Redis Reviews

188 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Over time if not managed well, the costs can be huge. Hence a constant watch on the service is essential.
  • Redis helped a great deal to bring our database costs low.
  • Our services became easy to scale with Redis.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis has increased server throughput.
  • It is scalable which has been very beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2019
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Existing tools like Redisson that were built over Redis reduced dev time in solving challenging problems, which had a positive impact on ROI.
  • We initially misused Redis for persistent storage which had a negative impact on ROI because we were paying a lot for inactive users.
  • The increased performance we achieved using Redis in areas like locking helped us improve the performance of our system reducing the likelihood of system timeouts.
Read Eric Mason's full review
September 21, 2019
David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduced load to the primary transactional database.
  • Ability to launch open source-based solutions backed by Redis quickly to reduce "not invented here" within engineering.
  • Reduced infrastructure gave Redis' small footprint and flexibility for temporary caching as well as permanent storage.
Read David Sommers's full review
November 26, 2019
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With a sub-millisecond latency, we were able to serve more than 500K HTTP requests per minute, with Redis serving more than 10 million ops/sec.
  • When we migrated to Redis on Flash (Redis labs enterprise solution), our infrastructure costs were reduced by 50% (AWS ec2 instances & EBS resources).
  • Our main game stores its data in Redis, with more than 300 million users and a total data of more than 6TB of information.
Read Esteban Ignacio Masoero's full review
October 08, 2019
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis can help you save money optimizing your code since it's super fast and won't slow you down.
  • Redis on Flash can use SSD disks to provide you with more storage without the need of having everything in RAM.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
September 16, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Implementing Redis for the first time in a project was super easy and it didn't add any noticeable cost to development or release processes.
  • Replacing Memcached use cases with Redis was also almost entirely transparent during implementation.
  • Having a high-performance/high-availability software solution for free and open source is a great option in this market.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
September 14, 2019
Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis is widely applicable, so knowledge of it transfers between use-cases
  • Its widely used, so there are cache backends for common frameworks, like Django in our case
Read Ryan Hiebert's full review
September 07, 2019
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We use Redis for the purposes of routing data within our infrastructure. In this use case, we want there to be a little additional latency as possible. In this, Redis does a great job.
Read Anush Ramani's full review
August 27, 2019
Matthew Kuc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Having to train users on it takes some time.
  • Cost savings and infrastructure.
  • It's increased our server capacity.
Read Matthew Kuc's full review
August 24, 2019
Evan Sarmiento | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: application development, can now lock
  • Positive: can queue
Read Evan Sarmiento's full review
October 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis has reduced our licensing costs by around 15% compared to running SQL exclusively
  • Performance has increased
  • Reliability has improved greatly compared to when we ran everything on SQL
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With Redis we can serve web pages must faster. Faster pages means better business.
  • Scaling across many servers we're able to support millions of visitors a month.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis is very easy to set up, not only as a stand-alone service but also in a local Docker container. This makes local development and testing extremely easy.
  • Redis is considerably cheaper than a fully managed key-value store such as DynamoDB.
  • Redis can provide the cache layer a lot of services need, which improves the performance of those services.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ROI on Redis has been great. We were able to cut our infrastructure costs by 25%.
  • Scalability is one of the key benefits of Redis.
  • Increased performance at a lower cost is a huge benefit.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis has helped to save time by reducing our usage of data access methods on our server.
Read this authenticated review
September 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Redis improves the UX of our app by allowing us to show real-time geolocations instantly on user connections. Given that our app is a massive carpooling app, improving our UX allows us to be seen as more reliable and stable.
  • A faster server response to our app.
  • The built-in geolocation capabilities have saved us a lot of time on having to develop that logic into another database.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (68)
9.3
Availability (68)
8.7
Concurrency (67)
8.5
Security (62)
7.6
Scalability (68)
8.8
Data model flexibility (61)
8.8
Deployment model flexibility (61)
8.9

What is Redis?

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Why Redis?

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Redis Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients