Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
345 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 98)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 23, 2021
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We purchased our first Pure Arrays in 2015 and have not had any outage or major issues since that time. We have been through one round of non-disruptive controller upgrades via the Evergreen Storage program and look forward to doing another one once our current three year maintenance renewal expires. The performance and simplicity of Pure Storage's FlashArray has allowed us to have a "set it and forget it" approach to our Tier 1 storage platform and this has freed up our storage administrators to focus on higher-level architecture, projects and accumulating DevOps skills. We have been extremely satisfied with Pure's FlashArray and we are up to having nine total arrays in our environment now.
Read Mark McCully's full review
March 23, 2021
Todd Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Number one way Pure Storage FlashArray has improved our IT and business outcomes is zero down time with extremely fast speed and simplicity.
Read Todd Rasmussen's full review
March 23, 2021
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The simplicity aspect of the Pure Storage Flash Array has been extremely beneficial for us. Previously, when carrying out "Non Disruptive Upgrades" from other vendors, we found that some of our older systems still had issues from the very slight disruption that happened during the failover of different controllers. With the Pure Storage Flash Array this has not been an issue and the support team have been great.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
April 07, 2021
Marcelo Rosas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Equipment configurations are very simple without requiring greater knowledge for an end user. Most features are enabled by default, making their activation a quick and practical procedure.
Read Marcelo Rosas's full review
March 24, 2021
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

This array is very simple to use. Everything is intuitive and easy to use. In fact we barely need to administer anything on the array aside from adding storage to our vCenter ever so often.

Support reaches out to me when I am due for an update and all I need to do is enable remote connect and they will update the array and validate everything with zero downtime. This makes managing updates a breeze.

We have not had the opportunity to get new storage controllers yet but will be taking full advantage of the evergreen program soon when we are due for a free upgrade.


Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
March 23, 2021
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The administration console of the Pure is rarely used. Once we have datastores built and attached to virtual hosts there is no more management needed. Also when the controllers on our M70 were upgraded to the X70 we experienced zero downtime and the techs finished in just an hour! The speed at which this is set up and ready to use is incredible. Pure performs upgrades in record time. We are in the process of expanding a couple of our arrays. To do so they are shuffling existing drives around to other trays and adding additional disks, all with no disruptions.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
March 23, 2021
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Having used Pure Storage's FlashArray for several years now, I can attest that their commitment to simplicity is an obvious strength of their arrays. First, their storage management is simple. The included graphs and data that display trends and space savings is extremely helpful (and free!). Creating LUNs is simple and understandable. I've used other arrays that involve LUNs inside of volumes inside of aggregates which all need to be considered. Pure is far more straightforward. Their APIs and CLI commands for setting up other features and managing the array is easy to work with also. Many of their advanced features are a few CLI lines and can be automated with a few API calls.

Lastly, I can attest to their non-disruptive upgrades being exactly that. We've done everything from simple storage expansions to OS updates to full controller upgrades without a single second of downtime. When other vendors have failed miserably at this (and I can attest to that pain), Pure has delivered on this promise.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
April 27, 2021
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The first time I installed a SAN was a Pure Storage. With no idea how to do it, I did it in less than an hour. Since that day, Pure has been very reliable, easy to learn, and simple to manage.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
March 23, 2021
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Pure Storage FlashArray (Pure) uses just 3U space in our rack and configuring the new storage and provisioning the LUN to a host took a max of one hour. This includes the mounting of the storage as well. There isn't any downtime noticed when it comes to maintaining, as a Pure engineer performs the maintenance remotely upon scheduling.
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
March 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With previous SAN technologies, we used to have to schedule an evening/overnight, employee-on-site maintenance window for 8+ hours with a follow-up review a day or two later when we needed an EMC VNX array upgrade. Pure's approach is much, MUCH more simplified and hands-off. Now, upgrades are as simple as sending an email to Pure's Support Team with a day/time request of when to do the upgrade and we open a 'Remote Assist' (RA) session from the array that allows the Pure Team to review the array configuration and logs in order to prep the array and check the system's health. Once all checks out, they initiate the upgrade at the appointed time, through another RA session and confirm when it is completed. It is VERY simple and completely non-disruptive in all cases of our 10+ upgrades across the enterprise.

Health checks, remote assistance for any sort of issues, or if we want to enable a feature on the SAN (everything in the software stack is included, by the way....there are no licenses for this feature and then another license for that feature...) - it's all as simple as sending an email. You cannot go wrong with Pure Storage and any of the FLashArray technologies.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Significantly less resources to manage, and simpler for lower-level administrators to manage. In addition, the evergreen option has already let us upgrade our controllers once to the next generation, preserving our investment. The shift to the new controllers was seamless and required no downtime. Non-disruptive upgrades have also been extremely useful for the use cases on these arrays, where outage windows are difficult to obtain.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

This has actually been a huge point for us. Due to the way the management interface has been created we don't have to spend large amounts of time working on setting up the arrays and configuring all of the little details. It essentially just works. We have had wonderful experiences with the support group as well as they have been very knowledgeable and it has allowed us to not have to worry about maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

This is one of the easiest boxes we have ever installed. Talking on the network in minutes. Then we had LUNs created very soon after that and we were off and running. I was beyond impressed at the pace we were able to move with this product. I have never seen this before.
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With the technology of disk nvme in line X, we have managed to lower the latency from 50 to 1, and we observe that every time we have to do an upgrade it is uninterrupted .
For application developers, it has also been very positive due to the time and agility they gained. For our customers booking trips, new apps mean a faster website and the ability to view images in different ways to improve the user experience.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Aside from the initial setup of the Pure Storage FlashArray, this thing has just hummed along without any attention from us. Think about that - . Rather than spending time managing storage, I'm better able to concentrate my efforts to other more "dynamic" parts of our company.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With previous SANs a degree in SAN management was required. To be candid, almost anyone could manage a Pure Storage FlashArray. We love our FlashArrays because of their ease of use, and incredible performance. We have gone through multiple upgrades with zero down-time and the upgrades could not have been easier. I highly recommend Pure Storage FlashArray for anyone needing a SAN. The simplicity of these SANs has given us more time to focus on other engineering problems.... rather than being an engineering problem.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We have had Pure arrays for several years now and the every time we were in need of an upgrade to resolve a bug or receive new enhancements, their non-disruptive upgrade process is fantastic. Remote support handles all of the details and runs exhaustive tests pre- and post upgrade to be sure everything is in order. This allows our operations staff to be free for other tasks.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The Evergreen Storage model has proven to be not only a great money saver, but also a great time saver. Instead of having to rebuy the same storage a second time, Pure comes in a does an in-place non-disruptive upgrade of your controllers and components, effectively taking your 3 year old model and converting it to the latest and greatest model. All of this is done without taking your data offline. Not only does this keep your refresh costs down, but you no longer are playing the game of constantly juggling data. If you are using storage virtualization front-end, you no longer have to juggle the backend arrays and if you are running standalone arrays you no longer have to migrate all your LUN's to a new array and then replace the aging array. if you have multiple arrays and Petabytes of SAN disk you know what I'm talking about. I have found that the Pure ecosystem is the most admin friendly one out there; And I've used all the big names over the years. Couple in the hardware with Pure 1 management, reporting, and VM analytics and everything you paid millions for in the past from the old guard is in a single SaaS driven portal that you can access from anywhere. It's a thing of beauty.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We have been able to reconfigure production virtualization clusters on the fly using the Pure to migrate machines on and off due to the speed of the storage. I have also been able to decommission an array, move it to another location, redeploy it and have it in production in a single day with only a single person as a resource.

Creating new LUNs and assigning them is quick and simple.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With Pure Storage we no longer have to worry that our hardware will be eventually obsolete, and we will need to do a complex upgrade and migration to a new storage. Essentially, we no longer need to worry about hardware at all as if we were using the cloud, and focus on achieving our production goals.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

You have to configure your storage once. Just make these decisions:
- How many LUNs do I want and how big they should be?
- If you have 2 Pure Storage, do you need Active-Active replication? If yes, select the preferred path for each storage and host (to prevent unnecessary cross-site traffic).

After you set up the storage you can forget it. The storage will do their job. From time to time you have to check if there are some updates to get new features, but even that is easy as configuring the storage. Just write an email to Pure, and they will do the upgrade without any interruption.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The product is almost plug and play. Very easy to implement and support, which helps the support teams focus on more important issues.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Talk about simple. We have two Pure arrays - the second bought because the first was so reliable - and wanted to get them on the same firmware/Purity OS. All it took was a contact to support, who then scheduled the upgrade and managed the entire process. My single biggest concerns was lack of information - how was the update going? Any challenges? Any issues? What I learned was that Pure's team makes this one less concern in our datacenter. About an hour after the scheduled start and correspondence, I got an email saying that the process was completed and to please monitor the environment, Pure's support would be doing the same. Contrast that with HPE's 3PAR, where they try to talk you out of doing inline updates to the controllers. Pure not only does it for you, they do it transparently and without disruption. It's going to take some time to get used to not worrying.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2020
James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The Pure arrays have been very reliable. Once our storage-migration processes completed, we went for months without really even thinking about the FlashArrays. For each array, the time from the Pure SE opening the box to starting the first data copy was less than an hour. All of this has freed up our SAN admins for other work. The reduction in SAN admin time (and it affected our DBA's, too) has been as much as 50%.

We purchased the Evergreen "all new every three years" support option for our arrays, and have now been through one entire cycle. Our Evergreen refresh included upgrading from the "M" generation to the new "X" generation of controllers, which support NVMEoF. Because of past hardware upgrades, we were confident enough about the non-disruptive nature of the upgrade that we scheduled it on a weekday afternoon. Our SE swapped out the redundant controllers one at a time while chatting with us about the new EV he'd bought. It took about 10 minutes. None of our users or services even noticed, including our Oracle ERP and databases or our production VMWare environment, all of which are hosted on that array.
Read James Kelly's full review
May 22, 2020
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

By utilizing the PureStorage FlashArray as our primary storage device, we don't need to spend any time managing our data. Since everything is SSD, there is no having to plan what tier our different types of data live on. As we purchase and expand our storage, or even upgrade controllers to the latest versions (software and hardware) we never have to plan for any outages. These are all uptime events.
Read Ben Moore's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (156)
9.5
Flash Array Integration (146)
9.4
Data Compression (155)
9.6
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (150)
9.0
Simplicity (156)
9.4
Power Savings (133)
8.6

What is Pure Storage FlashArray?

Pure Storage FlashArray is available in tow models: FlashArray//C is an all-QLC flash array thatdelivers the NVMe performance, hyper-consolidation, and simplified management. FlashArray//X is all-flash, 100% software-driven, and 100% NVMe storage optimized for corporate and enterprise environments.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Pure Storage FlashArray Competitors

Dell/EMC, NetApp, HPE

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pure Storage FlashArray?

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

What is Pure Storage FlashArray's best feature?

Reviewers rate Data Compression highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Pure Storage FlashArray?

The most common users of Pure Storage FlashArray are from Enterprises and the Financial Services industry.