TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGPretty @#$% AwesomeWe use QlikView to produce a variety of dashboards for the board of trustees, the superintendent, department chiefs and executive management, and employees of certain other departments to assist in monitoring KPIs and other important data quickly, easily, and in ways that have often been difficult or impossible to see before the implementation of QlikView.,QlikView, because of the way it stores everything in RAM, is extremely fast. QlikView allows you to explore relationships between data elements that might otherwise be overlooked. It has a very sophisticated, robust programming "language" and allows for virtually unlimited customization.,While powerful, the syntax of the commands, particularly with respect to dollar-sign expansion and set analysis, can be exceedingly arcane. I can't even remember right off hand how many different duties the dollar-sign is involved in, but it seems like they could have figured out a way to make it a little less confusing. On the other hand, mastery of set analysis, advanced aggregation, and dollar-sign expansion is what separates the men from the boys. I'd personally like to see a wider variety of built-in chart types.,8,9,8Qlikview reviewWe use QV to as our visual analytics platform for workforce analytics. Pros: Good data connection Flexible Easy to use Cons: Lack visual appeal in its default mode; Inconsistent behaviour when stretched capability,Layers Customisable Integration of ETL,Transition in visualisation Story telling Geo mapping as standard,6,Tableau Desktop,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO Spotfire Desktop Unpublished, Pentaho,6,3,8Still in love, after 12 years of use!When I first started using QlikView 12 years ago, it was a small niche tool that could help you load your data from a variety of sources and build dazzling visualizations in a matter of hours or days. As an Application Director for a mid-size manufacturing company, I deployed my first QlikView dashboard in 3 weeks, with minimal investment, and that first achievement was called a "slam dunk" even by the most skeptical executives. This was in 2002, way before most of the tools and gadgets that we use today, ever existed. We used QlikView to analyze Sales, and then Profit Margins, and then Excess and Obsolete Inventories, and then transportation costs, and so on and so forth. within 5 years, QlikView become a valuable business tool on every desk in the company. Since then, the technology world around us had changed a lot - our computers are now using 64-bit operating systems, and a nifty laptop is now more powerful than the most powerful server back in the days. The capabilities of business software had changed as well. Today, QlikView is not a niche tool anymore, it's a flagman tool in the market of Data Discovery (Qlik likes to call the same term Business Discovery). However, the core value remains largely the same: With QlikView, we can load large amounts of data and build beautiful and insightful visualizations with an unmatched speed. Using the recent advances in technology, we can empower our users to navigate their data in the most liberating and powerful way. I won't be the first to state that modern companies collect, store and process vast amounts of data. BI tools are trying to help people make sense of that data, and QlikView is by far my favorite tool for this task. We think that we know our business. However, the "million dollar" question is what we don't know about our business? For me and many of my customers, QlikView has become an eye opener, in the way it helped companies realize how much they don't know about their business: - As a manufacturer, do you know what products are truly profitable and to what extent, considering all the customer programs, allowances, chargebacks etc? - Do you know what products in your inventory are turning fast and what products are sitting there for years? - Do you know your true service levels with your customers, and how they are trending in time, and what are the possible reasons might be? - Do you know if vendor payment terms are consistent across your corporation, or do you lose money on various unfavorable payment terms? - Do you know how your customers are paying you? Do they comply to your payment terms? Are you paying them chargebacks while they are being late on their commitments? - Do you know if your employees follow your travel policy, and how much does it cost you when they don't? All of those questions have one thing in common - if you don't know the answer, you are likely to be wasting money that could be saved. When things are getting tough, companies tend to resort to layoffs and tough decisions... With the help of QlikView and advanced business analytics, we can find money in a haystack of data and help companies get better without necessarily laying people off. There is a lot of money wasted in the process, and QlikView is an excellent tool that can help us find it, save it and put it back to work.,QlikView is extremely effective in its ETL capability. In comparison to Tableau and other modern tools, QlikView has the best data loading capabilities, making it extremely easy to load data from multiple disjointed data sources and build a cohesive data model that supports your needs. Flexibility. With QlikView, making changes to an existing application is extremely easy. Since we don't need to mess with multi-dimensional cubes, developing and changing data models and visualizations is easy and fast Quick learning curve. It's very easy to get educated and become proficient on QlikView. New developers become productive after just a few days, and then continue learning more advanced techniques while already delivering value to their companies.,Deploying and managing QlikView in a huge environment, with many servers, many locations and many users, can be still challenging. The management tools are very good for managing one or a few servers. When the environment needs to scale up by a lot, the management and monitoring tools may not be as efficient.,10,,10,When I implemented QlikView as a customer, we generated huge ROI with Excess and Obsolete Inventory analysis. QlikView enabled the kind of analysis and the kind of visibility that was never possible before.,Implemented in-house,10,10QLV: Great Data Discovery and Data Association tool. Strange marketing.QlikView was used for support of ETL, data integrity between different/disparate prod. sources, and discovery of data gaps.,Associations between disparate sources. Entities that are NOT used/NOT associated (although supposed to be). N-LOOKUP/hierarchical data visualization (example: hierarchically organized Operational codes, prices, business conditions and busn programs). Makes good compression of data for up to 100 Mln transactional rows (I have compared head-to-head with SSAS cubes=not indexed). QLV works faster. Give QLV at least 32 Gig of RAM on 64 bit architecture, you will see the instant response for many millions of transactions, with instant grouping and counters. Data extraction from sources is separated from graphical part. This means you can provide ETL part (extract/periodical extract from sources) separately, and populate QVD (intermediate compressed format for all users). All users will connect their QLV reports to this QVD format, thus NEVER loading/affecting the (OLTP/DW) source at all. GUI interface is simple enough. Copying of the controls is simple. Filter selections, made in the controls by user, are saved by default/reproduced on QLW report closing/reopening. In other words, user keeps his/her specific business context. "Current Selections" (a simple GUI control) allows to visualize the business context. Actions/Triggers (on a document/tab or user level) allow to pre-populate user filter selections.,Outrageous marketing: all QLV manuals start with the words; "Lets take a flat file as Data Source". Information is NOT supposed to be kept in Flat files. This is written in the Chapter 1 of any Introduction to Data Processing text book in the world. QLV first mentions of the POSSIBILITY of the connection to relational DB on the page 200 of the QLV manual(!). In fact, the Relational Data base source is the "second class citizen" in QLV. You have to go into data extraction Script, instead of just specifying OLE DB or ODBC as a data source! Qlikview sales people could answer the simple question: does QLV work against relational DB- yes or no? Their answer was: "The question is too technical". The company clearly does not understand how to position its (absolutely wonderful) product. As a BACKEND data discovery and analysys product. They will NEVER EVER use the word: "Relational DB Source" and "Powerful ETL capabilities" in their marketing. It is 100% concentrated on GUI part/interface and their QVD (compressed proprietary format) storage. NOT on real-life data extraction from real DB source. That is a shame, Marketing department does not understand their target audience. QLV help files are rudimentary, do not give good examples on actual DB data extraction and analysis. They might have done it on example of Microsoft Sample Databases - this was never done. You can specify the % of RAM memory consumed by QLV. On reaching this percentage, QLV, unfortunately, becomes unresponsive. Abort (of the running script) does not work well. Modality of the script window and of help files is not chosen correctly. QLV may hang and crush on large data.,8,SSIS Data Flow Components, Informatica Data Explorer, MicroStrategy AnalyticsChoosing the Right BI Reporting PlatformQlikView is our companies go-to reporting solution. It is our frontend BI tool and is generally used to pull information out of our database. We provide a flexible "report builder" which is valuable to our end users who build reports off QlikView reports. This reporting tool is used across many departments: SEM | BD | Partners | SplitTest | Finance,Fast - everything is in memory so it moves away from the traditional logistics of reading data from disc. Interface is fast to develop. Once a thoughtful data model is setup. The frontend development is fast and allows a RAD environment. The server itself is easy to maintain. Maintenance is low and does not need a typical "sys admin" to manage this reporting server Visualization - Graphically beautiful and provides that "bells and whistle" factor,The relationship of how data models are put together in QlikView - it requires good level of technical understanding how models are put together. If they had an ERD like framework when opening up an existing dashboard it would be helpful. The licensing model QlikView employs financially does not make sense for growing small companies. The support of AJAX technology is not up to par with its predecessor, IE plugin. They could do much better job implementing the same features in IE plugin over to AJAX users. The migration will be much simpler since AJAX will be the standard under Qlikview's new future versions.,9,,8,1,0,Vendor implemented Professional services company,Change management was a major issue with the implementation,1,1,9,8,9,1User Review of QlikViewWe are a small consulting firm with remote workers. I run the QlikView Practice and focus on the consulting area. I use Qlikview internal for delivery analytics such as utilization and resource planning.,ETL! QlikView is the simplest product that not only provides great visuals for UI but it also handles complex ETL. Easy to implement. We have successfully installed QlikView server and desktop within one week with a fully functional dashboard published for end users. DATA DISCOVERY! The green/white/grey is such a powerful tool. The first thing I do when II arrive onsite with a client is connect to their data and jump right into the data. The grey is the most valuable. I can see what is NOT relating to my selections. This is not possible, so far, in any other business discovery tool. Set Analysis! Qlikview's set analysis allows me to calculate from the very basic to the super complex expressions. It does not take long to learn either. QLIK COMMUNITY! The community consists of master users and Qlik employees and basic to new users. It is a huge resource for all users and allows you to get answers quickly then copy script and/or dashboards so no need to recreate the wheel. ITS FREE forever and fully functional. You just cannot open licensed applications. What a great marketing tool. QlikSense will be free forever with the ability to share your applications! Just gets better.,Licensing model could be easier to understand. It is not bad, but takes a while for the clients to understand it. QlikSense will have a greatly improved licensing model from what I hear. QlikSense is covering for all the requested Qlik11 improvements. I think the 2 products will compliment each other.,10,Tableau Desktop,Birst,SAP Business Objects,Crystal Reports,Microsoft Access,MicroStrategy Analytics,10,Not applicable to our firm as we are small consulting firm.,8,8,,1,Sales trending . Data blending Data discovery,No,Price Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,I would not,Implemented in-house,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,9,No,7,No,Data load wizards Table linking Chart wizards Data discovery via list boxes,Layout on sheets Gauge wizard Scripting for those who are not skilled,Yes,7QlikView ReViewQlikView is used by senior level managers at my company (mostly C-Level) as an advanced analytics tool. My company in general works within the Microsoft technology stack (.NET, SSRS/SSIS, etc) however QlikVIew had significantly better performance and adaptability and as such was brought in. It is used primarily by accounting, finance, and managment. It addresses the problem of many other reporting tools being incomplete (SSRS, Business Objects), as well as creating a custom BI tool from scratch being too much work and effort to create/maintain.,Works quickly with large datasets - I have created 20+ applications with my current company and previous company, all on average with 30 million + unique rows in the core billing table, and have yet to have any significant performance depreciation. Data Visualization - Easy to create detailed and adaptable reports that can meet any departments need Developer friendly - Supports SQL well, can create elegant data models/schema only using SQL (though it is encourages to use QV's native language),High price point - while we would love to use QlikView for all reporting at my current company, it is far to expensive to but licenses for non-managers Can only develop via application (as opposed to using an online client) - I believe they intend to eliminate the application and have everything be web based, however currently that is not the case. Many other BI tools allow online development. Users do not have the ability to easily create ad hoc reports - while as a developer I can create an application that allows users to make ad hoc reports, there is no functionality to do this natively (or in a relatively easy way).,9,SAP Business Objects,SQL Reporting Services,.NET,10,Less ad hoc requests (i.e. a user asking a developer to generate a dataset, export to excel, and send to them) More analytically driven managers able to quickly use data to make critical decision Increased Employee Efficiency,1Highly flexible but requires discipline.QlikView does an excellent job of evolving with an organization as it can move faster than an organization thinks. As clients work with their data, their business understanding grows. QlikView ETL capability can be used to create a rapid-prototyping space to lower the risk associated with making changes to an ETL process by using it's native QVD file format as a temporary substitute for virtual data warhouse tables. When these stabilize, the client can integrate them into the ETL process without unnecessary time pressure. Application development is highly flexible. This pairs well with an agile methodology allowing for requirements to necessarily flex as the client evolves. If done well, it generates high user acceptability levels. QlikView provides excellent time to value in that dashboards can be created and deployed quickly. The product has a fully functional scripting language to support all ETL functionality in addition to a fully flexible interface design capability. The ETL piece can be used to quickly bridge gaps in the data. Ideal state processes can be created by deploying mulitple QlikView files to work together. Architecture is highly flexible allowing architects to design in constraints at appropriate points to control scope creep.,Simulateous development is difficult as development goes on in one qvw file. There is no check-in/check-out functionality to protect against changes being overwritten. There are third party products that can bridge this gap. It can be too flexible in that an inexperienced team can fall victim to user whims. This happens when developers implement changes without an appropriate methodolology. It's not a true platform solution. Integrating with single sign-on solutions as an example, is unnecessarily difficult. QlikView's achilles heel is RAM. Handling "big data" requires complex, multi-tiered architectures spanning across several applications to maintain performance.,9,10QlikView ReviewWe use QlikView for multiple levels of management reporting in our organization. We decided to use QlikView based on a recommendation from one of our consultants who agreed to implement the software at no charge to us. We currently have C-Level reports being generated daily as well as mid-Level and day-to-day operations reports. We were limited to basic reporting from Salesforce.com, which spurred the need to bring in a more robust reporting package.,Many Different Visual Display Options, ie, charts, graphs, data tables Filtering and Manipulation is extremely easy. You can potentially filter or group by any field in your load statement. You can have many iterations of the same data shown on one tab, or have many tabs. Cloning existing tabs or charts is easy and fast,A Load Builder (Similar to a query builder) would be a nice feature Provide distribution capability w/in Small Business Server Better Selection box controls. Make it easier to do AND / OR filters without coding.,9,Crystal Reports,SSRS,10,I wouldn't say we're company-wide at this point. We have all levels of managers using QlikView. All of our senior level managers are using the application. We also have our Project Managers using it as well as our resource managers and schedulers. We do not have this across all departments in the organization at this point. We currently have 10-named users and 15 document licenses.,9,5,9Powerful Product, Great Online Support CommunityQlikview was used by our entire company but primary used by the Sales team. We wanted a way to track and identify hot leads who were most likely to convert to real buyers/subscribers of our product. We also wanted to understand what patterns led to buying and what the typical sales life cycle looked like.,Qlikview has an excellent online community support. This was probably the best part of buying the project. I had never worked in BI before purchasing Qlikview but after a short one-week class, I was up and running. Whenever I got stuck, I reviewed previous posts or posted a question myself. The questions were almost always answered within a couple of hours. The fantastic community really helped me learn the product. Qlikview is a great product and very powerful. It is not always easy learning all the formulas but for those who know it, it can do almost anything you want a BI tool to do. It is fantastic at integrating multiple sources of information. Qlikview provides a lot of free demo dashboards which are fantastic to learn from. They are open so you can see exactly how they were designed behind the scene. The variety of boards are a great strawman or baseline to use for almost any BI initiative that people take on.,The formula for harder BI analytics is neither intuitive or easy to learn. It really helps if you have some kind of SQL background. I really wish there were more out-of-the-box options that we can customize. It may be more of a server issue but it can take hours to run a single query. You have to define a lot of parameters for almost anything you create so the tool forces you to spend a lot of time selecting different options. I wish they had good pre-defined templates for layouts for us to choose from.,9,,5,3QlikView 4 HealthcareServes as an in-memory data warehouse. High level of usability for the end user. Expressor acquisition enables a high level of data governance.,Pricing model difficult to understand. Report and dashboard development takes longer than expected, especially if there are many data sources.,8,8,Insights into business processes for process improvement. Monitoring established metrics. Improved comparative effectiveness models.,8Qlikview works great with SAPWe've primarily used QlikView to access the underlying data in SAP (ERP & BW). It's ability to easily handle tens of millions of records allows reports to be generated directly from the transaction detail instead of relying on summary cubes. This both simplifies the development effort and results in more useful finished product.,QlikView's SAP connector makes extracting data from SAP extremely simple. The finished dashboards are easy to use. Most users intuitively "get it" within a few seconds and require very minimal training.,QlikView is strictly a reporting tool. It does not allow the users to create data. It would be helpful if they added functionality that allowed users to manipulate budget or forecast data directly from the dashboard.,10,10,QlikView development time is 1/10 that of SAP development. The benefit of better information is huge, but IT savings alone are enough to justify the ROI.QlikView's THE BEST OPPORTUNITYNous intégrons la plateforme Qlik pour plusieurs comptes et pour différents secteurs d'activités. En ce qui nous concerne, nous l'utilisant dans tous les départements. Il nous permet le HR Management, Projects Management, Financial Management and analysis et en R&D. [We integrate QlikView at a departmental level across multiple accounts and sectors. We use it to support various functional areas such as HR Management, Projects Management, Financial Management & Analysis and R&D.],Modèle associative : mes monsieur vous ne savais pas à quel point je suis fortement intégrer sur la solution Qlik ainsi que d'autre et je n'ai jamais trouver un outil autre que Qlik qui permet de tel association entre les données, cela ma permis dans 90% des projets de trouver des association cachées entre mes données et ma fait apprendre beaucoup d'information dont je n'ai jamais penser. [Associative Model - I can’t stress enough how strong QlickView integrates with other solutions. It has allowed me in 90% of my projects to find hidden relations between my data and discover information I would have never thought about.] La flexibilité de son interface graphique, je suis libre de faire et un intégrer sur mon dashboard tous ce que je veux sans limitation ou des modèles pré-configuré et limité. [The flexibility of its GUI – I can integrate on my dashboard all the data that I want without limitation or pre-configured and/or limited models.] La technologie In-memory bien sur avec sa combinaison avec le modèle assiciative [The In-memory technology combined with the with Associative Model] QlikView nous permet de s’en-passer d'un outil d'ETL pour construire notre modèle de données (Data Model), il met à notre disposition toute une interface dédiée. [QlikView allows us to pass on the usage of an ETL tool to build our data model (Data Model). It includes a dedicated interface.] Possibilité d'intégrer du VB Script et Java Script, c'était un rêve avant pour les data-miner de disposer d'un outil BI puissant dont il peuvent intégrer directement leur algorithme et regarder le résultat directement implémenté dans les graphique (il intégré R déjà) [Ability to integrate and data mine VB Script and Java Script. QlikView can integrate their algorithm and look at the results directly within the graph (it integrated R already)],Interface d'ETL plus interactive et flexible [Its ETL interface could be more interactive and flexible] Interface de communication directe avec R et SPSS [Its direct communication interface with R and SPSS] Plus de connecteurs à disposition des développeurs [More connectors could be made available to developers] Pourquoi le QvSource est payant !!!??? [Why is QvSource a paying service!??] QlikView Next sera une grande catastrophe s'il n’intègre pas tous les interfaces de QlikView 11 (je crois que c'est déjà le cas !!) [QlikView Next will be a great disaster if it does not include all the interfaces from QlikView 11 (I believe this is already the case!)],9,,9,10Qlikview, and advantage.Qlikview provides a layer between traditional database querying and end user data mining. It makes it easy when searching through data to find relationships and insights.,Adhoc & Static reporting are a limitation as the tool leans towards dynamic data sorting.,7,7Deep, Effective Product with an Equally Deep Learning CurveOur team was looking for a BI tool for analyze and create reports from NIH clinical trial data. The data itself is simple, but we needed a tool that could handle many joins, large data sets, and produce clean reports. We tested Tableau software and Qlikview for about a year and ultimately selected Tableau,Generates reports quickly, if the joins are not too complex. If you need a quick Excel report, this works great. Lots of flexibility when it comes to developing applications, including basic charts and graphs Great at taking "data snapshots" and generating reports in that frozen moment in time. Also easy to update reports by updating the data set,There is a significant learning curve, in my opinion. A user needs to be highly versed in database management, including SQL. A non-technical user will struggle mightily especially if they don't truly understand their data You probably need a dedicated specialist on the team to take full advantage of the software. Complex analytics start appearing rather quickly in our field. Qlikview can do automatic joins in a flat file structure. This may or may not be a good feature.,7,Generate quick reports for requirements that don't require complex calculations. ROI was fine, but Tableau software was much more intuitive for non-technical users on our team When putting Qlikview reports side by side with Tableau, we ended up delivering Tableau reports since they were quicker to generate and required no technical expertise,Tableau Desktop,5QlikViewWe use QlikView for fulfilling the reporting needs of businesses. It is used across all the departments in the organization for various reporting needs. QlikView is very easy to use for the business users and users can drill to the least granular level of data in which they are interested. Deployment of QlikView applications and setting up of QlikView environment is also very easy. The AQL technology of QlikView helps for easy development of the QlikView applications.,QlikView AQL technique automatically joins tables which helps for easy development of QlikView applications QlikView Dashboard is easy to operate by the end users. They do not need any special training or IT knowledge for working with QlikView reports In built Memory is the biggest advantage of QlikView for handling huge amounts of data with ease Optimizing the data and storing it into QVD is an added advantage of QlikView,Sometimes hangs when working with a pretty huge amount of data Set Analysis syntaxes should be more user friendly,8,Overall QlikView had a positive impact,8Share dashboards in real-time with QlikviewWe enjoyed the ability to share a session. This session allowed end-users to share a dashboard, manipulate it, and collaborate on the results in real-time. See more here - http://robertbgoodman.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/real-time-data-collaboration-by-qlikview/,Data must be properly structured to function within Qlikview. This applies to any in-memory tool, but it requires more effort than originally anticipated.,The ability to analyze trends and statistics on-the-fly makes a big impact to our admissions team. We are to better manage our admissions as a result of these analytics.,10,10,Provides in-memory dashboards for admissions data Allows admissions staff to quickly see trends on conversions and demographic dispersion. Then the data can be further sliced by dimensions such as FT/PT, Graduate or Undergraduate, etc.,,,Implemented in-house,8,Online training Self-taught,8,I would recommend purchasing online training. It was helpful during our implementation and will give your technical staff a steer in the right direction.,Yes,5Handles large amounts of data well, slick visualsIt does a good job of processing large amounts of data locally, so I use it to replace a lot of the analysis I do in Excel using vlookups and pivot tables. Nice graphics for dashboarding. Easy to flip between different chart types, dimensions and expressions.,Have had some performance issues the more users we have and the more we try to do with it. Does not handle joining multiple data sources together particularly well on the load or within the app. Some of the syntax is strange, so it might take a while to figure out how to write simple code using things like nulls and "not in". Year over year analysis if we want to compare the same day of the week instead of same date is really difficult since there aren't very good built in time functions. We either lose a couple days that the beginning or end of the year, or get caught up on leap years or other things like that.,9,10,Reporting business metrics to analysts and senior leadership. Data integrity/validation and operations reporting.,Don't know,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,For me it was, since I prefer learning on my own. There is plenty of information online, so I usually just Google it or use the QV community on their site to get answers quickly.,10,9,Database. Flat files.,Big data tools.QlikView - Jive AnalyticsExtremely fast data visualization. We can go from a high level view to the most granular detail in seconds. Associative search -- there are no pre-defined drill paths. You can visually explore the data and go anywhere you want. You do not have to drill down...and then back up. It makes the data exploration much easier. Very strong data loading capabilities. QlikView is really a platform that you can extend. You can incorporate it into web pages, integrate it with the R open source engine, build custom extensions, etc. QlikView has a "green, white, grey" color scheme. Green is what I selected, white is what is included in that data set, and grey is what is excluded. It is a powerful visualization tool that can show you what is included as well as what is excluded. For data junkies, it is an excellent tool.,If you are looking to analyze real-time data, QlikView is probably not the right tool for you. It uses static pre-loaded data, rather than live data from an external data source.,We can literally do in a few minutes what it would have taken us hours or days to do in the prior Business Objects tool. We can quickly get to detailed information to see what is happening in our community, who the power users are, what they are doing, activity trends, etc. We then use these insights to determine any changes we want to make in our user adoption strategies.,10,9,2,1,Our primary use is analyzing millions of rows of social collaboration activity.,,,Implemented in-house Professional services company,10,Self-taught,It depends on what you are going to do. For the high end users, training would certainly shorten the learning curve.,We did not do any custom coding to the platform. It is all out of the box.,No,7,9,10,10,Jive Software,We likely will integrate with Active Directory and Google Analytics in the future.,QlikView makes our life easier...As providers of financial services for specialized real estate, our analytic needs are extremely complex. Much of our analytics and required performance reporting to our investors involve financial trending over many years, including the ability to manage and forecast future performance. All this has to be done with multiple dimensions (investors, partners, partnerships, funds, properties, etc.), and hundreds of attributes are involved with each. Needs are very dynamic and it is not possible for us to be physically tied to pre-programmed dimensions or data formats. QlikView lets us do this much faster than traditional Business Intelligence products. Also, QlikView's integrations with maps and our Salesforce system are a huge benefit as well.,The integration protocols are somewhat difficult.,9,10QlikView Pros and ConsWe are the largest QlikView roll-out in the UK and we use it to share high level performance metrics on clinical trials such as time and target data related to recruitment. The product is pitched under the banner of open data as it is used to inform a wide set of stakeholders including commercial, public sector and NHS. We operate QlikView on Amazon Web Services to provide a robust platform.,QlikView is visually excellent and allows our users to interpret data rapidly for decision making. The ability to customise QlikView Apps allows for bespoke reporting for specific sectors. QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way.,QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age. QlikView also relies on trained staff to create the apps and this means accepting that this is a bespoke application and requires bespoke training and support. There are other products that are less clunky and require less trained staff to operate.,7,For us the investment value is related to the change in working practices and desire to share rich-content with our stakeholders. QlikView is a good product and does what it says however the overhead of ad-hoc reporting remains.,QlikSense and SAP Business ObjectsQlikView review by a developer/analyst userVery suitable if users have both development and analytical capacity. Great sharing functionalities among small group of users. Good for inter-connectivity among different data sources and tools such as Postgres DB, Excel, etc. Ability to query database directly is a huge advantage. Dynamic reporting functionality with automated scheduled jobs works well across departments, especially where there are end-users that are not Qlikview developers. Very nice and thoughtful UI. Most business end-users love it because it's intuitive.,Not good for sharing across a medium-to-large organizations and among mixed user groups, some of whom may not have developer's licence to access apps directly. Even if an app is shared as a web-based version, users have little power to make changes and must always rely on developers on the smallest revisions. As a developer, I find it to be quite unpredictable and erratic in the way it handles data. For example, Qlikview will always try to connect fields among different tables without being told that they are the same, because it treats all tables as flat files and does not handle relational data the way other tools work. I understand Qlikview is trying to be helpful here but that's not how it should work. Another development issue I always run into with Qlikview is with the chart/object property box. It is not intuitive the way they've grouped the various functionalities in different tabs. This makes simple tasks confusing and frustrating. Things that should be found under "Axes", for example, are found in "Numbers" or "Presentation". It took me a year to learn where things are. I think Qlikview should learn from Excel on this. Can be quite buggy if one tries to do a few things at the same times such as running SQL, reading from external data tables, running incremental loads, and creating variables in load script, not to mention using complex functions and set analyses for the front end. This means it doesn't help with business continuity when people leave their job and an app changes hands.,N/A,7,7QlikView, BI with a steep learning curve.Our company uses it to collect business intelligence data. We're able to drill down to specific areas, policy classes, kinds of loss, coverages, etc. Armed with this info, we hope to make better business decisions.,Slice large data sets. Visualize data (graphs, charts, etc.). Sort and filter data.,Exporting can be cumbersome. Clunky, non-intuitive UI. Steep learning curve.,7,QlikSense,When to use Qlikview and when to go with a competitorQlikview is used as a data summarization tool for operational risk. The software sits on top of our database to allow the business to get insight into their data. We use it almost as someone might use a pivot table in Excel. We have preset pivots and charts that are updated relatively real-time as data is fed into the database.,Dashboards can be created easily with basic programming skills. A typical business analyst will not require a developer once the underlying data model is in place. Qlikview can be used as a web based application allowing users to access dashboards anywhere permissions allow. Qlikview provides a variety of pre-built objects that gives designers flexibility to represent data in multiple ways.,Qlikview has its own database and management system. Developers are required to build a new data model to get data into Qlikview. Qlikview's web application requires significant memory and processing power from the browser. Complex dashboards can crash your browser if you're running too many things at once. Qlikview dashboards look relatively outdated.,7,Tableau Online,Adobe Analytics, Tableau Online, GitHub, CA Agile Central (formerly Rally), JIRA Software,4,7QlikviewQlikview is used across the whole organization from finance to the clinical side of the business. It provides business insights on various aspects of the business with its easy to use and intuitive interface. It is very easy to integrate data and produce quick visualizations for specific business needs.,Mapping data from various sources, intuitive with its associative model makes it easy to understand how data points relate to each other. Easy to explore data and answers any questions in real time. Great way to express data using the charts and visualizations and performing set analysis as a experienced user.,Too many configurations and properties can sometimes make it confusing and hard.,9,Tableau Public,9,8
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
594 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

QlikView Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
QlikView
594 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 594 vetted QlikView reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 65)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Galen Mosier profile photo
February 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Pretty @#$% Awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QlikView to produce a variety of dashboards for the board of trustees, the superintendent, department chiefs and executive management, and employees of certain other departments to assist in monitoring KPIs and other important data quickly, easily, and in ways that have often been difficult or impossible to see before the implementation of QlikView.
  • QlikView, because of the way it stores everything in RAM, is extremely fast.
  • QlikView allows you to explore relationships between data elements that might otherwise be overlooked.
  • It has a very sophisticated, robust programming "language" and allows for virtually unlimited customization.
  • While powerful, the syntax of the commands, particularly with respect to dollar-sign expansion and set analysis, can be exceedingly arcane. I can't even remember right off hand how many different duties the dollar-sign is involved in, but it seems like they could have figured out a way to make it a little less confusing. On the other hand, mastery of set analysis, advanced aggregation, and dollar-sign expansion is what separates the men from the boys.
  • I'd personally like to see a wider variety of built-in chart types.
QlikView is great for the creation of dashboards, but, as is always the case, it has no way of enforcing good design. Study of QlikView should go hand-in-hand with the study of Stephen Few's books on dashboard design and data visualization. For heavy statistical lifting, I think RStudio is a better choice.
Read Galen Mosier's full review
Dr. Petri Vitiello profile photo
May 24, 2016

