Rubrik Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 07, 2021
Kevin Mortimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re using Rubrik to eradicate tapes from our environment backing up NAS, VMware, HyperV, and Nutanix. It’s a central IT service for all infrastructure provided to our business. It brings a rapid restore capability compared to tape which took days to get back and that’s just the tape let alone the restore process.
  • Instant recovery
  • Cloud out technology
  • Backs up everything we have needed to!
  • Ransomware detection
  • Immutable backups
  • Hyper scale
  • Some of the policy could be more fine grained
  • RBAC is not advanced
  • Better integration in AHV
  • It’s perfect for hypervisor backups of VMs.
  • Limitations exist around lack of AD backup or bare metal.
Getting better still takes a while for new versions to get good coverage
You don’t need training
Hyperconverged scamue you and out
Yes - Simple and straight forward
Read Kevin Mortimer's full review
February 23, 2021
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night.

The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.
  • Fast recovery.
  • Compression algorithms.
  • Backup recovery.
  • Fast mount point for virtual machines.
  • Quick integration with AWS.
  • Monitoring.
  • GUI design and functionality.
  • Solaris backup.
  • Longer SLA retention rather than just 999 days.
It is a well-curated technology that caters to the needs of some industries and companies who are looking for an easy to use, understandable and manageable platform. It is well suited for almost any industry. Support is fast and the customer relationship is great. The level of support and troubleshooting are the best.
Based on my experience and user journey. support is fast based on how you set your priority level of the issue. Support seems to have a right tool to support its customer. In my experience no issues was left unturned from the support.
Because of its superior technology and from experience of using it.
Read Jewemars Christian Riano's full review
February 09, 2021
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as our Enterprise Data Protection platform to backup and recovery all of our servers at two primary data centers. We have Rubrik "briks" at each site and they replicate Tier 1 servers backups cross-site. Older backup data is archived to the cloud via Rubrik as well.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Great support!
  • Software upgrades occasionally overwrite existing settings.
  • It is a relatively expensive solution.
  • Backing up millions of small files on CIFS shares is not as efficient as other backup products.
Rubrik is a very good enterprise data protection platform. It provides both the software and storage needed to perform backups and recovery across our company. It takes away the need for separate master-slave servers needed in legacy backup solutions like TSM, Netbackups, etc. I'm not sure if it would be a cost-effective solution for smaller businesses, which may be able to get away with native backup tools or a pure SaaS-based solution. Rubrik is good at backing up SQL Server natively.
We have received excellent support for Rubrik. We have run into a few issues and their technical support team has provided a fix for us in each case. We also receive great follow-up support from our sales team as well.
Read Mark McCully's full review
March 11, 2021
Graham Llewellyn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik to back up VMware virtual machines via snapshots.
  • Ease of backup
  • Ease of Restore
  • We had to restore 20 + VM's due to a storage malfunction. Very fast!
It suits snapshot backups just fine. We are going to get another Brik and user the Cloud Management backups for offsite/DR.
Read Graham Llewellyn's full review
February 25, 2021
Erik Schubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for backup all on-prem environment[s] like Oracle databases or VM workloads based on vmware. The [main] thing while introducing this product is to reduce time to administer backup jobs the whole week. The best thing is that Rubrik is able to rerun backups on itself to fulfill the assigned service level agreement. After one year, we introduced O365 Backup for all our exchange online users. Next step will be to introduce one drive backup and hopefully teams and sharepoint Backups too.
  • Self learning mechanism.
  • Integration with itsm tools.
  • Automate everything with REST.
  • No special configuration is needed.
  • Backup SAP instances through sap brtools.
  • See polaris results in cdm gui.
  • Easy integrate azure ad with polaris and cdm system.
Best in DR and some things to implement in special things like SAP.
Read Erik Schubert's full review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik for backup, archive, and retention of our entire VMware (Windows and Linux) environment, AIX environment, and limited physical environment. Additionally, we use Rubrik CDM for a few physical devices. We use Rubrik to protect the entire organization and have found it to be powerful and easy to use. Our previous backup solution was powerful but cumbersome and time-consuming to manage. Moving to Rubrik saved us close to a whole FTE's time allowing the IT Operations team to focus more on strategic initiatives that impact end user experiences.
  • Simple - Rubrik CDM centralizes backups around SLA. Objects, like VMs, are assigned to SLAs and the backups happen according to the SLA schedule.
