Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.3 out of 100
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Overview

Recent Reviews

PeopleSoft HCM Review

8 out of 10
December 31, 2019
PeopleSoft is being used as our internal portal for HR employees to manage and adjust current employees' personal information. It is used …
Continue reading

Oracle PS

9 out of 10
September 18, 2019
PeopleSoft HCM is being used to track students, finance and HR data. We have been used PeopleSoft HCM for more than 15 years and are very …
Continue reading

PeopleSoft at a glance!

9 out of 10
September 17, 2019
We use it for onboarding our contractor workforce, generating legal contracts, and negotiating with our contractors. We also provide …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 48 features

Update personal information (66)

8.8
88%

Employment history (63)

8.8
88%

Job profiles and administration (65)

8.6
86%

Employee demographic data (65)

7.8
78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Benefits

$85.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Pension Administration

$85.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Human Resources

$185.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

8.0
80%

Payroll Management

7.6
76%

Leave and Attendance Management

8.5
85%

Employee Self Service

7.9
79%

Asset Management

8.1
81%

HR Reporting

8.1
81%

Onboarding

8.0
80%

Performance and Goals

7.4
74%

Performance Management

7.0
70%

Succession Planning

7.7
77%

Recruiting / ATS

7.2
72%

Product Details

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Integrations

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Competitors

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

The most common users of Oracle PeopleSoft HCM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (517)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 75)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used across all users for my bank. PeopleSoft HCM is a superb product having all the human resources functionality. Also, the product is flexible enough to allow several customizations for complex business processes. Currently from new employee hire, career progression, exit and fill and final settlement - all [of these] activities are performed through PeopleSoft in my organization
  • Leave and Absence
  • Customizations
  • Payroll
  • Benefits administration
  • Look and feel
  • Alerts in mobile
It's an enterprise-grade product best suited for absence, payroll, time and labour and all other HR functionalities. Any complex functionality can be built here as customization. But look and feel wise it's not [that] advanced. There could have been a feature for video, SMS or WhatsApp alerts which is missing currently.
Its a very goor product in the HR domain
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is used by the entire organization. It works as a self service platform for employees, assists with payroll processing, provides performance appraisal information, and is used by managers (like myself) to complete pay action requests. We also leverage Oracle PeopleSoft HCM's workforce administration, worklist, reporting components, and recruiting tools. It has a lot of capabilities that deliver value to our teams at an individual level as well as from a management standpoint.
  • Easy to use and learn
  • Good customer support
  • Ability to write custom reports for ongoing projects
  • The UI is a little antiquated
  • Somewhat expensive leveraging the app
  • Security concerns with recent vulnerabilities being exposed
It is a software that I would recommend due to its implementation simplicity. This tool allows us to build custom business processes via a relatively smooth interface (if a little dated). We use Oracle PeopleSoft HCM for global HCM, NA payroll, benefits, and the application offers the ability to customize and is continuously evolving in the cloud. It integrates with other personal programming platforms. Integration is key. Reporting performance is excellent, as well.
Brijesh Shirodkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, it is used for time sheet tracking, leave management, employee information and manager actions. It is set up globally across all departments. Several thousand users use it for self help as well as administrative tasks. Both web and mobile versions of the interface have been enabled across the organization.
  • Mobile interface really helps complete tasks on the go.
  • Secure authentication.
  • Good workflow.
  • Fast performance.
  • Some issues in mobile compatibility.
  • Analytics could be better.
  • Navigation can be difficult for new user.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM seems to be better suited for very large organizations that have several hundred employees, are geographically dispersed, each geo location may have individual country specific regulations and different HR rules. This software can be customized for different rules and specific needs and processes of the organization and sub organizations.
Neal Brunner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used system wide for employee management and record keeping.
  • Employee records are kept in Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, including job and benefits information. Additionally, we use it to process new hires, transfers, terminations, etc.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is also used to track job code information, including reports of incumbents, and a variety of queries such as equity, pay rates, etc.
  • Essentially, it is used for almost all HR related information.
  • Employee Self Service - links to tax, paycheck, time off information, etc.
  • Tracking job data - descriptions, pay ranges, reports for a specified job code.
  • Linking with integrated software, such as Kronos for timekeeping and vemo for workforce insight reports.
  • Updated User Interface - there is a lot of unused space.
  • More intuitive navigation, although the search feature helps offset some of that shortcoming.
  • Suggestions for useful links and reporting tools you may find helpful based on job title.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is great for tracking most HR related information. The customization for the company is great, as well as the ability to integrate with a wide variety of complimentary software. For example, ours is integrated with our ATS (Taleo) for recruiting, Kronos for timekeeping, and Vemo for workforce insight reports. Given it's overall ability, it is probably overkill for smaller companies that may want a more focused HRIS that can handle everything without the need to integrate with additional software.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM was used for core HR, benefits and compensation side of our organization. It was being used by the HR Department. The biggest struggles we have had were based on the merit cycle and talent management or performance management modules.
  • Easy to use and learn.
  • It's inhouse and hence we can write code or SQL or modify or generate integrations using custom SQL.
  • Ability to view multiple screens at once was a great plus, which we see in many systems, however first saw that on PeopleSoft.
  • Great customer support.
  • Compensation module definitely needs improvement.
  • Talent management - Goals and Performance management module needs improvement.
  • Running of ben interface overnight everyday consumes timeout each day. There should be no service interruption while running ben interfaces. It was maybe only us due to many customizations.
User interface needs improvement. The new FLUID functionality that Oracle is offering may be the potential solution.
Menu navigation may be difficult for new users.
Very compatible and stable application.
Multi tab feature is excellent.
Analytics is a powerful feature.
Database access gives us ability to create or generate custom integrations or SQL.
Needs to be mobile friendly.
December 31, 2019

PeopleSoft HCM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft is being used as our internal portal for HR employees to manage and adjust current employees' personal information. It is used across a wide range of HR employees and it would be considered a core system for our HR day to day functions. It gives us the ability to manage employees and personal information easily and efficiently across departments.
  • Real time updates are something it does well in.
  • Letting other users know the profile is being worked on, so no 2 computers can make edits at once.
  • I would say report customization is an area they could grow further in.
  • Automation of some elements would be nice to see as well, giving the user more time to spend looking at details instead of working through checking boxes.
PeopleSoft is a great software for any company, large or small, that is in need of an internal portal for employees.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle HCM is used company-wide for recruiting, time tracking and payroll functions mostly. It helps to consolidate the capital management functions to a single dashboard, managed company-wide both inside US as well as in UK.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM does very well in customization of the forms and policies that span multiple jurisdictions including NA, EMEA and APAC.
  • It also includes the most up-to-date compliance and recruiting related processes, needing relatively minimal customization (consulting resources) before deploying across multiple geographies.
  • It integrates very well with Oracle BI (being used) as well as Oracle Financial application to make it easy to manage all financial management and HCM functions.
  • The UI for Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is still not 'sophisticated' compared to other HCM vendors and can certainly be improved to make it look more modern.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM can do a better job in making notifications and actions related to labor rules, time tracking and workforce management taste more automated using AI. It has some basic automated action but all needs to be set upfront during deployment.
  • Better use of Oracle BI/analytics to provide more insights into the overall recruitment process from interview to onboarding.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is very well suited when you want to deploy an HCM system company-wide spanning multiple regulatory jurisdictions. Oracle HCM codifies the labor laws and related processes for most major countries out of the box. Talent management module is specifically well suited for a global workforce. In general, Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is great when you want one vendor for all of HCM modules.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So Oracle PeopleSoft HCM was used mostly on the compensation and benefits side of our organization. The biggest struggles we have had were based around properly compensating our employees and on time. The other issue we had was we also weren't correctly paying our employees their worth, this helped us with that dramatically.
  • Easy to use and learn
  • Easy to assign multiple users
  • Easy to transfer information from one HCM to another
  • The LMS inherent in this system needs improvement.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is a straightforward system to use where anyone can excel, and I think that's where it makes it's worth. Most systems tend to be complicated, and it takes a long time to work through this is the exception to the rule. Also, because Oracle PeopleSoft HCM has been in the people business for a long time, they help support the system with a great customer support system.
September 18, 2019

Oracle PS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM is being used to track students, finance and HR data. We have been used PeopleSoft HCM for more than 15 years and are very happy with this product. It saved us a lot of time in development and maintenance. We will continue to use it for a very long time.
  • It is ready to use
  • Don't write codes
  • Minimum maintenance
  • Too much jumping from one screen to another
  • Too many details
  • Difficult to learn
  • Ready to use
  • Too much detail
September 18, 2019

PeopleSoft HCM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Peoplesoft HCM for benefits, recruiting and self-service. Self-service is being used by the whole organization. Recruiting is one of the recent implementations that we have done as it resolves workflow problems and candidate search/attachment issues.
  • One of the examples that we can provide for HCM is the Recruiting Module where candidate attachments and searching the candidates for internal and external job posting. Integration with Elastic search made it much more easy for the users.
  • Another example is N/A Payroll. Running the jobs and viewing the paystubs is much easier with 9.2 implementations. Oracle will be on top of regular tax updates so that the application will be current with the current government norms.
  • As a PeopleSoft administrator, we heard some complaints about Pivot Grid's performance. For example, the recruiting users in Pivot Grid gets late responses.
  • One more thing is that not all pages are being delivered in fluid and the development team went ahead to build some custom fluid pages. If Oracle provides all the pages in fluid that would reduce the effort of the client.
Self-service is one area where it fits well. Timesheets is where it is less appropriate.
September 18, 2019

Excellent Application

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is used SLAC wide. We use Core HR, Recruiting and Compensation modules. It has helped us with moving to a paperless approach for on-boarding and off-boarding of employees. It is very user-friendly. With compensation, we have moved out of using spreadsheets by users and managers and are able to have a one-source system.
  • It is very user-friendly.
  • The activity guides have helped to go thru the process well.
  • Users love the dashboards and homepages with tiles so that they do not have to go through the navigation.
  • Users do not see the menu bread crumbs now and it is very hard to go back to some navigation.
  • Some of the fluid pages do not fit in one page and there is a lot of scrolling.
In our case in the federal arena, we have a lot of custom forms that needed to be built for onboarding for contractors and we would've liked to keep the customization to a minimum. We had a great result after implementing a recruiting module as we moved from Taleo. Users are very happy with this implementation as it seamlessly integrates with Core HR.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. We are using the entire suite of PeopleSoft HCM including position management and commitment accounting in addition to core HR, Payroll, Benefits, Employee and Manager Self Service. There are many interfaces and integrations with Oracle and other third-party systems such as Kronos, Benefitfocus, Open Tempo, and Taleo Enterprise.
  • Solid payroll system
  • Customization is allowed (good )
  • User-friendly
  • Stable product
  • Customization (bad) which will be an obstacle to move to HCM cloud
  • Technology update and improvement including latest technology
  • Commitment and continuous support from Oracle
  • UI improvement - Look and feel modern user experience
PeopleSoft is a very mature product which has been stable and mature for the last 20 years. It has a solid payroll system. At the end of the day, it's all about payroll!

On the other hand, PeopleSoft is considered a legacy system due to the old data model and lack of investment and support from Oracle. PeopleSoft is not a good candidate for a cloud product since it does NOT offer flexible configurable options compared to Oracle HCM Cloud.
September 17, 2019

Oracle PeopleSoft Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FedEx Ground uses PeopleSoft to maintain and support its contractor-based business model for package delivery. Workforce Administration, North American Payroll and Candidate Gateway are a few main modules that we mainly pay attention to. We also use PeopleSoft Portal to provide secure access to contractors that have their own workforce.
  • Very robust and stable application.
  • The user interface needs face-lift but we have not implemented the FLUID feature to our application.
  • Excited to see more attention towards Analytics. Kibana will be a game-changer.
  • Menu navigation can be too much for moderate users to remember their frequently visited pages.
  • JSON classes provided in 8.57 still need good documentation since it's hard to find real-time examples from an online search.
Very robust payroll processing and easy to troubleshoot any issues encountered makes PeopleSoft HCM a reliable application for our company. Interfacing in a realtime manner with another application can be challenging. Like JMS messages in TEXT, format output makes PeopleSoft look archaic compared to any java based application.
September 17, 2019

PeopleSoft at a glance!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for onboarding our contractor workforce, generating legal contracts, and negotiating with our contractors. We also provide self-service capabilities for the contractors. It also helps us to run settlement/calculations that we owe to the Contractors. It also helps us to run reports, generate queries, transmit data to other systems.
  • PeopleSoft security features are awesome.
  • Nice integrated development environment.
  • Easy customization.
  • Workflow capabilities.
  • Find references - Give all SQL references, views using views, records/views used in SQLEXEC's, etc.
  • More data analytics capabilities.
  • Easy way to troubleshoot AWE issues.
It has very robust security features (object level, data level) and is easy to configure. Good self-service capabilities, and it is easy to run PeopleSoft queries, and routing rules. It is very easy to customize in PeopleSoft and develop pages on the fly. Easy access to meta data. The tool set is strong and we can concentrate more on incorporating business features.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Peoplesoft 9.0 is being used for payroll and tracking across projects. No issues or bugs or problems. For our small company, Peoplesoft may be a little too much power, but because of its ability to integrate with other software, we are satisfied.
  • Integration
  • Stability and testing
  • Functionality
  • Migration to the cloud could be easier
  • Ability to move to AWS and other non Oracle products/clouds
  • Training and finding skilled operators
The product for on premise, is great and stable. But the migration path to the cloud is not straightforward for us.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work with consulting companies to implement ERP solutions at various customer sites. Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is used across various departments & organizations. It supports HR, Payroll, Time and Labor, Benefit services.
  • New fluid UI that has been introduced with PT 8.53 has been really great for UX.
  • Seamless integrations and creating web services using out of the box templates by component is really useful.
  • Faster processing of transactions and moving away from COBOL has been great.
  • PeopleSoft does not provide out of the box methodology to utilize DevOps.
  • PeopleSoft should support Kubernetes cluster implementation and automated configuration management systems.
  • PeopleSoft should be able to deploy in docker container setup.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is well suited for larger organizations with deeper IT foot-print. The way PeopleSoft is deployed now, it is not a sure fit for smaller companies due to the infrastructure requirements. Also, it has larger cost to maintain the software when accounting for patches, PUM, updates, etc.
September 17, 2019

Awesome Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PeopleSoft HCM product line to manage our contractor workforce and provide cutting edge solutions to our service providers on the road. We use the PeopleSoft Payroll, Base HR and recruiting modules to manage the entire lifecycle and also created additional custom modules to satisfy unique business needs. We use PeopleTool integration broker to integrate with our business partners and operational systems to send and receive data. We use web services and JMS heavily and rely on Rest API and JSON support provided by PeopleSoft. We also love the deep integration PeopleSoft HCM has with PeopleSoft interaction hub and also support of LDAP for authentication services. Lately, we are trying fluid interface and toying with the idea of enabling it for our user base. I am extremely satisfied with technological advances PeopleSoft HCM product line provides. Some of the examples are page and field configurator, data masking framework, data archival framework, and future planned enhancements. It is also easy to adopt new features using PeopleSoft selective adoption technology using PUM images. We also use reporting capabilities to create ad-hoc queries.
  • Accurate payroll processes.
  • Reporting.
  • Integration services.
  • Security.
  • Self-service.
  • Data masking features.
  • Approval framework.
  • Notification framework.
  • Support of two-factor authentication.
It is very well suited to manage your workforce whether they are temp, permanent employees or contractors. It allows to manage the entire lifecycle of this workforce from onboarding to termination and can provide rich self-service interfaces that are mobile friendly and very intuitive. It has robust data security options to protect confidential data and very rich reporting technologies like pivot grids, charts and bi publisher reporting tools. I wish they would add support for 2-factor authentication or could come up with a native mobile app to access the HR data.
September 17, 2019

A Very useful product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by our HR Department and other affiliated campuses of Cal State University. Sometimes the software was too slow, and there are some bug issues that need to fix.
  • It does awesome on our payroll system.
  • It helps in managing our time and labor.
  • The benefits help, but it still needs some fixing of issues/bugs.
  • The benefits module needs to fix those bugs and data issues.
Every company needs HCM, and it's well suited for universities. The feature set is very comprehensive.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Given the security issues that are prevalent with cloud-based solutions, an on-premise HCM provider is still greatly valued. PeopleSoft has long been a trusted solution, and I'm happy to hear that there are no plans to retire the software suite.
  • On-premise HCM provider.
  • Excellent at managing time and payroll.
  • It's very simple to understand with a very easy interface.
  • Scheduling. There is not a robust scheduling offering that is integrated with PeopleSoft.
  • Provide the ability to release certain elements for access remotely.
If you are looking to keep your database secure and have complete control of your information, PeopleSoft is an amazing choice. If you are looking for a straight cloud-based solution, this is probably not the best option.
September 16, 2019

HCM Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently on PS and upgrading to HCM. We recently started and go live in 2020. PeopleSoft HCM will continue to be an enterprise tool for HR and benefits administration.
  • Compensation management.
  • Employee self-service.
  • Better reporting, particularly dashboards.
  • Better user interface. It could be more intuitive.
It is well suited for compensation management and workflows. They need to improve reporting and dashboards.
September 16, 2019

David's 26 year experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have made a career out of PeopleSoft. I love how far it has come over the years. It has kept me gainfully employed. The user friendliness advancements over the years have been amazing to watch. The fluidity is my favorite improvement. It used to be "click here, click here, click here..." and very complex. Now, you can make one tile that will take you straight to wherever you need to go. It makes it very easy for people that I work with to use.
  • Fluid.
  • Delegation.
  • Benefits admin processing.
  • ACM: I love the concept, but would like to see growth.
  • Fluid: User adoption should improve on our side.
  • Sell the features on the cloud, not the cloud itself. Focus on what the cloud brings to us instead of hard-selling numbers.
Support for previous versions is lacking, to be bluntly honest. There is not anything more frustrating than hearing "you need to upgrade to the next version." That's just not feasible for a lot of shops.
September 16, 2019

Great system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it for HR management across departments. It solved the issue of having multiple databases.
  • Easy user interface.
  • A lot of partners are using the same software, which increases collaboration.
  • Can be used for many HR disciplines.
  • Reporting capability could be improved.
PeopleSoft is well-suited for large organizations. We had an issue with retro calculation. It's tricky to look back at the previous fiscal year's information.
March 21, 2019

Strong core system

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle PeopleSoft hcm is used as the core HR system. We have other side systems like Taleo for recruiting etc. Overall we are ok with the system but we have issues with reporting and data accessibility.
  • Strong core HR and payroll engines
  • Easy to customize to meet organization needs
  • Reporting
  • Everything is customization instead of configuration
It has strong core payroll system. Reporting is not easy to develop.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being used as our backend processing to support Human Capital actions across the enter organization. This ranges from salary increases, promotions, transfers, etc. to reporting. It is used across the entire organization. It addresses our need to support the management of our entire employee population.
  • For me, the reporting aspects of the product provide a lot of value. The ability to access data for my entire department quickly helps me find data for specific data calls in an efficient manner.
  • We've recently gone through a reorganization and the product performed very well when moving resources between teams.
  • A module that we developed (eCOMP) seamlessly pulls data and provides users with salary recommendations that tie to our overall corporate pay strategy.
  • When the reorganziation occurred, when selecting an employees new organziation, I was required to type in the 'data field' vs. the common name of the group. This was cumbersome and cost time. This process could be made more efficient.
  • When using the product to see my entire organization, there are times when use of the back button on my browser causes issues, and the data isn't refreshed properly.
  • I would like to have the ability to customize the standard reports that are available in the application.
Out of the box, good for small companies that may not have complex compliance issues. Large companies will need high levels of customization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internally, it is used across our entire company. We are also the Systems Integrator for multiple PeopleSoft HCM Federal customers.
  • Ease of customization
  • Well know table structure
  • Acceptable UI
  • Clear migration path to Oracle HCM Cloud
  • Data security embedded at the row level to prevent unintended exposure of data to unauthorized resources
  • Increased 508 compliance
It has been great for customers to easily develop bolt on applications/modules.