Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams
Formerly Lync

Overview

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Great Software!

8 out of 10
May 04, 2024
There are no problems so far. This software comes in handy when other organizations request to be used for meetings and they don't …
Continue reading

Beyond expectation

9 out of 10
January 17, 2024
Limited features for business collaboration find it lacking in terms of advanced features.Business depend heavily on communication tools …
Continue reading

Great Software!

9 out of 10
December 16, 2022
We use Skype for Business to work with employees all across the country. The instant chat feature allows our staff to ask a quick question …
Continue reading

Skype Review

6 out of 10
March 21, 2022
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the …
Continue reading

Skype keeps employees connected!

8 out of 10
February 16, 2022
I use Skype for Business daily. It is very easy to use and allows me to easily and effectively communicate with other employees across the …
Continue reading

Skype for Business - Review

7 out of 10
January 26, 2022
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 17 features
  • Desktop sharing (189)
    8.8
    88%
  • High quality audio (189)
    8.0
    80%
  • High quality video (183)
    7.7
    77%
  • Low bandwidth requirements (180)
    6.6
    66%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

What is Lifesize Video Conferencing?

Lifesize is a web conferencing platform focused on making video conferencing systems and video conferencing apps work well together, while still being easy-to-use. Their platform incorporates web conferencing software with meeting room devices and wireless screen sharing.

Return to navigation

Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

Features related to the performance, reliability & compatibility of web conferencing and webinar (online events) software.

7.6
Avg 8.0

Screen Sharing

Features related to remote screen sharing capabilities.

8.6
Avg 8.0

Online Meetings / Events

Features related to hosting and attending meetings and events online.

7.8
Avg 8.2

Online Events Collaboration

Features related to collaboration between attendees during web conferences, webinars, and other online events.

8.7
Avg 8.4

Online Events Security

Features related to the security of meetings and other events held via web conferencing/webinar software.

8.1
Avg 8.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was a unified communications tool superseded by Microsoft Teams.

For personal use, Skype Desktop and Mobile apps are still available for download, but for business functionality the vendor now fully supports Microsoft Teams as the replacement for Skype for Business.

