TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0P/Q9/A9AQNVR6GK0R.pngSolid BI SolutionAs the premier company for cannabis industry data and insight, delivering fast, accurate, and visually appealing dashboards for our clients is mission critical. Sisense allows us to present data in a visually stunning manner that continually "wows" our clients, with the dashboards seamlessly integrated into our web portal. The ability to add in third party/custom plug ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.,Once the data model(s) and formulas are set up, it's easy to get designers up to speed and creating their own dashboards quickly. Excellent integration into web portals and white labeling. The ability to add in third party/custom plug-ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins, makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.,Admins can't view all user dashboards - they must be shared by the user first. Some settings can't have their default changed, forcing them to be set manually for each new dashboard. Sorting abilities are limited to what's visible, with no ability to sort one column or labels based on the value in a non-displayed column.,9,Microsoft SQL Server,10,8Sisense is a great valueBeyond simply presenting and extracting data, we have implemented interactive dashboards which visualize, but more importantly, analyze and correlate data to track performance and inform decision making. Sisense is a product that simplifies analytics for complex data by letting us prepare and analyze both big and disparate datasets. Sisense handles data preparation for analysis as well as dashboard visualization.We are using it primarily to track and inform the performance of our employees across the entire university fundraising group.,It really does a great job handling very large data sets and mashes up various sources into a cohesive form. It is very easy to go from raw data to a dashboard in no time flat. The performance for the cost is great.,Visualizations could be more flexible especially in regard to labels. Exporting reports continues to evolve and can use some improvements as it relates to exporting spreadsheets in particular. Mobile accessibility is still in the developing stages.,9,,10,9Beginner's Thoughts on SisenseWe use Sisense across many departments within our organization. Primarily by our sales team who uses it to track their KPIs (revenue vs target by rep/department, open AR by rep, current and projected pipeline, etc), as well as our product management team, our purchasing department and our consumer sales / eCommerce team. It helps us give a clear picture of our sales performance at a category or even SKU level and compare that against our target revenue as well as give the margin story. It enables us to ask and answer more complex questions about our dataset.,In particular, the ability to easily model data within the Sisense ElastiCube, re-build the data and see the changes reflected within our dashboards is great. SiSense's ability to make short work of large data sets to answer questions is impressive. Sisense allows you to easily pull data from multiple sources. If you have data, it can use it. The filtering and formula capabilities within Sisense are strong.,Being so powerful, the ElastiCube must be carefully built especially with larger data sets - too many connections or the wrong ones between tables can lead to queries that eat up all system resources, requiring a reboot and disrupting the production environment. Sisense is very customizable and flexible, but sometimes it is surprising that some simpler features are not available; for example, you cannot change up or control your font size/color or other presentation elements at all without scripting. Emailing dashboards is very limited, particularly with larger widgets (like pivot tables). Furthermore the email scheduling doesn't allow you to choose a specific schedule or certain recipients.,9,Tableau Online, Phocas Business Intelligence, QlikView and Birst,NetSuite, Magento,7,5Sisense - the Right Fit for Ease of Use and Ease of ImplementationWe are in the early stages of implementing Sisense to our sales and executive teams. We have been a company that relies heavily on the use of Excel to export data from our ERP system and prepare pivot tables for our teams to use to help understand the performance of the business. Sisense was chosen to move us from a company that was using Excel-based data that was up to 30 days old to a real-time data-driven company that can analyze and talk to data that is refreshed multiple times a day. The ease of use of the backend and frontend have allowed us to build the environment, validate the data, and roll out the initial dashboards in less than 4 months.,Sisense owns the implementation by assigning a customer success manager that has the power to assign resources as needed to help you accomplish your goals. The GUI (both front-end and back-end) is very intuitive and user-friendly, which allows the company to adopt it quickly and allows the administrators to focus on the layout and usage of the dashboards. The technical support team and professional services team are both very knowledgeable and helpful.,The onboarding process that you start with misses the mark. The concept is for you to start slowly and build over time, which can be a challenge if you are a technical person and want to move rather quickly. The exporting feature could use some improvement. There are four total options for getting the data out of the browser to be able to share, but there are no templates that allow administrators to have control of the output of the exports.,9,We are in the early stages of implementation, but there has been a positive impact in the visibility to data in real time. We are operating with a four hour refresh so the sales managers get to see data as it happens during the day. The project has allowed us to look at our ERP data in a different way. It has made a positive impact in the way we are standardizing and cleaning up the source data to make it more accurate for our end users.,,Sage 500 ERP, Insite SoftwareSiSENSE as web service platform.I was using SiSense PRISM as platform supporting our own www service. Our service provided a complex info about public contracts around Poland and we used PRISM as BI platform to generate Dashboards. Those Dashboards were used by our costumers to analyze situation on public contracts market and support them in decision to start with a given contract. Overall I see PRISM as a great tool, which requires not so much IT knowledge to operate and is not time consuming in terms of deployment and report or dashboard preparation. It is also very low on Hardware resources consumption.,Great at mashing up data from multiple different data sources. Easy deployment, ETL process, Dashboard or Report preparation and distribution to end users. Very low hardware usage so you probably wont need to invest huge money on new servers. JS Extensions engine which allows to create really powerful tailored features.,Plug-ins in ETL tool are powerful, but configuration could be a little easier. Also JS extension in PRISM Web is powerful but could be a little more clear how to use. Need to catch up with several common features for BI platform.,10,QlikView,InForum,JetReports,9,SiSense is used as OEM solution which prepares a data, and then disaplys it in embeded dashboard in current web based system. It is mostly used by non-technical users, mainly from mobile devices and outside of company's network. Dashboards are also embedded the way that end users do not need to log in and can use them by single click.,10,9,We're able to finish our web service which we could not with our previous BI vendor. We could use our own product in a matter of 2-3 months after deployment which was quick.,4,3,As of today None.,Final Dashboards used as IFrame on our web service. Ability to mash-up multiple different data sources Speed - even with lot of text to analyze.,Mainly as a platform integrated with our web service that allows an innovative approach to analyzing public contracts market.,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability,I would definitely be more thorough in terms of evaluating a specific features required for our own product.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Some issues with IIS, when implementing earlier versions of PRISM Web.,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,9,It is quite easy to learn on your own, but before doing so you need to identify your needs and if some of those needs are not met easily, conntact suport to learn more about it.,9,Do not use IIS Express if you're going to use mobile platform since it has some issues. Other then that installation and configuration is easy and standard settings for most cases.,Some - we have done small customizations to the interface,Yes - we have added extensive custom code,8,Yes,Since solution is only in English, fact that they allowed us to translate some parts of Web Interface to Polish was something exceptional.,ETL Dashboard preparation Dashboard distribution,Plugins in EC Manager. JS Plugins could be problematic,10,9,9,9,Internal web application,File import/export Single Signon API (e.g. SOAP or REST) Javascript widgets ETL tools,9,10,10,Mostly pricing and number of users, but also some additional features outside regular license.,Be prepared in term of your needs to avoid disappointment.,Yes,Hierarchies New filtering system Memory consumption enhancments,Improved iPad experience Improved role configuration Better documentation for extending SiSense.,Yes,No
Windows, Linux, Mac
Sisense
87 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

