support.
  • Great WYSIWYG.
  • Reliable results.
  • Larger footprint than IT is happy with (Slower Page Speed).
  • Conflicts between varying running experiments and our current tech stack running.
  • Content flash (Page loads then changes in front of user).
Suited for smaller A/B testing variations - Not suited for larger changes to page(s).
Emily Emmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely has been used by the marketing department for 6+ years. A/B testing with Optimizely helps us make changes after we've tested impact with our site visitors. We've also used Optimizely as a quick fix for any site issues when resolving through developer resources will be too cumbersome.
  • Simple technical interface that allows for marketing-centric A/B testing, it pulls the power of experimentation back into Marketing's wheelhouse.
  • Excellent support resources: It's easy to get customer support on the phone and they're fully equipped to resolve issues.
  • Great training and certification resources.
  • Limited visibility to product roadmap and ability to influence that roadmap.
  • Mandatory transition to new platform with no access to previous testing was inconvenient (2018).
  • Creating swim-lane testing for tests with the same conversion metric is a bit cumbersome.
Optimizely is a great A/B testing tool for any size business. The Optimizely platform democratizes A/B testing through a simple interface, excellent training tools, easy implementation and low dependence on IT resources. Utilizing Optimizely I've been able to run robust experimentation programs with a variety of resources (acting as a 1-person team with limited access to IT resources as well as managing a team with high access to resources). Additionally, Optimizely is well-priced and positioned to be affordable for a variety of business sizes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used by a small team within a department primarily for A/B testing. For example, to promote user registration, we might want to test out a new feature which could be anything from a new design for the registration section or a mini-standalone application. Before rolling it out en masse, we would test this out in a limited scope to compare relative registration levels.
  • Can target a feature to a specific audience like desktop Chrome users only.
  • Can do multiple layers of A/B testing.
  • Can roll out a new design test in a matter of hours.
  • The webapp itself is sometimes slow to load.
  • The code change difference is one giant string, would be easier if formatted for readability.
It is just a good quick tool for doing a lot of simple A/B tests. It can scale to more complicated experiments and the metrics can also get sophisticated. From a developer's perspective, it is very straightforward for me to use. I am a lot less certain about the statistical significance area when the results are actually being interpreted but from a developer's perspective, it's just easy to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely across several teams and departments for front-end A/B and multivariate testing.
  • Faster test deployment
  • Immediate access to test results
  • Helpful customer support team
  • Testing on back-end requires using Optimizely's full stack, so it doesn't come with Optimizely X
  • If you ever need to use the change log, it's very bare bones
It's great for front-end related tests, specifically for when you're testing design element changes, CTA changes, copy changes across the page, and website navigation changes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is being used across all verticals in my business. We primarily use it for testing new features and ads. But we also use it to implement quick fixes to minor issues on the site such as non-compliant text or typos until a final fix can be deployed.
  • Making the changes to your page is pretty simple, just click on an element and edit the code.
  • Has great scheduling functionality.
  • Partitioning of experiments by project makes it all run faster and is easier to organize.
  • Actual creation of an A/B test is confusing and difficult (like the differences between Pages vs URLs etc.).
  • Setting up a URL Redirect Experiment is so convoluted it seems like it's not even a feature Optimizely wants you to use. Instead, it's like I'm tricking Optimizely into alternating between 2 URLs. That really needs to be cleaned up as it would be very helpful.
Well suited for:
  1. Color and copy changes.
  2. Technical functionality that needs to deploy after the page loads.
  3. Deploying these changes across large sections of a site.
Not well suited for:
  1. Alternating between 2 URLs.
  2. Where tracking is needed at the user level.
  3. Implementing large changes on page load. You'll get a flash.
Return to navigation