TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView Review: Quick GlanceWe are a service based organization and we implement solutions for our clients. I am a part of the Analytics department and we implement QlikView based dashboard/ solutions to address clients' business problems. Typically, I have worked with Insurance and Healthcare(Pharmaceutical) clients which are market leaders in various geographies like US, India, etc.,in memory application AQL i.e auto association QVD conditional hide n show feature,Implementing maps other than that of US Real time data handling is not possible device compatibility isn't there,9,Tableau Desktop,8,7,Qlik Sense, Microsoft SQL Server, Teradata DatabaseGreat for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS ExcelI use Qlikview to analyze sales data, customer satisfaction (survey) data, and to build dashboards to display and analyze to senior leadership, and marketing management. It is the business intelligence tool of choice for the organization and is used to synchronize the look and feel of analytics across multiple functions and applications (such as data from Salesforce, Qualtrics, Google Analytics, and other applications).,Easy Data Import and Data Manipulation. I really like how easy it is to import new data and how I can edit the script to clean and format data automatically. Creating Business Intelligence visualizations and creating more complex visualizations than I can make in Excel (locking them down is helpful too!). Creating interactive elements that allow non-technical users to glean more useful insights at the click of a mouse.,Qlikview desktop is not easy to share with users who do now have Qlikview. It would be nice to have a sharable "read only" version of the qlikview file that could be emailed to people who just want a report. I wish Qlikview was better built for responsive design. It would make it a lot easier to share with users who have large screens or are working on small laptops. I design to my screen but that doesn't work for everyone and the zoom feature makes things fit but not necessarily proportionally sized. Easier quick start guide for new business users. The UI is not super friendly but once you get used to it, it all makes sense. However, I think a more freshened up UI could help more functions support it faster instead of relying on Excel for everything.,8,,10,4,Microsoft Access, Google Analytics, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Qualtrics, SurveyGizmoVery useful, but overly complicated at times.Qlik is used by certain departments. Some other departments use different data visualization tools. It offers a way to build visualization tools that meet our client's needs. It is flexible enough that templates can be developed that will suit the needs for multiple clients. It also makes self service a little bit easier.,Allows self service, freeing up analyst time resources for large fish. Flexible enough to be used in multiple business problem types. Can point to multiple data sources, making blending a little easier.,Colors and graphics look dated Some of the functionality is clunky, making what should be easy changes more complicated than they should be.,7,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft Power BI,9,8,Alteryx Analytics, Microsoft SQL ServerQlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long wayMy clients use QlikView (or I should say that I use QlikView for my clients!) to build reporting and "dashboards" based on accounting and operations data. Primarily, we use the version bundled inside of QuickBooks 2015 Enterprise (called "Advance Reporting"), and have created very nice -- and quite complex -- reports based on the QlikView engine / modules. Specifically, we report on sales commissions earned by sales person, on a per-item, per customer basis -- great detail that is simply not possible without QlikView.,QV's #1 strength is the drag and drop visualization tools -- with just a bit of training, you can make some really nice looking charts QV's #2 strength is the simplicity of the filtering. Other SQL languages might call this "linking" or database structure ... which can be a pain.... but QV makes this easy. Further, once the data is inside QV, the ability to FILTER the data using check boxes is completely intuitive and simple. QV's #3 strength is its ability to work across platforms and integrate multiple data sources and multiple types of data. QuickBooks data is just one example of something that it can chew up with ease.,Like a lot of software, QV starts with a blank page. If you are like me, you dive in without reading the instruction manual. Big mistake. There is a rigid stepwise process that you must follow to make it work.... I've never used anything quite as powerful as QV, so I cannot compare this to many other packages. ... but with 30 minutes of training and an hour of practice, you can be pretty proficient.,10,,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Google Drive, TeamViewer,10,10,2,,Sorting marketing lists or databases Evaluating sales metrics Analyzing production results from machinery -- any data file.,Financial Dashboards Sales commissions calculations SQL tasks on large spreadsheets,None... sorry!,9Reporting almost made easyI work for an MSP. QlikView is used by some of our current clients. My role is to maintain the support and in some cases recommend the product to other clients where possible.,Discovery aspect of user visibility of data. Ease of publishing reports to web interface. High speed filtering of wide long data sets.,QlikView has some issues with macros. Most of the support calls are issues with macros. Perhaps improve it. Doc Cal licensing encourages development of poorly formed reports that has lots of tabs and chart objects. Old windows style development IDE with poor debugging capabilities.,8,SAP Business Objects and Tableau Desktop,SAP Business Objects, SAP Business One, Tableau Desktop,7,8
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

QlikView Reviews

QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 21 of 543 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-21 of 21)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 07, 2018

"QlikView Review: Quick Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Since QlikView has a feature of inbuilt scripting and supports basic operations of ETL, handling a range of data sources is easier compared to other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

QlikView Review: "Great for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS Excel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Because qlikview acts more similar to a SQL database than spreadsheet/Excel software, it is great and adding new data sources and updating data from varied data sources such as OBDC-compliant databases, CSV, and Excel files. It can also connect to other software via export or OBDC connection. The script file allows data cleaning and ETL all in one location and across the entire data field.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

QlikView Review: "Very useful, but overly complicated at times."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Very good at connecting a wide array of source data. Anything from existing spreadsheets to a SQL server, Qlikview allows connections to all.
Read this authenticated review
David Worrell profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
QuickBooks Enterprise 2015 and later is fully integrated with QlikView under the "ADVANCED REPORTING" menu. The free desktop version of QlickView appears to have the ability to import data from multiple simultaneous sources ... but I have limited experience with that.
Read David Worrell's full review
Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE) profile photo
June 02, 2016

QlikView Review: "Reporting almost made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
It does not handle macros very well, and when tables merge filtering and creating selections is key to the QlikView experience. There's no way to select that, in the underlying table, Key 1 will not appear.
Read Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE)'s full review
Ermanno Basso profile photo
May 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "almost easy way to get in BI in your company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
  • Every kind of database and files are provided
  • Real time data refresh
  • Linking data is relatively easy
Read Ermanno Basso's full review
Melissa Best profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
I really don't have anything to do with data source connectivity. I leave that up to my BI team.
Read Melissa Best's full review
Raymond Younan profile photo
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
I connected QlikView with several data sources: SQL Server, Oracle, SQL Server Express, Excel file, Access File, text files, Sharepoint Lists and QVD files. Never faced a problem with any of them.
Read Raymond Younan's full review
Bonn Chavez profile photo
March 07, 2016

"Why QlikView? - Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The ease of extraction and manipulation from various sources is simple and very effective. The ability of QlikView to load data from any number of sources and merge it is one of the major strengths.
Read Bonn Chavez's full review
Galen Mosier profile photo
February 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Pretty @#$% Awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
QlikView supports a very wide range of data sources. I'm sure there are some it doesn't support, but nothing I've come across yet (Excel, Oracle, text files).
Read Galen Mosier's full review
Dr. Petri Vitiello profile photo
May 24, 2016

"Qlikview review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
Scripting is good and powerful
Read Dr. Petri Vitiello's full review
Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA profile photo
July 08, 2015

"User Review of QlikView"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

8
QlikView can connect to almost any datasource
Read Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA's full review
Luke Fitzwater profile photo
July 14, 2015

"QlikView Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Because we are pulling our data from Salesforce.com, there is an additional connector that we needed to install to pull the data into QlikView. Currently, Salesforce.com is our only source of data.
Read Luke Fitzwater's full review
No photo available
March 04, 2016

Review: "When to use Qlikview and when to go with a competitor"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

4
Data sourcing is easy on Qlikview if your data model is relatively simple. It does not handle multiple level relational data models or cube data models well. Feed data to Qlikview real-time is difficult.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2016

User Review: "Qlikview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Real time, associative model.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Makes Sense!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We really only use SQL databases and Excel documents for data sources. However, it is very easy to incorporate these data sources to build the data models.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 27, 2016

Review: "QlikView delivers fast and helps to make sense of your data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Easy connection to majority of standards format
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 24, 2016

Review: "Qlikview for frequent newsletter deployers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
For my company, Qlikview updates once a week. This allows us to grab information fairly quickly and consistently. We know when we can check our first analysis and when our second one will be. Our current team is working to have it be more real time analysis. It does export easily into excel spreadsheet files and it is capable of seeing multiple items at once through filter.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView - Best ETL and self-serve analytics tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Its strength lies in its ETL capabilities, it can connect to a variety of datasources both natively and to JDBC/ODBC.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 29, 2016

QlikView: "Review angel!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Data connectivity is more time consuming compared to other BI tools, at least with the ones which I worked with.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 14, 2015

QlikView Review: "a magical tool that changes your world of data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We can connect from a wide variety of data sources and is very easy to merge data from different sources.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (32)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (27)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (34)
6.6
Formatting capabilities (34)
6.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (18)
8.8
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
6.6
Publish to Web (25)
6.5
Publish to PDF (28)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (25)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
3.6
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (28)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (25)
7.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (24)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (21)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
5.2
Dedicated Android Application (9)
6.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (15)
7.8

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC