Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

242 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (101-125 of 162)

Marc-Andre Ciccariello | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

Surprise Surprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Less purchase of single use server
  • Less energy used (Green)
  • Physical / software backup solution not needed if you have enough disk space on your scale
  • Less intern support time if something happens compare to a physical single use server.
Read Marc-Andre Ciccariello's full review
Morgan Rinehart | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Scale has been great ROI for our organization. Limiting costly investments in infrastructure and being able to make purchase decisions in shorter time frame.
  • Scale has allowed us to increase or infrastructure with growing demands of the business needs. Allowing us to adapt when more resources are needed without overhauling the entire platform.
Read Morgan Rinehart's full review
Karl Sharkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Scale HC3 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have only had our Scale solution for a few months so have not had a chance to see a return on our investment yet.
Read Karl Sharkey's full review
Tyler Bucy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2017

HC3, a small business hyper-converged solution.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Unfortunately, I was not working here when our HC3 system was purchased and installed. I did however assist in the migration of servers. I don't have hard numbers, but I know that support costs have dropped significantly, because the hardware that we are running on reliable, and predictable.
  • Our previous server was a stand alone box, and we had to have an online backup solution. Now, our entire cluster is synchronized to an identical offsite cluster, and we don't have to pay for the monthly costs for the backup.
Read Tyler Bucy's full review
Trevor Pott | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2017

Scale Computing: when you don't have time for gimmicks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Scale frees me up from looking after my infrastructure so that I can engage in revenue generating activities. Pretty hard to argue with that as a net result. I cost $100k/year. I used to have to put at least 40% of my time into keeping the lights on. So right off the bat Scale frees up nearly $40k/year for us, and that's before I factor in things like not having to buy shared storage, or other headline savings.
  • The only negative impact Scale has for us is that unlike previous solutions, we aren't provided with spares of consumables (read: hard drives) to keep on the shelf for when something dies. The time between drive failure and the new drive arriving in the post is a bit nerve wracking.
Read Trevor Pott's full review
John Brainard | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2017

Hands-Off Simplified Enterprise approach to Server Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The biggest thing for us was the time savings in management. There are only two IT personnel onsite and as you can image, running 30-40 servers and the users is a time consuming process. Scale takes literally all the management of hardware and servers away. The system alerts us if there are any issues and we just keep working on the business drivers rather than taking care of hardware and cluster management.
Read John Brainard's full review
Nick Bertram | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2017

How we benefited from our Scale HC3 cluster

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • System downtime outside of scheduled updates has gone away. We were struggling with our old system as the age of the system caught up we were experiencing more and more down time. Even once age is equivalent on this system I have a comfort level that if we have a node go down the fail over is so smooth that users will not be affected by the outage.
  • We were so happy with the HC3 system and the benefits that it brought that we updated one of our other systems to another scale unit. The remote management and console support has allowed us to keep our lean staffing and still have up time numbers to be proud of.
Read Nick Bertram's full review
Gerry Charriere | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

Scale Rules

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has saved us a lot of money on RAID cabinets that we had before we purchased Scale. Our return on investment was less then 3 years.
Read Gerry Charriere's full review
Mike Slates | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The Scale HC3 cluster has moved us into a high-availability server setup that keeps our servers/apps online. It's hard to quantify this in terms of dollars, but having all of our apps up and running is invaluable to the company.
  • As mentioned in the Pros, we implemented Scale builtin Snapshot/Replication feature to send server snapshots to 2 off-site DR nodes every night. If a catastrophe were to happen at our main site, we could be up and running with all of our servers within minutes to hours at our DR site. Not days/weeks via the old disk/tape restore method. Not having our servers up and running for a week or more could stress the business to the breaking point. Same as the bullet point above, this feature is invaluable to the company.
  • Reduction of power and heat. I didn't calculate the savings, but we reduced our physical server footprint from around 20 to 4. This saves on power, both on the draw by the servers and by less running of the air conditioning units.
Read Mike Slates's full review
Matthew Beckler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

Dead Simple to use and Amazing support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We were previously spending 3k a month hosting these services with a local MSP. After Scale that bill went down to zero. We recovered our investment in less then a year.
  • Previously when adding a new server or VM we had to pay additional monthly rate for every VM or service. With Scale we can spin up a new VM at anytime without any additional monthly cost.
  • Because it is easy to use and configure we spend very minimal hours managing or babysitting the cluster this saves on labor costs for all IT staff.
Read Matthew Beckler's full review
Zac King | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

Scale Computing Customer's Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We spend less time managing infrastructure and more time taking care of our customers.
  • We are better able to plan for the future and calculate the cost of our growth.
  • We don't have to come up with different configurations for different needs. One solutions meets them all.
Read Zac King's full review
Tony Batres | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2017

Scale Computing Built for IT at a price your COO wont loose sleep over

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We leveraged the Scale infrastructure to obtain SOC 1 certification
  • Reduced power consumption in the server room
  • Reduce heat generated in server room by installing scale and removing legacy server infrastructure
  • Reduced cost on server OS licenses
Read Tony Batres's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English