OutSystems Reviews

176 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 124)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 03, 2019
Mari Pantoja-Smith, MSN-RN | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OS helped us develop a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit documentation tool specific to our providers. It is currently LIVE at an MVP phase to 3 of our sites. We have an old legacy application and OS is helping us modernize the application to ensure provider efficiency, quality and patient safety.
  • Customer experience.
  • Low code.
  • Customer engagement.
  • OS resource knowledge depth.
  • Flexibility in the UI, especially for healthcare documentation module.
  • Architecture design specific to the client.
  • Out of the BOX functionality limitations.
Not sure at this time.
Overall customer service, engagement and support.
Read Mari Pantoja-Smith, MSN-RN's full review
October 03, 2019
Daine Salmon Cert.APM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsystems is being used as a rapid prototyping platform enabling us to fail quickly and often to determine the best course of action when trying to cater to business needs. It allows us to quickly develop and demo software/proof of concept to business stakeholders to gauge their appetite and make decisions on future implementation.
  • Streamlines processes.
  • Enables quick development.
  • Ease of adoption.
  • Training.
  • Flexibility.
  • Resources.
Outsystems is well suited for database-driven applications and client-facing apps that are required to handle a lot of data. Especially ones that require rapid development. Outsystems is well suited for database-driven applications and client-facing apps that are required to handle a lot of data. Especially ones that require rapid development.
Support is very attentive.
Read Daine Salmon Cert.APM's full review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for specific user groups within our organization. The objective is for it to be used across the entire organization by creating a fully integrated Customer Portal.
At the moment, we use it for our drivers, for maintenance repairs, and for a select group of our customers. We have at the moment a fully functioning OutSystems applications within our company.
  • The rapidity.
  • The fact that you can easily make a good looking application.
  • The flexibility.
  • The vendor lock-in.
  • Maybe integrate better with the Apple store.
OutSystems is suited for any situation as long as the strategy is well thought of. The necessary sponsors within the company also all need to be convinced and aligned. It is very difficult to move forward if the entire team is not convinced by the solution that is being implemented, and the necessary freedom needs to be given to see the whole platform's potential.
We always get very fast feedback. The team is always happy to help, and if a solution is not directly found, they search and connect with others.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple applications. Serving citys, and housing companies in the Netherlands. Our software excels at matching houses to people with very complex rules. We serve 15 different areas in the Netherlands with over 400 customers in the housing industry. Our matching software makes available houses visible on the website currently used by over 1 million people from the Netherlands each month.
  • Rapid visible results
  • Easy integration with APIs
  • Customizing styles
  • Development of interaction elements outside the "defaults" is a lot of work.
This rapid application development platform works great for building applications from scratch. The build of a new application is really easy and very easy to set up. Within minutes you have your application running and deployed to your users.
Less suited for rebuilding an entire application. This was our greatest mistake. Never rebuild. Build something next to it.
The tech support is very reachable. Usually by [email] from but also by phone if needed. We had some difficulties at the start with understanding "what our machine was doing" under high performance load. After some good sessions understanding our needs they delivered good solutions for our problems we had in the beginning.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in the mother company and in one of the daughter companies. They are both based in the Netherlands. In our case - at the mother company - we are developing a mobile app that is spread in more than 11 countries.
  • Super easy to use
  • Straightforward
  • Saves time
  • Automated testing
  • Icons usage - they look quite outdated.
OutSystems is well suited when you want to deliver a product fast and don't have a full-blown budget for a very big development team, and when you want to see/release fast results.
I never heard of issues with help in our team - I assume this is always flawless and smooth.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we use it for mobile app development. We created an app that is used by one of our key stakeholders and is soon to be rolled out to other stakeholders nationally. We also create mobile and web apps to support various business needs. Currently, it is used by our IT department. The main problem that it addresses is speed-to-market. We can deliver solutions faster than we could with traditional development methods.
  • Create applications with little development knowledge or skill. If someone does have development skills it makes it even better.
  • Ability to integrate external resources. Being able to integrate from third-party and internal resources is a big help.
  • Being able to see changes to the UI in near real-time is great. This makes development go fast and reduces errors.
  • The experience for Mac users with dual monitors is less than optimal.
OutSystems is great for delivering mobile apps quickly. From what I've seen it does the same for web applications. It seems that OutSystems may not be the best option for creating a .com website.
Personally, I haven't had to use support very much. I've found the resources and training to be very helpful. I know that others on the team have engaged with support and received prompt and thorough information.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used to replace legacy apps across our organization. We expect it to allow faster app development, improve business workflows and improve usability. At the moment users bounce around through several applications to look for the information they want. We are taking the opportunity to create new products for them that are linked to their specific needs.
  • Ease of use - a novice programmer can put together an application quickly.
  • Strong integration with other features and services through Forge.
  • Good after purchase support - they really want us to be successful!
  • Implementation was a little slow for our liking (3+ weeks).
  • A local user group would be a welcome addition (I know that is hard unless there are plenty of users).
  • Getting this product into the hands of "grass roots" developers would be a big and welcome set up.
Well suited for offices where users have multiple screens. Not so well suited for those with smaller/lo-res screens. Well suited for Development Teams and companies that are familiar with agile development techniques/procedures. It is a culture shock for groups that do not have this background. A little more help for those in that situation would be great.
The technical support if very good - although I had one outstanding ticket having to do with our lifetime analytics. The CSMs are very attentive and adaptable to our needs. The product and deployment capabilities are excellent and have injected some fun back into our development efforts. Developers are curious and interested in how to use the product.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used by a few small teams at the moment to make our smaller projects even quicker than they already are. We're looking to just speed up our development process which will allow us to focus on some bigger projects for longer amounts of time. We're excited to look into using it in some bigger use cases.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Easy to build a website due to it being hosted in the cloud.
  • Support is great.
  • Some performance issues.
  • Initial online training could be better.
  • Server upgrades are inconvenient.
It's well suited for CRUD applications that are relatively simple. Forms to submit and store in a database are ideal. It's also great with integrating with APIs and exposing APIs of its own. I could see this being beneficial to be used by someone who may not have a degree in computer science. Training a non-technical professional may be relatively easy.
Customer support is typically rapid and well versed. We've run into a few (very few) situations where support went on for longer than anticipated. They are always persistent to see it through to the end though.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as the core of our service-layer infrastructure across the whole organization. It is sending data from source to destination systems.
  • Integration based on APIs.
  • Architectural principles.
  • The UI part for an eCommerce platform.
The applications are really process-based, and that will help the business to focus on what really matters.
It's very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently it is only used by a selection of people because we are exploring the features and fit with the business cases. We now only focus on fast to solve problems so we can build some expertise and confidence in the business. The first use is well received so we have a start.
  • The speed of results to show to end users.
  • The ease of use even if you do not have any experience.
  • More templates for non financial businesses.
OutSystems is well suited for small isolated experiences in our landscape. Connecting to legacy data sources is a struggle for big companies.
The first impression is good. Have only been using it for a few months.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by our developers to build our new backend housing software. Ths is done by 3 Agile Scrum teams.
  • The quick drag and drop way of building the application
  • Easy way to deploy to next stage in development process
  • Nice look and feel
  • Upgrade to next version of product is slow
  • Support doesn't communicate very well in an escalation
it's well suited to use in agile scrum way of working easy to deploy and quick way to see effect of your work
Support is mostly accurate, but in some cases i.e. upgrade of the platform - they responded poorly.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Low code development for apps.
  • Low code development for apps
  • Quick onboarding
  • Low entry barrier
  • Complex apps tend to take more time than hybrid.
  • It is not easy to get around bugs or blocking issues.
  • UI bugs in iOS.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to create service by service solutions for all use cases, and to replace legacy software and none digital processes. We have a team of 6 devs supported by UX, support, architects, and BAs, in 3 workstreams to produce all these solutions.
  • Flexibility - We can do anything in it.
  • Speed - The solutions are done much quicker.
  • Quality - We make good user experiences both for our staff and our customers.
  • The upgrade processes have been pretty painful.
OutSystems is very well suited to bespoke workflows that the business is expanding into or even legacy, but then you have the typical barriers to change.
They are generally quick. The user forum is amazing and usually, all questions are already answered.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've rebuilt our backend in OutSystems. The old backend was a 15-year legacy system that has been rebuilt and perfected in less than 2 years. OutSystems gave us a good overview of what to do and showed us where we could improve our code since it gives you a very good visual insight.
  • Visual insight in your code since it is modular.
  • Quick but not dirty.
  • Easy of use.
  • Ability to peer review code changes.
  • Integration with Okta.
  • New templates.
OutSystems is a perfect tool when you are new to development and want to start learning development. They have very nice programs online which you can use to start learning for free. How awesome is that? Besides that, they have a very good and active community online as well as very good documentation.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used by an in-house scrum team. They are developing a new program that is used by employees and clients of the NGO. In the future, an app might be developed for clients.
  • Easy to develop a new program without IT education.
  • Easy to change parts of your program.
  • Helps in fast digital transformation.
  • More help in setting up the correct architecture.
  • Problems with multiple developers working and then publishing the same module.
OutSystems is very well suited for the quick development of applications.
It is easy to make a support ticket. However, we don't always get a reply - or at least a sufficient reply.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are going to be using OutSystems to replace some of our legacy systems. The product will be replacing services hosted within our secure environment.
  • Simple - The product itself is simple to use with its low-code drag and drop interface.
  • Extensible - I hate systems that don't allow me to extend them as and when I need to. OutSystems lets me extend in whatever way I want to, which could be support for a foreign database, to custom C# to integrate something completely different.
  • Supported - The system is supported really, really well. there is a forum that is incredibly active, both the partners and OutSystems are responsive.
  • "The OutSystems way" - As a web designer and developer, I often feel that some of the components, and the way that some "web blocks" work could be improved.
If you have a layer of APIs that you can consume, or you are looking to create such a layer, this is a great platform to let you do something with those API's. If you're looking to use this as a content management system, or to host an information-only website, this product is overkill, unless you are planning to make a content management system, then OutSystems would be great for that.
The community is very active, and partners are more than willing to help.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this moment we use OutSystems to help the business with its needs and requirements.
  • Great for enterprise businesses!
  • It is easy to use.
  • It helps us with time-to-market solutions.
  • Deliver a datahub so it is easy to connect to multiple databases.
OutSystems is well suited to smaller applications that help the business.
Support is very good and they connect with us very quickly whenever we have a problem.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by our business unit.
  • User interface.
  • DevOps integration.
  • Connect with 3rd party plug-ins.
  • In terms of organization, the customer should be free to choose the best way of work, instead of using always the Fabric Model.
  • Code audits and reviews.
OutSystems is great for cleaning legacy architecture and speeding up digital transformation. In terms of HR, it is also very important to consolidate knowledge in one area of expertise.
They are always available to answer and to find a solution for the customer.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsystems is being used by many areas of the company, but my specific department will be using it to develop mobile apps and websites. We will be replacing the current custom code.
  • Simple to make changes.
  • It demos very well.
  • It has a strong user base.
  • It requires different thinking about SDLC and releases mgmt.
  • Developers need to be trained.
  • With so much flexibility, it is easy to over complicate products.
Well suited when need to produce many white-labeled apps and websites.
I have not had experience with support, but it seems like there is adequate support.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OutSystems to track our operation from contractors to vendors and customers. So far, it has been a great experience.
We are using OutSystems to automate our process and save time between management and internal process
I highly recommend this OutSystems to everyone who wants and needs good results in a short period of time.
  • Quick response.
  • Low code.
  • Support.
  • I have no issues to discuss.
It is the best Low Code platform. I started developing with OutSystems and then moved to DevOps. In any field, you can get yourself surprise about how to extend the company is in terms of offering tools for the business.
I love the customer service support. So if you think everything ends when you purchase the platform you are wrong you are not alone along with your implementation.
I highly recommend OutSystems if you want to get quick results in a short period of time and most important of all, with quality.
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is a great enabler of rapid solution delivery. We have used it to bring new product ideas and programs to market quickly. It is currently being used across several divisions, but has not yet gained full endorsement across the entire enterprise level. Based on our teams' experience, I believe that organizations can use this platform to deliver business technology solutions twice as fast, with one-half the people, at the same total cost of ownership (especially true when solutions need to be both web and mobile-enabled!). Like with any development approach, the tool/platform does not guarantee success, but it is a strong enabler (you also still need Agile execution discipline, UI/UX expertise, and change management plans).
  • It eliminates the need to code (and thereby the need to understand the syntax with the coding languages); hence the idea/title of "low-code."
  • Mobile development through auto-generated responsive web-apps. A huge value in this space alone!
  • Minimal training is needed to become proficient. Business systems analysts are productive & proficient in a month. It helps respond to the war on talent!
  • It marries the best of DevOps technologies with integration tools and code-generation. This platform represents a higher level of abstraction in the development process. With automatic provisioning of databases and infrastructure, the process is greatly automated.
  • OutSystems seek and certify to HIPPA compliance.
  • The OutSystems community needs to come together to solve for the lack of OS engineers in the USA (it's being worked on, but needs to accelerate).
  • Technology leaders are usually the resisters to this platform/approach; yet business leaders readily appreciate the value. More needs to be done to help leaders get over the stigma associated with low-code (this new approach to development).
It has potential for broad appeal -- I have not yet found a case that platform could not support. If needed, you can write complex items in traditional code, expose as with APIs, and integrate it with what gets developed on the platform. It's great for mobile and web application development, but might be overkill for basic web page development.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2018
John Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used as the mainstream development environment for our new product ranges of both web and mobile applications. We have a head count of between 15 and 20 developers and designers at any one time made up of both internal and external resources. Currently we are undergoing a project to rewrite a legacy product that was developed over a 30 year period.
  • Deployment management – OutSystems has a built in robust, multi-environment deployment system that helps ensures the clean and error free deployment of applications through the development, testing and production product lifecycle
  • Rapid application development – Through the low code, graphical development environment you can develop applications far quicker than with more traditional development environments
  • Cross platform mobile development – OutSystems handle the development and building of mobile application for both iOS and Android in a simple streamlined way that removes 90% of the problems normally associated with multi platform development
  • Price – The licensing model of OutSystems is very expensive and not suitable for small scale developments. This is offset by the time to develop and stability for larger scale developments
  • Flexibility on PaaS version – The PaaS hosted version of OutSystems limits your flexibility to access the front end and backend database systems which can significantly restrict your options on high data volume developments or where anything requiring slightly out of the ordinary access is required
  • Same price for PaaS and self-hosted system. Licensing model dictates that you pay the same price even when you host the system on your own hardware which effectively means you pay more to manage the infrastructure yourself

