Optimizely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (76-100 of 131)

Lisa Pinto-Hendron | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2015

Optimizely and Me: A Love Story

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely has a really powerful WYSIWYG editor. Not every marketing department is blessed with a talented developer. So this puts the power in the business user's hand, without getting bogged down in coding.
  • If you are blessed with a talented developer (as we are) you also have the option of doing very advanced coding through the Optimizely program. This gives us flexibility we never had before and a window to testing we never thought possible.
  • Optimizely segmentation is a power tool. The ability to customize the testing experience based on the segment is a strong advantage to any testing tool. We haven't even scratched the surface on the segments we can test through.
  • It would be helpful to add some advanced reporting. We have some scenarios where to only want to proof our test is to follow a user down a full path which can at times be harder to accomplish. We have solved this problem, mainly, by building customer trigger events.
  • A roll-up of past tests and their outcomes might be a nice feature. We have an offline report that our team lead develops at the end of each test.
Read Lisa Pinto-Hendron's full review
Abel Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2015

Taking the next step in your online business using Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The product itself is very user friendly. There are varying degrees of technical expertise on the teams that employ this program. The product's ease of use was a real selling point.
  • Their Customer Service has been nothing short of spectacular. We have a dedicated Account Manager who is really attentive to our questions and connects us the the correct person in their organization to help solve any issues we have.
  • Their developer API connections offer so many custom solutions that are not included out of the box. As each business is different, this flexibility has been a tremendous asset to continue to help us grow.
  • Showcase their users' implementations.
Read Abel Ramos's full review
Chad Wales | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2015

Why we chose Optimizely

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely UX is very easy to use and find what you're looking for / set-up small changes on the site.
  • Customer service has been amazing.
  • There is a great user community that helps answer questions. Chances are, someone has run into the same issue you're experiencing.
  • In some instances page load speed can be affected by the Optimizely tag. Fortunately, in all cases that this has impacted a test, customer service has helped speed up the test.
  • Some changes require dev effort. It would be nice if the tool had more functionality to limit dev and design resources.
Read Chad Wales's full review
John Freeborn | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2015

Optimizely is A/B testing for Marketers (not just code-heads)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • You can set up an experiment without any assistance from your IT staff (after implementation). We don't have to request and wait. We just create a test, deploy and learn.
  • The software is fairly easy to use, flexible and powerful–even for a non-coder.
  • The reporting is really easy to digest and gets you a detailed picture of your test and your testing goals. If you choose to implement the test 100% that is simply a click away.
  • The reporting could be better, maybe more standard. We use Google Analytics on top of the Optimizely reports to verify and dig deeper.
  • If you aren't careful you could easily break your site. This isn't a flaw exactly, but is a potential pitfall.
  • I've heard complaints from IT staff that Optimizely adds too much weight to the page loads.
Read John Freeborn's full review
Ryan Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Optimizely - It's Good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides a dead simple way to get up and running with AB and MVT testing on your web properties via its super simple installation and highly intuitive variation WYSIWYG based editor.
  • Open and transparent with its inner workings. Curious what that WYSIWYG editor is actually doing? Optimizely provides full access to all variation code. Don't like WYSIWYG editors? Handwrite the standard Javascript based variation code yourself. Uncomfortable with code executing on your site that you can't see? Simply append the "optimizely_log=true" parameter to any URL on your website with an experiment running and check the Javacript console. You'll see a highly verbal log of all that is happening. Want to programmatically execute experiments yourself? Checkout Optimizely's extensive API (https://www.optimizely.com/docs/api)
  • Not just for beginners. Being "enterprise" doesn't have to mean being hard to use. See comment above.
  • Very competitively priced.
  • Offers competitive segmenting capabilities which allow you to target experiments based on location, operating system, device type, referral, javascript variables, cookie values, URL patterns of all kinds, and more.
  • Supports mobile web testing with intuitive tools and emulators to create experiments specifically for mobile and tablet devices.
  • Allows you to create custom user segments that can be reused across experiments.
  • Ability to organize and group experiments under "Projects" which can have their own granular user permissions. Ex: Give a partner or member of your team admin access to one set of experiments and read-only access to others.
  • Provides a very simple set of tools to create and track custom experiment goals such as "mouse click" events on a specific button or traffic goals to a specific URL.
  • Ability to demo the product immediately without an initial sales call.
  • With a recent $28 million round of investment, you can feel confident that Optimizely has the funding to stay in business for a long time and continue to disrupt this market. (http://blog.optimizely.com/2013/04/10/optimizely-raises-28-million-to-go-global/)
  • Optimizely does not support the use of alternative algorithms for judging experiment winners such as those of the "bandit" and "adaptive" nature. I can only imagine that doing this would be highly complex, but the ability to select different algorithms could be killer and a true differentiator. I know of no other optimization software vendor that provides algorithmic choices for judging experiment performance.
  • Optimizely is not yet able to ingest and segment off of more advanced and / or custom data sources such as your own CRM data, weather and census data, data from re-targeters like BlueKai, and other fancy data sets that some of the other major players have. There are ways to build work arounds via their segment API and custom targeting variables, but it would be nice if more advanced, pre-built segmentation conditions were included in the product.
  • The integration with Google Analytics, while extremely easy to set-up, leaves a bit to be desired. Its dependent on Custom Variable slots of which you only get 5 if you are not GA Premium (most aren't), and it does things with visitor scope that make repeat visit conversion tracking challenging to do over the course of an experiment without custom Google Analytics JS code to manually set GA visitor scope. That said, there are also work arounds for this as well.
  • There's no experiment version control. You'll often find yourself having to hard refresh while editing variations within an experiment without saving to revert your changes. Not the end of the world because there is this and other work arounds, but it's a nice to have. Again, it's important to point out that few have others have this capability.
Read Ryan Garner's full review
Albert Wavering | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

Expensive But Awesome and Powerful Optimization Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up test variations, either with their visual tools or with Javascript.
  • Easy to describe goals - can be clicks on a page element, page views, or custom Javascript.
  • Can segment and target visitors based on URL, referral information, custom Javascript conditions, or a number of other variables.
  • Good for previewing and testing variations prior to launching tests - has great live preview functionality and integrates with cross browser testing tools.
  • Has good flexibility and control over implementation - especially important for avoiding the flash of unstyled content problem, as well as Javascript race conditions.
  • API lets you integrate with Google Analytics or other third-party analytics system.
  • Javascript frontend sometimes loads slowly or requires refresh to load completely.
Read Albert Wavering's full review
Keith Lovgren | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Using Optimizely Has Been a Boon For Our Business - Read this review to find out why

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Split testing unique value propositions - Honestly, split testing text could not be any easier AND the reporting that we're able to deliver is top notch.
  • Experiments that allow you to segment visitors in a variety of ways. One example - first time visitors often behave much differently than repeat visitors. With Optimizely, you can set up tests that are unique to each group.
  • Split testing by traffic source. Need a test just for Facebook users? Twitter users? Or any other referral source can be set up in a matter of minutes.
  • When you look at the price point of the platform there really aren't any "weak points" but as this format requires you to list something here they are.
  • Reporting is great but I'd love a way to export all segments a bit easier like in Google Analytics. I've heard the Optimizely team is working on this so we should see it soon
  • I'd love a client manager like the "My Client Center" in google adwords we use to manage multiple paid search accounts with a single log in.
Read Keith Lovgren's full review
Jane Morgan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2014

Considering A/B testing? Set up in minutes and move the marketing discussion from opinions to results.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple to set up and use
  • Accessible to everyone on the marketing team; no web design technical knowledge required
  • Solid results to make objective business decisions; eliminating well-intended but uninformed opinions
  • Would be nice to see an overall score trended over time for all tests. i.e. show the team whether overall the type of tests being run are improving or getting worse. Need to ensure this does not discourage testing.
  • Some of the navigation is a little odd e.g. sometime things open in windows/tabs when you'd expect them to remain in the same window.
Read Jane Morgan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2018

Optimizely is at the top of the list

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely offers a number of great features that other testing services do not.
  • Optimizely allows us to test within certain timeframes and in specific timezones.
  • One of the cooler features Optimizely offers is its multivariate testing. It automates multiple tests at one time.
  • My biggest con is that the service is much more expensive than its competitors.
  • There are too many tiers to the services. The basic tier, which is still pricey only gets you simple A/B tests and not all the bells and whistles.
  • It did not allow me to extend the account to other managers in my department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Powerful Optimization Tool -- But comes with a price.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely has a great WYSIWYG editor, very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you also have access to the raw code, which I go in frequently to clean up things that the editor may have done.
  • I'm a huge fan of Optimizely's targeting criteria. I know that I can run tests on my site based on almost an audience I'd like.
  • I really enjoy Optimizely's analytics and reporting. They allow you to choose which metrics you're looking for, then they have built in confidence percentages to show you at a glance how your test is running.
  • Optimizely used to be free, now it's pretty expensive. Luckily, my account was grandfathered in, but I really think they're making a mistake by moving to a paid-only model instead of a freemium.
  • Sometimes there is a "flicker" when your page first loads where you can see the original page before the experience loads. Most visitors probably won't notice but it is not desirable.
  • The reporting doesn't always match up to the same stuff I see in Google Analytics. I know there is multiple reasons that this could be happening, but it is something to keep in mind when analyzing your data.
Read this authenticated review
Alvin Ding | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2014

A required tool in any online marketer's toolbox.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Optimizely's user interface is simple enough to use and understand quickly. You can select elements to track by just clicking on them.
  • Optimizely's goals are easy to set up.
  • Optimizely has a lot of great resources that help educate it's users.
  • The way goal targeting works is a bit confusing.
  • The snippet verification never seems to detect our snippet. Regardless, the tests run fine and are tracked properly.
Read Alvin Ding's full review
Aaron Metzger | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2014