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Reviewers rate Live chat highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(2581)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 78)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Pavel Khan Opu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business has become our organization's de facto standard for internal communication across our departments. It lets us share screens, make voice and video calls, and update office status. It has screen-sharing, file transfer, video calling, and group calling, we use Office 365, and Outlook handles email and calendars. I appreciate how the uncluttered dialer and lightning-fast contact recognition are consistent across all of our devices and how easy it is to navigate. Its unique emojis are instantly recognizable and memorable and have many more characters. This program's features—including texting, calling, and integrating with international and local lines—make it worthwhile for professionals without overwhelming them.
  • It is an installation-friendly, scalable communication tool.
  • It enables more accessible internal communication, safe content sharing, and collaboration.
  • Very interactive, with a wide range of functions, including informal workplace instant messaging.
  • The intuitiveness with which one can interact with the software has fantastic UI and video call quality.
  • It cannot communicate with an offline user, and sometimes, calling lags.
  • It is necessary to make improvements to the group functionality.
  • The chat history is erased upon closing the chat window; it's less functional than Zoom.
Skype for Business is a popular video, voice calls, IM, and file-sharing app. It's fast, easy to use, and has moderate colors for online meetings. Easy to use and the go-to app for texting and calling. Its processing logic makes it a reliable tool for negotiating tasks with teams or partners. Synchronizing a joint calendar for several accounts (personal, business, and subscription) needed a big picture of workflow for remote work.
Khairul Islam Tonmoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Skype for Business as one of the best ways to connect. We can use it anywhere, boosting communication. It is excellent for chats, calls, and videoconferencing, but I can also remotely access other users' desktops to help them as if I were there. The adaptability of the meetings held by our organization has vastly improved as a direct result of this development. We can use it on our laptops or desktop computer and phone. Skype for Business's ability to be set up on mobile devices and laptops is one of its most appealing features. As far as tools go, Skype for Business is right up there.
  • Easy group formation.
  • Office 365-compatible.
  • Interviews are easy to start.
  • Remote screen-sharing is easy.
  • Excellent sound quality and user-friendly.
  • Cross-platform synchronization is possible.
  • Sometimes login takes too long.
  • Video calls need more bandwidth.
  • Screen sharing is causing the host trouble.
Skype for business is a secure, high-quality communication tool. It's easy to start a meeting with anyone quickly, or we can schedule it. We can connect with our international customers at a cost significantly lower than regular calls. Another benefit is allowing participants to share documents without ending the meeting quickly. It integrates with Outlook calendar, but meeting schedule changes won't appear until the application is restarted.
Muhammad Hossain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is imperative that we use it in our organization during this uncertain time. A good thing about Excel and Outlook is how well they work with each other. During a meeting, switching between mobile and desktop is smooth. At the start of a meeting, useful reminders or notifications are sent. The interface is reminiscent of a sequence of Google Docs and GoToMeeting. I can do so much with this software and with my colleagues. It’s easy to tag people in chats using the Android app, which is user-friendly. Messages can be made “important” to get everyone’s attention. When I left Zoom for Microsoft, security concerns were a major factor in my decision. Connecting to my email provider is convenient, and the software is easy to use.
  • Sharing presentations amongst participants and integration with other Microsoft products is a great feature.
  • Each team has multiple channels for different topics and excels at graphical input.
  • Other apps also help improve workflow, and participants can easily add their content and comment on it.
  • More emoticons for messages and faster client upgrades would be nice.
  • With low bandwidth internet connections, it appears that platform integration is problematic.
  • Automatic transcription of audio and presence sharing between Skype and Microsoft Teams would be nice features.
Skype is ideal for us because we rely on Microsoft products. We can make calls online with this tool as it is smooth and has one-on-one talks. Meetings of a size it is common in any enterprise. It also provides a way to communicate with the group and ask questions without interrupting the meeting’s flow.
Jian Groenewald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Skype as part of Microsoft teams, business issues that this addresses since covid began it has been the new "meeting" standard and is used on a daily basis to connect with colleagues and clients.
  • Video playback is excellent.
  • No robotic voices or disconnects with sound.
  • Ease of use.
  • Would like to see more gifs added as well as improved emojis.
  • A place in which you could save templates within the app for ease of access.
  • Voice note functionality for PC and not just mobile.
Its well-suited for all my needs at this point. I wish though that connecting the app (from the corporate profile) to your personal phone would be a bit easier for people who do not have mobile phones with google suites on it.
Aononna Tazin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use this tool because it is compatible with all Microsoft products. We used to use Skype for Business (formerly Lync), now part of Microsoft Teams, to call and text our colleagues. We still use Skype for Business, but we don't use it nearly as much as we'd like to. Using it is more enjoyable because of its unique features, and it works seamlessly with Microsoft Outlook and other office applications. The UI is simple and easy to understand. With one click, we can join a team or chat with someone in groups, rather than open an app, search for the person, and then call or text them.
  • Organizations will appreciate the simple user interface and seamless integration with other Microsoft products with this excellent instant messaging app.
  • Teams can have multiple channels for different topics and make video calls and phone calls, and all communication is well organized within each Team.
  • Sharing documents is as simple as dragging and dropping them into a chat window. We can form our groups in a precise manner.
  • Integration with third-party apps and the ease with which it can be escalated to higher levels of communication also aid in streamlining workflow.
  • The conference call quality could be better, and it is expensive compared to other similar apps.
  • There are problems with connectivity in large meetings and the number of people who can attend is restricted.
  • File sharing and VoIP use a lot of bandwidth. Searching for old messages is a problem right from the start. Unfortunately, the search function is not practical.
Skype for Business is perfect for companies and organizations that already use Microsoft. One-on-one conversations and online calls are possible with ease thanks to this tool. No matter how many people are involved in the meeting, it will be successful. Microsoft Teams has proven to be highly adaptable in our experience with it.
Dushyant Pathak (DKP) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for [Business] is the default communication tool used across our organization for all parallels - Tech, Finance, HR. Even interviews for our firm are done via the platform. A major part of our office infrastructure depends on Office 365 suite and [using] Outlook for mails and calendars. Thus, the need was for an instant communication platform, customizable for enterprise, that could integrate well with these, and what better option than another Microsoft product. Skype makes it easy to reach out to any person within the firm via just her/his name or email ID, start instant chats, retrieve them via outlook, share screens, video calls, and voice calls - all of which are used roughly 20-30 times a day on average by an average employee. For an organization with over 90000 employees, a tool that could integrate well with the existing Outlook infrastructure, and provide a means for communication, voice and video calls, screen sharing, and office status (Available/Busy/OOO etc), Skype was the best possible option. Noteworthy that Skype for [Business] was started being used at a time when MS Teams was not launched yet.
  • Instant messaging to anyone who we know only by name/email. Even if they're offline, they get the message in missed convos and a notification automatically goes to them via Outlook mail. All conversations are saved and accessible via Outlook.
  • Video and voice calls are a norm in the WFH scenario, and an average employee has around 4-5 calls a day. Skype gives notifications for upcoming meetings, allows easy scheduling via outlook calendar, and its audio/video quality [is] reasonably good compared to the amount of data it consumes.
  • Status availabilities - in the WFH scenario, you could be off for lunch, out of office, busy, sharing screens - and might not want to be disturbed. Skype allows you to do that, and in case you're off, ensures that you know that you have missed messages.
  • Screen sharing - we have to share screens at least once or twice a day with a coworker when working on some issues/features, and Skype easily lets us do that. One of the best things about Skype is that the screen can be shared without being on a video/voice call - which is of immense advantage because oftentimes, you could prefer sharing the screen, while it [is] too noisy to talk.
  • Skype's UI leaves a lot to be desired, especially considering newer platforms like Zoom, Teams, Slack, Meet, and so on. It's slow and lacks many features that are now de facto in the newer communication apps.
  • Skype calendar also is often buggy - meeting times do not get updated on the calendar even if the correct time does come up on the Outlook calendar.
  • It does not give you the option to mute chats - oftentimes, you want to keep some group chats on mute without leaving them entirely.
  • Closing off a chat before it's saved will remove it from Skype history. You'd need to go search for it on Outlook mail.
Appropriate: Firms using Microsoft suite of products. Large enterprise organizations. Orgs where ease of use is more important than more features. Where sharing a screen without video calling is often required. Less appropriate: Startups and small companies that can experiment with newer age tools, and especially those working with the much more popular Google workspace had better stick to Meet/Slack.
July 29, 2021

