Amazon Redshift

Amazon Redshift

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Amazon Redshift

Overview

Recent Reviews

Redshift trumped Hive

9 out of 10
January 15, 2021
It is used within a few departments. It is used to solve certain legacy problems that have not yet been ported over to other more suitable …
Continue reading

Great Data Lake Solution

9 out of 10
December 30, 2020
Amazon Redshift is being used by some departments of our company to bring solution to data warehouse. Our data center was not large and …
Continue reading

Redshift Review

2 out of 10
November 30, 2019
Amazon Redshift was our enterprise data warehouse as a backend to our BI solutions.
Continue reading

Redshift is way too easy!

9 out of 10
September 27, 2019
Redshift is our data warehouse used by our organization. It takes data from different sources and put them together in Redshift for our …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Amazon Redshift, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Redshift Managed Storage

$0.24

Cloud
per GB per month

Current Generation

$0.25 - $13.04

Cloud
per hour

Previous Generation

$0.25 - $4.08

Cloud
per hour

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.

Amazon Redshift Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.

What is Amazon Redshift's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Amazon Redshift?

The most common users of Amazon Redshift are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (178)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Sameera Srivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is primarily used as a data management solution by Product Analytics Group. We currently have various sources of capturing data like Heap, Delighted, Salesforce and it is convenient to build an ETL from these sources to Redshift. This enables us to merge all these data sources into single view in a BI tool like Power BI
  • Ease of setting up ETL
  • Uploading data into Redshift via AWS
  • Querying is quick
  • Missing option to restrict duplicate records
  • Lacks complex data sets like udf
  • Does not offer UI based querying & visualisation option like Looker
It is well suited in scenarios where you have distributed data sources and would like to build an ETL pipeline with limited data engineering efforts. Operations time and cost is relatively low compared to other tools. Also it offers great connectivity with Heap with no technical know-how required. It is mostly self managed and reliable.
I am really amazed by the level of documentation done by AWS on most frequent topics. Rarely do I have to look up for an answer elsewhere. Also they offer 24X7 business support which is quick and easy to get.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is our Data Warehouse, where we store our processed data (Hot data) for various initiatives like BI, Analytics, DataScience, etc

We also use Amazon Redshift Spectrum as our Data Lake, where we store raw (un-processed) data (Cold data) for historical analysis, trends, etc

We store various standard data in Redshift like:
Bronze (ETL-ed data),
Silver (Materialized Views data), and
Gold (Rollups/Aggregated/Dashboard-ready data) in [Amazon] Redshift





  • [Amazon] Redshift has Distribution Keys. If you correctly define them on your tables, it improves Query performance. For instance, we can define Mapping/Meta-data tables with Distribution-All Key, so that it gets replicated across all the nodes, for fast joins and fast query results.
  • [Amazon] Redshift has Sort Keys. If you correctly define them on your tables along with above Distribution Keys, it further improves your Query performance. It also has Composite Sort Keys and Interleaved Sort Keys, to support various use cases
  • [Amazon] Redshift is forked out of PostgreSQL DB, and then AWS added "MPP" (Massively Parallel Processing) and "Column Oriented" concepts to it, to make it a powerful data store.
  • [Amazon] Redshift has "Analyze" operation that could be performed on tables, which will update the stats of the table in leader node. This is sort of a ledger about which data is stored in which node and which partition with in a node. Up to date stats improves Query performance.
  • Amazon Redshift is a Managed Service. But it is Not a 100% managed service. We still need to configure it with WLM (Work Load Management) settings, and add Query Queues to make sure it's resources aren't wasted and it is performant at it's best state, all the time
  • [Amazon] Redshift has a concept of "Vacuum", which is an operation to claim the disk space back from deleted data/tables. They recently started doing automated vacuuming. Prior to that we had to do that at regular intervals, to claim the data back.
[Amazon] Redshift is suited for various use cases like Time series data, Structured / relational data, Semi structured data like JSON, etc.

[Amazon] Redshift might not work 100% well with full performance, for Graph DB use cases.
Prashast Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working with an insurance client where a lot of claims and policy data comes in every day, we use amazon redshift to perform ETL and analyze the data to gain business insights.
Amazon redshift is an integral part of our data analysis.
  • Amazon redshift is super quick due to its Massive parallel processing
  • Amazon Redshift is compatible with many visualization tools which helps visualize the insights
  • Amazon redshift has almost 0 downtime and allows for a massive store of data
  • Since Redshift is a part of a larger AWS ecosystem, connecting with other resources is never a problem
  • Amazon redshift could have more detailed documentation including practical examples
  • Amazon redshift still lacks some of the advanced concepts which are possible with MS-SQL and others
  • It should have a feature where users can visualize the data stored for a better understanding
Amazon redshift is best suited for data analysis and is not suited for transactions.
for eg. you can use amazon redshift to gain insights from a large data set but cannot use it to do a transaction level update and insert
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have decided to purchase Amazon Redshift since we started the project of building a new "data lake," so the first step was to decide which tool would be more appropriate to use as a data warehouse. Since we have everything on the cloud, we choose Amazon Redshift to connect our current tools on AWS and integrate the data.
  • Data integration is very simple to perform
  • The tool provides some advice that is very useful
  • Their support is always complete and easygoing
  • Their documentation could be even better
If you are looking for something easy to implement that will give you a nice performance, I would suggest Amazon Redshift. I'm using it in AWS environment, so I don't know if in another cloud environment the performance and all the features would be nice as well. It's also important to check if the price fits to you too.
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is a PostgreSQL based solution was seen as a drop-in replacement for several Postgres based databases (or schemas in Postgres parlance).
The eventual product: a Bill Inmon principles-based Data Warehouse served as a point or source of a single truth. It aided in decision making, historical outlooks and forecasting across various organizational verticals - the Finance, Marketing, and Medical Research. It was also possible to deliver data extracts to 3rd parties or visualize data on demand.
  • Data retrieval experience really gets improved.
  • In terms of database management, it is really a no management at all in AWS. There is no even an OS to take care or worry about.
  • Auto or on-demand scaling is nice.
  • Integrates quite well with other products within the AWS ecosystem.
  • The number of connections is too small, I think at around 50 are allowed in parallel. With some ETL and apps connecting all the time, this brings an undesired possibility to some users or tools being unable to connect.
  • Needs some tuning.
  • The logging part is almost nonexistent.
  • Can be quite costly in the long run as opposed to just RDS or on-prem/dedicated solutions.
If the number of connections is expected to be low, but the amounts of data are large or projected to grow it is a good solutions especially if there is previous exposure to PostgreSQL. Speaking of Postgres, Redshift is based on several versions old releases of PostgreSQL so the developers would not be able to take advantage of some of the newer SQL language features. The queries need some fine-tuning still, indexing is not provided, but playing with sorting keys becomes necessary. Lastly, there is no notion of the Primary Key in Redshift so the business must be prepared to explain why duplication occurred (must be vigilant for).
Redshift support is seamless. The system is MPP (distributed), so it is highly available, always backed up by AWS and you can also have read-only replicas (at a cost) which help overcome the number of connections issue.
Although, AWS looks like is not going to upgrade its storage engine to the newer version of Postgres which is a big pity.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Redshift for our insights platform in our R&D space. Our team creates reports and dashboards on tools for business use. Amazon Redshift provides greater supply chain visibility, increased information on product movement, and high efficiency at a much faster rate.
  • Robust as compared to traditional database/data warehouse
  • Offers significant query speeds
  • Low cost of ownership
  • Provides MPP only for AWS-supported storages
  • Prerequisites for configuring tables are not easy
  • Not great for use with web apps
Amazon Redshift performs extremely well for reporting/analytics data and is way ahead of other competitors. The biggest challenge is migrating data from on-premises databases to Amazon Redshift. The initial hurdle is a major one.
January 15, 2021

Redshift trumped Hive

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within a few departments. It is used to solve certain legacy problems that have not yet been ported over to other more suitable approaches.
  • Large scale SQL
  • Standard SQL
  • Handline full text queries
  • Sampling
  • Bonafide indexes
  • Provide query interface that can store queries and run long-running queries, then notify the user
It's appropriate for ad hoc queries on semiorganized data.
Bojan Sovilj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cloudwalker offers analytic services for the gambling industry. The gambling industry has vast amounts of data that are high speed and variability. Our services from Redshift help gambling companies have better control of their bookmaking product, have a complete view of customers betting history, helps with detecting problematic accounts, etc.
  • Redshift has concurrency scaling helps serve more customers queries
  • Redshift has automatic table compression having less disc space consumed comparing to other data warehouse solutions
  • With ra3 new node types we can separate storage and compute
  • Having automatic vacuum delete helps having conzisent performance in cases where data variability in dwh production zone is present
  • Consistent service improvements from AWS: temporary tables, null handling in joins, single row inserts, materialized views
  • Frequent changes of management console look and feel
  • Automatic vacuum sort doesn't work for several billion rows tables
  • Disc IOPS performance monitoring excluded
Redshift is great data warehouse solution if you have several billion rows tables. More than 200 very important improvements were added in several years' time. With new Redshift instance types solution has separation of storage and compute and magnitude better query response times. Don't use Redshift if you have less than several billion rows tables.
Several service improvements saved us literally!
December 30, 2020

Redshift Review for you!

Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by our whole organization. It is our primary tool for our data warehouse. We decided to switch to a cloud database because our in house servers just weren't able to keep up with our need for fast data delivery. We can adjust the speed up to where we need it to be and it has been very useful.
  • Aggregation
  • Extracting data
  • postgres Based
  • Could be faster
  • Limited sql workbenches
  • Expensive when speeding up the processing
Redshift is best suited for our data storage and designing our fact and dimension tables. We keep our non-structured data there that can be accessed at any time as well as our relational database. I'd say that if you don't have a need for a relational databasae, then Redshift probably isn't going to be a viable product.
December 30, 2020

Great Data Lake Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by some departments of our company to bring solution to data warehouse. Our data center was not large and scalable enough to have big scale data warehouse. So we take Amazon Redshift as one of the data warehouses we use to help us in data transformation.
  • It is very powerful, can hold anything you have.
  • It is scalable. Small or big, it can help you.
  • It is very fast. Can spin up cluster in minutes.
  • As data warehouse, it does not support fast I/O.
  • Learning can take more than expected.
  • You are not managing your data 100%.
If you do not require a fast I/O rate. And frankly you should not expect that from data warehouse. And if you do not mind that your data is on cloud and only on AWS, and if you want a scalable and fast implementation of data lake, then you should consider Amazon Redshift.
Jay Padhya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are performing a POC (proof of concept) across multiple cloud vendors, and we have evaluated GCP, Azure, and Amazon. We plan to go on-site cloud from on-premises, and we will evaluate all databases across all cloud providers. We are making the current database over Amazon Redshift, if it can help us do the exact same job as we have on-premises SQL Server. The on-prem option is good for replication and security, and we are evaluating how good it can be on ML application support.
  • Robust
  • Great UI
  • Price
  • Implementation in non AWS server
Except for the price, Amazon Redshift is a great tool and has the fastest performance across all the data warehouses we have seen. It's easy to connect with Talend, which makes it a better option to use. I like the UI better than most of the other DW. Overall it's a great DW tool.
Good look; good UI
High price
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is handling all the marking activities for all different product verticles for our company. We get a lot of streaming data that we focus on marketing. We also store this data carry out annual audits and aggregations to analyze our marketing progress. Amazon Redshift helped us with this, and it was a breeze enabling it in our environment as we were already on AWS.
  • Replication is excellent, we did not have to worry about reliability.
  • Their auto-scaling feature came to our rescue when it came to cost management.
  • It became expensive over time as the data increased over time.
  • It could not separate users from using the same infrastructure.
  • The initial costs were very low, and it was super easy for us to spin up databases. Also, setting up multiple instances were easily managed with just a click of a button.
  • The costs increased gradually, and it became more expensive than planned. The query analyzer was not up to the mark and needed constant support from the AWS support team. Gladly they were willing to help and had a good experience with them.
The support was great and helped us in a timely fashion. We did use a lot of online forums as well, but the official documentation was an ongoing one, and it did take more time for us to look through it. We would have probably chosen a competitor product had it not been for the great support
November 30, 2019

Redshift Review

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift was our enterprise data warehouse as a backend to our BI solutions.
  • Fixed cost.
  • Tunable table design.
  • Need to provision warehouse for highest capacity.
  • No real separation between computing and storage (even when considering Spectrum).
  • All users share the same infrastructure resulting in frequent 100% utilization error messages.
  • A leader node can become a bottleneck for too many concurrent aggregate queries.
Redshift is appropriate when the number of concurrent users are low and pointed queries are the focus. It is not appropriate when a large number of concurrent users is to be supported,
We had premium AWS support so can't speak about support for those who don't sign up for it.
September 27, 2019

Redshift is way too easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is our data warehouse used by our organization. It takes data from different sources and put them together in Redshift for our Analytics team to diagnose.
  • Since it's part of AWS it is fairly quick and easy to set up.
  • You can add nodes fairly quick to expand the data needs.
  • Performance from the analytics reports accessing Redshift is really good.
  • Better database management when looking up table metadata or sizes of tables.
  • Need a better query analyzer.
  • Finding errors during a data load can be a little daunting at times.
It's very cost-effective from other databases we were using for our data warehouse. It was really easy to set up and it used our ETL tools to migrate data from different data sources. We added functionality add aggregate the data set for our Analytics team to analyze.
A lot of times when we have issues in Redshift, we have to google issues that may have come up in the past. We have not contacted AWS directly for any issues.
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RedShift is used in all departments and accounts. This tool is newly integrated into the system so as to work with the data on the cloud. There are various projects which are moving from SQL servers to ARS because of its capacity of working and managing the data in the cloud.
  • We can connect with multiple servers and can fetch the data easily from one server to other.
  • It supports the syntax of the bots of the SQL servers, MS SQL and Oracle SQl. This makes it pretty handy to use.
  • Here we use views instead of tables, so we can clearly see the flow of data.
  • It works very slow in the cloud environment.
  • No statistical inbuilt functions are available within the tool.
  • Its user interface is not very attractive.
  • Often it goes into deadlock state, which kills the running jobs.
Amazon Redshift is well suited for fetching data from multiple different sources and servers, and it is very easy to learn how to use this tool. It is less appropriate for situations where you may need to process only limited rows, as this takes a large amount of time since you cannot create multiple tables in it.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Redshift is the cloud-based data warehouse where we store our application level datasets and is used further for insights from the stored dataset. It improves the decision support for our business based on data analytics on a large set of real-time datasets which force the business processes to the next level. It provides good performance with high availability for essential data analysis and valuable intelligence.
  • Easy query and fast execution
  • High performance and availability
  • Support of large datasets
  • Scalable solution
  • Database optimization
  • Time consuming process for schema design and modification
  • Integration is little bit difficult
Amazon Redshift is the data warehouse under the umbrella of AWS services, so if your application is functioning under the AWS, Redshift is the best solution for this. For large amounts of data, the application is the best fit for real-time insight from the data and added decision capability for growing businesses. If your application is outside of AWS it might add more time in data management.
Vibhakar Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1)ETL(Talend) data from source applications (Salesforce, Jira, OpenAir, NetSuite, Sharepoint, Active Directory, Office 365, etc.) to S3 bucket and from S3 bucket push data to Redshift (sync time is 10 minutes intervals. Data is available almost real-time only lagging 10 minutes).
2) All Department use it—Engineering, Sales, and Marketing.
3) As I said data is almost in real-time, so it is very useful for taking real-time decisions for upper management. We also reduced Salesforce licenses, because most of the users only used it to see reports. Now they are happy to used Redshift.
  • We reduced the number of Salesforce licenses— Engineering, Sales and Marketing guys are happy to query data from Redshift.
  • Very fast to provide a huge data set with complicated measure.
  • Some of the calculations failed in Salesforce. Redshift returns with the same calculations very fast.
  • Very easy to maintain, no need to worry about hardware failure.
  • We are not able to modify column size.
I recommend all to use Redshift, It is easy to use and maintain. We have reduced the number of Salesforce licenses due to real-time data we have in Redshift. People are happy to use Redshift.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is being used by engineering for our data warehouse or data lake, if you will. It's part of our ETL pipeline, where the data is used to form dashboards and analytical queries across all of our initially segregated data. So it is kind of a source of truth linking data across the company. These dashboards are accessible across other departments in the organization. The data is consumed by everyone, not just engineers.
  • It's fast for data analytics across multiple columns.
  • Essentially, it's good for big datasets.
  • By using RedShift you're kind of married to using AWS's other services, e.g. Redash.
  • You need your data in the cloud.
  • No separate storage and computing.
  • No structured data types.
  • Doesn't scale easily.
Use Redshift for data warehouses, especially if your data is already in the cloud (AWS). It's great for large datasets, and fast too, even if your dataset is column heavy. It's less so for when you have a bunch of rows. All in all, it's a good starting point for any aspiring data warehouse, but there are other promising solutions too. E.g. Snowflake.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used as our primary analytic data-warehouse. This allows our data and analytic team to build report and query data without going directly to our production database. It is a central data repository from external data sources as well, data we import from 3rd parties and segment.
  • Complex queries
  • Aggregation
  • Fully managed service
  • Works very well with most BI/reporting solutions
  • Stored procedures
  • Job scheduling
  • A easier way (perhaps a GUI) to manage users permission
Amazon Redshift is great for analytics, reporting, and complex queries for statistical modeling and machine learning. Its ability to run parallel queries in a simple SQL environment makes the transition from traditional DB very easy. Very good for loading/reading/writing large datasets. I would not recommend RedShift for an environment that requires single row reads/updates, which it is not optimized for.
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Capital One has many LOBs (line of businesses). I have supported IAM and Commercial LOB. They are using Redshift as a data warehouse solution. Oracle is not a Data Warehouse solution but was being used when the application was on on-premises. When they wanted to migrate all data to the Cloud, they chose Redshift as a solution to move the data from Oracle. Oracle is not a data warehouse solution. Redshift has been found as a good solution because of its unique features such as its MPP architecture, columnar architecture, and storage capacity.
  • User-experience. The user wants something quick to view the output, rather than spending too much time
  • preparing a code prior to seeing the output. Redshift provides SQL type queries. This makes any user happy and comfortable.
  • Architecture is very straightforward and simple to understand, such as MPP architecture, Encryption, and Columnar database design. We can easily address issues and help others to understand.
  • Scalability. We can scale-up and scale-down based on our workloads.
  • Performance tuning and database optimization can be done using the system tables and advisors. These solutions are similar to the solution available for Oracle SQL Server. It makes it easy to do the optimization for queries and databases.
  • The concurrency and scale up based on it could be improved. It would be good if it scale-up and scale-down the memory/CPU capacity automatically based on workload.
  • Often we experience slow on queries and dashboards. Self-tuning option in WLM does help.
  • Optimizing the areas such as Vacuum and reorganize the column data (sorting over time) automatically.
Amazon Redshift is good for when you need a Data Warehouse solution or a user-experience such as SQL kind queries. It is also good if you have limited budget constraints. It's not suggested when someone has DML queries such as INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our data warehouse for reporting purposes.

My company used it solely for reducing the performance overhead of running long SQL queries. The seamless implementation of Redshift allowed us to get the data ready to go for our customers to run the reports they need. It is currently used by a few customers, but we are trying to get each of our customers to use this rather than using the traditional OLTP database.
  • Easy to work with
  • Seamless implementation with matillion
  • Massive data reads and inserts
  • I didn't like the security aspect of this where it asks us to create views for each customer.
  • It does not support row-level controls.
  • Some SQL queries are faster on native SQL than here. But it could be the data conversions that is causing it.
[It's] very good for reports and dashboards and is easy to use and fast performance makes it a good choice. It excels in columnar architecture and aggregates. If you have many clients as we do, you need to have separate schemas for each of them. That is a good way but also there is too much clutter spread all over. That is the only drawback I see, end users can see data in the schema, there are no individual permissions allotted.
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RedShift is used primarily by our in house data analytics and psychometric department. When we process the results of physician board certification exams we have a workflow which integrates the newly processed scoring data into RedShift which is used for analytical purposes. The data is denormalized and stored in a fashion which makes it overall more optimal for querying purposes. This data serves as the basis for final scoring calculations for a given exam. The data analytics department is then able to run their statistical analysis against the housed sets of data to ultimately determine the final test scores. We also house an "item bank" of exam questions from past exams which are used as the basis for future exams. Scoring is correlated to the item bank to help determine which questions performed well and which ones exam takers had difficulty with. RedShift is a great tool for our IT department because it helps share the responsibility of having to secure such sensitive data. Amazon is a company which we feel very confident with and RedShift has proven to be extremely robust and fast. It is nice to be able to so easily perform backups of data and rest more assured that it is in a safe form and not something which our own IT department has to manage along with all of our internally hosted transactional databases.
  • Extremely fast querying allowing for concurrent analysis.
  • PostgreSQL syntax which allows for developers with a SQL background to easily begin working with the data.
  • Multiple output formats including JSON.
  • Safe, easy, and reliable backups.
  • SQL syntax support is not 100% which can lead to frustrating situations when developing a query.
  • No support for database keys.
  • No stored procedure support.
Very well suited for aggregating/denormalizing data when you need a reporting environment. Can provide extremely fast querying for analytical purposes. Very nice to not have to have in house responsibility for sensitive data.

Not appropriate for a transactional system (though this is not what it is built for obviously). Must keep in mind the data you are syncing up to the cloud and scrub if necessary before. Something to always be mindful of of course.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used as the main data warehouse across the whole organization. It provides essential business performance data and valuable intelligence. Different departments utilize it for a variety of operations, and decision makers rely on the data analytic tools built upon its data for tracking and enhancement, wherever needed.
  • It does very well in data ingestion, and compresses data efficiently.
  • Most of the queries return results quickly even with large data sets.
  • It has a hard limit of total number of concurrent connections to the database. Compared with conventional databases that limit is very low.
  • Its workload management (WLM) mechanism could be improved, such as made more dynamic and easier to tune and manage.
It is best for large structured data sets with data normally loaded from files, instead of through heavy SQL data manipulation. If there are SQL data manipulation, better to have mainly DDL (create/drop/alter) instead of DML (insert/update/delete) to achieve the same goals. It is also better for smaller number of concurrent connections (less than 500).
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is currently being used to house normalized client data pulled from various third-party endpoints. It houses the data that is both being accessed directly by our business intelligence and CRM platform, as well as made available via our own API gateways. It was chosen for its ability to support a "big data" environment with high availability.
  • If you need draw insights from immense amounts (see: petabytes) of transactional (repetitive) data in near real time--think machine learning and business intelligence--and you're already in the AWS ecosystem, then it's your only real option. It performs very well.
  • Highly configurable, intelligent compression of repetitive columns reduces your memory footprint, lending to extremely high performance.
  • As with most things in the AWS ecosystem, it scales seamlessly and endlessly.
  • There is no support for data de-duplication; meaning this has to be either accounted for upstream, or you'll have to build your own services to de-dupe your data.
  • It's strength is housing data, not necessarily data insertions. While it has an SQL-like interface, it shouldn't be approached the same as a typical relational database.
  • Permissions can be a pain... dovetailing on my previous "con" , in some instances it's easier to drop/rebuild a table than try to navigate incremental updates/insertions, but retaining user-permissions is a pain-point.
It is well suited for:
  • Petabytes of data requiring near real-time analysis
  • Massive Data Insertions
  • Massive Data Reads
It isn't well suited for:
  • Web apps
  • Smaller transactional inserts
  • Smaller reads
You wouldn't drive an 18-wheeler to the corner store to pick up a bag of chips. Your specific need will determine whether or not Redshift is suited for the job.
Gavin Hackeling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Redshift and Redshift Spectrum for our data warehouse. Our production transactional datastores are continuously replicated to Redshift and transformed into fact tables. Redshift is maintained by the data team, but it is used by analysts on most teams, including business intelligence, product, and customer support. Redshift is our source of truth; it provides information about business processes that the team needs to make decisions.
  • Redshift is fully managed. Small teams do not have the resources to maintain a cluster. CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box, and it is easy to configure alarms.
  • Redshift's console allows you to easily inspect and manage queries, and manage the performance of the cluster.
  • Redshift is ubiquitous; many products (e.g., ETL services) integrate with it out-of-the-box.
  • Writing .csvs to S3 and querying them through Redshift Spectrum is convenient.
  • We've experienced some problems with hanging queries on Redshift Spectrum/external tables. We've had to roll back to and old version of Redshift while we wait for AWS to provide a patch.
  • Redshift's dialect is most similar to that of PostgreSQL 8. It lacks many modern features and data types.
  • Constraints are not enforced. We must rely on other means to verify the integrity of transformed tables.
Redshift is ideal for small teams. It is fully managed. CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box, and it integrates well with other AWS products, such as DMS. The Redshift console is among the better AWS consoles. Redshift offers adequate performance. Spectrum offers a convenient way to access our data lake, but we have encountered issues with recent versions.