OutSystems is extremely well suited where you require a fast time to market combined with a robust deployment process. It also provides enterprise grade redundancy and vertical scalability with SLA’s approaching those available with any other tier 1 application.

OutSystems is not well suited for small scale or “cheap” application due to it’s high “per object” licensing costs and minimum license fees.

Read John Williams's full review
December 22, 2018
Ricardo Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used in our company as a fast software delivery tool. With all the benefits of low code, we can develop enterprise, well designed and efficient apps that can respond to clients necessities. We can change and modify all that is needed as fast as the business grows. Overall, OutSystems fills the gap that always existed between the speed that companies evolve and the speed needed to develop software.
  • Development speed.
  • Abstraction. Focus on business.
  • Easy to modify and change.
  • Great support and community.
  • OutSystems covers 99.99% of all necessities in enterprise and mobile development. That 0.01% we always can look up outside.
OutSystems suits all medium to big enterprise businesses. Fast delivery, well-designed software and a focus on business.

It's the Holy Grail of enterprise software. Everything can be more dynamic, business and development are closer, and everything is much faster. Overall the final user experience it's much better. With this product, companies can save money, time, and have better results, thanks to better software solutions.
Read Ricardo Pereira's full review
October 16, 2018
Eric De Bruin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is used to do innovations and enable access to the massive outdated unsupported monolith system made in Oracle. 4-5 teams are working on this for over a year now.
  • Simply develop fast and deliver apps so you benefit with extreme short time to market.
  • Maintainablility is even better compared to traditional development tools.
  • Work on the same module simultaneously without losing code by useful compare and merge options.
  • Well working staging / development tooling available in the form of Lifetime.
  • Fast learning curve, especially for experienced developers bu also for complete newbies.
  • Come up with a license model for SME. Now only medium and large companies are in focus. The basic license is just too expensive.
  • Introduce reporting tooling.
If vendor software really suites your needs, it can be that you do not need OutSystems, but this is almost never the case. So almost always you can benefit from OS. And of course OS has to be careful not to make the platform too expensive, because then you are only working hard to compete and the great advantages no longer exist.
Read Eric De Bruin's full review
April 19, 2018
Lee Penning | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collabworks has developed a SaaS product (Framework) using the OutSystems software. The Framework product was created to help companies to maximize the use of their worker's talent. The framework has been used by companies with offices around the world. The OutSystems product allows Collabworks to use the agile development process to reduce development time.
  • They allow their customers to share information about issues and fixes to reduce downtime and obtain a wider view of the capabilities of the products through a customer posting section on the OutSystems website.
  • OutSystems also holds conferences during the year at different locations making it easier for customers to interact and openly discuss what they have learned and how they have used the product.
  • OutSystems also has resources that can be contracted to help a company get started using their products very quickly.
  • Because OutSystems is growing so quickly it can be hard to get business questions, (contract issues, availability date), answered quickly.
  • It is sometimes difficult to find employees with OutSystems product experience.
Quick development of applications that can make information flow faster. This means using data collected by existing products and presenting the data in a different format. It can also be used to create easier ways to input data into older existing systems for processing. Exporting from an existing system and formatted that data into Excel spreadsheets are some of the basics.
Read Lee Penning's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (44)
7.9
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (44)
8.1
Platform Security (43)
7.8
Platform User Management (42)
7.5
Reusability (46)
7.8
Platform Scalability (43)
8.0

What is OutSystems?

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Video

OutSystems 2 Minute Overview

OutSystems Competitors

OutSystems Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$4,000.00Per Month
Pro$10,000.00Per Month

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian