TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikview, and advantage.Qlikview provides a layer between traditional database querying and end user data mining. It makes it easy when searching through data to find relationships and insights.,Adhoc & Static reporting are a limitation as the tool leans towards dynamic data sorting.,7,7Deep, Effective Product with an Equally Deep Learning CurveOur team was looking for a BI tool for analyze and create reports from NIH clinical trial data. The data itself is simple, but we needed a tool that could handle many joins, large data sets, and produce clean reports. We tested Tableau software and Qlikview for about a year and ultimately selected Tableau,Generates reports quickly, if the joins are not too complex. If you need a quick Excel report, this works great. Lots of flexibility when it comes to developing applications, including basic charts and graphs Great at taking "data snapshots" and generating reports in that frozen moment in time. Also easy to update reports by updating the data set,There is a significant learning curve, in my opinion. A user needs to be highly versed in database management, including SQL. A non-technical user will struggle mightily especially if they don't truly understand their data You probably need a dedicated specialist on the team to take full advantage of the software. Complex analytics start appearing rather quickly in our field. Qlikview can do automatic joins in a flat file structure. This may or may not be a good feature.,7,Generate quick reports for requirements that don't require complex calculations. ROI was fine, but Tableau software was much more intuitive for non-technical users on our team When putting Qlikview reports side by side with Tableau, we ended up delivering Tableau reports since they were quicker to generate and required no technical expertise,Tableau Desktop,5QlikViewWe use QlikView for fulfilling the reporting needs of businesses. It is used across all the departments in the organization for various reporting needs. QlikView is very easy to use for the business users and users can drill to the least granular level of data in which they are interested. Deployment of QlikView applications and setting up of QlikView environment is also very easy. The AQL technology of QlikView helps for easy development of the QlikView applications.,QlikView AQL technique automatically joins tables which helps for easy development of QlikView applications QlikView Dashboard is easy to operate by the end users. They do not need any special training or IT knowledge for working with QlikView reports In built Memory is the biggest advantage of QlikView for handling huge amounts of data with ease Optimizing the data and storing it into QVD is an added advantage of QlikView,Sometimes hangs when working with a pretty huge amount of data Set Analysis syntaxes should be more user friendly,8,Overall QlikView had a positive impact,8Share dashboards in real-time with QlikviewWe enjoyed the ability to share a session. This session allowed end-users to share a dashboard, manipulate it, and collaborate on the results in real-time. See more here - http://robertbgoodman.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/real-time-data-collaboration-by-qlikview/,Data must be properly structured to function within Qlikview. This applies to any in-memory tool, but it requires more effort than originally anticipated.,The ability to analyze trends and statistics on-the-fly makes a big impact to our admissions team. We are to better manage our admissions as a result of these analytics.,10,10,Provides in-memory dashboards for admissions data Allows admissions staff to quickly see trends on conversions and demographic dispersion. Then the data can be further sliced by dimensions such as FT/PT, Graduate or Undergraduate, etc.,,,Implemented in-house,8,Online training Self-taught,8,I would recommend purchasing online training. It was helpful during our implementation and will give your technical staff a steer in the right direction.,Yes,5Handles large amounts of data well, slick visualsIt does a good job of processing large amounts of data locally, so I use it to replace a lot of the analysis I do in Excel using vlookups and pivot tables. Nice graphics for dashboarding. Easy to flip between different chart types, dimensions and expressions.,Have had some performance issues the more users we have and the more we try to do with it. Does not handle joining multiple data sources together particularly well on the load or within the app. Some of the syntax is strange, so it might take a while to figure out how to write simple code using things like nulls and "not in". Year over year analysis if we want to compare the same day of the week instead of same date is really difficult since there aren't very good built in time functions. We either lose a couple days that the beginning or end of the year, or get caught up on leap years or other things like that.,9,10,Reporting business metrics to analysts and senior leadership. Data integrity/validation and operations reporting.,Don't know,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,For me it was, since I prefer learning on my own. There is plenty of information online, so I usually just Google it or use the QV community on their site to get answers quickly.,10,9,Database. Flat files.,Big data tools.
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

QlikView Reviews

QlikView
543 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 543 vetted QlikView reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-50 of 52)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Francisco Prieto profile photo
December 04, 2014

User Review: "Qlikview, and advantage."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Qlikview provides a layer between traditional database querying and end user data mining. It makes it easy when searching through data to find relationships and insights.
  • Adhoc & Static reporting are a limitation as the tool leans towards dynamic data sorting.
Read Francisco Prieto's full review
Anthony Chou profile photo
July 07, 2014

QlikView Review: "Deep, Effective Product with an Equally Deep Learning Curve"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team was looking for a BI tool for analyze and create reports from NIH clinical trial data. The data itself is simple, but we needed a tool that could handle many joins, large data sets, and produce clean reports. We tested Tableau software and Qlikview for about a year and ultimately selected Tableau
  • Generates reports quickly, if the joins are not too complex. If you need a quick Excel report, this works great.
  • Lots of flexibility when it comes to developing applications, including basic charts and graphs
  • Great at taking "data snapshots" and generating reports in that frozen moment in time. Also easy to update reports by updating the data set
  • There is a significant learning curve, in my opinion. A user needs to be highly versed in database management, including SQL. A non-technical user will struggle mightily especially if they don't truly understand their data
  • You probably need a dedicated specialist on the team to take full advantage of the software. Complex analytics start appearing rather quickly in our field.
  • Qlikview can do automatic joins in a flat file structure. This may or may not be a good feature.
There is a learning curve, so I would recommend this to anyone with technical expertise who wants to generate quick reports. Slicing and dicing data is kind of intuitive, but being able to write and join scripts is not an everyday user skill. Simple questions like "Who?" "What?" and "When" are easily answered. Surface level calculations are also not too difficult. When you want to get into more depth with complex calculations, you definitely need support.
Read Anthony Chou's full review
Bhaskar Reddy profile photo
June 02, 2014

User Review: "QlikView"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QlikView for fulfilling the reporting needs of businesses. It is used across all the departments in the organization for various reporting needs. QlikView is very easy to use for the business users and users can drill to the least granular level of data in which they are interested. Deployment of QlikView applications and setting up of QlikView environment is also very easy. The AQL technology of QlikView helps for easy development of the QlikView applications.
  • QlikView AQL technique automatically joins tables which helps for easy development of QlikView applications
  • QlikView Dashboard is easy to operate by the end users. They do not need any special training or IT knowledge for working with QlikView reports
  • In built Memory is the biggest advantage of QlikView for handling huge amounts of data with ease
  • Optimizing the data and storing it into QVD is an added advantage of QlikView
  • Sometimes hangs when working with a pretty huge amount of data
  • Set Analysis syntaxes should be more user friendly
QlikView is more suitable for small and medium scale industries where the Fact Data do not cross more than 10 million.
Read Bhaskar Reddy's full review
Robert Goodman profile photo
October 09, 2013

Review: "Share dashboards in real-time with Qlikview"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We enjoyed the ability to share a session. This session allowed end-users to share a dashboard, manipulate it, and collaborate on the results in real-time. See more here - http://robertbgoodman.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/real-time-data-collaboration-by-qlikview/
  • Data must be properly structured to function within Qlikview. This applies to any in-memory tool, but it requires more effort than originally anticipated.
Read Robert Goodman's full review
Christine Hill profile photo
October 22, 2013

QlikView Review: "Handles large amounts of data well, slick visuals"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It does a good job of processing large amounts of data locally, so I use it to replace a lot of the analysis I do in Excel using vlookups and pivot tables.
  • Nice graphics for dashboarding.
  • Easy to flip between different chart types, dimensions and expressions.
  • Have had some performance issues the more users we have and the more we try to do with it.
  • Does not handle joining multiple data sources together particularly well on the load or within the app.
  • Some of the syntax is strange, so it might take a while to figure out how to write simple code using things like nulls and "not in".
  • Year over year analysis if we want to compare the same day of the week instead of same date is really difficult since there aren't very good built in time functions. We either lose a couple days that the beginning or end of the year, or get caught up on leap years or other things like that.
Read Christine Hill's full review
Bill Chamberlain profile photo
June 27, 2013

User Review: "QlikView - Jive Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Extremely fast data visualization. We can go from a high level view to the most granular detail in seconds.
  • Associative search -- there are no pre-defined drill paths. You can visually explore the data and go anywhere you want. You do not have to drill down...and then back up. It makes the data exploration much easier.
  • Very strong data loading capabilities.
  • QlikView is really a platform that you can extend. You can incorporate it into web pages, integrate it with the R open source engine, build custom extensions, etc.
  • QlikView has a "green, white, grey" color scheme. Green is what I selected, white is what is included in that data set, and grey is what is excluded. It is a powerful visualization tool that can show you what is included as well as what is excluded. For data junkies, it is an excellent tool.
  • If you are looking to analyze real-time data, QlikView is probably not the right tool for you. It uses static pre-loaded data, rather than live data from an external data source.
Read Bill Chamberlain's full review
Ashis Bose profile photo
October 16, 2013

User Review: "QlikView makes our life easier..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As providers of financial services for specialized real estate, our analytic needs are extremely complex. Much of our analytics and required performance reporting to our investors involve financial trending over many years, including the ability to manage and forecast future performance. All this has to be done with multiple dimensions (investors, partners, partnerships, funds, properties, etc.), and hundreds of attributes are involved with each. Needs are very dynamic and it is not possible for us to be physically tied to pre-programmed dimensions or data formats. QlikView lets us do this much faster than traditional Business Intelligence products. Also, QlikView's integrations with maps and our Salesforce system are a huge benefit as well.
  • The integration protocols are somewhat difficult.
Read Ashis Bose's full review
No photo available
September 22, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Pros and Cons"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are the largest QlikView roll-out in the UK and we use it to share high level performance metrics on clinical trials such as time and target data related to recruitment. The product is pitched under the banner of open data as it is used to inform a wide set of stakeholders including commercial, public sector and NHS. We operate QlikView on Amazon Web Services to provide a robust platform.
  • QlikView is visually excellent and allows our users to interpret data rapidly for decision making.
  • The ability to customise QlikView Apps allows for bespoke reporting for specific sectors.
  • QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way.
  • QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age.
  • QlikView also relies on trained staff to create the apps and this means accepting that this is a bespoke application and requires bespoke training and support.
  • There are other products that are less clunky and require less trained staff to operate.
QlikView is perfect if you are moving from traditional reporting to a more automated setup. However it is not a step-change in analytics as other products are such as ThoughtSpot. It is likely that your BI team will continue to operate as they did before but now have a nice front-end to share.
Read this authenticated review
Erin Le profile photo
July 03, 2013

"QlikView review by a developer/analyst user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very suitable if users have both development and analytical capacity. Great sharing functionalities among small group of users.
  • Good for inter-connectivity among different data sources and tools such as Postgres DB, Excel, etc. Ability to query database directly is a huge advantage.
  • Dynamic reporting functionality with automated scheduled jobs works well across departments, especially where there are end-users that are not Qlikview developers.
  • Very nice and thoughtful UI. Most business end-users love it because it's intuitive.
  • Not good for sharing across a medium-to-large organizations and among mixed user groups, some of whom may not have developer's licence to access apps directly. Even if an app is shared as a web-based version, users have little power to make changes and must always rely on developers on the smallest revisions.
  • As a developer, I find it to be quite unpredictable and erratic in the way it handles data. For example, Qlikview will always try to connect fields among different tables without being told that they are the same, because it treats all tables as flat files and does not handle relational data the way other tools work. I understand Qlikview is trying to be helpful here but that's not how it should work.
  • Another development issue I always run into with Qlikview is with the chart/object property box. It is not intuitive the way they've grouped the various functionalities in different tabs. This makes simple tasks confusing and frustrating. Things that should be found under "Axes", for example, are found in "Numbers" or "Presentation". It took me a year to learn where things are. I think Qlikview should learn from Excel on this.
  • Can be quite buggy if one tries to do a few things at the same times such as running SQL, reading from external data tables, running incremental loads, and creating variables in load script, not to mention using complex functions and set analyses for the front end. This means it doesn't help with business continuity when people leave their job and an app changes hands.
Read Erin Le's full review
No photo available
August 09, 2016

Review: "QlikView, BI with a steep learning curve."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses it to collect business intelligence data. We're able to drill down to specific areas, policy classes, kinds of loss, coverages, etc. Armed with this info, we hope to make better business decisions.
  • Slice large data sets.
  • Visualize data (graphs, charts, etc.).
  • Sort and filter data.
  • Exporting can be cumbersome.
  • Clunky, non-intuitive UI.
  • Steep learning curve.
QlikView works well to visualize and compare large sets of data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 04, 2016

Review: "When to use Qlikview and when to go with a competitor"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview is used as a data summarization tool for operational risk. The software sits on top of our database to allow the business to get insight into their data. We use it almost as someone might use a pivot table in Excel. We have preset pivots and charts that are updated relatively real-time as data is fed into the database.
  • Dashboards can be created easily with basic programming skills. A typical business analyst will not require a developer once the underlying data model is in place.
  • Qlikview can be used as a web based application allowing users to access dashboards anywhere permissions allow.
  • Qlikview provides a variety of pre-built objects that gives designers flexibility to represent data in multiple ways.
  • Qlikview has its own database and management system. Developers are required to build a new data model to get data into Qlikview.
  • Qlikview's web application requires significant memory and processing power from the browser. Complex dashboards can crash your browser if you're running too many things at once.
  • Qlikview dashboards look relatively outdated.
It is well suited for creating simple dashboards. Larger data models will require significant back-end development to make up for QlikView's lack of front end caching. QlikView is a much better alternative than creating Excel pivot tables powered by macros. Its security settings, scalability, and stability surpass anything that can be built in Excel.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2016

User Review: "Qlikview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview is used across the whole organization from finance to the clinical side of the business. It provides business insights on various aspects of the business with its easy to use and intuitive interface. It is very easy to integrate data and produce quick visualizations for specific business needs.
  • Mapping data from various sources, intuitive with its associative model makes it easy to understand how data points relate to each other.
  • Easy to explore data and answers any questions in real time.
  • Great way to express data using the charts and visualizations and performing set analysis as a experienced user.
  • Too many configurations and properties can sometimes make it confusing and hard.
It's best suited for blending multiple data sources together. QlikView is best for large organizations with enough budget to spend on licenses.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "Understand your Qliks at a deeper level"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used qlikview as part of the digital analytics consulting our company provides to customers. We have used it for some of our customers to generate data visualization reports.
  • Integrates data from various digital sources for visualizations
  • Clean graphs for data analysis
  • Ease of use
  • Support for Mac desktop
Qlikview is great to aggregate data from various sources to create a digital consumption visualization graphs. It helps in giving insight into how our clients are doing with their business to better streamline them.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2016

User Review: "QlikView Makes Sense!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our entire organization. We currently have approximately two-thirds of our markets using QlikView. We are using it to provide markets with advertising data from our enterprise advertising system.
  • We are able to load in data from multiple sources. We load data from SQL databases and Excel spreadsheets.
  • I have always described QlikView as pivot tables on steroids. It provides our users with a lot of freedom to manipulate or 'customize' reports that are already created by expanding and/or collapsing columns and the ability to move columns around to provide more detailed information or to roll up data in more meaningful summary reports.
  • Our users also love the multitude of selection list boxes that can be made available. Simple clicks on these list boxes can 're-run' reports in a matter of seconds.
  • We make extensive use of Bookmarks. Since we use QlikView across our organization, we tend to create reports with the whole organization in mind. Bookmarks make it easier for individual markets to 'customize' these reports for their local use.
  • I would really like to see 'Wizards' that would help with creating and better understanding Set Analysis expressions. Set Analysis is a very powerful tool, but for those who aren't hard core users have trouble understanding how to best write and use these expressions.
  • With the amount of data we have to load, it can take quite sometime for reloads.
I believe that any data that can be reported on via row and column charts, pivot tables and graphical charts, is well suited for QlikView. We have used it for small one department projects to entire organizational reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 27, 2016

Review: "QlikView delivers fast and helps to make sense of your data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview was used for a POC concerning an investissement department BI dashboard
  • Data Discovery made easy
  • Point'n click report & dashboard building
  • Basic Datalake on your desktop
  • Rights management and distribution of datasets and dashboards
  • Dashboard ergonomics
  • Third Party integration
Ideal for quick deployments and small projects, prototyping. Good solution if you don't already know which data matter.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 24, 2016

Review: "Qlikview for frequent newsletter deployers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlikview is being used across multiple departments. Depending on your job you are selected and set up as a Qlikview user. We have some experts in it who lead troubleshooting and training and bookmarks. It allows our company to pull email campaign results quickly and efficiently. We are able to see things like click through rate, clicks, click to open percentages and gauge email campaign success.
  • It pulls consistently the same information. It is reliable to pull the data we need on email campaign analysis. We are able to refresh every week so it updates in a good time frame.
  • Qlikview allows us to see a lot about the clicks. We can see click through rate and click to open percentage. This lets us know how successful a campaign was.
  • Overall details. I can search across multiple products and see what is doing the best. Does a certain time frame work on A/B testing? Did one list work better than another list?
  • I think the bookmark feature could be a little better. Filtering can sometimes take up time and it would be nice to be more efficient with this.
  • More details. I've never used Qlikview for example for heatmaps so it'd be nice if it did that. Programs like Eloqua show some finer details.
Qlikview is well suited for larger email campaigns. Again it really shows you how many were delivered and opened and clicked and it can give you URL detail and message detail. It is a good comparison on A/B email testing to find out which email lists are stronger. I do not think it would be necessary to use this for a small sure thing campaign - example if you were hosting a happy hour event and inviting key contacts you would not need to know analysis. Things like newsletters are fabulous for this program.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView - Best ETL and self-serve analytics tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I consult with other organizations to recommend and implement QlickVIew desktop.
  • Strong ETL capabilities
  • Out of the box support for several charts
  • Customization of charts
  • Look and feel is clunky, looks like age old piece of software
  • Support for tablet and mobile devices
I liked the ETL capabilities of this tool, being able to connect to any data source. The novice to advanced users will be able to extract and explore the data. You can build complex query capabilities out of the box.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

User Review: "Click to view! No waiting in Qlikview."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire Company (in a BPO environment) for different customers, mostly for scorecards and finance analysis dashboards.
  • One of the main strengths I always bring up is the associative technology, which is the Green-Gray-White concept. This Qlikview functionality brings more intuitiveness to the applications in a very natural and efficient way.
  • In-memory technology brings very quick and easy switching between field value selections, since ALL the data is stored in the RAM. Information is already available on click. This is very advantageous particularly for customers not very fond of the usual 'enter parameters, run report and wait 5 mins or so'.
  • Ease of design and development. Qlikview can be as simple as creating reports in Excel, with minimal training, but at the same time seasoned developers can utilize technical and complex functionalities to bring out the most efficient methods and deliver difficult requirements.
  • Availability for a mobile and tablet version of the application without additional development required. Everything is done by the server.
  • Qlikview can be used 'on top' of other BI tools, much like Excel is usually used as the final presentation for reports.
  • In-memory technology requires large amounts of RAM, and real-time data availability is not possible. Data is only limited to the last reload or refresh of the application.
  • A corporate complaint I always hear: Expensive Licenses. Perhaps this can be remedied by having more variations.
  • Not really a weakness, but for non-technical users looking to develop applications, a level of familiarity of proper data modeling and design techniques are needed to ensure information accuracy.
  • Client is only available for Microsoft Windows systems, so development is only limited to that. Nonetheless the users may access the application using any platform with a web browser.
I would very much recommend Qlikview for high-level reporting, such as corporate reports, ops presentations, daily and regular reports. The only time I would not recommend it is for those with real-time reporting requirement.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 29, 2016

QlikView: "Review angel!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is being used in a real estate company to build a dashboard for our multiple clients so they track their properties, amount, square footage etc. Ours is a client facing team and it used in our technology department.
  • Good graphs which help users to analyze well, if presented and explained properly.
  • API is a plus..for example, GPS which is very useful in the real estate world.
  • Good data visualization.
  • It would be good if there was an option to display on top of the pies in the 3D pie chart. Users always ask for it.
  • 3D charts display could be improved.
I find it as a best tool for any BI beginners.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 14, 2015

