Optimizely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (51-75 of 131)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

A two year view of Optimizely A/B and personalisation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple UX, easy to navigate
  • Powerful targeting and audience creation
  • Flexible and able to handle all our testing demands
  • Ability to save JS and CSS changes at the same time when using the code editor
  • A way to organise active tests into groups
  • A way to delete unnecessary archive tests and campaigns
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

Optimizely is Best In Class Enterprise Experimentation (with a Best In Class Price Tag)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very User-friendly
  • Large, Robust Source of Documentation and Use Cases
  • Optimizely-Based Support
  • Knowledge Community
  • Expensive SaaS - probably most expensive of it's kind in the marketplace
  • No Freemium model, which forces me to recommend other tools to our clients who are just getting started in testing
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

My amazing experience with Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Features flag managing
  • Experiment managing
  • Optimizely goes beyond classic A/B testing and allows you to manage many different variants.
  • I like it and I'm not able to provide you improvement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Very intuitive! Love it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive enough to set up a simple A/B test for any user
  • Being able to selecting testing components on the site
  • Reporting
  • Debugging feature
  • Debugging feature could be improved. It doesn't always work perfectly!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Optimizely review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Setting up simple tests.
  • Easy implementation.
  • Simple metrics to make conclusions based on the test results are easy to set up.
  • It's not complex enough in web interface changes and experience building.
  • It can interfere with the live versions of the page and disrupt the design.
  • Analytics platform does not integrate with popular tools like Adobe Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2019

Optimizely Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to use compared to other alternatives. Just add the script to the website.
  • Frees up our time.
  • You can test things out before actually implementing.
  • It is too expensive.
  • It needs to have a more visual data representation.
  • Customer service is slow.
Read this authenticated review
Thue Lægdsgaard Madsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Decent optimization tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is very easy to set up a test and split traffic to various test variations.
  • It has a decent smart editor for tests that only involve small changes.
  • The version that we use (Optimizely classic) has a decent amount of integration with other analysis tools.
  • It is way too expensive.
  • The editor is only useful when you run a test involving small/simple changes to your pages.
  • The support is lacking.
Read Thue Lægdsgaard Madsen's full review
Tigran Hakobyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Optimizely is a great A/B testing platform. Highly recommended!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy integration
  • Great platform for A/B testing
  • You can start and run experiments straight from the dashboard, no need to ask developers to change anything in the code
  • The pricing model was hard to understand and could be improved
  • Our website loading took longer when Optimizely code was added, would be great to see this improved/solved
  • Getting on board was easy, but still took some time to understand the details
Read Tigran Hakobyan's full review
Grant Wilkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

It's Easy as A/B/C - Experimentation Made Simple

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly and easily set up new A/B tests. Some tests can be completed in only a few minutes.
  • A robust results engine. It automatically creates segments based off URL parameters and other common criteria (new vs returning) in addition to predefined criteria you set up.
  • The support of the Optimizely implementation team and customer care is fantastic. Optimizely easily ranks as one of our best third party software vendors. They provide not just knowledge of how to use the tool, but how to build a culture around testing and experimentation within your company.
  • Acts as a great lightweight content management system for making temporary changes. We use Optimizely to make changes for 100% of traffic for controlling scheduled promotions and also bug fix patches while waiting for permanent fixes.
  • Geo-targeting for tests does not allow you to use ZIP Codes.
  • URL targeting does not have a mass upload option for lists of unrelated URLs. It does have substring and regular expression matches that cover most other needs.
  • The preview feature rarely works as expected. We run tests on a dedicated testing environment to preview and do QA.
Read Grant Wilkins's full review
Andrew Weitsman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2016

Optimizely A/B Testing Delivers Results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Test setup is fast and easy, without using many resources.
  • Customizable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance.
  • Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms.
  • Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.
  • Some rendering issues with older pages set to http: instead of https: (Optimizely is in the latter); there's a workaround that they provide, but users will need to know to look in the knowledgebase to find it.
  • Would like more baked-in metrics (e.g. time on site) and the opportunity to cross-compare different metrics (e.g. clicks as a percentage of engagement instead of visitors).
  • Occasional issues in rendering previews.
Read Andrew Weitsman's full review
Brynn Arego | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2016

Optimizely lets you test easily with low overhead.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Test setup is easy and doesn't take a lot of company resources.
  • The impact on page speed is incredibly small.
  • The results dashboard gives great insights to how your test is performing and you can track multiple goals.
  • I'd like to see more tools comparable to Visual Website Optimizer (VWO). Like user recordings and in page analytics.
  • If you have a dynamic area of information and edit it you pose a risk to making the page templates dynamic data static across the site. Pricing is a great example of this.
Read Brynn Arego's full review
Benjamin Himley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2016

Changed the way our front end development process worked in a great way!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick and easy test setup if you've got the html/css changes ready to go.
  • Detailed analytics, providing all sorts of quality information such as totals vs uniques.
  • Support always picks up the phone right away! Great with answering your questions and often also give suggestions on better ways to test
  • Please add more APIs for exporting data and integrate into a data warehouse so that we could perform our own analytics!
  • The Optimizely script sometimes slows page loading time.
  • It would be nice to be able to auto-pause experiments at a particular time.
Read Benjamin Himley's full review
Matthew Pimenta | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2016

Optimizely and You: An A/B Love Story

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely does fairly pain-free WYSIWYG web editing. Once the code has been implemented, it is easy to move around pieces of the website, resize and format different elements around the page. You don't need that much experience in coding to operate Optimizely, although it helps.
  • Optimizely allows the team to target and serve different pages based on UTM tags.
  • Optimizely allows unparalleled creativity in determining triggers for different pages to show. With Optimizely, you can discover the geographic location of users, reference this against the weather patterns in their area and serve a different website. This may be a particularly useful tool if your client is REI, for example. REI would benefit from showing a website optimized for cold-weather climates to cold weather climates. The same goes for more temperate and warm climates. Optimizing your website so that users find what they're looking for, convert, and stay longer is the goal. And Optimizely is a great way to start reaching that goal.
  • Perhaps in the certification exams - these seem much easier when described, but take a surprising amount of studying, especially into development specialties. It's mentioned that no developer skills are needed to pass certification, but very specific certification questions are asked regarding JavaScript, HTML, and tagging that the regular account manager or similar jobs wouldn't have knowledge of.
Read Matthew Pimenta's full review
Joseph Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Its a MUST HAVE - period.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Making quick variations on pages for testing - you can use the GUI or just whip up some jQuery so you can do more advanced tests.
  • Love the reporting/results page - once you establish real goals to measure it's just awesome.
  • At least in our network, the previews often never load - this could just be our network.
  • Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.
Read Joseph Taylor's full review
Sean Cleveland | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

If you are wanting to improve your site, use Optimizely!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their User Interface is so easy to use. You don't have to be a coder to set up a test. It's simply amazing.
  • Their support is by far the best I've ever experienced. They always pick up the phone right away and are so helpful to answer your questions and to also give suggestions on better ways to do your tests.
  • Sometimes it's a little tricky using third party jQuery plugins that we have on our site. It's not necessarily bad, but it could be better.
  • The reporting is good, but it could be more robust. Simply a data table with a time chart. Would be nice to have more of a graphical interaction for their reports.
Read Sean Cleveland's full review
Jeremy Bradford | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2015

Doing it fast with Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely has a very intuitive interface that really makes learning to use the tool quite easy. Even a complete novice can develop and deploy simple A/B tests with minimal effort.
  • Optiverse, Optimizely's support forum, is an excellent place to learn how to take your A/B testing to the next level. I've gone from running simple copy change tests to advanced multi-page funnel testing.
  • The ability to simply modify existing pages on your site rather than recreating them and redirecting traffic has been immensely valuable and allowed us to deploy tests much faster than we did before.
  • I'm often frustrated with how hard it is to monitor results from my phone. I wish there was a mobile optimized version of the results section. I'm often travelling on the weekends and need to check on our tests via my phone. It can be done, but it's a very sub-optimal experience.
  • I wish I could see the results of all my active tests on a single dashboard. Currently you have to drill into each experiment individually. Since I sometimes have as many as 10-15 experiments running, a good part of my day is spent monitoring a ton of open tabs for each test.
  • Just nitpicking, but it would be nice to be able to reorder your experiment's goals without having to exit editing mode and return to the main projects page.
Read Jeremy Bradford's full review
Renee Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2015

Optimizely Rocks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stellar support. Every person we've worked with on the support side has been knowledgeable and super helpful. Top notch for sure, and a great attitude to go along with the support.
  • The product is so easy to use. Flexible while being user-friendly. We are able to do things quickly and easily that we could not do - even with consultant support - with competitive software.
  • Community. The online community is great - it has great content, frequently updated with lots of people contributing. Most questions can be answered by checking the online community/online support. The community manager, Amanda, rocks!
  • Reporting/exporting is a challenge if you want to report on data across multiple campaigns. This may not be an issue for some, but for us we typically have multiple test campaigns set up in support of a particular project. We compile/aggregate results manually. We have to look up/export results campaign by campaign, which is time-consuming.
  • While the product, development/engineering, support and community folks at Optimizely are rock stars, their sales folks are not. Most of the people have impressed us in so many ways - so very customer-oriented, as Optimizely tends to be as a company/brand. However, from our perspective it's felt a little like the sales folks are not even part of the same organization. Very 'traditional' salesy. :(
  • We'd like to be able to set up multiple 'projects' in Optimizely for better/easier organization. However, each project requires its own code snippet for your site(s). This precludes us from creating multiple projects, and thus it's a little unwieldy in our interface. Also, since we have so many sites and campaigns, our code snippet is much larger than we would like. This again is a symptom of our own organization, where we have many, many sites (unlike many other companies).
Read Renee Thompson's full review
Brian DeLoach | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2015

Why we're happy with Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The interface is extremely easy to use. If you are a novice, the WYSIWYG allows you to easily make simple changes to your site. If you are comfortable doing so there is also the code editor which is powerful enough for you to make dramatic changes to your site.
  • Optimizely's support is top notch. This was the primary reason we switched from our previous testing provider. They have extensive knowledge in scripting and are always quick to respond with useful information.
  • Optimizely has created a community of A/B testers and optimizers that allows us to share ideas with other groups.
  • Optimizely doesn't seem as buttoned up on the sales side as they are on the product and support side. Granted those other groups set a very high bar.
  • Optimizely doesn't have a useful engagement metric out of the box. You have to integrate your analytics platform with it which for us was a challenge.
  • We were grandfathered in from a Platinum plan which Optimizely no longer uses; they now have Enterprise and Starter I believe. We assumed since we had the Platinum plan that we were converted to the Enterprise plan but when we tried to access certain features we realized that wasn't the case.
Read Brian DeLoach's full review
George McMullen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2015

If only I could use Optimizely to test this title - they make it so easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When we started implementing Optimizely on mobile (iOS and Android), the team at Optimizely was particularly helpful in working with the engineers and product team. This really accelerated the process for us to dive in and get started using the product.
  • The Optimizely team seems very passionate about helping their customers get the most out of their platform. They are always available to answer an e-mail, support request, forum post, jump on a phone call and even come by for a visit. On the flip side, they are always asking for feedback on the product, which provides a sense that we are working with a living, breathing company.
  • Optimizely has spent a lot of time understanding the intricacies of multivariate testing and statistical analysis and made it dead simple to see the results in their product. Even if your focus isn't around data, you can plainly see how your experiments are performing and focus on what you are best at. If you want to learn more, they've provided a lot of resources to help you understand concepts like statistical significance.
  • I'd like to see more APIs to be able to export data and integrate it ina data warehouse so that we could perform our own analytics.
  • Sometimes it's not obvious how long an experiment will need to run based on a product's existing traffic. Having an estimate integrated directly into the experiment would be very helpful.
  • Sometimes I am concerned that they've made things too simple to get in and start running experiments, without having proper constructs on what experiments you should be running and what you are actually testing. Just because you've seen results on testing a button in an early stage of a funnel does not mean your end conversion is going to change.
Read George McMullen's full review
Sergei Kogut | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2015

You could be testing in just minutes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B testing - this is the core functionality that Optimizely has always been great with and only got better as they add more functionality.
  • Test analytics - the reporting pages are great, the impact of the tests on revenue is extremely difficult to calculate correctly. Optimizely has made a lot of updates to their statistics engine, latest round of changes upset a lot of people, but it's still doing a great job presenting very complicated data in a simple way.
  • Personalization - still new and barely out of beta, but already looks promising and judging by the quality of the core product, A/B testing, this should be a hit with marketers as well.
  • Test results - the under the hood calculations could be more transparent, while the statistics engine does a ton of very complex calculations that we don't really need to see, in the end it provides one number for "statistical significance". As that number changes over time, sometimes its apparent fluctuations make no intuitive sense. This can make it difficult to justify test results to management and the rest of the team.
Read Sergei Kogut's full review
Robert Chan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2015

Optimizely is a Solid Platform for Testing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great for fast development especially with basic CSS components.
  • Transparent results allow results to be shared across all departments.
  • The user interface is very straightforward and Optimizely's free online documentation is an excellent resource.
  • Advance code has issues especially with conditional activation on heavy JavaScript frameworks.
  • Direct customer service via phone is not as transparent as it could be.
  • Experiments can take a while to load, and previewing is sometimes not accurate due to slow caching issues.
Read Robert Chan's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (46)
8.1
Split URL testing (36)
7.7
Multivariate testing (35)
7.7
Multi-page/funnel testing (51)
7.4
Cross-browser testing (26)
7.2
Mobile app testing (18)
6.4
Test significance (40)
7.0
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.1
Advanced code editor (37)
6.6
Page surveys (11)
6.4
Visitor recordings (14)
7.2
Preview mode (43)
6.8
Test duration calculator (23)
6.3
Experiment scheduler (28)
7.9
Experiment workflow and approval (19)
7.0
Dynamic experiment activation (18)
7.4
Client-side tests (30)
7.4
Server-side tests (10)
6.8
Mutually exclusive tests (20)
6.5
Standard visitor segmentation (42)
7.7
Behavioral visitor segmentation (31)
7.4
Traffic allocation control (40)
8.1
Website personalization (23)
6.9
Heatmap tool (8)
6.7
Click analytics (21)
7.4
Scroll maps (11)
7.1
Form fill analysis (9)
6.5
Conversion tracking (33)
7.5
Goal tracking (38)
7.6
Test reporting (40)
7.6
Results segmentation (35)
7.2
CSV export (25)
6.5
Experiments results dashboard (35)
7.2

About Optimizely

Optimizely is one of the leaders in digital experience optimization, allowing businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According the the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

Over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Integrations

SessionCam, AdBasis, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Optimizely Competitors

Optimizely Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No