Redis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
184 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Redis is a great product offering from Amazon

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses data a lot. It is essential that we deal with a huge set of data and in a quick and timely fashion. Our data services in order to achieve this, we use Amazon's Redis cache. It's been working great for us and we have been using Redis for 1.5 years now. It is reliable and helps speed up our services by at least 40% and reduces the DB calls.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Great in-memory database solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis was used in a project to merge live data from different sources. Then by using Lua scripting we were able to make some further aggregations and data binding for better results. It was essential for us as preparation for next steps.
We also used it as session storage manager for some other projects.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Redis, a fast, reliable and well supported data storage system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently using Redis to support distributed caching and synchronization across our app. Our application runs on multiple servers so ensuring all infrastructure is in sync and key operations are atomic is critical. It's being used by the backend development team in core infrastructure. Redis is well suited to solve this problem as it offers both performance and reliability.
Read Eric Mason's full review
David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Redis is Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used as our primary NoSQL key-based database store. In the specific platform that Redis is being used the most, we have PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Memcache for expiring key-based caching and Redis. The entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis but other departments are starting to use it as well given the ease of use, stability, and reliability.
Read David Sommers's full review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Redis Solves many application caching problems.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Redis for application data caching. Redis is used by more than one department and is an enterprise standard offering. We have since moved away from Redis as we were able to simplify our architecture given our more powerful database servers after our latest tech refresh. When we were using Redis, our application response times were too slow for certain transactions so we cached the data to improve performance. There are other use cases that we considered like caching of session data. Again our goal was to simplify our architecture and Redis was one of the products we eliminated, not because it wasn't a good product but because we no longer needed it for our application.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Best DB for a gaming company willing to scale overnight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used across all the organization. It is used by our main games to store user data, session data, game data, and indexing some information related to it.

Having backend systems that support casual games, like Trivia Crack, must support instant virtualization and big spikes that can happen during holidays, Christmas, and so on. Consequently, it is important to have a sub-millisecond database to be able to increase the requests rate very rapidly.
Read Esteban Ignacio Masoero's full review
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Gets the job done!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis Enterprise helps us by making clustering, sharding, backups and some more very easy to set-up, control, and monitor. It's quite nice being able to sleep at night knowing that despite all your database is on volatile memory (RAM) or a hybrid solution (Redis on Flash), and still have the information clustered, sharded, replicated, and constantly being backed up, with just a few clicks. The support is really great, and the ease of use and set-up are also big selling points.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
Jeanette Kreutner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

If you need lots of user sessions, this is the product to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used by our organization to deliver schedules to the users of livestreams and playlists. We needed something that could deliver very high requests per second and also allow us database updates without impact to our customers. This has been accomplished with Redis.
Read Jeanette Kreutner's full review
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Get a cache server on steroids with Redis and get rid of those Memcached instances

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis as a Cache DB in a microservices environment to store auth tokens, temporary data and sync flags to coordinate processes that are handled by multiple parties asynchronously.
The main problem it solves for us is to need to have a high-performance cache that also provides data persistence so we can restart instances and deploy new ones without losing data in the middle. This is very important for us because of the problem we're tackling. In the case of auth tokens, we don't want to make all users log in again after we restart an instance because the memory got cleared. The same applies for the sync flags that our processes depend on to complete.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Redis Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis as a cache for our Django application, and as the result storage for Celery, our distributed task runner.
Read Ryan Hiebert's full review
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2019

Super fast and easy to integrate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Redis in only one core internal application, however, this application handles around 90% of our company's internet traffic. This application load balances requests intelligently across multiple downstream server clusters. Prior to this, we used to frequently run into bottlenecks at the DB layer when web server scaling alone was insufficient.

The great thing about this is also that each cluster can be running a different version of our application allowing us to maintain a high level of robustness for our larger enterprise customers, while also allowing us to deploy frequently to other clusters that want the bleeding edge. With Redis, being able to determine the right cluster for the right request happens blazing fast.
Read Anush Ramani's full review
Evan Sarmiento | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

Wow

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used across our entire organization. Redis provides us the ability to create distributed locks when requiring atomic operations on DynamoDB.
Read Evan Sarmiento's full review
Florent CLAPIÉ | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Fan Redis user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Redis mainly to cache the database and as a message broker to avoid the hard work on the main server. It's used by our IT department, it's our first choice when we need a broker for messaging or cache data without persistence.
Read Florent CLAPIÉ's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Redis will improve reliability and performance and reduced costs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used as our main nonSQL database store. We run PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Our entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis and is also customer facing. The stability, reliability and scalability are great and it's also easy to easy to set up and implement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Redis is the backbone of our ephemeral data, from web page caching to session storage.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis to run frontend caching, sessions and backend value store systems for our main web property. We are big supporters of the community and love watching it evolve over time. We've been early adopters in the NoSQL movement starting with Mongo and Couch. We're still using Redis, although we can't say the same for the others.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Redis is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Redis in many ways and across different departments in the organization. The most simple use case is to store locks so the backend services can reject duplicated API requests. A little more advanced use case is to use it as a buffer for queues of messages or requests. We're also exploring ways to use the new Graph type to support Data Science models in development.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

Improve performance at a reduced cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Redis in our back end messaging platform for database, cache synchronization functions. Redis is being used throughout our entire organization and is the basis for our EMR messaging platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Redis Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis has been a vital component in our design, it's usage is mainly for caching API requests, but it also extends to other applications such as rate limiting and pub-sub mechanism.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

The Redis Imperative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is used for transnational processing and scoring of customer data models for pub/sub-distribution to other models of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

Redis Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redis is being used as a cache for real-time locations. It serves the last known location of users sharing their location with other users in real-time, thus being an essential part of our organization.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (68)
9.3
Availability (68)
8.7
Concurrency (67)
8.6
Security (62)
7.2
Scalability (68)
8.7
Data model flexibility (61)
8.3
Deployment model flexibility (61)
8.5

About Redis

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients