TrustRadius
Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tH/rx/4APKV7V3F5EA.JPEGA great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.,The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have. The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations. The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.,I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into. Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here. Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.,6,Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Server,8,7,Qlik Sense, Azure SQL Database, Informatica Cloud Data IntegrationPentaho for your businessCurrently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.,Easy to create simple jobs and transformations Mature data access and data transformation capabilities Suitable for complex analytic use cases Consume data from many sources,At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it. Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models,8,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,8,7,Joomla!Pentaho can be a great solution for a companyWe are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.,SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports. Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users. By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access. Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users. Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.,Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object. Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.,9,direct query in excel,8,8,Kyubit Business Intelligence, BOARDPentaho was just OK as an OEM solutionWe made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.,Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own. The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.,The Mondrian code was hard to learn. The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us. The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.,5,,4,7Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultionPentaho is the primary source for the Business Intelligence in my company. We have many Pentaho users across the whole organization that are making a good use of Pentaho Analyzer to create the reports. At the report side, it helps the business users to evaluate all the work that has been done by the different teams across the organizations. By seeing the reports they can check, for example, how many issues are open, how many bugs have been fixed in a specific duration, how many builds failed in which phase etc.,First thing what I have experienced about Pentaho is that it is user friendly. The best thing about Pentaho is Pentaho Data Integration. I have never used more user friendlier ETL tool like PDI. All the jobs and transformation steps are easy to understand. And I like the sample transformations and jobs that are provided with the package. It is so user friendly that, even if you don't know SQL, it will generate it for you. If you don't want to write scripts, that's fine, you can do it in PDI. I have found that Pentaho can be integrated with any technology or framework. I have easily and successfully integrated it with HDFS, EMR, S3, CouchDB, many different RDBMSs. I would consider it as a strength of Pentaho. Also if you are stuck or you find any error, the type of logging will have an answer for you. I found the logging mechanism very effective. I have mostly used Pentaho Analyzer and Schema Workbench at the BI side. It is user friendly too and we have a very few users who come to the developers to help them understanding the UI of PUC.,Most of the companies use star schema in their Data Warehouses but they are not the pure star schemas. There are the bridge tables, group tables but when using Schema Workbench to design a cube, it gets very painful for the developers to accommodate such schema in it. To do this, I have to go to the XML file and add the new elements. I would love to see the feature where Schema Workbench can accommodate the bridge tables as they are the part of star schema too. When it comes to ETL, I have found PDI to be the best tool, but at the report side, it is not as good as the other tools available in the market. Especially the users always complain about the graphs in the Pentaho Analyzer. I think. the UI needs a lot of improvement. PDI is slow reading the JSON files. There is a fast JSON input step available in the marketplace but I think I would be great if Pentaho can make the JSON reading even faster. When I export the repository, I see the files names are encoded with UTF-8 encoding. It would be great, if the spaces and the special characters can be preserved while exporting a BA repository.,9,Pentaho has improved our overall business process. Pentaho has helped the Managers and Directors to analyze the numbers going up and down from time to time. We have a started a big project using Pentaho that is going to include all the business processes in the organization.,Informatica Enterprise Data Integration,PostgreSQL
Unspecified
Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

Pentaho Reviews

Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 24 of 100 Pentaho ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 28, 2018

Pentaho Review: "A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The tool is fast, visually attractive and intuitive to use, but we also have an implementation of Qlik Sense and Pentaho pales in comparison to the overall capabilities. I recommend the tool, but everyone’s solution need is unique, so it may not be the right fit. Larger tools like Qlik are more versatile and easier to recommend. More expensive, yes, but you usually get what you pay for.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Pentaho for your business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho will work great to embed analytic content with full features of Machine Learning capabilities. It supports many machine-learning frameworks and can be easily integrated. So, you also can connect with many data sources and have no worries about it. In our case, we are using it to help us create many day-to-day jobs and transformations that our internal users need. But to achieve this, we need to train our team to be able to understand the main concepts of how this software works.
Read Ilham AB's full review
February 23, 2018

Review: "Pentaho can be a great solution for a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Operational reports, big lists of COs, POs, DOs, master information and details. Bursting reports by email and scheduling tasks are interesting and very useful.
  • Complex aggregations are useful to use in cross tabs and calculated functions in the tables. I would recommend a new tool if the purpose is dashboards, but they still can be created in Pentaho as well.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
June 30, 2017

User Review: "Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Overall as an OEM vendor of analytics, I would say it was about average. They did help us get to market sooner than if we developed everything in-house, but I felt the dashboards were pretty ugly and I wouldn't say I was super impressed. I found the Analyzer OLAP tool to be very useful and that part would have been harder to develop in-house, but I would skip the dashboards next time and go straight to developing those in-house, which is what we ended up with in the end.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited scenarios: When we need to deal with any type of RDBMS, from data input to the data loading, Pentaho is super fast. It has many bulk loaders available too. Dealing with the tables is the specialty of Pentaho.

Less Appropriate scenarios: When you have a star schemas with the bridge tables or snow-flake schemas, you will need a lot of additional work to be done in Pentaho apparently. Also, dealing with the files is not bad, but it should be improved.
** My review is for Pentaho 5.4.0.8 or previous releases.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
November 02, 2016

"Rookie Pentaho review from an ETL veteran"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for developers who may not be adept at strict coding, but have experience with GUI development. It is also better for rather simpler ETL, as the GUI interface has natural restrictions that make complex ETL problems challenging to solve. It may also be well suited for companies on a budget, as the free version still has enough features to be reasonably useful.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho - Yay or Nay?"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited to small - mid size firms that have specific reporting needs. It is less likely to benefit firms that already have data analytics capabilities built into multiple platforms as Pentaho is not easy to integrate with other analytics platforms. There isn't enough documentation available online, however, customer support is easy to reach.
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2016

Review: "Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Open sourced ETL tool to help corporations load data. Very easy to learn but you have to take the time to do it! Lots of reading and exploring by yourself and there are some free jobs and transformations online to help you get started. However, we have heard and seen cases with the jobs just do not load the data entirely; it'll have issues after 50K records.
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
February 23, 2016

Review: "Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As far as generating and maintaining a data warehouse, Pentaho does an excellent job and I would highly recommend it. For analysis and gaining insight into your data, Pentaho is excellent. For visualization, dashboarding, or executive grade reporting it may not be as beautiful or flashy as your clients require.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
March 01, 2016

Pentaho Review: "A powerful ETL tool which is open source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited for ETL processing and database population. It is less appropriate for visualization and analytics. Key question is the benefit it can bring and the cost and robustness.
Read Yinghua Hu's full review
February 26, 2016

Review: "Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is very well suited for organizations looking for end-to-end BI solutions without wanting to break the bank--particularly because the community edition has most of the functionality necessary to get you started, and it's free. Honestly though, if you have deep pockets there are probably more complete solutions out there in terms of functionality
Read Ivan Miller's full review
February 16, 2016

Pentaho Review: "One of the best BI solutions for start up companies or those looking for a highly customizable tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is an excellent tool for start ups and where CTOs are willing to invest in staff training

Drawback : Takes a bit longer to master Pentaho in relation to the leading BI solutions.
Read Anderson L.A.'s full review
June 03, 2015

User Review: "B.I. made simple. Pentaho rocks!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are an open-source shop, this is a great choice. Also, if your developer has minimal experience with ETL, Pentaho is a great way to go wince it is easy to use. There is also a ton of help in the forums, in you go with Community Edition (i.e. sans support)
Read Sandro Frattura's full review
August 19, 2015

Review: "Pentaho - Fast and Furious Data Integration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PDI is a great alternative to proprietary tools. If your environment is just starting out using ETL tools, definitely look into using PDI. The number of features plus the ability to write flexible dynamic processes allows for much more maintainable code.
Read Alex Meadows's full review
March 16, 2015

User Review: "Pentaho - Jumping On The Band Wagon"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited for an internal environment who needs access to data quickly and offer the data up in a very professional business document. It is not suited for a reporting portal that customers can access via the internet or web. The limited security prevents us from being able to offer our Pentaho UI as a service to our partners and customers.
Read Stephanie Dozier's full review
November 05, 2014

Review: "Three Years with Pentaho and No Regrets"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Do you need to integrate data from multiple sources? Pentaho is great for this. Previously, we were SSHing files around and importing with numerous cron scripts.

Are your Finance and Marketing teams constantly asking for one-off queries? Pentaho puts this power in THEIR hands so they can pull and arrange the data they want into whatever view they want.

Do you want to pay too much for a full-featured BI solution? Pentaho is very reasonably priced, and even has a free version!
Read Kenneth Panacy's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho the best BI integrator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Integration is best with Pentaho. If you want to overlay your product capability with Pentaho's BI Server, Data Integration, Reporting Engine, Workflow capabilities then Pentaho is the only answer. Other tools provide each of these very well, but if you have already built your product and dont want to buy Informatica, Cognos/Microstratey and SPSS/SAS then Pentaho is the way to go.
Pentaho is Java based, so no shortage of skilled Java resources who can help you integrate. We did not spend time building our own reporting engine, Data Visualization layer, Security layer, workflow capabilities. We simply used our proven transactional product and used Pentaho to fill our gaps.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
September 16, 2014

Review: "Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is great for companies that don't have huge budgets but want a powerful reporting tool that they can get and use for free. It is great for developers that know SQL and can learn to use a non-intuitive interface and are motivated to work through a very outdated interface.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
December 05, 2014

"Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pros:
I find it suited for 90% of data integration projects , its a very good tool, easy to use, stable and affordable.
Cons:
I think that the big data connections are still not perfect, so if you have a NoSQL DBl / Hadoop / Cassandra, you might consider extracting the data to file from the source using MapReduce. Also, if you need bulk load, sometimes it's better to use it directly on a tool, for example Redshift / InfiniDB (that is no longer with us).
Apart than that I think it will suit you well.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
November 05, 2014

Pentaho Review: "My Favorite Data Integration Tool is still Kitchen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would definitely recommend the ETL tool but not the server. I would consider the amount of data to be processed, the budget the client is looking to spend, available knowledge and expertise. it seems that there are not that many Pentaho skills on the market and companies are reluctant to implement the product as they are concerned about ongoing maintenance. I would also ask about requirements to integrate with other products or run on the cloud. Being open standards Pentaho integrates nicely with in-house systems.
Read Julia Gusman's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho: a strong open source BI suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho provides a rich end to end BI solution. It is highly configurable. The data integration module is an especially useful and powerful. You may need a higher level of IT skills and support to work with Pentaho than you do with other BI tools. It is helpful to have SQL querying skills when creating Penthao reports. Make sure you have resources who are familiar with Pentaho or are able to get training.
Read Nathan Smith's full review
February 23, 2016

User Review: "An implementor view on Pentaho tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are different Pentaho features, and each one has its own specific scenario where it is best suited. Reporting - is for generating boring Excel like reports, with calculations etc. For data visualization reporting is not a [good] tool. PDI is used for creation data transformations, from almost any source of data. But it is very heavy weighted. It has Hadoop and other support. But hand made code runs faster than transformation made in Spoon. And there are some algorithms that can be much easily written manually.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho for Quality Assurance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited for:


  • Migration of large data.
  • Reading XML file and processing data.
  • QA Testing.
  • Data modeling.
  • Data processing.
It is less appropriate for:

  • DataType validation
  • Reporting
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho Open Source"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

How much support will be available? What about software updates?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
6.3
Customizable dashboards (11)
6.7
Report Formatting Templates (12)
6.6
Drill-down analysis (12)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (12)
6.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (7)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (11)
4.9
Publish to Web (11)
6.2
Publish to PDF (13)
7.4
Report Versioning (8)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (11)
6.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
6.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (10)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (10)
6.3
Predictive Analytics (9)
5.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.4
Role-Based Security Model (12)
7.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (4)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (6)
5.3
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (3)
6.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (7)
5.6
REST API (3)
6.5
Javascript API (3)
6.2
iFrames (3)
4.9
Java API (3)
5.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
5.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.4

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No