Oracle APEX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-36 of 36)

Joseph R. Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2018

Oracle APEX is the apex of software database environments

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Oracle APEX as a quick means of getting a user application platform up and running once we switched to a more robust database system. Our department was the one to set it up and implement it; though, it was being used across the entire organization to access the different systems we had.
  • Very easy to create a dashboard-like app platform with minimal coding knowledge.
  • Implementation went off without any issues and the connected systems worked very well.
  • Users can create their own reports very easily.
  • While we were transitioning to more Oracle based services, we did find that APEX was locked to only Oracle products. So if you are not fully committed, it will have limited functionality.
  • No version control and so make sure to keep communication open between developers.
We needed an app system pronto and so with our switch to Oracle it worked out perfectly for us. We had been developing our database systems beforehand and so we were ready for the roll out without having to add any additional time or stress. APEX would not be well suited to any company that is not wholly committed to Oracle, though.
Yes - I am a member of the Boston Area Oracle Service Cloud User Group.

Very helpful community of Oracle users who are quick to respond to issues and questions and have a lot of helpful tips and tricks to contribute to the whole community. We've been able to problem solve complications much more rapidly and have even provided our own workarounds and contributions to the forums.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Kathryn Gamble | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2018

Quick notes on why I like Oracle Apex

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its used for business information reporting and for application development. Its used across the whole organization and was adopted to provide a fast flexible solution for information reporting. It has replaced paper-based and spreadsheet-based checking of business data on a regular daily basis. Its also being used to replace 3rd party software - for example a complaints management system.
  • Enables fast application development and can be used by all levels of developer from novice to advanced
  • Produces good looking, intuitive responsive web applications that are easy for the end user to understand and use
  • It's in the database so can leverage all the power and functionality already there in Oracle.
  • Improvements are being made all the time. Some more documentation of javascript APIs is in the next release - this will be useful
  • Increased range of charts and diagrams would be good but it is already possible to do these using Oracle Jet with a bit of effort using javascript.
Well suited to data entry and reporting. great for replacing small departmental spreadsheet applications in very quick time - up and running in minutes but I've also been involved in large-scale projects with thousands of users so scalability isn't a problem. One of the best things is that users love using Apex applications - I was told today by a user that it doesn't feel like working when she uses my applications.
Yes - I am a member of the UK Oracle User Group.

Great place to get ideas and see what others are doing. Also get lots of information from Oracle product development team members. More beneficial than training once you reach a certain level of competence. Also good to get a broader range of information than you'd normally get inside your own organization and means you can explore other related technologies and just see whats out there.
Read Kathryn Gamble's full review
Dan Hotka | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2018

Building apps with APEX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APEX is a neat application generator/maintainer designed for online/web-based applications. You can get quite fancy with it by embedding Java but you can create robust applications easily just using the APEX environment. The programming and deployment are all web-based. The security is simple and strong. Sometimes simple is good. The Admin people can EASILY see how the APEX app is doing, who has been accessing it, monitor space utilization, and more. Personally, I enjoyed building applications using APEX.
  • It's all web-based. Very easy to get started.
  • Lots of tutorials and books available on the topic
  • Easy to build useful apps
  • Security is both simple and strong
  • Just need a web browser to use the app
  • It is not a batch processing environment. Not sure this is 'room for improvement' but it is best at collecting and displaying information, getting information from spreadsheets, form entry, and more.
  • If the web is not available, you cannot access the app.
  • No connection to the server' and manually editing anything. it is all online and stored in Oracle tables.
This is well suited for order entry, displaying information on mobile devices, getting prototype applications up quickly, and more. Reports are rather robust too and again easy to assemble and put up. APEX is wizard-based or you can open the app and make your changes via the web environment as well. It is best for working over the web, collecting information and displaying information.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
Mwangi Wanjohi | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

Design and develop dynamic data driven apps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Oracle Application Express to design and develop dynamic and responsive web applications that heavily rely on an underlying database. We have used as we are upgrading our system to perform better.
  • Support for dynamic data driven applications
  • Easy connection to SIS
  • Helpful support team
  • Steep learning curve
Oracle Application Express is best suited for web applications that are data-driven, requires high reliability and intended to be scalable.
Read Mwangi Wanjohi's full review
Kali Kishore Gomattam | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2017

Apex is the new Era...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented the solution to automate the process of applying for leave, and for managing shift rosters, via an easy to use Apex GUI. This solution, allows us to be more productive regarding customer deliverables, through not having to worry about all the complex calculations for leave or shift management.
  • Easy to build and configure
  • More graphical reporting
Apex could replace any reporting tool, and also, websites can be built using Apex with ease.
Read Kali Kishore Gomattam's full review
Richard John (Oracle Development) | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2017

APEX-ED Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle as our main development tool within the Oracle development team; we now have applications which extend almost every module of EBS that we have licensed, including Purchasing, HR, Payroll and many others.

APEX has allowed the Oracle development team to keep pace with the application development team and we now have the opportunity to create projects we wouldn't have in the past.
  • Allows for rapid application development - within days you can create applications that are business ready and have an intuitive UI.
  • Bridges the gap between database development and web development. Due to its declarative nature database developers with no web development experience can create enticing and visual front-ends. It allows you to dip your toes in the water of web development and slowly pick up the concepts.
  • Automated testing capabilities - it would be good if APEX could have some testing capabilities so that it could further speed up the development cycle.
  • More of a selection of declarative JET Charts and the JavaScript actions that can be done against them.
Oracle APEX is very well suited if you want to bring old forms applications into the modern web landscape - they allow database developers with little to no skill in web development to create applications that can be easily distributed through E-Business responsibilities.

APEX also allows you to reduce silo working through the development of Access and Spread-sheet based data collection - with APEX you can easily re-design these applications and distribute across the internet making them global. Out of the box this can be done in a secure and logical manner.
Yes - I am a member of the UK Oracle User Group.

I attend Oracle User Groups and APEX Special Interest Groups multiple times each year and find the whole experience massively rewarding. The sessions held during these events keep my knowledge at the fore-front of the industry and ensure I don't get stale. The User Groups allow me to network with members of the community I'd never meet - in the recent TECH17 event I spent time with the chap who literally wrote the book which kick started my APEX journey.
Read Richard John (Oracle Development)'s full review
Nikita kumari | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2018

Best tool to build web application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us to develop web-based applications for users. We make mobile and window applications using this tool.
  • Easy to build web-based application as we need to write less code.
  • It provides an attractive user interface to build database queries.
  • It provides high-level security which means never worry about their personal info.
  • It should increase the perfomance as we face performance issues while using dynamic files.
  • It should return instant results so that resubmiting a page can be avoided.
  • There are many steps required to find out the actual issue in the code.
If there is a time limit and more security is required one should go with it as it provides locking functionality to prevent a deadlock situation.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
Paolo Borghi | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

Oracle Application Express (ApEx) Analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express, or ApEx, is a web interface offered for free by Oracle (is included in the database) to interact through a browser with other applications, Oracle or not. In my company, I work as a business intelligence consultant by developing with Oracle back-end tools (like Oracle Database, Oracle Data Integrator, FDMEE), and I've had many occasions of seeing the potentialities of Oracle Application Express.

Thanks to its versatility, ApEx is able to solve many kinds of business problems, like - small reporting, through the implementations of simple and navigable reports; - database writing, through many kinds of forms; - web-service (Oracle and non) invocations; - creating charts and data based diagrams. ApEx is a really flexible tool that can interact with many different technologies, has a lot of plugins and is fully accessible from a browser, both from a desktop platform and from mobile.
  • Installation included for free with Oracle Database
  • Easy to access from a browser, both from desktop and from mobile
  • Simple web based interface for development
  • Easy to learn, with a good variety of functionalities already implemented and customizable
  • Able to interact with Oracle back-end technologies and with many third parties web tools
  • Sometimes it is so simple that it doesn't offer the desired functionality
  • At the beginning it may be a bit difficult to work with the customizations required starting from the basic applications offered inside the installation
  • It may be difficult to insert "advanced" customizations on the page (eg: web scripting for effects or popups)
ApEx is a fantastic tool to create web pages (the easiest access point for anything) for users. It can be mainly used to create reports or insert forms on small database tables or for invoking web-services from other tools or integrating other web tools. For example, it may be used as a monitor for Oracle Data Integrator flows, directly selecting logs from the ODI work repository or from custom tables. Moreover, through the invocations of ODI agent web-service, ApEx also allows us to execute ODI flows (keep an eye on agent license for this purpose). Finally, and the simplest scenario, it can be used to directly write inside a table or loading a file in it. On the contrary, ApEx is not suited at all as a reporting tool, since its pagination and graphical rearrangement are quite limited.
Read Paolo Borghi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2018

APEX: The fast prototyping tool you already own

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is being used in our Asia Pacific region where the ERP system has a gap in functionality. It solves the problem of creating labels for shipping our products to our customers and suppliers. We were able to prototype the application created with this tool in a month and go live within two months after testing.
  • We were able to create a web based label application and it was quite robust.
  • Very easy to create proto-types that can be developed quickly and thrown away if not satisfying the needs
  • Developers do not require a long learning curve to pick up the fundamentals.
  • Must have Oracle Data Base to use this product. Only works with ORACLE products.
  • Could use version control. Developers must communicate in order to preserve each others work.
  • Not all Web hosting companies support APEX. This would be a nice to have.
Well suited for small teams of developers for very small applications Also good to prototype using this tool and moving to another one that has cross platform and vendor support. It is included with ORACLE RDBMS so no additional costs or licensing required to use the product. It is scalable from PCs to RAC systems.
Yes - I am a member of the Philadelphia Oracle User Group.

We have gotten access to consultants and papers and presentations via our membership.Without this, we would have to reach out on our own in order to undertake projects.We have gotten a number of good tips on development and maintenance.We learned that APEX can be used to develop a replacement of the obsoleted ORACLE product called DISCOVERER via our membership.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

Oracle APEX : Low Budget BI solution with complex functionality and ease of use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express or APEX is a nice front end tool that comes along with your Oracle Enterprise server license. What you need is to install and configure APEX. In my previous work place there was a need for a reporting solution with the ability to have writable reports. Meaning users will see the report and can adjust/change few metrics and data elements. APEX is a great solution that can give a quick and easy to use powerful interface to create data entry form+report. In simple words you have a database table in Oracle and you want it to be exposed to users for reading and editing, Apex can do that. In the current organization i have used this tool to move away from individual Excel spreadsheets to centralized database tables.
  • APEX can help you create complex and powerful reports and drill downs along with the ability to Edit the data on the fly.
  • APEX can be a good replacement for Excel data entry sheets, providing centralized access to table data with authentication.
  • Data entry forms with validations and triggers can be created using your existing Oracle infrastructure, easy to implement and deploy.
  • APEX is a tool that can combine data entry forms and reporting (parent/ child ) using the Oracle tables in your database.
  • Users get the ability to make changes to the forms data in Apex and commit, get to the report page and see the changes in real time.
  • For complex APEX applications you need to be a pro expert in PL/SQL
  • Debugging in APEX can be complicated if there is a logical error. Syntax errors will end up shown as ORA errors
  • Lack of designer interface. Even though you are designing a form you need to do it by means of APEX interface using a series of steps, no UI for design
  • Oracle specific not applicable for other databases
Automation scenario : Suppose there is a user group that maintains Excel or their daily cost data entry. There are 4 users who work on the cost Excel worksheet. It can be individual or a shared excel. Once the data entry is done the data need to be reported in a BI report and distributed. Excel data entry can have fat fingering or typo errors that can cause issues with a report. In this situation we can use APEX and design a form that the 4 users can access at the same time, we can track which user is making what changes and without any delay once the data is committed in the form it can be made available for BI reporting . For small to medium size organization APEX can be used as a low cost BI tool for reporting and forms need, as it is free with the Oracle license.
Yes - There are great forums and user groups available on-line that can help with quick tips and tricks. There is always a work around that you can find either by using available components or you have the freedom to custom code using the PL/SQL backbone of APEX. APEX interface is itself creating using Oracle APEX.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2017

Oracle Application Express (APEX)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a few of our clients for internal portal purposes. It has been interfaced with EBS as well. It is lightweight and easy to administer and use.
  • It's easy to install/upgrade.
  • It is having a very small system footprint.
  • We have deployed it on a WebLogic server and interfaced it with Oracle EBS. It is currently offering us very flexible and lightweight forms/reports.
  • We find it to be a very good product. No suggestions here.
It is very much suited where ever there is a need to maintain a portal/site for any kind of use.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (19)
7.5
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (19)
7.8
Platform Security (19)
8.3
Platform User Management (19)
8.5
Reusability (19)
8.0
Platform Scalability (19)
8.2

About Oracle APEX

Oracle Application Express (APEX) Oracle APEX is a free feature of Oracle Database. It's an online low-code application builder that allows users to quickly develop a database-drive application, customize the application's UI, and then give their users access to the application via URL. Oracle APEX includes a suite of pre-built productivity applications and examples, such as a Survey Builder, Bug Tracking, P-Track project management, etc

For more information visit https://apex.oracle.com/en
Categories:  Low-Code Development

Oracle APEX Competitors

PostgreSQL, Microsoft, Salesforce

Oracle APEX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No