TrustRadius
Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tH/rx/4APKV7V3F5EA.JPEGPentaho for your businessCurrently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.,Easy to create simple jobs and transformations Mature data access and data transformation capabilities Suitable for complex analytic use cases Consume data from many sources,At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it. Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models,8,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,8,7,Joomla!Pentaho can be a great solution for a companyWe are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.,SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports. Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users. By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access. Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users. Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.,Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object. Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.,9,direct query in excel,8,8,Kyubit Business Intelligence, BOARDA great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.,The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have. The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations. The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.,I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into. Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here. Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.,6,Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Server,8,7,Qlik Sense, Azure SQL Database, Informatica Cloud Data IntegrationPentaho was just OK as an OEM solutionWe made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.,Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own. The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.,The Mondrian code was hard to learn. The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us. The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.,5,,4,7Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultionPentaho is the primary source for the Business Intelligence in my company. We have many Pentaho users across the whole organization that are making a good use of Pentaho Analyzer to create the reports. At the report side, it helps the business users to evaluate all the work that has been done by the different teams across the organizations. By seeing the reports they can check, for example, how many issues are open, how many bugs have been fixed in a specific duration, how many builds failed in which phase etc.,First thing what I have experienced about Pentaho is that it is user friendly. The best thing about Pentaho is Pentaho Data Integration. I have never used more user friendlier ETL tool like PDI. All the jobs and transformation steps are easy to understand. And I like the sample transformations and jobs that are provided with the package. It is so user friendly that, even if you don't know SQL, it will generate it for you. If you don't want to write scripts, that's fine, you can do it in PDI. I have found that Pentaho can be integrated with any technology or framework. I have easily and successfully integrated it with HDFS, EMR, S3, CouchDB, many different RDBMSs. I would consider it as a strength of Pentaho. Also if you are stuck or you find any error, the type of logging will have an answer for you. I found the logging mechanism very effective. I have mostly used Pentaho Analyzer and Schema Workbench at the BI side. It is user friendly too and we have a very few users who come to the developers to help them understanding the UI of PUC.,Most of the companies use star schema in their Data Warehouses but they are not the pure star schemas. There are the bridge tables, group tables but when using Schema Workbench to design a cube, it gets very painful for the developers to accommodate such schema in it. To do this, I have to go to the XML file and add the new elements. I would love to see the feature where Schema Workbench can accommodate the bridge tables as they are the part of star schema too. When it comes to ETL, I have found PDI to be the best tool, but at the report side, it is not as good as the other tools available in the market. Especially the users always complain about the graphs in the Pentaho Analyzer. I think. the UI needs a lot of improvement. PDI is slow reading the JSON files. There is a fast JSON input step available in the marketplace but I think I would be great if Pentaho can make the JSON reading even faster. When I export the repository, I see the files names are encoded with UTF-8 encoding. It would be great, if the spaces and the special characters can be preserved while exporting a BA repository.,9,Pentaho has improved our overall business process. Pentaho has helped the Managers and Directors to analyze the numbers going up and down from time to time. We have a started a big project using Pentaho that is going to include all the business processes in the organization.,Informatica Enterprise Data Integration,PostgreSQL
Unspecified
Pentaho
96 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore

Pentaho Reviews

Pentaho
96 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 24 of 96 Pentaho ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Pentaho for your business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.
Read Ilham AB's full review
February 23, 2018

Review: "Pentaho can be a great solution for a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
June 28, 2018

Pentaho Review: "A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.
Read this authenticated review
June 30, 2017

User Review: "Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.

Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is the primary source for the Business Intelligence in my company. We have many Pentaho users across the whole organization that are making a good use of Pentaho Analyzer to create the reports. At the report side, it helps the business users to evaluate all the work that has been done by the different teams across the organizations. By seeing the reports they can check, for example, how many issues are open, how many bugs have been fixed in a specific duration, how many builds failed in which phase etc.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
November 02, 2016

"Rookie Pentaho review from an ETL veteran"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization, we use Pentaho as our go-to ETL tool. It is used by our engineering department in order to create our data warehouse environment, which is used by several customers. It allows us to create our data warehouse, which ultimately enables our end users to utilize analytics for their environments.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho - Yay or Nay?"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I worked in a small-size private consulting firm that used Pentaho for analytics and reporting firm-wide. It catered to clients in a broad range of industries ranging from hospitality to the public sector. The software is easy to learn and has an impressive amount of functionality incorporated. The ETL (Kettle) module is great for generating visualizations and I highly recommend this software to a beginner interested in BI.
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2016

Review: "Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is used for scheduled ETL between Remedy and other platforms to help centralize and enrich data.
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
February 23, 2016

Review: "Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize the Community Edition of Pentaho across our organization for business intelligence. We use Pentaho Data Integration (PDI) to gather data from disparate data sources and perform ETL to populate our data warehouse. We also use PDI to deliver custom reports to various internal and external clients. We use Mondrian as a data engine behind our customer-facing website to process MDX queries from our customer reporting portal. We use Pentaho Report Designer to author pixel-perfect reports for internal and external audiences. We also use the Pentaho User Console for our business analysts to slice-and-dice the data for various departments. In summary, Pentaho is used to allow our internal and external clients to benchmark the performance of our products and services and gain visibility into customer behavior and activity.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
March 01, 2016

Pentaho Review: "A powerful ETL tool which is open source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is used as main ETL tool in the data analytics team. It solves the problem of processing and populating financial and ads related data.
Read Yinghua Hu's full review
February 26, 2016

Review: "Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho's BI stack is being used by our entire company. We use their tooling for ETL, delivering reports, and as a sort of end-point for a custom web app that we've built. The end point uses xaction and Mondrian to deliver data to our front end. We also make use of the community edition of the BI server--this houses several reports that our analyst team has built as well as resources necessary to support our custom app. In the near future we'll also be using the tool's big data plugins to ingest data into our data warehouse from Hive/Hadoop.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
February 16, 2016

Pentaho Review: "One of the best BI solutions for start up companies or those looking for a highly customizable tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's been used across the whole organization .

Automated reports and dashboards are some of our core usages .
Read Anderson L.A.'s full review
June 03, 2015

User Review: "B.I. made simple. Pentaho rocks!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for what you would expect. ETL for process and aggregate data, and then building data cubes and reports for viewing that data. We also use the ETL tool to auto-process files (CSV, XML etc) from that we receive from a few of our vendors daily.
Read Sandro Frattura's full review
August 19, 2015

Review: "Pentaho - Fast and Furious Data Integration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho Data Integration is used to move data into our data warehouse solution, used for various projects.
Read Alex Meadows's full review
March 16, 2015

User Review: "Pentaho - Jumping On The Band Wagon"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is currently being used for several functions within my department. The Data Integration is used as our primary ETL tool. The software does a great job with data cleansing and standardizing from multiple sources. The tool is easy enough to learn using videos out on You Tube or using the Pentaho Kettle Solutions book. We also use the Schema Editor for creating the semantic layer in the User Console reporting tool. Having defined objects available in the User consoles makes it easy for a data analyst to quickly log in and quickly get a report together. We are in the healthcare industry so much of what is being asked is counts of patients, encounters by diagnosis, practice or time period. All these items can quickly be answered very quickly via the user console.
Read Stephanie Dozier's full review
November 05, 2014

Review: "Three Years with Pentaho and No Regrets"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho serves several roles in our environment.

We use it for report design and delivery. The designer tool is fairly straightforward and once reports are complete they are immediately accessible to our end users.

Pentaho is used for Business Intelligence which includes totals, trends, and forecasts of sales and subscriptions of our services. Pentaho's web-based analysis tool allows our end-users to drag & drop measures and dimensions and instantly convert raw data into a variety of graphical representations. Before we had Pentaho, each view might have required a long query or static report that was hand-exported to Excel. With Pentaho's analysis tool, our sales, finance, and marketing teams have instant insight and infinitely flexible views of our data.

In the IT department, we use Pentaho as a scheduling engine for data maintenance jobs as its interface allows us to manage multiple shards from a single source.
Read Kenneth Panacy's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho the best BI integrator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our product intended to analyse Media and Communications data and provide decision making capabilities to our end users. Whereas we built the workflow management, transactional capabilities, Pentaho provided the BI layer for our product. Analysts were our end users. Everything from data ingestion to decision making was the scope of our product. We read data across disparate data sources/formats and using our business expertise provided decision making capability.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
September 16, 2014

Review: "Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We integrate Pentaho with Odoo for complex, custom reports that allow us to query data from PostgreSQL database across multiple data models in Odoo. I have used it to connect to Odoo via JDBC as well as directly to the web client for an object-based report. I have found the report designer client to be a bit difficult to use and buggy on my WIndows 7 machine but I have seen it working well on a Windows 8 machine. We use version 3.9.1.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
December 05, 2014

"Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Pentaho Kettle as a team manager of development and Later as a CIO. After that I opened a company that consults and implement business intelligence solutions. We are using Pentaho mostly with the data integration module. I think that of all the modules of Pentaho, Kettle is the most complete. It can give a "fair fight" to source solutions that are not open. The problem it addresses of course is to extract data from various sources; transform them; ”play with data”; and then load it to the target. I find the transformation most valuable and rich with functionality. I even made a full scale course about it, you can find it on udemy.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
November 05, 2014

Pentaho Review: "My Favorite Data Integration Tool is still Kitchen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a consulting company and implement BI and data warehousing solutions for our clients. I have lead and implemented a number of BI and data warehousing solutions in my current as well as previous role.
Read Julia Gusman's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho: a strong open source BI suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho Data Integration was used for a variety of data integration projects, including populating a dimensional data warehouse. Data sources included relational data bases, flat files, and LDAP directories. Pentaho Reporting served reports from a range of data sources to multiple departments with security integrated with Active Directory. The Mondrian OLAP engine delivered pivot tables for slice and dice analysis.
Read Nathan Smith's full review
February 23, 2016

User Review: "An implementor view on Pentaho tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used the Pentaho Data Integration tool to pre-process some data and fill thr production database. It was used in the department where I worked. Being a software developer I made a decision to use PDI instead of writing scripts on Python. The main advantage of PDI was supporting scaling out of the box, and the ability to run on multiple machines. When you need something less than a Hadoop cluster but bigger than self-made quick scripts it fits well.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho for Quality Assurance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our organization we are building a data ware house for data migration and analytics. After researching several options we went for the Pentaho community edition which is an open source tool. Pentaho played big role in the implementation of ETL jobs and QA testing. The features available in Pentaho covered all of our scenarios, plus it allowed us to plug in external jars to use for any unsupported activity.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho Open Source"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I worked for a small company where everything was open source. We used a Postgres database, etc. The tool was used for some minor reporting as it was hard to get the users of this small company to make a change.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
6.1
Customizable dashboards (11)
6.6
Report Formatting Templates (12)
6.5
Drill-down analysis (12)
6.9
Formatting capabilities (12)
6.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (7)
5.9
Report sharing and collaboration (11)
4.9
Publish to Web (11)
6.2
Publish to PDF (13)
7.3
Report Versioning (8)
6.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (11)
6.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
6.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (10)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (10)
6.2
Predictive Analytics (9)
6.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.3
Role-Based Security Model (12)
7.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (4)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (6)
5.1
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (3)
6.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (7)
5.4
REST API (3)
6.4
Javascript API (3)
6.1
iFrames (3)
4.8
Java API (3)
5.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
5.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.3

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No