Rakuten Viber

Rakuten Viber

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.0 out of 100
Rakuten Viber

Overview

Recent Reviews

Review of Viber

9 out of 10
August 30, 2020
Rakuten Viber is used by our whole organization. It is a means of communication in our organization. Sometimes when Skype for business is …
Continue reading

Viber has high connectivity

9 out of 10
February 14, 2020
Viber is used between colleagues to transfer photos and to make video calls among our office members. You can use Viber to share …
Continue reading

Good for business purposes

8 out of 10
January 23, 2020
I have been using Viber app for over 4 years by now. I use it for personal communication purposes as well as in business to communicate …
Continue reading

Free calling using Viber

7 out of 10
December 11, 2019
Viber is used only within our team to facilitate communication with an offsite team. The texting feature in Viber is great. The app is …
Continue reading

Don't use Viber in any case

2 out of 10
September 27, 2019
Viber was used by one team to communicate with each other, to keep up to date with tasks, and be updated with everything. It was selected …
Continue reading

Great to use for start ups

10 out of 10
January 09, 2019
Viber solves the issue of connectivity especially calling foreign counterparts at a lower charge. While using the Viber App one can call …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 16 features

Mobile app for iOS (17)

9.9
99%

Mobile app for Android (17)

9.9
99%

Message alerts (14)

9.5
95%

Video conferencing (13)

8.7
87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Rakuten Viber, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

USA

$0.019

Cloud
Per Minute

UK

$0.019

Cloud
Per Minute

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Cloud PBX

8.9
89%

Call Management

8.8
88%

VoIP system collaboration

9.2
92%

Mobile apps

9.9
99%

Product Details

What is Rakuten Viber?

Viber is a free instant messaging and VoIP software solution designed for personal use and available for both desktops and as a mobile app. It includes features such as video and audio calls, instant message, and unlimited-member group chats. Users can also make paid international calls.

Key Features

  • Users can send texts, photos, videos, and other types of media.
  • Ability to switch from calls to video chats (and vice versa).
  • Users can create “communities” or specialized team chats with unlimited members.
  • Recording capabilities for short voice or video messages.
  • Accounts can be synced via the mobile app with the desktop version of Viber.

Rakuten Viber Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Rakuten Viber?

Viber, now from Rakuten (acquired 2014) is an instant messaging and cross-platform VoIP software solution designed for personal use and available for both desktops and as a mobile app. It includes features such as video and audio calls, instant message, and unlimited-member group chats. Users can also make paid international calls.

What is Rakuten Viber's best feature?

Reviewers rate Mobile app for iOS and Mobile app for Android and Instant messaging highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Rakuten Viber?

The most common users of Rakuten Viber are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (54)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-18 of 18)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Samira Islam Resmi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rakuten Viber, unlike other messaging applications, cannot read my personal chats, which include one-on-one, group, audio, and video calls. Because Rakuten Viber employ end-to-end encryption by default, anyone can't read my messages. This means that all of my personal and group communications are fully encrypted, so that only I and the people with whom I am communicating can read or hear them.
December 03, 2021

Rakuten Viber Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As mentioned previously, it is easy to use and access since the you can chat, send voice memos or stickers in a conversation. So in overall it's very entertaining. But throughout that, the audio quality can seem to be a bit off. (Could be personal headset issue)
Overall that is the only issue that is present or consistent.
Filip Witkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's perfect for messaging and group messaging, especially when users in group are from different places, organizations... (unlike slack where you have to be member of same organization to be in same group). The video calls are the weak point of the app, so Viber is not good for conference calls, video calls and especially for group video conference calls.
August 30, 2020

Review of Viber

Tigran Petrosyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you have a stable wifi connection and you want to have video calls, it is really perfect. The video and audio qualities are really fascinating. Also, you can send files using Viber, however, there is a file size limit so you can not send long videos or big Excel files. Also, it is very comfortable to use to be in touch with your colleagues and friends
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is very good to create a group. For example, we have created a Viber group for our weekend soccer game. You can message and everyone in that group can see your message and can respond promptly. I'm not sure about the number of people you can add in your group. I think you can add any number of people in a single group.
Victoria Loza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber is well suited for sending informal and formal messages amongst friends, family, and co-workers. It is less appropriate for sending notices to a large group of individuals at once in a large company, where applications like "Slack" are more appropriate. Due to its level of popularity, Viber might be overrun by WhatsApp as users are more likely to have installed its competitor.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like the fact that Viber is actually compatible with major software platforms such as iOS, Android, and Windows. This allows their users to communicate easily and seamlessly without having any problem. It is truly easy to install Viber either on mobile device or desktop. I like that Viber is easy to use.
December 11, 2019

Free calling using Viber

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber has good features in terms of call and text options. It is easy to form groups and assign new people within multiple groups. The app also has a good number of stickers and emojis for non-verbal communication. But, many people use apps like WhatsApp for their business and personal use. It is easy to look for messages within one app than monitor multiple platforms. It takes up more space on the phone.
September 27, 2019

Don't use Viber in any case

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber is okay if you don't have any other option and if everyone is using it and they don't want to use something else. It is not appropriate for serious tasks - it is childish, not secure, and not unreliable. It is not user-friendly.
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber is a perfect means of communication if you are within wifi and want to call, video call, or text someone outside the country (or if you are outside the country yourself), for free. As someone with international clients, friends, and family, I use this feature daily. However, the person you are calling/texting must also be a Viber user. If you are wanting to call a landline, you'll need to use Viber's paid service, or look for an alternative option.
Rashad Farzalizade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Viber mostly for audio calling and texting. Audio calling quality is really better than similar software. Another advantage of Viber is absolutely stickers. There are some feelings that I can't express in words but sometimes one Viber sticker is worth a thousand words. I have some concerns about the video calling quality. While making a video call it often switches to audio calling and it is disturbing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main purpose of using this tool is to communicate within the organization using messaging/audio calls and video calls all within a single platform - especially beneficial in an international organization like mine where a few bucks can be saved on international calls (both audio and video). The biggest drawback that we found was the initial adoption of this tool since this is not the most popular messaging tool out there that one uses for both business and personal purposes and hence need to sell this tool internally to users.
Agnes Asodi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It can be used for quick communication between coworkers. Ideally, each project that we are working on has its own viber group and all project-based communication will happen in the appropriate group. The groups are adjustable, you can rename them, so it makes it super easy to find, even if it took place a long time ago. If you remember the name of the group, you will be able to retrieve your communication.
Tony Phan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber is well suited for managing communication across the department. For example: if a manager wants to get the message out to the team, or any instruction to the team. Instead of a lengthy formal email or having to message each of the individuals in the team, he or she can just send a message on the viber group that is created for the team members only. The communication process is much faster and therefore, actions are taken promptly without delay.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viber can be well suited for any personal or job communications, however, not so formal ones. I mean, you can use it for relatively formal communications, however, for instance, you cannot invite the applicant to the interview to be carried out through the Viber. In other, most cases, Viber is handy and reliable mean of the communications.