  • Powerful - Rubrik CDM gives us the option to adjust backup frequency, retention, archival location (co-lo or cloud), and allows for legal-hold. Additionally, it supports all the platforms we need to backup.
  • Flexible - The GUI interface gives us access to almost everything we would ever need and their API, and API-first design, allows scripting. Scripting opens up additional use-cases and meets unique requirements.
  • Excellent Support - Rubrik's support is knowledgeable and has been easy to contact and get help from whenever we've need it.
  • Cost - Rubrik is not the cheapest offering in the field. However, we've seen time-savings that more than cover the additional cost.
  • Lack of AD-integration - At least as of yet, Rubrik doesn't support object-level Active Directory restores. Rubrik CMD does integrate with AD for authentication via LDAP, but does not tie-in for granular AD object restores.
  • Some of the reports in Rubrik are difficult to consume. As such, it's cumbersome to see how much space is being consumed by some objects after dedup and compression.
Rubrik CDM is well-suited for our use case, protecting on-prem VMs. Because of the integration with VMware, clients are not required on all of our VMs which simplifies setup. Rubrik has shown much growth over the past 3 years that we have been a customer and has added many valuable features like legal hold and continual data protection.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used across all of our organization. This addresses the need that we had for a scalable backup product that sits in our data center. We also wanted it to be able to tier to cloud. We appreciate the API’s and will be using that further in the future.
  • Scale out.
  • Modern.
  • Integration through API.
  • Young company.
  • The UI could use a bit more work.
  • Terminology needs to be simplified for end users.
We really like the use in the VMware environment. We can trust that all VM’s will be backed up with at least the minimum policy. We also can adjust that policy to give the critical business functions higher importance and priority. Since they are fairly new, not all features are fully baked. Oracle has a way to go before it would be best on market.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is widely being used throughout the City as the primary backup solution for our server fleet. Rubrik helps us feel confident in the fact that we can restore our servers from a backup quickly and efficiently in case of failure, while also helping balance the load between our systems. The data dashboard that accompanies Rubrik's systems has a great display of information, ranging from the number of virtual servers, to any issues in our environment that may prevent services from restoring properly. One of the best features is being able to monitor our system performance to keep our environment running smoothly.
  • Server restoring is an essential feature.
  • Self scheduling server backups is essential.
  • Integration with AWS cloud.
  • Speed of NAS backups could be quicker.
  • Changing the backup schedule is difficult if one is already in place.
  • AWS integration is limited.
Rubrik is well suited for a virtual server fleet environment where snapshots will consume a lot of space, and need an additional tool to help backup servers. Also, if you have a limited set of system administrators, Rubrik would be efficient in helping schedule backup periods for servers, so that it does not become a manual tasks. Lastly, Rubrik is great and efficient in restoring servers quickly and efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly micromanaged.
  • Easy to find your way around the GUI
  • Reliable
  • Easy to implement
  • Can't really fault it
365 backups can be recovered into a selected person's OneDrive which saves time when recovering something for the ServiceDesk.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik has helped us a lot in managing our backups. Coming from an old legacy system with a lot of administration and a very consultant-friendly system, Rubrik is a fresh breath of air in the backup space. Administration is easy and intuitive. Backups are fun again (backups were never fun with the old system).
  • SLAs are super easy to set up
  • Cloud replication of backups--easy to set up and just works
  • Administration--easy to use
  • Volume backups where we need to exclude file types
Rubrik will scale to any kind of environment. It handles all of our backups even though we have a lot of legacy systems (2003 and 2008 servers). It is expensive compared to other solutions but not the most expensive solution out there.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as the single backup platform within the business, ingesting data from virtual (VMware) and physical hosts alike. Applications protected include Exchange, SQL and Oracle and Office 365
  • Replication to cloud
  • SLA based backups
  • Data immutability
  • Single platform
  • Out of the box reporting could be better - However the API interface allows the generation of custom reports and the ability to retrieve any detail from the system
From our experience, Rubrik has been well suited to our multiple platform, multiple application environment. Unboxing, racking n' stacking, base configuration and connection to our environments was simple, with the first backups being taken within 2 hours of delivery.

Rubrik does however rely on more modern versions of operating systems and hypervisors - environments running out dated 32bit platforms may find Rubrik can't support those services.
On the phone, web or email, you speak to a technician at the first point of contact. This has meant the limited number of calls we have had, have been dealt with quickly and smoothly.
As I've said previously, the product does exactly as its supposed too
Read this authenticated review
February 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is great because in an international context like our, we do not see any maintenance window when operating around the clock. So Rubrik will decide when this is best to do start backup jobs based on its own analysis and the SLA that we impose on the system.

Another great advantage of using Rubrik is the massive savings in terms of storage. The file system is so advanced that savings are huge.
  • Storage savings using dedupe, compression and erasure coding
  • Define SLA to have backup jobs started, no time need to be defined
  • Scale out capabilities
  • 10 GE is mandatory, I think in some environment 1 Gbps could be used
  • Entry ticket is high, but once you growth, it is reduced
  • Lack of end user laptop support (officially)
Rubrik works very well in virtualized environments. They are starting to hit the physical world too. I have tested their connector on physical hosts and this is very promising. I'm actually looking forward to deploying such connectors on a larger laptop park. It would be nice to have the ability to backup endusers machine on-prem and get rid of Druva.
Rubrik support is very good. This is part of those modern companies who take extra caution on support. Rubrik support is not only limited to their product, they can touch any other aspect of the data chain : Cisco, vmware, Nutanix, .... they are all terrain experienced IT people able to understand your problem from A to Z.
The Rubrik UI is fresh and easy to understand. They are constantly improving the visibility of what's going on in the system and following the customer's wish. I'm often in a meeting with Rubrik designers listening to my view on what should be visible and on what manner and this is very gratifying to see recommendation reflected in the final product. When you start using Rubrik for the first time, everything is so intuitive, this is a well polished product and the future is bright !
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Toby Tapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik as our primary backup solution for physical, virtual and database backups at both our corporate headquarters and remote offices. We are a multi-industry company and use it across our organization. It gives us fast and reliable backups with easy integration into our VMware environment and archive capabilities to the cloud.
  • Virtual machine backups are extremely easy to setup. The recovery (instant mount) process is a better option than doing a traditional restore of a server.
  • SQL database backups and recovery are very nice. Our DBA's love the SQL DB mount option to quickly recover data.
  • The ability to change the retention on a pre-existing backup that is different than the current SLA is a feature that has not yet made it to Rubrik. This is one option I would like to see sooner than later.
  • Having to utilize Fileset backups in order to restore to an alternate server is a hassle. Basically you have to make two backups of the server if you want full protection. It will be nice with this function is built into VM level backups so you only need one backup.
Rubrik really shines if you have a virtual environment. Though Rubrik can backup physical servers the Mount and Instant Recovery options are only available for a virtual machine. Rubrik is also a great tool for utilizing the Cloud with easy integration into almost all major providers. The CloudOn capability is particularly cool. It can convert the virtual machine to the proper cloud format.
I have had nothing but great service from Rubrik's support. The support tunnel option is great as they can connect without the need for WebEx or JoinMe to work on your cluster. They are always willing to perform upgrades even though upgrading is super easy for the customer, but some would prefer support to do them.
Read Toby Tapp's full review
August 22, 2019
Gareth Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Rubrik for a few years now and it has been a very positive experience. Primarily it has helped us move away from our aging tape backup system and allowed us much more visibility and clarity on our backup strategy here at the university. We use it to capture the following workloads that cover data from all over the university and managed by central IT: Vmware virtual machines, NAS file shares, HyperV virtual machines, Nutanix virtual machines and huge quantities of Microsoft SQL.
  • Live Mounting SQL for OBDC checks and for restores of tables.
  • The single pane of glass and a single point of management and visibility was a huge win for us - as we moved away from a legacy tape backup solution. Rubrik modernized the whole approach and bought the simplicity to the backup model that we certainly needed!
  • There is now a vast selection of objects that Rubrik can backup - it fitted our needs perfectly for all our workloads.
  • Error reporting can be hard to interpret and chase out.
These things often come down to price - so do consider your business case and allow Rubrik to assist in their widest form. Its by no means "just" a backup tool anymore. However if your workloads are small and you are simply backing up a few TB in total Rubrik may be overkill for your needs.
The GUI and ease of use make this an accessible option for all - the dashboards, compliance metrics, and system health are available within 2 clicks. And PowerShell and reporting can deliver this info directly to your inbox/team too.
The support has been good. Some tickets obviously take longer and the support is now global - but that hasn't had a negative impact on us.
Read Gareth Jones's full review
April 22, 2019
David Riberdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.
  • VMware backups are done really well and super efficiently.
  • The general ease of installation of the entire product.
  • The APIs could be a little easier to exploit.
  • The interface could use a little work.
VMware environments would be a great fit for Rubrik. They have now also branched out into Acropolis, Hyper-V, and managing AWS backups as well. This product could be used in a lot of types of environments, from small to Enterprise, as they have a footprint to fit all of those and everything in between.
Read David Riberdy's full review
August 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Rubrik in our labs for our support team to learn with. We also have customers that we manage that run Rubrik as well as we support Rubrik with customers we resell to. Our teams are constantly growing and additional members are being trained on it. We currently protect our labs and some production resources and leverage the cloud features and replication.
  • It is very easy to manage and just does its job well. Very little break-fix.
  • Stable and trustworthy - It just runs and we can feel confident our backups happen.
  • Alerting and reporting with email as well as Polaris are excellent.
  • Increased support for agent level items such as SharePoint, active directory, and exchange.
  • Simpler recovery of exchange data.
  • Managing multiple clusters through Polaris would be great to have.
Rubrik excels in virtualization backups and recovery. It's simple and reliable. The instant recovery is excellent.
The agent features for physical servers is always improving but still limited in some features. One big weakness is during restores if there is an error while putting files back to their location it is often reported as successful which is slightly misleading. This only occurs when the agent lacks permissions to put files back.
Rubrik has a simple to use interface and day to day management is very simple yet it doesn't sacrifice flexibility. Expanding capacity as data grows is very easy and does not require downtime. Upgrading is simple and efficient. Setup and configuration are straight forward.
Their support team is fantastic. They take pride in their work and will take the extra time to answer questions or demonstrate features. Their team makes you feel like they are driven to make it easy as can be.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2019
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Rubrik to backup data in a multi-tenant environment. Each of five tenants purchased their own cloud archive location that they manage and send data to. We also are testing cloud instantiation, which converts a VMware or Microsoft virtual machine into either an AWS or Azure virtual machine once a backup on premises has completed. This will satisfy some disaster recovery requirements.
  • Rubrik greatly simplifies management and usability of backup systems. Configuration is very simple compared to our old system.
  • It makes archiving data to either an offsite cloud or NAS mount point extremely easy. All that is required, is a few configuration items, and away your data goes.
  • Support is outstanding. Maintenance upgrades and trouble cases are handled quickly and professionally.
  • Cloud cluster has it's limitations as far as performance and resilience. With large data in the environment, it has issues archiving large amounts of data to S3.
  • Multi-tenancy permissions are not fully baked. I had to get creative to give proper permissions to admins of different organizations. I submitted an RFE for this.
  • Notifications are also not fully baked. Anyone that is an admin level of any organization, receives all system notifications.
It is by far the easiest and well thought out backup solution I've encountered. If you have requirements to archive into AWS, Azure, or GCP, it is extremely easy to configure. You will be up and archiving in minutes. The SLA based job scheduling is very intuitive. The only negative or less appropriate usage I can think of would be the instantiation piece. It takes several hours to instantiate one VM to a cloud environment. This could be our lack of bandwidth, but it is only feasible for a long term DR scenario.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
November 09, 2018
Darryl Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the whole University to backup all production services. Initially all data will be stored on-site within the Rubrik appliances, then a secondary copy will be sent to the cloud.

Our Rubrik system currently backs-up all our Windows Linux Operating Systems, which are physical, VMWare environment, and SQL Services. The Rubrik agent that is required to install locally on physical servers and SQL is very lightweight: the agent installation file size is only 14MB.

After the Rubrik appliances were racked and connected, it only took less than 2 hours to deploy Rubrik and also to configure the environment ready to start backing up data. The Rubrik appliances use Erasure Encoding for redundancy, and it also maintains itself, self heals, and optimises. Rubrik encrypts data at rest, in-flight and in archive. The Rubik interface does not require any fancy software installed or Java, it uses a standard browser that supports HTML. Rubrik fully supports APIs, there is a repository available for Rubrik customers to share their code.
  • Rapid Recovery of VMs and SQL services -- recover a second and have it up and running within 30 seconds.
  • Simplicity
  • Reduced TCO costs over a 5 year period
  • Reduction of maintenance - a previous backup system had several was installed on Windows Server which needed to be maintained and patched as well as the backup software. No tape library and no tapes.
  • Uses HTML5
  • Searching for data is an ease with Rubrik
  • Currently does not backup active directory objects
Contacting support has been a great experience, Rubrik upgraded our software remotely via a Support Tunnel which can be enabled within the HTML5 interface.
Read Darryl Wilson's full review
October 19, 2018
Sean Wolfe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used for our enterprise systems providing protection for all of our internal systems. It provides protection and the ability to recover our systems in a DR scenario. It protects all of our VMWare, physical windows/Linux, AIX, and NAS shares. The product provides us the ability to instantly recover VMS reducing impact in scenarios when recovery is needed.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • Fast VM recovery times
  • Great technical support when issues arise
  • Pricing. Instead of sticking with an "all in one bundle", they recently have started putting prices on new features in the product. While some are understandable to add additional charges, expansion of the base functionality is not one of those that should require an additional cost
  • Global Pane of Glass for Management. Its available but does not yet give provide full multisite management (plus this is an additional cost)
  • Supportability of applications are limited but are growing. Its new so its understood but they seem to be pumping out new functionality with every release
For most smaller to medium environments, it fits perfectly and provides a great solution for backup/recovery. It is easy to use/manage and reduces man-hours while improving protection. For larger environments, it will possibly be a hit or miss for a complete solution and provide closer to 80% coverage so two products would have to be run for backups and recovery.
Read Sean Wolfe's full review
September 27, 2018
Craig Goodspeed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used to consolidate the multiple data protection software application that each required a fair amount of interactions to keep things working properly. Putting Rubrik in place has already cut the amount of regular troubleshooting tasks of the previous software platforms in half, and we have only been able to retire one of the platforms that were using.
  • The Rubrik appliance is easy and a joy to setup.
  • Configuring protection is very intuitive.
  • Restoring files, VMs, or databases is very simple.
  • When they added the VLAN functionality the management interface responds on all IPs, we should be able to lock management to specific interfaces.
Rubrik is well suited for most serious where the business wants to take data protection seriously. A less appropriate scenario is a business that doesn't have the knowledge or money to properly protect their data and instead rely on personnel to "come up with something".
Read Craig Goodspeed's full review
November 06, 2018
Brian Forst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Rubrik for enterprise backups and DR. We use Backup with offsite Replication, and archival abilities, to allow us to be versatile with our data and provide assurance that we can can recover our data both quickly and confidently. This is managed by our IT departments for Virtual\Physical\Application (SQL, Oracle, Exchange) environments. This product addresses a lot of issues we have faced over the years. With previous backup solutions, we'd spend a good amount of time trying to keep our backup solutions running so that we could have consistent backups. However since we have switched to Rubrik, we no longer have that issue, so we can focus on the company data rather than the backup application reliability. With its ability to have multiple destinations to comply with company SLA's in regards to backups and DR, we can move forward with an improved DR plan. With previous backup solutions, we could not have multiple targets or had to rely on tape backups, and we had to hire another company to take them every day and store them.
  • Performance: with its ingest speeds, as well as its block level dedupe and compression, we can store a large amount of data with a small footprint in our data centers.
  • One Console to rule them all provides convenience and simplicity without sacrificing its abilities.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • I would like to see a little more improvement on the user management (though currently it's not bad.) Just so we could get a little more granular with specific users.
Virtual Environments are where it shines; SQL and Oracle also work very well. This is not an appropriate product if you are running a lot of physical machines on older Operating Systems, however this is normal for most newer backup solutions.
Read Brian Forst's full review
September 28, 2018
Toby Tapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Protecting Tier 1 applications so we can achieve less than our required 1 hour RTO.
  • Protects SQL databases well. Gives our DBA's a lot of flexibility. Can live mount a SQL database directly off the Rubrik.
  • Really shines protecting virtual machines. Gives the ability to Instantly mount a previous backup and run it. Reduces the time to getting a server up to minutes.
  • Ease of use. The UI is very easy to use. Servers, folders or files can be easily searched and restored.
  • Customer can upgrade cluster. The upgrade process is very easy and straight forward.
  • Needs to have the ability to retain a single or multiple backups for longer than defined in SLA.
  • Needs to have the ability to restore multiple items at once.
  • Would like to see a way to live mount a backup of a physical server. Kind of like P2V.
Rubrik is well suited for any backup scenario.
Read Toby Tapp's full review
September 14, 2018
Shawn Constable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are transitioning off of a competitor's backup product to Rubrik. We chose Rubrik due to the ease of use and the support for multiple cloud options for backup and Archiving and long-term retention.
  • Use a Cloud Installation to backup cloud data.
  • Multi-cloud support for Archiving
  • No Need for tapes
  • Very easy to use
  • API Driven
  • More granular policies
  • Cloud-based data lifecycle management.
  • Multi-system management (In beta now)
Small to Medium Businesses. Anyone with backup needs should look at Rubrik.
Read Shawn Constable's full review
March 22, 2018
Brandon Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik automatically schedules and backs up our entire IT infrastructure, from VMWare virtual machines to physical servers and appliances. It is used in Information Technology by most of the IT users. It addresses specifically the need to backup platforms like SQL very frequently, but also hold long term and legal hold data as well.
  • Just works
  • Automatically balanced schedule
  • Instant live mounts of virtual machines
  • Lack of native AD/Sharepoint/Exchange tools
  • No batch recovery without using API calls
Rubrik covers a VM environment perfectly, but does lack some support for edge use cases such as SQL Filestreams, Postgres, or other lesser used technologies. Their approach was to get the majority of data in those features first, then work their way down to lesser used workloads. It works great as a backup platform you do not wish to babysit.
Read Brandon Morris's full review
March 06, 2018
Paul Sheard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used to backup the virtual infrastructure of our large IT department. It is not used across the whole organization yet, however other departments have paid us a visit to see Rubrik in real world use.Rubrik address's our previous backup sprawl, reliance on tapes, replication and rapid access to our test and development resources.
  • Unlimited, nondisruptive replication that is asynchronous, deduplicated, WAN-efficient, with zero impact on our production environments.
  • Disaster Recovery: With near-zero RTOs
  • The Rubrik appliance can handle multiple VM "live"mounts without any noticeable performance degradation
  • The UI is built on a REST API framework with a cool HTML5 web user interface
  • More customizable detail on ingestion and backup rates.
  • More reporting options.
  • More company blogging on cool ideas for Rubrik API use and Interaction. Also Automation ideas.
Rubrik is more than well suited to an IT department which may have previously used a product such as Veeam. Oracle backup is doable but not perfect. And support for legacy OS's such as Solaris would be welcome.
Read Paul Sheard's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (56)
8.3
Live recovery (63)
8.7
Recovery verification (51)
8.2
Business application protection (56)
8.1
Multiple backup destinations (59)
8.6
Incremental backup identification (56)
8.1
Backup to the cloud (55)
9.1
Deduplication and file compression (61)
8.2
Snapshots (62)
8.3
Flexible deployment (56)
8.6
Management dashboard (63)
8.2
Platform support (61)
8.6
Retention options (63)
9.0
Encryption (55)
9.1

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Its software is also designed to be vendor-agnostic, and supports the most commonly used operating systems, databases, hypervisors, clouds, and SaaS applications. And while you can utilize Rubrik’s software completely on the cloud, Rubrik also integrates with on-premises hardware, and even provides their own proprietary Rubrik appliances.

Key Features

Policy-driven
Rubrik functions through a single policy engine that orchestrates service level agreements (SLAs) across the data lifecycle. Management is automated across hybrid and multi-cloud environments with one programmatic interface.

Analytics & Reporting
Rubrik’s software creates customized reports and data visualizations for user’s platforms on operational efficiency, compliance, and capacity utilization.

Security & Compliance
Data stored and backed up through Rubrik is secured in-transit and at-rest throughout its lifecycle, regardless of location. Rubrik delivers granular role-based access control while automating compliance reporting to complete various industry and internal audits. Users can quickly recover from ransomware through immutable backups native to the platform.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Rubrik Video

All Your Apps. Instantly Available.

Rubrik Competitors

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Rubrik Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:NA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported Languages: English