TrustRadius
Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tH/rx/4APKV7V3F5EA.JPEGA great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.,The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have. The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations. The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.,I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into. Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here. Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.,6,Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Server,8,7,Qlik Sense, Azure SQL Database, Informatica Cloud Data IntegrationPentaho for your businessCurrently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.,Easy to create simple jobs and transformations Mature data access and data transformation capabilities Suitable for complex analytic use cases Consume data from many sources,At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it. Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models,8,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,8,7,Joomla!Pentaho can be a great solution for a companyWe are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.,SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports. Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users. By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access. Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users. Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.,Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object. Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.,9,direct query in excel,8,8,Kyubit Business Intelligence, BOARDPentaho was just OK as an OEM solutionWe made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.,Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own. The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.,The Mondrian code was hard to learn. The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us. The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.,5,,4,7Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL CapabilitiesPentaho is used for scheduled ETL between Remedy and other platforms to help centralize and enrich data.,Easy to use! Reliable for small jobs Open source Easy to learn Great community online Fast,Open sourced Running on our vendor's VM... could be the reason why we are seeing some data limitation issues Future friendly,8,,BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, BMC Atrium CMDB,9,9
Unspecified
Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

Pentaho Reviews

Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 14 of 100 Pentaho ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 28, 2018

Pentaho Review: "A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

7
Not a lot to say here, nothing above and beyond what any of the other tools offer. You can control, share or restrict data by data points such as user ID's or by roles tied to those IDs. Better interfaces with the suite of Microsoft products would make it easier to report out your data findings on, but not even Microsoft's Power BI can talk to its own products very well in this category.
Read this authenticated review
Ilham AB profile photo
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Pentaho for your business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

7
Pentaho provides the full support of different and many roles for access control capabilities. The features to share the data or report across team or different role in the organization and company. It includes features for managing security, running reports, displaying dashboards, report bursting, scripted business rules, OLAP analysis and scheduling out of the box.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Mihaela Olariu profile photo
February 23, 2018

Review: "Pentaho can be a great solution for a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8
Pentaho offers the possibility of sending to XLS, PDF or CSV, once saved on your local computer you can share with anyone. Reports used for PDF must have a special design from the start. Also, a special schedule to send report can be created in the .xaction and is working fine.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
No photo available
June 30, 2017

User Review: "Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

7
From my perspective as a business user and not a developer, they seemed to have all the functionality we needed. I could not say how easy or difficult these were to implement as I was not involved on that side. I do know we had some issues implementing the multi-tenant security.
Read this authenticated review
Gordon Yeh profile photo
June 27, 2016

Review: "Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

9
Pentaho has a community online that shares the jobs and transformations. Importing/exporting the jobs is a piece of cake. Within our internal cloud, I am able to share, open, review the jobs and transformations that he has created and we can work together to finalize them. However, the access control comes with the connections themselves; if you don't have access, you don't have access and cannot do much with the tools to help shape and transform the data.
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
Jordan Squire profile photo
February 23, 2016

Review: "Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

7
Pentaho integrates with Active Directory / LDAP which makes managing users, roles, and groups simple. Sharing reports within Pentaho is very simple, however there is no notification to the user(s) that you shared a report with. You can schedule a report to be emailed to an email address on a recurring schedule. Other reporting tools provide a way to comment or discuss individual reports or dashboards, Pentaho does not.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
Yinghua Hu profile photo
March 01, 2016

Pentaho Review: "A powerful ETL tool which is open source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8
I am not familiar with this functionality since I am the only user of Pentaho inside my company. But it is easy to distribute a simple report using "Send mail".
Read Yinghua Hu's full review
Ivan Miller profile photo
February 26, 2016

Review: "Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

4
The access control capabilities are generally sufficient, but not stellar. Most of the data sharing and access control is managed completely through pentaho's BI server, and there doesn't seem to be super strict security around the configuration and setup of permissions, who can view what reports, etc. The dashboarding capability of "putting a bunch of reports together" is extremely clunky, it's something we steer clear of trying to implement where possible.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Anderson L.A. profile photo
February 16, 2016

Pentaho Review: "One of the best BI solutions for start up companies or those looking for a highly customizable tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8
It is not so easy to master the sharing and collaboration capabilities, however, it is highly customizable once mastered.
Read Anderson L.A.'s full review
Deepak Paramanand profile photo
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho the best BI integrator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

6
Pentaho checked all the boxes with respect to security, formatting of reports/dashboards, distribution etc. In terms of collaborative capabilities, features like annotation, 'users-who-saw-this-also-saw' capabilities were missing. In hindsight we would have liked workflow integration to have been tightly coupled with collaboration so that all users in the same business process would have benefited from each others work and not have to redo.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
Adam O'Connor profile photo
September 16, 2014

Review: "Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

6
I use the Pentaho report designer on my local, generate a .prpt file and integrate that to make the report available in our client's Odoo instances. I haven't used any access control, data sharing or securities features that are available in Pentaho but I am looking forward to using them as I need them.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
Itamar Steinberg profile photo
December 05, 2014

"Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

10
For Pentaho Kettle - data integration this is not relevant. You can find more materials about it at: Pentaho Kettle Materials.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
No photo available
February 23, 2016

User Review: "An implementor view on Pentaho tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

5
Did not use this feature. The reason was to use it required a user to install/run bi server, but we are not comfortable with the design bi server brings. We would prefer to use some self-contained functionalities of what can we get from Pentaho like reporting, or a PDI, and implement access control.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho for Quality Assurance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Collaboration and Sharing

8
As we used the Community edition we didn't have any access control capabilities. But sharing data and connections was fairly easy. By just sharing kettle properties you can get most of the settings. On security again, our edition was the Community edition so we didn't bother that much.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
6.5
Customizable dashboards (11)
6.9
Report Formatting Templates (12)
6.8
Drill-down analysis (12)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (12)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (7)
6.2
Report sharing and collaboration (11)
4.9
Publish to Web (11)
6.2
Publish to PDF (13)
7.4
Report Versioning (8)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (11)
6.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
6.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (10)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (10)
6.4
Predictive Analytics (9)
5.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (12)
7.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (4)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (6)
5.4
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (3)
6.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (7)
5.9
REST API (3)
6.7
Javascript API (3)
6.3
iFrames (3)
5.0
Java API (3)
5.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
5.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.4

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No