Optimizely is a must-have resource for any business that has a strong investment in the digital atmosphere.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B testing on-the-fly to measure multiple metrics efficiently.
  • Easy implementation and reporting features makes beginning tests and tracking progress easy.
  • A large database of resources to help those new to optimization set up their tests and expand their ability to use the software effectively.
  • The ability to group certain tests together and allow for one report would be nice. We test multiple pages at a time, and having the ability to look at one screen to track results would be a big win for us.
  • Some delicate html or javascript does break when using Optimizely. So large-scale changes may be best handled by using redirects instead of the on-page tools.
Read Aaron Metzger's full review
Ben Beck | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2014

Easy and quick to setup and use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use - point and click WYSIWYG editor if you like that method.
  • Easy to setup - put code on all pages sitewide (with a simple include statement in the header) and you're ready to roll!
  • Great price - compared to competing products you really can't beat the price!
  • Their code snippet (Javascript) that they run on the page has been HUGE - it keeps paused test code in the on page script... which gets unwieldy after you run lots of tests. Thankfully, Optimizely just announced that they're fixing this issue to lighten the code on the frontend. Haven't tried it yet though to see how well it works.
Read Ben Beck's full review
Martin Vinter | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2014

Optimizely helped us Optimize

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great ease of use, also for users with little or no programming skills.
  • So far, it has been possible to run most of the tests we've needed even though we could not forsee what the future would bring when we first decided to go with Optimizely rather than the alternatives.
  • Fast and competent email support, ok knowledge base.
  • Segmented results are only available in the most expensive plan.
  • WYSIWYG editor is not suitable to build completely new pages.
  • Copy-Paste function missing in editor.
  • Only one custom variable available for revenue, lead values etc.
Read Martin Vinter's full review
Michelle Kubot | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2014

You Need to Be Optimizing Your Website, and Optimizely is the Ideal Soltuion for Most Companies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multivariate Testing: Run many variation tests
  • Easy to use: Can design changes within the interface and after the first install, no additional code is needed
  • Cross-Browser Testing: Allows you to test the changes in many browsers
  • Advanced options: I have had some issues configuring very advanced tests
Read Michelle Kubot's full review
Rachel Collinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2014

Brilliant product let down by speed issues

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's so easy to set up a split test even if you have no coding knowledge
  • It's good at tracking the results
  • You can do multivariate testing
  • Great interface
  • The main problem I had with Optimizely is that it caused test pages to render much more slowly than pages where the Optimizely embed code wasn't being used. Given how important speed is to the web and to ROI, this is a serious problem, and as a result I try to use Optimizely as little as possible.
Read Rachel Collinson's full review
Brett Florio | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2014

Integral part of our approach to marketing & onboarding.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use. Whether we're doing redirects or changing the DOM, it's pretty easy to figure out.
  • Segment.io integration. Makes it trivially easy to implement and to reuse our existing events and goals.
  • Reasonable pricing.
  • Tests that involve redirects can be a little awkward to setup and modify.
  • No serverside tracking for longer-term events. (We use KISSmetrics for this though, and Optimizely connects nicely with that.)
Read Brett Florio's full review
Jacob Wilen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2014

A visual designer's point of view

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great user interface that I was able to learn quickly. I was up and running within one hour.
  • Optimizely creates temporary interactive layers, almost like "stickers" that can be placed, replaced and adjusted without major repercussions sitewide.
  • Since we started using Optimizely, we are able to take more creative risks and see what helps reach our customers and what doesn't.
  • As a designer, it is great to get in there and make minor tweaks to alignment and typography without having to take up a developer's time.
  • It would be wonderful to see the design WSYISWG interface expanded. Right now it works well, but is somewhat limited.
Read Jacob Wilen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (46)
8.1
Split URL testing (36)
7.7
Multivariate testing (35)
7.7
Multi-page/funnel testing (51)
7.4
Cross-browser testing (26)
7.2
Mobile app testing (18)
6.4
Test significance (40)
7.0
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.1
Advanced code editor (37)
6.6
Page surveys (11)
6.4
Visitor recordings (14)
7.2
Preview mode (43)
6.8
Test duration calculator (23)
6.3
Experiment scheduler (28)
7.9
Experiment workflow and approval (19)
7.0
Dynamic experiment activation (18)
7.4
Client-side tests (30)
7.4
Server-side tests (10)
6.8
Mutually exclusive tests (20)
6.5
Standard visitor segmentation (42)
7.7
Behavioral visitor segmentation (31)
7.4
Traffic allocation control (40)
8.1
Website personalization (23)
6.9
Heatmap tool (8)
6.7
Click analytics (21)
7.4
Scroll maps (11)
7.1
Form fill analysis (9)
6.5
Conversion tracking (33)
7.6
Goal tracking (38)
7.6
Test reporting (40)
7.6
Results segmentation (35)
7.2
CSV export (25)
6.5
Experiments results dashboard (35)
7.2

About Optimizely

Optimizely is one of the leaders in digital experience optimization, allowing businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According the the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

Over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Integrations

SessionCam, AdBasis, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Optimizely Competitors

Optimizely Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No