Skype 4 life

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is] used for messaging between users where users can see each others status and understand how likely your message will be answered. We escalate calls to full two way voice from messages, we also conference other people in with a drag and drop action that is very easy. We can escalate the call to full video conferencing with multiple users. We can also share our screens and uses can control each others desktops.
  • See users status before contacting them
  • Have a good idea that the will respond before you reach out to them
  • Good quality of voice
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to escalate to higher forms of communication
  • Integration to other platforms
  • Presence shared between Skype and ms teams
  • Faster upgrades to clients
[With Skype for Business (formerly Lync)] contacting team members is easy so you can get help at the click of a button. You can escalate that message to a voice call easily. You can then share your screen to users again at the touch of a button. You can drag and drop other users into calls and conferences when you need further input getting the tasks completed quickly and efficiently.
Firaz Peer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this tool across the entire organization as it integrates well with other Microsoft products that we use. This integration is great as it allows information (like availability, contact details, etc) to be shared across platforms. One can join a meeting in Teams or chat with someone with just a click rather than going through multiple steps of opening a new app, looking for the person, and then calling/messaging them.
  • Integration across other Microsoft products is great feature.
  • All communication is well organized within individual Teams and each team can have multiple channels for different topics.
  • Integration with third party apps also helps improve workflow.
  • Doesn't seem to work well with low bandwidth internet connections.
  • Automatic transcription of audio would be a nice feature to have.
  • More emoticons to react to messages would be nice.
This tool is really well suited for businesses and organizations that are already invested in the Microsoft ecosystem. While the quality of voice calling isn't the best for low bandwidth internet connections, this tool offers a great alternative to email, where messages and action items can easily get lost.
Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Skype for Business in our organization for business majorly for secure internet calls. Most of the Professors are doing their research work and for that they have to be in touch with the researchers from around the globe. We are also using it to communicate with our development team who is working on the deployment and regular maintenance of the software we are using on the campus. Accept that during this pandemic time we are using it for interview purpose.
  • Safe and secure Internet calls
  • It is integrated with office 365
  • Mobile UI is relatively simple and easy to use
  • File sharing and VOIP requires really good bandwidth
  • Definitely needs improvements in conference calls quality
It is a reliable tool for internet calls and one on one discussions, even if you want to take a conference call with few people it works fine. Not recommended for the live class and conferences have more number of people.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization used Skype as the main messaging application across the entire organization globally for all employees. They are installed by default on all user machines and used as the primary instant messaging software for communication between teams and employees.
  • Established name
  • Simple and easy to use
  • Call quality is good
  • Not as many features as some other software
For simple communication via instant messaging and audio calls, Skype is more than adequate and does the job well. There are also integration options for other Microsoft products that will be useful. If the environment requires more collaboration tools aside from chat and calls, there may be other more suitable options to consider.
Mohammad Aminul Islam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have a large group, and during the COVID pandemic, Skype for Business has been a great help to connect with all group members. We use Skype for Business for our group meetings and if we are arranging a seminar from our group. We use it to share documents and live chat during work hours as well.
  • Great video quality.
  • Excellent audio quality.
  • Easy to use; great for small file sharing.
  • Great chat service during live meeting.
  • Large files take a longer time to share.
  • Have connection issues in large group meetings.
  • Interactive service (emoji, history) needs improvement.
It is well suited to have a large group meeting, arranging seminars, and webinars. It is great for working on a collaboration project and sharing small files. Screen sharing enables individuals to work interactively with each other. Our lab works in the modeling aspect and it's great for debugging the code. But we face issues when we wish to share large files and arranging. And it requires high-speed internet to have great service.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used across the organisation for VOIP telephony, instant messaging, screen sharing and video. As a collaboration tool it has been used for meetings, one to one calls and quick messaging.
  • Instant messaging is clear, quick, and easy to use.
  • Internal telephony call quality on Skype for Business is generally quite good.
  • Screen sharing is easy to do including selecting specific monitors if you happen to be using more than one.
  • Probably the biggest area is the video element as it has historically struggled in this area.
  • The need to be forced to federate with another organisation by providing yours and enabling the other organisation settings is a bit tedious but once done, allows for simple collaboration between third-parties.
  • Functionality wise, as it's an older product and being superseded by MS Teams, it feels as if it's run its course but was very good for what it does/did at the time.
For instant messaging without going into depth it's very quick and simple and the CPU footprint is quite low and therefore easily able to run on older hardware. The audio only capability has always been very good, but the video aspect where you have more than one person on video does seem to struggle. It's understandable given the codec has been in operation for a number of years but for basic collaboration it has served the purpose pretty well and until forced to migrate, most companies will happily continue to use it.
May 12, 2021

