SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
686 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 62)

Sumeet Saraf | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Is SAP BusinessObjects Good for your company?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Business Objects is currently being used across the whole organisation. It helps users to get instant information for what they are looking for. It helps them to get financial data on the go, maintain all the vendor and dealer information, automate the data, and schedule the reports to the vendors/dealers directly. It's easy to use it for ad-hock queries, easy for understanding the company DB, etc. It's one of the best tools for the company to evaluate data and getting the right information.
  • It can get the right set of information in the format you want out of the whole organisation wide data.
  • It can allow you to automate the data to be shared with internal and external vendors.
  • It allows dashboards, analytics and graphical representation of data for better understanding.
  • The Lumira tool needs to be stabilised.
  • Scheduling of dashboards and analysis need to be simplified.
The tool is best for big and mid size organisations. This one tool can give you a complete picture of the whole organisation's data. It is not good for small scale industries as its license would be a bit expensive.
Read Sumeet Saraf's full review
Dariusz Zyskowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

SAP Business Objects: Review by a Grumpy Old Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects has been a primary BI/Reporting solution for the City of Chicago for the past 14 years. It is being used by all city departments to report off practically all city databases. Available to all city employees via Web Intelligence module, it provides simple AdHoc capabilities, as well as advanced options for power users and developers.
  • Simplicity. It is very easy for a non technical user to create and format a report in Web Intelligence. This is especially true with the new 4.1 release.
  • Report distribution. Several options available, such as FTP, File Location, BO Inbox and Email. Each is very intuitive and simple to use without any confusing, very technical options (ex. Oracle's OBIEE).
  • Scheduling. This is a very important feature that is being used a lot here at the city (over 700 scheduled reports run every night). Very robust scheduling engine that can be easily configured and adjusted by the administrator if needed.
  • Service Pack/Fix Pack reliability. Each SP/FP fixes certain bugs, but unfortunately sometimes messes up other features (problematic upgrade from TOMCAT 5 to 7) which can be very frustrating. That is why we carefully test every one of them in our DEV environment before promoting it to Production/
  • JAVA vulnerability. It appears SAP is slow with latest JAVA client (needed for Web Intelligence report creation/edit) support. This creates issues when users update their JAVA release to the latest version, which is not yet supported by SAP resulting in error messages.
  • Internal reporting on Business Objects environment. You can report against user activity (from the audit tables), but there is no build in tool/capability to report on BO content, users, security environment which is very helpful for the administrators. Third party expensive tools are needed (APOS).
Key question: who is the intended audience? Do you want your regular, non technical users to have report creation capabilities? If so, then BO is a way to go. Developers/Power Users can use other BO tools (Design Studio) to create elaborate, more advanced reports, graphs and dashboards.
Read Dariusz Zyskowski's full review
Priyanka Musale | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2016

Know why customers go for Business Objects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects is used by data stewards in following departments: Marketing, Finance, Business Development, Corporate etc. It is used across the whole organization. It provides data for functional and operational decision systems.
  • Various tools to implement end to end BI, for example: ETL, Reporting, Dashboarding
  • Good connectivity with CRM, ECC and other SAP systems etc
  • Data Security, Visually intuitive, Ease of use
  • Webi, Rich Client, SAP Dashboard, Crystal Reports reporting tool to cover needs of a variety of users
  • SAP should provide free software and licenses for students
  • SAP Extractors are designed by third party, so no support for those
  • Reporting with no semantec layer
SAP Business Objects is suitable for enterprise level implementation because of the variety modules available to cover all aspects of business intelligence and most of the reporting is based on semantic layer. It is less suitable for small sized organizations because of implementation/support cost.
Knowledge articles help me to remediate things on my own, But L1 and L2 support and 24 hours support from Asian countries does not help at all. They are not proactive or mature in their approach.
Read Priyanka Musale's full review
Albano García Pelaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

Business Objects a good option for complex data analysis

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have professional experience in business intelligence. The SAP BO solution can be used in any department of an organization. This system solves any problem regarding data integration or data consolidation. It allows users to analyze information, see trends, and define KPIs with very powerful reporting and visualization tools.
  • It´s a very complete suite, that covers all needs in a BI project - extraction, data consolidation, data warehouse design, report and analysis tools.
  • The dashboard designer is very powerful and it´s an easy way to visually key operational tracking data like KPIs and scorecards.
  • The data services is a very complete tool for data extraction and information consolidation. Allows for multiple connections and workflows.
  • The middleware is very complex, sometimes you don´t know how to configure data connections.
  • The business objects tools are the result of various acquisitions, sometimes the integration between them is not complete.
  • A high level of specialization is necessary to configure BO.
SAP Business Objects is a solid player in the business intelligence market but it´s not a cheaper solution, I think it is a good option for big companies with a complex data structure. Its' greatest strengths are the visualizations tools and must be an important factor in the decision process.
Read Albano García Pelaz's full review
Jody Gitchel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

Great BI platform for organizations with established well-defined data practices, although not for the self-serve visualization era

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my prior organization, SAP Business Objects was the organization's company-wide Business Intelligence platform delivering reporting, ad-hoc reporting, and visualizations to the business. It brought with it a unified approach to delivery, and rapid development while also putting self-serve reporting in the hands of the business users taking full advantage of the universe architecture in 4.1.
  • First and foremost the business presentation layer is top-notch (previously called universes, now called business layers). This architecture provides an object oriented development layer for use across the platform including WebIntelligence, Lumira, Dashboard Designer, and Crystal Reports (Enterprise).
  • Crystal Reports is still a standard among reporting tools, and the next evolution into enterprise is on the right track. Crystal Reports has always been the defacto standard in enterprise reporting and the enterprise version brings with it better integration with Business Objects.
  • The launch pad provides a great delivery mechanism to business users. Security is very granular and easy to maintain, and providing users with their own document space allows each user to maintain their own work spaces.
  • Web Intelligence is a great ad-hoc tool. Users coming from Excel will have enough familiarities to be able to transition easily. It really unlocks a world of opportunities for the normal business user to do analysis and reporting in a controlled manner.
  • Integration with Microsoft Office is great with the newer collaboration of Power Query. The organization was able to move away from cube driven analysis and into self serve dimensional analysis utilizing universes with Excel.
  • To stay relevant, SAP is going to need to introduce a self-serve dashboard tool to compete with the likes of Tableau and other emerging companies.
  • Dashboard Design is SAP's weakest area, in particular Dashboard Designer (formerly XCelsius). This product is very dated and feels like legacy.
  • The development tool integration into the platform as a whole is lacking. Each tool seems to have a different way for connecting and interacting with data and feels a bit broken and non-cohesive.
  • Predictive Analytics could benefit from some attention. Explorer is a decent discovery tool but would benefit from the next generation of whatever it will become and bring better predictive analysis.
For the report centric organization with an established data warehouse that would like to enter the self-service realm, SAP Business Objects is a great platform. For organizations with disparate, unorganized data that wish to gain immediate utilization benefits and self-service analytics from a variety of unestablished sources, your data strategy should either be to spend time devloping a data warehouse and solidifying your data practices, or looking at a tool more suited for this such as Tableau.
Read Jody Gitchel's full review
Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2016

Useful Web Based Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reporting account levels information and statistics, individual level information and statistics, and querying marketing databases for advertising purposes.
  • Well formatted tables of data, similar to an Excel pivot table but for larger data sets.
  • Scheduling tasks to run at a later time or date.
  • Easy formula editing, if someone knows how to use the functions in Excel they'll be able to work with Business Objects formulas.
  • You can't easily run large data sets. Normally you have schedule these projects.
  • You cannot email the result automatically to a regular email user. You can only send them an email to the systems built in Inbox.
  • End users can't create their own computed value/fields, generally you need IT to do that in the back end.
The web version is great because you can use it on any computer. In the past I've used programs that were software based and the problem you run into is if you're using another computer you won't be able to access your projects.
Read Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU's full review
Sarah Cubas | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2016

My experience with SAP BO

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT consult and working for a consulting firm, we typically consult other organizations on SAP and inmost cases we help them to implement and deploy SAP. Sometimes clients do not have a lot of experience with SAP products especially with SAP Business Objects. So our job is to provide support and guide them to better understand the language of SAP.
  • SAP Business Objects reduces total cost of ownership (TCO0 which gives advantage to a better performance and scalability.
  • BI platform.
  • Data exploration.
  • It can cost a lot of money to implement SAP business objects.
  • It can be a little hard to understand the software and the way SAP business objects works.
  • You will need to have plenty of servers to make SAP Business Objects work.
Yes, SAP business Objects can have a better advantage than using Excel. You can create very sophisticated reports and it even works offline to analyze reports. It is less time consuming and more efficient. Web intelligence and ad hoc reporting are available. and the good thing about SAP Business Objects is that it has many functionalities to create very powerful reports.
Read Sarah Cubas's full review
Jérôme Herlevin | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2016

Business Object: Scalable and Easy to use !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a wide organization and we have several ERP systems on top of other local systems. We use Business Objects for operational and management reporting and mixing all of the systems we have.
Key users are making reports available to the whole organization
  • Combine several sources of data
  • Very quick report design
  • Formatting of data.
  • Combine different universes by letting end user define the primary key
For us, it is very appropriate, but more than the tool, the way of implementing is the key to success
Read Jérôme Herlevin's full review
mahesh ray | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2016

Best Reporting tool in the BI Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently SAP Business Objects is being used across organization by different teams like Engineering, Offering, Sales, Marketing and Product Teams.

I have developed multiple canned and ad-hoc reports as per business needs. Basically this serves the purpose of reporting provisioning, billing and usage information of the different offerings Citrix has.
  • Easy to build and debug reports both with OLTP and OLAP data.
  • Multiple features like merging, fetching data from multiple sources and data security are integrated in BO.
  • Easy to share the reports with users by scheduling and publication like features and also it comes with a nice portal, Infoview.
  • SAP BO should have application connectors for applications like Marketo
  • Switching database schemas for the same table should be there.
I have used multiple reporting tools in the market and I like Business Objects the most for financial and marketing reports. BO works like a charm.
Read mahesh ray's full review
Bill Congrove | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2016

sap

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our company for customer SLA reporting and as a method of invoicing. We also use it for internal analytics.
  • Ease of use. Allows non technical end users to be self-sufficient in regards to ad-hoc reporting .
  • Visual aid creation. Allows a more varied approach to presentations.
  • Exporting formats. A variety of formats allows for a wider assortment of uses.
  • Difficult to implement
  • Difficult to create rights for various users
  • Need more format types for exporting.
Great for analytics, poor as a method of invoicing.
Read Bill Congrove's full review
Jessie A. Toro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2015

SAP Business Objects Great for Application Intergrations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects was being used by those who made purchasing decisions.
  • Easy to access reports
  • User friendly and easy to learn
  • Integrates with Microsoft Word
  • Excel reports overlapping with Crystal Reports, which may cause issues with future Excel report updates
SAP Business Objects is perfect for the needs of large organizations and can connect to many data sources.
Read Jessie A. Toro's full review
Carla Simoneau | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2014

SAP Business Objects is a strong choice for an Enterprise reporting solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Business Objects as our Enterprise reporting tool at our organization. SAP Business Objects is used here for analytics, operational reports, supporting external customers through web services, letters, and custom applications. Thousands of batch reports are created nightly to support business operations.
  • The flexibility that BOBJ offers is what sets them apart. We have some pretty complex needs around batching multiple reports and maintaining one schedule. We were able to set this up with a package or publication if we needed it bursted and then have that schedule trigger another batch of reports.
  • We wanted to offer our external clients the ability to access information by calling a web service from their external applications. Using Query as a Web Service we were easily able to offer this to them. The Query as a Web Service client tool is easy to use even for a non-technical user. We have our clients create a report with what they want to see and then we turn it into a web service and let them consume it.
  • We had a need to produce mass amounts of emails to our customers that would give them a summarized view of their accounts. Using the bursting option we were able to produce a single report that is sent monthly to each customer with only their data on the report. We created a custom application that our business could use to maintain a table of email addresses that the report should be sent to each month. This eliminated the need to have IT involved.
  • We are not on the latest version (4.1) yet and would love to get there, but SAP has made this difficult. We have to add hardware and we are currently using the .NET Infoview. This is no longer supported in 4.1 and they only have Java BI Launch Pad. We have a considerable amount of work to convert over.
  • SAP Support Portal is very difficult to use. It makes you login every page you go to and trying to get help is very difficult. I find most answers through trial and error or the BOB.
  • I would really like to see the ability to schedule a report to an email, but rather than attach the report it includes a link to the report in the email. I know Cognos has this functionality and I would like to see it here.
  • I also would like to see the ability to schedule to a text format. Currently it only lets you save to this format when you have the report open.
I would recommend SAP Business Objects if they are looking for a flexible enterprise solution where they need the ability to create pixel perfect reports and many scheduling options. If they are looking more for analytics and dashboard type data analysis there are other products for less money that can do this.
Very difficult website to use that is not very intuitive. It's hard to reach a good support person that can actually help with the issue. We usually end up solving the issue ourselves.
Read Carla Simoneau's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

Powerful BI Tool Once the Organization Commits to Consolidate Data Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used by our supply chain group as well as our sales team primarily, but other management teams also access some modules of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in order to support Supply Chain and Sales groups. It is a long way and still on-going process, but we had to first consolidate all business workflows into SAP first which took several years globally. Then next was to implement the SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in North America first to ensure the bugs are worked out before deploying it across the globe over Citrix for all teams to use globally but our data and application remain centralized in North America.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is powerful and the reports are excellent, as long as your organization is dedicated to consolidate all processes into SAP.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, when installed centralized and published via remote access tool like Citrix, can be accessed anywhere while data is secure at central location.
  • For a BI tool SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is much more user-friendly than offerings from Oracle.
  • Dashboard access for leadership is excellent and updates are continually improving the product.
  • Implementation of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform requires large capital investment.
  • User training tools provided by SAP for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is lacking interactive content. Improved user training material with version updates would be very helpful for implementation and continuous education.
  • Managing version upgrades and hotfixes for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform with more control to users to have time to plan for upgrades.
If your company is mainly an SAP shop and all your data is consolidated, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a necessary tool and will elevate your business strategy with great analysis and dashboard for leadership to track, monitor and decide. However, for large organizations like us, it took us several years to consolidate different tools and applications into SAP first which is a huge undertaking at the cost of several tens of millions of dollars and over 4yrs before we can begin to realize the benefits of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Patrick Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2015

SAP BusinessObjects 4.0 for use in Ambulatory Healthcare

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The product is a great central platform for BI needs.
  • User can be setup to have access to specific data elements.
  • Reports and documents can be published and pushed out to each user.
  • The software can be distributed via a central server rather than maintain software on each user's computer.
  • The software typically requires training to use and is not very intuitive.
  • The security setup is difficult to learn and understand.
  • There have been some compatibility issues when connecting to the latest non-SAP data sources.
  • Updating and upgrading the software is not easy.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
The support system is difficult to use.
Read Nathan Patrick Taylor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a good or Bad tool for future???

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI platform allows my organisation to use real time business data quickly. This tool is important for us as we using it to extract the data and understand our historical trends on sales, production and operation data. This tool is getting used by different functions at organisation like finance, operations planning, commercial team. It is helping to prepare report from real time data for making business decisions.
  • Great reporting platform for business users
  • Better data governance framework
  • Multi developer friendly tool
  • Does not require a user to know SQL query language
  • Leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server
  • Designing the reports is bit difficult for the standard users.
  • Tool's licences are expensive
  • Training is required for any SAP standard user to use this tool efficiently
BusinessObjects provides a platform for any business which has SAP GUI to use it for reporting and extracting the data directly to report to executives in short time. It is also easy to customize, design the report from raw data for a skilled SAP user. This tool is becoming useful for reporting financials, inventory and billing reports to understand sales. A user needs to know basics of writing a SQL so that they can make queries and automate the reports.
It is less appropriate if we need to customize certain complex calculations for the management .
Read this authenticated review
Kevin McManus | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

The New SAP BusinessObjects RESTful SDK: What It Means to You

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BusinessObjects to deliver reports on a schedule basis to management as well as provide adhoc and drill through reporting to staff to help make accurate decisions. The ability to join data between different data sources without users having to touch the data is an important features. We collect data from several legacy systems including databases that were linked throuh MS SQL Server and SOAP Web services through a single Universe to provide a single view of the business to users.
  • Designed for Crystal, Web Intelligence and the BI Platform, the RESTful SDK (RSDK) is the next-generation application programming interface (API) for manipulating and interacting with reporting content residing on your BusinessObjects server.
  • For starters, it means no more jar files. Or, if you are a .Net developer, merge modules and or .dll files. The RSDK is based on a lightweight, refreshing platform that literally requires no installation. All it requires is knowledge of a handful of URLs and configuring your BOE server for web services (which is already configured by default).
  • With the newest versions Windows AD Single Sign on is configurable with your custom application with much less time and effort.
  • In classic Java/.Net SDK programming, as a programmer you would interact with an object model. But with the Retful SDK consisting a vast array of API calls, there are many waus to call the application that may or may not get your application the expected result. There needs to be more examplesof actual javascript based calls.
  • Prior to BOE 4.0 SP6 there as little parity with the JAVA/.NET SDK so an upgrade to BOE 4.1 is necessary to get the majority of functionality available.
  • We have built our own SAML, OAuth, Active Directory, SiteMinder and Ping Identity Connects through to BusinessObjects. I would expect these will be come part of the API in the future.
We now Embed BusinessObjects Edge into Rapid Stack system for SalesForce Analytics. Its the best BI platform out there.
Read Kevin McManus's full review
Robert Scrimshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2014

You don't need IT staff to write your reports!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Business Objects is the tool used to report agaist our ERP, Lawson. It is used across the organization, and has been in play here for just over 10 years. We did not think that Lawson had a reporting package that met our needs, so Business Objects was chosen both for canned Financial/Operational reporting and for our adhoc reporting needs. We have trained multiple financial users to write reports using the Webi tool and these reports are in turn, scheduled and automatically staged and/or emailed to our users.
  • SAP Business Objects handles massive amounts of data and does so very efficiently.
  • The generation and organization of our data using Universes helps us to generate reports that are very easy to build. It's a drag and drop system that allows us to build reports with confidence that the data is correctly displayed.
  • Business Objects helps our finance analysts to be more productive in supporting our medical customers with both financial and operational reports.
  • Business Objects would be even more useful if it was integrated with a planning tool.
SAP Business Objects is well suited to organizations who have financial analysts who would like to write their own financial reports, without constantly having to employ specialized report writers with IT degrees. Through the use of Universes, "regular" folk can write operational and financial reports using English terms, and not SQL code. This revolutionized the reporting that we do, when we implemented it years ago. I don't use the graphing and scorecarding features of the product, but I see the results of those that do in our organization. It's quite impressive!
Read Robert Scrimshaw's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2018

Business Objects for Self-Service and AdHoc reporting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BI Platform is used for front end reporting at our organization. It is used across entire organization. BusinessObjects' set of tools are connecting with several data sources like SAP BW, AWS, Oracle, SAP HANA etc.
  • Easy, user friendly set of tools specially WebI.
  • Different set of applications to support different reporting needs such as WebI, Crystal etc.
  • SAP BI platform can connect to several different data sources.
  • Try to combine Crystal reports for Enterprise and Crystal Reports 2013.
  • Analysis for Office can be more standardized. It faces issues with different versions of Excel and operating systems.
  • Some user friendly dash boarding tool can be introduced.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform is well suited for self service and adhoc reporting.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform may not be appropriate for creating quick dashboards and sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Len Bartlett, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2014

SAP Business Objects XI 3.1: Super-Sized Business Intelligence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Jackson Group uses SAP Business Objects to analyze trends in healthcare survey data. We have both internal and external users who are able to take advantage of it's portal for online data access, dashboards and reports. SAP BO, along with Crystal Reports, enables us to combine data from many different sources into one standardized reporting platform.
  • Easily allows end-users to build their own customized data queries and reports.
  • Reports can be exported to excel or pdf with one click in order to be shared with other stakeholders.
  • Once built, reports can also be scheduled to run at specific intervals (daily, weekly, etc) and automatically e-mailed to stakeholders, saving time.
  • I know that most of my wish list items have been addressed in BO 4.1, items such as mobile functionality, easier connections to Xcelsius dashboards, and a better analytic workbench. We have not reached a point where we can update, but hope to do so within the next six months. Because of this, I do not think it is fair to list weakness on a product that is two versions behind.
SAP Business Objects is a top-shelf Business Intelligence Platform. There are a lot more competitors in the BI field today than there were in 2008 when we first started evaluating SAP BO. If you are a medium to large enterprise with the need to analyze data from multiple and diverse sources, this is the way to go. If you are a small to medium-sized company, I would look strongly at your needs requirements, getting as detailed as possible, and evaluate this product against some of the smaller and more nimble competitors out there. Specifically looking at their product development road maps if you are in an industry or competitive environment that needs to have immediate access to the latest and greatest technological advancements. SAP, as a whole, is large and still in an acquisition mode and therefore not as quick to adapt to emerging technologies as Tableau or Microstrategy are. (SAP eventually gets there and does it well, however it will not be the first one in that space.)
Read Len Bartlett, MBA's full review
Joel Pick | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2014

Give Business Objects another look

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Business Objects Web as our main enterprise operational reporting tool. We also use it for internal and external sales reports. Our BI reporting teams are on the business side vs. on the IT side. This tool provides a shorter development time and supports our business centric reporting model. This tool also supports the needs for Dashboard metrics reporting used by the operational departments.
  • Speed to market - The BO universe allows us to respond very quickly to business changes and demands. The development of the universe and reports is a business function. This places the business knowledge hand-in-hand with the development.
  • Allows users to modify reports to meet their needs. BO WebI is a very user friendly tool that allows users to take a production report and modify it and then save it for future use
  • MS Office integration. SAP live office allows sections of reports to be embedded and refreshed directly in MS Office products such as PowerPoint. This helps reduce keying errors and time spent refreshing presentations to leadership
  • Support. Like many large organizations SAP relies heavly on the user commuity and documents to support users. If you are a midsized company your best solution is a regional consulting partner.
  • License agreements. You really need a good negotiation team to get the value for the money. Stay away from the named user agreements.
Make sure you assess the type of reporting you need and use the proper tool. Too many tines people purchase one tool out of a suite of tools and then try to force everything into that tool. Also understand your DBMS and design your universes accordingly. Poorly designed universes can have a direct impact on the user experience.
And above all please train your users. Most projects cut back on training which causes a poor user experience.
Read Joel Pick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform review by a non-tech, non-IT user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, by analysts and other employees, to monitor volume, spend, etc. End users retrieve their business data and make decisions on planning, identify opportunities for growth, etc. Users don't have to involve the IT team, they can independently consult their portals. They can export reports to excel and provide analysis.
  • Generates reports, allows reports to be exported to excel.
  • End users can drill down on some of the information to view a more detail analysis.
  • Requires no IT involvement, or minimal IT involvement.
  • Users can perform BI analysis from multiple data sources and export the analysis in different formats.
  • The licensing process is confusing.
  • Users have to request access to certain reports and due to the licensing restrictions we are very limited
  • Support is very expensive when compared to other systems.
  • Customizations are costly and we tend to use the out-of-the-box version, which isn't always the best solution.

Well suited: for HR or sales. User can view volumes of sales with updated information, drill down on results, export results to Excel, for analysis.


Less appropriate: for general users. Although it is a powerful reporting tool, it is not user-friendly. Users require a lot of training and getting used to, to be able to use the system.

Read this authenticated review
Phil Hackman, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

SAP Business Objects: Easy-to-Deploy Great Looking Management-Level and Routine Enterprise-Wide Reporting

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Financial Reporting team to write and burst operating metric reports to chief decision makers who do not want to "touch" the ERP Accounting system. It is used primarily for all producers in the organization and used by the Managing Director team. Addresses issues of usability and ease of use in getting key metrics quickly into decision makers' hands.
  • It leverages existing data stores well to pull into SAP BO universes.
  • It bursts reports via email in the form of PDF or Webi files very well.
  • It is easy to build new reports from the ground up with extensive functionality within the report.
  • Would be nice to more easily combine databases from disparate sources together into one universe.
  • I wish there were more pre-built graphs and charts.
  • Personalization parameters to filter reports to certain groups of users could be improved upon; kind of cludgy in our version.
It's better suited if you have one or two main sources of data. If you have multiple databases (eg. 20) it becomes harder to use. What security levels are going to be used in SAP BO so one can anticipate bursting reports to specific users based on content within the report? eg. I only want "Smith's" reports; is Smith in a certain role and is this in your ERP system?
Read Phil Hackman, CPA's full review
Michael Spino | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2014

A Quick Summary of Business Objects

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Business Objects is being used as a reporting tool for both IT and business teams. It's relied upon to query a number of data sources including Oracle databases, datamarts, and EDW data stores. Reports are primarily created and maintained by a combination of IT and business teams. Business objects provides the ability for quick adhoc reporting and scheduling of routine reports.
  • Quick ad hoc reporting of standardized information from the same datasource
  • Easy drag and drop interface for new users to get acclimated to existing datasources without having to know the intricate join logic
  • Web based interface allows users to easily share and distribute reports they create
  • Scheduling allows users to setup a report to run for any time and frequency they prefer with little maintenance.
  • Hard to keep track of changes to reports and report recovery
  • Frequent version upgrades require businesses to update their infrastructure and reports
  • Diminishing support from SAP for the Business Objects suite
SAP Business Objects is well suited for both scheduling reports and ad hoc reporting. Users can typically learn the basic reporting functionality without a lot of training. The tool is not strong in pulling data from multiple data sources for the same report and the more advanced reporting is hard to learn.
Read Michael Spino's full review
Robin Tufts | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2014

Bank Analyst Infrequent User Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently the product is used in our operations areas such as Finance and Accounting, Credit Administration and Client Services. We utilize it to pull data and create reports on our data. Not everyone has access to it because of the sensitive nature of the data it has access. We address day to day business reporting. It is highly useful for automating daily reporting such as past due loans, overdrafts, closed and new accounts and other such daily reporting that no longer needs human interaction to be produced.
  • Very easy to move fields around.
  • You don't need to be a guru to work the program.
  • Has many options on manipulating reporting.
  • Able to have reports automated.
  • When in the data provider and selecting fields, it gets clunky when the folders don't close up after going into another folder. You have to manually close the other folder before going to another.
I would want to know how often the product would be used. Users that have daily use on it and need to build and create new reports would have better use out of the product. If it is only used on an infrequent basis it wouldn't seem to be worth the cost.
Read Robin Tufts's full review
Carrie Brate | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2014

Quick, Intuitive System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects is the primary database used across the whole organization. It allows employees to pull sales, purchase, and inventory data and perform analysis on this data. In my role, I use Business Objects to pull sales data across product categories, at the category, brand, and/or item level. I then use the data that I have pulled for various projects, including SKU rationalization, customer analysis, brand analysis, etc.
  • The system is fairly intuitive, not much training required
  • The system is much faster than systems I have used in the past, such as Oracle BI dashboards
  • It is easy to "drill down" within the application
  • Naming conventions seem to be an issue; additional character space could be allotted
  • It may be helpful to add per case or per pound metrics
  • It would be helpful if the item description could be split up, ie separate item # from description
Not having the item number as a separate field adds work, as the user would have to manually separate it out in Excel. Additionally, not being able to type in specific dates for which to pull data could be a hindrance. Additional customization capability would be beneficial.
Read Carrie Brate's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.4
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.1
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No