Sisense Reviews

Sisense
87 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 87 vetted Sisense reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-49 of 49)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kirk Dudley profile photo
February 14, 2017

Sisense Review: "Solid BI Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the premier company for cannabis industry data and insight, delivering fast, accurate, and visually appealing dashboards for our clients is mission critical. Sisense allows us to present data in a visually stunning manner that continually "wows" our clients, with the dashboards seamlessly integrated into our web portal. The ability to add in third party/custom plug ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.
  • Once the data model(s) and formulas are set up, it's easy to get designers up to speed and creating their own dashboards quickly.
  • Excellent integration into web portals and white labeling.
  • The ability to add in third party/custom plug-ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins, makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.
  • Admins can't view all user dashboards - they must be shared by the user first.
  • Some settings can't have their default changed, forcing them to be set manually for each new dashboard.
  • Sorting abilities are limited to what's visible, with no ability to sort one column or labels based on the value in a non-displayed column.
As a market research/data company, Sisense is how we deliver our core product to our customers. Sisense excels at portal integration and white labeling. For experienced data analysts, it's not a great replacement for more traditional OLAP solutions, where drilling and slicing in and out of the data is a full-time position.
Read Kirk Dudley's full review
Wesley Ardoin profile photo
February 09, 2017

User Review: "Sisense is a great value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Beyond simply presenting and extracting data, we have implemented interactive dashboards which visualize, but more importantly, analyze and correlate data to track performance and inform decision making. Sisense is a product that simplifies analytics for complex data by letting us prepare and analyze both big and disparate datasets. Sisense handles data preparation for analysis as well as dashboard visualization.

We are using it primarily to track and inform the performance of our employees across the entire university fundraising group.

  • It really does a great job handling very large data sets and mashes up various sources into a cohesive form.
  • It is very easy to go from raw data to a dashboard in no time flat.
  • The performance for the cost is great.
  • Visualizations could be more flexible especially in regard to labels.
  • Exporting reports continues to evolve and can use some improvements as it relates to exporting spreadsheets in particular.
  • Mobile accessibility is still in the developing stages.
I think it is a great choice for an institution that doesn't want a lot of overhead in regard to IT support or cost, who would prefer to do the work themselves. It does a great job of presenting material simply to a wide audience. It doesn't require that the vendor be available to deal with large data sets either.
Read Wesley Ardoin's full review
Alex Placito profile photo
September 13, 2016

User Review: "Beginner's Thoughts on Sisense"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sisense across many departments within our organization. Primarily by our sales team who uses it to track their KPIs (revenue vs target by rep/department, open AR by rep, current and projected pipeline, etc), as well as our product management team, our purchasing department and our consumer sales / eCommerce team. It helps us give a clear picture of our sales performance at a category or even SKU level and compare that against our target revenue as well as give the margin story. It enables us to ask and answer more complex questions about our dataset.
  • In particular, the ability to easily model data within the Sisense ElastiCube, re-build the data and see the changes reflected within our dashboards is great.
  • SiSense's ability to make short work of large data sets to answer questions is impressive.
  • Sisense allows you to easily pull data from multiple sources. If you have data, it can use it.
  • The filtering and formula capabilities within Sisense are strong.
  • Being so powerful, the ElastiCube must be carefully built especially with larger data sets - too many connections or the wrong ones between tables can lead to queries that eat up all system resources, requiring a reboot and disrupting the production environment.
  • Sisense is very customizable and flexible, but sometimes it is surprising that some simpler features are not available; for example, you cannot change up or control your font size/color or other presentation elements at all without scripting.
  • Emailing dashboards is very limited, particularly with larger widgets (like pivot tables). Furthermore the email scheduling doesn't allow you to choose a specific schedule or certain recipients.
Sisense is especially well-suited to a company without a data warehouse already. Further, for companies like us who have a smaller number of users, we found it to be fairly affordable. For customers with a larger need for redundancy of data, stronger uptime etc., the basic version would not suffice but Sisense does have some options now for building a more sophisticated architecture.
Read Alex Placito's full review
Eric Zuehlke profile photo
November 07, 2016

Review: "Sisense - the Right Fit for Ease of Use and Ease of Implementation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the early stages of implementing Sisense to our sales and executive teams. We have been a company that relies heavily on the use of Excel to export data from our ERP system and prepare pivot tables for our teams to use to help understand the performance of the business. Sisense was chosen to move us from a company that was using Excel-based data that was up to 30 days old to a real-time data-driven company that can analyze and talk to data that is refreshed multiple times a day. The ease of use of the backend and frontend have allowed us to build the environment, validate the data, and roll out the initial dashboards in less than 4 months.
  • Sisense owns the implementation by assigning a customer success manager that has the power to assign resources as needed to help you accomplish your goals.
  • The GUI (both front-end and back-end) is very intuitive and user-friendly, which allows the company to adopt it quickly and allows the administrators to focus on the layout and usage of the dashboards.
  • The technical support team and professional services team are both very knowledgeable and helpful.
  • The onboarding process that you start with misses the mark. The concept is for you to start slowly and build over time, which can be a challenge if you are a technical person and want to move rather quickly.
  • The exporting feature could use some improvement. There are four total options for getting the data out of the browser to be able to share, but there are no templates that allow administrators to have control of the output of the exports.
Sisense is a great tool to provide non-technical users in your business [a way] to gain visibility to dashboards that display metrics defined by power users. It is well suited to bring in multiple sources of data and provide them in one interface to your user community. It is not well suited if you are looking for a tool to allow multiple users to perform analysis on your data and constantly change the metrics and parameters that are being investigated. The focus is on power users and administrators deploying dashboards that allow users to view metrics and slice data based on filters. The dashboards look very modern and the flexibility that the designers have to shape the dashboard is great.
Read Eric Zuehlke's full review
Michał Becker profile photo
September 03, 2016

User Review: "SiSENSE as web service platform."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was using SiSense PRISM as platform supporting our own www service. Our service provided a complex info about public contracts around Poland and we used PRISM as BI platform to generate Dashboards. Those Dashboards were used by our costumers to analyze situation on public contracts market and support them in decision to start with a given contract. Overall I see PRISM as a great tool, which requires not so much IT knowledge to operate and is not time consuming in terms of deployment and report or dashboard preparation. It is also very low on Hardware resources consumption.
  • Great at mashing up data from multiple different data sources.
  • Easy deployment, ETL process, Dashboard or Report preparation and distribution to end users.
  • Very low hardware usage so you probably wont need to invest huge money on new servers.
  • JS Extensions engine which allows to create really powerful tailored features.
  • Plug-ins in ETL tool are powerful, but configuration could be a little easier. Also JS extension in PRISM Web is powerful but could be a little more clear how to use.
  • Need to catch up with several common features for BI platform.
From my point of view it is perfect tool for any company which just starts with its first BI solution and are limited with money. Also great for companies which do not want to have a time consuming project to deploy. It depends on how large your data sources are, but probably you wont need to invest in any new hardware.
Read Michał Becker's full review
Holke Visser profile photo
February 22, 2016

Review: "Sisense: fast and easy to use on large data sets for medium sized businesses"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used by our whole organisation and Sisense is an integral part of the services we provide to our our customers. Sisense helps us to provide operational, tactictal and strategical information.
  • The user interface for creating dashboards is very user friendly.
  • The user interface for creating dashboards has a pleasant design.
  • The performance of analysis on large datasets is excellent.
  • Basic analytic cubes are easy to develop.
  • Sisense support is excellent. Replies are fast and support personel have the required knowledge and experience.
  • Upgrades have been deployed easily and without problems, up till now .
  • The development and maintenance of complex and generic analytic cubes could be improved.
  • Export of data and visualisations to pdf and csv is possible. However the functionality is basic and limited.
  • No time format/datatype available. This requires JavaScript code to make it work.
  • JavaScript add-ons for bucket analysis and Gantt charts are limited and not supported.
  • Very limited trellis functionality
  • Cube field names cannot be changed without impacting the dashboards. Impact analysis is not available in standard software package.
  • Cannot rebuild cubes without making cube inaccessible during rebuild period.
It is a perfect solution for small scale BI demands. This is not due to the columnar database. The backend can handle enterprise data loads easily. But Sisense lacks the features to create and maintain enterprise wide data models. However new functionality is added rapidly. I expect Sisense to able to answer the enterprise requirements in the near future.
Read Holke Visser's full review
Jim Wimsatt profile photo
June 14, 2016

User Review: "SiSense new user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We will eventually role out SiSense for all business units to manage KPIS. Initially we are starting with the senior leadership team's needs for sales and product insights.
  • Intuitive GUI.
  • Integrate many different types of data sources.
  • Quick dashboard results.
  • Less reliant on IT support; we were under the impression we would not need to have a developer but it is necessary for back end connections.
Sisense is well suited when multiple applications need to be connected for new insights.
Read Jim Wimsatt's full review
Andrew Pees profile photo
May 23, 2016

Sisense Review: "TRULY try it, you'll like it. Have a plan."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use SiSense to manage our operation and to provide all reporting. Further, we place strict rules on balancing KPIs to business processes, using alerts to advise when thresholds are disrupted. Further, we use it across both the organization as well as to flip it client facing [users]. The problems it addresses are many, however, it allows for expedient delivery of data across all employees, using a clean, intuitive interface.
  • Sisense professional services is particularly responsive and helpful for the numerous complexities you can throw at it.
  • Flexibility. The product is very elastic, allowing areas to be custom built, embedded or modified as fast as one can think of the need
  • Easy to assign data playgrounds to more savvy internal consumers of the product. Gives advanced general users easy ability to build their own dashboards or metrics.
  • Handles vast amounts of data seamlessly. Use cases involve over a billion records, regularly, and it is handled with ease across multiple platforms. To be clear, however, we also spec machines to SiSense recommendations, as well, but we would do that with any company. Basically, SiSense hassles us and the companies we use it for, the least of any product we have ever used. At first we were skeptical, but became a believer after continued use and practice.
  • Short lead time to advance use. Within 6 months, BI Devs will be pretty advanced. Within 1yr, they will be completely thrilled, within 2yrs you will be giving SiSense Ideas
  • SiSense reacts to issues we have found immediately, and many times implemented ideas under new versions. They are VERY good about listening. Any company that acts like their product is problem free is lying. SiSense gets to it straight away and asks for feedback and in return, tracks and acts on it.
  • Great at mashing up data from multiple different data sources.
  • JS Extensions engine which allows to create really powerful tailored features
  • Some version releases can knock out custom JavaScript, which can be annoying at times. We always do version upgrades with all products into our dev environment first, so its never placing us at risk.
  • Plugins in ETL tool are powerful, but configuration could be a little easier.
The SiSense forte is anything visual, obviously. It is Wwell suited for so much, but the basics remain - data connectivity, usage and flexibility allow for serious mash-up ability.

Areas perhaps not as fitting for use? Pixel perfect and report writing tools could be more robust. Depending on specificity of client need, we will resort to tools like Telerik or SSRS depending on set up (i.e.- cloud or premise). Another area is mobile. While we saw huge leaps forward at the end of 2015 and early 2016 in mobile, we would like to see a more flexible mobile experience. Real-estate on mobile is always a concern, so it's understood why some of the early releases are essentially wire framing the web version.
Read Andrew Pees's full review
Noel Poler profile photo
June 16, 2016

User Review: "Sisense a great partnership"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an OEM and just onboarding Sisense, so far it has been a great experience, excellent support, and it has met all our expectations. Internally we are already seeing a 2X-3X improvement in the ETL side and data configuration process.
  • Automate data extraction
  • Productivize a solution
  • Visualize data
  • Storytelling
  • Interacting directly with the end user though the platform
Sisense should own various spaces/verticals through partnering with consultants and experts in each area
Read Noel Poler's full review
Kumar Vivek profile photo
October 09, 2015

Review: "Grow from small to big and bigger data with Sisense"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Sisense to analyze our data from multiple sources including SQL db, google Ad words, Analytics, and google drive. We used Sisense for the whole organization to track and understand the performance of the company. We were able to switch from weekly and monthly reporting to real time tracking and report display through the dashboard. The depth of understanding of our company increased drastically.
  • Easy integration and mash up between various data sources is brilliant. You have to be careful about your data before you start mashing us the data but then the results are beautiful
  • Another feature I really like about elasticube is that you could make your own colums within the database in sisense using SQL commands
  • While loading elasticube sometimes it would display error or entire elasticube may not load properly.. Some bug fixes and refreshing solves the issue
  • Predictive pattern for the graphs could be a great add on feature
Sisense is made for big data. If you have your data organised properly for business intelligence and you love generating data then Sisense is a win.. Sisense may not be of great help if you are not willing to expand your data collection techniques. I believe if you dont have data then you can't make a decision.
Read Kumar Vivek's full review
TJ Houk profile photo
November 11, 2015

Sisense Review: "Strong Data Management Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SiSense is used across the organization. It's managed by an anaylitcal but nontechnical team. It's used primarily for dashboards which are consumed by executives, managers, and front-line employees. It allows us to have transparency into key metrics, allowing all users to have timely information about the state of the business regarding key metrics.
  • Managing data such that there is a single source of truth
  • Processing large quantities of data
  • Connecting to many different data sources
  • Building dashboards is very mouse-heavy and often a slow process
  • Provide more training upfront so companies use best practices from the start
  • Types of visualizations should be improved to look better and have more functionality & flexibility
SiSense deploys quickly and has a light footprint on a company's systems, so it's ideal for companies that need to launch and get results quickly. Admins will need a knowledge of the back end data sources and have an ability to manipulate them, but part of SiSense's value is in allowing users to be outside IT. For relatively novice analysts and managers, this is not the tool for report-writing; it's more appropriate to be used by sophisticated analysts pushing information to business users.
Read TJ Houk's full review
James Levine profile photo
March 18, 2015

User Review: "BI Solution SiSense"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SiSense is being used in our organization to:
•Get better insight into the data we already have
•Automate time consuming and labor intensive reports
•Eliminate error prone reporting, multiple spreadsheets, no audit trails etc…
•Create a centralized data warehouse and portal for all levels of the company.
•More time in analysis state than data collection
•Clear business driven BI Dashboards to allow executive level management to make clear
educated decisions.

SiSense is being used across our organization to help manage agent performance and maintain important KPI's
  • Ability to snapshot critical data that shows us the lifecycle of a customer and make intelligent predictions that drive change to our business model.
  • Direct access and visibility into real-time performance metrics for coaching and performance improvement.
  • Unified single source of truth for metrics company wide
  • Central web portal for all data
  • Email notification when new dashboards are created
  • Web UI for BI Studio so it can be used across multiple OS
  • East/West Coast US Support Hours
Any customer looking to join multiple data sources into a single BI solution should look to SiSense for an incredible solution.
Read James Levine's full review
Sinu AJ profile photo
June 03, 2015

Review: "Great dashboard creation tool - Sisense"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used by the Digital Marketing Team currently. Performance of the campaign on a daily basis is something which the product addresses mainly. Along with that, it also addresses problems like past performance by campaigns, vendor, etc.
  • Deployment and Migration is very easy.
  • Ease of use.
  • Development time taken is minimal.
  • Only inner joins are possible currently in their elasticube. It would've be easier to perform left and right joins through UI instead of writing SQL.
  • Since I use this product for the Indian market, Lakhs, Crores are currently not supported.
Quick Implementation, deployment and dashboard creation process by using Sisense
Read Sinu AJ's full review
Eyal Marmareli profile photo
May 28, 2015

Sisense Review: "Great Product and Great Company!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We're using Sisense as our centralized source for reporting across the organization. It's being used across all departments and is offered worldwide to employees across 40 locations.

Our main reason for searching for a BI tool was having one centralized source of reports across the organization. Some of the others benefits were:

  • Drill deeper into the data. We have a lot of reports that present KPI's at a high level and we needed to provide management the ability to drill deeper into numbers to understand the underlying details behind each one.
  • Create reports quickly on the fly.
  • Aggregate multiple data sources into one report/dashboard.
  • We really like the interface, the flexibility, ease of use in creating reports and dashboards and most of all the ability to drill down deeper into the data.
  • The sales process was also very smooth and transparent. Dealing with the people at Sisense was very easy and a great experience overall.
  • After we signed the contract and during the implementation Sisnse offered a lot of support and made sure we're getting value from their tool. We were up and running in a very short time frame.
  • We currently didn't run across any issues.The graphic aspect can be slightly improved but does the job for us now as well.
I would recommend this tool for companies that are looking to surface data from multiple data sources to stakeholders at different levels. We looked at a number of other options and Sisense made the most sense from a features, implementation and price stand point.
Read Eyal Marmareli's full review
Daniel Colussi profile photo
December 06, 2014

Review: "Big Data and Charter School - What? Sisense delivers big time"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used to give our educators on staff real-time feedback on the performance of their students. Using various coding techniques the dashboards are directly integrated into our student management system. All staff members across the state utilize the product. It addressed the need for all key performance data located in one place and in a timely manner.
  • Elasticube technology simple to use - extremely flexible and easy to use. You have many built in plugins to connect to multiple sources of data and the ability to build an API connector if needed.
  • Short Development time - build comprehensive dashboards on the fly and push changes instantly to the web
  • Customer service - big strength here. They have a very responsive support staff that will help you figure out any issue. I have them all on Skype if that tells you how accessible they are.
  • Discrepancies between what you see in the designer and how it is displayed on the web. It does not look as polished when published. Fortunately I have been already shown a sneak peek into the upcoming v5 and they moved the designer completely to the web.
  • Documentation on how to accomplish some things is sometimes left to much to the interpretation of the user. I would like to see a more comprehensive guide in different areas such as their API designer and some of their SQL design pieces.
  • Some stability issues within the prism web environment. Not sure if this is something at fault on my end or theirs.
I don't write many glowing reviews but this company has all the right things going for it. This product is particularly suited to companies with little fat in the IT side of things. One person with middling to good computer know-how can create everything they would need. Your prism web and elasticube can run on some pretty inexpensive hardware. The place where I placed emphasis was in lots of RAM and a fairly decent multi-core processor. To round it off, my biggest measure of how my experience is going to fare is the priority of the vendor in the area of customer service and it is superb.
Read Daniel Colussi's full review
Anthony R. Ebanks profile photo
March 11, 2015

User Review: "Common SiSense"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to comprehensively analyze all aspects of our fleet of road building equipment and tooling. Prism provides the advanced tools and techniques to manage our government's vital infrastructure assets in the most effective possible way.
  • Prism is unparalleled in its ability to uncover, highlight and explore complex relational database components.
  • The Elasticube feature, and its accompanying T-SQL expression builder, allows the user to create a suite of highly customizable and efficient query tools to tackle virtually any analysis.
  • With its ability to simultaneously query multiple databases Prism brings real industrial strength analytics to the ordinary non-IT professional.
  • I'd like to see more styles of charts, graphs and visualization tools generally. Specifically more detailed 3-D, contour and other specialty multi-axis surface type charts .
  • Creating custom expressions in the Elasticube code window can be a bit tricky if you're not already familiar with T-SQL or its variants.
  • As an evolving product, I found that the User's Guide could be improved.
Very well suited for linking and querying financial and physical asset performance together. I have found nothing else that competes with Prism in providing the comprehensive customization, visual and industrial strength query tools in one easy to use package.

Make sure your computer has the physical goods to get the most from the software. I recommend a 64 bit version of Windows and at least 6 gigs of RAM as a good starting point.

I haven't had to use their Customer Service for technical help recently, but I have had nothing but positive experiences to date.
Read Anthony R. Ebanks's full review
Arthur Zubarev profile photo
September 09, 2014

Sisense Review: "A flexible and straightforward data visualization and collaboration platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Vital Insights SiSense is used both as part of a web application, where the dashboards are embedded, and internally for generating ad-hock or custom reports. The web based dashboards are accessed by more than 200 customers presently. As in our organization accurate, fast insights is the paramount, SiSense was able to address the so called "agility" and "latency" problems by significantly lowering the report response time thanks to its in-memory data layer and the development time to product release as oppose to how long it took to produce a report using code and web UI controls only.
  • Fast data layer. It can reside entirely on the Elastic Cube side and/or datasource driven. The former helps crafting reports in quite a restricted mode and still being able to format data.
  • Connects to a wealth of data sources. With SiSense installing third party drivers typically is unnecessary as most of the connectivity options come "out of the box".
  • Interoperability and extensibility with JavaScript. This makes the reports (dashboards) able to incorporate 3rd party JavaScript libraries or used just for some "face-lifting" on the UI layer.
  • SiSense needs more functions added to the Elastic Cube formula (expression) editor to cover more basic SQL operations.
  • Currently, JavaScript needs to be updated in several places and quite hard to debug (at least in ver 4).
  • The ability to define left/right joins should be available at the Elastic Cube level.
  • Requires a modern browser which may not be always available in large corporate environments.
SiSense is well suited for self-service BI, large web-scale applications accessing heterogeneous data-sources where the data retrieval directly is slower than it is possible to fine-tune. It is easy to extend, and apply security on top of the database layer. SiSense is less suitable for software shops not that familiar with the web technologies, or web-scripting techniques.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Ken Hui Zheng profile photo
July 30, 2014

Review: "SiSense is a great solution for delivering agile BI with a low total cost of ownership"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Sisense to be the executive dashboard and managerial reporting platform across the whole organization. It provides business performance insight to people at all levels, including C-level executives, business function managers, product managers, and analysts.

Before SiSense, we used SAP Business Objective as our BI application; however, BO fell short of business mandates, and we had to look for an alternative solution. SiSense was chosen and implemented successfully to meet the business demand.

  • It is fast to setup, develop, and deploy.
  • It requires no tuning to handle large amounts of data.
  • it is easy to maintain and has low software license and hardware costs
  • Elastic Cube makes it easy to maintain consistency in data relationship / data definition across all reports,
  • The dashboard builder could construct complicated dashboards from the data model with lowest granularity level (minimal or none data aggregation before loading data to SiSense ).
  • SiSense doesn't have a comprehensive data permission authorization capability. It could be difficult to manage the data access permissions for an organization with a large hierarchy structure or for complex authorization requirements.
  • SiSense does not support merging two dimensions on-the-fly when building reports in BI Studio (the report development tool in SiSense). For example, there were a user table and a revenue table in the ElastiCube. To show user growth and revenue growth in one chart, I can not build the chart directly. Instead, firstly, I needed to bridge two date dimensions, the user sign-up date and the revenue date, from the two tables in ElastiCube Manager ( the cube management tool in SiSense). Secondly, I used the bridged date dimension to build the chart in BI studio. This leads to a complicated data model and the reduced flexibility in ElastiCube.
  • ElastiCube does not support outer-join tables when modeling data. Though it's always feasible to build reports that have outer-join logic, some minor work-around is required.
SiSense is very approachable and implementable, compared to other BI applications with similar functionality in the market.

SiSense is a great for
- companies / departments that need agility and fast delivery in BI and data analysis
- small to mid size companies
- companies that need to analyze large amounts of data

SiSense is less appropriate for
- companies that have a large hierarchy structure and complex data permission requirements

Read Ken Hui Zheng's full review
Max Dowaliby profile photo
September 14, 2014

User Review: "SiSense makes Sense"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is being used by Accordant Media across the entire organization for data visualization and analysis.
  • Customer Support
  • Data Visualization
  • Customization
  • User Management
  • Buggy at times
  • more D3.js capability
  • New version (5) has an incredible amount of potential, but was released a bit too early
SiSense is very good to use in a smaller setting. Deploying it across a large enterprise might be difficult. SiSense does not offer a hosted solution, so it is run entirely on local hardware. It can be difficult to manage and set up.
Read Max Dowaliby's full review
Erik Luxhoj profile photo
February 22, 2014

Review: "SiSense Provides a Professional Solution but with a Catch"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SiSense to deploy a solution for a customer. The customer needed a reporting solution and business information analysis to partner with their Wonderware HMI system. The product is being used by a specific department in one of their manufacturing facilities.
  • The data cube feature of SiSense is extremely powerful. It allows you to integrate with many different data providing systems. For the application we used it for, we had to use an ODBC driver to interface with an Allen-Bradley data collection system. SiSense was able to handle that data exchange very well.
  • The visual front end of the SiSense reports is very sharp looking. The reporting and monitoring screens look very clean and professional. You can pretty much match any GUI you are using on the customer's manufacturing floor. In the application we deployed SiSense for, we were able to seamlessly match the Wonderware HMI screens and then run SiSense on an external monitor so that it looked like the SiSense data monitoring screens were part of the HMI.
  • SiSense is easy to learn. When we were trying to decide if we wanted to purchase the license, we were able to download a trial version of the product to get a feel for it. SiSense also setup a webinar for us and walked us through a typical setup. It was very helpful.
  • One area that was not exactly perfect for us in terms of SiSense was the licensing system. It was very expensive, and the license was not a lifetime purchase. Their license has to be renewed yearly.
  • SiSense does a great job making the reports look awesome. However, what if the customer wants plain/jane reports? I wish there was a "simple" mode or something similar for a functional but clean and simple report interface.
  • SiSense's tech support was adequate, but I would only give it a 6.5 out of 10. They were not able to answer our data cube problem. We found the solution on our own and copied them on it.
I would ask the following questions if I did it over again: 1) What type of tech support do you offer? Is it a ticket submittal type support system? Online chat? How robust is that system (support)? 2) Can you give me an example of an super high end looking report? 3) Can you give me a clean, simple type report formatted perfectly for printing?
Read Erik Luxhoj's full review
Josiah Sternfeld profile photo
January 27, 2014

Sisense Review: "Solid BI tool for a reasonable price."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sisense to gather data between multiple systems, cleanse it and display it in meaningful ways for our clients and ourselves. We are an advertising agency, so we primarily use Sisense to pull paid search data (from Adwords), web analytics data (from GA), and sales performance data from Salesforce to build end-to-end performance dashboards. It has made a big difference in our ability to produce in-depth reporting for our clients in an ongoing way without having to spend hours-upon-hours pulling and cleansing data for each reporting cycle.
  • Great value for the cost from a BI standpoint.
  • The Elasticube is pretty intuitive in terms of adding data sources and cleansing/joining them.
  • The BI studio has many different report building features, allowing you to customize each clients dashboards to their needs.
  • The web version of the dashboards doesn't have the full functionality that the BI studio does, which can cause some issues
  • The elasticube's can sometimes be finicky and have failure to build errors which can cause headaches. This is primarily due to all of the different APIs that they try to maintain, but I'd like for their to be an easier way to pinpoint why the error occurred to remedy it versus a lot of manual investigation.
Overall I think it's a great tool for the money. Many BI tools that have similar features cost 5-10x what Sisense does. There is a heavy learning curve as I'd expect there is with any tool with this many features. But, all in all I think it's a solid product.
Read Josiah Sternfeld's full review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Review: "Sisense - A solid offering that deserves a look."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SiSense was used as a reporting tool for both internal and customer-facing purposes. There were reports build for each merchant. Specialty dashboards were developed for internal use by the business. The business users did not build their own dashboards. They were custom built by developers. Sisense was helpful in being able to tie together our complex database structure.
  • Ease of use.
  • Great interface.
  • Very customizable.
  • Slow when dealing with a ton of data and the schema is column-agnostic.
  • Buggy when too much customization is implemented.
  • Not the biggest range of report types.
Sisense is well suited for small BI implementations, and interfacing with few teams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2014

User Review: "SiSense - a most sensible choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used in our organisation to perform the following tasks:
- Bring together data from multiple data sources (mysql databases, google spreadsheets, google analytics, web analytics tools) to form a single source of truth.
- Dashboarding - various sales/metric dashboards are displayed around the office on large plasma screens. Individual users also have access to the dashboards.
- Adhoc reporting - we also use Sisense to perform adhoc reporting and do data extractions across different sources

The product is used across multiple departments from the CEO's office, through to marketing and accounting.
The product has a long way to establish a single source of truth for our sales data, but to also allow for the quick and timely extraction and presentation of data in dashboards which was previously done in a very laborious way.

  • Easy to generate dashboards
  • Easy to link up your different data sources (drag and drop)
  • Pleasing UI
  • Professional and responsive customer support
  • Smooth integration (hosted solution was seamless)
  • Cost effective
  • Would like to see conditional alert feature - ie if a value
  • Manual builds of the Elasticube (back end) can sometimes take a long time, for unknown reasons
  • Better mobile integration/UX
  • Can't print to PDF (yet)
We are a small-medium ecommerce business with a LAMP stack. If you were an ecommerce bohemoth you may wish to test your data for speed. SiSense does allow a trial period so you are able to do this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2014

Sisense Review: "Should Prism retire or get a face lift"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Prism is a reliable and stable environment when you know to use it.
  • It is fairly simple and straightforward.
  • The structure and thought process design is consistent.
  • The correction mode makes things confusing.
  • You have to hit every screen to get updates done.
  • It can be very time consuming and frustrating when you have to edit or delete items in mass.
Follow the directions, it is a good and simple system to learn and implement.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (30)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (38)
9.1
Report Formatting Templates (27)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (38)
8.8
Formatting capabilities (38)
8.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (21)
8.6
Report sharing and collaboration (3)
7.3
Publish to Web (28)
9.0
Publish to PDF (37)
9.0
Report Versioning (18)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (30)
8.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (37)
9.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (34)
8.9
Predictive Analytics (21)
8.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (36)
9.0
Role-Based Security Model (35)
9.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (36)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (31)
8.7
Dedicated iOS Application (18)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (15)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (26)
7.8

About Sisense

Sisense simplifies business analytics for complex data. Powered by its unique In-Chip™ and Single Stack™ technologies – Sisense delivers unmatched performance, agility and value, eliminating much of the costly data preparation traditionally needed with business analytics tools and providing a single, complete tool to analyze and visualize large, disparate data sets without IT resources. With more than one thousand customers in over 50 countries, including global brands like Target and Samsung, Sisense was recently designated a hot company to watch by CIO, CRN and Information Management and recognized as one of the "10 Most Innovative IT Ventures" at Under the Radar. Its solution won the "Audience Choice" award at the O’Reilly Strata conference and its CTO won the World Technology Award for the invention of In-Chip™ analytics

Sisense Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Sisense Screenshots

Sisense Integrations

Splunk Enterprise, Salesforce, Google Adwords & Analytics, SAP & all database servers, Excel & CSV Files

Sisense Competitors

Tableau Public, GoodData, Domo, DbFace, Tableau, Microstrategy

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
ModulesPricing DetailsTerms
SAP ConnectorPer User per Month

Sisense Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Sisense Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:All