Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.4
    94%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.7
    87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

208 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

What is Veeam on IBM Cloud?

Veeam on IBM Cloud promises to provide continuous availability to enterprise clients through its combined and automated backup and recovery solution. Veeam is deployed in the user's IBM Cloud environment for: · Agentless image-based backups · Recovery of entire VMs, individual files,…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(221)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 135)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik as our backup solution. The ease of the use and knowing that Rubrik is a solid company gives us great peace of mind about the safety and reliability of our data. It is easily configurable and the immutability of the data gives us a solid handle of our data.
  • Backing up the data
  • allows control over that datda
  • security
  • The cost is high
  • Their helpdesk is sufficient but sometimes slow to respond
  • Right sizing may be off always go bigger
It is great for backing up and storing data. With a less expensive platform they would attract more smaller companies.
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.
  • Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology
  • Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data
  • Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage
  • 0 day local retention of VMs. It keeps atleast one copy of VM on local brik
  • No way to assign a specific encryption key for a specific VM
  • Some Disk Consolidation and Deduplication issues.
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized environments. While it supports taking file share backups the process is not as intuitive as VM level backups. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud-ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We first implemented Rubrik CDM completely on-premise and switched to Rubrik Security Cloud (RSC) in 2023.

Backup data is still on-premise, but due to the metadata being analyzed by RSC, this enables us to fully scan our backups for viruses, worms and ransomware without affecting the performance of the production systems.

RSC also learns what is a normal behaviour of a server (in terms of how many files change, are added, deleted, etc.) and informs the user on malicious behaviour. Additionally the user is able to define his own rules (e.g. YARA rules, hashes, regex) to hunt for specific threats.Sensitive, unencrypted data can also be automatically discovered (like customer or payment data). Also customizable by the user.

Besides VMs, Rubrik can backup nearly every critical asset, like physical servers, databases, network shares, cloud ressources and lots more.

Though Rubrik offers a lot of features implemetation and administration is an easy task. UIs are intuitive and there are many assistants guiding the user through the tasks.

Due to the intuitive UI, I was able to teach other colleagues how to use RSC in no time and keeping it up-to-date is also very convenient.
  • Backup
  • Recovery
  • Secure backed-up data
  • Scan for malicious files and behaviour
  • Lack of white listings for false-positive findings
  • Support more open-source databases
  • Backup client OS
Rubrik is clearly made for protecting enterprises at ease. I never used a backup product before, that is so intuitive and demands such less administration. It just works! It is really feature rich and innovative. The only downside could be pricing, so it may not be suitable for small companies. Pricing is mostly dependent on the amount of data to protect.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik just works...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev refreshes. The instant recovery feature really saves us a lot of time and resources when a user simply needs to recover data from a single table since we are able to give them a point in time copy of the database within minutes versus trying to find a server with the right software versions and storage to do a full restore which might take hours.
  • It just works right out of the box. No customizations were needed to start using.
  • It protects several types of databases such as IBM DB2 that are not protected by competing products.
  • The Rubrik Support team is very knowledgeable and responsive to our issues.
  • There is not yet a point-click recovery of IBM DB2 databases through the GUI, so it would be nice to see this developed.
  • The RSC console is lacking a few features that were available in the local CDM consoles, but Rubrik is constantly improving the RSC since all future development and new features will be added.
  • The feature to Live-mount an Oracle database is challenging for various reasons, so there could be some improvement there.
We installed Rubrik and were able to start using it immediately without having to make any customizations or special tuning. We installed agents and backed up databases without any noticeable impact. Patches and upgrades have been applied without any issues.
Compared to the previous product we used, which we worked with for nearly two years tuning, upgrading, and more tuning just to try to get it working, and every patch broke it, sometimes taking days to resolve.
Rubrik has been a great partner and is adding new features and functionality, and their support team has been very knowledgeable and responsive.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly micromanaged. It is also giving us the confidence that our data is completely protected and secure. Furthermore we know we can have immediate access to the data by leveraging technologies such as instant restore.
  • Easy to find your way around the GUI
  • Reliable
  • Easy to implement
  • Does its job without any unnecessary overhead in administration
  • A bit pricey
  • Cannot backup client OS
365 backups can be recovered into a selected person's OneDrive which saves time when recovering something for the ServiceDesk.
March 20, 2024

Amazing simplicity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is great because in an international context like our, we do not see any maintenance window when operating around the clock. So Rubrik will decide when this is best to do start backup jobs based on its own analysis and the SLA that we impose on the system.

Another great advantage of using Rubrik is the massive savings in terms of storage. The file system is so advanced that savings are huge.
  • Storage savings using dedupe, compression and erasure coding
  • Define SLA to have backup jobs started, no time need to be defined
  • Scale out capabilities
  • 10 GE is mandatory, I think in some environment 1 Gbps could be used
  • Entry ticket is high, but once you growth, it is reduced
  • Lack of end user laptop support (officially)
Rubrik works very well in virtualized environments. They are starting to hit the physical world too. I have tested their connector on physical hosts and this is very promising. I'm actually looking forward to deploying such connectors on a larger laptop park. It would be nice to have the ability to backup endusers machine on-prem and get rid of Druva.
March 18, 2024

Rubrik

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help protect us against attacks. This will allow us to be able to protect all involved. It is very important, and protection for all our offices are the top priority.
  • Recovery from Ransomware
  • Cyber Security
  • Protection of threats
  • More information on possible recovery
  • More training
  • Getting everything quicker to get started.
We are working with Rubrik now to get installed. They have been very accommodating to get everything situated and getting all the time needed. We have had many calls to get schedules in place, and the whole team has been very helpful to the best of their ability. They are wonderful to work with.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to backup our on-prem environment which consists of a purely virtualized VMware environment onto a Rubrik appliance. These backups are replicated to a DR location with another physical appliance. We also use Rubrik Cloud backups to backup our Azure DevOps environment and our Microsoft 365 data including user accounts and SharePoint online.
  • Backup and Restore of Virtual Machines
  • Ease of use
  • Microsoft 365 Backups
  • Replication of backups
  • Status reporting
  • Restore process for Microsoft 365 data could be better
Rubrik is great at backing up and restoring Virtual Machines in a VMware environment. The process works easily and pretty much without failure. The live mount process works well to get a VM back up and running quickly and then migrating it back to the production environment. The replication process to replicate the backups offsite to our secondary Rubrik appliance also works great. The backup of Microsoft 365 data seems to work great, but the restore process has some room for improvement.
March 18, 2024

Initial Thoughts!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the ransomware detection software in Rubrik to look for any abnormalities constantly. We appreciate the ZeroTrust policy so we know that no changes can be made by a single user or accidentally. Having Rubrik give us an all around piece of mind.
  • Bare Metal Backups
  • Ransomware Investigation
  • Support is amazing and fast response
  • File Anomaly Detection
  • So far, haven't ran into any issues
Rubrik has provided an all-encompassing backup solution for our organization. It has help us catch potential threats with the automatic file anomaly detection. Their level of support as been fast and very helpful. We haven't had Rubrik very long but we have been very happy with the seamless integration and support!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is being used across all of our organization. This addresses the need that we had for a scalable backup product that sits in our data center. We also wanted it to be able to tier to cloud. We appreciate the API’s and will be using that further in the future.
  • Scale out.
  • Modern.
  • Integration through API.
  • Young company.
  • The UI could use a bit more work.
  • Terminology needs to be simplified for end users.
We really like the use in the VMware environment. We can trust that all VM’s will be backed up with at least the minimum policy. We also can adjust that policy to give the critical business functions higher importance and priority. Since they are fairly new, not all features are fully baked. Oracle has a way to go before it would be best on market.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the capabilities we needed for our MS SQL and we were not happy with our legacy on-prem backup solution. After we implemented Rubrik we were able to configure Rback controls and allow the users to manage their backups and restores without the involvement of the corporate IT department
  • Policy based configuration
  • zero trust architecture
  • Role based security
  • Cyber Recovery
  • maybe some tweaking on the GUI
I like it for almost all scenarios but we like the backup integration with VMware.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is used to protect all of our critical data on-prem and in the cloud. The platform gives us confidence in our data protection and recoverability. We are a long term customer an have found the platform to be reliable and intuitive. The product ticks all of our boxes for data protection and Rubrik are continually improving the product.
  • Fast Backups
  • Fast Restores
  • Great Support Teams
  • Improve search functionality
  • Option to spread load during an SLA window
  • Launch on cloud improvements
The product ease of use and has comprehensive data protection from a range of sources and top notch support teams. Integration with things like Oracle and SQL databases is great, and has the ability to restore, clone or export to any point in time of the SLA. Also, being able to archive backup data to the cloud, with specific retention periods is a nice feature.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Helping us ensure backups are complete, reliable and on-time, we're also secure in the knowledge that our workloads are backed up in multiple locations, both on and off prem.

We use Rubrik to ensure continuity of backups, the vulnerability scanning, threat detection and ability to scan for suspicious files and activity helps us in being confident our data is secure against external threats and the potential of being held to ransom.
  • Standard backups of a variety of workloads
  • Suspicious activity detection
  • Support
  • Multiple site backup locations
  • Initial sizing of the product
  • Helping customer understand how Rubrik treats growth rates
  • Could be easier to clear up 'relic' data
Rubrik have been really approachable, happy to discuss any issues we might have and support has always got to the bottom of any problems we've had. The product itself is very user friendly, simple to use and also looks great! Every feature we've had to utilise so far has just, worked, and worked as expected as well (always a bonus!) The materials available for study of the products and getting involved with Rubrik (think, swag, customer engagement) has also been a plus point.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Data Protection software for disaster recovery and recently switched over to using Rubrik. The scale out architecture is very appealing along with the “single pane” view of the multiple clusters. The support for other applications such as SQL and Oracle has allowed us to replace multiple products with a single product.
  • Deployment and periodic upgrades the the agent (RBS)
  • Single pane of glass view through the Rubrik Security Cloud
  • Protecting data through air gapped immutable erasure coding
  • More granular control of permissions in the custom RBAC
  • quiescing I/O to Archival Location when pausing (instead of the pause causing all scheduled archive jobs to start canceling, which in turn generates tons of I/O)
  • Direct support to Fibre Attached Tape Library
Rubrik is still a relatively new product when compared to other solutions which tackle total data protection. The feature set is quite broad but still needs some refinements. Most of the User Interface is quite straightforward and easy, but some areas are a bit lacking in a description of what the option is used for, or the option is missing. While making the user experience easy, many tunables aren’t present and require a Support Tunnel to be open for a Support person to make a change in the customer’s environment. Seems the first question Support always asks is if you can open a tunnel for them to remote in. Then you’re not able to monitor exactly what they’re doing.
Chris Armitage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik for our Backup requirements as well as part of our DR plan. It is also used for security monitoring, threat hunting, and making sure we stay compliant with GDPR by knowing where our sensitive data is stored and kept. We've also used Rubrik to recover from an actual cyber attack during the challenging times of the COVID-19 pandemic. With its immutable storage and ease of use, be it via the CDM (on-site Briks) or the use of the RSC (Formerly Polaris), we were able to recover all our data with relevant ease.
  • Secure backups using immutable storage.
  • Single pane of glass to see your Backup environment via the RSC (Polaris).
  • Threat Hunting.
  • Orchestrated recovery to allow the use fo creating automated DR plans for recovery and/or testing.
  • Sensitive Data, making sure we can stay compliant with GDPR.
  • n/a
Rubrik does a fantastic job of keeping most, if not everything, simple. The UI is always easy to use and find a way around. The ease of backing up your data means you can focus on other tasks at hand, and with the various tools now available (Threat Hunting, Sensitive Data, Orchestrated Recovery) it means you can do more with those backups to improve your business and make sure the data is safe and recoverable.
Mark Bowen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all our virtualization systems, Azure VMs, Azure SQL, and M365 data. We are using Radar and Sonar for data security and ransomware protection through threat hunting and anomaly detection. We hope to soon start working with app flows to assist with our disaster recovery plans too.
  • Simplicity. Sometimes it can be hard to make a system simple to use but Rubrik is.
  • Speed of backup and recovery is excellent.
  • Engagement from Rubrik with us has been superb.
  • Id like to see Storage Account protection included in Polaris
  • A clear indication of files that have been deleted in a time range would be handy when performing file-level restores.
  • Automated backup validations would be a nice built-in feature, currently, this is a manual process for us.
Rubrik is well suited for enterprise-size organizations, I don't think it would be suited to small businesses. This is a personal opinion as I work in an enterprise-scale organization and it works well for us. If you have to buy Briks I am not sure the same could be said for smaller-scale operations.
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night. The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.
  • Fast recovery.
  • Compression algorithms.
  • Backup recovery.
  • Fast mount point for virtual machines.
  • Quick integration with AWS.
  • Monitoring.
  • GUI design and functionality.
  • Solaris backup.
  • Longer SLA retention rather than just 999 days.
It is a well-curated technology that caters to the needs of some industries and companies who are looking for an easy to use, understandable and manageable platform. It is well suited for almost any industry. Support is fast and the customer relationship is great. The level of support and troubleshooting are the best.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have two Rubrik clusters installed at 2 locations with multiple edge devices in other states. We use it to back up the majority of our servers as well as SQL systems. The [ease] of use makes recovery very easy and one less thing to really worry about. It's pretty quick and painless. The DBA's also use it to copy prod data as a refresh method which they can then do themselves. There have been some challenges but [it's] still night and day better than what we were using.
  • Backups - it's what they started out doing and still at the core.
  • SLA Domains make life a breeze and can save you from yourself as a general catchall when new servers are introduced into the environment unexpectedly.
  • [The] user interface is very straightforward and helps to identify any issues.
  • When there is an issue, support reaches out in a timely manor.
  • We are having a slow GUI response issue right now that has been hard to pin down.
  • Replication times need to be improved. When DBAs take a snap it takes a while for it to be replicated over so they can then pull from there for testing.
  • Support turnover has been an issue. They've let some quality help go and it's hurt us and them.
All issues aside, I'd still recommend Rubrik all day long. The product simply works and does the core function really well. Management is able to get in the interface, look around and have a good general idea that everything is going ahead as planned. On the admin side [it's] really easy to work with and for the most part, everything makes perfect sense.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to backup and replicate between several states using 2 physical clusters and 3 virtual devices. It is our go to solution for recovery and business continuity. It is our secondary solution for disaster recovery. We currently use organizations to allow all our DBAs to backup up SQL to Rubrik. We have one Windows Oracle team using managed volumes for backup.
  • Support is competent and very responsive.
  • Restores very easy and quick. The Briks themselves are robust enough to handle a workload while the live mounts are being migrated to permanent storage.
  • Customer feedback and feature implementation.
  • Ransomware investigations
  • I honestly want Rubrik to focus on what they do best. CDM was introduced and IMO it isn't robust enough for this feature.
  • I would like better API documentation.
  • I'd like to see more granular control of SLA retentions.
Lately Rubrik has emerged as one of the top applications for ransomware investigations. However, there is some fine tuning that hopefully will happen with time.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik will adress ransomware by it immutability, detection, data sensibility. All feature that will help us to have a better data security. Also Dr orchestration will help us to reduce significiant time consuming action and our Dr will be faster with all there automation process possible with Rubrik.
  • Ramsomware protection
  • Ransomware detection
  • DR orchestration
  • Automatic protection
  • Data sensitive discovery
  • GCP compatibility
  • French support
  • Some dark feature not documented
Rubrik web interface simpicity and integration help to save time to backup admin
David Riberdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.
  • VMware backups are done really well and super efficiently.
  • The general ease of installation of the entire product.
  • The APIs could be a little easier to exploit.
  • The interface could use a little work.
  • As they move to the Cloud, some support options are a little lacking
VMware environments would be a great fit for Rubrik. They have now also branched out into Acropolis, Hyper-V, and managing AWS backups as well. This product could be used in a lot of types of environments, from small to Enterprise, as they have a footprint to fit all of those and everything in between.
Kevin Mortimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We’re using Rubrik to eradicate tapes from our environment backing up NAS, VMware, HyperV, and Nutanix. It’s a central IT service for all infrastructure provided to our business. It brings a rapid restore capability compared to tape which took days to get back and that’s just the tape let alone the restore process.
  • Instant recovery
  • Cloud out technology
  • Backs up everything we have needed to!
  • Ransomware detection
  • Immutable backups
  • Hyper scale
  • Better integration in AHV
It’s perfect for hypervisor backups of VMs. The expansion into cloud backups has been instrumental for our cyber posture
September 02, 2023

Just a great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily purchased this for Backup and Disaster recovery, however we now use this for backing up cloud items and ransomware and sensitive data discovery. We are able to focus resource on other tasks due to the simplicity of administering the product.
  • Back up of cloud vendor support
  • Dashboard information
  • Backup SLA simplicity
  • RSC can get out of sync sometimes.
Rubrik has great support for most backup scenarios on premise and cloud, and if you are a small team with big infrastructure then I think this fits perfectly, there aren't many areas where you can really be complex which may not be for everyone if you have some really specific needs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to backup all of our VMs daily from our vSphere environment. We also have weekly reports from Rubrik that 's coming to our email. Apart from the Brick or the appliance we also use Data Protection, Ransomware Monitoring and Orchestrated Recovery as well in our organization from Rubrik. All the features are so useful to use. We also have O365 protection from Rubrik.
  • Backup
  • Data Resiliency
  • Ransomware Protection
  • Immutable Data
  • Support team
  • Their Web UI
  • Community based events
Rubrik is most useful for organization with a lot of data to backup and restore. For us, we need Rubrik because all of our data are confidential and government compliance so we need Top level data resiliency tool that would not only store our data but also protect our data from bad actors which is increasingly hacking multiple organization in this day in age.
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Almost 3 years ago we decided the clunky Avamar was too much to manage and to slow to restore. We did a search and comparison and came down to VEEAM and Rubrik. We decided to go with Rubrik even though the cost was higher. Rubrik has a large portfolio, is scalable, and offers cloud archival which we recently added to our installation.
  • Crazy fast restore options
  • Tight integration with vmware for backups
  • Affordable cloud archive backup options
  • Cost is very limiting , renewal is expensive
  • Upgrade costs are higher than expected
Rubrik is great for large enterprises but might not fit the best for smaller sized companies with low backup demands. We have had to restore virtual machines quickly , and Rubrik's quick mount on solid state was tremendous at getting the client back running. The only negative is the mac address changed even though we had checked retain mac. We had to go back into vmware and set it.
Return to navigation