Sage 50cloud Accounting Reviews

116 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 02, 2021
Priya Sadasivam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central)
Kronos was more complex, I felt it wasn't user friendly and always needed help in navigating the portal.
Read Priya Sadasivam's full review
January 22, 2020
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Offers a greater range of features, available on different platforms, more integration and cheaper than Sage but less popular and not a lot of accountants prefer it.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
May 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I did not select Sage50, however, I do prefer it over Zuora. Sage 50 is in line with the easy manipulation of Quickbooks. Sage Intacct is best used for larger corporations whereas Sage 50 and Quickbooks are better tuned for smaller or mid-sized businesses.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used MAS 90 in the past. It was not as easy to use as Sage 50cloud Accounting (formerly 50 Accounting). MAS 90 did not perform as well by any means. MAS 90 seemed to have more screens and "clicks" to get the job done.
Sage 50cloud Accounting (formerly Sage 50 Accounting) is very easy to use for A/P, A/R, Bank balancing, Invoicing, Receiving money, and adding in new info.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Sage back in 2011 and the migration away from Sage is so difficult that we had to stay. I wish I could go back in time and switch to another vendor. Now we feel stuck and the fees are huge! They want a subscription for everything even though they add no reoccurring value.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2017
Jay Barwick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While QuickBooks is a great program, we found Sage to be a better fit for our company. QuickBooks does, however, offer more integration with other software applications and some even require QuickBooks to run.
Read Jay Barwick's full review
March 16, 2016
Reno M. Borgognoni, CPA, CIA, CGMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Microsoft Dynamics GP,Sage 100 ERP,QuickBooks Online,QuickBooks Pro,Sage One
Sage One and QuickBooks Online can only support a micro-business. Microsoft Dynamics is too hard to use. Sage 50 is just right. Sage 100 is the big brother for the larger business needing more depth in the modules.
Read Reno M. Borgognoni, CPA, CIA, CGMA's full review
April 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't really consider any other software besides maybe doing everything in Excel. The thing with Excel though is that we would've had to configure all of the accounting rules so it would have taken a lot of time. Also, being a manual process, errors would have been a lot harder to identify and fix with Excel.
Read this authenticated review
April 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sage 50 has a more professional operation to it, and transactions have to be reversed rather than just erased in QuickBooks. This leads to more confidence in the system when you are using it. I believe that you can do something like this in QuickBooks, but I have had trouble implementing this.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2015
Michelle M. Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we did the conversion almost 10 years ago it is hard to answer this question. At the time it was the ease of being able to produce both cash and accrual financial statements and reporting that led us to pick Sage.
Read Michelle M. Martin's full review
August 19, 2015
Karen Rollins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Navision in a Small to mid-size company and although it was massive it was also time consuming because it was module based. Custom Reporting for the overall view of the company was not regularly at your finger tips. Sage 50 has enough power and features to run the Daily business, forecast for the future and budget for the "Here and Now".
Read Karen Rollins's full review
August 19, 2015
jeffrey burgess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Sage from the Business-works days and became familiar with the name and quality behind it. I have never used a non sage product since the advent of the PC
Read jeffrey burgess's full review
April 03, 2015
Emily Dykema | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MYOB (Mind Your Own Business) is not comprehensive and was not "feature rich" for complex business reporting. It was an entry level accounting program that was used for a very short period of time. Sage 50 Premium Accounting was recommended by our CPA end-of-year tax accountant, so we really didn't compare Sage to anything comparable.
Read Emily Dykema's full review
May 05, 2015
Clay Boykin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As the General Manager for Drake Industries it is critical for me
to have an on-demand snapshot of our business. We are a fast-paced, high turns,
durable custom products printer with hundreds of jobs running through our
production floor each month. To manage this, I need on-demand access to sales
data, customer history, shipments, WIP, aged backlog, product history, etc. The
benefit of Sage 50 is that I have all this tied in with our financial reporting
which enables me to have a snapshot of the business whenever I need it. But the
real benefit is that it’s user friendly, quick and easy to use.
Read Clay Boykin's full review
April 08, 2015
Leanne Borden, CPB | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • QuickBooks Pro,Wave,mas90,PC Law,Accpac,MYOB
Over the years I have used many different forms of accounting software and in my opinion Sage 50 is hands down the best for small business! It is much more reliable than its main competitor QuickBooks because of its audit trail and safety features that protect the data from user errors. I have seen too many messed up books in QuickBooks because it allows the user to post entries erroneously into the wrong year or the wrong account (ie - control accounts, etc.).
Read Leanne Borden, CPB's full review
December 09, 2014
Nellie Jones (MBA) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used large ERP systems that were integrated with Accounting systems and It would be unfair of me to stack them up against each other. However, I have used Quickbooks and Sage is far better and more robust - No question about it. In addition, I am sure that Sage has more potential than what we are currently using it for.
Read Nellie Jones (MBA)'s full review
February 25, 2015
Art Stumpp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks accounting software is a main competitor of Sage 50. Both accounting software packages are complete accounting solutions for businesses and organizations. I prefer Sage 50 over QuickBooks software because Sage 50 actually closes out the income and expense accounts from a previous year before it begins a new year. If non-accountants make changes to prior year statements, it tends to drive the accountants crazy. One can get to previous years' statements in a company archived file in Sage 50.
Read Art Stumpp's full review
November 18, 2014
Chris Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've already lists several differences between Sage 50 and QuickBooks. The main difference that users see is indeed the look and feel of the interface. QuickBooks seems to be more intuitive for non-accounting users, while Sage 50 seems to make more sense to accounting-trained users. As for functionality, this is also in the eye of the beholder. On it's own, Sage 50 is a stronger inventory solution, but QuickBooks has thousands of add-ons to choose from to solve all sorts of business needs, including inventory. Sage 50 has very few add-ons, but the ones it has are impressive. When I think either solution would be a good fit for a client, we work backwards, starting with the reporting requirements (because after all, that's what the CEO wants) and go from there to find what will be the best fit.
Read Chris Steele's full review
June 07, 2014
Victor Sila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Quickbooks in my previous Corporation, and even I still use it for keeping books for some other small businesses. But the companies provided me with the historical data in Quickbooks and it is not easy to convert QB data in Sage 50 format, always the historical data. I have tried some free packages, such as Wave, but there is no comparison to Sage 50.
Read Victor Sila's full review
August 04, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used mainframe type programs with more bells and whistles than Sage 50. For what we do, that expensive software is a waste of money. Sage 50 is a solid program. I have used QuickBooks and they have online software that is an advantage. But it's not as good in ways an accountant would like. Most business owners that use QuickBooks need to send their reports to an accountant to put into a usable format for tax. That's the advantage an accountant or bookkeeper has in an organization regardless of the software used.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2014
Lisa Kuta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

An easier system for users to use, as well as the price point is one of the best for off the shelf pricing.
Read Lisa Kuta's full review
June 03, 2014
Roxann Satterfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks contractor version does not provide good job costing reports. Also, the journal entry feature is not set up for entry of items. Intuit has some work to do to compared to Sage 50 products.
Read Roxann Satterfield's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (12)
7.1
Benefit plan administration (9)
7.1
Direct deposit files (9)
5.1
Salary revision and increment management (11)
5.6
Reimbursement management (11)
5.1
API for custom integration (7)
9.5
Plug-ins (8)
5.0
Single sign-on capability (16)
8.8
Role-based user permissions (16)
8.9
Dashboards (18)
8.3
Standard reports (19)
8.2
Custom reports (18)
6.7
Accounts payable (21)
8.8
Accounts receivable (20)
8.6
Cash management (20)
8.8
Bank reconciliation (20)
8.5
Expense management (20)
8.3
Time tracking (11)
6.7
Fixed asset management (12)
8.0
Multi-currency support (8)
4.8
Multi-division support (9)
5.9
Regulations compliance (8)
7.2
Electronic tax filing (6)
6.2
Self-service portal (6)
3.1
Global Financial Support (3)
3.1
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
4.1
Intercompany Accounting (4)
7.0
Localizations (3)
7.4
Journals and Reconciliations (9)
8.3
Enterprise Accounting (4)
7.2
Configurable Accounting (4)
8.1
Centralized Rules Framework (2)
7.5
Standardized Processes (7)
8.9
Inventory tracking (14)
7.1
Automatic reordering (8)
6.9
Location management (5)
7.0
Manufacturing module (6)
5.0
Pricing (12)
6.8
Order entry (14)
8.0
Credit card processing (9)
8.0
Cost of goods sold (13)
6.8
Order Orchestration (3)
3.6
End-to-end order visibility (3)
3.6
Order exception Resolution (3)
3.6

What is Sage 50cloud Accounting?

Sage 50cloud Accounting (formerly Sage 50 Accounting, and formerly Peachtree), is an accounting software designed for small businesses. Sage 50cloud Accounting includes expense management, payroll, reporting, invoicing, and sales optimization features. It also enables cloud backup and integration with Microsoft Office Premium. The product can also integrate with other Sage products, including Payroll and Payment Solutions. It is sold on an annual or monthly basis.
Categories:  Accounting

Sage 50cloud Accounting Features

Has featureGet paid fast. Create quotes and sales orders, invoice customers and make sure they pay on time. Process credit cards to get paid even faster.
Has featureKeep control of expenses. Record bills, write checks and keep track of credits and returns. Analyze vendors to negotiate the best prices and reduce costs.
Has featureBe smart about managing money. Forecast cash needs now and into the future. Run ñwhat ifî scenarios and adjust cash in and cash out to cover upcoming expenses.
Has featurePlan and track inventory. Keep track of on-hands, issue automatic POs when inventory drops, and track performance of products and services.
Has featureManage jobs and projects. Break large jobs into phases, tracks costs by the phase and cost code, and bill as the job progresses.
Has featureAdd more users and controls whenever your growing business is ready.

Sage 50cloud Accounting Video

Sage 50cloud Accounting Integrations

Spoom (formerly Analyza), Deltek TrafficLIVE, Projector PSA, QuoteWerks, Sage Payroll Solutions, Sage Payment Solutions, Sage Checks and Forms, Sage Mobile Sales

Sage 50cloud Accounting Competitors

Priority AccountEdge, QuickBooks Pro, QuickBooks Premium, QuickBooks Enterprises

Sage 50cloud Accounting Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Sage 50 Pro Accounting$299Per year
Sage 50 Premium Accounting$449Per Year
Sage 50 Quantum Accounting 3 UserStarting at $1,499Per year

Annual traditional plan with license, monthly, and annual subscription plans available.

Sage 50cloud Accounting Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
90%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
0%

Sage 50cloud Accounting Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Sage 50cloud Accounting Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Countries:United States of America
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Sage 50cloud Accounting?

Sage 50cloud Accounting (formerly Sage 50 Accounting) is accounting software designed for small businesses. Sage 50cloud Accounting (formerly Sage 50, and formerly Peachtree) lets businesses invoice customers, pay bills, manage inventory, control costs, and pay employees. The solution includes high-level dashboards and in-depth reports.

What is Sage 50cloud Accounting's best feature?

Reviewers rate API for custom integration highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Sage 50cloud Accounting?

The most common users of Sage 50cloud Accounting are from Small Businesses and the Accounting industry.