ScienceLogic SL1

ScienceLogic SL1

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.7 out of 100
Top Rated
ScienceLogic SL1

Overview

Recent Reviews

Review

8 out of 10
June 11, 2022
We use it for Infra monitoring. We have some pros and cons with this tool. Customer expectation is high! They need APM, AIOPS within SL …
Continue reading

Technical opinion

9 out of 10
June 06, 2022
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product. In …
Continue reading

My ScienceLogic Review

10 out of 10
June 06, 2022
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a …
Continue reading

SL1 Shines

10 out of 10
June 02, 2022
We are an MSP providing monitoring and analytics services to audio/video and UC customers. We use SL1 to monitor customers' audio / video …
Continue reading

ScienceLogic SL1 Review

9 out of 10
June 01, 2022
We use ScienceLogic SL1 for monitoring our clients and as our main SNMP poller. ScienceLogic SL1 does an excellent job integrating with …
Continue reading

All in one AIOps solution

8 out of 10
March 03, 2022
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of ScienceLogic SL1, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.sciencelogic.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $7.50 per month per node

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Features

  • Supported: Infrastructure Monitoring (Cloud, Container, Server, Storage, Agent-Based, Network, Application, Database, UC/Video, Synthetic)
  • Supported: Closed-Loop Automations (Digital Experience Monitoring, CMDB & Inventory, Incident & Notifications, NetFlow, Configuration and Change Management, Troubleshooting & Remediation
  • Supported: Topology-Driven Event Correlation
  • Supported: Full-Stack Topology Mapping
  • Supported: Business Service Monitoring
  • Supported: Behavioral Correlation (Events, Changes, Anomalies, Topology)
  • Supported: Analytics - ML-Based Anomaly Detection
  • Supported: Incident Automation - Event Forwarding & Email
  • Supported: Dynamic Baselining Analytics
  • Supported: Manage Workflow Health & Endpoints
  • Supported: Dashboards and Reporting
  • Supported: Log Collection
  • Supported: 400+ Pre-Built Monitoring Integrations

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

Application to infrastructure mapping with APM toolsVMWare Docker SwarmAWS Availability Zones and RegionsNative Application Monitoring and MappingMulti-Cloud Business ServicesBusiness Services Impact Dashboard

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

  • Kubernetes
  • Cisco HyperFlex
  • Nimble
  • Hyper-V
  • MySQL
  • Dynatrace
  • New Relic
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google Cloud
  • IBM Cloud
  • Aliyun
  • CloudStack
  • OpenStack
  • etc.
  • Cloud Services – Amazon EKS
  • ECS
  • Fargate; Azure AKS; etc.
  • Containers – Docker
  • etc.
  • Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco
  • VMware
  • etc.
  • Network - Cisco
  • F5
  • Juniper
  • Meraki
  • Riverbed
  • Aruba
  • Avaya
  • Fortinet
  • HP
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • HPE
  • Hitachi
  • Nutanix
  • Pure Storage
  • etc.
  • Hypervisors – VMware
  • Xen
  • KVM
  • etc.
  • Operating Systems - Unix
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Business Applications
  • Databases - Microsoft
  • SAP
  • Office 365
  • MS SQL Server
  • Oracle
  • IBM DB2
  • etc.
  • APM - AppDynamics
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • Pure
  • HP/Nimble
  • etc.
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google
  • IBM
  • Aliyun
  • Openstack
  • etc.
  • Applications -Microsoft
  • SAP
  • etc.
  • Compute -VMWare
  • Microsoft Hyper-V
  • KVM
  • Linux
  • Unix
  • Converged -Nutanix
  • Unified Communications and video - Cisco
  • Polycom
  • Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)0%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

How much does ScienceLogic SL1 cost?

ScienceLogic SL1 starts at $7.5.

What is ScienceLogic SL1's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses ScienceLogic SL1?

