Optimizely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
385 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 120)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Rafael Zorrilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Best in class but comes at a higher cost

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is the platform of choice for experimentation and product feature rollout. In my department, Education Services, we partner with schools to improve the digital experience for prospective students. Through analytics and digital UX tools, we identify potential UX friction points or missed business opportunities, we hypothesize a solution and then build that proposed solution in Optimizely. Through Optimizely we build experiments, present to users and through statistical review, we determine results on whether to push to production.
Read Rafael Zorrilla's full review
Jon Lindemann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

A Powerful Tool, but with Power Comes Responsibility

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Insights & Analytics team is using Optimizely. Some other teams also use it if they need to insert some JavaScript onto a page to test other functionality (such as a chatbot).

It allows us to perform minor A/B testing to determine which changes customers respond to when browsing our site and purchasing our products.
Read Jon Lindemann's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Optimizely Review from an OTA Product Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to increase conversion in our shopping funnel. The users are mainly the product department -- we build the tests, run them, and relay the results to the rest of the Exec team. Ideas can come from anywhere in the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Optimizely a great choice for A/B Testing in Mobile Apps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to A/B test features within our mobile applications. The SDK allows us to easily implement feature testing in both the iOS and Android platforms. Without the SDK, we would have to have a lot of custom code splattered throughout the code base which is not ideal. We particularly like the Swift support in iOS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Optimizely helps us out in testing times

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We leverage Optimizely across all our Product Management and Marketing teams. We use it for a range of tasks. The types of tests we run include homepage/landing page optimization, as well as improvements to the user experience further down the 'funnel' (including things like our checkout flow). We typically run A/B tests with it (where we have a variant version of a page compete against our original/control version), although we do occasionally run more sophisticated multivariate tests.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Optimizely Grows With Us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is used across several teams at our organization. Our team, marketing operations, implement the set-up and targeting of experiments, while also managing the tool and vendor relationship. We are also involved in the implementation of the tool across our properties. The actual experiment design is typically handled by another team within the company. At a high level, we use Optimizely for mostly A/B testing of landing page elements to increase conversions or user engagement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Intuitive and easy to manipulate data sets and top notch for AB testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Using this platform software for landing page experiment testing that has the primary function to drive paid or organic traffic to website and host and monitor and report on performance metrics of lead gen. Our team sits in the Marketing Department and use this tool to drive testing mandates and performance goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Optimizely Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely allows us to unlock conversion wins on our landing pages in areas that wouldn't be possible with our eng team. Our marketing team uses it to run A/B tests on creative, copy, and CTA buttons. Using Optimizely has been such a game-changer at a company where engineering resources are scarce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely is an effective experimentation platform for companies of any size and has helped our company increase revenue significantly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Optimizely for A/B and multi-variate testing of many parts of our website and shopping experience. We test copy, headlines, buttons, features, new pages, new experiences and more. It is very effective in helping us learn when any change we make to our product and marketing materials affects our sales performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Tricky for Testers Who Don't Read the Manual

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely mainly within our development group, though the framework is available to all departments. Its main function is to enable us to show/hide features to subsets of users in the field, and make those changes via server-side controls. We're also starting to use it for cohort testing, though we're still in the early stages of trying this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely Saves Dev Time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is used by our Marketing, Operations and Product teams to A/B test new features. It is valuable for self-building basic design changes and testing them, all without needing your development teams to help - this is extremely valuable to us given we have limited tech resources. It also helps for larger a/b tests that we do work with development on - they create a way to trigger large tests with cookies and then we use Optimizely to set the cookies and control test volumes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Optimizely robust for large experimentation teams but not as agile or well integrated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Some of our clients use Optimizely regularly. It's used for A/B testing primarily but usually only for UX teams. Marketing and Analytics teams often do not use Optimizely but are responsible for implementation, as it's primarily leveraged by designers or front end client team members for testing various on-site element changes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Optimizely Web

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is used by a select few teams to quickly test both new product features, as well as tweaks to existing product features. It allows us to optimize customer conversion and retention through iterative changes to the product. Ultimate, Optimizely allows us to obtain valuable information about our product, so that we can continue to improve the customer experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Time-Saving Split-Testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it extensively on the Marketing team for split testing. We often want to test 2 or more options of a designed/developed web page, and using Optimizely to split test is very helpful. It allows us to use data to see how changes to our website affect performance and user behavior.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Good product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used to develop and test iterations for all our 28 web-based services together with analytics, user research and design professionals in the agile environment.
Read this authenticated review
Emily Emmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Optimizely for marketers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely has been used by the marketing department for 6+ years. A/B testing with Optimizely helps us make changes after we've tested impact with our site visitors. We've also used Optimizely as a quick fix for any site issues when resolving through developer resources will be too cumbersome.
Read Emily Emmer's full review
Ashley Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The wonder of Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is currently being used for our CRO programme to run A/B testing as well as smaller personalisation campaigns. This currently sits solely within the product team to make quick front end changes and testing. This helps to address and resolve user experience issues, styling and formatting issues as well as ensure we are testing within the right areas.
Read Ashley Smith's full review
Emma Low | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Easy, helpful, recommended

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Optimizely to organize, test, and make decisions about our project ideas. Both the Marketing and Development teams can access the tool to input new ideas, and monitor ideas in testing.
Read Emma Low's full review
Fay Dawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

Great Experimentation Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely has allowed the marketing team to run smaller scale tests without support from the development team, but it has also worked well in larger scale testing where the dev team has had to build the test within Optimizely.
Read Fay Dawson's full review
Emanuell Dan Minciu | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

It has never been easier to begin your experimentation journey.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is currently being used across multiple teams within the business. Its main purpose is to help us improve our products by finding out from customers how our ideas perform during A/B testing. Currently, our team has been running tests weekly for over 6 months. Optimizely is a great tool which makes this process easy and painless.
Read Emanuell Dan Minciu's full review
William Sargent | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

First experience with Optimizely - What worked, What didn't...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Optimizely is being used primarily with our product managers within one department. It has allowed us to use experimentation to prove our hypothesis that have directly affected change for our public facing membership webpages.
Read William Sargent's full review
Joanna Jardeleza | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Great for Small to Medium Business looking to test, improve, implement!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Optimizely for over 5 years! As we manage a portfolio of over 50 versions of our site, it's important for us to have a tool such as Optimizely that allows us to properly manage all of our testing and even make small changes on the fly! We are extremely happy with the tool and love its ease of use.
Read Joanna Jardeleza's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (46)
8.0
Split URL testing (36)
7.7
Multivariate testing (35)
7.6
Multi-page/funnel testing (51)
7.4
Cross-browser testing (26)
7.2
Mobile app testing (18)
6.4
Test significance (40)
6.9
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.1
Advanced code editor (37)
6.6
Page surveys (11)
6.4
Visitor recordings (14)
7.2
Preview mode (43)
6.7
Test duration calculator (23)
6.2
Experiment scheduler (28)
7.9
Experiment workflow and approval (19)
7.0
Dynamic experiment activation (18)
7.4
Client-side tests (30)
7.4
Server-side tests (10)
6.8
Mutually exclusive tests (20)
6.4
Standard visitor segmentation (42)
7.7
Behavioral visitor segmentation (31)
7.3
Traffic allocation control (40)
8.0
Website personalization (23)
6.8
Heatmap tool (8)
6.7
Click analytics (21)
7.3
Scroll maps (11)
7.1
Form fill analysis (9)
6.5
Conversion tracking (33)
7.5
Goal tracking (38)
7.5
Test reporting (40)
7.6
Results segmentation (35)
7.1
CSV export (25)
6.5
Experiments results dashboard (35)
7.1

About Optimizely

Optimizely is one of the leaders in digital experience optimization, and aims to allow businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According the the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

The vendor states that currently over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Integrations

SessionCam, AdBasis, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Optimizely Competitors

Optimizely Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No