TrustRadius
Optimizely is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nE/W8/NPJ6TVND0MJQ.PNGDecent optimization toolWe use Optimizely on the marketing team to run A/B and multivariate tests. Mainly we use it for splitting our traffic when testing not so much for building the actual tests themselves. The tests that we use it for are mainly to verify hypothesis around the top of our funnel acquisition flow in connection with our marketing site.,It is very easy to set up a test and split traffic to various test variations. It has a decent smart editor for tests that only involve small changes. The version that we use (Optimizely classic) has a decent amount of integration with other analysis tools.,It is way too expensive. The editor is only useful when you run a test involving small/simple changes to your pages. The support is lacking.,6,Testing has helped us increase conversion rates substantially and Optimizely has made that process a lot easier.,Pardot,Pardot, Salesforce App Cloud, Google Analytics, KissmetricsOptimizely is a great A/B testing platform. Highly recommended!Optimizely helped us in running quick experiments on our websites. We used it for A/B testing in order to understand which call to action button colors/style/text was working better and converting more users. I personally set up the experiments and did the tests. The integration part was very easy.,Easy integration Great platform for A/B testing You can start and run experiments straight from the dashboard, no need to ask developers to change anything in the code,The pricing model was hard to understand and could be improved Our website loading took longer when Optimizely code was added, would be great to see this improved/solved Getting on board was easy, but still took some time to understand the details,10,We optimized our CTA buttons and saw around 10-15% increase in signups. From negative ones - the website loading started to take longer,None,Hotjar, Buffer, Zapier, MailChimp, Trello, HubSpot CRMPlease A/B test this review!We use Optimizely for all of our A/B webpage testing across both our main website and any campaign landing pages. Only the Marketing department uses this tool. We use Optimizely to test out theories in order to see their effect on conversion rates and other relevant KPI's.,It makes it easy to set up the A/B testing parameters and allow us to focus on running multiple tests. We love the ability to exclude audiences so that the test data is as pure as possible We like the interface since its easy to see what version is "winning",There is a bit of a learning curve with the interface, it's not that intuitive day 1. You will need a web dev to help get these tests set up. It is not easy enough for a non-tech person to do.,8,It has a positive ROI overall on the organization. It has saved us from lowering our conversion rates due to the data we get from the test results.,Acquia Lift,Google Analytics Premium, Drupal, Acquia Platform, MarketoOptimizely is at the top of the listI previously used Optimizely to conduct A/B tests for our conversion landing pages. We needed to increase conversions and Optimizely has a number of features that allowed us to determine what worked best. I also used Optimizely on our main website to test out certain scenarios regarding our customer service activities.,Optimizely offers a number of great features that other testing services do not. Optimizely allows us to test within certain timeframes and in specific timezones. One of the cooler features Optimizely offers is its multivariate testing. It automates multiple tests at one time.,My biggest con is that the service is much more expensive than its competitors. There are too many tiers to the services. The basic tier, which is still pricey only gets you simple A/B tests and not all the bells and whistles. It did not allow me to extend the account to other managers in my department.,8,For my landing pages I am seeing a 6x increase in conversion rate. For ease of use, Optimizely made things happen much quicker and allowed me to manage it and not an agency. Optimizely did provide some cost savings with regard to agency expenses and once the ROI began to increase the service cost was less of a concern.,Unbounce and Visual Website Optimizer,Adobe Photoshop, Slack, Basecamp,4,4Powerful Optimization Tool -- But comes with a price.We manage multiple brands, and we choose to use Optimizely on one of them. We mainly use Optimizely on this website for testing to improve our conversion rate with simple A/B tests, and we also use Optimizely to modify messaging and sales prices on front of site when running flash sales. In a pinch, we can also use Optimizely to make hot fixes when we find errors and typos, until we can get our dev team to put a more permanent fix in for the bug.,Optimizely has a great WYSIWYG editor, very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you also have access to the raw code, which I go in frequently to clean up things that the editor may have done. I'm a huge fan of Optimizely's targeting criteria. I know that I can run tests on my site based on almost an audience I'd like. I really enjoy Optimizely's analytics and reporting. They allow you to choose which metrics you're looking for, then they have built in confidence percentages to show you at a glance how your test is running.,Optimizely used to be free, now it's pretty expensive. Luckily, my account was grandfathered in, but I really think they're making a mistake by moving to a paid-only model instead of a freemium. Sometimes there is a "flicker" when your page first loads where you can see the original page before the experience loads. Most visitors probably won't notice but it is not desirable. The reporting doesn't always match up to the same stuff I see in Google Analytics. I know there is multiple reasons that this could be happening, but it is something to keep in mind when analyzing your data.,7,Being that we are still on the free version, the return on investment has been fantastic. If we were paying for it, I'd have to take a closer look. We have seen a slight bump in our conversion rate based on changes that we made due to tests ran in Optimizely. Using Optimizely to throw up flash sales when we are slow has really helped us. Being able to announce that we are running a sale and show sale prices on front of site without needed to take up dev resources helps us a lot.,Visual Website Optimizer,Visual Website Optimizer, Asana, Google Analytics
Unspecified
Optimizely
238 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Optimizely Reviews

Optimizely
238 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 63 of 238 Optimizely ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 63)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
December 13, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Decent optimization tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely on the marketing team to run A/B and multivariate tests. Mainly we use it for splitting our traffic when testing not so much for building the actual tests themselves. The tests that we use it for are mainly to verify hypothesis around the top of our funnel acquisition flow in connection with our marketing site.
Read Thue Lægdsgaard Madsen's full review
December 08, 2017

Review: "Optimizely is a great A/B testing platform. Highly recommended!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely helped us in running quick experiments on our websites. We used it for A/B testing in order to understand which call to action button colors/style/text was working better and converting more users. I personally set up the experiments and did the tests. The integration part was very easy.
Read Tigran Hakobyan's full review
December 07, 2017

Optimizely: "Please A/B test this review!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely for all of our A/B webpage testing across both our main website and any campaign landing pages. Only the Marketing department uses this tool. We use Optimizely to test out theories in order to see their effect on conversion rates and other relevant KPI's.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
January 12, 2018

User Review: "Optimizely is at the top of the list"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I previously used Optimizely to conduct A/B tests for our conversion landing pages. We needed to increase conversions and Optimizely has a number of features that allowed us to determine what worked best. I also used Optimizely on our main website to test out certain scenarios regarding our customer service activities.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Powerful Optimization Tool -- But comes with a price."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We manage multiple brands, and we choose to use Optimizely on one of them. We mainly use Optimizely on this website for testing to improve our conversion rate with simple A/B tests, and we also use Optimizely to modify messaging and sales prices on front of site when running flash sales. In a pinch, we can also use Optimizely to make hot fixes when we find errors and typos, until we can get our dev team to put a more permanent fix in for the bug.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Great Tool for CRO Programs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When we first implemented Optimizely, I was the only one using it to run tests. As I gained momentum and other members of the marketing team, management and customer service became familiar with the platform and possibilities, they began contributing to the testing backlog and even running tests themselves.
Read Polly Harris's full review
December 16, 2016

Optimizely Review: "It's Easy as A/B/C - Experimentation Made Simple"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Northern Tool + Equipment the design and analytics teams primarily use Optimizely to test design, usability and promotional changes to see what impacts our users in a meaningful way. We run experiments to determine whether or not a new feature is worth building, an existing feature or piece of content is useful or clutters the page and should be removed, and also what promotions and marketing messages resonate.
Read Grant Wilkins's full review
October 10, 2016

Review: "Optimizely A/B Testing Delivers Results"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely to test new ideas from the marketing and development teams. The scale varies, from link redirects and button color changes all the way to page redesigns and conversion funnel adjustments. It is very easy to set up and use, allowing us to determine actionable results from our experiments before looking into a full development project. There are many features that allow for WYSIWYG page edits, but the platform's real power comes across to users who have at least a cursory understanding of HTML, Javascript and JQuery. It allows users to take experiments from thought to action with almost no time in between, and is a valuable tool for our growth and development plans.
Read Andrew Weitsman's full review
April 04, 2016

Review: "Optimizely lets you test easily with low overhead."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Optimizely to test our clients UX on the Magento platform. It is easy to install and there is a handy module for Magento that makes it easy for clients to add the snippet to their site. Optimizely is very easy to use and even better if you have jQuery knowledge. It loads fast and allows you to test many things on the site without a lot of overhead and minimal effort. If you are a savvy user it is easy to work with. If someone isn't savvy and tries to use the editor there is a risk of breaking your site. For example, if working with a product detail page template, be wary of using their WYSIWYG editor on any dynamic information like pricing. It can turn it into a static html element on the page. Overall it's a great tool that allows you to be nimble with your testing and has great reporting on the results of your test.
Read Brynn Arego's full review
March 08, 2016

Optimizely Review: "Changed the way our front end development process worked in a great way!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely whenever our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.
Read Benjamin Himley's full review
March 21, 2016

User Review: "Optimizely and You: An A/B Love Story"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is, among other things, a conversion rate optimization tool. This allows our creative and development teams to build unique desktop experiences for the many different users who interact with the site. Whether it's testing an A/B (or C/D/E) split among different creative and structural choices or simply just showing a different page for a different geographic location, Optimizely helps target and switch fairly seamlessly.

Sometimes traffic and engagement metrics to websites will stagnate. And Optimizely is a way to test different website layouts to discover winners (or losers) in a statistically significant way.
Read Matthew Pimenta's full review
March 18, 2016

Optimizely Review: "Its a MUST HAVE - period."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As the head of our company's front end team, I use Optimizely to prove concepts and ideas before having the team fully develop the feature to see if it will get any traction. We use it to vet ideas that come in from product and marketing as a regular part of our process.
Read Joseph Taylor's full review
September 30, 2015

Review: "If you are wanting to improve your site, use Optimizely!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely on our company website to primarily help increase our customers / visitors conversion. We are an eCommerce site so our primary focus is on CTA and making sure our customers are able to easily find what they are looking for. We primarily have used it to test layout changes, but have done some redirect testing as well.
Read Sean Cleveland's full review
September 09, 2015

User Review: "Doing it fast with Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is now our primary tool for A/B testing and deploying temporary code fixes between releases. It's been an amazing tool for us and has helped us ramp up our optimization efforts considerably. We've gone from deploying a handful of experiments per year to launching several new tests every week. I'm the primary user of the tool, working in the product department, but I often seek out help from various developers as we conceive of progressively more complicated experiments. I've been amazed by what you can do with Optimizely and a little determination. We've lifted conversion rates all over our site with Optimizely.
Read Jeremy Bradford's full review
August 14, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely Rocks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My team uses Optimizely; we are responsible for conversion optimization across my company. I have 2 folks that work for me, and we are the 3 users. We are an online B2B media company, so we use Optimizely to run tests across our network of sites (~75 sites) and landing pages, with a goal of increasing conversions (leads, registrations) as well as engagement (primarily measured by pages per visit and time on site).
Read Renee Thompson's full review
August 11, 2015

User Review: "Why we're happy with Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is primarily used by our testing team though a few colleagues outside the team have access as well. We use Optimizely as our sole A/B testing, personalization and conversion rate optimization tool. We have used it to improve our registration flows, landing pages and to make our content more engaging.
Read Brian DeLoach's full review
August 10, 2015

Review: "If only I could use Optimizely to test this title - they make it so easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is used as a critical piece of understanding and testing user behavior by product, design, marketing, and engineering groups. It is used in multiple ways, from quick tests to see how users interact with buttons, hero images, promotional text, to test out operational changes and feature roll-outs, all the way to quantifying and proving hypotheses from in person user tests, surveys, and other qualitative data. From a platform perspective, Optimizely is used for web, mobile web, and mobile apps (iOS and Android). It's helpful to have a single platform for all your testing needs across different platforms as the teams already have enough other tools that are used on a daily basis to manage projects and analyze results.
Read George McMullen's full review
November 16, 2015

Optimizely Review: "You could be testing in just minutes."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely across the board, for testing new features before they're rolled out, making layout / content tweaks and testing their impact, personalizing experience for individual visitors, and even as a quick way to fix coding issues and allow developers more time to roll out a more permanent solution.
Read Sergei Kogut's full review
November 09, 2015

Review: "Optimizely is a Solid Platform for Testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization was previously advancing different elements on our site based on design, or individual department preference. Now, using Optimizely, we are able to assess data and form a conclusion on decisions to change designs based on quantitative analyses. In addition, we have the flexibility to construct new products for our site within Optimizely's interface and deploy them without leveraging weight on our developers.
Read Robert Chan's full review
October 28, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely and Me: A Love Story"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Optimizely on our eCommerce site within the marketing department. It helps us address the ever present question: How do I increase conversion and user acceptance? Each project is kicked off with research through our analytics program and flows down the pipeline through design into development. Before Optimizely we would have a poorly performing section of the site and no way to test new initiatives. Now we have the tools needed to easily find a solution.
Read Lisa Pinto-Hendron's full review
August 21, 2015

Review: "Taking the next step in your online business using Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Optimizely is being used across our Marketing Technology Department. The results of the tests that we run are then shared across our company for review. This in turn allows other departments to understand some of the impacts of the decisions they are considering. The current business problem that we are using Optimizely for is to continue to grow our web presence as well as increase conversion on our site.
Read Abel Ramos's full review
August 05, 2015

User Review: "Why we chose Optimizely"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Optimizely to confirm / disprove our hypothesis on our website. It is being used by IT and we work with our internal clients to set-up and run A/B tests. Optimizely enables us to remove bottlenecks through various funnels on our website.
Read Chad Wales's full review
August 03, 2015

Review: "Optimizely Should Be Your Testing Software of Choice!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is used to trial potential changes to our website so that we can ensure any changes that we make to our platform are actually improving our product. By A/B testing changes we can put a quantifiable number next to changes to show the impact that they have on the product and the business as a whole.
Read David Shaw's full review
July 31, 2015

Review: "Optimizely is A/B testing for Marketers (not just code-heads)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely for A/B testing on our mobile and desktop, consumer facing web properties. We started by keeping it e-commerce focused, but we've expanded the use to all areas of the site including marketing, promotions, and e-commerce.

Before Optimizely we had no tools to do A/B testing (beyond inacurate Google Analytics week by week changes) so this was a huge upgrade and allowed us to quickly iterate, experiment and learn from our users.
Read John Freeborn's full review
August 26, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely > All Else"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely has been a great addition to our digital analytics landscape and opened up a world of otpimization unknown before at the AMA. The on-boarding and support from Optimizely is unmatched. They have been able to set us up for success not only in how to execute on testing, but in getting buy-in from our organization. Would recommend for any organization looking to start their own testing program.
Read Alek Toumert's full review

About Optimizely

Optimizely is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.
Categories:  A/B Testing

Optimizely Integrations

Optimizely Competitors