Oracle Analytics Server

Oracle Analytics Server
Formerly Oracle BI Foundation Suite

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Oracle Analytics Server

Overview

Recent Reviews

Fantastic BI Solution

10 out of 10
March 03, 2022
Multiple departments use Oracle Analytics Server for Data visualization and Operational Data Modeling. It is lightning-fast for accessing …
Continue reading

The multi-purpose BI solution

10 out of 10
February 16, 2022
We used the tool for Analytics purposes on HR data of employees of a huge financial institution (bank). The tool served as an excellent …
Continue reading

BI Unchained

10 out of 10
September 19, 2019
The solution is targeted for use across the whole organization. It addresses revenue collection trends, analyses areas of improvement …
Continue reading

Great BI Software

8 out of 10
December 26, 2018
At our cyber services consulting firm we have been long-term customers of Oracle Enterprise products. We purchased the Oracle BI …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 28 features

Publish to PDF (40)

9.1
91%

Formatting capabilities (40)

8.0
80%

Mobile Application (54)

7.5
75%

Report Formatting Templates (40)

7.2
72%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle Analytics Server, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Oracle Analytics Server?

Oracle Analytics Server, replacing the former Oracle BI Foundation Suite is a business intelligence reporting and analytics platform. It provides users with a series of integrated tools for ad-hoc query and analysis, dashboard and scorecard creation, enterprise reporting, mobile analytics,…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

5 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft BI (MSBI)?

Microsoft BI is a business intelligence product used for data analysis and generating reports on server-based data. It features unlimited data analysis capacity with its reporting engine, SQL Server Reporting Services alongside ETL, master data management, and data cleansing.

What is Tableau Server?

Tableau Server allows Tableau Desktop users to publish dashboards to a central server to be shared across their organizations. The product is designed to facilitate collaboration across the organization. It can be deployed on a server in the data center, or it can be deployed on a public cloud.

Features Scorecard

BI Standard Reporting

8.3
83%

Ad-hoc Reporting

8.3
83%

Report Output and Scheduling

9.0
90%

Data Discovery and Visualization

8.4
84%

Access Control and Security

8.7
87%

Mobile Capabilities

7.5
75%

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Oracle Analytics Server?

Oracle Analytics Server (OAS) supersedes the Oracle Business Intelligence (BI) Foundation Suite. It is an on-premises self-service visualization and augmented AI analytics platform. It provides a full range of capabilities including AI that surfaces key insights in datasets, data enrichment features that automatically recommend new elements for analysis, machine learning capabilities for both traditional and citizen data scientists, data visualizations for dashboards and reporting.

Customers that choose this self-managed on-premises or private cloud deployment can manage upgrades on their schedule and implement customization options such as custom skins/styles, metadata, messaging and more.

Key features

  • Easy to use ad-hoc query and analysis
  • Comprehensive suite of data visualizations
  • High quality enterprise reporting
  • Scalable multidimensional OLAP server for forward-looking analysis
  • Mobile app optimized for touch interactions
  • Geospatial mapping and visualization
  • Integrated scorecard and strategy management
  • Ability to act on insight by invoking business processes from within BI
  • Common Enterprise Information Model
  • Machine Learning
  • Natural Language Query

Oracle Analytics Server Competitors

Oracle Analytics Server Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Analytics Server?

Oracle Analytics Server, replacing the former Oracle BI Foundation Suite is a business intelligence reporting and analytics platform. It provides users with a series of integrated tools for ad-hoc query and analysis, dashboard and scorecard creation, enterprise reporting, mobile analytics, multidimensional OLAP, and predictive analytics.

What is Oracle Analytics Server's best feature?

Reviewers rate Report Delivery Scheduling highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Oracle Analytics Server?

The most common users of Oracle Analytics Server are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 47)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 03, 2022

Fantastic BI Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use Oracle Analytics Server for Data visualization and Operational Data Modeling. It is lightning-fast for accessing huge volumes of data and also generating reports. The data set connectivity is compatible with any data source or format. Oracle Analytics Server also has AI and Machine Learning which makes our lives easier.
  • Enterprise level data modeling
  • Accurate forecasting
  • Mobile access of information with security in place
  • Not applicable
The entire deployment and configuration stage was easy and it was accessible across the organization in a matter of days. Oracle Analytics Server being a cloud-based solution helped right from Input of Bulk Data to Info preparation, Data cleaning, and finally Data Modeling. Everything was visual and the Help Wizard was very intuitive.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has simplified the process of data visualization. We can use multiple data structures in this. It is compatible with all the different data sets that Oracle provides for data visualization. We can also implement dynamic functionality based on different business needs. It's a highly recommended application for achieving any data visualization functionalities in oracle.
  • Oracle invoice prints
  • Oracle check print
  • Oracle receipt print
  • It can be improved by providing more functionality like addition of CLOB data
We have multiple client requirements for printing different sets of report output. For example, we have check printing for the Bank of America which we are going to achieve through BI publisher functionality another example is related to the invoices which we sent to customers there also we use this BI publisher application which has eased the process of printing reports
February 17, 2022

OAS Review for fun!

George Yates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To look at internal usage data and figure out new ways to optimize the user experience. This helps us solve the problems inherent with siloed data and to create one unified pane of glass for all of our reporting needs, whether it be to executives or presenting to the product organization.
  • Connecting to a myriad of data sources
  • Providing easy to use data visualization options
  • Building report ready dashboards that update automatically
  • Design is a little archaic/dated
  • Ease of use could be better
  • Missing some functions present in newer platforms
Oracle Analytics Server is really well suited to being able to build a wide variety of dashboards that can be detailed enough to communicate deep insights, while also being visually well prepared enough to be ready to present to an executive level team. It struggles with outside of the norm visualizations and more complex scenarios.
Ankit Gada ☑ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1. Since the entire stack in one of the organization's modules is in oracle, it is super smooth to use Oracle Analytics. We were having a transaction database. We used data exploration over-reporting tables. We were able to create great visualizations with the help of simple clicks. No need to write any code. It's a simple drag and drop. We had a star schema and developed our reports to showcase important key metrics and trend charts.
  • It's integration with SAP is really well unlike other tools
  • Customization of the reports is super easy
  • Provides robust reporting
  • Inbuild modern charts are lacking
  • Customer support is not so great
  • Space is limited to 40gb for uploading the data to cloud
1. It is suited for transaction databases as well as relational databases 2. If you want a secure reporting then blindly go for it 3. It has an advanced AI build-in feature which can help in report forecast 4. If you have a full oracle stack then this will integrate really well
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are looking to both use and sell products that help us monitor and aggregate data for us and our clients. Oracle's name and reputation are one that is not surpassed. We believe using advanced analytical programs, like Oracle's, will help us stay on top of emerging technologies as well as accomplish our goal of utilizing the data of our company and clients to its fullest.
  • Find anomalies.
  • Understand anomalies.
  • Fix anomalies.
  • Help prevent the problems that it shows us.
  • More AI but with human back up.
  • Less mumbo jumbo so even IT guys/gals can more easily work.
  • More statistics (math) and orientation for those not familiar with it.
  • More live as well as virtual (live) show casing of real situations in business.
Oracle, for anyone that is slightly interested in the goings-on within companies, especially large influential ones on a world scale, know that like IBM and such, is soo admired, that even entities larger than it, have tried to 'knock it' down. But as in life and with man, it is impossible to keep a good thing 'down'. :)
  • Online training
It is surprisingly smooth and covers areas we never contemplated.
Wiliam de Faria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed an AI analytics platform to provide a full range of capabilities, including AI that quickly presented key insights into your datasets, data enrichment capabilities that automatically recommended new elements for analysis, and machine learning capabilities to the insurance company's data scientists.
  • Natural language query.
  • Machine learning on data.
  • Data enrichment features.
  • Dashboard.
  • Data enrichment has slower new data discovery performance and its configuration is difficult.
  • News templates for dashboard.
Recommendation for the artistic composition of multiple corporate dashboards and filmmaker's data work. Not recommended as a PII or GDPR data discovery source.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the tool for Analytics purposes on HR data of employees of a huge financial institution (bank). The tool served as an excellent solution to Analytical questions the organisation wanted to ask. HR problems were solved using the BI Answers . Our scope of use case is pretty bast given that the data source was considerably huge
  • Adhoc reports
  • Graphs and Map features
  • Wide data connectivity options
  • Semantic layer
  • UI design
  • More Graphic solutions
  • Drill across implementation
It's an Excellent BI tool for mainly large organisations looking for a single source of truth for BI purposes. Its wide range of features can be used for an entire organization with very good control of Authentication implementation without hassles. Also caters the use of medium sized organization well . Not so worthy of the data source is less and the users are less(usually smaller companies with size less than 1000)
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By being able to view various analytics in my organization I am able to make faster and more informed decisions. Before Oracle one of our key issues was having trust worthy data in a consolidated, easy to find place. In addition it helps keep everyone on the same page by showing the same data to everyone who has access to the dashboard.
  • Accurate information
  • Ease of use
  • Good pricing
  • Better guidance on implementation
The most used scenario in our organization is the view of our recurring revenue. It is key for our managers to have access to the same data so that everyone is on the same page. This is also especially great for our finance department as they can view our numbers in real time.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OBIEE with Oracle EBS. Our Finance department uses our OBIEE reports. Our problem is that our EBS data models for the database are not smooth.
  • Proactive detection and alerts.
  • Interactive dashboards.
  • Office integration.
  • User-friendly.
  • Difficulty of use.
  • Data blending.
  • Speed of change.
Adding a new column or a new calculated field or a new table in OBIEE could take several days to months depending on each company’s processes.
Combining data from OBIEE with other external data is not possible for an end-user or superuser.
Aissam Drai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation is used in our procurement and human resources departments. We also use a custom interface using Oracle BI DW and ODI to report on key metrics for the management to gain visibility to enterprise data. The main goal behind using BI is to gain visibility to data for better decision making.
  • Data Security - Who should see what
  • Seamlessly integrates with Oracle Applications
  • Built in Analytics (OBIA) based on best practices
  • User Interface could be improved to provide the user with a better user experience and better visuals
Oracle BI Foundation is well suited for enterprise data visibility in the format of dashboards. Oracle BI Foundation is less suited for operational reporting that needs to be generated instantly to manage the day-to-day operations in an enterprise.
Oracle BI Foundation is suited to report across platforms and bringing information from different sources.
September 19, 2019

BI Unchained

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The solution is targeted for use across the whole organization. It addresses revenue collection trends, analyses areas of improvement where revenues could be developed further. It also assists management in decision making with regards to expenditure.
  • Being a web based application that runs on an active production environment, it is amazingly light on network utilization and overall resources consumption on the server running it.
  • It has thousands of customizations to generate literally any dataset. This makes it overwhelmingly robust and adaptable.
  • The cloud option cuts acquisition costs by more than half in terms of overheads as compared to on-premise installations.
  • You now don't need to be an Oracle forms developer to be able to customize this powerful tool.
  • It has a fantastic and user friendly GUI.
  • For extremely large databases, data pulling tends to take awhile longer than expected.
  • It is already affordable but we could all use better discounts for the complete edition.
It is best suited for ALL reporting and analytic scenarios really. I can't think of a scenario where it less appropriate or not appropriate to the best of my knowledge. It is simply to die for. It is especially best suited for customer facing scenarios especially.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Business Intelligence Foundation Suite, which I will refer from hereon as OBIEE has been heavily used by my current company. We have been using OBIEE for a while but in a limited area. In 2015 thru the 1ADM project, JDE was implemented as an ERP system in ADM. Then OBIEE and its suite of products were chosen for the reporting, data and analytics portion. OBIEE is being used by the whole organization. Some are heavy users and others are moderate. Adhoc query, robust dashboards and enterprise-level reporting are some of the most used features in our company. OBIEE has helped us to solve many business issue and concerns but the main area where it brings value is in operation thru the timely supply of vital information.
  • OBIEE does the ad-hoc query very well. as long as the data is governed, the ad-hoc query is a robust and heavily used feature.
  • OBIEE has one of the best dashboard feature in enterprise level reporting.
  • It has a robust feature for the analytics and data analysis.
  • If scorecards are designed and implemented properly, OBIEE can become every department's go-to tool for reporting.
  • It is expensive to implement.
  • It is time consuming to implement.
  • The learning curve is not as flat as some of the other products in the market for general users.
For a larger sized company that is very process-oriented, this tool can be a blessing. Governed data will give good results, otherwise, it can be a waste of time and money. Compared to the cost and time of implementation and training, participation and buy-in from all departments are important to see the ROI.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI is being used by the majority of our organization if not by all. It helps address gaps in our organization through data analysis on dashboards. It helps in understanding the progress of different departments across the organization and gives real-time updates on the performance of various reports that were customized and created using this tool.
  • Oracle helps with easy customization of reports.
  • It helps with the creation of dashboards and the integration of different data sources.
  • Oracle BI was a package used for multiple users across our organization - publishing and distributing reports was a breeze.
  • The tool requires coding and training.
  • The UI is not as intuitive as it should be - there can be improvements to make the reports sharp.
  • The mobile experience should be in-built and automated. The plugins should be available so that the primary focus will be left on reports.
The tool is still very good considering the complexities in data that can be modified within the tool using SQL queries. It can be used with advanced coding to integrate data from non-coherent sources. The only place where it is slightly less appropriate is where there is not a crisp UI. The UI and mobile experience could be more intuitive.
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle BI Foundation Suite is used by my Department. The Oracle BI Foundation Suite has two main purposes. First, for real-time data visualization. Second, for analytics on questions individuals may have.
  • The visualizations produced by Oracle BI Foundation are fairly good.
  • Oracle BI Foundation Suites is easy to use.
  • The software is relatively straight-forward is collaborating with others.
  • Although the visualizations are decent, they are nowhere near as nice as the charts produced by Tableau and other BI software tools.
  • Because Oracle BI Foundation Suite is relatively less well-known, finding help online is not as easy as other BI tools.
  • The BI Foundation Suite offers some analytics but is not as advanced as other tools in machine learning, and other analytics processes.
I would recommend Oracle BI Foundation Suite for two reasons. First, if you already use other Oracle tools, BI Foundation Suite will fit in nicely. Second, Oracle BI is relatively easy to learn and the collaborative ability with co-workers is quite nice.
December 26, 2018

Great BI Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our cyber services consulting firm we have been long-term customers of Oracle Enterprise products. We purchased the Oracle BI Foundations module to address the analytics and reporting needs of our firm. This software is used by our IT development office and is used for report generation from our backend data warehouse.
  • One of the best features of this new software tool is its ability to generate pixel-perfect reports and data visualizations.
  • We also have fully customizable, dynamic dashboards that can be quickly shared or embedded in different reports as well.
  • The product is fairly expensive and due to its complexity, a vendor supported implementation is generally necessitated, thereby driving the costs even higher.
  • Collaboration and version controlling features require more work.
I think its been a great tool for us and has added value to our data analytics and reporting functionalities.
December 24, 2018

Comprehensive BI suite

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using a number of Oracle products at our company and recently purchased the BI Foundation Suite to address our analytics and reporting needs. Presently we are on version 12 of the software product. We use it in our IT department to generate monthly reports for our marketing and sales teams.
  • Can create pixel-perfect reports for mobile phone usage as well.
  • It has best in its class integration capabilities with a wide multitude of software tools and middleware components.
  • Oracle BI has support for intelligent dashboards that can be customized for individual users.
  • Real-time report collaboration features are lacking in this software.
  • Due to the complexity of the software product and insufficient community user support groups, a vendor implementation became necessary for our case.
Oracle BI Foundation is well suited for serving reporting and analytics needs for mid-size and large companies. It features scheduled reporting and robust security architecture.
Vineet Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI is being used for pretty long time now for addressing our reporting and analytics needs. We have been upgrading the suite appropriately as the versions are available and are currently on v 12. This is one of the key reporting tools for our organization. It addresses number of daily, monthly and ad-how reporting solutions.
  • Ease of development and quick turnouts as the build is easier compared to some other BI tools for both reporting developers as well as the power users. The RPD development is comparatively easier to build for star schemas and also the subject areas are easier to use by the power users.
  • Easy integration of Mobile BI interface and sharing features in the same layer.
  • Easy integration of other functionality like MapViewer. Multi database type integration is enabled which is not really a distinctive feature in market, but has been improved a lot in OBIEE now.
  • Oracle BI suite needs to overhaul the visualization features as well as the look and feel to improve the ease of use for audience which is familiar with new java based tools.
  • The knowledge base available on Oracle repository or forum needs to be more relevant and updated .
  • They need to keep updating their drivers list or integration with other databases or blending tools/ MDX sources. This is one of the difficulties we faced, causing development cost and time to market impacted.
Well suited for standard reporting or enterprise reporting requirements. Scheduled reports or ad-hoc prompt based /power user report builder capabilities are very good. It has an excellent integration model with Essbase and Oracle Exadata kind of relational back ends. No doubt of it’s strength on end to end enterprise reporting capabilities.
Less appropriate for cool visualization or dynamic interactive dashboards or analytics, D3 kind of capabilities. I found other tools or java based open sources much better in market.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle BI Foundation Suite is primarily used by the data analytics team of my organization. In particular, OBIEE 11g is used. Although the tool is primarily used and managed by the data analytics team, the use cases of OBIEE 11g apply to various departments and pillars across the entire organization. Reports generated by OBIEE are the primary source of actionable insights for most business decisions on a much higher level.
  • Can be used by business folk as well, without any in-depth knowledge of writing queries.
  • Automation of a lot of functions makes it very handy to avoid heavy mechanical tasks.
  • Offers great level of control in terms of data access and restrictions.
  • Provides diverse scheduling options - time triggered, event triggered, data dependent, etc.
  • Some issues that require the assistance of support at Oracle can be time-consuming and difficult to solve.
  • Upgrade from 10g to 11g has made the OBI Foundation Suite very performance intensive. Requires much better hardware support now.
  • Initial setup is not as straightforward as that of previous versions.
For an organization that deals with a wide range of reporting needs and also has to handle huge volumes of data that are required for sourcing these reports, Oracle Business Intelligence Foundation Suite provides a great tool in terms of both performance and usage. The layered approach to usage allows both data analysts as well as business analysts to be able to use OBIEE comfortably. However, the premium licensing cost of OBIEE makes it difficult for most startups and low-budget business to afford.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a wide range of users in different teams. The primary and most used feature is the business dashboard, which gives an instant overview of the status of all products and services. Some users will be able to drill down if they wish, to more details sections and dig in deeper in their areas of interest.
  • It integrates well with an Oracle database as the data warehouse.
  • Heterogeneous data sources can also be configured and used.
  • It provides certain automation capabilities.
  • Some queries generated can be further improved in terms of query performance.
It is better suited for well-designed and organized data warehouses and data marts. It can take time to get full advantage of all of the features, and users need to be trained and user's active sessions need to be monitored for occasional unrealistic queries generated. It is probably less suited for un-refined raw data.
Ashwini Chandorkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle BI Foundation Suite Enterprise edition to meet our day to day analytical needs. We have been using Oracle BI in different departments like logistics, IT, etc. The important thing about the tool which makes it faster and reliable is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own DB tool.
  • Oracle BI Foundation suite is an overall package of enterprise reporting, multi-dimensional analytical processing, and real-time quick reporting.
  • Oracle BI Foundation has Exalytics, which delivers fast performance reports.
  • It has the flexibility to run on different platforms as it is built on Java.
  • The tool is not easy to use.
  • Oracle BI reporting of administration needs to be simplified for better administration and maintenance.
Oracle Business Intelligence allows me to extract data to write and modify reports to use with all sorts of data analytics. It did not prepare dashboards, it mostly prepares data to Excel.
Hemant Prabhakar Patil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Oracle BI Foundation across the organization for different departments like sales, marketing, finance, and renewal contracts. It helps various business departments to analyse the data for making better business decisions.
  • We can use the pre-built Oracle BI Apps model & dashboard/reports in OBIEE. This provides real ease to analyze the data for every business areas of organization with pre-defined KPIs.
  • Oracle BI Foundation includes BI Publisher which supports varied options for delivering the reports via email, printer, shared location, fax. BI Publisher also provides all language compatibility support.
  • Oracle BI Foundation has Exalytics, which delivers amazingly fast performance reports in combination with the Times Ten Database.
  • It's easy to integrate OBIEE & BI Publisher and that provides the flexibility to use BI Publisher for report template building based out of OBIEE Model.
  • OBIEE can provide some changes in the user interface, which has been carried out with the same look and feel almost from version 10 to 12c.
Oracle BI Foundation Suite becomes perfect to use when organizations are also using Oracle EBS for order management, service contracts, install base modules and all other modules of EBS. OBIEE pre-built BI apps and reports/dashboards can be used easily. Oracle BI Foundation Suite is best suited for enterprise-wide reporting. OBIEE requires understanding on the subject area model to create better reports when compared to other simple tools out in the market to build the reports.
Federico Shortrede | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OBI to solve needs from different departments, such as supply, logistics, production and IT itself. It helps us to obtain statistics from our different processes and to help with making decisions. We also have a control panel for logistics, so the mills can know in advance about arriving trucks.
  • Analyze information at different levels of aggregation.
  • Graphs and charts are easily produced.
  • It is very nice to organize the screen with different views of the same information, all with common parameters. So you can analyze related information from many point of view, all in the same page.
  • It is very flexible to add fields to the report, to change orders, to transform a column into a parameter and vice versa.
  • I think it should evolve in its graphic capabilities to compete more strongly with other market tools.
  • It has good capabilities to integrate maps with information. However, this feature is sold separately, and is quite expensive. That's why, even when we need it, we decided not to use it.
  • In South America there are many resources that really dominate the tool. For this reason, or you end up paying very expensive values ​​for resources, or you end up working with consultants with knowledge of other tools. This in general allows us to develop the models that are needed, but we are definitely not making the most of all the capabilities.
I would use it with solutions that are already running with Oracle databases. And complemented with Oracle Desktop Integrator (ODI) it is really easy to integrate it with other data sources. However, if most of my main applications had a database I would seriously evaluate before deciding on OBI.
Yoganand Shinde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation was used to make a middle layer for ad-hoc reports and analysis by users. It can connect various sources and can model DW for BI reports and analysis. Then it has its own powerful tool for report and dashboard development. I have also worked with the Oracle Strategy Management tool which is a very great way to present strategy management budgeted vs. actual KPI values.
  • Middle layer where we can model data for any complex requirement. On presentation layer, we can make it very business friendly.
  • Very powerful capability and even customization by languages/scripts is available.
  • Data Security and Object security are very strong. It is provided various [types of] granularity.
  • Formatting and look & feel is not so great for default development unless you make efforts on it.
  • For simple things or quick developments, it takes considerable efforts to bring it completion from end to end.
Oracle BI Foundation is a very effective and proven tool for ad-hoc analysis. The latest versions like OBI12c and BICS are cloud-based - keeping the future in mind.
Sumeet Saraf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation Suite is implemented for an automobile industry in Sydney and has been used by its major departments. The main purpose of the tool is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own BI tool which makes it faster, reliable and easy to manage. It mainly addresses the problem of extensions of existing reports to major reports or dashboards, SQL based reports with complex outputs, etc.
  • It allows easy extension of reports from simple to complex dashboards
  • The tool goes well with Oracle DB and has great performance
  • Since the base is built on Java, it is supported to run on different platforms and portable devices
  • The tool does not support all the external databases, just works perfect with Oracle DB and few others
  • Since it is based to run on JVM, there are few new systems that has stopped using JVM and has switched to ajax and other platforms. Hence the right plugins are required to be installed in addition
  • The tool is not easy to use. A new user can not work on it unless trained or is highly techy person.
If the client is using Oracle based tools like the DB, ETL and application, Oracle BI Foundation Suite is one of the best fit for the client. For e.g. The automobile industry where we had implemented OBI, there was a cube built at the ETL level for calculating aggregations of their financial data. The client was using one another non-oracle tool to extract data from this cube to get their financial data but they were facing a lot of performance issues. We switched this reporting from the non-oracle to Oracle BI suit and the performance came down from 6 min to 40 seconds. That was just amazing what the client was looking for.
Juan Osegueda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Hostmark the Oracle BI Suite is the included reporting segment of UltiPro. Using Oracle Business Intelligence allows me to extract data then write or modify reports to use with all sorts of data analysis. Currently all managers are assigned access to BI to run common payroll, human resource, and benefit reports to help them make decisions. These reports are specialized or formatted to pull the information that our managers need whenever the default reports included with UltiPro don't exactly match the formatting or reporting requirements our managers are looking for.
  • With a little guidance, ease of use
  • Great database management system with just the right amount of options (scalability)
  • Create dashboards for various types of users
  • Can be overwhelming to use at first, but any report-writer would suggest to download data dictionaries first to locate fields and prompts that would ordinarily be hard to find

It doesn't matter what sector you are in. You can use Oracle Business Intelligence to extract whatever data you need for decision making. Our managers use it for all sorts of things: in payroll, to report how many hours their employees are working and to track overtime, in human resources to validate all new hire information and to audit hours worked for full-time/part-time employee classification, and in benefits to find out if any employee vs. employer-paid premiums are in balance and determine benefits eligibility, to name a few.

For the normal user (which we do not give BI access to), having access to this data would be overkill.