TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight BudgetWe use QlikView as a data exploration tool for non-experts. Our front-line staff can use QlikView to dig into our data, explore what's available, what prospects might be in a particular area, what a possible population might be for a targeted event, mailing or solicitation. Our entire department has access to Qlikview--some users rely more heavily than others on data to inform their decisions. Those users are digging into QlikView to get a picture of what their data looks like quickly and easily.,QlikView has a simple, relational data model that's REALLY fast. Filtering and changing data is dead simple results are almost immediately available. The free version of Qlikview is almost completely featured, so you roll a pro-level product out to an entire department for really cheap. QlikView is really flexible--if you can imagine it, you can build it.,Because it's such a clean slate, QlikView requires some UI design. You've got to think about how you want to display not only the data itself, but the filters and controls users need to explore the data. It can also be a pretty confusing to your users: if they filter in one place, they often forget that they've done so and don't understand why they're not seeing all their data elsewhere. The free version of Qlikview doesn't push data updates, so if users forget to refresh their data manually, they can be working from an old copy of the data. Paid versions solve this problem.,8,Tableau Desktop and Qlik Sense,10,3,RStudioQlikview from a glanceQlikview is being used across many departments as a way of consolidating various data sources and systems. We use Qlikview to view reports or filter data for reporting use. Qlikview in my organization addresses the issue of having to look in multiple places to get like or similar data such as inventory by DC, transport by store/dc, and various data sets which are stored in different systems. Qlikview allows as to organize data from different systems that would otherwise not communicate with each other.,Has great visual dashboards Can consolidate data sets from many sources Is user friendly and easy to learn Allows you to slice and dice data easily,Depending on the quantity of data sources it can be slow to refresh If not managed well data integrity can be an issue Creating dashboards is not easy,8,MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights and Qlik Sense,10,3,Qlik Sense Cloud, MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights,50,6A software to keep our data updatedOur business is about obtaining and managing data for our geographical systems, and using this data to create new trends and new products for our business. We have two main departments: the geographical department, where I work, and the IT department, where the whole core of our systems stands. The whole organization uses the software because we have all the systems integrated (products, prices and IT) so the whole company speaks the same language. As a business, we get the data of people, transportation, store preferences, products preferences and business management in order to deliver products for a variety of things: stores, delivery products, public offices or transportation offers.,Manages a great amount of data and brings the best of it Analyzes data and develops new trends for the products we made Send a new set of data for the products in our business,The software needs an IT team in the company that can handle the troubles with the code systems that I, as a user, can't deal with. The software needs a maintenance contract to be able to modify the configurations of the data in order to adapt to our needs. The software is a very useful tool but has to be more intuitive for the users to manage some functionality and be faster with our daily work.,9,SAP Access Control and Tableau Desktop,8,8,ArcGIS, Google Analytics, Microsoft AccessQlikView - Not a Bad Visualization ToolWe use QlikView to visualize aggregated data for our projects. The last project that I worked on was an auditing system. I pull numbers of files accessed and number of database reads that the auditing system generated and graph these numbers on a daily basis. Once a day, I look the QlikView-generated graphs to determine if their is any spike in the numbers. If there is, then I look into the spike and attempt to determine why it happened. This is a very easy and quick way of looking at the content of about twenty emails to determine if there were any abnormal audit items.,QlikView allows you make data-backed visualization very easily. The format of these visualizations is completely up to you and your team. QlikView can show your data in many type of graphs as well as show the actual numbers associated with graphical points. We use QlikView to access data on Microsoft SQL Server, but other data sources are supported. Check out the QlikView documentation to determine if they can use data in formats that you need to perform analysis on.,We found that QlikView can be a bit slow in supporting some forms of encryption. It is web-based and we needed to upgrade all of our server to not support the older SSL and TLS 1 protocols, only support TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. However, QlikView could not run with TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. We had to wait over six months to get a version that would handle the newer TLS versions. There are so many options with QlikView that you can get lost when developing a visualization. There are still items I have not yet figured out, such as labeling a graph with the name of a selected detail item. QlikView works by pulling the data it is going to use for visualization into its database. I am a security reviewer and I need to make certain that PII and PHI is not pulled by QlikView for a visualization, otherwise this could become a reportable indecent.,6,,8,8,Visual Studio IDE, Netwrix Auditor, Team Foundation ServerQlickView - a tool for business analystsQlikView is being used by the business analysts to create custom reports which allow them to analyze our data.,Easy to use by users without a big technical knowledge. Easy to integrate different data sources. Fancy reports.,It is really slow, the performance should be improved. The ability to test reports can be improved, it takes a lot of time just for testing.,7,Pentaho,9,10,Pentaho, Oracle Java SE, IntelliJ IDEA, IntelliJ WebStorm, Slack, BlueJeans
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
556 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

