Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
324 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 94)

James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the Cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The Pure arrays have been very reliable. Once our storage-migration processes completed, we went for months without really even thinking about the FlashArrays. For each array, the time from the Pure SE opening the box to starting the first data copy was less than an hour. All of this has freed up our SAN admins for other work. The reduction in SAN admin time (and it affected our DBA's, too) has been as much as 50%.

We purchased the Evergreen "all new every three years" support option for our arrays, and have now been through one entire cycle. Our Evergreen refresh included upgrading from the "M" generation to the new "X" generation of controllers, which support NVMEoF. Because of past hardware upgrades, we were confident enough about the non-disruptive nature of the upgrade that we scheduled it on a weekday afternoon. Our SE swapped out the redundant controllers one at a time while chatting with us about the new EV he'd bought. It took about 10 minutes. None of our users or services even noticed, including our Oracle ERP and databases or our production VMWare environment, all of which are hosted on that array.
Read James Kelly's full review
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

PureStorage - Why look at anything else?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

By utilizing the PureStorage FlashArray as our primary storage device, we don't need to spend any time managing our data. Since everything is SSD, there is no having to plan what tier our different types of data live on. As we purchase and expand our storage, or even upgrade controllers to the latest versions (software and hardware) we never have to plan for any outages. These are all uptime events.
Read Ben Moore's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure-ly fast storage!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The simplicity aspect of the Pure Storage Flash Array has been extremely beneficial for us. Previously, when carrying out "Non Disruptive Upgrades" from other vendors, we found that some of our older systems still had issues from the very slight disruption that happened during the failover of different controllers. With the Pure Storage Flash Array this has not been an issue and the support team have been great.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

The little array that could

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We have absolutely benefited from the simplicity of the FlashArrays. We almost never have to even log in to do anything other than provision Storage. Maintenance is performed by support when we schedule after hours, and we have had virtually no issues with upgrades or hardware problems. The man hours saved has been huge.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray helps keep the DBA's away

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We purchased our first Pure Arrays in 2015 and have not had any outage or major issues since that time. We have been through one round of non-disruptive controller upgrades via the Evergreen Storage program and look forward to doing another one once our current three year maintenance renewal expires. The performance and simplicity of Pure Storage's FlashArray has allowed us to have a "set it and forget it" approach to our Tier 1 storage platform and this has freed up our storage administrators to focus on higher-level architecture, projects and accumulating DevOps skills. We have been extremely satisfied with Pure's FlashArray and we are up to having nine total arrays in our environment now.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Tony Shoemaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Pure Storage: A Simplified Effective Flash Array

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Pure Storage has exceeded our expectations in delivering a simple yet high performing storage solution. In our organizations effort to automate and consolidate IT tasks, Pure Storage is enabling us to transfer administrative tasks to our technical operations center giving engineers the ability to focus more on design. In addition to the simple user interface, Pure Storage continues to give value added tools that compliment their storage. VM Topology is an easy to use point and click tool that allows operations to retrieve granular metrics at the datastore, host, and VM level. Their Planning tool allows for simulated hardware and workload for future need. Lastly, their Reporting tool gives operations the ability to click ready made reports like capacity, forecasting, and performance to name a few. To summarize, the simplicity of the Pure Storage platform extends beyond storage management and into the tool set provided.
Read Tony Shoemaker's full review
Francois Greeff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Very happy end user!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Due to the very intuitive user front end, transferring skills to local staff was a non-event. It was so easy and quick, and since then, we have forgotten how the old systems used to work. The skills needed therefore to manage and deploy storage to servers is therefore reduced to basic knowledge of Disk Interface protocols (iSCSI and SAN).
Read Francois Greeff's full review
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is purely awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Our installation was almost done before I arrived at our data center. It was a pleasant surprise to see it racked and finalized so quickly and effortlessly. The support sales staff has been the best I have worked with. The only upgrade we have had to do was done by Pure during off hours. We only needed to schedule a time with them and they did all the work which was ideal to say the least.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Wes Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray makes me happy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Pure's support continues to be top notch, and this directly impacts the simplicity of the FlashArray. After the initial setup and the occasional LUN size increase, I login only to check on our consumption. Each issue that we have had--whether it is an CRC checksum issue on one of my fiber channel cards, phone home not working, or the need for an urgent update--is immediately addressed by the support team.

While I have not had the opportunity to experience a full in place upgrade, based on my experience with their support team I fully trust that there will be minimal to zero impact to our up time. We had a tricky upgrade that was only possible because of Pure's flexibility and expertise. They provided additional hardware that ensured the upgrade and SAN move was flawless.

On a side note, Pure Storage has bent over backwards to find solutions for my team and make them happen. Before and during the COVID-19 pandemic Pure has done what they can to be a partner and keep us running during a potentially financially difficult period with a flexibility not often seen in larger companies.
Read Wes Dunaway's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is the most effective storage I've ever used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Having used Pure Storage's FlashArray for several years now, I can attest that their commitment to simplicity is an obvious strength of their arrays. First, their storage management is simple. The included graphs and data that display trends and space savings is extremely helpful (and free!). Creating LUNs is simple and understandable. I've used other arrays that involve LUNs inside of volumes inside of aggregates which all need to be considered. Pure is far more straightforward. Their APIs and CLI commands for setting up other features and managing the array is easy to work with also. Many of their advanced features are a few CLI lines and can be automated with a few API calls.

Lastly, I can attest to their non-disruptive upgrades being exactly that. We've done everything from simple storage expansions to OS updates to full controller upgrades without a single second of downtime. When other vendors have failed miserably at this (and I can attest to that pain), Pure has delivered on this promise.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Is Pure Storage right for you?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The best way for me to describe it is that it frees up the storage team from the maintenance of the unit. All upgrades and maintenance are done by the vendor either remotely or on-site. The takes the stress of those mundane tasks off of us. Most of our Pure arrays are housing mission critical data for a variety of clients. The units can never go down. Pure does all of the necessary health checks to make sure that we maintain 100% uptime through any upgrade or maintenance tasks. It gives our team the confidence we need to focus on the client and not the hardware. It is reassuring to be able to pass that confidence along to the clients.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is a leader in the all flash array market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The administration console of the Pure is rarely used. Once we have datastores built and attached to virtual hosts there is no more management needed. Also when the controllers on our M70 were upgraded to the X70 we experienced zero downtime and the techs finished in just an hour! The speed at which this is set up and ready to use is incredible. Pure performs upgrades in record time. We are in the process of expanding a couple of our arrays. To do so they are shuffling existing drives around to other trays and adding additional disks, all with no disruptions.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
Will Fife | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

One of the only vendors whose claims of hidden magical knowledge have stood the test of time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

We have been using FlashArray for quite a few years now, it continues to be easy to use, and a rock solid foundational part of our infrastructure. It is one of the few technologies that once deployed we don't really have to think about.
Read Will Fife's full review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray replaced outdated NetApp and the benefits were outstanding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The simplicity and management of the system is unlike any other. Pure is simple to install and configure and their support team is phenomenal on contacting you directly when the array has issues or when a new firmware update is available and needs to be installed on the array without any downtime. Pure has a knowledgeable support team and they are able to follow-up before, during, and after installation of new array firmware.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Ultra Fast Array with Simple UI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

This array is very simple to use. Everything is intuitive and easy to use. In fact we barely need to administer anything on the array aside from adding storage to our vCenter ever so often.

Support reaches out to me when I am due for an update and all I need to do is enable remote connect and they will update the array and validate everything with zero downtime. This makes managing updates a breeze.

We have not had the opportunity to get new storage controllers yet but will be taking full advantage of the evergreen program soon when we are due for a free upgrade.


Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Max Tevs | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

"Flashy" Next Level Deduplication and Performance with the FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The world of IT continues to evolve the need of sysadmins who are more "generalist" focused. The simplicity of the Pure dashboard and set it and forget it GUI allows us to spend less time configuring the storage array, and more time serving our customers. Added to that, the hands-off upgrades and updates are also very appreciated as it allows us to spend less time on infrastructure management.
We have our arrays through Evergreen Storage and highly recommend that program.
Read Max Tevs's full review
Jon McDowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2020

VDI Game Changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The simplicity of Pure Storage has allowed us to expand without having to worry about the performance of the storage unit. Upgrades are easy and support is fast to work with you on any issues. With Pure Storage you don't have to worry about capacity or performance giving you piece of mind.
Read Jon McDowell's full review
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure - The leader of the future.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Pure Storage FlashArray (Pure) uses just 3U space in our rack and configuring the new storage and provisioning the LUN to a host took a max of one hour. This includes the mounting of the storage as well. There isn't any downtime noticed when it comes to maintaining, as a Pure engineer performs the maintenance remotely upon scheduling.
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage for everything

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The first time I installed a SAN was a Pure Storage. With no idea how to do it, I did it in less than an hour. Since that day, Pure has been very reliable, easy to learn, and simple to manage.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

Pure Storage Flash Array, the Only Storage you will Need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

The simplicity of the GUI that they have is by far the simplest I have used with any storage vendor. I have used HP, NetApp, Dell, and others and Pure Storage surpasses them all by a long shot.

When it comes to upgrades or maintenance, the Pure Storage team does them for you with NO DOWNTIME! It does not get any easier than that! Just send them an email with the date and time and you can sit back and relax!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

5 years with Pure Storage FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Significantly less resources to manage, and simpler for lower-level administrators to manage. In addition, the evergreen option has already let us upgrade our controllers once to the next generation, preserving our investment. The shift to the new controllers was seamless and required no downtime. Non-disruptive upgrades have also been extremely useful for the use cases on these arrays, where outage windows are difficult to obtain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is simple to use, implement and manage.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With previous SAN technologies, we used to have to schedule an evening/overnight, employee-on-site maintenance window for 8+ hours with a follow-up review a day or two later when we needed an EMC VNX array upgrade. Pure's approach is much, MUCH more simplified and hands-off. Now, upgrades are as simple as sending an email to Pure's Support Team with a day/time request of when to do the upgrade and we open a 'Remote Assist' (RA) session from the array that allows the Pure Team to review the array configuration and logs in order to prep the array and check the system's health. Once all checks out, they initiate the upgrade at the appointed time, through another RA session and confirm when it is completed. It is VERY simple and completely non-disruptive in all cases of our 10+ upgrades across the enterprise.

Health checks, remote assistance for any sort of issues, or if we want to enable a feature on the SAN (everything in the software stack is included, by the way....there are no licenses for this feature and then another license for that feature...) - it's all as simple as sending an email. You cannot go wrong with Pure Storage and any of the FLashArray technologies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Why we chose Pure Storage FlashArray over Dell and HP solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

With Pure Storage we no longer have to worry that our hardware will be eventually obsolete, and we will need to do a complex upgrade and migration to a new storage. Essentially, we no longer need to worry about hardware at all as if we were using the cloud, and focus on achieving our production goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

A Pure pleasure to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

1 day to install, we ran it for a few days moved some systems to it, ran flawless, and said "f-it" move everything over to it, and have not looked back at all. It was an easy transition that all of the administrators were happy to accomplish. I can teach any VMware admin how to manage storage in about 30 minutes and they will good to go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Pure reliability, pure simplicity, Pure Storage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pure Storage Flash Array Simplicity

Talk about simple. We have two Pure arrays - the second bought because the first was so reliable - and wanted to get them on the same firmware/Purity OS. All it took was a contact to support, who then scheduled the upgrade and managed the entire process. My single biggest concerns was lack of information - how was the update going? Any challenges? Any issues? What I learned was that Pure's team makes this one less concern in our datacenter. About an hour after the scheduled start and correspondence, I got an email saying that the process was completed and to please monitor the environment, Pure's support would be doing the same. Contrast that with HPE's 3PAR, where they try to talk you out of doing inline updates to the controllers. Pure not only does it for you, they do it transparently and without disruption. It's going to take some time to get used to not worrying.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (145)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (136)
9.2
Data Compression (144)
9.3
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (139)
9.5
Simplicity (145)
9.4
Power Savings (123)
9.0

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No