Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (51-75 of 150)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Scale HC3 vs. VMware

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not evaluate any other Hyper-Converged solutions, but we previously used VMware vCenter, vSphere, ESXi and we piloted Microsoft Azure. All of them had higher costs and recurring costs that were not necessarily associated with Scale. We explored staying with VMware and also a couple of cloud solutions for migrating our data center, and none were as good of a fit as Scale was.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Scale HC3 review by small business.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Unitrends is a good appliance but does not allow the failover that HC3 allows. Unitrends does allow file-level backup and restore, while Scale has yet to offer this option. The biggest reason we choose Scale was to reduce our footprint while maintaining a safe restore and backup plan.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Scale HC3 in K-12

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were looking for a hyper-converged solution that was cost effective, yet would deliver the performance we needed for our day-to-day operations. Scale HC3 meets our needs in both areas.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Scale will scale with us.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Simplivity is not true hyper-converged, it keeps all the complexity of VMWare and SAN and the required management.
Nutanix is not open about their system performance.
Scale won the race by sending a test unit and letting us have a go at it. They are fully open about what their system does and let us test in any way.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Blackburn | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 - You won't Be Sorry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Scale primarily because it was a completely self contained system. That meant one vendor and one support contract. Researching the different hardware components required for a vm system and multiple vendors of each component quickly got old. And thinking ahead toward maintaining such a system we did not want to deal with the headache of tracking down which component was causing us trouble and then having to prove that to the vendors.
Read Rob Blackburn's full review
Brian Dunk | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

Simply Amazing, the Node Cluster that can't be beat!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have looked into a number of other Vendors when originally making my decision. Some vendors outright insulted others stating theirs was the best on the market while others had less physical features for redundancy or reporting that Scale had available for me. Along with the commitment from their support team it made it easy to determine that Scale was the right company for us.
Read Brian Dunk's full review
Travis Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When researching hyperconverged technology, we looked at several leading providers. In each case, the cost of the system far outweighed Scale Computing's, without providing any additional benefits that we could discern. In some cases, the same price at Scale would only purchase 2 nodes at another vendor, reducing our fail over redundancy. In other cases, only the hyperconvergence software was provided. When comparing prices to purchase the individual machines plus the software, Scale came out ahead again by a large margin.
Read Travis Smith's full review
Gerry Wisnoski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

Time to Replace VMware ESXi and Microsoft Hyper-V with Scale HC3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Usually you don't make a platform change until you find something that's ten times better (i.e. An order of magnitude better). Scale HC3 is that platform. The Scale Computing HyperConverged Virtualization platform makes virtualization automatic so that you can move on to spend your time and money doing more interesting and valuable things.
Read Gerry Wisnoski's full review
Jason Weatherby | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2018

Net Admin

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've used VMWare and Citrix in the past. We recently attended a GMIS conference in South Carolina and enjoyed the overall simplicity of the product. Performance is up by about 30% over Citrix Xen-Server and the cost of the products is significantly less. We had purchased 5 Dell R610's and a 3 Dell NAS for around $140,000. taking up 18U. We purchased 3 SCALE Servers for less than half of that and have been very pleased with the results.
Read Jason Weatherby's full review
Jon Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

HC3 works for me!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I had quotes from Dell and HP at the time and I think the smaller business market was not on their radar. Scale hit the underserved mid-size market at the right time. I have not used any other virtualization system at this time.
Read Jon Rich's full review
Nathan Beam | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 - Excellent and Unique Hyper-Converged Platform with a few Rough Edges

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I don't have any real-world experience with Nutanix but we did demo their product and I did a fair bit of research. I also looked heavily at other products in the hyper-converged space.

My "end of the day" analysis is that SCALE HC3 is one of the few "full stack" platforms. What I mean by that is that most other products are just some re-mix of existing storage technologies (SAN) that have been virtualized and put into the hyper-visor stack. As a result, the management of the system is fragmented. HC3 on the other hand was built "from the ground up" to be a Hyper-Converged product and as a result, everything is managed under one roof. You don't have to "worry" about 10 different components all being configured correctly to work together, SCALE is a single, unified product and that makes them different than 90% of the other players out there which are pretty much borrowing VMware and then tacking on some kind of VSAN to make a Hyper-Converged stack. This might sound intangible but it results in real-world differences in how the product works and is managed on a day-to-day basis.
Read Nathan Beam's full review
Scott White | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

ScCale Hyperconvergence - No Pain all Gain

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the process of determining which solution to go with we short-listed Maxta, Stratoscale, and Scale. Maxta and Stratoscale were software products and Scale was the appliance. All three received the same details of our infrastructure. Interestingly the number of spindles proposed by both Maxta and Stratoscale exceeded our existing spindle count. This alerted us to the likelihood that their performance promises required that many spindles. On investigating the number of storage layers between the VM and the disk surface it became clear the Scale system was a clear winner. there were good technical reasons why scales disk management was better. Interestingly getting clear technical data out Stratoscale was harder and like pulling hen's teeth with Maxta.

Critical to our plans was the concept of simplicity. Working with all three interfaces it became clear that Scale was the winner. In addition, having to deal with hardware and software separately was a problem, even if the Maxta and Statoscale performed the integration and were willing to be the single neck, we would still be dealing with two loosely integrated product layers. We wanted the tighter integration on all the components of the system that Scale provides. Then there was the communication and vendors ability to answer questions. Hands down Scale was the winner.

The issue of Vendor lock was not a concern. This may have been true when vendor products were wildly incompatible but is a false issue in today's more standards-driven environment. Porting our VM's into the Scale environment was easy because of the standards, and porting them out in the future, if we need to, will also be easy.

Stratoscale impressed us by coming close in overall costs and even better that Scale in product scope, but in the end, it was the other factors that settled us on Scale.
Read Scott White's full review
Tom Blazek | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Scale Computing -> Best Value

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Each system I evaluated has its own strengths and weaknesses. I ended up choosing Scale because of the features and the price. I feel Scale has the best value for the money. I also like to support smaller businesses and I feel that you often get better customer support, which is what I have experienced in this situation as well.
Read Tom Blazek's full review
Ray Vopat | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

Scale HC3 3 Node first time purchaser review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • VM Ware
In small business scenarios where you have 15 VMs or less Scale makes a good product that gives a scalable performance compared to a VM setup that uses physical servers tied to a storage device. Not having to manage the storage layer saves headaches and allows admins more time to do other tasks. The competitive and personal communications I received while working on our first purchase with Scale hardware was a great experience and I felt valued as a potential customer and that they genuinely wanted my business.
Read Ray Vopat's full review
john Galotta | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

HC3 how to make your life easier.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at several other hyper-converged systems before purchasing the HC3. The greatest savings comes from the open source VM software that comes with the systems. No more VMware licensing cost.
Read john Galotta's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English