Salesforce Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2501 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Stephanie Gaughen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2013

Best CRM On the Market But Only When Implementation and Training Handled With Care

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
Make sure you have the system requirements well defined. Make sure executives understand the importance of this to the success of Salesforce or any CRM. If you don't understand the requirements, you won't make the best decision for your needs. That can cost you a lot of money and wasted time.
Read Stephanie Gaughen's full review
Rob Gottschalk | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2013

Dominant CRM leader.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
Executive involvement is critical. Make sure you have a good handle on the metrics you would like to ultimately manage. Work as a team to document your business requirements. Whiteboard often. Understand Salesforce's best practice capabilities.

Have a central person identified to handle all report and analysis requests (ie - don't allow multiple people to create reports; have one person create reports and distribute them to decision makers via the Salesforce dashboard or whatever form). Make sure you understand critical dates and develop the project plan accordingly.
Read Rob Gottschalk's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Salesforce.com enables org-wide efficiencies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
Just from an organizational standpoint - we standardized our data prior to moving to Salesforce. But we essentially standardized it wrong. That's created a big disgusting mess for us know that I'll have to deal with as the Admin. Be sure you think through use cases prior to doing something like that - seek outside opinions on how the data will work best, especially depending on what else you're going to integrate with Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2015

Indispensable platform.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

5
I can speak about the experiences I had with the previous company. The company and the professional services firm rushed into implementation, and as a result there were tons and tons of duplicates in the system. Data migration was a mess. We had to refrain from using some of the core functionality of Salesforce until we got the data cleaned up. Without clean data, any system is useless.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

Heavy reporting capabilities lacking.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

Regional vendor had the technical chops to implement

As with most projects, defining and aligning business processes prior to implementation is key
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2015

Great contact management for sales and marketing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
Check your Consultants out before they start an implementation project. Be sure they have actually done at least several successful implementations in the areas you are asking them to implement. Check references for their strengths and weaknesses. Clearly define the scope of the project and hold regular weekly meetings to make sure both sides are adhering to that scope.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2013

Use a good consulting company to get the most from it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

7
I implemented the system myself. Frankly, I would have liked more help. I expressed dissatisfaction with the process and with the fact that I was not getting any real help from Salesforce, and eventually they assigned me a quality consultant who was excellent at advising on best-practices / features that we might not have considered using etc.

However, I was only assigned this resource because I complained loudly enough. It's not a standard part of their offering.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2012

Switched from MS CRM to reap benefits of SaaS.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

6
One of the consultants screwed up the field names and there are still field name inconsistencies throughout the system. Premium support contract actually covered this and would have been a much better option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2012

Great for opportunity tracking. Lack of trend analysis is a pain.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
We tried implementing ourselvesand my satisfaction with that was a “4”. That increased to an 8 when we got outside help. You should plan on having continuing need for Salesforce administrative help as, even after initial implementation, what you need and want from the product will grow, expand and change with the business

Spend some time at the beginning of the implementation to really understand what you want to report on after its implemented. Spend significant time understanding your work flows within departments and between departments. Resist the temptation, and sometimes the pressure, from upper management, to build a system that captures every bit of information imaginable. Remember that much of that data will be input by high paid sales people and it takes a lot of time. So only plan on capturing data that 1) is truly important to the business rather than a curiously 2) that is reportable and actionable and 3) someone in the organization is on the hook for looking at the reports and taking action. In other words, focus on capturing and reporting on KPIs for the functional heads. Technical implementation is one thing but adoption is critical so have a good plan there. It’s important for each user to understand why time spent inputting data helps THEM as well as the “business”. Lastly, for most businesses its important to start capturing data earlier than you think is required as eventually you are going to want to look at trend data that you simply won’t have if you don’t capture it.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2012

Fantastic product, but requires internal expertise.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

If I were to do it again, I would hire an outside team to analyze my business needs and determine the right path – otherwise you end up doing it piece meal. I have not found someone I really trust yet. There are lots of shops that are good at Salesforce, but most are not good at integrating with mobile devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2012

Good product but needs strong administrator.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

If you do need customization, finding good Salesforce developers is extremely difficult - both people to come work for you and professional services firms. You can find firms, but finding good ones is hard.

Try and stay as vanilla as you can, configure before you code.

Get at least one person in your organization well trained on administration using Salesforce training.

Treat configuration like code. Always test in sandbox. Practice good change control i.e. what configuration changes were made at what time, and limit who can make configuration changes.


Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2012

Provides great visibility into pipeline.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

It was a mixed experience (with Blue Wolf). In the initial phase of project, the project manager and Business Analysts they brought in were not up to snuff. We had a lot of churn on their team initially.

We also worked with a firm called Catapult on integration. I would rate them an 8/10.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2012

Lack of trend analysis is bane of my existence.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

7
Avoid the leads object if you can as:
- Conversion to account contact exclusively is a pain
- Cannot group leads very easily if data entry errors
- Difficult to run reporting.
- Becomes a messy object – no robust transitions.

Start with your process first, then translate into your system, find ways to capture data, and run reporting to see if you have made an impact.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

Love the AppExchange.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

It took a little longer than planned, but I blame us.

Get the portal no matter what. Don’t get the free stuff – it’s a dissatisfier.

Let them (Salesforce.com) do the implementation. I am not that impressed with the partners.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

Almost perfect!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

You really need internally trained people. A new implementation needs business analysts, consultants and a lot of involvement from the business owners. There’s so much that you can use, you need someone to hold you back too and think about how smart it is to do it. This should be the role that a business analyst or consultant plays. This was a problem for us with our services implementation. We just built stuff and didn’t think hard enough about what was required.

For a new, smaller company, you need a Salesforce.com expert but they can be a really good administrator in the business function versus a business analyst in IT. It is probably smart to have a business analyst if you can afford that role.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

Highly customizable is both a plus and minus.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

It is important to ensure that your business processes are well defined.

You also need to define who owns the data who owns certain objects – this is so critical. Data quality in Salesforce.com is so hard. Identifying the owners i.e. person or department is important. It is hard as data ownership transfers during the life of customer. If everybody owns the data, then nobody owns it. Accounts and contacts is a key area. I have seen people using Gamification for managing data (e.g, Bunchball, Hoopla).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

The best CRM available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

No idea - before my time at this company.

I do recommend you go broad on the number of users as will help drive adoption.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

Great at organizing sales process.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
There’s some things you just have to learn as you go along

Plan your organizational use before you start building, and minimum requirements as well. The admin should pre-load in an account set, and the less you can put on individual reps to populate the database, the better.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2012

Relatively easy to use and train, but support is poor.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

Building in incentives to have people use Salesforce.com it very important to help with adoption. New hires follow veterans so it is important that veterans use the system. We have to sell value the value of the system to the sales team i.e. why it matters to them. It is important to attack that right away. I have seen a little bit of what vendors like Bunchball are doing to gamify the adoption of Salesforce.com and I would like to try out one of those programs.

We are running a lot of internal training.

It is also important to have a single point of contact or a small team of experts that people can go to. I get little Salesforce.com questions all the time, but answering them helps people move forward. This is especially important for smaller companies.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (131)
8.9
Workflow management (125)
8.2
Territory management (101)
8.1
Opportunity management (129)
8.8
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (122)
8.2
Contract management (100)
8.3
Quote & order management (94)
7.8
Interaction tracking (110)
8.5
Channel / partner relationship management (87)
8.0
Case management (57)
9.0
Call center management (43)
8.4
Help desk management (47)
8.3
Lead management (118)
8.2
Email marketing (99)
8.0
Task management (113)
8.4
Billing and invoicing management (37)
6.7
Reporting (72)
8.8
Forecasting (112)
8.4
Pipeline visualization (124)
8.9
Customizable reports (127)
9.1
Custom fields (124)
8.7
Custom objects (119)
8.8
Scripting environment (88)
8.3
API for custom integration (102)
8.7
Single sign-on capability (98)
8.8
Role-based user permissions (83)
8.9
Social data (84)
8.2
Social engagement (83)
8.0
Marketing automation (109)
8.5
Compensation management (71)
8.2
Mobile access (115)
7.9

About Salesforce

Salesforce is a web-based CRM application that enables users to forecast revenues and track leads.  It is a leading sales, service, and marketing app. Salesforce.com's Sales (CRM), Service, Platform and Marketing applications are designed to help companies connect with customers, partners, and employees in entirely new ways. According to the vendor, on average, reps using Salesforce see: a +29% increase in sales from greater visibility, +34% increase in sales productivity, and +42% increase in forecast accuracy.

Salesforce Features

Sales Force Automation Features
Has featureCustomer data management / contact management
Has featureWorkflow management
Has featureTerritory management
Has featureOpportunity management
Has featureIntegration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail)
Has featureContract management
Has featureQuote & order management
Has featureInteraction tracking
Has featureChannel / partner relationship management
Customer Service & Support Features
Does not have featureCase management
Does not have featureCall center management
Does not have featureHelp desk management
Marketing Automation Features
Has featureLead management
Has featureEmail marketing
CRM Project Management Features
Has featureTask management
Does not have featureBilling and invoicing management
Has featureReporting
CRM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureForecasting
Has featurePipeline visualization
Has featureCustomizable reports
Customization Features
Has featureCustom fields
Has featureCustom objects
Has featureScripting environment
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Social CRM Features
Has featureSocial data
Has featureSocial engagement
Integrations with 3rd-party Software Features
Has featureMarketing automation
Has featureCompensation management
Platform Features
Has featureMobile access

Salesforce Screenshots

Salesforce Integrations

123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), Act-On Software, Agiloft Flexible Service Desk Suite, Ambassador, Artesian, Autopilot, Buddy Media, PROS Smart CPQ, Connect First Contact Center Solution, Demandbase, OneSpan Sign (formerly eSignLive), Ektron Web Content Management System (Discontinued), Oracle Eloqua, CX Social, eTrigue DemandCenter, SalesGenius, Genoo, HubSpot, InsightSquared Sales Analytics, LeadLife, LoopFuse (discontinued), Mavenlink, Adobe Campaign, Net-Results, Oktopost, Pardot, Aprimo, unbounce, Woopra, Yesware, Zuora, ActiveDEMAND, Lead Liaison Lead Management Automation, Planyo Online Booking System, HG Focus, Aventri (formerly etouches), Makesbridge, Phonedeck, Mautic Marketing Automation, Zoho Creator, Celoxis, HRMSSoft, FieldService360, ReportMiner, Astera Centerprise, LeadBase, ServiceTrade, CallidusCloud CPQ, CallidusCloud CLM, CallidusCloud Sales Enablement, Interactions Digital Roots (formerly ENGAGE), Blacklight, Acquia Platform, Right On Interactive, SnapEngage, Boingnet, Sage Intacct, Allocadia, Projector PSA, Oracle Responsys, Wrike, MindTouch, Fathom Connect, Fathom Analytics, Fathom Q, Fathom Customer Care, Paperless Proposal, AWeber, QuoteWerks, Mycroft Assistant, SmartSearch Document Management, Help.com, Sendinblue, Quick Base, Lead Only

Salesforce Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Salesforce Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No