The most common users of ScienceLogic SL1 are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 155)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jonathan Leong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This platform gives us the whole visibility platform of all business programs. It gives my team all the tools and resources that can monitor the full production ecosystem of all softwares that we develop. Our customers can easily reach my team and offer the specifications of their orders. ScienceLogic SL1 has enhanced the reliable development of IT infrastructure across the entire organization.
  • Development of stable cloud computing infrastructure.
  • Monitoring the full production ecosystem.
  • Automation of business processes.
  • I have not discovered new area that requires improvements.
  • I have no additional feature that I can recommend.
Automation of business processes has enhanced my team to improve production since we can finish many projects within a day. Since we deployed this product we have reduced customer complaints of late delivery of their orders and increased sales and profit gains. It has streamlined operations by troubleshooting issues that are used to slow down productivity and workflows. I have believed in the performance of this system and I highly recommend it to other organizations.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the help of Cloud services and superior data modeling tools, it is possible to efficiently keep tabs on a wide variety of services. Powerful and efficient in terms of time management and the ease with which good and clean data reports can be prepared, the database administration and process control features are also highly convenient. The dashboard provides quick access to all of its features, which aids in managing expenses and generating lucrative solutions.
  • Managing your files efficiently.
  • The environment is quite basic.
  • A very potent instrument, ScienceLogic SL1 is.
  • Data management for large-scale projects is notoriously complex.
  • Performance is slowed down by the option to move large amounts of data.
  • As a new user, it might be difficult to set up the platform.
The ScienceLogic SL1 platform makes it simple to handle sensitive data and easily share files with other users while keeping their own data private. The Asset management capabilities on ScienceLogic SL1 are the best and easiest to operate, and the powerful data pulling functions and visualization ability are also fantastic bonuses.
Jackline Martha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 has effective monitoring capability and the data management functionalities and its features are easy to customization and workflow management is effective. Big data migration is a very faster and more cost-effective solution and its documentation functions are quite effective the analytics are very productive and access permission management features are flexible.
  • ScienceLogic SL1 is very powerful tool.
  • Setting is very simple.
  • Effective files management.
  • Not easy to deploy the platform when new user.
  • Large project data management is very tricky.
  • The ability to migrate big data slows the performance.
Effective Cloud monitoring for multiple services management through Cloud services and the data modeling tools are excellent. The database management and process control functions are powerful and effective in time management and easy preparing excellent and clean data reports. Its dashboard allows easy functions accessibility which helps with cost management and profitable solutions generation.
June 11, 2022

Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for Infra monitoring. We have some pros and cons with this tool. Customer expectation is high! They need APM, AIOPS within SL when it is on On-prem.
  • Installation of Appliances is simple
  • UI is good
  • It supports many Protocols
  • APM is required
  • Agent should be available for On-Prem solution
  • AIOPS functionalities should be available for On-Prem solution
As I mentioned earlier, it has some good features and fails in a few. We need agent-based methodology when it is on-prem.
Edger Loredo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Excellent and the Cloud capabilities that ScienceLogic SL1 provides are most effective and the ability to migrate a large amount of different data and other project information via Cloud infrastructure is intuitive. The tools are easy to use after going through easy ScienceLogic SL1 easy training and the technical desk is very helpful and always there for their customers.
  • Easy on data manipulation.
  • Flexible on usability.
  • Functional data modeling Cloud capabilities.
  • ScienceLogic SL 1 is not an easy platform to configure the features.
  • Not easy to navigate when a new user.
  • The features accessibility can be more accessible.
ScienceLogic SL1 can provide effective data analytics capability which can be used in change management the reports are created easily and managing all the data which are imported from other platforms is also very easy. ScienceLogic SL1 also can produce the most accurate data information in real-time and the data mining tools are very responsive and easy to document management.
June 08, 2022

Cognizant Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance.
  • On prem Monitoring
  • Cloud monitoring
  • customization option available to explore solutions that are not available out of the box
  • Integration Options
  • Integration Options
  • License flixibility
  • PS cost
  • Frequency to release new cloud service support
It is more appropriate when we plan the entire landscape monitoring from a single tool. It does monitoring and also performs event management like deduplication and correlations. This won't fit if customers looking for low-cost monitoring solution and looking for sole network device monitoring like Routes, Switches, loadbalensers, Firewalls, Security devices, etc...
We are SI partner and sofar got very good support every time we reached the vendor and also escalation metrics is good
Product is capable of monitoring different technologies like OS, MS Infra apps, cloud services, Databases, network etc... this can be a single solution for most of the technologies end to end monitoring It is more flexible for customization and support is good.
June 06, 2022

Technical opinion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product. In some cases, it is helping us to generate our report for our customers, i.e. when a customer migration happens. Also, we create some intelligence about alarming, so the service is better monitored.
  • Accurate monitoring.
  • Monitoring automation.
  • Alarm reporting.
  • Hardware requirements too high.
  • Tracing tool.
  • Professional reporting tool.
As an alarming tool it is really powerful. Regarding alarming in Cisco Hosted Collaboration Solution can improve, being more efficiency, and trying to reduce the number of API queries.
If the device or product is not having a PowerPack create, it needs some development to integrate.

As a reporting tool using Layer X needs to improve. (Layer X is not anymore as partner)
In one screen we can see if there is any issue in the service. Also, the versability of the product help to monitor different products.
I recommend to buy this platform. Also some development skills will need if some features are not comming in the standard product, this will also imply difficulties to support the product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a ticket in hornbill for the incident.
  • It monitors our devices and reports on the detections we have created.
  • Most of the things I can think of have now been addressed in this new release.
This is well suited for medium to large business and not really needed for small companies.
ScienceLogic was implemented before I started 4 years ago, I don't know what they had before that.
June 02, 2022

SL1 Shines

Rob Duram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP providing monitoring and analytics services to audio/video and UC customers. We use SL1 to monitor customers' audio / video integrated rooms and UC endpoint-enabled rooms including Poly, Cisco and LifeSize devices. We have a 24/7 customer support operation centered around receiving customer device events from SL1, auto-generating tickets into our ITSM platform and providing real-time analytics and trending report analysis through SL1 collected data. This data and analytics help customers make business decision surrounding the use and optimal deployment of their conferencing and enriched media services to their internal teams.
  • Automation engine - easy to take scripted action on specific device events.
  • Automation action open source - the platform allows you to custom build snippet actions with Python to remediate any unhealthy event detected on devices.
  • Manager of managers - the platform has several ways of receiving inbound alerts and alarms not only from directly monitored devices but from 3rd-party solutions in the form of traps, emails and REST API connections.
  • Built-in Reporting - the reporting engine that comes with the platform is woefully inadequate to perform most of any report request that is not a very simple and basic output of data.
  • Continuous Integration/Continuous Deployment support - the platform is bound by Power-Packs for deployment of monitoring solutions for specific device types. These are great when first starting out using the platform as they allow you to on-board several types of device support, but when you mature and start building your own actions and monitoring solutions, they are cumbersome to work with.
  • Current Platform Architecture - the main CDB design requires lots of memory and CPU to handle the load of all the threaded processing of even a few thousand monitored devices. To scale up to several thousand or tens of thousands if devices becomes a pricing hurdle. Also, in a cloud deployment strategy, this processing power comes at a hefty price for cloud resources, not including the pricey SL1 license costs as well.
  • Custom development support - when you start developing your own snippet actions for monitoring custom devices or solutions, ScienceLogic only provides a pay-for Professional Services resource to assist you in even the smallest of development questions. The product customer support desk will not spend time discussing development solutions and providing development support. This has been an issue for SL from the beginning and the company needs to put together a development support arm.
Great for enterprise deployments where there is a single standard of devices and monitoring practices in place. Managed Service Providers have a harder time deploying the solution across multiple customers due to constantly changing customer requirements, device types and monitoring and security requirements and scenarios.
Being a Managed Service Provider, we have greatly increased our visibility into customer networks and devices using SL1. It provides a solution that allows us to not only be alerted to customer events and issues, but through the single pain of glass design and multi-tenancy of the application, we can safely and securely offer customers visibility to the dashboard to see their events and our team responses as well.
Platform support is great. Development support if you are developing your own dynamic apps (like the product is touted for) is non-existent without paying for PS time.This is something that SL has needed to address for years but has not.
Several major features need improvement, as mentioned earlier in this review.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 for monitoring our clients and as our main SNMP poller. ScienceLogic SL1 does an excellent job integrating with our ticketing system and alerting the client when there is an issue. It has many robust features that can be added and tuned to get the alerting dialed in to exactly how you want. We haven't been able to find another tool that matches what it is capable of doing. Also, we are regularly adding new power packs to monitor new equipment and software. Support has been very responsive when we are having issues and are always able to help us to resolve and do any tuning needed. As we grow, we feel ScienceLogic SL1 will continue to be able to handle our needs and provide the best monitoring for ourselves and our clients.
  • Cisco device monitoring
  • Ticketing integration
  • Trap ticketing
  • Release power packs for new products faster
ScienceLogic SL1 is very robust and we can tune it for our customers' specific needs.
We are able to monitor our own equipment at a much deeper level.
March 23, 2022

SL1 - Early Adopter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is used as the primary observability platform to monitor the health of infrastructure and applications in our Corporate Data Centers and Market locations. An integration using SL1 PowerFlow, with ServiceNow has allowed us to automate Incident escalation in a fine-tuned manner, ensuring events get escalated to the correct teams and individuals. This automation has allowed us to minimize NOC staffing requirements, essentially adopting a lights-out posture and only requiring staff to manage/maintain the product. As an early adopter of SL1, the product has played a vital role in our business for years, giving us the confidence we need in observability.
  • ITSM workflow automation and monitoring
  • Seamless Integration with other observability platform tools
  • Provides context between infrastructure, application, and business services relationships
  • The elimination of on-premises collectors
  • Improve out-of-the-box reporting capabilities
  • Allow for more robust dashboards
SL1 is well-suited for a complete out-of-the-box IT infrastructure monitoring and AIOPS platform that functions well for environments of all sizes, including large-scale implementations requiring multi-tenancy. In areas where it is less appropriate, APM, for example, integrations are straightforward and therefore not a problem. The product is easy to use and intuitive. The auto-discovery feature allows you to realize value out of the product in days/weeks, not months.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is used as a strategic monitoring tool for hybrid cloud environments, compute, middleware and database. More recently we have expanded into network device monitoring to provide a holistic monitoring platform for multiple user groups. We have a mix of hosted and SaaS platforms across all geographies. SL1 is deployed in an agentless mode which reduces the administrative overhead associated with legacy tools that were reliant on one or more agents to perform similar functions.
  • VMware vSphere stack monitoring
  • Linux operating system monitoring (ssh)
  • Historical performance data gathering and presentation
  • Consolidation of functionality into a single PowerPack. e.g. Microsoft: Windows Server
  • Search feature for historical events. Currently have to check individual devices.
  • Need the ability to template thresholds on Linux devices based on Organization and filesystem name.
SL1 is perfectly suited to customer environments that have little deviation across monitored devices (e.g. consistent build, standard thresholds). Customization of thresholds can be cumbersome. Lots of customers with particular monitoring requirements have found it hard to accept that SL1 doesn't do it "like other tools". Requirements for more than two thresholds on a single metric have proven challenging. Individual platforms have a maximum device count of ~35K - 40K. Scaling beyond that number involves multiple stacks. ScienceLogic has improved collector performance drastically with concurrent collection methods, requiring less investment in infrastructure. SaaS deployments are very convenient, reducing administrative overhead and responsibility.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is being used in our organization to manage and support the proactive monitoring of Datacenter devices and applications of the National Railway of Belgium. The scope of SL1 is quite wide as our customer's inventory is spread across 3 huge datacenters (2 on-premise and 1 public cloud). We monitor more than 3000+ servers, 2000+ databases, 200+ Network devices, and 300+ applications. In TCS, we have gone beyond the Out-of-Box monitoring and built our own custom DAs and RBAs to support our customers. The best feature about the tool is its auto-discovery mechanism which has helped us to build an advanced CMDB showing the relationship between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices and also with underlying databases. A few business problems which we have across during implementations were 1. A very limited number of reports and that too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have a business and not business hour feature and even does not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance). 2. Every small customization or help required from experts is treated as PS work and PS is very costly. 3. Sciencelogic Support engineers does not support and even does provide any suggestions on issues on customized DA even if the issue is because of the built-in ScienceLogic functions are a lot of internal Dynamic Apps (Like for filesystem, services, processes, availability, etc) where there is no visibility on the logic of how alerts are configured. 4. It is not possible to put only a few metrics (like DB services) in maintenance for a certain period. The entire server has to be put in maintenance mode and due to which even the OS-related alerts get suppressed.
  • Auto-Discovery feature is very good which helps us in building relationships between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices. Also, it helps in building the relationship with MSSQL Databases.
  • Ability to perform bulk discovery and update in ScienceLogic.
  • Flexibility to clone the Dynamic Applications and do custom modifications.
  • Flexibility to create custom RBA's and do several automations.
  • OOB Reports (Availability and Capacity) are not very user-friendly and also do not fetch correct data most of the time or even show blank reports a lot of time. A very limited number of reports and that too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have a business and not business hour feature and even does not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance)
  • Dashboards do not have a lot of widgets and are hence are not able to create complex dashboards. There should be the flexibility of adding an additional column on dashboards through Custom attributes.
  • Not possible to put only a few metrics (like DB services) in maintenance for a certain period. The entire server has to be put in maintenance mode and then even OS alerts get suppressed.
  • The audit logs page does not get loaded and gives "504 Gateway Time-out" most of the time
  • Every small customization is treated as PS work and PS is very costly.
  • The SL1 support team does not support and even does provide suggestions on issues on customized DA even if the issue is because of the built-in ScienceLogic functions. There are a lot of internal Dynamic Apps (Like for filesystem, services, processes, availability, etc) where there is no visibility on the logic of how alerts are configured.
Auto-Discovery feature is very good which helps us in building relationships between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices. Also, it helps in building the relationship with MSSQL Databases. This feature has helped us a lot in building CMDB relationship diagrams. We found SL1 less appropriate when it comes to dashboarding and reporting. Dashboards do not have a lot of widgets and are hence are not able to create complex dashboards. There should be the flexibility of adding additional columns on dashboards through Custom attributes. Out-Of-Box Reports (Availability and Capacity) are not very user-friendly and also do not fetch correct data most of the time or even show blank reports a lot of time. There is a very limited number of reports that are too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have business and nonbusiness hour features and even do not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance).
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an SME in HCL Technologies for the ScienceLogic SL1 monitoring tool and have five ScienceLogic SL1 customers in a shared environment. There was scope to manage the entire 60 customers from HCL Tech, but because the scope is limited and not advanced, many customers opted out for ScienceLogic SL1 as a tool.

Scope of use cases - each PowerPack should be tested properly for alerting. With the help of the application team, the DB alerts should be tested. They should consult with the DB team and ask what alerting is required and how relevant it is with the PowerPack that ScienceLogic SL1 offers, and accordingly, this should be enhanced.
  • Ping monitoring and polling reports are very good. Customer-first looks for this feasibility and how closely it can monitor that is well defined in ScienceLogic SL1.
  • Collectors' connectivity with SL DB is very stable. We hardly see issues of any connectivity failing. Agentless is far better and easy to handle and use than other tools. The best part is plug and play type.
  • CDM monitoring, it really does well and has wise poll reporting.
  • The dashboard is really awesome. We use and showcase to customers their servers as a whole, and for one server, a lot of details can be checked under the performance graph.
  • Bulk Onboarding/Offboarding is so good in ScienceLogic SL1. Search criteria are matchless. ScienceLogic SL1 has such a beautiful, organized field.
  • Suppression alerts, FS is so well defined, easy and quick to use.
  • ScienceLogic SL1 has improved so much in defining license consumption, which shows license consumed against all items.
  • Log monitoring and event monitoring should be defined and should not be enabled with event ids. We have to create a duplicate Dynamic App if different events ids are to be enabled as per application. More visibility and descriptions should be included in the Log and Event id monitoring description.
  • Database monitoring should be enhanced, and more advanced features should be added, such as replication, DB mirroring, DB Sync, Log Shipping, etc. So far, with the Dynamic app, we can't monitor DB status. The same goes with virtual server addition, we don't get DB status alerts which is deadly required. The same goes for all the DB like Oracle, Postgres, MySQL, and others. Numerous features and capabilities should be there. You may take the example of CA UIM, which has more than 75 parameters to enable against DB. ScienceLogic SL1 is lacking badly in this area.
  • UNIX servers cluster monitoring is not that good, we can only monitor cluster nodes' status, but there are more that can be captured as part of features.
  • TOP 10 processes and services should be captured for CPU and Memory. We don't have such things yet that can be enabled or found in a server.
  • HADR, AS400 are majorly asked for by customers but till now it's not available.
  • Application deep level monitoring is very limited in scope, such as HTTP, DNS, AD, and others.
  • ScienceLogic SL1 reports don't work so well. They need to be worked on it for internal troubleshooting purposes.
  • Hardware, Backup, and Storage monitoring are very limited in scope, which should be increased.
  • Traps based monitoring should be encouraged more from ScienceLogic SL1.
  • Monitoring with advanced features of Active Directory, DNS servers, Exchange servers, etc., should be more in scope.
  • The most important thing, PowerPack, which is in ScienceLogic SL1, should be tested well and should be released only with the consent of the Application/DB team.
  • There should be a team who should work on Community PowerPack so that if the customer wants to make it and use it via general availability should be available.
  • Customer support and follow-up have gone down over the past two years as if they don't bother, which has a negative impact. Customer is big or small. SMEs who work ideally send out messages to other organizations about how good a tool is or how bad its support system is.
  • A quarterly training session should be organized, as in real terms, your ScienceLogic SL1 is driven by SMEs who work on your tool, and many of the wrong impressions are sent due to SMEs' ignorance even if the tool is good.
  • I see the big scope of ScienceLogic SL1 as a monitoring tool provided 10% of ScienceLogic SL1 product is improved. The demand for 10% is so much, and it's not good that it's the main reason your 90% good things are sidelined.
