Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne

Overview

What is Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne?

An ERP primarily aimed at medium-sized companies that combines financial management capabilities contain the familiar general ledger along with expense management, accounts payable and receivable (AP/AR), advanced cost accounting, and fixed asset accounting.

Read more
Recent Reviews

JD Edwards E1 Review

9 out of 10
September 18, 2019
Incentivized
We utilize all the modules including Financials, Distribution, HRMS, Payroll, Manufacturing, Job Costing and Contact Billing. It provides …
Continue reading

My Review of E1

6 out of 10
May 18, 2018
Incentivized
It is used as an ERP system for several entities within the parent organization with manufacturing, distribution, sales, finance. It is an …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 66 features
  • Accounts receivable (20)
    8.0
    80%
  • Role-based user permissions (21)
    8.0
    80%
  • Standardized Processes (19)
    7.0
    70%
  • Accounts payable (22)
    7.0
    70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne?

An ERP primarily aimed at medium-sized companies that combines financial management capabilities contain the familiar general ledger along with expense management, accounts payable and receivable (AP/AR), advanced cost accounting, and fixed asset accounting.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

40 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Genius Solutions?

Genius Solutions delivers a complete enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution, including software, implementation services, and field expertise for small to mid-sized custom manufacturers across the US and Canada. Genius ERP is built for SME manufacturers handling make-to-order, engineer-to…

What is Cetec ERP?

Cetec ERP offers manufacturing web-native ERP As A Service for $40/user. Its design and delivery provide manufacturers with a platform built to increase both capacity and efficiency. The vendor states that companies will run faster on Cetec ERP. By providing a single, integrated platform that can…

Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

7.5
Avg 7.2

Customization

This addresses a company’s ability to configure the software to fit its specific use case and workflow.

8
Avg 7.3

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

8.5
Avg 8.2

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

7.7
Avg 7.0

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

Financial management solution, including capabilities for general ledger and configurable accounting

7.2
Avg 7.6

Inventory Management

The ability to track and manage the flow of goods or materials into and out of an inventory.

7.9
Avg 7.9

Order Management

The ability to process orders, and track them from quote to cash.

7.2
Avg 7.8

Subledger and Financial Process

Revenue management solution including capabilities for subledgers and financial processes

7
Avg 7.4

Project Financial Management

Project financial management solution including capabilities for project budgeting, cost control, billing and contract management.

7.2
Avg 7.6

Project Execution Management

Project execution management solution including capabilities for project scheduling, resource management, and team member task management.

8.8
Avg 6.9

Grants Management

Grants management solution for higher education, public sector, or non-profits with capabilities for managing financial awards for program and project funding

7.4
Avg 7.6

Procurement

Procurement management solution with capabilities for sourcing, contracting, procure-to-pay and supplier management

6.9
Avg 7.0

Risk Management

Risk management solution with capabilities for managing controls, assessing control effectiveness, certifying controls, and addressing deficiencies

7.6
Avg 6.6

Logistics

Logistics solution with capabilities for transportation planning, transportation execution, trade compliance, customs management, warehouse management and warehouse workforce management.

6.9
Avg 6.9

Manufacturing

Manufacturing solution for managing manufacturing processes and costs.

7
Avg 7.6

Supply Chain

Supply Chain Planning solution with capabilities for planning, performance monitoring, change responses and execution.

6.3
Avg 7.3

Product Lifecycle Management

Product Lifecycle Management solution with capabilities for innovation management, product development

8
Avg 7.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne?

An ERP primarily aimed at medium-sized companies that combines financial management capabilities contain the familiar general ledger along with expense management, accounts payable and receivable (AP/AR), advanced cost accounting, and fixed asset accounting. The suite's project management features manage advanced contract and service billing and project costing. The asset lifecycle management solution provides in-depth analysis for capital planning and budgeting. Its order and manufacturing Management capabilities provide automation and oversight tailored for industry specific needs. It also has reporting capabilities, and is mobile-accessible. Price is highly variable, as this solution contains many possible configurations tailored to business needs.

JD Edwards was an independent ERP vendor which was acquired by PeopleSoft in 2003. PeopleSoft, in turn, was acquired by Oracle in 2005, and the JD Edwards product line became Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Video

JD Edwards EnterpriseOne: Accelerating Your Journey to Becoming a Digital Enterprise

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Competitors

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

An ERP primarily aimed at medium-sized companies that combines financial management capabilities contain the familiar general ledger along with expense management, accounts payable and receivable (AP/AR), advanced cost accounting, and fixed asset accounting.

Blue Yonder Luminate Commerce and Microsoft Dynamics 365 are common alternatives for Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.

Reviewers rate Location management highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(137)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-24 of 24)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne in the accounting department. We use it for G/L, employee information, and customer information (addresses and invoice details). Because we use Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne for all of these areas it is extremely convenient to have them all available on one software.
  • User friendly
  • Ability to use the software for multiple accounting actions
  • Ability to see what co-workers have completed on Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne
  • I like Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne but it is costly
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is extremely useful and user-friendly when it comes to payroll. It is easy for employees to use for their time cards and is easy to use for the end processor of payroll. It is also nice to have all the employee's information on one software. Very convenient.
J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A majority of our cost controls, revenue claiming, change events, forecasting, purchase order processing, and account payable is done through JDE. I would actually say that every aspect of our back office has in one way to another ended up being used by this program. Something that made this a one-stop-shop for us was the ability to continue using the programs for all different facets of our working model. Updating Cost codes and transferring them over to our Daily log program became a breeze.
  • The forecasting modules used for JDE are amazing. It allows us to use best practices for claiming forecasted costs and revenues.
  • JDE allows us to track our change events in their own module and apply different meanings to statuses- something extremely useful in the construction world.
  • Cost coding/budgeting simplified. By using the same budget module, revising budgets, active cost coding and purchase ordering, you can get a realistic snapshot of your job at the drop of a hat.
  • Without a doubt their UI needs improvement. There can be an entire lesson on the nuances of working within the JDE modules. Where to click, what does what, how come one method is not congruent with the other module? Although this program is definitely a goliath in the industry, there is something to be said about programs that can simplify even the more data-driven problems.
  • I would say that JDE needs to work on their security as well. Not from external attacks (they have that covered) but just within the programming of allowing people to have multiple roles. I'll say with confidence that I have to wear many hats at my company, meaning I need access to cost data along with Procurement data. For some reason, this was not achievable by JDE / IT and I had to have two separate accounts set up to access different modules.
  • I'm not sure if this is a flaw per se, but I noticed that a lot of people are extremely turned off by all the customizations allowable within each module. I personally enjoy it, but I've noticed the older generation definitely shies away from it altogether.
I would say that this software is well suited for you if you own a large construction company and can pay for them to customize it to your needs. We had to pay a large amount of money to get this contract, in the order of 10-50 million dollars. It was a bumpy start and a bit clunky initially, but I can say now that it's definitely worth the investment. It has totally changed how we do things. So long story long: if you need the one stop shop for a construction company (WARNING: does not include a daily log module, or a time card module, or to be used for estimating, more databasing and analytics) then I would recommend this software.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is used as the accounting GL, AP, AR master for the company consolidating financials across six other ERP systems (obtained through acquisition) and business units. It is used for purchasing of all raw materials for manufacturing as well as corporate expenses and vendor management. It is also used for manufacturing management for two business units. It solves the problem of traditional accounting/ERP management of the business and financial reporting.
  • Vendor Management - excellent contact tracking tied to purchase orders, payments, etc
  • Financial consolidation - JD Edwards EnterpriseOne was easy to interface with at the GL level, bringing in records from other systems and consolidating them into the chart of accounts
  • Security - JD Edwards EnterpriseOne was clearly built for the enterprise model carefully constructing permission access models and applying them to business objections so you can get a fine grain level control.
  • The interface is aging - The application has been around quite a while. Even with the more modern UI, it still feels like a 90's application and doesn't provide the quick augmentation options like what is found in NetSuite or cloud apps.
  • A premise based - It's an application that was built to run on mini/mainframe environments, which were great for its time. However, in comparison to the hand's free environments in the cloud, it requires more iron and humans to maintain the solution.
  • Speed to roll out new business models - It felt like, once you deployed a business setup, it was difficult to change and add new business features, especially those that contradict previous directions.
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is excellent when you are looking for multiple smaller businesses to roll into another for business reporting and consolidation. Because of the robust GL controls, it's excellent for bringing that information together, collating it, and then reporting on it. We also found that it was self-evident for auditors to be able to review the trial and understand what was done, with minimal hand-holding.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is used across our entire company and multiple subsidiaries from production to accounting. Accounting is my primary use for for this software. We use this for multiple rounds of yearly budgets as well as daily, monthly, and yearly activities. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a great ERP that allows the company to use one program to address multiple business functions.
  • ERP system allows for multiple parts of business to be conducted in one system
  • Easy to learn and maneuver
  • Will not generate physical invoices for users to be able to view after they are created in the system
  • Reporting is not very customizable
Great for companies that have productions or multiple functions and want an ERP that allows for multiple business functions in one. If you are a paper document based company that does not do a lot in your accounting system or a small company, then I would not recommend this system for your business.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are currently using GENERAL ACCOUNTING (G/L), INVENTORY MANAGEMENT, and MANUFACTURING department. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne can process all business transactions end to end in one integrated suite.
Benefits of Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne include the ability to
Leverage the latest ERP technology trends, including personalization, IoT, and machine learning.
Move from reactive to proactive with tools like notifications and watchlists.
Leverage Citizen Developer capabilities to reduce modifications.
Take advantage of enhanced modules like Lease Accounting and Joint Venture Management.
  • I have used Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a Computerized Maintenance Management System. Very easy to create work orders and creating Equipment Master for new equipment and modifying existing ones as needed. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne maintain a strategic roadmap, the payoff means a reduction of cost and effort.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne has adopted a continuous delivery model that matches the trends in the enterprise software market.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne are leveraging modern ERP capabilities with IoT, machine learning and a movement towards an autonomous ERP.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne can improve the routing of job plans process and also increase the 30 character limitation it has to for part descriptions that would be very helpful
  • User Interface of the ERP needs to be more interactive.
It is a handy tool to manage inventory and work order management process. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, a lot of powerful features like items search Purchase order inquiry tool, planning, and scheduling tools. Useful for reliability engineering. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is stable and also less expensive to implement and manage. Also, you will get excellent technical support from Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.
October 30, 2019

Oracle JD Edwards Review

Alexa Siebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The accounting and HR departments utilize this software for employees. We use this for time sheets, benefits, time off, and other employee-related documents. It enables these teams to use one combined software to review and approve all employee-related documents. It also includes an entire section devoted to open enrollment for benefits. In addition, employees are able to keep track of their general leave and their pay stubs.
  • Ease of access.
  • General leave info.
  • Timesheets.
  • The template needs updating.
  • It can be slow to load.
  • First-timers may get lost due to the template.
It would be less appropriate for smaller companies and is very beneficial to larger organizations. It helps keep all employee information accessible and easy to track. For example, the city implements this as a whole. Employees and HR/Accounting can work better knowing all the information is in one spot.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Oracle JD Edward Enterprise One (E1) as our company's ERP system. As a global organization, we need a large scale platform that is capable of handling our financial and manufacturing operations. E1 provides us with that platform. As our business continues to expand and grow, the E1 platforms have seemed up to the task of transforming and expanding with us. We use the platform to pull together financials, track inventory, budget, and forecast.
  • The platform is capable of handling hundreds of thousands of transactions annually.
  • The platform is functional as a stand-alone platform or in partnership with the hundreds of vendors that provide add-on platforms the E1.
  • The platform is overall very user-friendly, allowing users to pick up the nuances on the first use.
  • As with any platform, there are gaps that seem unfathomable to have. E1 doesn't allow us the ability to track a manufacturer of a part from creation to Interco sale to Interco sale to the ultimate customer.
  • Some of the features just feel "left behind" for 2019. Features that you should think would exist that don't.
  • The system is really built for a manufacturer. We were unable to use it for the distribution channel we began pushing into.
Oracle JD Edwards Enterprise One (E1) is primarily suited for large multi-national enterprises that primarily manufacture. It is capable of housing numerous entities and currencies. Additionally, it has the capability to handle thousands of transactions and inventory SKUs. The software was too complex to handle our distribution center ERP needs. Additionally, without various "add-ons" the vanilla system is often not complex enough to handle the day-to-day needs of a manufacturer.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JDE is our financial system, sales order management system, purchase order system, and inventory system. Because we are a public company, we have to keep accurate records of all financial transactions. JDE does just that, making our lives easier.
  • Accurate financial records.
  • With a team of 12 analysts and programmers, we can get the job done.
  • If we have issues we cannot solve, we can get good support by calling or connecting to Oracle support.
  • I really like support calling us to help us with the issues we have. Calling is no longer their preferred method for many years now.
  • I think the set-up can be simplified, and I am sure they can do a better job.
JDE is a medium-sized Enterprise Resource Package. It has added a few modules in the last few years which cover many specialty areas. But this is not a system to replace SAP.
September 19, 2019

Why we have JD Edwards

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Oracle JD Edwards is used across the company for Order to Cash and Procure to Pay plus Financial Systems. It is the backbone of the entire business.
  • Financial System Management
  • Sales Order Management
  • Manufacturing and Procurement Systems
  • EDI, it does not have a good mechanism of integrated EDI orders with the system and customization and external process are required.
  • Warehouse management
  • There is not built in Transportation Management system
  • Not a good end to end supply chain management system
It is most cost effective ERP system that provides excellent UI, and the ability to integrate and orchestrate other application to fill the gaps. There have been great enhancements in the latest release focused on user experience.
September 18, 2019

JD Edwards E1 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize all the modules including Financials, Distribution, HRMS, Payroll, Manufacturing, Job Costing and Contact Billing. It provides an integrated solution for our clients' business. We get balance sheet reports and profit and loss and it helps us with invoicing and revenue recognition.
  • Technology is solid and foundation is built up.
  • All integrated solution from finance to detail transaction
  • Reporting solution is robust
  • Web services and integratinon is easy
  • Reporting module
  • Application screens
  • User experience
  • Sales Order Entry and all the distribution modules work very well.
  • Purchasing is all integrated with AP and allows for 3-way and 2-way match.
  • Financials allow entry for job level.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a leading municipality in Texas, using JD Edwards for Procurement, General Ledger, A/R, A/P, Inventory, Sales Orders, etc. The whole city uses JDE. It handles procurement we do through various contracts for bidding going by the state laws. We have build custom contract systems to keep track of contract details going by the state requirements. Also, as we handle budgeting in our city a little differently, we are using the JDE budget module with some customizations unique to us. Also, we are using a module call Utiligy, which we got from a JDE partner, to keep track and bill for city utilities. Basically JDE handles all the financial transactions in the city.
  • We have more than 2000 employees in the city and as a municipality we handle things a little differently. JD Edwards handles it really well with minimum customizations.
  • The beauty of JDE is, it is big enough to handle the work load of the city but small enough to maintain with a small technical staff with in the city.
  • It is not a complicated system to configure like SAP. A medium sized company can cover most of the areas of the company especially that feeds to the financial system with comparably smaller effort.
  • [It would be great] if we could connect security set up and approval routes in procurement and other modules. Currently those are two separate areas that require mutually exclusive set up, even when they are connected.
  • Cross reference facility of the files should be dynamic so developers can refer to those instantly.
  • We should be able to make the package assemble, built and deployments simpler, if there's a way to have a template that customer builds once which can be used after.
If there are lot of complicated systems this might not be the best system. If you have only some complexity Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a product a technical or application person can wrap their hands around and understand the whole system.
September 18, 2019

Rohan Bramhe's review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our business helps implement Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne for other businesses. We provide support and customization.
  • JD Edwards software is intuitive to learn once the front-end installation and set-up has been done properly.
  • Software built for scaling.
  • Friendly UX.
  • Room for improvement in query speed.
  • Room for improvement in query customization.
Scenarios where Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne include: custom report building and automation. This helps a lot when clients need something done I have mastery in setting up this software solution.
May 29, 2018

JD Edwards Review

Tessa Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JDE is used in almost every department across our organization. We have a different point of sale system so other than in the retail stores it is used for everything. We use this because it addresses most of the problems our organization has (inventory, purchasing, finance, etc).
  • Because I work on the finance side I can tell you that the general ledger functions are a benefit. It is easy to add new accounts or access balance and the details of these accounts.
  • It is very to export things to excel from JDE. This is a function we use a lot and is much easier than other systems I've worked with in the past.
  • Access to certain info can be easily given or taken away from people/departments which is a plus for our public company.
  • One thing that could be improved is how fast it is for accessing data. When trying to pull data it had to be watched closely or your session will time out which can mean some waiting around.
  • Also, even though layouts are customizable it's very difficult and not always user-friendly to do.
  • I don't know if its the way the company had it set up but there is no set time on when you are logged off from being idle. It varies day to day and person to person for security measures there should be a set time.
It is well suited for a company that's small enough to not need a complicated customized ERP system. It's not necessarily suited for a public company with a separate POS system.
May 18, 2018

My Review of E1

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used as an ERP system for several entities within the parent organization with manufacturing, distribution, sales, finance. It is an FDA validated system as we are under the review of the FDA because of the products we manufacture and sell.
  • Transaction processing and traceability - able to trace user transactions all the way to the financial ledgers
  • Support documentation - documentation is vague in a number of areas in Oracle support
  • Integrity issues - unexplained and unable to ferret out a root cause
  • Requiring a COA that is a unique combination as opposed to being able to use any business unit with any object account, without having to create the combination first in the COA
Lori Wenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Oracle JD Edwards for our financials, inventory, job costing, work orders and fixed assets.
  • Customizability. As an I.T. person, I appreciate the ability to modify the application in ways that will suit our specific needs.
  • Stability. Our JDE application is extremely stable. We don't seem to have the ups and downs that some of our other applications have.
  • Oracle Support. The support site is fantastic. Between the Knowledge Base and the Customer Forums I can usually find an answer and when I can't, Oracle is quick to help.
  • .
Oracle JD Edwards is well suited for any size corporation or organization. You have the ability to purchase only the modules that you need for your business and customize the modules you purchase to suit your processes.
Rick Meyers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[It's being used for] Consulting on all JD Edwards applications, financial, distribution, manufacturing and project management.
  • Oracle continues to get behind JD Edwards product applications and the latest release of 9.2 has lots more functionality.
  • The licensing can be expensive depending on the number of concurrent users.
Well suited for any type of business or industry. Suited very well manufacturing, distribution, and financials. JD Edwards struggles in my opinion, in the area of sales force automation and analytics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JD Edwards is being used by our entire business (except for the HR/Payroll module). We have manufacturing floor workers all the way up thru the salaried personnel to the CEO who log into the system and do transactions within JDE. We use it for finance, distribution, procurement, manufacturing, and sales. It's so customizable and easy to use. It serves our business well.
  • The new versions (9.2) of JDE has so much open functionality and really gives the user control over the screens and what they want to see. Love that the layout of the screen is really up to the user and what they want to see it along with freezing columns and creating favorites for way access.
  • It is so flexible with the system platforms that it can run on and so easy to customize since it supports so many databases.
  • It is intuitive and does not need to have a lot of training on how to use the software.
  • It's just a great ERP software and one of the better ones I've seen.
  • Oracle is FINALLY starting to listen to the users and SIGs and putting enhancements into the system which makes life easier for us business users.
  • Upgrade time and costs involved with doing them. They mention staying code current but don't have any good solutions on how we sell this to our business since user testing and involvement must happen.
  • Very costly to purchase and the maintenance cost is pretty extreme. They come out with this new functionality but then want to charge us, even more, to get it (which is wrong). Since we pay maintenance, we should get this new stuff for free or a heavily discounted price.
  • The job scheduler is in need or a serious re-vamp as it can barely even run jobs without crashing. If you need complex scheduling, forget using this tool, you have to go and purchase a 3rd party software.
Unfortunately, sometimes I feel like JDE is turning out to just be a big database housing all the data since we have so many other bolt-on applications that are completing the jobs for us. For instance, we have ReportsNow for the reporting ease of use, Tidal Enterprise Scheduler to run the JDE batch jobs, DSI for the scanning and label printing in our warehouses, Create!Form to make our documents pretty, Viziya for our maintenance tracking, and a separate EDI product.
Jerry van Dalen Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is currently used by our accounting and billing department. It is used to manage customer accounts, and to keep track of open and expiring invoices. It is also used for tracking internal company spending. Employees will submit an expense report for a company related expense.
  • JD Edwards is very configurable in handling different sales order entry scenarios.
  • JD Edwards can be customized to present focused information on the login screen of a user so a user can better focus on the applications or reports that are relevant to their job.
  • JD Edwards is also very effective in creating relationships between various customer accounts and the relationships between them.
  • The Configurable Network Language (CNC) is a proprietary protocol, and it can be difficult to source resources that understand this language well.
  • It has some inherent limitations with generating PDF or printable files. Most organizations use a third party platform like Creat!form or Bottomline to solve this.
  • No built in credit card processing solution, and no plug-and-play eCommerce or webstore capabilities available.
JD Edwards has a strong presence in the industrial and manufacturing industries and can fit most of these scenarios very well. It is also ideal for distribution and asset management scenarios.
Nischal Anand Singh MBA,MA,B.Com | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used by our project manaement department primarily from the point of view of managing project costs and billing. We are looking at using it in other areas as well like asset management, financial management, etc but that is as of now at an early sage discussion.
  • Project Management application from what I have heard from my colleagues and peers is top notch to say the least.
  • From my friends at other companies who use JD Edwards I am told that it has helped them tremendously in terms supporting them towards better quarterly forecasts.
  • Price and/or Cost of Ownership is quite high compared to competition for e.g. MS Dynamics, etc
  • It is a highly complex application compared to other options in the market like MS Dynamics, etc
From my own usage of the product and the feedback that I have recieved the Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne aplication is pretty strong in terms of reporting, planning and analytics. I honeslty cannot think of someting where this solution is less apropriate but I am just making some guesses here....transportation it might not be as perfect a fit as the other.
December 22, 2017

Scalable and Stable ERP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use EnterpriseOne as the primary ERP system across almost the entire organisation. It is used for all core business processes i.e. finance, manufacturing, distribution, and sales.
  • It is very configurable
  • It is very stable
  • It is cheap to operate
  • Due to the complexity of the system technical issues can be difficult to trace
  • Although it has improved a lot over the years, installation and upgrade procedures are rather complex
EnterprisOne is very suitable for rather large installation like ours with a 6tb database and > 500.000 batch jobs a year. However, due to the configurability and scaleability I see no reason why it should not be a perfect fit for smaller operations as well.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as the backbone of our organization and our central ERP system. It is our system of record and responsible for the tracking sales, financials, manufacturing data and most other critical aspects of our business. Every department within our organization uses JD Edwards. It addresses almost all of our core business problems in terms of fulfilling customer orders in a timely fashion.
  • Manufacturing Systems and Support - The core functionalities for managing manufacturing are all there and easy to use.
  • Financials - The financial systems have stood the test of time and are very stable and reliable.
  • Cutting Edge - JD Edwards continues to be enhanced and developed with new tools and technologies.
  • Quality/Test Results Management system is lightweight and somewhat clunky.
  • My Oracle Support Tool for getting help from Oracle is clunky.
  • Upgrade process is not always smooth.
Manufacturing companies will find JD Edwards to be an excellent solution especially those doing discrete manufacturing. JD Edwards does have some weaknesses from a customer relationship management standpoint. JD Edwards will handle most business models and is extremely flexible in its implementation as well as the ability to customize the system to meet specific business needs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it across our organization for Trade Payables and all our financial reports. We probably have about 500 users through out our company. It helps us pay our bills, run all of our financial statements. It is integrated with OnBase imaging to view documents, invoices. etc. We have an integrated check software hooked up to it also.
  • The payables module is great, easy access to what we have paid and what we need to pay.
  • We can do all of our financial statements, it helps get our P7L's out in timely matter each month.
  • The easy integration with our image system, makes it accesilble for users to click on invoice numbers in JDE and get an image of that invoice.
  • One issue is the number of records I can access, wish it was more
  • We have large vendors with thousands of invoices, and I can't always get to them due to size.
  • Sometimes hard to change reports.
The payables module is great, easy access to what we owe and what we have paid to vendors. The flipside to this is the amount of invoices we have on certain accounts that we can't always access. The financial reports come out nicely and are easy to view, the easy accessibility to our users country-wide is nice.
July 21, 2017

JD Edwards Review

AMIT NAITHANI | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JD Edwards is the primary ERP used by my organization. It is used across all modules like Manufacturing, Finance, and Distribution. It helps to streamline and manage the manufacturing process better. It's also used for gay to day activities like the shop floor and sales. Purchases are managed using JD Edwards.
  • It is very strong for reporting. Any business data can be generated in the form of reports. Automation can be achieved to send notifications to users by email.
  • From an implementation point of view the time spent in developing and implementing a new process is reduced and easy.
  • There is a huge flexibility to customize it as per you business needs.
  • You need a specialized team to support and implement JDE. You need developers, CNC and Database administrators.
  • Modifying a standard business function is complex and takes time. It better to develop new custom programs.
  • The upgrade process is tedious and takes time depending on the size of your landscape.
It is best for distribution and logistics. It is also good for manufacturing and finance. I've seen a lot of issues in the Service module.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne (JDE E1) is used across the whole organization. It is our ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) core system and it addresses financial management, sales order management, procurement, inventory management, and other business needs. It is where we maintain employee information to feed HR and Payroll system, customer information, vendor information and so on.
  • JDE E1 is very flexible and allows us to configure the system to provide us maximum benefit
  • JDE E1 user interface and technical foundation is leading edge, including Mobile Applications, which provides end users ease of use.
  • JDE E1 is easily integrated with other systems
  • Oracle product licensing is a nightmare and cost containment is difficult if not impossible when using various Oracle products to support JDE E1 such as Oracle Database and Oracle Fusion Middleware (WebLogic Server).
  • The Flexibility benefit can also be a problem when a small change ripples through the system causing issues.
  • The JDE E1 application web client should identify necessary setting for the browsers: Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox

Are your business processes well defined to be able to map to JDE E1 ERP system?

What is the expected time and resources needed to implement?

What are product support and training options?

What are update and upgrade options for keeping the system current?

What are the resources needed by the Information Technology department to support the technical platform such as Oracle or SQL Server DBAs or AS/400 or Unix/Windows system administrators, etc.?

Return to navigation