Good value

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used across the whole organization. It was used to chat instantly with anyone, schedule video or voice calls. It was also very helpful because it allowed people to see each other's set up situation (busy, available, away, etc.), so you pick the people easier to reach out according to their availability.
  • Instant chat
  • Share documents
  • Meetings across the globe
  • The files you sent on Skype can sometimes be not accessible
  • The file size limitation is restricting
Skype for Business can be used in conjunction with Outlook, so the calendars and schedules are synced. The best areas of use are scheduling meetings, instant chatting with people, creating teams for team work to exchange information and share files online.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used it as a company wide instant messaging tool and also for some file and screen sharing. It allows users to see if other users are online and get a quick response to a question. It was also used to send files, images and screen shares quickly while on the phone as well.
  • Shows status if available, away or in a meeting
  • Instant messaging
  • File share
  • Call quality
  • Does not tie into Microsoft ecosystem in the same way teams does
  • Sometimes status seem slow to update
It does what you ask it to in terms of an instant messaging tool. You are able to do group messages, screen shares, see status among the other basics. It does not have a lot of frills but gets the job done the way you would expect it to.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Skype for Business is used in Orange Business Services across all Russian offices. This is one of primary collaboration tools and it enables voice and video calls, messaging with attachments, meetings and screen sharing for workers. It also contains corporate directory to find the right person to communicate with. It is configured to allow both PSTN and office calls as well as voice calls to our business partners with federation installed.
  • Messaging is ok.
  • Voice calls of good quality.
  • Meetings work fine .
  • Excellent corporate directory.
  • Messaging has a poor history.
  • We have troubles with meetings with great number of participants.
  • Sometimes communication is not stable enough but it might be network issues.
Good solution when budget is not very large. It covers all basic business collaboration needs can be deployed for large organization when meetings don't require a great number of participants and video requirements are not so strong. Can be easily integrated with Microsoft Outlook/Exchange and with MS Active directory to enable corporate directory navigation.
Randy Palmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We started using Skype for Business [(formerly Lync)] as a replacement tool for Cisco WebEx, specifically for webinar hosting and customer service assistance. With a company that has four separate business divisions, we hosted webinars quite regularly. With multiple customer service teams, use of the platform for system troubleshooting where our customers could share their screen and show us their issues were quite common as well.
  • Conference video calling
  • Screen sharing
  • Meeting scheduling, especially because of the plugin for Microsoft Outlook
  • Reporting, especially if you are in need of knowing who logged in and participated in a session
  • The browser-based application (for those that didn't want to download the desktop app) always seemed to have issues for our clients in other locations of the country
  • Call clarity was frequently not good, and sometimes the meeting organizer/host couldn't even get audio connected.
I never used [Skype for Business] when it was formerly Lync so I don't know what improvements have been made. But as it stands now, it is well suited for online video conference meetings where everyone participating has good, high-speed internet access and a quality webcam and microphone. When all of these areas are met, the meetings seem to run smooth.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Skype for Business across the whole organization to share information and get updates on anything related to work. It makes the communication among us streamlined and enjoyable. we can send files, pictures, and screen sharing during the video call to share our work or presentation. It is makes working from home much easier.
  • can do messaging with picture and video sharing options
  • screen sharing during video call is very convenient
  • program is stable rarely has downtimes
  • this shouldn't be a complaint but i wish Skype has better emotes
It fulfills our needs for daily communication at work. The video and audio quality is pretty good and the improved and accessible screen sharing comes in handy during virtual meetings. You can do a meeting with up to 100 people and no time limit in free version.
Tigran Petrosyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used by our entire organization. The main purpose for using Skype for Business are video calls, although it is used as a messenger as well. As pandemic starts and some workers started to work remotely it is used more and more often. Skype for Business is also used when there are large meetings, in which representatives from different divisions discuss the strategy and challenges of our company.
  • It is very easy and intuitive to use.
  • You can have calls or video calls using Skype for business. Also you can share your screen which is really important for my work.
  • It is integrated with other programs. For example if you have a missed call, you receive a message in outlook and you know that someone called you.
  • You can change your status in Skype for Business. For example if you have a very important work to do, you can change your status to "busy," or to "not disturb". If someone is in a call you can also see that and wait till that person ends the call if you want to discuss something with him.
  • You can transfer contacts that you call most to favorites, so it would be faster and easier to contact them.
  • You can share your screen and give control to another person, if that person wants to add or show you something in a file that you shared.
  • The quality of audio is good, but noise cancelling is not the best in Skype for Business.
  • When you share your screen in a video call, your computer starts lagging and sometimes large files stop responding.
If you have a large firm, with lots of employees and you have a lot of calls, in which more than 2 people should be included I think Skype for Business is the right choice for you. Otherwise I will simply recommend Skype or other programs that are free to download and use. Also if you are working in a place, where there is a lot of noise, maybe Skype for Business would not be the best choice for you as its noise cancelling features are not best.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype is still widely used in the company as a quick messenger type of chat to ask questions, get help and use for communication. It's an easy-to-use platform that allows users to quickly get their message out to others.
  • Sending short and quick message is so easy.
  • Attach small size files like image and other formats like Word, Excel works very well.
  • Being able to view the previous messages actually works quite well.
  • I think sending attachments to group chat can be confusing, definitely could use some improvement.
  • Live video call and share screen features also have room for improvement, the constant lag becomes very annoying to the users.
  • Video quality (in resolution) is still not the best compared to other leading web conferencing software.
Skype is still my go-to when it comes to having a quick chat online with my colleague at work. I can simply search (or find it from my favorite list) a name, double chat on it, and start typing my message to ask questions, collaborate with my teammate right away. I just love how easy it is to use it on a daily basis. This works very well on a one-on-one chat; however, when it involves a number of people, the chat window can be very confusing and chaotic. It lacks the "quote" feature like you have on your phone messaging app. The conversation can get lost if there is a group discussion involves more than 3 people.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used by my organization as main point of contact to partners. We mostly used the instant messaging feature, but sometimes when needed, video was used as well. Quality was not the best, but still acceptable most of the times and users relied heavily on that because that was the only option to contact many partners.
  • Instant messaging, voice and video solutions in one
  • easy to use
  • supports emojis
  • allows you to add people from outside your company
  • Sometimes you can have a hard time with stored credentials and password change
  • Quality on video calls could use some improvement
  • Could improve by adding features like gifs to be used within messages
Skype for Business is a very useful tool for any kind of business that require communication along departments or sections. Allowing you to add external people kinda makes it a good way to relief stress from work a bit because you can text family/friends quickly in between tasks or receive important messages without having to leave your desk to answer.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is very easy and convenient tool used for messaging across our company. It is used by whole organization to communicate virtually. We find it best while seeing other user screen and when presenting the screen to others. Voice clarity are so clear and precise in the group meeting.
Easily send and receive the files. What else we need!!
  • Voice clarity
  • Presentation
  • GUI
  • Few options are not easily available - like creating groups
  • video quality
  • Menu tab
It is well suited well having one-to-one contact with someone within the network. It looks easy to use at first sight. Looks less appropriate when having a group calls and to identity who is talking at the moment.

I find it very [good] when communication with someone. It is so easy and very user friendly.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used for internal communications. It can be easily integrated with Microsoft Outlook which helps it easier to set up meetings. Sending invitations outside the business is also possible by sharing a single conference line. Screen share and video conferencing is also possible. Dial in through laptop and phone is also available and makes it easier to access.
  • Collaboration
  • Seamless integration with Outlook
  • Phone and laptop support
  • Audio quality is sometimes poor
  • Application takes longer to start
  • Sometimes the application consumes too much memory allowing it to crash
It's suited for collaboration and organizing meetings within and outside the organization. The screen share quality is great but needs improvement. The application takes time to load and consumes lot of memory which causes the application to crash. Integrating the application with Outlook is seamless and requires little time to set it up.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Internal meetings and webinars are hosted by our marketing department using Skype for Business (formerly Lync) conference. This is a wonderful free interchange meet-up, particularly for pandemic days where we won't all be available at the same time. Its sound quality is exceptional, making it suitable for synchronized substance and conversation exchanges on internet services.
  • If you need to chat with colleagues easily and conveniently, Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is ideal. The Outlook integration is fantastic.
  • Participants can securely be welcome to the meeting by sharing links.
  • Collaboration is greatly facilitated by screen sharing and the opportunity to provide meetings.
  • The ability to send images, folders, and documents easily.
  • It will take some time for the screen to reset. text buffering can be excruciating at time[s].
  • It's not easy to share large files.
  • When I have several chats open at the time, Skype becomes unresponsive.
We appreciate Skype for Business (formerly Lync) as it gives us one of the best tools for collaborating and interacting efficiently as it allows us to be even quicker at work. By getting in touch with other teammates and being able to communicate with them in real-time, we can tackle or carry out any action that we need right away.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're currently using Skype for Business alongside Microsoft Teams. [In] the past few years we used it as a communication and collaboration tool to host 1 on 1 calls and meetings. But Since a year we're [phasing] out the use because Microsoft is pushing Microsoft Teams as part of the Office 365 suite as the preferred replacement for Skype for Business.
  • Voice calls over the network
  • Chat in real-time with [colleagues]
  • The possibility of video-chatting with coworkers
  • The mobile client uses a lot of data (not suited for mobile data)
  • Voice quality is not always good
On a good Local Area Network, the voice and video quality [are] most of the time quite well. And it facilitates talking, chatting, and video offering with coworkers in branches in other locations and countries. The mobile client allows you to have similar functionality on the go using your smartphone. The presence detection is also a neat feature.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is being used across the organization, but it´s our 2nd or 3rd choice in terms of usage.
During pandemic video calls are our "normal life" therefore we need solutions that can bring the best of online meetings with high quality and display a set of different tools to employees to use.
  • Imbedded app on notebooks
  • Recognize brand
  • Microsoft
  • Audio/Video quality can improve
  • Mobile app [doesn't] work properly
  • I don't see their product improvements compared to [the] competition
[You] don't [really] see anyone who [does] not have Skype for Business pre-installed in their notebooks to go and download it - people would prefer to use other tools such as Zoom, Google Meet, Teams, or even Whatsapp for Desktop.
Return to navigation