QlikView Review: "a magical tool that changes your world of data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is widely used across the whole organization for reporting purposes. It makes reporting very easy as we have many sources of data like SAP systems, SQL database , Excel files, and some text files etc.
  • QlikView is a very useful tool for errors in the data set(data discovery)
  • Useful for the data analysis for data from different sources
  • You can easily create custom groups for different dimensions that are critical for business purposes.
  • Syntax check for set analysis
  • Some more integrated charts for front end
  • More tutorials for QMC and server management
QlikView is suited to pull data from different data sources.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2015

QlikView: "review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rolled out QlikView in a lot of departments. We used QlikView with the Sales and Marketing organization to show key metric dashboards. This product was well received as it was easy and intuitive to use. The dashboards were easy to build and modify. IT supported the application with ease. Loved this tool.
  • Easily view complex data with visual charts
  • Daily updates gave sales numbers to people who needed them quickly
  • Access to data via other sources like SAS
  • Export function that is easier to use and less time consuming
It is suitable for visualizing large amounts of data to groups of people whose main function is not analytics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 02, 2014

User Review: "Try QlikView, you'll be amazed!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by certain depts in the company. It currently solves a business situation we have where using other products will take a long time to accomplish.
  • Let me start out by saying that I'm very impressed at how easy the tool is to use, and how simple an architecture it has that is easily understandable and can be learned quickly.
  • As opposed to many BI products out there that require a huge investment in the "learning curve", QlikView is very intuitive and can be learned quickly. This is a huge positive.
  • The one feature that really impressed me is the ability of this product to accurately aggregate "facts" at different levels of granularity. Not many developers, even experienced are aware of this or even look into this. I've used other products where you need to struggle or at least think quite a bit about how to model the solution for various scenarios so the aggregation doesn't break. With QlikView, its amazingly simple. I didn't even have to think about it! I simply established the proper joins among the tables and that's it. It knows how to perform the aggregation without inflating the numbers on the report.
  • The GUI of course, is just "common sense". Easy to navigate.
  • The only suggestion I've for QlikView is to improve the ability of the "straight table" object so it can provide sub-totals and groups. Based on my current experience, there doesn't seem to be a straightforward way to do this.
  • Provide a GUI interface for scripting as opposed to the code one needs to write currently.
I think the product is very flexible enough to accommodate a variety of situations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 30, 2014

User Review: "Dynamic Queries on QlikView"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is being used across the whole organization both on Web and Mobile platforms. Due to QlikView's user driven approach to the Business Intelligence, we have a wide range of business users from the field people to the executive management.

We mainly adress the business problems such as performance and activity reporting.
  • Activity and Sales performance reporting
  • Fast and dynamic data presentation
  • Customization/personalization features such as bookmarking
  • Our biggest challence is the end user training. Most of the available training content is targeting either developers or power users.
  • Static reporting module is not as flexible as an Excel report when it comes to formatting
  • Expensive pricing for individual and shared session certificates
It is perfectly suited for realtime performance tracking and reporting. Other than that, dynamic querying is the strongest suit of QlikView.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 30, 2014

User Review: "Success with QlikView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QlikView is being used as our enterprise BI solution. It addresses our needs to have visible data with actionable intelligence in the areas of Supply Chain, Finance, and Sales.
  • Great Visualization
  • Supports Agile development
  • Allows discovery of bad data and anomalies
  • Easier application of Security at the row and column levels
  • Browser agnostic
I believe it can be deployed in most scenarios. QlikView as a vendor is very easy to work with. BI developers with Agile methodology training are the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2014

"QlikView Technology Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
At my former employer, we were a reseller of the technology. We also implemented it for internal use. Our CFO, CTO and heads of marketing used the tool on a daily basis. It helped them gain quick insite into our Consulting business
  • Ease of use for the user
  • Quick dev to production lifecycle
  • Very visual analytics
  • Licensing is difficult to understand and expensive
  • More point and click functions
When an EDW solution is needed, QlikView on its own is not the right tool. But it is a great top layer for a Large EDW. Or for a small business it can get the job done without adding the EDW complexity.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (32)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (27)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (34)
6.6
Formatting capabilities (34)
6.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (18)
8.8
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
6.6
Publish to Web (25)
6.5
Publish to PDF (28)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (25)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
3.6
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (28)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (25)
7.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (24)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (21)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
5.2
Dedicated Android Application (9)
6.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (15)
7.8

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC