SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
691 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) overall satisfaction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Even though all these tools are very similar to each other, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform does have better integration with the database than other competitors such as Microsoft Power BI. On the side of SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform you also have very a good data visualization ability that matches with its competitors.
Read this authenticated review
Martin Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform - The corporate on-premise solution from SAP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform is an on premise solution that allows you to display information hosted on an SAP BW / 4 HANA server.
SAP Analytics Cloud is SAP's business intelligence solution that works in the cloud and is complemented by SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform.
Some features of SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform are integrated with SAP Data Services, for example user authentication.
Read Martin Lopez's full review
David Angers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

BI Platform Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Crystal was part of the platform prior to my tenure. Explorer has always had a limited use case. I helped drive the conversation for Visual Intelligence and by the time we acted, it turned into Lumira which can't hold a candle to Tableau or Power BI.
Read David Angers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Great tool to access and analyze SAP BW data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SAP BI is more compatible with SAP Business Warehouse (of course - same SAP). It has a direct connection to SAP BW while the other software might need some queries adjustments to enable this direct connection.

It has a larger capacity in loading huge amount of data and does better calculations. So if you need a lot of calculations with SAP BW data, the program is the best.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

A good tool for a business analyst

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SAP BO BI is very similar to Microsoft Power BI. However, SAP BO BI is much stronger in terms of analytics and document management while Power bI is stronger in data visualization and big data integration. SAP BO BI is a great tool within its ally, which is performance analysis and organization monitoring.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SAP offers a sufficient tool with their BI Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There is no special differentiation point. My companies were using SAP as their main ERP and therefore using the SAP BO BI for reporting and analysis purposes. Some reports were defined to be released periodically but these reports were needed for day to day information. We needed Excel and Power BI to make the data nicer to present.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

BusinessObjects Business Intelligence for Data-informed decision making.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Earlier, I used SAP BW's BEx tools for reporting, but it was challenging to format the report data and export to different formats. SAP BEx tools can access data from limited sources where as SAP BO can access data from most of the datasources which is why I prefer using BO over other products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Get over the set-up hump and you are in the clear!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried Yellowfin BI but it did not work for our business model. It was nice and the user-experience was good but ultimate we sided with SAP Business Objects BI Platform because the visual reports that were produced were simple and easy to understand. We need that level of simplicity for our executive team and for our clients.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Good choice for providing business reports from a variety of data sources

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we have been using SAP ERP, having SAP BI was one of the key factors in our choice. Also design efficiency, variety of data sources' integration and document versioning gave better advantages to SAP BI over others. Also adding SAP BI during the SAP ERP rollout provided cost efficiency for the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Diaz-Suarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Why SAP? Why?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) based on price. It can stack up against others in terms of price and honestly, that's about it. Salesforce Commerce does a hell of a better job at handling it. However, in the space of Business Intelligence, SAP can do more, and that's why at the end we went with it.
Read Michael Diaz-Suarez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sometimes configuration is challenging (unless you are also very familiar with setting up Java VMs). I like the meta-data layer design tool. I like that there are thick and thin versions of the tools users use. Users at this point try to build a report themselves rather than immediately asking me to do it (which is a small miracle). I did end up having to use a third-party tool to make me feel safe about backups and versioning (because at the time I started using BusinessObjects, there was no recycle bin or version management) but in general I'm happy with the product and am not looking for a replacement solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

SAP Business Objects is a complex but valuable tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We currently have implementations of both Microsoft BI and SAP Business Objects so our enterprise has found reasons for both. Some users prefer BI over SAP and it depends on the department they are working for. SAP was chosen for the more complex tasks that require large data sets and its ability to help its users visualize the data and plan for the future.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Dorscher | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

SAP Business Objects Intelligence: I wish I was allowed another way

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I use the platform as it is all that is available to me. I have no ability to query the warehouse directly probably for good reason. I have been using PowerBI and I know it can connect to the warehouse and do the query and visualization in real time. However, our admins will not allow that and force SAP Business Objects on us. It makes the aggregating of the data phase more time consuming and you end up having to run three different platforms to create reports. At least in our case, SAP Business Objects is slow and it is prone to crashing during a query.
Read Tim Dorscher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SAP Business Objects to Empower the Enterprise Data Consumption

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

That was the best alternative that could connect to our ERP instances. The availability of SAP Rapid Marts that could be leveraged to pull data models for specific SAP areas such as Sales tables, Production, Maintenance, and others was also a very important differentiation. Along with the ability to easily and consistently simplify the data models from SAP and combine with other datasets from other apps.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2018

Great capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obselete

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Some organizations use Spotfire which is far more advanced in terms of its analytical capabilities vs. Lumira/PA etc. but the sharing/storage side of the BI Platform is far superior and much better managed. The ability to create user groups, access levels etc. on BI Platform helps to keep the platform secure.
Read Josh Anderson's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

A solution that will grow with the company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

On a different company level, we have been using the MS PowerBI platform, a package with a great usability - quickly deployable and easy to use from the beginning. Used the Azure cloud option (needless to say that in a paid version). The main difference would be a scale of usage, however. The Power BI visualizations were really easy to use which is the main difference ...
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Jason Westenskow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects BI - the budget killer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ThoughtSpot is superior for query speed and simplicity but is inferior in merged-dimension query setup and execution. BOBJ is superior to Tableau in that the universes simplify the queries for the end-user, however, it's inferior in visualizations. decisionpoint is a dashboard tool with potential but is still new. However, decisionpoint is superior in building dashboards on limited technical resources and varying database platforms.
Read Jason Westenskow's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.2
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No