QlikView Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
QlikView
556 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 29 of 557 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jake Tolbert profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "QlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight Budget"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
QlikView will read just about anything any connect to just about anything else. I've been really surprised at how well its handled just about everything that I've thrown at it. And it reads those sorts of files into memory pretty quickly, a lot faster than most other products that I've used.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
January 16, 2019

QlikView Review: "A software to keep our data updated"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
We search geographical data when we do marketing analysis; it comes from the customer; users, searching the web; field trip and transportation data. So we connect multiple data points, some of them not so reliable, and try to bring back a trend variation from the study and for the campaign to be implemented. The trends could be for anything: store's marketing, products sales or demand of services. In this case, we merge the information in order to have compatible data to work with, in real time and from different sources. The software allows us to handle different sources of data in just one software, and to handle and advance transformation in trends for further use.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
No photo available
December 09, 2018

Review: "QlikView - Not a Bad Visualization Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
QlikView can report from many data sources. It is also possible to report from data generated by a program that loads the information contained in the your non-standard data to a form it does handle, such as Microsoft SQL server. Although we have QlikView pull its data once a day, it is possible to have it collect the data more frequently. This could give it more real-time data collection.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Review: "QlikView and the reason behind the Preference over other BI Tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Positives:
  1. Multiple data sources can be merged seamlessly with the click of a button.
  2. Data sources and variations of data are particularly well handled in QlikView.
  3. The performance aspects of the data interpretation is far superior.
  4. The cost benefits outweigh the small niggles in implementing the solution.
Negatives:
  1. Some amount of customization is required in the case of custom visualizations based reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

User Review: "Fly with QlikView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Data Integration

8
QlikView can integrate with most common large systems including SAP, JDE and Salesforce. And the fact it allows one to develop any associated data model makes it unique. And finally it allows a developer to do very advanced scripting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2018

"QlikView Review: Quick Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Since QlikView has a feature of inbuilt scripting and supports basic operations of ETL, handling a range of data sources is easier compared to other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

QlikView Review: "Great for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS Excel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Because qlikview acts more similar to a SQL database than spreadsheet/Excel software, it is great and adding new data sources and updating data from varied data sources such as OBDC-compliant databases, CSV, and Excel files. It can also connect to other software via export or OBDC connection. The script file allows data cleaning and ETL all in one location and across the entire data field.
Read this authenticated review
David Worrell profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
QuickBooks Enterprise 2015 and later is fully integrated with QlikView under the "ADVANCED REPORTING" menu. The free desktop version of QlickView appears to have the ability to import data from multiple simultaneous sources ... but I have limited experience with that.
Read David Worrell's full review
Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE) profile photo
June 02, 2016

QlikView Review: "Reporting almost made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
It does not handle macros very well, and when tables merge filtering and creating selections is key to the QlikView experience. There's no way to select that, in the underlying table, Key 1 will not appear.
Read Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE)'s full review
Raymond Younan profile photo
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
I connected QlikView with several data sources: SQL Server, Oracle, SQL Server Express, Excel file, Access File, text files, Sharepoint Lists and QVD files. Never faced a problem with any of them.
Read Raymond Younan's full review
Bonn Chavez profile photo
March 07, 2016

"Why QlikView? - Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The ease of extraction and manipulation from various sources is simple and very effective. The ability of QlikView to load data from any number of sources and merge it is one of the major strengths.
Read Bonn Chavez's full review
Luke Fitzwater profile photo
July 14, 2015

"QlikView Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Because we are pulling our data from Salesforce.com, there is an additional connector that we needed to install to pull the data into QlikView. Currently, Salesforce.com is our only source of data.
Read Luke Fitzwater's full review
No photo available
June 01, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Makes Sense!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We really only use SQL databases and Excel documents for data sources. However, it is very easy to incorporate these data sources to build the data models.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (30)
6.3
Customizable dashboards (40)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (35)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.0
Formatting capabilities (42)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (24)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
7.1
Publish to Web (32)
7.2
Publish to PDF (34)
6.8
Report Versioning (23)
7.1
Report Delivery Scheduling (28)
6.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (33)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (27)
5.3
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (35)
7.8
Role-Based Security Model (31)
7.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (30)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (26)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (15)
5.4
Dedicated Android Application (11)
7.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (20)
7.0

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC