TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight BudgetWe use QlikView as a data exploration tool for non-experts. Our front-line staff can use QlikView to dig into our data, explore what's available, what prospects might be in a particular area, what a possible population might be for a targeted event, mailing or solicitation. Our entire department has access to Qlikview--some users rely more heavily than others on data to inform their decisions. Those users are digging into QlikView to get a picture of what their data looks like quickly and easily.,QlikView has a simple, relational data model that's REALLY fast. Filtering and changing data is dead simple results are almost immediately available. The free version of Qlikview is almost completely featured, so you roll a pro-level product out to an entire department for really cheap. QlikView is really flexible--if you can imagine it, you can build it.,Because it's such a clean slate, QlikView requires some UI design. You've got to think about how you want to display not only the data itself, but the filters and controls users need to explore the data. It can also be a pretty confusing to your users: if they filter in one place, they often forget that they've done so and don't understand why they're not seeing all their data elsewhere. The free version of Qlikview doesn't push data updates, so if users forget to refresh their data manually, they can be working from an old copy of the data. Paid versions solve this problem.,8,Tableau Desktop and Qlik Sense,10,3,RStudioQlikview from a glanceQlikview is being used across many departments as a way of consolidating various data sources and systems. We use Qlikview to view reports or filter data for reporting use. Qlikview in my organization addresses the issue of having to look in multiple places to get like or similar data such as inventory by DC, transport by store/dc, and various data sets which are stored in different systems. Qlikview allows as to organize data from different systems that would otherwise not communicate with each other.,Has great visual dashboards Can consolidate data sets from many sources Is user friendly and easy to learn Allows you to slice and dice data easily,Depending on the quantity of data sources it can be slow to refresh If not managed well data integrity can be an issue Creating dashboards is not easy,8,MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights and Qlik Sense,10,3,Qlik Sense Cloud, MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights,50,6A software to keep our data updatedOur business is about obtaining and managing data for our geographical systems, and using this data to create new trends and new products for our business. We have two main departments: the geographical department, where I work, and the IT department, where the whole core of our systems stands. The whole organization uses the software because we have all the systems integrated (products, prices and IT) so the whole company speaks the same language. As a business, we get the data of people, transportation, store preferences, products preferences and business management in order to deliver products for a variety of things: stores, delivery products, public offices or transportation offers.,Manages a great amount of data and brings the best of it Analyzes data and develops new trends for the products we made Send a new set of data for the products in our business,The software needs an IT team in the company that can handle the troubles with the code systems that I, as a user, can't deal with. The software needs a maintenance contract to be able to modify the configurations of the data in order to adapt to our needs. The software is a very useful tool but has to be more intuitive for the users to manage some functionality and be faster with our daily work.,9,SAP Access Control and Tableau Desktop,8,8,ArcGIS, Google Analytics, Microsoft AccessQlikView - Not a Bad Visualization ToolWe use QlikView to visualize aggregated data for our projects. The last project that I worked on was an auditing system. I pull numbers of files accessed and number of database reads that the auditing system generated and graph these numbers on a daily basis. Once a day, I look the QlikView-generated graphs to determine if their is any spike in the numbers. If there is, then I look into the spike and attempt to determine why it happened. This is a very easy and quick way of looking at the content of about twenty emails to determine if there were any abnormal audit items.,QlikView allows you make data-backed visualization very easily. The format of these visualizations is completely up to you and your team. QlikView can show your data in many type of graphs as well as show the actual numbers associated with graphical points. We use QlikView to access data on Microsoft SQL Server, but other data sources are supported. Check out the QlikView documentation to determine if they can use data in formats that you need to perform analysis on.,We found that QlikView can be a bit slow in supporting some forms of encryption. It is web-based and we needed to upgrade all of our server to not support the older SSL and TLS 1 protocols, only support TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. However, QlikView could not run with TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. We had to wait over six months to get a version that would handle the newer TLS versions. There are so many options with QlikView that you can get lost when developing a visualization. There are still items I have not yet figured out, such as labeling a graph with the name of a selected detail item. QlikView works by pulling the data it is going to use for visualization into its database. I am a security reviewer and I need to make certain that PII and PHI is not pulled by QlikView for a visualization, otherwise this could become a reportable indecent.,6,,8,8,Visual Studio IDE, Netwrix Auditor, Team Foundation ServerQlickView - a tool for business analystsQlikView is being used by the business analysts to create custom reports which allow them to analyze our data.,Easy to use by users without a big technical knowledge. Easy to integrate different data sources. Fancy reports.,It is really slow, the performance should be improved. The ability to test reports can be improved, it takes a lot of time just for testing.,7,Pentaho,9,10,Pentaho, Oracle Java SE, IntelliJ IDEA, IntelliJ WebStorm, Slack, BlueJeans
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
556 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

QlikView Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
QlikView
556 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 60 of 556 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 60)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jake Tolbert profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "QlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight Budget"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView has a simple, relational data model that's REALLY fast. Filtering and changing data is dead simple results are almost immediately available.
  • The free version of Qlikview is almost completely featured, so you roll a pro-level product out to an entire department for really cheap.
  • QlikView is really flexible--if you can imagine it, you can build it.
  • Because it's such a clean slate, QlikView requires some UI design. You've got to think about how you want to display not only the data itself, but the filters and controls users need to explore the data.
  • It can also be a pretty confusing to your users: if they filter in one place, they often forget that they've done so and don't understand why they're not seeing all their data elsewhere.
  • The free version of Qlikview doesn't push data updates, so if users forget to refresh their data manually, they can be working from an old copy of the data. Paid versions solve this problem.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Andrew Khonje profile photo
December 24, 2018

User Review: "Qlikview from a glance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Has great visual dashboards
  • Can consolidate data sets from many sources
  • Is user friendly and easy to learn
  • Allows you to slice and dice data easily
  • Depending on the quantity of data sources it can be slow to refresh
  • If not managed well data integrity can be an issue
  • Creating dashboards is not easy
Read Andrew Khonje's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
January 16, 2019

QlikView Review: "A software to keep our data updated"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manages a great amount of data and brings the best of it
  • Analyzes data and develops new trends for the products we made
  • Send a new set of data for the products in our business
  • The software needs an IT team in the company that can handle the troubles with the code systems that I, as a user, can't deal with.
  • The software needs a maintenance contract to be able to modify the configurations of the data in order to adapt to our needs.
  • The software is a very useful tool but has to be more intuitive for the users to manage some functionality and be faster with our daily work.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
No photo available
December 09, 2018

Review: "QlikView - Not a Bad Visualization Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView allows you make data-backed visualization very easily. The format of these visualizations is completely up to you and your team.
  • QlikView can show your data in many type of graphs as well as show the actual numbers associated with graphical points.
  • We use QlikView to access data on Microsoft SQL Server, but other data sources are supported. Check out the QlikView documentation to determine if they can use data in formats that you need to perform analysis on.
  • We found that QlikView can be a bit slow in supporting some forms of encryption. It is web-based and we needed to upgrade all of our server to not support the older SSL and TLS 1 protocols, only support TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. However, QlikView could not run with TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. We had to wait over six months to get a version that would handle the newer TLS versions.
  • There are so many options with QlikView that you can get lost when developing a visualization. There are still items I have not yet figured out, such as labeling a graph with the name of a selected detail item.
  • QlikView works by pulling the data it is going to use for visualization into its database. I am a security reviewer and I need to make certain that PII and PHI is not pulled by QlikView for a visualization, otherwise this could become a reportable indecent.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 26, 2018

QlikView Review: "QlickView - a tool for business analysts"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use by users without a big technical knowledge.
  • Easy to integrate different data sources.
  • Fancy reports.
  • It is really slow, the performance should be improved.
  • The ability to test reports can be improved, it takes a lot of time just for testing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Review: "QlikView and the reason behind the Preference over other BI Tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Performance aspects are the major reason behind picking QlikView. We have tried working with Tableau but find QlikView comparatively is faster. QlikView can effortlessly combine all sizes of data sets.
  • Gauge charts and 3D graphs were not available on other platforms when we started evaluating QlikView. In QlikView, gauge charts are available for you to use in an ease of use system. QlikView also has 3D graph forms to showcase data.
  • BI Reporting is a strong feature of QlikView. Strong visualizations with BI reporting are one reason why we picked the solution as they help us deliver requirements faster.
  • In QlikView, building a map visualization takes a long time since it needs scripting and external extension for this.
  • The interface of Qlikview has too many items and tools on its menu which are rarely used but provide a wide range of ways in which the data can be showcased.
  • The areas where graphical changes need to be, you will have to write the logic for it. No Drag and Drop implementations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

User Review: "QlikView is great for BI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One of its most useful features is real-time collaboration and version tracking.
  • QlikView has some of the best data visualizations available and is useful in finding any hidden data relationships or patterns.
  • From some of the feedback we received from users in my previous job, it seemed as if the learning curve for non technical people was quite steep.
  • The pricing model for this product can be a little prohibitive for smaller organizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

User Review: "Fly with QlikView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It surfaces both associated information one needs and also those not needed thus providing a complete view for analysis e.g. total credit exposure, cross/up sell, market basket analysis, etc.
  • Good in helping one understand what one doesn't know in terms of knowledge surfaced from data discovery e.g. money laundering patterns, purchasing behaviours, etc.
  • A strong QlikView developer can 'cut and slice' data very quickly to produce any combination of data to produce required output e.g. set analysis.
  • QlikView by itself or with Qlik NPrinting can produce nicely formatted reports.
  • Fast and agile in analysis.
  • Has QlikView Reports (but not integrated to Qlik NPrinting)
  • Improve on how data model can be built more visually appealing and friendlier.
  • Ability to create master items like in its sister software Qlik Sense.
  • More and ready collections of sexy visual objects.
  • Cognitive intelligence to recommend charts.
  • More certified extensions.
  • QlikView Reports can be integrated to work with Qlik NPrinting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2018

"QlikView Review: Quick Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • in memory application
  • AQL i.e auto association
  • QVD
  • conditional hide n show feature
  • Implementing maps other than that of US
  • Real time data handling is not possible
  • device compatibility isn't there
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

QlikView Review: "Great for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS Excel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy Data Import and Data Manipulation. I really like how easy it is to import new data and how I can edit the script to clean and format data automatically.
  • Creating Business Intelligence visualizations and creating more complex visualizations than I can make in Excel (locking them down is helpful too!).
  • Creating interactive elements that allow non-technical users to glean more useful insights at the click of a mouse.
  • Qlikview desktop is not easy to share with users who do now have Qlikview. It would be nice to have a sharable "read only" version of the qlikview file that could be emailed to people who just want a report.
  • I wish Qlikview was better built for responsive design. It would make it a lot easier to share with users who have large screens or are working on small laptops. I design to my screen but that doesn't work for everyone and the zoom feature makes things fit but not necessarily proportionally sized.
  • Easier quick start guide for new business users. The UI is not super friendly but once you get used to it, it all makes sense. However, I think a more freshened up UI could help more functions support it faster instead of relying on Excel for everything.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

QlikView Review: "Very useful, but overly complicated at times."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows self service, freeing up analyst time resources for large fish.
  • Flexible enough to be used in multiple business problem types.
  • Can point to multiple data sources, making blending a little easier.
  • Colors and graphics look dated
  • Some of the functionality is clunky, making what should be easy changes more complicated than they should be.
Read this authenticated review
David Worrell profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QV's #1 strength is the drag and drop visualization tools -- with just a bit of training, you can make some really nice looking charts
  • QV's #2 strength is the simplicity of the filtering. Other SQL languages might call this "linking" or database structure ... which can be a pain.... but QV makes this easy. Further, once the data is inside QV, the ability to FILTER the data using check boxes is completely intuitive and simple.
  • QV's #3 strength is its ability to work across platforms and integrate multiple data sources and multiple types of data. QuickBooks data is just one example of something that it can chew up with ease.
  • Like a lot of software, QV starts with a blank page. If you are like me, you dive in without reading the instruction manual. Big mistake. There is a rigid stepwise process that you must follow to make it work....
  • I've never used anything quite as powerful as QV, so I cannot compare this to many other packages. ... but with 30 minutes of training and an hour of practice, you can be pretty proficient.
Read David Worrell's full review
Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE) profile photo
June 02, 2016

QlikView Review: "Reporting almost made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Discovery aspect of user visibility of data.
  • Ease of publishing reports to web interface.
  • High speed filtering of wide long data sets.
  • QlikView has some issues with macros. Most of the support calls are issues with macros. Perhaps improve it.
  • Doc Cal licensing encourages development of poorly formed reports that has lots of tabs and chart objects.
  • Old windows style development IDE with poor debugging capabilities.
Read Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE)'s full review
Alexander Obolensky profile photo
September 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Why every company can benefit from QV?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works great with a great amount of data. For example: detailed transactions for 1200+ stores for 2 years.
  • Easy for end users - as simple as Excel but much more representative.
  • The system can be implemented in short period of time (starting from 2 weeks).
  • All the information is preloaded in the application. Sometimes it would [not] be easy to select a period of time (for example) at first.
  • Lack of geo-based functionality.
  • Missing data-mining functionality.
  • Lack of prediction functionality.
Read Alexander Obolensky's full review
Ermanno Basso profile photo
May 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "almost easy way to get in BI in your company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy access to any database, you need just a valid credential.
  • Heavy interaction with Excel, this is a must for users and to solve basic issues.
  • The system evolves according to the user's capacity.
  • In the beginning you need to involve the user, the first impact is friendly but the immediate results are somewhat trivial.
  • When you understand the potential of the system you need to QlikView experts for more complex processing.
  • If you connect a complex database such as a company ERP solution (you can easy do it), you need to know the database structure to find data.
Read Ermanno Basso's full review
Melissa Best profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love how you can slice and dice data to get the answers you need about your skus and sales.
  • QlikView gives me more detail than Google Analytics about how my categories are performing.
  • Our BI team is able to use QlikView to answer almost any question I have about what's happening on our website. They can set up bookmarks of commonly used searches that I need to make it quicker for me to find the data I need.
  • QlikView is not intuitive for the average user. You definitely need a BI team to set it up and help you use it, as a marketer.
  • Our instance of QlikView does not provide cost data. I'm given the information I need but I have to do some math in order to come up with the cost we're selling a product for. This may be because our BI team hasn't set it up that way.
  • You have to remember to use QlikViews navigation functions and not your browsers. And when I click from one tab to another, I lose my settings and have to start over.
  • I'm a casual user of QlikView and maybe if I were an actual BI team member, I would have the knowledge to get around these obstacles.
Read Melissa Best's full review
Praveen Chandrasekaran profile photo
May 24, 2016

QlikView Review: "In a Qlik"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Qlikview allows rapid in-memory assembly of data (qvd's) from various sources such a database, flat files etc to produce nifty, integrated reports, it appeals a lot to the business users who get a fairly quick answer to their questions.
  • Very easy to use and user friendly from a business user perspective as data can be shown in charts and diagrams which is helpful for high level executives.
  • Easy to install and setup from an administrator's point of view.
  • It requires lot of memory in servers for it to perform efficiently since it pre-loads data.
  • From a developer's perspective it's very complex to set up the loads and scripts in the qvd's and subsequently to the qvw.
  • The support for Qlikview is not topnotch.
  • Very hard to monitor all the loads from an admin point of view as if one load fails the qvw dashboard doesn't get the data in.
Read Praveen Chandrasekaran's full review
Raymond Younan profile photo
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast applying changes to the filters
  • Easy to deploy and needs minimal operation time
  • It connects to all data sources we needed
  • The online community is very helpful and it has a lot of data already
  • The Select Tables form needs major renovations
  • Still has stability issues where it crashes frequently
Read Raymond Younan's full review
Bonn Chavez profile photo
March 07, 2016

"Why QlikView? - Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphics-enabled presentations, graphic manipulation
  • Highly interactive applications, dashboards and reports.
  • Extracts data from sources such as Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, SQL Server and Excel
  • It's intuitive, fast, simple and easy to use
  • In essence QlikView helps users understand consolidating complex data, simplifying data visualization, and providing real-time access to analytics.
  • Business intelligence can create QlikView extensions, design business apps, and manage data definitions, this needs to be simplified and a bit more accessible.
  • Lack of single, easy manageable and scalable security model limits areas of applicability for QlikView. Currently, in order to manage user access rights one should set them up in various places.
Read Bonn Chavez's full review
Galen Mosier profile photo
February 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Pretty @#$% Awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView, because of the way it stores everything in RAM, is extremely fast.
  • QlikView allows you to explore relationships between data elements that might otherwise be overlooked.
  • It has a very sophisticated, robust programming "language" and allows for virtually unlimited customization.
  • While powerful, the syntax of the commands, particularly with respect to dollar-sign expansion and set analysis, can be exceedingly arcane. I can't even remember right off hand how many different duties the dollar-sign is involved in, but it seems like they could have figured out a way to make it a little less confusing. On the other hand, mastery of set analysis, advanced aggregation, and dollar-sign expansion is what separates the men from the boys.
  • I'd personally like to see a wider variety of built-in chart types.
Read Galen Mosier's full review
Oleg Troyansky profile photo
December 23, 2015

QlikView Review: "Still in love, after 12 years of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView is extremely effective in its ETL capability. In comparison to Tableau and other modern tools, QlikView has the best data loading capabilities, making it extremely easy to load data from multiple disjointed data sources and build a cohesive data model that supports your needs.
  • Flexibility. With QlikView, making changes to an existing application is extremely easy. Since we don't need to mess with multi-dimensional cubes, developing and changing data models and visualizations is easy and fast
  • Quick learning curve. It's very easy to get educated and become proficient on QlikView. New developers become productive after just a few days, and then continue learning more advanced techniques while already delivering value to their companies.
  • Deploying and managing QlikView in a huge environment, with many servers, many locations and many users, can be still challenging. The management tools are very good for managing one or a few servers. When the environment needs to scale up by a lot, the management and monitoring tools may not be as efficient.
Read Oleg Troyansky's full review
Alexei Akimov profile photo
December 18, 2015

QlikView Review: "QLV: Great Data Discovery and Data Association tool. Strange marketing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Associations between disparate sources.
  • Entities that are NOT used/NOT associated (although supposed to be).
  • N-LOOKUP/hierarchical data visualization (example: hierarchically organized Operational codes, prices, business conditions and busn programs).
  • Makes good compression of data for up to 100 Mln transactional rows (I have compared head-to-head with SSAS cubes=not indexed). QLV works faster. Give QLV at least 32 Gig of RAM on 64 bit architecture, you will see the instant response for many millions of transactions, with instant grouping and counters.
  • Data extraction from sources is separated from graphical part. This means you can provide ETL part (extract/periodical extract from sources) separately, and populate QVD (intermediate compressed format for all users). All users will connect their QLV reports to this QVD format, thus NEVER loading/affecting the (OLTP/DW) source at all.
  • GUI interface is simple enough. Copying of the controls is simple. Filter selections, made in the controls by user, are saved by default/reproduced on QLW report closing/reopening. In other words, user keeps his/her specific business context. "Current Selections" (a simple GUI control) allows to visualize the business context.
  • Actions/Triggers (on a document/tab or user level) allow to pre-populate user filter selections.
  • Outrageous marketing: all QLV manuals start with the words; "Lets take a flat file as Data Source". Information is NOT supposed to be kept in Flat files. This is written in the Chapter 1 of any Introduction to Data Processing text book in the world.
  • QLV first mentions of the POSSIBILITY of the connection to relational DB on the page 200 of the QLV manual(!). In fact, the Relational Data base source is the "second class citizen" in QLV. You have to go into data extraction Script, instead of just specifying OLE DB or ODBC as a data source!
  • Qlikview sales people could answer the simple question: does QLV work against relational DB- yes or no? Their answer was: "The question is too technical". The company clearly does not understand how to position its (absolutely wonderful) product. As a BACKEND data discovery and analysys product.
  • They will NEVER EVER use the word: "Relational DB Source" and "Powerful ETL capabilities" in their marketing. It is 100% concentrated on GUI part/interface and their QVD (compressed proprietary format) storage. NOT on real-life data extraction from real DB source. That is a shame, Marketing department does not understand their target audience.
  • QLV help files are rudimentary, do not give good examples on actual DB data extraction and analysis. They might have done it on example of Microsoft Sample Databases - this was never done.
  • You can specify the % of RAM memory consumed by QLV. On reaching this percentage, QLV, unfortunately, becomes unresponsive. Abort (of the running script) does not work well. Modality of the script window and of help files is not chosen correctly. QLV may hang and crush on large data.
Read Alexei Akimov's full review
Michael Lam profile photo
November 11, 2015

QlikView Review: "Choosing the Right BI Reporting Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast - everything is in memory so it moves away from the traditional logistics of reading data from disc.
  • Interface is fast to develop. Once a thoughtful data model is setup. The frontend development is fast and allows a RAD environment.
  • The server itself is easy to maintain. Maintenance is low and does not need a typical "sys admin" to manage this reporting server
  • Visualization - Graphically beautiful and provides that "bells and whistle" factor
  • The relationship of how data models are put together in QlikView - it requires good level of technical understanding how models are put together. If they had an ERD like framework when opening up an existing dashboard it would be helpful.
  • The licensing model QlikView employs financially does not make sense for growing small companies.
  • The support of AJAX technology is not up to par with its predecessor, IE plugin. They could do much better job implementing the same features in IE plugin over to AJAX users. The migration will be much simpler since AJAX will be the standard under Qlikview's new future versions.
Read Michael Lam's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (30)
6.3
Customizable dashboards (40)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (35)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.0
Formatting capabilities (42)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (24)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
7.1
Publish to Web (32)
7.2
Publish to PDF (34)
6.8
Report Versioning (23)
7.1
Report Delivery Scheduling (28)
6.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (33)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (27)
5.3
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (35)
7.8
Role-Based Security Model (31)
7.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (30)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (26)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (15)
5.4
Dedicated Android Application (11)
7.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (20)
7.0

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC