PlanGrid Reviews

129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Jeffrey Rudacille | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Choose Plangrid and your users will love you.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently in the process of integrating Plangrid in all of our departments except accounting. We initially used it just for doing punch-lists but now require all projects to use it for progress photos, plan viewing and markups, as well as the aforementioned punch-lists. It immediately saves us money in requiring less printing of plans as well as better documentation of punch-lists with attached pictures. Plangrid also breeds collaboration by allowing easy sharing of all data within the program.
Read Jeffrey Rudacille's full review
Kyle Montague | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2020

PlanGrid is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PlanGrid to communicate information to the field. It allows us to share information with the field staff immediately. Our estimators also use it when attending pre-bid walks.
Read Kyle Montague's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

The easiest project documentation tool for ALL users.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid is used in our organization to document and communicate project plans and specifications in a quick and efficient manner. We utilize the software across all of our projects big or small. One of the major challenges in the industry is dealing with change management; anytime a change is made, the change needs to both be documented as a reference point, but also communicated with every party (from management to installer).PlanGrid is a tool that helps overcome the inherent challenges of communicating change.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

PlanGrid is a great solution for document management in the fast paced construction industry.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGird is used by our Project Management and Field Team to manage and publish drawings, documents, RFIs, and submittals. The company has a standard process to use for PlanGrid that is uniform throughout the company, and our subcontracts explicitly state that they must purchase and hold a PlanGrid license and account. Using PlanGrid help us centralize all of the document management activities involved with Construction Project Management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

PlanGrid!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, PlanGrid is used by our organization. As a way to view PDFs of the layout or plans of a building. Nearly all use the mobile version for the iPad.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

PlanGrid for Plan Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid is used by the field for plan management only. We distribute documents to the field to make sure everyone is using current plans. Punchlist is done this way. We also generally walk an area and mark up what needs to be corrected then assign a contact or sub symbol to complete in PlanGrid.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

Plangrid is so easy to use and learn

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for all aspects of our construction process. It is being used by our whole organization. It helps us get the information to all that need it faster and easier and allows us to collaborate together.
Read this authenticated review
Nicholas Bittner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Expanding Use of PlanGrid Features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We love using PlanGrid for it ability to put all the documents, questions and images in one place for a project team. It's extremely useful to us during the program verification and design stages. We can track issues that need resolved during the detailing at the construction documents stage later on in the process. We've used the app on iPhones and iPads as well as Windows devices, but much prefer iOS.
Read Nicholas Bittner's full review
Sheila Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Best Plan Management Software I've Used So Far!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid is used mainly out in the field on our construction jobsites. 100% of all project engineers use PlanGrid, and is the main platform we use to view drawings in the field. It is mainly used by the operations department that are located offsite and not in the corporate office. It addresses the need for physical copies of plans and the tiresome re-printing and re-updating your plan set.
Read Sheila Nguyen's full review
Natalee Easthom | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid as a Project Management/Documentation Control Program

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid is used to share drawings and documents with the entire project team. Team members can use it to markup/measure plans, as well as overlay previous iterations. The calibration feature is usually pretty accurate and allows users to create complete quantity takeoffs as well as check dimensions. It is used on a few project teams.
Read Natalee Easthom's full review
Mike McKeown | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid is great for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Plan Grid allows us to send out plans to our subcontractor during the bidding process. By allowing the subcontractors to obtain the plans electronically they receive the plans immediately. This allows for more time for the subcontractors to bid on the project, cutting down at least a few days in shipping time. Additionally, it saves us a large amount of mailing costs.
Read Mike McKeown's full review
Nicholas Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our project team has utilized PlanGrid to create an issue log to track constructability issues regarding our construction project.
Read Nicholas Yager's full review
Michael Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid has been awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our company we use PlanGrid across all departments, starting with estimating for proposals all the way through punch list before turnover. It has been a valuable tool with job tracking and management.
Read Michael Carter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Easy to Use Document Distribution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use PlanGrid to connect our office to the field. Our project managers setup projects in PlanGrid that then our site supervisors and foreman can then get the most up to date plans and information about the project. It helps us point out issues that then can get handled quickly from the office and then prevents delays of production in the field.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid is simple and efficient; the best value for the money if its features do what you want.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid will be used for 1 specific project, across our organization. It solves the issues of coherent communication. Right now, we rely on e-mail attachments in order to have up-to-date drawings. This becomes confusing internally, as well as for our subcontractors. PlanGrid enables us to always have the most up to date drawings, accessible from PC or phones, anywhere there is internet available. It also helps to coordinate RFIs, schedules, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

PlanGrid for the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PlanGrid to distribute project and design documents to our field personnel, communicate design changes from the field to the design department, and as a repository for project or system related documents. This allows us to gain faster access to changes or issues for faster build markups and increased productivity. PlanGrid's measurement tools also allow our field personnel to supply more accurate installation tracking information and accurate information for change order related work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

Plangrid is a move towards the future

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PlanGrid in multiple departments within our company. It connects the field teams to those in the office and in other locations across the country. It is also good for tracking changes in construction, as well as documenting progress for closeout packages in the end.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Plangrid

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used within the different groups of the company. Not as a whole organization.
Read this authenticated review
James Nolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid for subcontractors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using plangrid company wide for about 2 years now as a solution to document distribution issues. We offer access to the plangrid software to anyone willing to use it, it is our best resource for ensuring our entire team is up to date with the latest drawings available.
Read James Nolan's full review
Melissa McCain | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

Great resource for hospital facilities staff; perfect way to access & verify Life Safety drawings & features in the field!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PlanGrid in the hospital facilities maintenance world regularly to view our life safety drawings and confirm the integrity of fire and smoke barriers, etc., during environmental rounds, and to note any life safety deficiencies found during weekly rounds or unscheduled inspections. We are also able to check the size of suites and smoke compartments while in the field, and to capture any changes in life safety features (due to remodels., etc) so our LS plans are updated accordingly.

We used PlanGrid on an iPad while walking portions of our 6m S.F. academic health center campus during our most recent joint commission survey, and the LS code surveyor loved it! Carrying one iPad where we had everything he might ask for at our fingertips sure beat carrying around 4 or 5 sets of LS drawings, some of which have up to 40 pages!

Now that joint commission engineers (LS surveyors) are being forced into the digital age and utilizing tech more, I expect more of them will expect to see hospital facility managers utilizing mobile access to their building floor plans during the survey, and PlanGrid is perfect for this.

Read Melissa McCain's full review
Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid is a No-Brainer for Construction Productivity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PlanGrid in our construction division - mostly Project Managers, Project Engineers and Foreman. We use it to update drawings to the field to ensure they have the latest plans. The biggest issue it addresses in making sure the field has the latest drawings, easily referencing past drawings, and a tool for communication between the office and the field. Prior to PlanGrid, there were many instances where architectural or owner updates were not communicated to field efficiently and a lot of time was spent either slip-sheeting or updating paper binders of changes, resulting in re-work and lost time/money.
Read Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP's full review
Brandon Zahrt | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

Increased production and profitability with minimal effort

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PlanGrid is currently being used within our company to deliver up to date plans, specifications, and addendum between our office an supervisors in the field. We currently have three subscriptions of PlanGrid. One large subscription (5000 pages) for the main office to upload all documents for ongoing projects, and two smaller subscriptions (500 pages) that are utilized by our in field staff. The in field staff manages their downloads based on the projects they will be on over the next few weeks. PlanGrid has greatly reduced the time it takes to get accurate information from our estimating/project management staff out to our field staff, and eliminated costly errors generated from working off old project documents. In addition it helps keep the office staff aware of any issues on site during the course of our daily operations. The foreman is able to send RFI's, document damaged or incorrect work, and provide daily as built markups so adjustments to scheduling can be made as required.
Read Brandon Zahrt's full review
Rick Crouch | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid: The best tool in a Superintendent's Tool Bag.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company is using PlanGrid nation-wide.

We use it on our iPads to document changes, show RFI's, do existing conditions reports, and help subcontractors with layout.

We keep all the submittals as attachments so you always have everything you need right in your hand at any time. It makes it so much easier to cross reference drawing and items such as Millwork shop drawings or Appliance Submittals to verify clearances. It's one of the best tools we have in the field.

Read Rick Crouch's full review
Chip Stadnyck, AIA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

A PM's take on PlanGrid

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize PlanGrid to streamline the punch list process. PlanGrid allows multiple users to contribute to the punch list without a lengthy process to compile the results. Being able to take a picture of the issue and have it instantly attached to the note regarding the issue is helpful. As the contractor completes the items the list is updated and a current report can be issued at any time to update the team of the progress.
Read Chip Stadnyck, AIA's full review
Les Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

More bang for the buck

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use this in project management, field supervision and estimating. This addresses real-time information gathering, such as built drawings, photo records, the RFI process, to name a few. We are able to review previous changes to drawings and compare these to current. We can take photos of issues and email them directly to the engineer, architect, owner, and construction manager, for quicker response.
Read Les Yager's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (57)
9.1
Plan markups & sharing (57)
9.1
Issue tracking & punchlists (52)
8.6
Photo documentation (49)
7.8
Jobsite reports (37)
7.2
Document sharing (56)
8.1
RFI tools (39)
8.2
Collaboration & approvals (43)
8.1
As-built drawings (43)
9.0
Mobile app (55)
9.3

About PlanGrid

PlanGrid is construction productivity software used on more than 500,000 projects around the world. The company provides contractors and owners in all construction verticals the tools to collaborate effectively and collect and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan.

PlanGrid aims to increase team productivity by: streamlining document management and control, providing collaborators with easy access to all project information from any device, and enabling seamless collaboration. This leads to building the most comprehensive record set for the entire construction and operations lifecycle and consistently delivering on time and on budget.

Categories:  Construction

PlanGrid Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Has featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Has featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability

PlanGrid Screenshots

PlanGrid Integrations

Box, CMiC Construction Platform, Dropbox, Egnyte, eSUB Construction Software, Google Drive, EarthCam, Kahua, Pavia Systems, RedTeam Software, Drononomy

PlanGrid Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Nailgun$39user per month
Dozer$59user per month
Crane$119user per month

PlanGrid Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PlanGrid Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Finnish, Hungarian, Italian, Chinese, Korean, Polish, Swedish