"Qlikview review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QV to as our visual analytics platform for workforce analytics.
Pros:
Good data connection
Flexible
Easy to use

Cons: Lack visual appeal in its default mode; Inconsistent behaviour when stretched capability
  • Layers
  • Customisable
  • Integration of ETL
  • Transition in visualisation
  • Story telling
  • Geo mapping as standard
Well suited for dashboards. Not so good at aesthetic interaction
Read Dr. Petri Vitiello's full review
Oleg Troyansky profile photo
December 23, 2015

QlikView Review: "Still in love, after 12 years of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I first started using QlikView 12 years ago, it was a small niche tool that could help you load your data from a variety of sources and build dazzling visualizations in a matter of hours or days. As an Application Director for a mid-size manufacturing company, I deployed my first QlikView dashboard in 3 weeks, with minimal investment, and that first achievement was called a "slam dunk" even by the most skeptical executives. This was in 2002, way before most of the tools and gadgets that we use today, ever existed.

We used QlikView to analyze Sales, and then Profit Margins, and then Excess and Obsolete Inventories, and then transportation costs, and so on and so forth. within 5 years, QlikView become a valuable business tool on every desk in the company.

Since then, the technology world around us had changed a lot - our computers are now using 64-bit operating systems, and a nifty laptop is now more powerful than the most powerful server back in the days. The capabilities of business software had changed as well. Today, QlikView is not a niche tool anymore, it's a flagman tool in the market of Data Discovery (Qlik likes to call the same term Business Discovery). However, the core value remains largely the same:

With QlikView, we can load large amounts of data and build beautiful and insightful visualizations with an unmatched speed. Using the recent advances in technology, we can empower our users to navigate their data in the most liberating and powerful way.

I won't be the first to state that modern companies collect, store and process vast amounts of data. BI tools are trying to help people make sense of that data, and QlikView is by far my favorite tool for this task. We think that we know our business. However, the "million dollar" question is what we don't know about our business? For me and many of my customers, QlikView has become an eye opener, in the way it helped companies realize how much they don't know about their business:

- As a manufacturer, do you know what products are truly profitable and to what extent, considering all the customer programs, allowances, chargebacks etc?

- Do you know what products in your inventory are turning fast and what products are sitting there for years?

- Do you know your true service levels with your customers, and how they are trending in time, and what are the possible reasons might be?

- Do you know if vendor payment terms are consistent across your corporation, or do you lose money on various unfavorable payment terms?

- Do you know how your customers are paying you? Do they comply to your payment terms? Are you paying them chargebacks while they are being late on their commitments?

- Do you know if your employees follow your travel policy, and how much does it cost you when they don't?

All of those questions have one thing in common - if you don't know the answer, you are likely to be wasting money that could be saved.

When things are getting tough, companies tend to resort to layoffs and tough decisions... With the help of QlikView and advanced business analytics, we can find money in a haystack of data and help companies get better without necessarily laying people off. There is a lot of money wasted in the process, and QlikView is an excellent tool that can help us find it, save it and put it back to work.
  • QlikView is extremely effective in its ETL capability. In comparison to Tableau and other modern tools, QlikView has the best data loading capabilities, making it extremely easy to load data from multiple disjointed data sources and build a cohesive data model that supports your needs.
  • Flexibility. With QlikView, making changes to an existing application is extremely easy. Since we don't need to mess with multi-dimensional cubes, developing and changing data models and visualizations is easy and fast
  • Quick learning curve. It's very easy to get educated and become proficient on QlikView. New developers become productive after just a few days, and then continue learning more advanced techniques while already delivering value to their companies.
  • Deploying and managing QlikView in a huge environment, with many servers, many locations and many users, can be still challenging. The management tools are very good for managing one or a few servers. When the environment needs to scale up by a lot, the management and monitoring tools may not be as efficient.
QlikView is best when

- you need to load data from multiple sources
- develop actionable dashboards with information aggregated at multiple levels
- help people focus on issues that matter most
- enable Data Discovery by users, with minimal dependency on IT resources.

QlikView is less recommended when:

- loading high-frequency real-time data for real-time reporting
Read Oleg Troyansky's full review
Alexei Akimov profile photo
December 18, 2015

QlikView Review: "QLV: Great Data Discovery and Data Association tool. Strange marketing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView was used for support of ETL, data integrity between different/disparate prod. sources, and discovery of data gaps.
  • Associations between disparate sources.
  • Entities that are NOT used/NOT associated (although supposed to be).
  • N-LOOKUP/hierarchical data visualization (example: hierarchically organized Operational codes, prices, business conditions and busn programs).
  • Makes good compression of data for up to 100 Mln transactional rows (I have compared head-to-head with SSAS cubes=not indexed). QLV works faster. Give QLV at least 32 Gig of RAM on 64 bit architecture, you will see the instant response for many millions of transactions, with instant grouping and counters.
  • Data extraction from sources is separated from graphical part. This means you can provide ETL part (extract/periodical extract from sources) separately, and populate QVD (intermediate compressed format for all users). All users will connect their QLV reports to this QVD format, thus NEVER loading/affecting the (OLTP/DW) source at all.
  • GUI interface is simple enough. Copying of the controls is simple. Filter selections, made in the controls by user, are saved by default/reproduced on QLW report closing/reopening. In other words, user keeps his/her specific business context. "Current Selections" (a simple GUI control) allows to visualize the business context.
  • Actions/Triggers (on a document/tab or user level) allow to pre-populate user filter selections.
  • Outrageous marketing: all QLV manuals start with the words; "Lets take a flat file as Data Source". Information is NOT supposed to be kept in Flat files. This is written in the Chapter 1 of any Introduction to Data Processing text book in the world.
  • QLV first mentions of the POSSIBILITY of the connection to relational DB on the page 200 of the QLV manual(!). In fact, the Relational Data base source is the "second class citizen" in QLV. You have to go into data extraction Script, instead of just specifying OLE DB or ODBC as a data source!
  • Qlikview sales people could answer the simple question: does QLV work against relational DB- yes or no? Their answer was: "The question is too technical". The company clearly does not understand how to position its (absolutely wonderful) product. As a BACKEND data discovery and analysys product.
  • They will NEVER EVER use the word: "Relational DB Source" and "Powerful ETL capabilities" in their marketing. It is 100% concentrated on GUI part/interface and their QVD (compressed proprietary format) storage. NOT on real-life data extraction from real DB source. That is a shame, Marketing department does not understand their target audience.
  • QLV help files are rudimentary, do not give good examples on actual DB data extraction and analysis. They might have done it on example of Microsoft Sample Databases - this was never done.
  • You can specify the % of RAM memory consumed by QLV. On reaching this percentage, QLV, unfortunately, becomes unresponsive. Abort (of the running script) does not work well. Modality of the script window and of help files is not chosen correctly. QLV may hang and crush on large data.
QlikView is well suited for:

  • Existence of duplicates, data gaps, missing data.
  • ETL delivery (validation/direct comparison, driven by hash values on source and target).
  • Operational processes with multiple (disjointed/independent) sources.
  • Flat and XML file comparison.
In a situation of 20-30 different entities, QlikView will "join everything to everything" and will show what is associated with what - by DEFAULT - going through a large number of intermediate joins. It will do it in a sub-second time with up to millions of entities. In 70% of the cases you will see correctly joined/pertinent data.
However, to go beyond, you will need to introduce meaningful composite keys, hash values for columns being compared, review case sensitivity of the values, analyze for cross joins/absence of relationship for some of the entities.
Read Alexei Akimov's full review
Michael Lam profile photo
November 11, 2015

QlikView Review: "Choosing the Right BI Reporting Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is our companies go-to reporting solution. It is our frontend BI tool and is generally used to pull information out of our database. We provide a flexible "report builder" which is valuable to our end users who build reports off QlikView reports. This reporting tool is used across many departments: SEM | BD | Partners | SplitTest | Finance
  • Fast - everything is in memory so it moves away from the traditional logistics of reading data from disc.
  • Interface is fast to develop. Once a thoughtful data model is setup. The frontend development is fast and allows a RAD environment.
  • The server itself is easy to maintain. Maintenance is low and does not need a typical "sys admin" to manage this reporting server
  • Visualization - Graphically beautiful and provides that "bells and whistle" factor
  • The relationship of how data models are put together in QlikView - it requires good level of technical understanding how models are put together. If they had an ERD like framework when opening up an existing dashboard it would be helpful.
  • The licensing model QlikView employs financially does not make sense for growing small companies.
  • The support of AJAX technology is not up to par with its predecessor, IE plugin. They could do much better job implementing the same features in IE plugin over to AJAX users. The migration will be much simpler since AJAX will be the standard under Qlikview's new future versions.
For a long term solution it is best to hire someone full time to manage this reporting project. Vendors are useful if you need to get something quick out the door. For a long term solution that is financially beneficial it's important to hire someone with key skills that will enable him/her to be successful.
Read Michael Lam's full review
Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA profile photo
July 08, 2015

"User Review of QlikView"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a small consulting firm with remote workers. I run the QlikView Practice and focus on the consulting area. I use Qlikview internal for delivery analytics such as utilization and resource planning.
  • ETL! QlikView is the simplest product that not only provides great visuals for UI but it also handles complex ETL.
  • Easy to implement. We have successfully installed QlikView server and desktop within one week with a fully functional dashboard published for end users.
  • DATA DISCOVERY! The green/white/grey is such a powerful tool. The first thing I do when II arrive onsite with a client is connect to their data and jump right into the data. The grey is the most valuable. I can see what is NOT relating to my selections. This is not possible, so far, in any other business discovery tool.
  • Set Analysis! Qlikview's set analysis allows me to calculate from the very basic to the super complex expressions. It does not take long to learn either.
  • QLIK COMMUNITY! The community consists of master users and Qlik employees and basic to new users. It is a huge resource for all users and allows you to get answers quickly then copy script and/or dashboards so no need to recreate the wheel.
  • ITS FREE forever and fully functional. You just cannot open licensed applications. What a great marketing tool. QlikSense will be free forever with the ability to share your applications! Just gets better.
  • Licensing model could be easier to understand. It is not bad, but takes a while for the clients to understand it. QlikSense will have a greatly improved licensing model from what I hear.
  • QlikSense is covering for all the requested Qlik11 improvements. I think the 2 products will compliment each other.
First and foremost: DO I UNDERSTAND MY DATA? if the answer is NO, QlikView is your best option. QlikView allows you to jump right into your data using the green/white/grey you can quickly begin to see the relationships amongst the various tables. There is no other tool that allows for this deep dive so quickly. You will have answers in minutes. I have worked with clients from varying industries and many which I do not have industry experience. Because of QlikView I was able to create a data model for them in a very short time.
Read Debbie Pyykkonen, MBA's full review
Alexander Ashavsky profile photo
September 30, 2015

"QlikView ReView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is used by senior level managers at my company (mostly C-Level) as an advanced analytics tool. My company in general works within the Microsoft technology stack (.NET, SSRS/SSIS, etc) however QlikVIew had significantly better performance and adaptability and as such was brought in. It is used primarily by accounting, finance, and managment. It addresses the problem of many other reporting tools being incomplete (SSRS, Business Objects), as well as creating a custom BI tool from scratch being too much work and effort to create/maintain.
  • Works quickly with large datasets - I have created 20+ applications with my current company and previous company, all on average with 30 million + unique rows in the core billing table, and have yet to have any significant performance depreciation.
  • Data Visualization - Easy to create detailed and adaptable reports that can meet any departments need
  • Developer friendly - Supports SQL well, can create elegant data models/schema only using SQL (though it is encourages to use QV's native language)
  • High price point - while we would love to use QlikView for all reporting at my current company, it is far to expensive to but licenses for non-managers
  • Can only develop via application (as opposed to using an online client) - I believe they intend to eliminate the application and have everything be web based, however currently that is not the case. Many other BI tools allow online development.
  • Users do not have the ability to easily create ad hoc reports - while as a developer I can create an application that allows users to make ad hoc reports, there is no functionality to do this natively (or in a relatively easy way).
What users are you building the report for? How complicated of a report/application are the users looking for? How much data will you be working with? Will it be a large or complicated data model?

1) Licenses aren't cheap, I would not recommend QlikView for basic reports that can be done in other (cheaper) tools such as SSRS.
2) If the report is basic (just display a few tables with some headers) I'd recommend a simpler tool such as SSRS or automated email of a csv daily (using SQL + .NET).
3) Similar to above, if the underlying data model isn't too complicated, using QlikView can be overkill.
Read Alexander Ashavsky's full review
Mike Schroff profile photo
April 08, 2015

QlikView Review: "Highly flexible but requires discipline."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • QlikView does an excellent job of evolving with an organization as it can move faster than an organization thinks. As clients work with their data, their business understanding grows.
  • QlikView ETL capability can be used to create a rapid-prototyping space to lower the risk associated with making changes to an ETL process by using it's native QVD file format as a temporary substitute for virtual data warhouse tables. When these stabilize, the client can integrate them into the ETL process without unnecessary time pressure.
  • Application development is highly flexible. This pairs well with an agile methodology allowing for requirements to necessarily flex as the client evolves. If done well, it generates high user acceptability levels.
  • QlikView provides excellent time to value in that dashboards can be created and deployed quickly. The product has a fully functional scripting language to support all ETL functionality in addition to a fully flexible interface design capability. The ETL piece can be used to quickly bridge gaps in the data.
  • Ideal state processes can be created by deploying mulitple QlikView files to work together.
  • Architecture is highly flexible allowing architects to design in constraints at appropriate points to control scope creep.
  • Simulateous development is difficult as development goes on in one qvw file. There is no check-in/check-out functionality to protect against changes being overwritten. There are third party products that can bridge this gap.
  • It can be too flexible in that an inexperienced team can fall victim to user whims. This happens when developers implement changes without an appropriate methodolology.
  • It's not a true platform solution. Integrating with single sign-on solutions as an example, is unnecessarily difficult.
  • QlikView's achilles heel is RAM. Handling "big data" requires complex, multi-tiered architectures spanning across several applications to maintain performance.
Read Mike Schroff's full review
Luke Fitzwater profile photo
July 14, 2015

"QlikView Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QlikView for multiple levels of management reporting in our organization. We decided to use QlikView based on a recommendation from one of our consultants who agreed to implement the software at no charge to us. We currently have C-Level reports being generated daily as well as mid-Level and day-to-day operations reports. We were limited to basic reporting from Salesforce.com, which spurred the need to bring in a more robust reporting package.
  • Many Different Visual Display Options, ie, charts, graphs, data tables
  • Filtering and Manipulation is extremely easy. You can potentially filter or group by any field in your load statement.
  • You can have many iterations of the same data shown on one tab, or have many tabs.
  • Cloning existing tabs or charts is easy and fast
  • A Load Builder (Similar to a query builder) would be a nice feature
  • Provide distribution capability w/in Small Business Server
  • Better Selection box controls. Make it easier to do AND / OR filters without coding.
Definitely valuable if you're querying many tables > 4 (Salesforce limitation). We can query and relate many tables in a single load statement
Read Luke Fitzwater's full review
Suzan Liu profile photo
December 30, 2014

QlikView Review: "Powerful Product, Great Online Support Community"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview was used by our entire company but primary used by the Sales team. We wanted a way to track and identify hot leads who were most likely to convert to real buyers/subscribers of our product. We also wanted to understand what patterns led to buying and what the typical sales life cycle looked like.
  • Qlikview has an excellent online community support. This was probably the best part of buying the project. I had never worked in BI before purchasing Qlikview but after a short one-week class, I was up and running. Whenever I got stuck, I reviewed previous posts or posted a question myself. The questions were almost always answered within a couple of hours. The fantastic community really helped me learn the product.
  • Qlikview is a great product and very powerful. It is not always easy learning all the formulas but for those who know it, it can do almost anything you want a BI tool to do. It is fantastic at integrating multiple sources of information.
  • Qlikview provides a lot of free demo dashboards which are fantastic to learn from. They are open so you can see exactly how they were designed behind the scene. The variety of boards are a great strawman or baseline to use for almost any BI initiative that people take on.
  • The formula for harder BI analytics is neither intuitive or easy to learn. It really helps if you have some kind of SQL background. I really wish there were more out-of-the-box options that we can customize.
  • It may be more of a server issue but it can take hours to run a single query.
  • You have to define a lot of parameters for almost anything you create so the tool forces you to spend a lot of time selecting different options. I wish they had good pre-defined templates for layouts for us to choose from.
It is a great tool if you are looking for a very powerful BI product with a lot of options. It is not good for those looking for a simple BI tool who have a short ramp-up time. It is not as intuitive to use as other products (like Tableau) but it is absolutely fantastic if you want to do more than the basics.
Read Suzan Liu's full review
Charles Boicey profile photo
April 10, 2015

User Review: "QlikView 4 Healthcare"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Serves as an in-memory data warehouse.
  • High level of usability for the end user.
  • Expressor acquisition enables a high level of data governance.
  • Pricing model difficult to understand.
  • Report and dashboard development takes longer than expected, especially if there are many data sources.
During the selection process it will be necessary to fully understand the pricing model for the initial deployment as well as subsequent roll outs to full appreciate the total cost. Spend time to understand how long the initial development will take for your first use cases.
Read Charles Boicey's full review
Ben Laubach profile photo
March 19, 2015

User Review: "Qlikview works great with SAP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've primarily used QlikView to access the underlying data in SAP (ERP & BW). It's ability to easily handle tens of millions of records allows reports to be generated directly from the transaction detail instead of relying on summary cubes. This both simplifies the development effort and results in more useful finished product.
  • QlikView's SAP connector makes extracting data from SAP extremely simple.
  • The finished dashboards are easy to use. Most users intuitively "get it" within a few seconds and require very minimal training.
  • QlikView is strictly a reporting tool. It does not allow the users to create data. It would be helpful if they added functionality that allowed users to manipulate budget or forecast data directly from the dashboard.
QlikView is a fantastic tool for quickly visualizing millions of rows of information on near real time basis. Novice users can quickly get results, however more advanced topics can get a bit tricky to implement. Here's an example:
- By default all data presented in an application is consistent with the current selection. If you've select '2014' ; 'Ohio' ; 'Large Widgets' then you can easily present that data by Part, Customer, Rep, or any other field in the data model. Click on any field to drill into the results. Users comfortable with Excel/Access will have no problem quickly getting to this point.
- To view 2014 vs 2013 or 'Ohio' as a % of the total this requires something Qlikview calls Set Analysis. Set Analysis works well, but it's complicated. You'll want someone with a strong IT background assisting with the development.
Read Ben Laubach's full review
Mohamed Soufiene Khayati profile photo
December 18, 2014

User Review: "QlikView's THE BEST OPPORTUNITY"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nous intégrons la plateforme Qlik pour plusieurs comptes et pour différents secteurs d'activités. En ce qui nous concerne, nous l'utilisant dans tous les départements. Il nous permet le HR Management, Projects Management, Financial Management and analysis et en R&D. [We integrate QlikView at a departmental level across multiple accounts and sectors. We use it to support various functional areas such as HR Management, Projects Management, Financial Management & Analysis and R&D.]
  • Modèle associative : mes monsieur vous ne savais pas à quel point je suis fortement intégrer sur la solution Qlik ainsi que d'autre et je n'ai jamais trouver un outil autre que Qlik qui permet de tel association entre les données, cela ma permis dans 90% des projets de trouver des association cachées entre mes données et ma fait apprendre beaucoup d'information dont je n'ai jamais penser. [Associative Model - I can’t stress enough how strong QlickView integrates with other solutions. It has allowed me in 90% of my projects to find hidden relations between my data and discover information I would have never thought about.]
  • La flexibilité de son interface graphique, je suis libre de faire et un intégrer sur mon dashboard tous ce que je veux sans limitation ou des modèles pré-configuré et limité. [The flexibility of its GUI – I can integrate on my dashboard all the data that I want without limitation or pre-configured and/or limited models.]
  • La technologie In-memory bien sur avec sa combinaison avec le modèle assiciative [The In-memory technology combined with the with Associative Model]
  • QlikView nous permet de s’en-passer d'un outil d'ETL pour construire notre modèle de données (Data Model), il met à notre disposition toute une interface dédiée. [QlikView allows us to pass on the usage of an ETL tool to build our data model (Data Model). It includes a dedicated interface.]
  • Possibilité d'intégrer du VB Script et Java Script, c'était un rêve avant pour les data-miner de disposer d'un outil BI puissant dont il peuvent intégrer directement leur algorithme et regarder le résultat directement implémenté dans les graphique (il intégré R déjà) [Ability to integrate and data mine VB Script and Java Script. QlikView can integrate their algorithm and look at the results directly within the graph (it integrated R already)]
  • Interface d'ETL plus interactive et flexible [Its ETL interface could be more interactive and flexible]
  • Interface de communication directe avec R et SPSS [Its direct communication interface with R and SPSS]
  • Plus de connecteurs à disposition des développeurs [More connectors could be made available to developers]
  • Pourquoi le QvSource est payant !!!??? [Why is QvSource a paying service!??]
  • QlikView Next sera une grande catastrophe s'il n’intègre pas tous les interfaces de QlikView 11 (je crois que c'est déjà le cas !!) [QlikView Next will be a great disaster if it does not include all the interfaces from QlikView 11 (I believe this is already the case!)]
QlikVIew peut répondre à tous les besoins utilisateurs juste il faut s'avoir comment l'utiliser et il ne faut pas hésiter à le défier et croyez qu'il sera à la hauteur si vous êtes à la hauteur d'utiliser pleinement tous ses capacité. En effet, il ne faut pas s'en-passer de Qlik Community pour voir les problématique des autres et les solutions proposées pour ne pas les refaire!

[QlikView can meet all the users’ needs as long as you know how to use it to fully leverage its complete set of features. Don’t hesitate to leverage the Qlik Community to learn the issues that others have faced and how they’ve solved them so that you don’t repeat the same mistakes.]

Read Mohamed Soufiene Khayati's full review
Francisco Prieto profile photo
December 04, 2014

User Review: "Qlikview, and advantage."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Qlikview provides a layer between traditional database querying and end user data mining. It makes it easy when searching through data to find relationships and insights.
  • Adhoc & Static reporting are a limitation as the tool leans towards dynamic data sorting.
Read Francisco Prieto's full review
Anthony Chou profile photo
July 07, 2014

QlikView Review: "Deep, Effective Product with an Equally Deep Learning Curve"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team was looking for a BI tool for analyze and create reports from NIH clinical trial data. The data itself is simple, but we needed a tool that could handle many joins, large data sets, and produce clean reports. We tested Tableau software and Qlikview for about a year and ultimately selected Tableau
  • Generates reports quickly, if the joins are not too complex. If you need a quick Excel report, this works great.
  • Lots of flexibility when it comes to developing applications, including basic charts and graphs
  • Great at taking "data snapshots" and generating reports in that frozen moment in time. Also easy to update reports by updating the data set
  • There is a significant learning curve, in my opinion. A user needs to be highly versed in database management, including SQL. A non-technical user will struggle mightily especially if they don't truly understand their data
  • You probably need a dedicated specialist on the team to take full advantage of the software. Complex analytics start appearing rather quickly in our field.
  • Qlikview can do automatic joins in a flat file structure. This may or may not be a good feature.
There is a learning curve, so I would recommend this to anyone with technical expertise who wants to generate quick reports. Slicing and dicing data is kind of intuitive, but being able to write and join scripts is not an everyday user skill. Simple questions like "Who?" "What?" and "When" are easily answered. Surface level calculations are also not too difficult. When you want to get into more depth with complex calculations, you definitely need support.
Read Anthony Chou's full review
Bhaskar Reddy profile photo
June 02, 2014

User Review: "QlikView"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QlikView for fulfilling the reporting needs of businesses. It is used across all the departments in the organization for various reporting needs. QlikView is very easy to use for the business users and users can drill to the least granular level of data in which they are interested. Deployment of QlikView applications and setting up of QlikView environment is also very easy. The AQL technology of QlikView helps for easy development of the QlikView applications.
  • QlikView AQL technique automatically joins tables which helps for easy development of QlikView applications
  • QlikView Dashboard is easy to operate by the end users. They do not need any special training or IT knowledge for working with QlikView reports
  • In built Memory is the biggest advantage of QlikView for handling huge amounts of data with ease
  • Optimizing the data and storing it into QVD is an added advantage of QlikView
  • Sometimes hangs when working with a pretty huge amount of data
  • Set Analysis syntaxes should be more user friendly
QlikView is more suitable for small and medium scale industries where the Fact Data do not cross more than 10 million.
Read Bhaskar Reddy's full review
Robert Goodman profile photo
October 09, 2013

Review: "Share dashboards in real-time with Qlikview"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We enjoyed the ability to share a session. This session allowed end-users to share a dashboard, manipulate it, and collaborate on the results in real-time. See more here - http://robertbgoodman.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/real-time-data-collaboration-by-qlikview/
  • Data must be properly structured to function within Qlikview. This applies to any in-memory tool, but it requires more effort than originally anticipated.
Read Robert Goodman's full review
Christine Hill profile photo
October 22, 2013

QlikView Review: "Handles large amounts of data well, slick visuals"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It does a good job of processing large amounts of data locally, so I use it to replace a lot of the analysis I do in Excel using vlookups and pivot tables.
  • Nice graphics for dashboarding.
  • Easy to flip between different chart types, dimensions and expressions.
  • Have had some performance issues the more users we have and the more we try to do with it.
  • Does not handle joining multiple data sources together particularly well on the load or within the app.
  • Some of the syntax is strange, so it might take a while to figure out how to write simple code using things like nulls and "not in".
  • Year over year analysis if we want to compare the same day of the week instead of same date is really difficult since there aren't very good built in time functions. We either lose a couple days that the beginning or end of the year, or get caught up on leap years or other things like that.
Read Christine Hill's full review
Bill Chamberlain profile photo
June 27, 2013

User Review: "QlikView - Jive Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Extremely fast data visualization. We can go from a high level view to the most granular detail in seconds.
  • Associative search -- there are no pre-defined drill paths. You can visually explore the data and go anywhere you want. You do not have to drill down...and then back up. It makes the data exploration much easier.
  • Very strong data loading capabilities.
  • QlikView is really a platform that you can extend. You can incorporate it into web pages, integrate it with the R open source engine, build custom extensions, etc.
  • QlikView has a "green, white, grey" color scheme. Green is what I selected, white is what is included in that data set, and grey is what is excluded. It is a powerful visualization tool that can show you what is included as well as what is excluded. For data junkies, it is an excellent tool.
  • If you are looking to analyze real-time data, QlikView is probably not the right tool for you. It uses static pre-loaded data, rather than live data from an external data source.
Read Bill Chamberlain's full review
Ashis Bose profile photo
October 16, 2013

User Review: "QlikView makes our life easier..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As providers of financial services for specialized real estate, our analytic needs are extremely complex. Much of our analytics and required performance reporting to our investors involve financial trending over many years, including the ability to manage and forecast future performance. All this has to be done with multiple dimensions (investors, partners, partnerships, funds, properties, etc.), and hundreds of attributes are involved with each. Needs are very dynamic and it is not possible for us to be physically tied to pre-programmed dimensions or data formats. QlikView lets us do this much faster than traditional Business Intelligence products. Also, QlikView's integrations with maps and our Salesforce system are a huge benefit as well.
  • The integration protocols are somewhat difficult.
Read Ashis Bose's full review
No photo available
September 22, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Pros and Cons"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are the largest QlikView roll-out in the UK and we use it to share high level performance metrics on clinical trials such as time and target data related to recruitment. The product is pitched under the banner of open data as it is used to inform a wide set of stakeholders including commercial, public sector and NHS. We operate QlikView on Amazon Web Services to provide a robust platform.
  • QlikView is visually excellent and allows our users to interpret data rapidly for decision making.
  • The ability to customise QlikView Apps allows for bespoke reporting for specific sectors.
  • QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way.
  • QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age.
  • QlikView also relies on trained staff to create the apps and this means accepting that this is a bespoke application and requires bespoke training and support.
  • There are other products that are less clunky and require less trained staff to operate.
QlikView is perfect if you are moving from traditional reporting to a more automated setup. However it is not a step-change in analytics as other products are such as ThoughtSpot. It is likely that your BI team will continue to operate as they did before but now have a nice front-end to share.
Read this authenticated review
Erin Le profile photo
July 03, 2013

"QlikView review by a developer/analyst user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very suitable if users have both development and analytical capacity. Great sharing functionalities among small group of users.
  • Good for inter-connectivity among different data sources and tools such as Postgres DB, Excel, etc. Ability to query database directly is a huge advantage.
  • Dynamic reporting functionality with automated scheduled jobs works well across departments, especially where there are end-users that are not Qlikview developers.
  • Very nice and thoughtful UI. Most business end-users love it because it's intuitive.
  • Not good for sharing across a medium-to-large organizations and among mixed user groups, some of whom may not have developer's licence to access apps directly. Even if an app is shared as a web-based version, users have little power to make changes and must always rely on developers on the smallest revisions.
  • As a developer, I find it to be quite unpredictable and erratic in the way it handles data. For example, Qlikview will always try to connect fields among different tables without being told that they are the same, because it treats all tables as flat files and does not handle relational data the way other tools work. I understand Qlikview is trying to be helpful here but that's not how it should work.
  • Another development issue I always run into with Qlikview is with the chart/object property box. It is not intuitive the way they've grouped the various functionalities in different tabs. This makes simple tasks confusing and frustrating. Things that should be found under "Axes", for example, are found in "Numbers" or "Presentation". It took me a year to learn where things are. I think Qlikview should learn from Excel on this.
  • Can be quite buggy if one tries to do a few things at the same times such as running SQL, reading from external data tables, running incremental loads, and creating variables in load script, not to mention using complex functions and set analyses for the front end. This means it doesn't help with business continuity when people leave their job and an app changes hands.
Read Erin Le's full review
No photo available
August 09, 2016

Review: "QlikView, BI with a steep learning curve."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses it to collect business intelligence data. We're able to drill down to specific areas, policy classes, kinds of loss, coverages, etc. Armed with this info, we hope to make better business decisions.
  • Slice large data sets.
  • Visualize data (graphs, charts, etc.).
  • Sort and filter data.
  • Exporting can be cumbersome.
  • Clunky, non-intuitive UI.
  • Steep learning curve.
QlikView works well to visualize and compare large sets of data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 04, 2016

Review: "When to use Qlikview and when to go with a competitor"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview is used as a data summarization tool for operational risk. The software sits on top of our database to allow the business to get insight into their data. We use it almost as someone might use a pivot table in Excel. We have preset pivots and charts that are updated relatively real-time as data is fed into the database.
  • Dashboards can be created easily with basic programming skills. A typical business analyst will not require a developer once the underlying data model is in place.
  • Qlikview can be used as a web based application allowing users to access dashboards anywhere permissions allow.
  • Qlikview provides a variety of pre-built objects that gives designers flexibility to represent data in multiple ways.
  • Qlikview has its own database and management system. Developers are required to build a new data model to get data into Qlikview.
  • Qlikview's web application requires significant memory and processing power from the browser. Complex dashboards can crash your browser if you're running too many things at once.
  • Qlikview dashboards look relatively outdated.
It is well suited for creating simple dashboards. Larger data models will require significant back-end development to make up for QlikView's lack of front end caching. QlikView is a much better alternative than creating Excel pivot tables powered by macros. Its security settings, scalability, and stability surpass anything that can be built in Excel.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2016

User Review: "Qlikview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview is used across the whole organization from finance to the clinical side of the business. It provides business insights on various aspects of the business with its easy to use and intuitive interface. It is very easy to integrate data and produce quick visualizations for specific business needs.
  • Mapping data from various sources, intuitive with its associative model makes it easy to understand how data points relate to each other.
  • Easy to explore data and answers any questions in real time.
  • Great way to express data using the charts and visualizations and performing set analysis as a experienced user.
  • Too many configurations and properties can sometimes make it confusing and hard.
It's best suited for blending multiple data sources together. QlikView is best for large organizations with enough budget to spend on licenses.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (33)
6.2
Customizable dashboards (45)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (40)
6.8
Drill-down analysis (45)
8.0
Formatting capabilities (46)
7.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (24)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (42)
7.5
Publish to Web (34)
7.4
Publish to PDF (37)
7.5
Report Versioning (26)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (31)
7.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (36)
8.3
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (29)
5.9
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (39)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (35)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (34)
7.7
Responsive Design for Web Access (28)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (16)
5.9
Dedicated Android Application (12)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (23)
7.4

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC