TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView Review: Quick GlanceWe are a service based organization and we implement solutions for our clients. I am a part of the Analytics department and we implement QlikView based dashboard/ solutions to address clients' business problems. Typically, I have worked with Insurance and Healthcare(Pharmaceutical) clients which are market leaders in various geographies like US, India, etc.,in memory application AQL i.e auto association QVD conditional hide n show feature,Implementing maps other than that of US Real time data handling is not possible device compatibility isn't there,9,Tableau Desktop,8,7,Qlik Sense, Microsoft SQL Server, Teradata DatabaseGreat for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS ExcelI use Qlikview to analyze sales data, customer satisfaction (survey) data, and to build dashboards to display and analyze to senior leadership, and marketing management. It is the business intelligence tool of choice for the organization and is used to synchronize the look and feel of analytics across multiple functions and applications (such as data from Salesforce, Qualtrics, Google Analytics, and other applications).,Easy Data Import and Data Manipulation. I really like how easy it is to import new data and how I can edit the script to clean and format data automatically. Creating Business Intelligence visualizations and creating more complex visualizations than I can make in Excel (locking them down is helpful too!). Creating interactive elements that allow non-technical users to glean more useful insights at the click of a mouse.,Qlikview desktop is not easy to share with users who do now have Qlikview. It would be nice to have a sharable "read only" version of the qlikview file that could be emailed to people who just want a report. I wish Qlikview was better built for responsive design. It would make it a lot easier to share with users who have large screens or are working on small laptops. I design to my screen but that doesn't work for everyone and the zoom feature makes things fit but not necessarily proportionally sized. Easier quick start guide for new business users. The UI is not super friendly but once you get used to it, it all makes sense. However, I think a more freshened up UI could help more functions support it faster instead of relying on Excel for everything.,8,,10,4,Microsoft Access, Google Analytics, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Qualtrics, SurveyGizmoVery useful, but overly complicated at times.Qlik is used by certain departments. Some other departments use different data visualization tools. It offers a way to build visualization tools that meet our client's needs. It is flexible enough that templates can be developed that will suit the needs for multiple clients. It also makes self service a little bit easier.,Allows self service, freeing up analyst time resources for large fish. Flexible enough to be used in multiple business problem types. Can point to multiple data sources, making blending a little easier.,Colors and graphics look dated Some of the functionality is clunky, making what should be easy changes more complicated than they should be.,7,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft Power BI,9,8,Alteryx Analytics, Microsoft SQL ServerWhy every company can benefit from QV?QlikView in Tsentrobuv covered all the systems and almost all business users - from stores to stakeholders. sales, marketing, accounting, IT and so on. They were covered by about 70+ different QlikView applications.,Works great with a great amount of data. For example: detailed transactions for 1200+ stores for 2 years. Easy for end users - as simple as Excel but much more representative. The system can be implemented in short period of time (starting from 2 weeks).,All the information is preloaded in the application. Sometimes it would [not] be easy to select a period of time (for example) at first. Lack of geo-based functionality. Missing data-mining functionality. Lack of prediction functionality.,10,Revenue +10% Marketing/promotion effectiveness +20% "Dead stocks" -15%,IBM Cognos,SAP ERPQlikView Pros and ConsWe are the largest QlikView roll-out in the UK and we use it to share high level performance metrics on clinical trials such as time and target data related to recruitment. The product is pitched under the banner of open data as it is used to inform a wide set of stakeholders including commercial, public sector and NHS. We operate QlikView on Amazon Web Services to provide a robust platform.,QlikView is visually excellent and allows our users to interpret data rapidly for decision making. The ability to customise QlikView Apps allows for bespoke reporting for specific sectors. QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way.,QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age. QlikView also relies on trained staff to create the apps and this means accepting that this is a bespoke application and requires bespoke training and support. There are other products that are less clunky and require less trained staff to operate.,7,For us the investment value is related to the change in working practices and desire to share rich-content with our stakeholders. QlikView is a good product and does what it says however the overhead of ad-hoc reporting remains.,QlikSense and SAP Business Objects
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
534 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

QlikView Reviews

QlikView
534 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 52 of 534 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 52)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
February 07, 2018

"QlikView Review: Quick Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • in memory application
  • AQL i.e auto association
  • QVD
  • conditional hide n show feature
  • Implementing maps other than that of US
  • Real time data handling is not possible
  • device compatibility isn't there
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2018

