Segment Reviews

45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Yaniv Vararu | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2020

Segment.io is just great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's basically used by the Product group to get insights into our costumers' usage of the platform, but this data is being shared later on with other groups within the company. It mainly solves the problem of decision-making regarding the development of new features and/or enhancements.
  • It can track every action our users do in our platform.
  • It supplies data in realtime.
  • It supplies info about the users' devices.
  • Potentially, it could "warn" the developers/product about areas in our code that are not covered by events (and let us decide if it's "be design" or we missed it).
  • It's difficult to get accumulated history data exported out in order to analyze it.
  • There's no easy way to compare data from 2 sources (our main target is to compare the same events between our test environment and prod environment).
There's no specific scenario I can provide. It's more of the general benefit of getting accurate and realtime data of our customers' usage in order to drive us to get decisions. This is done extremely well by the Segment app. In addition, the Segment app is very intuitive (after setup), which makes it really easy to use.
We never approached Segment's Support, so I can't really rate it.
Read Yaniv Vararu's full review
Justin Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Developer and business unit-friendly data collection tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Segment to easily ingest all of our user analytics data and distribute it to data warehousing and various analytics platforms such as Google Analytics and Mixpanel. Without Segment we would have had to create custom components in our web client for each of these services and write even more software behind the scenes to collect data from these platforms for central storage.
  • Ease of Use
  • Developer Documentation
  • Diversity of Integrations
  • Pricey at scale
Segment is a perfect tool if your organization is asking client-side software application developers to make user analytics data available to multiple teams with different use cases. Segment makes it easy to get data that is useful for UI/UX design teams, marketing and business units all to the appropriate places without sacrificing accuracy or resolution.
They are also quick to reply, have excellent documentation and have useful forums for discussion with other users and product developers.
Read Justin Collier's full review
Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

One Data Collection and Integration Tool for All Your Needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Segment to collect all the structured data from our SaaS platform to pass it on to other tools we use to analyze the data, create reports, interact with users and track engagement for the product.
This tool is mainly used by our technology department that set it up initially and keep making changes to the setup with the product and marketing departments.
  • It reduces the time taken to set the analytics and data collection part of your tool.
  • Their documentation on setting things up is really good and simplifies the process.
  • The pricing, especially for an early stage startup, is pretty expensive.
  • While this is a long shot, integrating with tech language verticals like Laravel (for php) would be great.
This is perfect for any business, startup or tool that puts any importance on data collection and organization. Segment can ease the process by enabling you to set up your data collection protocols for your tool initially, with their own stack and then it connects with other tools, to pass the data into readable formats for those tools. It saves the effort of having to set up different collection parameters for different tools every time you wish to try a new tool out.
Over the period it took us to set up, we kept going back to their enablement team to help us with the setup, and they were always ready and were very helpful in the entire process. Even with their documentation, they took the time out to help us work through the process. We've never had a message/email unanswered for more than an hour on working days.
Read Manan Vora's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Segment Offers Great Data for a Great Price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Segment to send all of our front-end usage data to our data warehouse, as well as sending key events to 3rd party ad, CRM, and other tools. We use the filtering functionality, the visual tagger, and some of the webhook functionality as well. It's used by marketing, data analytics, data engineering, and customer service, as well as our engineering/product teams.
  • Strongest catalog of integrations of tools of this nature.
  • Good support and service, good salespeople.
  • Reasonable pricing for what it is and the value created (comparable tools would cost significantly more).
  • Makes data warehouse-based analytics accessible to startup organizations.
  • Some connectors (EG HubSpot source) do not have necessary fields/data and it's unclear how to get these built out.
  • Some destination connectors have limitations and can require rework to make the data flowing thru Segment meet the requirements of the ad connectors.
  • Not much consistency across connectors.
  • At scale, can struggle with data volumes and loading data in one sync, causing data to change retroactively.
  • Segment is great for companies that want to track their front-end actions with a high degree of granularity and send them to different tools and data warehouses.
  • If you have a high value per user, Segment can be very affordable for what it is.
  • Segment's pricing is per unique user, so if you run a lot of traffic (e.g. publishers, ultra-low value per visit and low LTV companies) that doesn't monetize effectively the pricing may not work for you.
Generally once the Segment team understands your question (which usually doesn't happen on the first ticket), after that they're very helpful.
Given the amount of external systems/connectors involved, often the issues lie with other companies and their data/structures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Excellent software solving a big problem in the industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Segment for almost 3 years now. We started using Segment because we wanted to start tracking product adoption. It was really the only tool that could help us track each event and send it to multiple systems as well. Over the years, Segment has helped not just the product team but the entire organization is now able to easily integrate usage data with their respective tools. For instance, we are able to send the data to BigQuery, Salesforce, etc. so that everyone in the org has access to the data. I would highly recommend Segment.
  • Best part is that it integrates with almost all the tools out there.
  • Very robust.
  • They have recently launched a visual tagger (not used it) but I am sure it will help a lot of people.
  • It requires developers to add events.
  • I was not very happy with our CSM.
  • Tried Personas but was not that impressed.
Excellent if you want to start tracking usage data and send it to multiple systems (like a BI tool or your marketing automation tool). They integrate with almost all major tools in the market. They are still evolving their Personas product which as of now is not the most sophisticated solution in the market.
I tried using Personas product but I couldn't get a lot of support from their team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Critical Customer Infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Segment is used across our entire organization to centralize the collection and dissemination of user data.
  • Allows us to install many different apps with just one snippet.
  • Handles warehousing of analytics and user data well.
  • Allows to create attributes based on calculating data from other user attributes.
  • Cost - most of the functionality is only available on Business tier.
  • Support could be better.
Where user data is an important part of your analytics stack, where you use lots of different tools and want to have consistent data transmission between tools.
Read this authenticated review
Brad Crabtree | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Segment provides more real-time user data than you could imagine

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Segment to track our user data as they visit our e-learning site and mobile app. We track log-ins, page views, video views (starts, percentage watched, finishes, etc) and import this data into Google Data Studio via our database. Without Segment, we were only gathering basic, broad analytics information such as overall visitor counts. We are now tracking individual usage, are alerted to churn risk, and can provide individualized suggestions based on the usage habits of our customers.
  • In-depth data tracking.
  • It's easily integrated into platforms and databases.
  • Immediate tracking.
  • Steep learning curve for new users
  • Must use external database
  • Too much information may feel overwhelming out of the box
We currently use a platform that has built-in dashboards and analytics. However, the data is too broad and not specific enough for our needs. We could not track individual usage or provide personalized recommendations. We found that certain important data points would be ignored.
Segment filled all of those gaps and provided more information than we could’ve imagined was available. After plugging it into our own database, we are now able to create our own customized dashboards to give us and our team the information we need instantly.
The support Documentation has been adequate for us. We have not needed to use their actual support team yet.
Read Brad Crabtree's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Segment is the only solution we found that made setting up a data warehouse for our usage data easy!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have an education app that's used by approximately 50k daily active users. We use Segment to connect the relevant data systems we use (Customer.io, Zendesk, a communications provider, etc) and dump that data into Redshift for our analysis and reporting. We then put a BI tool on top of that to provide internal metrics.
  • Receives data effortlessly from multiple providers.
  • Sends that data to our data warehouse without complaining.
  • Makes it easy to debug via the console when things go wrong.
  • Some of the integrations don't allow you to choose specific windows. For instance, you can't say 'only send the data that happened yesterday.' So we have one provider that we put a high volume of traffic through, and it dumps all 7 million records EVERY day.
We got in early, so our pricing is grandfathered. It works well for us because it's not really capped on usage right now. However, we have some colleagues who use it who claim they're getting killed on pricing. This could be because they're much higher volume than we are, I'm not really sure. But, for a startup... it's ideal. I'm unaware of anything else that does this service as well.
Support is exactly what it should be... fast... efficient... and gets right down to the truth of the matter. Sometimes I don't like their answer (like when they tell me the product is acting as designed when it dumps 7m records a night into Redshift and there are no plans to fix it -- when other integrations within segment don't do that and the provider allows for data ranges.)
Read this authenticated review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Super comprehensive analytics solution, great to try out!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since we're a startup, most of our company is familiar with the analytics we get from Segment. The data you get from Segment is extremely flexible and great for most use-cases and stages of companies. We use it for comprehensive event and tracking analytics for marketing, app-based events, and sign-ups and purchase events. It is also great for tracking conversion rates, doing some simple A/B testing analytics, etc...
  • Multi-platform. Segment has easy integrations in many different web, backend, and app platforms/frameworks. We use the Segment SDK in Android and iOS as well as our node.js backend.
  • Segment is fairly affordable for early-stage companies that are trying out different analytics software. The "developer" plan is free and is suitable for most companies with products that have a small user base.
  • The UI is great! It is extremely intuitive and easy-to-learn, and this made it take very little time to integrate this software into our analytics and marketing workflows.
  • For companies that have more than 10,000 monthly tracked users, Segment gets somewhat expensive, and may be unaffordable for some companies that have exceptional MTU stats.
  • There is a small learning curve, and the amount of settings and things you can change can be slightly overwhelming in the early stages.
  • Some pages can be overwhelming with too much data and things to look at.
Segment is a great choice for early-stage companies that are looking to experiment with different analytics software, and can afford scaling up Segment to $500-2k+ per month in costs. For companies/websites that require very simple analytics, like tracking conversion rates, a cheaper, less comprehensive piece of analytics software would likely be a bit more suitable.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Tim Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2018

The best option for event tracking out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was working as the head of analytics at a startup incubator, so I evaluated many different data and marketing automation tools. After trying most of them, I settled on Segment as the best for a few different reasons. The main reason is the ease in basic event and page tracking. After that, it was all the different sources and integrations.
  • Ease of event tracking. Just like Google Analytics, except you can warehouse your own data for a reasonable price. Warehousing your own event data is critical for companies that want to leverage data science at some point in their existence (which should be all companies these days).
  • Price. Startups can get by with the free version of Segment for a long time.
  • Integrations and sources. Segment makes it easy to warehouse other types of data such as Google AdWords, Facebook Ads, etc. It also allows you to send event data to 3rd party services like Google Analytics.
  • More and richer sources. For example, MailChimp is a source but the data you get from MailChimp is quite limited. I ended up writing my own scripts to take better advantage of MailChimp's API because Segment's integration was lacking.
  • Better examples on how to set up event tracking. Pageview tracking is easy enough, but it would be nice if they had a sample app and corresponding code for it and showed you, via Git commits, how to add various kinds of events.
Any startup that wants to get on the right track with their analytics should be using Segment rather than Google Analytics, Mixpanel, Amplitude, Heap, and Kissmetrics. Segment is far superior and a better value. In addition to collecting data, Segment will also solve many of your companies marketing automation tasks.
Read Tim Abraham's full review
Tim Berman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Important tool for data consolidation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Segment as a datahub to centralize our data and analyze it. It helps to avoid all the scattered and siloed data problems by consolidating it in a data warehouse.
  • Integrations.
  • Data consolidation.
  • Event recording.
  • Complicated user interface.
  • No visibility on data passing through the hub.
  • Needs more integrations to apply to more use cases.
A businesses with a developer team or development budget will appreciate Segment.
Read Tim Berman's full review
Jon Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

Segment makes life easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Segment is used across all departments/groups to manage software on our marketing site and applications. We also push all activity through Segment with defined actions and store that in our database for further analysis. This allows us to better understand what our users are doing, why they're doing it and how we can make their experience better for them.
  • Integrates 3rd party software into your site
  • Tracking custom events
  • Ultimate in flexibility, track how you want to track
  • Dashboard could be laid out better
Any company that uses analytics in their efforts should use Segment to simplify the management of those external services. The only area where Segment would not be well suited is if the service you use is not already in the Segment marketplace and it causes some custom work in order to properly implement.
Read Jon Lee's full review
Sam Ho | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2017

Segment.com review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For startups, the first thing I would do would be to implement segment.io before any of the other marketing analytics, automation and ad tech tools. It basically removes the engineering cost of adding any of these services and further more, allows you to test various services easily to make an informed decision. (Replaces the need to insert all the custom JavaScript snippets that these various tools require, now just copy your API key to Segment.io, and flip a switch and your service is ready to go. Furthermore, for event tracking, rather than writing the custom code for each tool, write it once for Segment.io and it can send the user data and events/actions to any tool for analysis).
  • Ease of integration
  • Reduces engineering costs
  • Event tracking and user info
  • Cheaper Redshift data plan
  • More flexible tagging for more custom information
Segment.io is a must for any small startup getting going and for medium sized startups as well.

For larger corporations with more engineering resources, Google Tag Manager might be a better fit (more complicated, but also more customizable).
Read Sam Ho's full review
Michael Ball-Marian | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2017

Segment solves a problem and solves it well.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Segment.io within our enterprise startup business, Instant Agenda. This is effectively a small team within a huge organization. We're effectively a separate entity, attempting to develop a new business with new customer segments and new channels. We use Segment to implement metrics on our public facing web site and our web/mobile app.
  • We had started with Mixpanel, and the transition to Segment was really painless. The JS implementation used roughly the same structure, so it only took a couple of hours to re-instrument our whole app.
  • Particularly if you are starting a new product, or just adding metrics to a product, I recommend starting with Segment.io.
  • There are a few things that it doesn't do (for example, Mixpanel.Union and a few others). But, it is easy to implement those calls manually, as Segment.io just wraps Mixpanel code.
  • We have multiple metrics platforms in operation (Intercom, Mixpanel, GA, and others). Makes it trivial to keep all our metrics unified.
  • Very little to dislike here. In some ways there is nothing sexy about Segment.io, but it gets the job done and stays out of your way.
If you are doing web-based behavioral analytics, and implement multiple solutions (e.g., Mixpanel, Try Chameleon, Intercom, Social media ads, etc.) it is a great, flexible solution.

If you have only a single analytics tool (E.g., Google Analytics) then you don't really need it. If you are solely within the Google-verse, then Google Tag Manager is an appropriate substitute.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Segment for SaaS Companies from a Marketers POV

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We setup segment on our marketing website, support website and application (SaaS)
  • We installed segment to be able to track user data across a variety of platforms without having to install different tracking data for each platform
  • Very easy to install tracking code across all websites and applications
  • Very easy to turn on integrations to test a variety of marketing, sales and customer success platforms once tracking code is setup
  • Saved a ton of time for our development team (saved me having to ask them every time I wanted to test a new marketing tool)
  • Would be good to see their integration library grow with smaller solutions that are not as popular yet
  • I found myself wanting integrations for a few marketing tools that were not yet in the application library
  • The new integration management area is confusing, I liked the old version better
  • I would recommend Segment to any marketing or customer success team of a software company
  • It's perfect for enabling non-technical people to test a variety of tools without having to bug the development team every time
  • If your going to be using tools like Intercom, FullStory, Mixpanel etc. you should be using segment to enable accurate data tracking across all of these platforms
Read this authenticated review

About Segment

Segment is an SF-based customer data platform that helps engineering teams at companies like Tradesy, TIME, Inc., Gap, Lending Tree, PayPal, and Fender, etc., achieve significant time and cost savings on their data infrastructure. The vendor says they also enable Product, BI, and Marketing teams to access 200+ tools (Mixpanel, Salesforce, Marketo, Redshift, etc.) to better understand and optimize customer preferences for growth— all integrations are pre-built and accessible through a central dashboard.



Segment Features

Has feature​​Data Capture & Delivery — Collect data from every customer touchpoint and send your data to hundreds of tools and data warehouses
Has feature​​Personas — Unify user history across devices and channels into a comprehensive profile, synthesize raw data into traits, audiences, and predictions for each customer, and share those profiles with all of your marketing tools
Has feature​​Data Filtering & Schema Locking — Set defaults and event requirements to control your data cleanliness and block rogue events from hitting your integrations and warehouses
Has feature​​Historical Data Replay — Load all of your historical customer data tracked with Segment into new tools or warehouses
Has feature​​Historical Data Replay — Load all of your historical customer data tracked with Segment into new tools or warehouses
Has featureEnterprise Security — Configure Single Sign-On and restrict account access to certain team members
Has feature​​Notifications & Alerts — Get proactive alerts when account changes are made or there are updates to your warehouse
Has featureCross-Domain Analytics — Unify your customer data and performance metrics across domains, content properties, or marketing sites

Segment Screenshots

Segment Integrations

Zendesk, Stripe, Google Analytics, Amazon Redshift, Optimizely, AppsFlyer, Braze, Salesforce, Amplitude, Big Query, Facebook, Adobe, + 200 other technologies

Segment Competitors

Tealium AudienceStream, mParticle, Astronomer

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

segment.com/pricing

Segment Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Segment Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English