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited for all the environments, provided what you have in the ScienceLogic SL1 portal should work with taking today's advanced features in mind. ScienceLogic SL1 has great scope for a shared support environment, but customers are not opting in due to its limitations. ScienceLogic SL1 should focus, and thorough discussions should be organized, with SMEs for more to add as part of advanced features.
So far, it's good as part of my overall experience, except for a couple of use cases. The support team is well knowledgeable, has technical sound, and is efficient. When support escalates to engineering, the issue gets stuck and takes months to resolve.
Easy to access and easy to make anyone understand.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert management, and auto incident creation into the ITSM platform. It helps to address ITOPS problems. A couple of use cases server operating system performance, database performance, network devices performance monitoring. Discovery of all IT devices and update the CMDB.
  • Discovery of IT devices and update the CMDB
  • Network device performance monitoring
  • Event correlation of IT Devices
  • SL1 uses remote monitoring technology for server device monitoring, using PowerShell, WMI, and other protocols which are cumbersome to deploy required lots of effort to open the ports and start initial monitoring
  • Remote monitoring technology brings some challenges such as a number of devices to be monitored per collector.
  • Procuring remote monitoring pre requisites are time consuming and error prone
  • Log monitoring & management required significant improvement
  • Data analytics & management required significant improvement
When the requirement of monitoring parameters are limited and the client is looking for remote monitoring kind of tool, then it is one best tool. For deeper monitoring and where the client has limited options to open network ports this product struggles.
Trent Kenelly, DTM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses ScienceLogic EM7 as our primary ticketing platform for our IaaS data centers. We also use ScienceLogic to monitor our events and also our managed services, such as servers, switches, and other network appliances. We also utilize ScienceLogic as our bandwidth billing platform, utilizing 95% billing rates on the greater of ingress and egress of network traffic.
  • Event logging
  • Event escalation
  • Monitoring of applications
  • Collection of data
  • Ticketing platform is being deprecated
  • UI not intuitive for most users
  • SL1 is not complete in functionality
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great monitoring platform for service providers.
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great eventing platform with custom escalation levels.
ScienceLogic EM7 does a good job at the collection of data.
ScienceLogic EM7 allows client based portals and the setting of specific roles based on the client's administrative level.
ScienceLogic EM7 ticketing platform is being deprecated and is not available in the SL1 platform at this time.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EM7 and Integration server from Sciencelogic SL1 and applied it across 100+ customers across different sectors and would continue to expand the deployment with upcoming customers too.
  • Escalation support for EM7 product
  • Flawless handover between support engineers during a P1
  • Online Training
  • Service desk support needs improvement. I would love to get minimal questions from SD agent during a critical P1 support call when [the] customer is referring a case number
  • Support engineer knowledge on IS product needs improvement
  • Delay in Engineering teams support during public holidays and weekend support
  • Percona support and response needs improvement during crisis
November 30, 2021

Good product!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just use ScienceLogic API to get the respective details mentioned above.
  • UI is good.
  • Alerts feature has been beneficial.
  • API makes it easy to pull data for developers.
  • API are not robust since they fail sometimes due to multiple requests.
  • API documentation could be bettered.
  • UI is a little slow and dodgy sometimes.
Specially suited for monitoring and retrieving device related data in various teams, specifically network services teams.
It is an org level visibility.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic for monitoring our Managed Service customers, providing in-depth analysis on a range of hardware and software components in the data center. We also sell, deploy, and configure the application to any of our customers that require a monitoring solution for IT environments. Typically it is deployed across all departments.
  • Powerful monitoring capability, can ingest data from a lot of sources
  • Good multi-tenancy features
  • Extensible - can write your own powerpacks/code snippets
  • Built-in automation features
  • Business Services
  • The interface - it is out of the 1980s. Version 8.14 is current and I believe a new version is coming with a new interface. UPDATE - the new interface is much, much better.
  • Community - not a huge user group like you have with other software. i.e. - very few blogs on features/how-tos etc.
  • Monitoring items in VMware is a bit cumbersome, You need to monitor the vCenter endpoint. It will drag in all components relating to it. If you wish to see metrics for particular machines, you also need to create and manage a discovery for that machine--something as simple as file space usage.
  • Powerpack support. If you use a powerpack that is community-built, getting support for this is tough.
  • Support does not have a chat option, however it is typically good.
I would recommend ScienceLogic SL1 in environments where there is a mix of technologies. For us, that means VMware, Hyper-V, Citrix, IBM Mainframe, and all hardware relating to that (i.e. Servers, SANs, Switching Fabric, Network, etc.). Specifically, where you wish to monitor/build up a service-designed view, it is an excellent tool.
Yes, absolutely. ScienceLogic has good features for discovering items in any environment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 used [...] across [the] organization to manage the infrastructure environment to address monitoring issues, [and] perform automation against manual interventions to resolve issues, [and] ticket creations.
  • Discover the whole environment
  • Getting granular details about the nodes in the environment
  • Dynamic alignment of monitoring applications
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Understanding the inbuilt Maria DB schemas and data structure
  • Details on the Dynamic Applications Snippets and the associated core Python scripts created on the servers
  • Changing any details on the backend [via Database] not reflected in front end [GUI]
  • Single tools for monitoring, event management, notification & ticketing
  • Cost-effective for small & medium-sized companies
  • Easily scalable for large enterprise / based on load
  • Agentless monitoring
Yes. Automating [the] discovery of granular details within the environment brings more details/awareness on the environment.
May 17, 2021

Just the beginning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're still in pilot phase to see if we can get the same efficiencies as other organisations have through their deployments.
  • Increased speed and efficiency of onboarding new environments.
  • Contextual troubleshooting with IT and Business Services.
  • Consolidation of toolsets.
  • Requires deep knowledge of the product, time to upskill.
  • Do not assume everything works straight out of box, be prepared to develop code.
  • Business resistance to change and expenditure.
Ideal where an organization has a central point for operations centres (NOC, TOC) etc.
Yes but we're still in early use cases.
May 17, 2021

SciLo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 as our modes of monitoring of our devices within the company. We use multi vendor platform that are enrolled in SciLo. We use this platform to schedule maintenance window when we have activities, change, and other tasks. We also use it to monitor certificates and uptime of the devices.
  • You can integrate automation.
  • Monitoring devices for outages.
  • Scheduling for device maintenance window.
  • Modernized display or GUI.
  • Additional tools for monitoring.
  • Device logging.
When it comes to device monitoring, SciLo is doing a great job. You can monitor the device 24/7, and you can also monitor expired certificates, up down of the device. You can schedule maintenance window to override alerts that can alarm your customer or Network Operations Center personnel. You may call it advance NMS.
We can easily monitor devices and alerts us users if we need to take actions. We can also use this to schedule maintenance windows so it will not alarm or notify other Engineers that a specific device is down. It made monitoring devices easy by use of scripts and automation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScieLo is very useful, especially to us engineers, it makes our life easier and efficient as the automation from monitoring (networks and certificates validity) and integration to Snow ( ticket creation for any alert/error).
  • The automation of monitoring
  • The integration to ticketing tools
  • Can change schedules and automate the maintenance schedule of the device to prevent alerts
  • For now, I can't see any problem with ScienceLogic SL1, however, I think it's good to put an option or settings with the TimeZone, since our office is in AU but we're working in the PH.
ScienceLogic SL1 is really good as you can focus on your BAU, [and] once a change ticket is raised you can simply start your activity from snow, and it will automatically set a maintenance schedule to the device.
So far NO, not yet experienced to modify my level in ScienceLogic SL1.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using SL1 for some years for infrastructure and application capacity monitoring and we've been satisfied with the tool. The SaaS, agentless, open/customized tool brought us the opportunity to monitor our customer devices with power packs (some good, others not so much) and create our own monitoring collections, presentations, and monitors, which was good. The quick data warehouse and report/dashboard capabilities are a plus for the tool as well, for simple purposes they can fulfill what is required.
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Capacity monitoring
  • Cloud capacity monitoring
  • General integration through snippets/api/RBA
  • Development documentation is still required.
  • Out of the box integration with event management tools.
ScienceLogic is very well suitable for overall capacity monitoring, for the operational system, application or cloud and is very nice if quick information intervals are required for analysis (the tool is not a data warehouse). The dashboards and reports are very nice as well, since out of the box, you can have enough views required for a first analysis. The less appropriate scenario is the usage of ScienceLogic as an APM substitute and deep down dashboard/report tool.
The capability of ScienceLogic to deliver out-of-the-box reports and dashboards (according to the maturity of the required/technology powerpack) changed the visibility across the infra, application, and services overall. Now, the customer and service provider, have, without the necessity of spending time developing easy and quick reports and dashboards.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multi-tended customer and internal managed service provider monitoring. Used across the company by technology owners and developers. Addresses inventory and network monitoring system servicing to CDW and its clients.
  • Dynamic Applications: Able to build custom applications which makes us more scalable.
  • CMDB population: Automatic CI population of assets and attributes provides excellent inventory reporting and helps with billing.
  • Dashboards: Excellent ways to build custom views of devices and graphs helps to get a good view of the health of a customer's system.
  • Upgrades: Looking forward to the new Yum deployment.
  • Interface management: I want to be able to disable/not discover certain interfaces. Filters by type, device class, ifDescr, org, etc. would be lovely.
Good UI interface. You can build custom applications to provide a new monitoring feature without relying on the vendor. With regards to functionality, ScienceLogic would be a great fit for any sized organization. Billing would possibly be the only barrier for smaller organizations.
We were able to provide greater visibility to the client using the discovery applications and component build-outs.
Support seems to continue to kick the ticket back with either some sort of weak answer or we go in the back and forth of questions and answers in this sorry of excuse support portal.
I'm overall a happy guy with the product, especially compared to other that I've used.