Redis Reviews

203 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 79)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 25, 2021
Bob Bennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being leveraged to address big data, temporal data and session state challenges across the software stack. New opportunities to leverage it are continually being investigated and identified. It addresses data consistency and concurrency issues and provides amazing speed to what could be slower operations if handled without it.
Read Bob Bennett's full review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used as cache storage in our data visualization application where response time is key. We use Redis for some of the flag features in a system with more than 20,000 internal users. This in-memory database helped to solve many of the use cases we've had on our product like user based caching, realtime analytical operations on one time fetched results.
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used as our primary cache for our application to help reduce response time and improve user experience. By caching read intensive data in Redis, this also helps to reduce load on our database.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to manage & control user sessions in a Tomcat based web application programmed with Java. It's used in both production and testing & development environments in this certain application's server backend, but only the software development department actually understands & manages it. It solves the case to keep users logged in to the application and also invalidates the sessions when requested or automatically if they expire.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis primarily as a distributed cache. We run a multi-tenant cloud platform that needs to be able to scale and server a high amount of traffic, so we need to retrieve data quickly by many different systems. Redis fits this use case perfectly and has been very reliable since day one.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses data a lot. It is essential that we deal with a huge set of data and in a quick and timely fashion. Our data services in order to achieve this, we use Amazon's Redis cache. It's been working great for us and we have been using Redis for 1.5 years now. It is reliable and helps speed up our services by at least 40% and reduces the DB calls.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis was used in a project to merge live data from different sources. Then by using Lua scripting we were able to make some further aggregations and data binding for better results. It was essential for us as preparation for next steps.
We also used it as session storage manager for some other projects.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis has been a vital component in our design, it's usage is mainly for caching API requests, but it also extends to other applications such as rate limiting and pub-sub mechanism.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2019
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently using Redis to support distributed caching and synchronization across our app. Our application runs on multiple servers so ensuring all infrastructure is in sync and key operations are atomic is critical. It's being used by the backend development team in core infrastructure. Redis is well suited to solve this problem as it offers both performance and reliability.
Read Eric Mason's full review
September 21, 2019
David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used as our primary NoSQL key-based database store. In the specific platform that Redis is being used the most, we have PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Memcache for expiring key-based caching and Redis. The entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis but other departments are starting to use it as well given the ease of use, stability, and reliability.
Read David Sommers's full review
January 07, 2020
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Redis for application data caching. Redis is used by more than one department and is an enterprise standard offering. We have since moved away from Redis as we were able to simplify our architecture given our more powerful database servers after our latest tech refresh. When we were using Redis, our application response times were too slow for certain transactions so we cached the data to improve performance. There are other use cases that we considered like caching of session data. Again our goal was to simplify our architecture and Redis was one of the products we eliminated, not because it wasn't a good product but because we no longer needed it for our application.
Read Gene Baker's full review
November 26, 2019
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used across all the organization. It is used by our main games to store user data, session data, game data, and indexing some information related to it.

Having backend systems that support casual games, like Trivia Crack, must support instant virtualization and big spikes that can happen during holidays, Christmas, and so on. Consequently, it is important to have a sub-millisecond database to be able to increase the requests rate very rapidly.
Read Esteban Ignacio Masoero's full review
October 08, 2019
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis Enterprise helps us by making clustering, sharding, backups and some more very easy to set-up, control, and monitor. It's quite nice being able to sleep at night knowing that despite all your database is on volatile memory (RAM) or a hybrid solution (Redis on Flash), and still have the information clustered, sharded, replicated, and constantly being backed up, with just a few clicks. The support is really great, and the ease of use and set-up are also big selling points.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
September 18, 2019
Jeanette Kreutner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used by our organization to deliver schedules to the users of livestreams and playlists. We needed something that could deliver very high requests per second and also allow us database updates without impact to our customers. This has been accomplished with Redis.
Read Jeanette Kreutner's full review
September 16, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis as a Cache DB in a microservices environment to store auth tokens, temporary data and sync flags to coordinate processes that are handled by multiple parties asynchronously.
The main problem it solves for us is to need to have a high-performance cache that also provides data persistence so we can restart instances and deploy new ones without losing data in the middle. This is very important for us because of the problem we're tackling. In the case of auth tokens, we don't want to make all users log in again after we restart an instance because the memory got cleared. The same applies for the sync flags that our processes depend on to complete.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
September 14, 2019
Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis as a cache for our Django application, and as the result storage for Celery, our distributed task runner.
Read Ryan Hiebert's full review
September 07, 2019
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Redis in only one core internal application, however, this application handles around 90% of our company's internet traffic. This application load balances requests intelligently across multiple downstream server clusters. Prior to this, we used to frequently run into bottlenecks at the DB layer when web server scaling alone was insufficient.

The great thing about this is also that each cluster can be running a different version of our application allowing us to maintain a high level of robustness for our larger enterprise customers, while also allowing us to deploy frequently to other clusters that want the bleeding edge. With Redis, being able to determine the right cluster for the right request happens blazing fast.
Read Anush Ramani's full review
August 24, 2019
Evan Sarmiento | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used across our entire organization. Redis provides us the ability to create distributed locks when requiring atomic operations on DynamoDB.
Read Evan Sarmiento's full review
August 23, 2019
Florent CLAPIÉ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Redis mainly to cache the database and as a message broker to avoid the hard work on the main server. It's used by our IT department, it's our first choice when we need a broker for messaging or cache data without persistence.
Read Florent CLAPIÉ's full review
October 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used as our main nonSQL database store. We run PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Our entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis and is also customer facing. The stability, reliability and scalability are great and it's also easy to easy to set up and implement.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (72)
9.8
Availability (72)
9.0
Concurrency (71)
8.9
Security (66)
7.8
Scalability (72)
8.8
Data model flexibility (65)
9.5
Deployment model flexibility (65)
9.4

What is Redis?

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Why Redis?

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, Red Hat OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Redis Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Cloud$388.00Per Month

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Redis?

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.

What is Redis's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Redis?

The most common users of Redis are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.