QlikView Review: "Great for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS Excel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy Data Import and Data Manipulation. I really like how easy it is to import new data and how I can edit the script to clean and format data automatically.
  • Creating Business Intelligence visualizations and creating more complex visualizations than I can make in Excel (locking them down is helpful too!).
  • Creating interactive elements that allow non-technical users to glean more useful insights at the click of a mouse.
  • Qlikview desktop is not easy to share with users who do now have Qlikview. It would be nice to have a sharable "read only" version of the qlikview file that could be emailed to people who just want a report.
  • I wish Qlikview was better built for responsive design. It would make it a lot easier to share with users who have large screens or are working on small laptops. I design to my screen but that doesn't work for everyone and the zoom feature makes things fit but not necessarily proportionally sized.
  • Easier quick start guide for new business users. The UI is not super friendly but once you get used to it, it all makes sense. However, I think a more freshened up UI could help more functions support it faster instead of relying on Excel for everything.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2017

QlikView Review: "Very useful, but overly complicated at times."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows self service, freeing up analyst time resources for large fish.
  • Flexible enough to be used in multiple business problem types.
  • Can point to multiple data sources, making blending a little easier.
  • Colors and graphics look dated
  • Some of the functionality is clunky, making what should be easy changes more complicated than they should be.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Why every company can benefit from QV?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works great with a great amount of data. For example: detailed transactions for 1200+ stores for 2 years.
  • Easy for end users - as simple as Excel but much more representative.
  • The system can be implemented in short period of time (starting from 2 weeks).
  • All the information is preloaded in the application. Sometimes it would [not] be easy to select a period of time (for example) at first.
  • Lack of geo-based functionality.
  • Missing data-mining functionality.
  • Lack of prediction functionality.
Read Alexander Obolensky's full review
September 22, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Pros and Cons"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView is visually excellent and allows our users to interpret data rapidly for decision making.
  • The ability to customise QlikView Apps allows for bespoke reporting for specific sectors.
  • QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way.
  • QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age.
  • QlikView also relies on trained staff to create the apps and this means accepting that this is a bespoke application and requires bespoke training and support.
  • There are other products that are less clunky and require less trained staff to operate.
Read this authenticated review
September 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "Understand your Qliks at a deeper level"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrates data from various digital sources for visualizations
  • Clean graphs for data analysis
  • Ease of use
  • Support for Mac desktop
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QV's #1 strength is the drag and drop visualization tools -- with just a bit of training, you can make some really nice looking charts
  • QV's #2 strength is the simplicity of the filtering. Other SQL languages might call this "linking" or database structure ... which can be a pain.... but QV makes this easy. Further, once the data is inside QV, the ability to FILTER the data using check boxes is completely intuitive and simple.
  • QV's #3 strength is its ability to work across platforms and integrate multiple data sources and multiple types of data. QuickBooks data is just one example of something that it can chew up with ease.
  • Like a lot of software, QV starts with a blank page. If you are like me, you dive in without reading the instruction manual. Big mistake. There is a rigid stepwise process that you must follow to make it work....
  • I've never used anything quite as powerful as QV, so I cannot compare this to many other packages. ... but with 30 minutes of training and an hour of practice, you can be pretty proficient.
Read David Worrell's full review
June 02, 2016

QlikView Review: "Reporting almost made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Discovery aspect of user visibility of data.
  • Ease of publishing reports to web interface.
  • High speed filtering of wide long data sets.
  • QlikView has some issues with macros. Most of the support calls are issues with macros. Perhaps improve it.
  • Doc Cal licensing encourages development of poorly formed reports that has lots of tabs and chart objects.
  • Old windows style development IDE with poor debugging capabilities.
Read Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE)'s full review
May 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "almost easy way to get in BI in your company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy access to any database, you need just a valid credential.
  • Heavy interaction with Excel, this is a must for users and to solve basic issues.
  • The system evolves according to the user's capacity.
  • In the beginning you need to involve the user, the first impact is friendly but the immediate results are somewhat trivial.
  • When you understand the potential of the system you need to QlikView experts for more complex processing.
  • If you connect a complex database such as a company ERP solution (you can easy do it), you need to know the database structure to find data.
Read Ermanno Basso's full review
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love how you can slice and dice data to get the answers you need about your skus and sales.
  • QlikView gives me more detail than Google Analytics about how my categories are performing.
  • Our BI team is able to use QlikView to answer almost any question I have about what's happening on our website. They can set up bookmarks of commonly used searches that I need to make it quicker for me to find the data I need.
  • QlikView is not intuitive for the average user. You definitely need a BI team to set it up and help you use it, as a marketer.
  • Our instance of QlikView does not provide cost data. I'm given the information I need but I have to do some math in order to come up with the cost we're selling a product for. This may be because our BI team hasn't set it up that way.
  • You have to remember to use QlikViews navigation functions and not your browsers. And when I click from one tab to another, I lose my settings and have to start over.
  • I'm a casual user of QlikView and maybe if I were an actual BI team member, I would have the knowledge to get around these obstacles.
Read Melissa Best's full review
May 24, 2016

