Oracle Exadata Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Oracle Exadata Database Machine offers in-memory performance for our DB transactions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle Exadata Database Machine is our enterprise standard for SQL databases. My department has a large application on Sybase ASE 16 and we evaluated a number of platforms to migrate onto from Sybase. After reviewing MS-SQL, SAP HANA, IBM DB2 and Exadata, Exadata emerged as the winner. We put in place a two year project plan to migrate about 50 TB of data, 24 databases * 7 instances, 8000 stored procedures and about 1,500 tables. Our business problem we were solving was to collapse 7 instances of our application into 1, eliminate multiple copies of data and migrate off of dedicated hardware, moving to our enterprise Exadata offering us the database as a service.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Exadate the real database machine

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Exadata Machine is used as a centralized database for ERP applications, and some other inhouse applications. It is used for the whole organization. It helps us increase processing speed and leads to less downtime.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Exadata does better than most

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Exadata is used extensively to support various business intelligence teams. It allows for high speed delivery of data as well as fast replication to other environments. It also allows for a siloed approach for delivering discrete database solutions. As an architected solution, we can quickly realize features and components that will be highly utilized as well as those that will not.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Jon Shale | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

No Alternative Competes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It has leveraged as our enterprise Oracle Database platform. Helped us with the consolidation of all Oracle Databases including both OLTP and DW/ODS.
Read Jon Shale's full review
Anna Lard | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Exadata Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Exadata enterprise wide. It has all of our OLTP production databases as well as the data warehouse. We also have a standby Exadata where we use Active Data Guard.
Read Anna Lard's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Specifically engineered platform for running Oracle Database efficiently

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization utilizes Oracle Exadata Database Machine as analytical database system. It is primarily used by business analytics and reporting units throughout the organization. As an enterprise grade database appliance with optimized computing platform, it enables users to execute aggregation of huge data faster than using commodity servers. Thus it is a dependable system to generate mission critical reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle Exadata: Best for Analytics and OLTP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Oracle Exadata Database Machine for all of our Oracle databases which includes Supply Chain, Order Management, Finance, Integration, etc. Exadata improved all database performance. It has been most beneficial to our warehouse operations. We used to have a lot of IO issues, and to troubleshoot them, our DBA has to spend 3-4 hours daily. Now, IO is no longer the issue.

For all other processes like RMAN backups, export/import and data loads, we saw a lot of improvements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

The best you can get!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using Exadata for about 8 months and have been loving it. Most of the time it is used by the BI applications team and we don't get any bad feedback from then. If you want the ORDM, go for it. It's fast and effective. Migration to the database is easy as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Thoughts on Exadata

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the entire organization for database needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Exadata is wonderful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle Exadata Database Machines is being used for one of our mission-critical databases supporting the revenue cycle department. It has given a great lift to our batch processing which runs every single day. It improved performance and run times of BI reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Built to run mission-critical databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We run all our mission-critical databases on the Exadata platform. It provides us the extreme reliability and availability to achieve our extremely high SLA's.
Read this authenticated review
Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G. | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

In Expectation of the New Exadata Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle Exadata Database Machine is the best solution when you need to integrate several databases or you have done some acquisitions. We need to make reports every Wednesday and getting that outlook is a huge amount of data. With Oracle Exadata Database Machine, we could reduce the downtime and accuracy of our database. It is used by everyone in the company and also running our Eloqua BI platforms.

The run is super easy and the performance given is one of the best in the market. Oracle could position the Exadata system as the Rolls Royce, so you could start a lower entry level and then upgrade it as you needed it. It helps us to gain performances and scalability.
Read Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G.'s full review
Ray Hirte | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2018

You aren't on Exadata? You're killing me smalls!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it for our PeopleSoft application across the enterprise. This addresses some of our performance issues. Our payroll calcs went from 25 minutes per calc to 6 minutes greatly improving our payroll confirm. Better performance for our database backups.
Read Ray Hirte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

EXADATA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's the best platform to run Oracle Database. You can consolidate all your DB workload to Exadata and it will perform much better than other platforms. We got almost a 3-5x boost on Exadata. It is one of the best and easy to manage platforms and gives full control to DBA. Backup and restore of Database is also easier, simpler, and faster.
Read this authenticated review
Gurcan Orhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2017

Performance, scalability, fast, installed: this is Oracle Exadata.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The most valuable feature of the solution is that it is durable. It is a highly relevant option with extreme performance. The extreme performance is one of the key features when you're using Exadata. There are known points that you need to take care of, simply "beware of update".!

I implemented a data warehouse on Exadata. Before this solution, we were aiming for this to be completed by 8 a.m., when our ETLs would finish. With the help of Exadata's special features, this was reduced to 3 a.m.

This solution allows us to bring more data within the same time period. It provides us with more subject areas that provide more reports to our users. Our ETL times reduced to 65%, then to 50%.

Read Gurcan Orhan's full review
Bert Scalzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2017

Exadata - It's more than one could ever expect

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Exadata across the entire organization. We needed a super high-performance database platform for Oracle - and Exadata was exactly what we needed. While the initial cost and learning curve were a bit steep, the performance improvements in all our database applications were nothing short of phenomenal. If we could have afforded to switch over entirely to Exadata we would have had stellar results. For those database applications we did not place on Exadata it was painful to know there's a better platform and way to go. If budget were not an issue we would have done so. It's almost impossible to value the smart scan technology and cell offloading until you see it in practice. The technology delivers on every promise and in general, is far better than one expects.
Read Bert Scalzo's full review
Veera Sadayappan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Data in Exadata

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used as a data warehouse across the whole organization. It solves the issue of performance. We have a lot of data and Exadata resolves the issue of storing and querying it.
Read Veera Sadayappan's full review

Oracle Exadata Scorecard Summary

About Oracle Exadata

Oracle Exadata is software and hardware engineered to support high-performance running of Oracle databases.

Fore more information visit https://www.oracle.com/engineered-systems/exadata/database-machine
Categories:  Data Warehouse

Oracle Exadata Competitors

Oracle Exadata Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No