Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Not value for money

5 out of 10
April 24, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering …
Continue reading

Good platform

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue …
Continue reading

Data has no opinions

8 out of 10
April 16, 2024
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features
  • a/b experiment testing (104)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard visitor segmentation (96)
    8.9
    89%
  • Test significance (95)
    8.5
    85%
  • Preview mode (93)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review from a Director of Partnerships
08:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

46 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle Marketing?

Oracle CX Marketing (formerly Oracle Marketing Cloud) is a solution designed to enable marketers to plan and execute automated marketing campaigns via email, display search, video advertising, and mobile while delivering a personalized customer experience for their prospects.

What is Instapage?

Instapage, from AirSlate since the October 2023 acquisition, offers post-click automation to help digital advertisers create more relevant and impactful advertising, unifying the post-click stage of the advertising funnel. Instapage helps marketers to maximize conversions by creating,…

Return to navigation

Features

Testing and Experimentation

These features enable companies to plan, set up, and execute different types of tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, split URL tests).

8
Avg 8.3

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

A set of tools used for website optimization experiments (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, funnel, split URL, multivariate tests) that can help users segment their audience in to different groups for the purpose of exposing specific audiences to tests or personalization efforts.

8.6
Avg 8.7

Results and Analysis

Tools that allow users to evaluate the results of website optimization tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, and split URL tests), or view visitor interaction with webpages and specific site elements.

8.3
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers marketers to conduct fast experiments and personalization campaigns without relying heavily on technical resources. Marketers can test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, deliver personalized customer experiences, and do it all from edge networks.

Optimizely provides a single workspace for experimentation collaborators to have control and visibility across their experiments — from setting up experiment components to interpreting test results — ultimately to improve velocity and collaboration, and elevate performance.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

  • Supported: a/b experiment testing
  • Supported: Split URL testing
  • Supported: Multivariate testing
  • Supported: Multi-page/funnel testing
  • Supported: Cross-browser testing
  • Supported: Mobile app testing
  • Supported: Test significance
  • Supported: Visual / WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Advanced code editor
  • Supported: Preview mode
  • Supported: Test duration calculator
  • Supported: Experiment scheduler
  • Supported: Experiment workflow and approval
  • Supported: Dynamic experiment activation
  • Supported: Client-side tests
  • Supported: Server-side tests
  • Supported: Mutually exclusive tests

Audience Segmentation & Targeting Features

  • Supported: Standard visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Behavioral visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Traffic allocation control
  • Supported: Website personalization

Results and Analysis Features

  • Supported: Form fill analysis
  • Supported: Goal tracking
  • Supported: Test reporting
  • Supported: Results segmentation
  • Supported: CSV export

Platform Integration Features Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Web analytics integration
  • Supported: Content Management System Integration
  • Supported: Integration with CRM or DMP software

Optimizely Web Experimentation Screenshots

Screenshot of the visual editor, used to make changes to the appearance and layout of a website.Screenshot of the results dashboard that displays experiment results.Screenshot of the integrations page, where integrations can be enabled.Screenshot of Advanced Audience Targeting: Custom Real-Time Segments provide customers with the ability to create rapidly-updating segments which can be used as audiences for testing or personalization. These segments can be based on profile data, omni-channel behaviors, and AI-based observations.Screenshot of AI Content Suggestions: AI-powered suggestions in the Visual Editor accelerate ideation.Screenshot of Extensions for Edge: reusable elements minimize developer dependency when launching multiple tests with the same element.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Optimizely Web Experimentation Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

AB Tasty, VWO, and Adobe Target are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate Traffic allocation control highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(514)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 113)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A/B testing of various web experiments on our semi-static published site and our dynamic, complex app focuses on UI changes within a page; in my opinion, the optimized is poorly suited for true feature flag functionality.
  • A/B testing on simple UI changes within one page.
  • Feature flag management of A/B testing of multi-page web flows.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor, especially when integrating front-end and back-end signals.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor when tying into the web; many excuses are given by Optimizely's advanced tech teams.
A/B testing of a simple UX change or wording change on a single page, where there can be many entry and exit points; crude feature flag support for feature testing if you're willing to write significant, complex, and difficult-to-debug and maintain code unique to Optimizely alongside all your 90+ other SaaS tools.
Fabien Caublot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
As an agency we service many clients with the Optimizely tech, I personally help them establish the tech and support their everyday optimization needs to ensure success of their optimization programme.
  • Strong Reporting
  • Multi account / Multi environments / advanced settings
  • Javascript injection at various levels
  • You rarely find yourself limited in your everyday optimization
  • UI sometimes slow
  • WYSIWYG can be clunky
  • So many ways to do things that it's sometimes hard to know what is the "right way"
  • Might be a bit offputting for non-technical people
Clients with already an experimentation team (Dev, QA, Analysts) that are not nacent to Optimization (emerging and onwards)
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're using it to integrate our Amplitude cohorts with Optimizely, so we can automate the delivery of different page content depending on the cohort/audience that the users are in. It's also good for removing the responsibility of deploying different pages by depending on the code changes in the backend. That gives the marketing team the power to move fast and test more hypothesis.
  • Data sync
  • Easy UI/dashboard to check experiments
  • Great integration with many other apps/SaaS
  • Better debugging for new experiments
  • Better cookie-based integration
  • Better API documentation
If you want to check the behavior of specific users, grouped by any type of attributes, like last sign in date, the presence of some cookie key/value. And you can also combine many conditions in an easy way, by using a drag-and-drop UI. It's great to use for marketing websites and landing pages, and track and analyze the users behavior based on the type of content they have received
April 24, 2024

Not value for money

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from different countries and we offer content on different languages. Also we offer two different kind of products, so for us is essential to know what is the best way to communicate the value we offer and to make as easy as possible to complete our funnels, where users need to enter and select data tos submit claims. Therefore AB testing is such a great tool to optimize every part of our funnel for each different segment of users. We are also divided into different product teams and squads, so we need a robust tool to support teamwork, and different types of testing, the ones with the wysiwyg editor to the ones implemented on the code by devs.
  • Project and experiment organization.
  • Flicker and loading time. It is fast.
  • Results engine is detailed, and allows to check results as the experiment goes.
  • Pricing model penalizes those just starting with experimentation.
  • High price and fees based on website traffic, not experiment impressions. so you are charged whether you experiment or not.
  • Integration with GA4 is subpar.
  • Documentation at times confusing, different products.
  • UX is confusing and too simple. It leads to errors by users. Lack of meganavs, too minimalistic, it becomes quite a frustration.
  • Not competitive pricing compared with other AB testing tools.
Optimizely Web Experimentation is appropriate if you have a big budget and your company is mature enough in experimentation to take all the advantage of a such an expensive price model.

If you are just starting into AB testing, or not enough budget, I do not recommend Optimizely Web Experimentation, as it becomes quite frustrating to manage usage limits and technical set up to avoid extra charges.
April 16, 2024

Data has no opinions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to accomplish that. You are not your customer so just making a change and assuming it's the right one won't get you far. You need to get your ideas in front of customers and measure the real impact of those changes.
  • Display of data trends
  • No tech copy changes
  • React has been an issue on targeting for a while but they are working on it. I still feel like I need a dev to help me make sure I am targeting the right element when setting up tracking, etc.
  • Explaining best practices within the setup and UI. i.e. you should run the test for xyz, I see this page has XXX traffic you need sessions
  • Explaining how stat sig is calculated
So far for testing changes within a single page it seems well suited. However, if I wanted to make a change on one page and see how it affects things down the funnel, it seems like there isn't a lot of ability to measure that. Or I don't know how.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage this tool to conduct UX/UI testing on our sites. Optimizely Web Experimentation is incredibly streamlined and powerful as compared to a previous platform we used. We run tests across our business and at any given time have about 20 tests live. This has been a great resource and has taken our builds to the next level.
  • Enhanced targeting capabilities
  • The Featured experimentation add on is fantastic for complicated builds
  • Simple interface with little to no learning curve needed
  • Filtering capabilities in the reporting tab. To be able to filter based on a custom metric
  • Tracking scroll depth within the reporting tab
  • A more interactive graph within the reporting tab. Ability to manipulate there vs having to update the whole page
This is our second testing platform, and is by far the best we have leveraged. Its intuitive in how you are able to build tests. Tracking is easy to set up within the visual editor or as a capability in URL tracking. The reporting tab does need more filtering capabilities for custom metrics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely to run A/b tests on our website to optimize for not only Conversion Rate but also Revenue Per Visitor (RPV). We experiment 1. design: images, layout, color, fonts; 2. product offerings to determine what drives the most RPV; 3. Copy and content to solve the why customers should buy our product and remove nay doubts; 4. website UX features such as Product Matrix vs a Product Builder, Swipe to view vs scroll.
  • Considers every kind of experiment from simple code change, code additions, code removal, javascript functions, CSS changes, and split landing redirects.
  • Very friendly UC interface for easy navigation of implementation of pages, click events, experiment set up, and metric set up.
  • The ability to let me know when something has reach stat sig without having to do complicated math on my own
  • ability to carry UTM parameters through landing page redirects with a click of a button.
  • They only support integration with GA4 if you use GTM (google tag manager). They don't have any way to integrate other tag managers like ensighten.
  • If you don't know how to write html, css, or javascript code the platform can be challenging to use.
  • Like to see more direct funnels. I have an add to cart event, but it triggers any time someone adds to cart, not necessarily if they add to cart from PDP that I am running the test on.
Well suited for companies that get high traffic. Otherwise it will take a long time to reach stat sig. I would not recommend for small business or start ups. It is great if you work on a team or at a company where you feel like only those with the most influence or loudest voice gets their ideas and content implemented. Stop going with gut and get real data to prove out these guesses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation in our organization on the marketing side of the business. At this time the tests we run are rather one-off but our hope is to put together more of a process that will allow us to build on the tests. Right now the focus is trying to get customers through the purchase funnel.
  • Great training and support
  • Easy to understand user interfaces
  • Easy to understand results
  • Not always able to run tests without engineering assist
  • Expensive
It's useful for uncomplicated pages and basic research questions. It's likely a researcher would need the support of a developer to incorporate testing into more complex pages. However, as a tool I can't think of a scenario, where testing is appropriate to answer the research question, where you wouldn't want to use Optimizely.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We push for web experimentation so that our clients can understand what pages and features and calls to action and buttons and layouts and everything about their users. It's more intuitive for them to click for our clients to then get the actions that they want their users to take. So ultimately drive additional conversions through minor changes and experimentations through the Optimizely Web Experimentation platform.
  • Particularly well. Integrations and kind of playing friendly with others in the sandbox. If you search for any type of technology and Optimizely, there's some sort of a connection for that or they work with that. We have an integration built in, so it's ease of adoption is very good as well as it's intuitive. You really don't need a lot of coding background or a ton of dev resources, especially in the web experimentation side.
  • I think just overall education that there's more than web experimentation. So I think Optimizely was first known for A/B testing, serving two different experiences, "which one performed better?" and continuing with testing. But now with their CMS platform and their commerce platform and they've expanded a lot, I know that there's almost an education gap in all that. It's not just web experimentation. There's a lot more that this does even down to hosting. So I think there's almost an education gap that people go, "I didn't know Optimize could do that. I didn't know I could use them as a solution for that."
Well suited. You have a team that wants to run hundreds of tests. This platform can take that also, especially in e-commerce. It's very easy for a faster sales cycle. Someone's on your site, they're ready to buy something, it's a 20, a 50, a $100 product. It's easiest for that because you see the results of it faster. There's less of a when are we going to see the results of this, especially if you have a lot more traffic, then if your site has more traffic, you can run tests faster with statistically significant results and then say, all right, we know which option to pick based off of it performing better than this other one. Let's keep moving forward with additional tests for ones that might not be the best fit. Smaller, medium-sized businesses who are extremely budget conscious, maybe who don't have a lot of website traffic, then they're going to struggle with being able to perform experiments in a faster cycle. So it's going to take longer to see results, longer to see the impact of the software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The example I would always go back to is if we're trying to optimize a purchase funnel, for example, and see where people are following off, where Optimizely comes in would be creating experiments within that purchase flow or user journey. And then Heap would be able to help create buckets or cohorts of people for us to optimize it for people who came in from paid search versus people who came in from email. So being able to create experiments with Optimizely and then using Heap to essentially increase my ability to run more experiments, I think is really where I use the product and the marriage between my company's product and Optimizely.
  • Being able to run multiple experiments for various experiences, whether that's features, web, et cetera - and then being able to create buckets of folks who have done those things and bring them back into my product at Heap. And then sending our vet data over to Optimizely to create more audiences of people and really run that flywheel, so to speak, of experimentation, optimization, and implementation. So it allows me to run more experiments at scale.
  • It's tough because for me it would be more logistical things where I would love to see more active co-selling of opportunities where if the Optimizely sales team or their pre-sales team has an opportunity where they know they're looking for a product analytics tool, engage with us early and we can be co-selling it together essentially.
  • I do know that for example, obviously it's tough because that's a competitor, but I do know that Google Analytics 4 integration is a thing that people ask for. So I think maybe working on that if only to showcase how bad GA4 is and why they should move over to a product like a Heap, I think.
I think that probably a less appropriate scenario would be just a simple segmentation play where it's just like, show me people who opened an email versus who didn't. I think this is overkill for something simple like that. But then on the other hand, if you literally want to run an experiment of "Did I move this button?" or "Am I showing this page versus that page?" that's much more appropriate for what Optimizely is able to do.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed an advanced a/b testing and site personalization platform to take our team to the next level; Optimizely Web Experimentation simplifies our workflow, enhances and automates much of our analytics, and enables us to both increase our test velocity and run more complex experiments overall. It's both saved us time and effort and led us to better, quicker results.
  • UI for users of all levels (from business owners to developers) is clean, simple and easy-to-use
  • The in-platform analytics are far and above any competitor, and the combination of Bayesian and Frequentist methods to calculate statistical significance is a huge pro
  • The experiment editing and previewing capabilities are seamless, and allow collaborators of all levels to set up and review tests with ease
  • The audience set up for personalizations is a little hard to spot at first; could be surfaced more clearly like in the A/b test experience set-up.
All UX site testing ideas are well-suited to Optimizely Web Experimentation; for instance, we've tested using a static add-to-bag CTA on PDPs vs. a hybrid sticky and static CTA. Landing page tests for media also run well in Optimizely Web Experimentation, although we focus less on these.
Jason Tabert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for our Marketing experimentation and optimization program focusing on landing page and funnel optimizations. Client-side experimentation lets maintain a high-velocity experimentation program with less dev overhead and faster time to market. When we discover winning variations we use the tool to serve them as part of always-on personalization campaigns.
  • Easy to set up and get started but offers a full suite of features and tools
  • Built-in integrations with your tech stack
  • Powerful reporting and analysis built-in
  • Raw export of experiment data to internal data warehouse for deeper analysis
  • Excellent technical support
  • Powerful suite of tools that goes beyond just experimentation (CDP, DMP, CMS, etc.)
  • Better program management features
  • Complexity of experiments can be limited when only using WYSIWYG editor
  • Would like more pre-built widgets or reusable components for easy iterations and evergreen campaigns
  • Lacks built-in revenue impact quantification tools
Optimizely Web Experimentation can be simple to set up and get started but has a huge set of incredibly powerful features that you can grow into as your experimentation program matures. Built-in integrations with popular tools in your marketing tech stack allow you to enhance your capabilities as well as enhance the power of your other tools and platforms. The platform is incredibly flexible and supports easy WYSIWYG editing all the way to very complex multi-page experiments. Client-side experimentation lets marketers test and iterate quickly with less reliance on development release cycles and build high-velocity experimentation programs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are ramping up an experimentation program, our initial efforts have targeted lower impact changes to content and design. Our marketing organization is going through a web redesign and the goal was to use Optimizely Web Experimentation to help guide this process. We are now shifting towards leveraging Optimizely Web Experimentation as a personalization tool, to focus in on key clients and leads in our industry.
  • UX is user friendly. It was easy to jump in and start playing around within the platform to learn how to use it.
  • Flexibility. We are in the early stages of building out a program but I can see the opportunity for setting up experiments using a variety of tactics, implementations, and custom metrics. Using the 'wysiwyg' change interface is an easy way to get started. Having the option for JS will be awesome once we are at full steam.
  • Implementation. The single snippet approach makes it easy to get started.
  • Guidance on implementation within strict data privacy strategies
  • Visual cues and distinction in the platform (also on the CMS too) - Everything is white and tends to look the same. I (personally) find it hard to retrace my steps or find an area I am looking for
  • Built-in demo/tutorial prompt when starting different types of experiments. For example, I was setting up a redirect experiment following documentation on Optimizely's support site and could have used an interactive, in-platform demo to go along with it.
Absolute necessity for B2C ecommerce companies, especially those with high volume of sales. B2B application may vary based on industry. For companies with long sales cycles, it may not be as useful as other martech tools within the Optimizely ecosystem.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It will allow us to test at scale. We are looking to promote a testing mentality through increased testing and insight generation.
  • It will unlock the ability for us to test within our app that we previously did not have.
  • We are still early in the adoption process so that is still TBD
It is well suited to enable testing at scale
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for content testing (images and/or copy), recommendation algorithm tests for product carousels, and feature testing (net new features that we develop and want to validate & calculate revenue incrementality before launching). With the first two: we want to test along the customer journey to understand what pieces of content or product assortments provide the best benefit to her on site. We also use audience segmenting to be able to target the right users (coming from X marketing channel, mobile-only users, or logged-in users) to be able to refine our testing.
  • Extensions - allows the company to tailor the tool to unlock certain capabilities
  • Developer-friendly, with GA and other integrations
  • Intuitive results page that can be shared out
  • Hard to use extensions without some knowledge of HTML/CSS
  • Inconsistent user counts between GA & Optimizely when it comes to calculating MAUs, hard to be able to forecast budget and overages when our source of truth (GA) differs from our testing platform (Optimizely)
  • Impressions model doesn't support scaling personalization experiences - hard to run a serious data driven testing program when you have to cut tests short before 14 days (ideal length to get to any statistical read) in order to save on impressions
Optimizely Web Experimentation is well suited for a team that tests across multiple facets of testing – full tech developed features, pieces of content or recommendations, landing page optimization. However - if a team only does limited testing, and only in the content testing area, other tools may integrate better IF they are not using Optimizely's CMS (and if they have a CMS that easily supports testing - like Adobe AEM x Adobe Target). However - as testing scales - Optimizely Web Experimentation will start to make more and more sense.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Optimizely daily for our website. At any given time we are running 3 to 7 tests on our site. Optimizely Web experimentation makes it simple to build out tests no matter the size. There are tests that I can build with the WYSIWYG or my team of developers can build in the code editor. It’s so simple to set audiences, goals, and launch and end dates. With a little bit of training, anyone can use this, which is perfect for our team who moves quickly.