QlikView Review: "In a Qlik"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Qlikview allows rapid in-memory assembly of data (qvd's) from various sources such a database, flat files etc to produce nifty, integrated reports, it appeals a lot to the business users who get a fairly quick answer to their questions.
  • Very easy to use and user friendly from a business user perspective as data can be shown in charts and diagrams which is helpful for high level executives.
  • Easy to install and setup from an administrator's point of view.
  • It requires lot of memory in servers for it to perform efficiently since it pre-loads data.
  • From a developer's perspective it's very complex to set up the loads and scripts in the qvd's and subsequently to the qvw.
  • The support for Qlikview is not topnotch.
  • Very hard to monitor all the loads from an admin point of view as if one load fails the qvw dashboard doesn't get the data in.
Read Praveen Chandrasekaran's full review
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast applying changes to the filters
  • Easy to deploy and needs minimal operation time
  • It connects to all data sources we needed
  • The online community is very helpful and it has a lot of data already
  • The Select Tables form needs major renovations
  • Still has stability issues where it crashes frequently
Read Raymond Younan's full review
September 16, 2016

QlikView Review: "Easy to Set Up, Easy to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to setup dashboards
  • Intuitive functionality
  • Makes filtering and drilling down quick and easy
  • Graphics can be a little simple
Read Melinda Patience's full review
March 07, 2016

"Why QlikView? - Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphics-enabled presentations, graphic manipulation
  • Highly interactive applications, dashboards and reports.
  • Extracts data from sources such as Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, SQL Server and Excel
  • It's intuitive, fast, simple and easy to use
  • In essence QlikView helps users understand consolidating complex data, simplifying data visualization, and providing real-time access to analytics.
  • Business intelligence can create QlikView extensions, design business apps, and manage data definitions, this needs to be simplified and a bit more accessible.
  • Lack of single, easy manageable and scalable security model limits areas of applicability for QlikView. Currently, in order to manage user access rights one should set them up in various places.
Read Bonn Chavez's full review
February 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Pretty @#$% Awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView, because of the way it stores everything in RAM, is extremely fast.
  • QlikView allows you to explore relationships between data elements that might otherwise be overlooked.
  • It has a very sophisticated, robust programming "language" and allows for virtually unlimited customization.
  • While powerful, the syntax of the commands, particularly with respect to dollar-sign expansion and set analysis, can be exceedingly arcane. I can't even remember right off hand how many different duties the dollar-sign is involved in, but it seems like they could have figured out a way to make it a little less confusing. On the other hand, mastery of set analysis, advanced aggregation, and dollar-sign expansion is what separates the men from the boys.
  • I'd personally like to see a wider variety of built-in chart types.
Read Galen Mosier's full review
May 24, 2016

"Qlikview review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Layers
  • Customisable
  • Integration of ETL
  • Transition in visualisation
  • Story telling
  • Geo mapping as standard
Read Dr. Petri Vitiello's full review
December 23, 2015

QlikView Review: "Still in love, after 12 years of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView is extremely effective in its ETL capability. In comparison to Tableau and other modern tools, QlikView has the best data loading capabilities, making it extremely easy to load data from multiple disjointed data sources and build a cohesive data model that supports your needs.
  • Flexibility. With QlikView, making changes to an existing application is extremely easy. Since we don't need to mess with multi-dimensional cubes, developing and changing data models and visualizations is easy and fast
  • Quick learning curve. It's very easy to get educated and become proficient on QlikView. New developers become productive after just a few days, and then continue learning more advanced techniques while already delivering value to their companies.
  • Deploying and managing QlikView in a huge environment, with many servers, many locations and many users, can be still challenging. The management tools are very good for managing one or a few servers. When the environment needs to scale up by a lot, the management and monitoring tools may not be as efficient.
Read Oleg Troyansky's full review
December 18, 2015

QlikView Review: "QLV: Great Data Discovery and Data Association tool. Strange marketing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Associations between disparate sources.
  • Entities that are NOT used/NOT associated (although supposed to be).
  • N-LOOKUP/hierarchical data visualization (example: hierarchically organized Operational codes, prices, business conditions and busn programs).
  • Makes good compression of data for up to 100 Mln transactional rows (I have compared head-to-head with SSAS cubes=not indexed). QLV works faster. Give QLV at least 32 Gig of RAM on 64 bit architecture, you will see the instant response for many millions of transactions, with instant grouping and counters.
  • Data extraction from sources is separated from graphical part. This means you can provide ETL part (extract/periodical extract from sources) separately, and populate QVD (intermediate compressed format for all users). All users will connect their QLV reports to this QVD format, thus NEVER loading/affecting the (OLTP/DW) source at all.
  • GUI interface is simple enough. Copying of the controls is simple. Filter selections, made in the controls by user, are saved by default/reproduced on QLW report closing/reopening. In other words, user keeps his/her specific business context. "Current Selections" (a simple GUI control) allows to visualize the business context.
  • Actions/Triggers (on a document/tab or user level) allow to pre-populate user filter selections.
  • Outrageous marketing: all QLV manuals start with the words; "Lets take a flat file as Data Source". Information is NOT supposed to be kept in Flat files. This is written in the Chapter 1 of any Introduction to Data Processing text book in the world.
  • QLV first mentions of the POSSIBILITY of the connection to relational DB on the page 200 of the QLV manual(!). In fact, the Relational Data base source is the "second class citizen" in QLV. You have to go into data extraction Script, instead of just specifying OLE DB or ODBC as a data source!
  • Qlikview sales people could answer the simple question: does QLV work against relational DB- yes or no? Their answer was: "The question is too technical". The company clearly does not understand how to position its (absolutely wonderful) product. As a BACKEND data discovery and analysys product.
  • They will NEVER EVER use the word: "Relational DB Source" and "Powerful ETL capabilities" in their marketing. It is 100% concentrated on GUI part/interface and their QVD (compressed proprietary format) storage. NOT on real-life data extraction from real DB source. That is a shame, Marketing department does not understand their target audience.
  • QLV help files are rudimentary, do not give good examples on actual DB data extraction and analysis. They might have done it on example of Microsoft Sample Databases - this was never done.
  • You can specify the % of RAM memory consumed by QLV. On reaching this percentage, QLV, unfortunately, becomes unresponsive. Abort (of the running script) does not work well. Modality of the script window and of help files is not chosen correctly. QLV may hang and crush on large data.
Read Alexei Akimov's full review
November 11, 2015

QlikView Review: "Choosing the Right BI Reporting Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast - everything is in memory so it moves away from the traditional logistics of reading data from disc.
  • Interface is fast to develop. Once a thoughtful data model is setup. The frontend development is fast and allows a RAD environment.
  • The server itself is easy to maintain. Maintenance is low and does not need a typical "sys admin" to manage this reporting server
  • Visualization - Graphically beautiful and provides that "bells and whistle" factor
  • The relationship of how data models are put together in QlikView - it requires good level of technical understanding how models are put together. If they had an ERD like framework when opening up an existing dashboard it would be helpful.
  • The licensing model QlikView employs financially does not make sense for growing small companies.
  • The support of AJAX technology is not up to par with its predecessor, IE plugin. They could do much better job implementing the same features in IE plugin over to AJAX users. The migration will be much simpler since AJAX will be the standard under Qlikview's new future versions.
Read Michael Lam's full review
July 08, 2015

"User Review of QlikView"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ETL! QlikView is the simplest product that not only provides great visuals for UI but it also handles complex ETL.
  • Easy to implement. We have successfully installed QlikView server and desktop within one week with a fully functional dashboard published for end users.
  • DATA DISCOVERY! The green/white/grey is such a powerful tool. The first thing I do when II arrive onsite with a client is connect to their data and jump right into the data. The grey is the most valuable. I can see what is NOT relating to my selections. This is not possible, so far, in any other business discovery tool.
  • Set Analysis! Qlikview's set analysis allows me to calculate from the very basic to the super complex expressions. It does not take long to learn either.
  • QLIK COMMUNITY! The community consists of master users and Qlik employees and basic to new users. It is a huge resource for all users and allows you to get answers quickly then copy script and/or dashboards so no need to recreate the wheel.
  • ITS FREE forever and fully functional. You just cannot open licensed applications. What a great marketing tool. QlikSense will be free forever with the ability to share your applications! Just gets better.
  • Licensing model could be easier to understand. It is not bad, but takes a while for the clients to understand it. QlikSense will have a greatly improved licensing model from what I hear.
  • QlikSense is covering for all the requested Qlik11 improvements. I think the 2 products will compliment each other.
Read Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA's full review
September 30, 2015

"QlikView ReView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works quickly with large datasets - I have created 20+ applications with my current company and previous company, all on average with 30 million + unique rows in the core billing table, and have yet to have any significant performance depreciation.
  • Data Visualization - Easy to create detailed and adaptable reports that can meet any departments need
  • Developer friendly - Supports SQL well, can create elegant data models/schema only using SQL (though it is encourages to use QV's native language)
  • High price point - while we would love to use QlikView for all reporting at my current company, it is far to expensive to but licenses for non-managers
  • Can only develop via application (as opposed to using an online client) - I believe they intend to eliminate the application and have everything be web based, however currently that is not the case. Many other BI tools allow online development.
  • Users do not have the ability to easily create ad hoc reports - while as a developer I can create an application that allows users to make ad hoc reports, there is no functionality to do this natively (or in a relatively easy way).
Read Alexander Ashavsky's full review
April 08, 2015

QlikView Review: "Highly flexible but requires discipline."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QlikView does an excellent job of evolving with an organization as it can move faster than an organization thinks. As clients work with their data, their business understanding grows.
  • QlikView ETL capability can be used to create a rapid-prototyping space to lower the risk associated with making changes to an ETL process by using it's native QVD file format as a temporary substitute for virtual data warhouse tables. When these stabilize, the client can integrate them into the ETL process without unnecessary time pressure.
  • Application development is highly flexible. This pairs well with an agile methodology allowing for requirements to necessarily flex as the client evolves. If done well, it generates high user acceptability levels.
  • QlikView provides excellent time to value in that dashboards can be created and deployed quickly. The product has a fully functional scripting language to support all ETL functionality in addition to a fully flexible interface design capability. The ETL piece can be used to quickly bridge gaps in the data.
  • Ideal state processes can be created by deploying mulitple QlikView files to work together.
  • Architecture is highly flexible allowing architects to design in constraints at appropriate points to control scope creep.
  • Simulateous development is difficult as development goes on in one qvw file. There is no check-in/check-out functionality to protect against changes being overwritten. There are third party products that can bridge this gap.
  • It can be too flexible in that an inexperienced team can fall victim to user whims. This happens when developers implement changes without an appropriate methodolology.
  • It's not a true platform solution. Integrating with single sign-on solutions as an example, is unnecessarily difficult.
  • QlikView's achilles heel is RAM. Handling "big data" requires complex, multi-tiered architectures spanning across several applications to maintain performance.
Read Mike Schroff's full review
July 14, 2015

"QlikView Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Many Different Visual Display Options, ie, charts, graphs, data tables
  • Filtering and Manipulation is extremely easy. You can potentially filter or group by any field in your load statement.
  • You can have many iterations of the same data shown on one tab, or have many tabs.
  • Cloning existing tabs or charts is easy and fast
  • A Load Builder (Similar to a query builder) would be a nice feature
  • Provide distribution capability w/in Small Business Server
  • Better Selection box controls. Make it easier to do AND / OR filters without coding.
Read Luke Fitzwater's full review
December 30, 2014

QlikView Review: "Powerful Product, Great Online Support Community"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Qlikview has an excellent online community support. This was probably the best part of buying the project. I had never worked in BI before purchasing Qlikview but after a short one-week class, I was up and running. Whenever I got stuck, I reviewed previous posts or posted a question myself. The questions were almost always answered within a couple of hours. The fantastic community really helped me learn the product.
  • Qlikview is a great product and very powerful. It is not always easy learning all the formulas but for those who know it, it can do almost anything you want a BI tool to do. It is fantastic at integrating multiple sources of information.
  • Qlikview provides a lot of free demo dashboards which are fantastic to learn from. They are open so you can see exactly how they were designed behind the scene. The variety of boards are a great strawman or baseline to use for almost any BI initiative that people take on.
  • The formula for harder BI analytics is neither intuitive or easy to learn. It really helps if you have some kind of SQL background. I really wish there were more out-of-the-box options that we can customize.
  • It may be more of a server issue but it can take hours to run a single query.
  • You have to define a lot of parameters for almost anything you create so the tool forces you to spend a lot of time selecting different options. I wish they had good pre-defined templates for layouts for us to choose from.
Read Suzan Liu's full review
April 10, 2015

User Review: "QlikView 4 Healthcare"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Serves as an in-memory data warehouse.
  • High level of usability for the end user.
  • Expressor acquisition enables a high level of data governance.
  • Pricing model difficult to understand.
  • Report and dashboard development takes longer than expected, especially if there are many data sources.
Read Charles Boicey's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (32)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (27)
6.4
Drill-down analysis (34)
6.7
Formatting capabilities (34)
6.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (18)
8.5
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
6.8
Publish to Web (25)
6.7
Publish to PDF (28)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
6.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (25)
6.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
4.0
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (28)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (25)
7.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (24)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (21)
7.9
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
5.3
Dedicated Android Application (9)
6.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (15)
7.8

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC