Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Sigma

Sigma

Overview

What is Sigma?

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Sigma Recommended.

8 out of 10
February 19, 2024
Incentivized
We use it to embed onto our website for client-facing reporting and internal reporting for our teams that need to see our Sigma data but …
Continue reading

Sigma Rolling Out.

9 out of 10
February 16, 2024
Incentivized
We use Sigma all day everyday to achieve our production goals and monitor current progress at just a glance. It aids us in planning and …
Continue reading

My Sigma Review

10 out of 10
February 13, 2024
Incentivized
Used for KPI dashboards, monthly/quarterly financial reporting, tracking data sets, and manipulating data. I have used Sigma to make …
Continue reading

Sigma Review

10 out of 10
February 08, 2024
Incentivized
I use Sigma Computing to find patterns in my data and create dashboards to strategize business decisions based on my analysis. I enjoy …
Continue reading

Love Sigma

9 out of 10
January 10, 2024
Incentivized
I create analytics reporting for many stakeholders. I make customer data available on a variety of dashboards to our account managers, I …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 15 features
  • Drill-down analysis (153)
    8.7
    87%
  • Report sharing and collaboration (159)
    8.4
    84%
  • Customizable dashboards (158)
    8.0
    80%
  • Formatting capabilities (160)
    7.5
    75%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Sigma?

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

164 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Power BI?

Microsoft Power BI is a visualization and data discovery tool from Microsoft. It allows users to convert data into visuals and graphics, visually explore and analyze data, collaborate on interactive dashboards and reports, and scale across their organization with built-in governance and security.

What is Tableau Desktop?

Tableau Desktop is a data visualization product from Tableau. It connects to a variety of data sources for combining disparate data sources without coding. It provides tools for discovering patterns and insights, data calculations, forecasts, and statistical summaries and visual storytelling.

Return to navigation

Features

BI Standard Reporting

Standard reporting means pre-built or canned reports available to users without having to create them.

7.7
Avg 8.2

Ad-hoc Reporting

Ad-Hoc Reports are reports built by the user to meet highly specific requirements.

8
Avg 8.1

Report Output and Scheduling

Ability to schedule and manager report output.

8.9
Avg 8.3

Data Discovery and Visualization

Data Discovery and Visualization is the analysis of multiple data sources in a search for patterns and outliers and the ability to represent the data visually.

6.4
Avg 8.0
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Sigma?

Sigma is a business intelligence (BI) and analytics platform purpose-built for the cloud. With Sigma, anyone can use the spreadsheet functions and formulas they already know to explore live data at cloud scale, down to the lowest grain of detail. Its familiar spreadsheet-like interface delivers SQL into the hands of any user while keeping data fresh and secure within cloud data warehouses.


Data-first companies can use Sigma to empower their employees, customers, and partners to break free from the confines of the dashboard and explore data for themselves to make better, faster decisions. The software was built to capitalize on the performance power of cloud data warehouses to combine data sources and analyze billions of rows of data instantly – no coding required.

Sigma Features

BI Platform Features

  • Supported: Live Connection to External Data
  • Supported: Snapshot of External Data
  • Supported: ETL Capability

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Output Raw Supporting Data
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling
  • Supported: Delivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)

Sigma Videos

What is Sigma?
Cohort analysis with Sigma
Sigma for Sales Teams Demo
Rapid Data Prototyping with Sigma
Building Pivot Tables with Sigma
Embedded Analytics with Sigma
Parsing JSON in seconds with Sigma
Sigma Demo at Snowflake Summit

Sigma Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Tableau Desktop, Tableau Cloud, and Looker are common alternatives for Sigma.

Reviewers rate Report Versioning highest, with a score of 9.6.

The most common users of Sigma are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(287)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Definitely! Before, our team always needed to rely on data analytics team to write SQL queries and run the report for us to act on issues we have, this is not efficient and time consuming. After we started using Sigma, all our team members can explore and analyze the data for the information we need that is critical to make decision.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Immensely. I am a business user that doesn't know SQL. Thanks to Sigma I haven't had to learn it and been able to focus more on my business instead of learning SQL.
December 25, 2020

Sigma review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm confident with using SQL but Sigma also provides nice visual way to do things. Using SQL helped me tremendously in analyzing recent problems with fraud and getting started with Sigma quickly.
Without using SQL, I would've struggled through the user interface, but through usage of SQL that I'm so familiar with, I was able to get things done quickly and efficiently.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This has been helpful to me. I have had some experience writing SQL queries in the past - and while I can do it, it is much faster and easier to use the interface provided in Sigma Computing. I haven't had to do any particularly complex queries yet, but I would be interested to see how Sigma can handle increased complexity.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I personally have very limited experience with SQL, having a data scientist who completed the setup for us. So without tools like this, I would not be able to fully do my job. There have been significant benefits from employing this kind of tool.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The primary users of Sigma in our company are people who likes Excel or spreadsheets. We do have users who write complicated SQL queries inside Sigma too. However, the spreadsheet interface makes the non-tech users intend to try a new tool like Sigma.
October 02, 2020

So far, happy!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Absolutely, I think all of my other responses speak to this, too! The tool has made it possible to put all of the different types of data Mintel tracks, but specifically new product data, in one place that is easy to read, understand, and change. This has made it possible for my team to spend less time working on creating a "story" looking through endless Excel spreadsheets of data while also reducing potential error.
September 29, 2020

Review of Sigma Computing

John Nham, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Yes - Since I do not know SQL, Sigma has been an amazing tool to help me pull down raw data. I believe that I'm not the only person in the organization that doesn't know SQL, and because of that, we have implemented Sigma across the organization. Every department has the need for data, and the ability to retrieve those data, and Sigma has helped with that.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is what I would describe as the primary benefit to using Sigma at our company -- the world of data analysis has opened up beyond those that have spent years formally studying and/or working with data. An understanding of SQL is certainly helpful but not at all necessary to benefit from Sigma. We have a number of users from the design and marketing teams, they were previously dependent on the data analytics team, but have been able to greatly reduce the number of requests simply due to our implementation of Sigma.
May 31, 2020

Sigma is Great

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The benefit is more time for data analysts to do analysis work or work on ETL that makes more data available. End users have been able to do a lot of exploring on there own without taking the time of a data analyst. This was often not the case.
Peter Jaffe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Not having to know SQL in order to use a BI product would be a basic requirement, in my opinion—if you have to know SQL, the product is not worthwhile. Most of our users do not know SQL. They do seem to feel comfortable with the spreadsheet-like interface.
Nicholas Monje | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Allowing non- or less-technical partners to self-serve questions saves our Product and Data team immense amounts of time, and/or allows us to answer questions that might have been dropped had we not had such a powerful tool. The insights this provides is invaluable in helping us prioritize new features and understand the impact of past ones, as well as dig in to understanding issues that arise with customers.
Return to navigation