We moved to Optimizely because we needed to increase our testing velocity, be more assured of our data, and allow for anyone to pick it up and use. It checked all those boxes for us! Great tool.
  • Ease of use
  • Data integration
  • Team collaboration
  • WYSIWYG element changes. This capability is buggy. It doesn’t select the right selector, we’ve been told to just grab it from the site in inspector mode. It’s hard to know what did you’re in and making changes. Sometimes it doesn’t stick.
  • Data integration. It would be amazing to just have a repository of goals, events, etc. from our GA that we can just use in Optimizely.
  • Better organization of our tests. Being able to bucket by campaign, launch dates, etc. would be great!
We use Optimizely to run tests to increase sales, user experience, and gain insights into our users. We do redirect tests, and in page changes. We even implement sales/ promo’s through Optimizely to make it simpler for our developers. I love how easy it is to get people involved in testing and thinking about how it works.

It works really well for us because we run a lot of tests on different user flows and audiences. If we were only running a test a month, we wouldn’t be using the breadth of this product. It was great for us to help increase velocity.
October 11, 2023

Optimized for your needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Optimizely Web Experimentation to encourage customers to sign up for additional services within products that will increase customer satisfaction and create a better frequent return experience.
  • Best solution identifier
  • Predicting how long an experiment will need to run
Increasing the odds of conversion.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to test different changes we to our webpages we think will help users understand our product and navigate to the check out process and ultimately make a purchase. We have three brands (across three websites) that we often change the order of information blocks, test new headlines or wording, or swap images to see if they will contribute to a higher conversion rate.
  • allowing users to quickly change the order of content blocks on existing site
  • organize current tests in a list for the team to view
  • Defining pages that are frequently tested for faster work flow
  • affecting the cms when the code is slightly more complicated on the back end
  • the login/verification process every time is a little annoying
  • would like to track the data visually all together in a snapshot of all experiments done on one page over time
If you have a website that is designed well with a cms in place and there is a structured marketing team, Optimizely Web Experimentation is a good tool to use. It offers a place for non engineers to make quick changes that can be captured in one place. The data that is collected in one place is easy for marketing teams to review and make decisions moving forward. It is less appropriate if your current website is not built in a clean manner because the tool is interacting with the code. It gets messy and will require engineer assistance to recode options to test if your back end isn't optimized.
Adam Brett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The tool is great for when you have variants of products and can use the redirect tool to create the variant. The tool itself when it comes to analysis, the metrics are good, however getting the significance of the tests are very hard to get. I sometimes use other tools with the A/B testing evaluation data tools to analyse my results.
  • Redirects
  • Variant testing
  • Navigation testing
  • Visual editing tool
  • Analysis of metrics
This platform works really well if have the ability within your CMS to create redirects for your variants pages to build, this makes A/B tests east to make
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it more often for AB testing, and based on the metrics and the audience, we decide the winner and implement the variation when needed. Splitting traffic for each experiment also helps us to manage bad user's experience if the variation is not performing accordingly. We make usage of the targeting feature to point internal users to staging environments prior to launch an experiment to prod.
  • A/B testing
  • Experiment editor
  • We should explore more integrations
  • As a dev, at first, I had some difficult to understand the way metrics works and how they are configured
  • I am not sure how it is not, but we had some issues with the documentation for optimizelyOptOut implementation in the past
We have multiple website pages and we spend a bunch of money advertise them. Optimizely helps us to define, based on metrics and A/B testing, which pages we should improve UX to guide users to try our product, maximizing our investment.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage Optimizely across all our Product Management and Marketing teams. We use it for a range of tasks. The types of tests we run include homepage/landing page optimization, as well as improvements to the user experience further down the 'funnel' (including things like our checkout flow). We typically run A/B tests with it (where we have a variant version of a page compete against our original/control version), although we do occasionally run more sophisticated multivariate tests.
  • The user interface is relatively straightforward, making adopting across the company easier.
  • Customer Support is very responsive.
  • Optimizely X Web integrates with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics) relatively smoothly.
  • Integration with Web Analytics is relatively smooth, although they recently had to change how to connect to Google Analytics 4.
  • Events can be hard to configure, depending on what kinds of tests you're running.
  • It's not the best solution when you're dealing with users who log in and out of a platform frequently, especially across devices. Sometimes the user IDs get confused and you end up with people seeing a control AND variant version (across different experiences).
It's arguably the optimization best tool on the market, but it is also probably the most expensive! If you're a young company/startup, you might want to consider other tools first before 'graduating' to a tool like Optimizely. Conversely, if you're a well-established company and you have the budget, then this is the tool for you.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B tests and for any urgent fixes that are required on the site when we don't want to wait for our normal CMS content push which is usually overnight. We can easily make front-end changes with Optimizely that update within minutes so if there is an incorrect image, spelling error, etc. we can hide it. We also use Optimizely to push changes at 100% until we are able to build them into our website, for example, keeping a test winner turned on while we wait for dev resources.
  • Quickly update your website
  • Fairly easy to use
  • Setting up custom metrics can be confusing
  • Only one way to track statistical significance of a test through the platform
It's well suited for A/B testing, pushing experiment winners to 100%, and last-minute adjustments on the website when your CMS isn't able to make changes ASAP
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for A/B testing on a variety of websites across our Enterprise. It allows us to quickly and easily set up tests without the assistance from engineering and development teams. Items that we’ve tested include different copy for CTA buttons, page placement, images, and colors. Optimizely Web Experimentation allows us to easily set up the test, run it, and see the results to drive better decisions for digital content.
  • A/B Testing
  • Automated Testing
  • Clear Results/Reporting
  • Integration with certain platforms (e.g. Angular and/or Magnolia)
We've used Optimizely Web Experimentation for A/B and multivariant testing of our websites and it works very well for this type of testing. It's easy for a non-technical person to use to set up tests, monitor results, and access reporting in order to make decisions. We did have some challenges with more advanced tests on certain platforms/code base (angular and/or Magnolia) but for simple sites it worked very well.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Optimizely for all of our AB tests. This helps us validate new features and minor styling changes and gives us insight into our roadmap. It even allows us to make changes to the site without requiring developer support. We make sure everything is AB tested before launching, and Optimizely is a key part of making that happen.
  • AB Testing.
  • Data Analysis.
  • Web Editor.
  • User Interface.
  • Multi-project management.
  • Dynamic Website Set-up.
Optimizely is well suited for on-site AB testing and experimentation. If you want to see how a change will impact your metrics, Optimizely can make that happen. It is not useful for feature flagging or product rollout and can be a bit tricky when trying to AB test a net new feature.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is the key tool we utilise for our onsite optimisation and personalisation programs. It is used across multiple divisions of our company. We utilise it to allow us to quickly test new concepts or hypothesis online. It has enabled us with a much faster speed to market and minimises the risk by making improvements onsite.
  • Integrates well with our digital marketing stack
  • Easy to use
  • Provides detailed reporting out of the box
  • It is expensive in comparison to some of its competitors
  • Full stack component can be hard to get up and running
Optimizely is a very powerful tool for onsite A/B and multivariate testing. It also provides very good audience identification and selection to allow running of multiple tests concurrently. In addition it has good personalisation capabilities which has allowed us to start proving the concept and value of of onsite personalisation quickly and easily.
Return to navigation