TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long wayMy clients use QlikView (or I should say that I use QlikView for my clients!) to build reporting and "dashboards" based on accounting and operations data. Primarily, we use the version bundled inside of QuickBooks 2015 Enterprise (called "Advance Reporting"), and have created very nice -- and quite complex -- reports based on the QlikView engine / modules. Specifically, we report on sales commissions earned by sales person, on a per-item, per customer basis -- great detail that is simply not possible without QlikView.,QV's #1 strength is the drag and drop visualization tools -- with just a bit of training, you can make some really nice looking charts QV's #2 strength is the simplicity of the filtering. Other SQL languages might call this "linking" or database structure ... which can be a pain.... but QV makes this easy. Further, once the data is inside QV, the ability to FILTER the data using check boxes is completely intuitive and simple. QV's #3 strength is its ability to work across platforms and integrate multiple data sources and multiple types of data. QuickBooks data is just one example of something that it can chew up with ease.,Like a lot of software, QV starts with a blank page. If you are like me, you dive in without reading the instruction manual. Big mistake. There is a rigid stepwise process that you must follow to make it work.... I've never used anything quite as powerful as QV, so I cannot compare this to many other packages. ... but with 30 minutes of training and an hour of practice, you can be pretty proficient.,10,,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Google Drive, TeamViewer,10,10,2,,Sorting marketing lists or databases Evaluating sales metrics Analyzing production results from machinery -- any data file.,Financial Dashboards Sales commissions calculations SQL tasks on large spreadsheets,None... sorry!,9QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!QlikView is used across our whole organization. In the marketing department we use it for Business Intelligence to view margin, cost, categories, etc. It gives us really granular info about our skus and sales. I personally use it to decide which products to promote in marketing campaigns based on margin and bestsellers. We've also needed to understand the cost of an item in order to decide on promotions.,I love how you can slice and dice data to get the answers you need about your skus and sales. QlikView gives me more detail than Google Analytics about how my categories are performing. Our BI team is able to use QlikView to answer almost any question I have about what's happening on our website. They can set up bookmarks of commonly used searches that I need to make it quicker for me to find the data I need.,QlikView is not intuitive for the average user. You definitely need a BI team to set it up and help you use it, as a marketer. Our instance of QlikView does not provide cost data. I'm given the information I need but I have to do some math in order to come up with the cost we're selling a product for. This may be because our BI team hasn't set it up that way. You have to remember to use QlikViews navigation functions and not your browsers. And when I click from one tab to another, I lose my settings and have to start over. I'm a casual user of QlikView and maybe if I were an actual BI team member, I would have the knowledge to get around these obstacles.,8,MicroStrategy Analytics,5,8,5In a QlikQlikview is being used in the sales department in our organization.It solves the problems with respect to business sales.,Qlikview allows rapid in-memory assembly of data (qvd's) from various sources such a database, flat files etc to produce nifty, integrated reports, it appeals a lot to the business users who get a fairly quick answer to their questions. Very easy to use and user friendly from a business user perspective as data can be shown in charts and diagrams which is helpful for high level executives. Easy to install and setup from an administrator's point of view.,It requires lot of memory in servers for it to perform efficiently since it pre-loads data. From a developer's perspective it's very complex to set up the loads and scripts in the qvd's and subsequently to the qvw. The support for Qlikview is not topnotch. Very hard to monitor all the loads from an admin point of view as if one load fails the qvw dashboard doesn't get the data in.,8,,7,Faster Lead conversion Business Users being very satisfied High level executives love the way data is being presented through QlikView.,5,Vendor implemented,9QlikView Positive ReviewWe are using QlikView as part of the reporting strategy at the university. Dashboards are being developed for different entities within the university and each entity is using it for its own purpose. We created dashboards to reflect the students' status and behavior, the status of the IT ticketing system and the status of the financial situation. The plan is for us to use QlikView now with the new data warehouse we're building to be able to report on the whole situation of the university from one source.,Fast applying changes to the filters Easy to deploy and needs minimal operation time It connects to all data sources we needed The online community is very helpful and it has a lot of data already,The Select Tables form needs major renovations Still has stability issues where it crashes frequently,8,,10,QlikView is used by around 150 users across the university with half of them coming from the medical center. All other departments are using QlikView for one dashboard or another.,10,6,9,50,2,Vendor implemented,9,9,10Qlikview reviewWe use QV to as our visual analytics platform for workforce analytics. Pros: Good data connection Flexible Easy to use Cons: Lack visual appeal in its default mode; Inconsistent behaviour when stretched capability,Layers Customisable Integration of ETL,Transition in visualisation Story telling Geo mapping as standard,6,Tableau Desktop,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO Spotfire Desktop Unpublished, Pentaho,6,3,8
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

QlikView Reviews

QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 13 of 543 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David Worrell profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

9
"Implementation" can mean a few things... so I'm not sure that this is the answer you want.... but here it goes:
To me, implementation means: "Is the user interface intuitive and can I produce meaningful reports with ease?"
On that score, I'd say YES. The amount of training required was minimal and the results were powerful.
The desktop implementation is a simple, "blank" interface just waiting for your creativity. The pre-populated templates give you a reasonable start to any project -- and a good set of objects to "play around with" if you're just getting started.
Finally, note that the "implementation" I used was baked into QuickBooks 2016 Enterprise -- called "Advanced Reporting"..... That integration makes it ultra useful and simple.


Read David Worrell's full review
Melissa Best profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

5
I was not with the company 5+ years ago when QlikView was implemented, therefore I don't know if we were satisfied with the implementation. I know that we are in the process of switching to QlikSense after an extensive trial period. I am not involved in the implementation of QlikSense either so I don't know how the implementation is going. But obviously my company was please with QlikView enough to trial and eventually purchase QlikSense.
Read Melissa Best's full review
Praveen Chandrasekaran profile photo
May 24, 2016

QlikView Review: "In a Qlik"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raymond Younan profile photo
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

9
Once we implemented QlikView, we didn't have to revisit it even though the amount of dashboards has increased
Read Raymond Younan's full review
Dr. Petri Vitiello profile photo
May 24, 2016

"Qlikview review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

8
Once you understand the model it works well. Initially it take some getting used to and thinking.
Read Dr. Petri Vitiello's full review
Michael Lam profile photo
November 11, 2015

QlikView Review: "Choosing the Right BI Reporting Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA profile photo
July 08, 2015

"User Review of QlikView"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Robert Goodman profile photo
October 09, 2013

Review: "Share dashboards in real-time with Qlikview"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

8
Start slowly. Work directly with the business users to validate the data prior to publishing. The tool may expose some interesting data quality problems that should be addressed in the source system(s).
Read Robert Goodman's full review
Christine Hill profile photo
October 22, 2013

QlikView Review: "Handles large amounts of data well, slick visuals"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

10
Not involved.
Read Christine Hill's full review
Bill Chamberlain profile photo
June 27, 2013

User Review: "QlikView - Jive Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

10
We have been very happy with the product.
Read Bill Chamberlain's full review
No photo available
May 27, 2016

Review: "QlikView delivers fast and helps to make sense of your data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
No photo available
May 24, 2016

Review: "Qlikview for frequent newsletter deployers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

7
It has taken some time to get used to Qlikview and the backend team behind it. From understanding the new regulations on using less images and also pushing for more tools (such as full compatibility on desktop, laptop, ipad, phone). We were given training on this and have helpful tips to find analytics behind Qlikview but it is very much also a learn as you implement system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2012

QlikView Review: "Incredibly fast in-memory model."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation

8
QlikView were here for a few days, and it was up and running. It was very fast.

Where it fell short, is they did the implementation in demo mode, and didn't initially work with us to help us scale. For example, should we consider a load balancer and multiple servers?. How much capacity can this environment handle from a data and user perspective. We had to learn on own by trial and error. We are bringing them in to do an architectural assessment, but we have to pay for this.

We are now bringing them back in for architectural assessment. It is a fee based engagement.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (32)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (27)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (34)
6.6
Formatting capabilities (34)
6.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (18)
8.8
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
6.6
Publish to Web (25)
6.5
Publish to PDF (28)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (25)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
3.6
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (28)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (25)
7.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (24)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (21)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
5.2
Dedicated Android Application (9)
6.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (15)
7.8

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC