Periscope Data Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Adam Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Make Sense of Your Customers' Data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Periscope Data supports SQL, R, and Python in the same environment.
  • Periscope Data offers many ways to visualize data, ranging from maps, charts, and graphs.
  • Data can easily be shared across many channels, including Slack and email.
  • Some of the dashboards can be slow to load; especially when they have lots of features and widgets.
  • The software could be made a little easier for people that don't have a data or programming background.
  • It is pricey so not a great option for small companies or research/home projects.
Read Adam Montgomery's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Periscope Data - It's In The Name

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization and security in only allowing access to certain aspects by certain users
  • Ease of access to information in user friendly charts and graphs
  • Ability to download reports used for sales, billing, engineering, and marketing.
  • Include more appropriate updates in their monthly newsletter as opposed to the general overview that doesn't always have the most pertinent information at the forefront.
  • There are bugs at times when certain dashboards are down, though not in an overwhelming way.
  • If you do not tag something it shows up in multiple views and may be accessible to people that it should not be, though that is a user error it may make sense to prompt for a tag and security setting.
Read this authenticated review
Arnob Bordoloi | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

The Go-To Analytics Platform for Modern BI teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data integration with support for various databases and popular tools.
  • Built in SQL formatter.
  • Use SQL to prepare and publish data sets for use with built in support for Python and R.
  • Quick setup for SQL Alerts, Views and Snippets.
  • Excellent on demand support team.
  • Caching tables can be problematic and views without unique columns do not cache accurately
  • SQL query parsing errors for queries running directly against databases can be confusing.
  • Issues with data sync in the Salesforce Integration.
Read Arnob Bordoloi's full review
Brian Kichler | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2018

Make BI work for you with Periscope Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rapid deployment of polished T-SQL-based data visualization charts and dashboards. Periscope supports a variety of database technologies, and allows users to write custom queries to display data.
  • Included caching to reduce server load.
  • Outstanding customer service/support, with expert advice as needed.
  • Constant updates and new features.
  • Built-in SQL formatters take the pain out of manipulating date/time objects.
  • Query parsing errors do not display the line number of the error, this is a pain point for BI developers.
  • Caching large tables can be problematic and cause issues with queries and display of data.
  • Embed API documentation should be more thorough with plenty of examples.
Read Brian Kichler's full review
Anthony Pecorella | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2018

Fantastic data visualization package that is integral to our company's day-to-day operations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides experiences that are useful both for those with lots of analytics and SQL experience and for those who just want to use pre-designed dashboards.
  • Very flexible and robust with new features and capabilities, such as clever SQL shortcuts, being developed regularly.
  • Ridiculously quick and knowledgeable customer service department (response times are typically literally in seconds).
  • Dashboard layouts can be a bit fiddly at times.
  • External dashboard sharing tools exist but are still fairly basic.
Read Anthony Pecorella's full review
Marisa Henegar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Periscope: My direct line of sight to the Data that I need DAILY

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The data that is presented on the front screen can be downloaded into an Excel Spreadsheet. From there I am able to sort the cases, and work them in the particular order that I need to work them in.
  • The Periscope Data catches all cases that have slipped through the cracks, so I am able to correct them without any delay to the customer account.
  • The Periscope Date is VERY accurate and I know that the information is trustworthy.
  • It would be helpful to have the option of the Periscope Data to be delivered to my email in Excel format, instead of the front page being delivered daily, separated by the 2 filters that I use ( over 7 days and under 7 days).
Read Marisa Henegar's full review
Jared Beekman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Periscope Love

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization of disparate data sources
  • Ability to run complex calculations using up to date and standardized tooling via Python and R
  • Their customer support team would keep me here even if they were missing features we needed
  • The UI can be nit-picky about not showing you full table names if they are long
  • There are some arbitrary restrictions on field content length that are removable, but not obvious to the end user
  • No way to make Python/R libraries to enable code reuse. Of note, they are working to fix this however with git integration.
Read Jared Beekman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

Explore and Visualize Your Data Without Much Hassle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • quick and helpful response from support
  • various visualization options
  • enables cross-database joins
  • enables shared dashboards via email
  • has alert features
  • no connection to Treasure Data
  • query error feedbacks aren't easily understood, especially on cross database joins
  • still limited filter feature for BigQuery
  • chart drill down is quite difficult to use
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2018

Easy to use and beautiful dashboards!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User interface - very easy to use and navigate, even for a non coder like me.
  • Super helpful website and training materials to learn and brush up on. Wealth of information from their customer success team.
  • Ease of integration into other online platforms, such as google sheets.
  • You still need to have a good handle on SQL and how your data is categorized.
  • Would be great if it provided you an 'org chart' of your own data code names and labels, so you can easily access the inputs you're using.
  • Having more examples of data analytics and what types of charts you can make would serve as inspiration for those less creative out there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

BI Analyst's Secret Weapon

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Write query, get chart. Fast iteration.
  • Responsive support and product teams keep us current on product roadmap and enhancements.
  • Minimal onboarding required for new team members. Analysts don't need to learn a new language to begin development, just the appropriate flavor of SQL.
  • Caching simplifies ETL, mitigating dependency on data engineering for basic use-cases.
  • More controls around database settings and SQL views would enable more customized workflows.
  • Git integration would be amazing (I'm told this is coming soon)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Periscope - you should probably check it out

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very quick implementation process. We connected to our data and started building dashboards in a very short period of time. This was largely aided by a good UI design and well organized technical documentation.
  • Extraordinarily good customer service. Their chat-based customer service is the best experience that I've had with any vendor. Not only are their staff available, but they're all extremely knowledgeable and friendly.
  • Periscope has continually improved their product and added features. While we still rely primarily on the core product features, it's great to see how the product offering is expanding.
  • Formatting controls are very limited. This is usually the deciding factor when choosing to build something out in Periscope or Tableau.
  • All filters are global in scope, as opposed to being scoped to specific dashboards. This can cause clutter and requires careful consideration when creating new filters to clearly communication slight distinctions between similar filters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great BI software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Caching capability
  • Fast and efficient live chat support
  • Beautiful visualization
  • Ability to combine different data sources quickly
  • Ability to create snippets
  • Better drag and drop, Looker-like features for non-technical users. It is not very easy to use for non-technical users.
  • Password protected dashboards in the starter plan
  • Easier to make funnel conversion charts
  • Better report scheduling. You should be able to schedule reports for certain days of the week
  • Better SQL alerts. Now it is based on absolute numbers. It should be based on different row values, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Periscope Provides Our Teams with the Data We Need to Succeed!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Periscope Data pulls data from multiple sources, twice a day. It helps our teams keep track of our efficiency, productivity, and workload.
  • Periscope helps us create reports each week, or each month. We can adjust the filters according to what timeframe we want to be analyzing.
  • We can easily sign in with Google Sign-on.
  • We have many different Dashboards, which helps each of our departments keep track of what they need to keep track of. Periscope houses data from our thousands of customers.
  • It's very customizable depending on what data you need to track.
  • Scrolling around on the different Dashboards where there is a lot of information is a little bit annoying. It could do better with its design and presentation of data.
  • When I log off and log back in after a day or so, I'll click on Google Sign-on and I frequently get a 404 error.
  • There are way too many menus everywhere. There's a menu in the top right that does nothing when I click on it.
Read Michael Kim's full review
Pat Effinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2017

Periscope Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Periscope makes it very easy to write SQL queries to pull in critical information and KPIs that live in our database.
  • Periscope allows us to visualize those data points and KPIs in a aesthetically pleasing way that we've never visualized them before.
  • Periscope allows us to email those dashboards to the key stakeholders on a regularly scheduled basis so we don't always have to access and reference those reports in Periscope's application.
  • I haven't really seen many negative aspects of Periscope because I had very little to do with the implementation. I know we relied heavily on our systems engineer to connect Periscope with our database and with our instance of Salesforce but I think that comes with the territory of using a tool like periscope.
Read Pat Effinger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (8)
8.7
Customizable dashboards (16)
9.6
Report Formatting Templates (14)
8.9
Drill-down analysis (12)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (15)
8.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (8)
9.0
Report sharing and collaboration (16)
9.7
Publish to Web (10)
8.6
Publish to PDF (10)
8.7
Report Versioning (10)
8.2
Report Delivery Scheduling (12)
9.1
Delivery to Remote Servers (5)
8.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (15)
9.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (15)
9.5
Predictive Analytics (8)
8.1

About Periscope Data

Periscope Data is a data visualization tool that allows users to connect to their SQL databases to create sharable, interactive dashboards. In addition to SQL, its analytics integrate with R and Python, allowing users to prep datasets, perform analysis, and create their own visualizations.

Periscope Data Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No