Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.3
    93%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.6
    86%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

189 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Carbonite Server?

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both…

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.6.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(217)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-8 of 8)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.
  • Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology
  • Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data
  • Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage
  • 0 day local retention of VMs. It keeps atleast one copy of VM on local brik
  • No way to assign a specific encryption key for a specific VM
  • Some Disk Consolidation and Deduplication issues.
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized environments. While it supports taking file share backups the process is not as intuitive as VM level backups. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud-ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized.
December 06, 2022

Rubrik CDM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Having used other backup products from other vendors, I was pleasantly surprised just how easy Rubrik is to install, use and support.
It works fantastically well when paired with VMWare vCenter, but also has an agent that can be used for backup independently of VMWare.
  • Easy to install
  • Comprehensive OS coverage
  • Very simple and fast to restore VMs from backup
  • Would like support for more 3rd party products - doesn't currently support MaxDB
  • Would like support for Sybase
  • Great documentation, however, would like to see more
Rubrik is ideally suited to a VMWare environment, where it excels.
Agent based backups also work really well, however, I would like to see additional support options around less mainstream DBs like Sybase and MaxDB.
September 15, 2022

My first year with Rubrik.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Rubrik backs up all our vertex and VM ware servers along with our O365 environment. We have never had backups of SharePoint or of our one drive environment before using Rubrik. Rubrik makes recovery of our exchange environment smoother than we have had in the past (backup exec and Veeam).
  • Restore individual folders within email accounts.
  • Restore individual folders within sharepoint.
  • Restore one drive files.
  • Allow targeted (ie date) related restores.
  • Allow resizing of columns in Polaris.
  • Allow more access to logs after a jobs has failed.
  • Possibility of setting up user defined reports/alerts.
We have never been able to recover email accounts without going to third part suppliers.
Ben Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
When we first reached out to Rubrik, we where looking for a three-pronged solution to our aging backup system.
First was on-premises VMware-based virtual machines, second was Azure-based virtual machines, and third, O365 mailboxes. Not only does Rubrik handle all three for us, but also simplified the setup of an Azure tenant as a DR site, allowing us to close down a secondary datacenter that was previously our DR site.
  • VMware backups
  • O365 mailbox archival and backups
  • VMware to Azure Archival
  • VMware to Azure DR
  • Better communication on licensing models
Support is great, as is the product. Has already saved us multiple times.
George Pickersgill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.
  • Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information.
  • The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free.
  • RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.
  • Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs
Especially suited to medium size companies with large end users on virtual desktop environments - the ease of restoration makes accidental deletions almost impact free.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to backup all our VMs, Datacenters, SPs, and etc. It is used throughout the institution. We wanted Disaster Recovery solutions and instant access to snapshots/files. This product does it all. Rubrik addresses DR across our two campuses with fantastic speed and when you need to live mount or export the data, it is there for you.
  • The UI is beautiful and super easy to use. Very straight forward.
  • Downloading a backup on-prem was super fast.
  • Restoring a server was quick and efficient. Again, the downtime was very minimal.
  • Works Well with Azure.
  • Format support is great.
  • Easy to learn and it's like an Apple Time Machine backup where you can browse for files and mount pretty much instantly.
  • EMC Isilon support is great.
  • Works well with Nutanix.
  • If you have a single Brik, you won't be able to upgrade without downtime to a node.
Rubrik is best for disaster recovery, replications, cloud backups, test development, and peace of mind, etc. It's a great product.
Eric Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to backup and archive all our virtual servers across the whole company.
  • Management is very simple and intuitive
  • Compression and deduplication is incredible
  • It ingests data really fast, reducing the amount of time for backups
  • Archiving is made very simple through the cloud storage integration
  • The restore of application items like emails from Exchange or tables within databases has to be done with a 3rd party software, it's not integrated inside Rubrik
Suited for a virtualized environment where there's over 50VMs because the solution isn't cheap, it's not meant for small business.
March 14, 2018

Best Backup Appliance

Cory Holmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Rubrik is being used by the entire organization and managed by the IT department. We are also a reseller of Rubrik. It addresses our needs to backup our own data center and office locations as well as provide us a platform to provide Backup services to our customers.
  • Very simple platform that is easy to use and can be learned in a few hours.
  • The installation process takes approximately 1-2 hours and is very easy to add an additional brik to the cluster.
  • The recovery time and the ability to search through the cataloged data is extremely fast and efficient to use.
  • Only drawback I have noticed is the ability to backup tape backups to the appliance requires a third party software and support contract.
Rubrik is a great next-generation backup appliance. It allows the ability to dedupe and compress the data to maximize storage efficiency while providing a cataloged index of all files within a backup. This allows the ease of restoring a particular file from a full backup.

Return to navigation